Reviews for State of Decay

85

An awesome, kinda dumb, zombie open world game.

karlsanada13 | Nov. 19, 2014 | See all karlsanada13's reviews »

Two perspective.

Being awesome: The game is awesome and probably one of the best open world game out. There are zombies, the need of scavenging supplies, finding survivors and finding a potential home. It's all good and decent. And it's open world. You can go wherever you like and scavenge wherever you like. Probably one of the best implementation of the open-world survival zombie game concept.

The zombies can also overrun you especially if there's a horde. My companion actually got killed, torn apart, like his body was split into two and that was horrifying sight to see, so settle with a car. ALWAYS.

Being dumb: AI is pretty dumb, they cannot use cars, like they have to jog from your home to a scavenge post 2000m away from them. They run into zombie horde and can get killed unless you help them. There are few to almost non-existent zombie invasion to your home (I got hit once). The neighbors suck so much. They cannot fend for themselves, and they're mostly ignored by zombies (I mean there's this one neighbor, his place is getting swarmed by zombies, and he's there standing right in the middle of their territory where he could get killed. The story is quite dumb too and too light in my opinion. There are side quests throughout your neighbors but it's just too few.

There are also no hostile survivors in which I wanted to see like they invade your home for supplies and such.

Overall, the game is awesome, unique and fun. They deserve a high rating.

90

Surprisingly Awesome

tedesco75 | Sept. 17, 2014 | See all tedesco75's reviews »

State of Decay is ugly. Let's just get that out of the way. I mean really ugly. I have a powerful machine and sometimes the framerates chug and the screen tearing is out of this world. Zombies (called Zeds in the game) will fall through the scenery and there are weird bugs abound.

None of that matters this game still will rock your socks. This is the perfect open-world zombie apocalypse survivor sim. If that is what you are looking for look no further. You have to lead a group of survivors whom you can switch between (there is no main character) level up with different skills and keep everyone happy, healthy and fed. It is difficult, frustrating and even heartbreaking. There is serious perma-death you can lose characters whom you have spent hours leveling up if you get too cocky.

You can choose a variety of specialties and the game does all of them relatively well. You can level up a variety of skills in order to make a diverse set of characters, from sharpshooters to brawlers to sneaky scavengers and everything in between.

There is just enough story to keep things interesting but if you are looking for a strong story driven narrative this is maybe not the game you are looking for.

If you use a mouse and keyboard I can't speak for their efficiency but the controls with an Xbox controller work well.

Overall, in an over-saturated zombie market this game stands above pretty much everything else.

93

Its worth it, Such a great fun zombie game

momoster69 | Aug. 6, 2014 | See all momoster69's reviews »

Game is done pretty good! The Combat system for me was/is fluid and very fun. You can easily destroy 5-10 zombies. I enjoy it even more with the breakdown dlc. The NPCS during combat are amazing, they arent crap in like some other zombie games, they do so much damage a full crew of 4 could likely take out 200 zombies. The environments are pretty good as well. You always feeling like youre in a random farm or in a little suburb, largely because the zombie variety is so good as well!

80

A good open world Zombie game

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | See all Jericho417's reviews »

State of Decay is part of the recent wave of survival games. You search for survivors and supplies while fending off the hordes of undead. I'm a huge zombie fan, so this game was definitely a must have for me. You get a lot of missions, sometimes jumping through a lot of hoops to earn someones trust. I liked the game, but it was unpolished. I had bugs galore.

Cars were a problem for me, in this game. Of course, cars shouldn't be indestructible. However, they felt far too fragile. Cars would sometimes start smoking after hitting just a few zombies, which would make it inconvenient to get back to base once it was on fire. Also, I would have loved character creation to be part of this game. As the player, you swap characters easily and often. It broke the immersion a bit, that I wasn't particularly attached to any one character.

