Reviews for Sid Meier's Civilization V - Civilization and Scenario Pack - Polynesia

60

Polynesian civ expansion

masterphi | Sept. 25, 2014 | See all masterphi's reviews »

This review is written after civ 5 has a gold edition however I did buy this when it was a DLC.

The Polynesian civ is a great unique civ. However this DLC isn't worth it now that the gold edition is released. The scenarios are okay but suffers from island isolation which makes the game slow as you have to travel long distances to reach anything interesting. I have never played the scenarios after the playing Paradise found twice.

  • Gives you a unique civ (pretty much the only reason why I bought it back then)
  • Scenarios are a bit bland but unqiue

93

Nice add on for a good price

nightassassin1 | Aug. 27, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

The addition of the new leader gives players more options and more strategic possibilities. It will allow a new type of strategy to emerge in the game and online sessions, keeping things a bit more unpredictable than before. If the ruler fits your play style, it can give you a much needed strategic edge.

The added scenario is good, although I personally am not the fondest of the scenarios from all of the expansions. I like the general ability to play however I want and not be limited to a small amount of time or something of that nature.

Over all, this expansion is well worth the five dollar price point and adds a bit more to the already massive game. I would have preferred a three dollar price point for something like this, but it is still acceptable at five dollars.

I give this expansion to the game a nice 93 score.

90

Unique story driven addon pack

Oblaque | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

Well, wow! What a uniquely specialized given addon pack that deserves your attention with an all-mighty thrust. You will be blown away by the sheer amount of content this pack gives you for such a reasonably low price point.

89

It has some good content

Xiphora | July 4, 2013 | See all Xiphora's reviews »

The Polynesia Pack provides for a good DLC. The Polynesia civilizations are really fun to play as, as expanding over land and water is very easy with this civilization. The scenario isn't really interesting, but it's the Polynesian civilization that is the selling point of this DLC.

87

Great Addition to the Game

thegaminglyfe | June 13, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

The polynesians aren't the strongest at the start but they get much better over time near the end of the game. They can expand quickly, are best on water for fighting and exploring. The scenario isn't the best, just you on some archipelagos fighting AI, but still very fun to do. Recommended for people who focus on their navy.

80

Good addition

psbj129 | June 8, 2013 | See all psbj129's reviews »

A good addition to a great game, with an interesting civilization based around islands and a good scenario. This civilization has a very good early game with their ability to cross water and strong Maori warriors a powerful early force for expansion.

90

Great addition

Scorpy | Jan. 19, 2013 | See all Scorpy's reviews »

Polynesia offers one of the best perks of any civilization: being able to cross ocean tiles without needing the advanced technology to do so. Thus you have a great upper hand on your competition in ocean-based maps.

Definitely one of the better Civ 5 DLC packs out there.

74

Nice addition to the game.

Xgoesrawr | Sept. 5, 2012 | See all Xgoesrawr's reviews »

I liked seeing Polynesia as a playable civilization in the game. They allow you to cross water early game which can be good for expanding and pretty amazing depending on the map. They have a pretty strong early game but sadly the Maori warriors are replaced with swordsmen so quickly.

The scenario however is honestly not that great. You're on a huge archipelago map facing three AI civs and to win it you need to be the first to complete all 3 social policy trees. Its a pretty easy scenario.

Its a neat DLC, adds possibilities to the game but its also over priced.

90

Interesting additions

Endyo | Aug. 23, 2011 | See all Endyo's reviews »

I like that Firaxis takes the time to add in these great civlizations to an already great game. I think this is a scenario where DLC works out a lot better than expansions in that you can say "Hey, I like the Polynesian culture, I think I'll spend a few bucks and add them in to my game." Granted if you buy every DLC individually without a sale, you'll be spending a lot more than you would have an expansion (like from Civ 4) but the ability to pick and choose makes it great

As for the Polynesians themselves, the civlization is certainly interesting. Most notably, the ability to embark ocean tiles will give you a distinct advantage on island maps as you'll be able to spread early on and acquire far more sea resources.

My only complaint is that I'd rather see the price a bit lower, but it's not anything too out of control.

90

Interesting, and worthy... if you are.

dawmail333 | Aug. 20, 2011 | See all dawmail333's reviews »

The Polynesians are an interesting nation to play as, and certain factors at the start can make them late-game superpowers. Their ability to expand massively, their superior navy, and their unique improvements offer an interesting, wildly different playing style.

The question is, can you handle it?

The other question is, why is this $5? Could have been a little cheaper with your DLC, 2K, seeing how expensive the base game is. Especially for Australians.

86

This is great

robertification | April 11, 2011 | See all robertification's reviews »

Civilization V is one of the best games of its kind, but what is there to expect from its downloadable content?

The answer is the same, in this dlc you need to become the most powerful culture in Polynesia among four kingdoms.

You will have the possibility to fight with Maori warriors, Maoi statues and the ability to embark on ocean tiles from the start of the game.

Bottom line, for such a small amount of money, it is definitely worth buying.