Reviews for Tomb Raider Game of the Year

100

didnt expect this much, but wow

deeraal | Nov. 30, 2014 | See all deeraal's reviews »

The story of this game added a lot of depth to the character development. It had stunning graphics that utilized the entirety of my gaming engine. So much can be said about the detail and setup but what really had me going were the constant high pace parts of the story where Laura found herself in deadly situations but somehow escapes in all of them.

I knew this game was going to be good, but this game is REALLY good. especially with the sale price, i dont see any reason to not buy this game. best game of the year for me.

80

Great, But Not That Great

shad0wriderz | Nov. 6, 2014 | See all shad0wriderz's reviews »

Okay, let's start with this. Tomb Raider (this one) is a TR game through and through. It's got great visuals, good combat, and that cinematic juice running through its veins. Runs great on PC in terms of optimization, options, and controls.

The plot itself isn't amazing, but it's good enough to keep you hooked into this story that they have created surrounding Lara and this island. There's not really any side content other than doing a couple easy puzzles, collecting GPS caches, documents, and relics. One 100% play-through should only take about 15 hours. You can collect salvage and parts to upgrade your weapons, also gain enough points to upgrade your skills. Of course that's all pretty basic and offers no customization. HOWEVER, what the game does is give you enough content and progression systems to carry you from the start of the game to the end, which is fine considering how well they've done it. If you buy this thinking there will be some kind of endgame or time-consuming side content aside from the story, you'll be slightly disappointed. Of course, I was pleased that they put in the effort to make the game's world much more open to allow for more exploration and more gameplay opportunities.

The DLC is pretty much pointless and I suggest buying the base game over the GOTY edition. All DLC are cosmetic (a few outfits in SP, and I believe a number in MP) or are weapons for multiplayer. Multiplayer is dead and isn't even worth considering. Even back when the game was released, multiplayer was just a extra feature that they crammed into the game rather than further developing and adding further improvements to the much more significant single-player.

I don't enjoy the fact that they felt compelled to spend time and money creating multiplayer modes just to give the impression that the game has more content, when their main focus should have been on single-player (the core of the TR franchise).

All my ranting aside, Tomb Raider is a solid game. You can't really complain a whole lot about the single-player and it really is one thrill ride from start to finish. Re-playability..well, the game is worth a second play-through on hard or whenever you feel like you need to immerse yourself in a cinematic story. It's not perfect, but it's a damn good game no matter what kind of quarrels I have with it. Base game is $20 now and often goes to $5 during sales, definitely worth it.

99

Worth the money spent

yunodie98 | Oct. 8, 2014 | See all yunodie98's reviews »

Got this during sale,and I can say it's worth every penny I spent. It comes with almost all the dlcs such as the Hitman DLC guns which I heard is quite overpowered in multiplayer. I would recommend getting this title.

75

Excellent game, especially when it's a great price!

waffleman | Oct. 7, 2014 | See all waffleman's reviews »

This game play reminded me quite a bit of the newer batman games, a lot of action good story line, kept me going for a good amount of time for game play. The voice casting was just ok, I found Lara losing her British accent from time to time and one of the end villains wasn't too hard to beat. There could have been a few more puzzle style stuff in there but over all it was good solid game for last year.

84

Flawless game Lara returns and kicks ass

Demadizz | Oct. 6, 2014 | See all Demadizz's reviews »

Fantastic reboot to the franchise and series. I look forward to playing the next one in line. The visuals were stunning the game play was tight and fluid. Tons of actions and lots of destruction all around. Lara seems to be accident prone with disaster and mayhem in every aspect. Solid game all around with tons of collectibles and side activities. It's all you could ask for in an action adventure game. 8/10

90

Fantastic reboot!

Selona83 | Sept. 17, 2014 | See all Selona83's reviews »

When the first uncharted came out in 2007 it was clear Naughty Dog took a lot from the old Tomb Raider games and did it really well. When this game came out last year, Crystal Dynamics returned the favor by taking inspiration from Nathan Drakes adventures in the Uncharted series. And boy...in my opinion they knocked it out of the park.

Sure, the game have a bit to many quick time events. But the great writing, fantastic setting, fun gameplay, stunning graphics makes up for it in spades. This game is on the graphics side just awesome. If you have a good GPU, crank the settings up and enjoy one of the best looking pc games to dates. The gameplay is really fun (a warning to sensitive ppl. Cause its quite violent. Both the kills you do and also the ones Lara suffers).

Am psyced for the sequel late next year. And am hoping Crystal can make the same leap Naughty Dog made from Uncharted 1 to 2. But this is a fantastic start!