99

One of the best open world games

lajvjjajajaaaa | July 30, 2014 | See all lajvjjajajaaaa's reviews »

State of Decay is open world zombie apocalyptic game. You begin in a world where it's only you and your friend. Later the game you join other survivors and need the make friends while you travel around the world and make them join you in your adventure. There are different types of zombies that are harder to kill than normal ones like the bloater, screamer, juggernaut, feral and SWAT zombies. Build facilities and move around your base for a seconds. Search houses for loot - weapons, ammo, medicine. Build fame and buy stuff. Switch characters fight zombie hordes to level up your fighting abilities, snipe to level up you shooting abilities and etc. Discover the army objective and help the wilkersons resolve their differences. Drive cars and kill the zombies with the car doors. And try the DLCs later the line.

85

Amazing game

Bluedemon | July 21, 2014 | See all Bluedemon's reviews »

I brought this game yesterday (for some reason the pack is cheaper than the base game) and I must say, I'm hooked. This is a type of survival game I've been looking for, for quite a while. Scavenging for supplies, fighting off hordes (or running them over) building up your base and finding survivors is just plain fun.

89

Great

Sulfie | July 4, 2014 | See all Sulfie's reviews »

This title, for me at least, is almost the perfect zombie survival game. Looking after a group of survivors, scavenging for supplies, relocating the home base, building amenities..

I am glad I found a survival / scavenging based game that isn't based around other human players in an mmo style setting like DayZ / Nether / Rust. They usually devolve into every man for himself along with kill on sight behaviour.

Only downsides are the rare bug, and no co-op. Well worth buying!

80

Rough Diamond

deviousdisdain | June 15, 2014 | See all deviousdisdain's reviews »

There's something about State of Decay that makes it stand apart from other zombie survival games. In a desperately tired, "me-too" genre, this game manages to distinguish itself from the rest by a combination of its realistic setting and objectives (in the sense that its world is believable) and solid gameplay mechanics.

Melee is usually the favoured way to go, with guns creating noise and attracting the zombies. The open world is well-realized and the sense of impermanence the game creates, is hammered in on seeing a favoured character bite the dust after a sudden ambush.

The survivor and community aspects are also played up to good effect. All in all, an interesting combination, good for a solid 20 plus hours of gameplay, and different enough to stand apart from other games in this tired genre.

80

Great Zombie Survival Simulation.

EDGE1812 | May 3, 2014 | See all EDGE1812's reviews »

State of Decay as the titles suggest is a zombie survival game ala Dayz but lacks the multiplayer component of its successful nemesis.People criticize its visuals cause its more of the cell shaded variety, though the game is pretty gorgeous actually if you like the tone of that genre.

After getting your character you can start exploring the world.The main objective here is to survive the harsh world via creating a base and helping your AI mates with chores.The world is dynamic and keeps changing every irrespective if you are in-game or not.The guns feel okay but the melee is where the fun is at.You can perform takedowns and perform some slick/weird combos aswell.

The game is fairly buggy and has plenty of glitches,though I didnt come through any game breaking ones.The game has a huge co-op/multiplayer potential and you get the feeling the developers always to wanted to add a multiplayer facet, infact Microsoft has already planned its sequel as a Multiplayer MMO.

Alas, State of Decay will remain a single player game(with a slight hope of a multiplayer patch or mod someday).

Still its a fairly enjoyable zombie survial simulation and totally worth a buy.

79

Decent Zombie Survival

wildster30 | April 29, 2014 | See all wildster30's reviews »

State of Decay is another zombie survival style game, I haven't played it through to completion yet, although from what I have played I can tell it is certainly worth the price. This is no where near as punishing or 'serious' as some of the other 'survival simulator' type games, although all the aspects are there. Characters that die stay dead, you will have to switch to one of the other survivors that you have rescued if you want to carry on with that save if they die. Loot is rare enough to mean you have to search for decent weapons, however there is more than enough to go around if you properly search the buildings. Guns are powerful if used well, but if you fire without a silencer half the town will be chasing you in a matter of minutes. The controls are all competent, although it is quite clear that the game was originally designed for console as playing with a controller felt a little easier than with mouse/keyboard.