95

Simply Incredible

ElLindo | Sept. 13, 2014 | See all ElLindo's reviews »

Tomb Raider has never impressed me before as it has just done. This game is absolutely magnificent. I purchased the GOTY Edition (Game of the Year) when it was 75% off and I must say I have never been happier with a game purchase. Tomb Raider has great puzzles and luring mysteries that entice you throughout the entire story-line. You create bonds with the characters and are heartbroken when some die. Tomb Raiders story-line not only is perfectly put together, but is very long, so don't expect to finish in one or two days.

My Rating for Tomb Raider is (9.5 / 10)

88

Incredible adventure game with a major disconnect

bibboorton | Sept. 9, 2014 | See all bibboorton's reviews »

And I loved it. The magical elements actually surprised me a bit, but I may be just ignorant of the franchise's roots. But overall, it's a great 10-hour experience with lots of fun to be had.

There is a glaring complaint to be had here, though. The combat started off great. It felt like you won't have to do a lot of fighting, which honestly would have been a welcome change from most everything else I've been playing lately. Lara was very hesitant to kill even just one guy. Then, by the end of the game, you're taking out hordes of enemies. What? Seriously? The game happened over the course of like 3 days. She became a killing machine in the span of that time?

But that doesn't detract from the great experience that this title offers, and it is a highly recommended game to spend your weekend playing. Just suspend your disbelief and you'll find a well-realized action-adventure RPG.

93

Worth it

dilosan | Sept. 7, 2014 | See all dilosan's reviews »

Tomb raider is one of the best games out there,The story is very interesting.When it comes to gameplay we can use bows or guns which is really fun.The atmosphere and the areas around the islands are astonishing they look super awesome.Voice casting is also done well.GOTY edition will provide with some DLCs such as hit man absolution guns which we can use in multiplayer,new skins and maps. Multiplayer is good too. Over all the game is pretty awesome and worth the price.

90

New Lara

Obsessor | Aug. 17, 2014 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

Not only Lara. Whole game is nothing like the Tomb Radier games we're used to. And that's not bad, because what we get here is an intense single player experience. There are some inconsistencies. Like for example - At the beginning of the game Lara cringes from killing a deer, to feed herself. Twenty minutes later she kills her first man and is all sobs. Sixty seconds after that she's a killing machine, shooting and strangling everyone in her path. But if you get over it, like I did, Tomb Raider is an amazing action game. Everything's crumbling around you, explosions wreak havoc on the environment. Goons are shooting at you. One misstep and you're dead(fortunately checkpoints are numerous, so you will not have to repeat huge chunks of the game). And death... Some animations are more than suggestive. Outright sadistic. Either it's the enemies dying, or unfortunate Lara suffering a fatal accident(at one point you swim in a rushing river and if you're not fast enough Lara will end up with a metal bar, sticking through her skull).

As many people say - GOTY's not worth the price. I bought it because it was on sale, half the price of normal edition. The DLCs aren't anything special. But the single player campaign. It's worth every penny.

81

Fantastic Game, Well Worth Your Time

DBOT187 | Aug. 15, 2014 | See all DBOT187's reviews »

Tomb raider is a fantastic reboot of the series, overall it is about 25 hours long, the story is good (if a little cheesy and somewhat of a disconnect between scared lara in the movie clips and then a murdering rampaging lara in the game)

Be warned some of the death scenes if you die can be a bit gruesome, but besides that a top game.

Don't bother with the single player extra tomb its 5 minutes long at best and not worth your money.

94

Creation of a Legend TombRaider

yngdr | Aug. 14, 2014 | See all yngdr's reviews »

The latest version of TR has got great graphics, music, and controls. Playing and watching Lara develop has been a real pleasure. GOTY edition garners you everything with a lower price tag. AI scripts seem well done with bad guys ducking and dodging attacks and yell at you to scare the little girl. Crafting system allows players to play however they want, ie mod bow for silent killing, mod guns for blast'em up style. The puzzles are not hard enough to take days to solve nor easy enough to solve in a min. and the battle interact with puzzles swiftly and smoothly. Great game at a fair price

74

Honestly

kurfgiez | Aug. 14, 2014 | See all kurfgiez's reviews »

In a time where it's popular to make terrible reboots that miss the point of the original series, Tomb Raider is one of the few that actually improves a series. I would of liked to see more puzzle and jumping elements like the original games (though they are still core to the game), but nearly every other aspect of the game has been improved. I really liked exploring the environments and finding all the hidden items and improving your equipment and skills, however I would of liked the skill tree to have more meaningful choices (the amount of unlocks required to unlock the next tier of skills means you will get pretty much be getting everything anyway).

80

Sad to be a Croft

NestorSaliven | Aug. 4, 2014 | See all NestorSaliven's reviews »

I know the developers wanted something new for a reboot, but honestly this is not Tomb Raider at all. The quick-time events really doesn't fit for tomb raider, not to mention that there aren't really tombs nearby just a jungle if you dont have the dlc-s. And those are also really small areas where you don't really need your brain only your gear to unlock. You can run around and kill animals and people, explore the area and search for stuff...well thanks...

The combat skills are nice and really useful and I really liked when it first appeared in a TR game, you can kill someone without a gun and stealth and stuff...but...this is not a Thief nor Dishonored nor....It doesn't really have a challenge at all. The enemies always know where to aim even when they don't see you. I think they have x-ray vision.

No hard puzzles which we loved in the previous games, no hard jumps, no timed open doors nothintg what makes Tomb Raider really Tomb Raider. Yeah a chick named Lara Croft but really thats all the connections we have. And here what broke the RE series either, developers made an action game like the other 500, of a game we loved just the way it was, an adventure game.(In RE a surival-horror) The action part really bored me. And the quick time events. I really hate those.

Also...No swan dive...

It has potentials and great ideas, but they erased all the earlier things which were awesome. It is really a nice and beautiful game though. The environment are really pretty. The combat elements are great, although Lara always ducks and none of those nice side jumps while shooting. No backward somersault. No feature like acrobatics. And I still think the last AC game has more of the adventurous exploring and tomb raiding than this game, but you should give it a try. Still a nice action game which somehow have a girl in it called Lara....

For a TR game: 65 For an action game: 95

95

Awesome Lara Croft Game

lajvjjajajaaaa | July 30, 2014 | See all lajvjjajajaaaa's reviews »

Tomb Raider is awesome thirds-person shooter game where you play with Lara again. It's very long game so prepare for the long night. It kinda similar to open world game but sadly it isn't. You begin in a island with almost nothing to fight the bad guys and as you progress mo and more weapons and upgrades, claim the mountains shoot, sneak kill and burn you enemies alive. Sometimes it can be scary if you play it late. The graphics are amazing. There is a lot of ancient temples that give the game a lot of good experience. It don't have much stuff to tell you how to play the game you need the figure it all by your self with makes it much better then a lot of games out there.

95

Game of the year? Maybe. But don't bother with GOTY edition.

PersusNine | June 29, 2014 | See all PersusNine's reviews »

As many have said this is a pretty radical reboot but in my opinion it is all to the good. Out with the frankly quite weird (and not in a good way) akimbo uzi tiger shooting and in with something a bit more sensible but with a good deal more heart. There is a good bit of cover based shooting but it works, it works thematically and mechanically and it rarely feels completely locked in that cover based shooting is the only way forward. Attempting a more stealthy method or using your acrobatics to flank is generally (although admittedly not always) an option. Most importantly it fits Lara as a character. Deliberately jumping about in the open dodging bullets is for superheroes and madmen.

The plot and characters never gets that involved because this is an action game not an RPG but goodness, Rhianna Pratchett (the lead writer) has packed a lot of subtle character into a few cut scenes and diaries. Every character is believable in a way that you sadly just don't see that often.

This incarnation of Lara Croft is one of the most human videogame characters I've ever played. The nuances of animation is jaw dropping. Don't worry, she is very much still a bad ass but now she is a rather more believable one. This is the game that takes Lara firmly out of the embarrassing late ninety's teenage boy's fantasy and finally fulfils her potential of the character.

The GOTY edition though, yeah... don't bother. The single-player additions are extremely minimal. One tomb that takes quite literally five minutes to investigate and a few character skins that don't fit with the single player story so chances are you won't want to use. The rest is multiplayer focused. Buying multiplayer content for a singleplayer game over a year after release? I can't see that working out too well for you to be honest.

93

Different.. but AWESOME

ramios | April 20, 2014 | See all ramios's reviews »

When I first heard about new Tomb Raider I was sceptical, but when I played I was pleasantly surprised.

Story is developing nicely, showing how Lara become strong and brave. I not really like how increased amount of combat and decreased numbers of puzzles are changing the series, but it keeps a climate of the island at least.

Over all it is one of the best games I played and I recommend it if you like puzzles and shooting.

85

Go for normal instead of GOTY...