Overall it is an enjoyable zombie game, and well worth the rather low price for the content you get.

90

excellent game

san383 | April 21, 2014 | See all san383's reviews »

State of Decay is a post-apocalyptic survival in a new open, comes to us from Undead Labs, an independent studio developing oldest populated WoW and Guild Wars. Despite their experience in games or semi Mass - Mass and their desire to create the end game zombies hordes.

Interesting properties of the State of Decay include a final death, a large open world to explore, limited resources, recruit AI-controlled survive and manage, Krfting and construction and development of a shelter.

The game you'll have to choose where to build the "safest position" (base) your then you will strengthen and shape your fortress so that no zombie would even think to penetrate your home is protected. You'll have to make daring raids in search of food and ammunition, and rescuing course which will be perhaps one of the most important elements in survival - for all utilization can contribute to the group, or maybe even hurt her inside and that's what makes the game fun and challenging game.

And the neat thing more fun in this:

There are dozens of types of "Beating end" lists.

Zombies could throws on our vehicle. If successful zombie throws the door of the driver's seat and take it away fast enough, he can pull us out.

We can go on missions together with other survivors we know, or that we knew at the time.

Surviving buildings invite you to take a loot, do a full search of all the building and not necessarily concentrate on an object you wanted to be picked up.

The world is changing dynamically every time: If you started a new game, the chances you'll find things that you find in your previous game, faintly.

You can change the location of your base, depending on the number of survivors you know, and more. Wherever different effects and options of its own.

No game character creation. We accept random character at the beginning of the game. Each character has unique properties that they will be chosen randomly. These characteristics we can improve our images as we play. As we iterate on them, will open us new skills.

Game really fun and successful I'll give it a score of 90

79

Zombies meets GTA?

bauwan | April 21, 2014 | See all bauwan's reviews »

I've played it a bit, not so long ago and I have to say it's pretty good game. Even if it's another zombie apocalypse game, it was quite fun for me. You get a pretty solid story and really a lot to do. So if you like zombie themed games and games like GTA series, definitely check this one out.

90

AMAZING

Merciless245 | April 21, 2014 | See all Merciless245's reviews »

My god is this ever fun.

Yes, it's not a graphical power horse, and yes it has it's bugs but my god is this game ever good. The level of detail the devs have put into this game is outstanding. This is the only zombie game that really focuses on the survival aspect over the killing and it's brilliant.

90

Post Apocalyptic GTA

ob9410 | April 20, 2014 | See all ob9410's reviews »

I love the permanent character death as it adds to the emotion, if you use a character too long their maximum stamina and vitality (health) will slowly go down until the point where you can't sprint and can get taken down in 1 hit. You can build workshops, watchtowers etc. You have to scout out Gun Stores, Fast Food Restaurants and more to restore stamina and vitality to characters that are hurt or tired (and are not being used).

The downside is the few glitches graphical glitches, no clipping etc.

Overall it's a great game with a unique genre of open world/zombies.

90

Fantastic post apocalyptic survival.

stemot | April 19, 2014 | See all stemot's reviews »

For a game from an indie studio State Of Decay is a surprisingly great zombie survival game. Built on the Cryengine you must manage a group of survivors as you take control of any one of them at a time and scavange the world to survive. Featuring a large, detailed map and plenty of places to explore and a decent story it's really the closest any game has come to the feel of The Walking Dead TV show. Some of the animation etc can be a little rough around the edges but there is so much to enjoy here it's easy to look past that. The game also has a survival DLC called Breakdown that takes the story away and pits you and your group against an ever increasing and tougher zombie population. There is also another incoming DLC called Lifeline which will task you with being part of the military, on a new map tasked with saving survivors. This was probably one of my top 3 GoTY's last year and an amazing achievement for a small team.