WraithFluX | April 17, 2014 | See all WraithFluX's reviews »

Tomb Raider is one of the most brilliant game to come out in 2013. It was a sleeper hit for me. I went into the game hoping to play another okay-ish game (considering the history of Tomb Raider games, its not so far-fetched an idea). While the starting half an hour is slow and full of quick-time events, it gets better as soon as she gets a weapon. Slick, fast-paced combat. Great, and i mean GREAT environment set-pieces and locations (the mountain village is one of my favorite places in a game!), decent story and strong main heroine all make up for a good 11-12 hour romp (14+ if you want to 100%)

BUT, before buying the GOTY version, think twice. Almost every DLC is multiplayer-focused (except skins and one optional 2-minute tomb), and MP is as dead as it can get. Its barren. And its NOT fun even if you manage to get in the game. Buy the normal game, there is nothing missing in it.

85

A Fun Adventure but Short Lived.

Nat3r | April 16, 2014 | See all Nat3r's reviews »

Many people were skeptical when Tomb Raider was getting re-branded. If you can ignore the fact that Lara is a little girl about everything then you should have a great adventure. It's a pretty linear game, but there are some collectibles to find. The multiplayer isn't anything to run home about, but it can be a neat little side attraction.

92

This is How to Reboot a Franchise

cedarson | April 15, 2014 | See all cedarson's reviews »

I was one of the most devout Tomb Raider fans back in the day.

When I bought a PS1, Resident Evil and Tomb Raider were the primary reasons. So my standards for the Tomb Raider franchise are always pretty high. When I heard they were doing a reboot, I was a bit skeptical, but I decided to give it a shot. Man, am I glad I did.

I love just about everything with this game: The pacing, the realism, the combat, the puzzles. It's all here. The sense of adventure is here, too, thanks to the wonderful environments. This is how to reboot a franchise. In fact, I might just fire it up today after beating it a few months ago after writing this review!

94

Uncharted for PC gamers

spycid | April 15, 2014 | See all spycid's reviews »

You have heard about Uncharted before but you haven't played it? Then this is the game for you. Finally Tomb Raider gets a reboot (not that it was required) since it was long overdue for a new Tomb Raider to get out.

Tomb Raider is one of the best action adventure game of 2013. With a wafer thin storyline, the gritty gameplay, beautiful graphics and amazing set pieces, this game definitely deserves a goty award.

It's a must play for all Tomb Raider and Action-Adventure fans. This is the best deal out there right now, although it has most of the cosmetic dlcs. Still it's worth getting it now as the price is not going go down anytime soon.

88

Great in all Aspects

peshmi | April 15, 2014 | See all peshmi's reviews »

This game doesn't try anything revolutionary, it doesn't gamble. However, it has a very solid base. The graphics are great, the gameplay is ordinary but well done and fun, and the story is interesting. There are also a lot of extras that are interesting. Some inform on things such as WWII and history, which I personally found to be interesting.

When compared to the original series, I am unsure if a player would find them similar. They have their similarities, but I feel like this is a significantly different game.

I would definitely recommend it, though. It's well rounded and just fun to play. It's an AAA game done right.

91

New to the series

wooglah | March 25, 2014 | See all wooglah's reviews »

I never liked Tomb Raider. I know, it's a classic and everything and I've tried the first three games in the series back then when they were published... and later, gave it another chance with Underworld... But it was not my thing. I do not like games where hard puzzle means that camera is glued to your back so you can't see where to jump next. While there are some lame moments in this game, like all the quick time events, it's actually pretty fun to play. I had some free time last summer and managed to play and finish it in 24 hours straight, then went to sleep for another 12 hours. While that may sound insane, it does say a lot of the game, because I can't remember the last time that happened... Maybe with Sea Dogs back when I was below 20, and that was a decade ago. So, yeah, there's an interesting story, nice maps for exploring, a lot of action, some easy puzzling, beautiful graphics and sound, and a lot of optional stuff to collect if you like that. Get it sometime, you will not be sorry.

95

Excellent restart to the franchise

krimhorn | Feb. 20, 2014 | See all krimhorn's reviews »

It's no secret that I was hesitant about the reboot of Tomb Raider. Comparisons to Uncharted made it seem like it was more about the shooting than about the platforming and puzzles. On the one hand that's correct, there's more shooting and fewer puzzles than most previous games in the series. On the other it's so, so incorrect. This is one of the most well built, presented games that's been made. It's a third person platformer with elements of Metroidvanias. It has a believable progression for Lara from a normal, unskilled college girl to her first steps as the Tomb Raider.

TR was my biggest (pleasant) surprise of last year. Heartily recommended.

88

The Most Polished Game Of The Year

upandatom786 | Feb. 12, 2014 | See all upandatom786's reviews »

Tomb Raider was made with a specific goal in mind: to reboot a classic franchise for the modern age of video games. The development team succeeded tremendously in this goal. Although the game doesn't really tread any new ground, it's a really fun game to play, and it's obvious the high level of craftsmanship that went into making it. This is a smooth, smooth game. The controls are perfectly calibrated and tested, the graphics are immaculate, and voice acting and story are professionally done. This isn't the most exciting or innovative game of the year, but you'd be hard pressed to find one that's more fun to play.

78

A fun adventure

xgatto | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all xgatto's reviews »

I used to play a lot of Tomb Raider back in the day, and I can tell you that at least from my perspective, this doesn't feel that much like a Tomb Raider game, it feels you're playing a silly girl instead of Lara freaking Croft, you don't even wield dual pistols. Might as well call it Tomb Raider Origins. But aside from the feeling, it's a pretty good game. It's fun, it's one of those games that try really hard to be a movie with action packed quicktime events and everything. Puzzles, well there aren't many, I wouldnt call putting a barrel on a platform a puzzle but if you count those well there might be some puzzles in there. Graphical wise, the game is pretty nice, awesome textures, and if you have a powerful enough PC you can try out Tress FX hair simulation, which makes Lara look even better, but if you don't you don't need to panic, as the game is very well optimized and will run on lower end systems too.

All in all, fun casual game, you play the main story once, get the experience, and you're done.

86

They should have called it-Island Raider

DarkSparda | Feb. 8, 2014 | See all DarkSparda's reviews »

I have been Tomb Raider fan since time immemorial. This Tomb Raider reminds me back of the roots of the game in 1996. You can spend a lot of fun time while playing it. Sometimes this game reminds me of the Batman series. However, there is not a lot to choose as you play this game. It is prettly linear. The creators also managed very well to put RPG element in the game though it is not meant to be RPG at all. The action survival mode is quite engaging, but shooting and sneaking elements are not inventive. Although the story of the game is immersive it doesn't offer new elements to already similar game stories in the past. And thank God they put tombs to raid. It is of no coincidence that the game is called-Tomb Raider. This time they should have called it-Island Raider. I think that in some moments the actress that plays Lara has struggles in reading the script! All in all, good work guys! Wonder how will Lara look in the next-gen consoles!

80

Solid Game

Daknee | Feb. 7, 2014 | See all Daknee's reviews »

I enjoyed playing this game from start to finish. I have never played any of the other games except a little bit of the first one god knows how long ago. So I wasn't really burdened with expectations however I really enjoyed this game. I found myself rooting for Lara all the way through. I can't really fault the combat or the exploration aspects of the game. The weapon upgrades are fun and going back to solve problems is enjoyable too. I can't think of any gripes I had about this game. However I have no idea how a purist would view it. I have actually recommended the game to a friend who also enjoys it.

55

Good story

IDprofile | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all IDprofile's reviews »

This game is not for everyone. There is a great story with great voice acting, amazing graphics, and great cinematography. The constant cutscenes, and quick time button mashing events can make it feel like you are barely even playing the game. Half the time you are just sitting back and watching a film. However if your are looking for an easy laid back game with an immersive story then this is what you are looking for. An example of one of the moments that really bothered me is that there are quite a few times where your avatar Laura is hanging onto the edge of a cliff and one of her hands slips, leaving her single handily dangling. You must quickly press a button to swing her dangling hand back onto the ledge or she will fall to her death and you will need to restart the event. However one of these moments happened again and so I started quickly pressing the button to save myself but no matter what I did she still fell and I discovered that it was all just part of the story as she fell and slid down the hill. This really broke my immersion making me feel like I had no control of the game and was simply watching already decided events take place. I got the game on sale so I still think it was worth it to play.

90

One of the best games in 2013

vladigeorgiev85 | Feb. 4, 2014 | See all vladigeorgiev85's reviews »

As a fan of the TR series I was a bit doubtful for this one... Just too many years have past sinced the last good Tomb Raider game. But Crystal Dynamics pleasantly suprised me. I will say this once and I hope the next game will be even better: This is the best TR game ever - Period!!

Graphics: As everybody expected from the trailers,the game is a beauty. It is well made and works on semi-decent GPU's quite well too(I use Ati Mobility Radeon 5600 and it doesn't hurt that much the beauty of the game on normal settings)

Gameplay: It is quite fun from the beggining - pure Lara experience....shooting,jumping,getting beat up...etc. I do hate a bit the QTE moments,but you can live with those.

Audio: Amazing as always. Square Enix/Eidos are always great on the sounds/background music in their AAA titles,so no suprise here

Overall: 9/10