Reviews for Earth 2160 Capsule

70

A decent part of RTS gaming history

AkiMatti | Oct. 11, 2013 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

Since you're already reading reviews for a RTS game, I assume the genre is already familiar to you and I don't have to explain everything from the beginning.

So, why would you get this game instead of, say, some game from the Total War series? Honestly, I cannot say there is such a reason. There are far better games out there in this genre. The graphics might have been good for its time but since it heavily relies on polygons instead of art direction, it looks mighty ugly nowadays. The battles work as well as you could expect, but there is nothing special in them. All in all, the game does everything decently.

But should you get an average game these days? I suggest Total Annihilation series, for example Kingdoms, if you want an older RTS game, or Supreme Commander. Also about any game from the Total War series gives more to the player than this. Time has moved forwards past this game. It can still entertain, of course, but like I said, there are other options.

62

An average RTS. Far better options exist. Play them instead.

BubbaSquare | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all BubbaSquare's reviews »

The game does what it's meant to okay (being an RTS game), but there are far better options out there. The graphics have not aged well at all, and gameplay feels clunky and unresponsive. Using units don't feel as great to use. A plus is the map editor, but I found it somewhat difficult to use. If you're looking for RTS games, I highly recommend the ever-so-fun Total War games, which range from the cheaper Rome: Total War to the more expensive, yet awesome Total War: Shogun 2

80

Some new things

bala1201 | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all bala1201's reviews »

Since I got this game as a gift I don't want to complain about it too much. My main problems are: too short campaigns, few maps. Well, they include a map editor, but who has got time for that? all together it is a good game, old school strategy.

75

Got this game free, not the best but worth to play

imjpwutup | Sept. 5, 2013 | See all imjpwutup's reviews »

Great RTS game with lots of customize features and heros. This game is definitely worth the try if you're willing to overlook the outdated graphics.

60

Worth a play

taytothief | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all taytothief's reviews »

Decent RTS. I think I picked this up for free here, so I'm certainly not complaining. It's a nice old school space RTS.

70

Not Bad

Alfa8789 | Aug. 21, 2013 | See all Alfa8789's reviews »

Pretty decent game. If you liked the old Earth titles you'll like this one too. What I didn't like: The animated pictures of the hero units plainly look bad. A still, pre-drawn / rendered image would have worked better than these (the mouth animation is really poor and not sync at all). The voices aren't great either. For me this heavily impacts ambience. The controls are pretty awquard. Even though you can switch to the common Starcraft / C&C Generals controls, they don't seem to be tested well and overlap other mappings (rotate view, for example)

80

Some good classic fun

koolchiefs | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all koolchiefs's reviews »

I remember playing this series many years ago, and lost my disks. When I saw that I could get this game here for cheap, it was a no brainer.

The Earth games are in-depth enough, but not overly confusing. The customization of units is excellent, the graphics for their time period were great, and it's very cool to watch the battles unfold in this futuristic, but still believable setting.

It just brought back memories to play this. If you're looking for some good RTS action, this could be some fun for you.

81

Not perfect, but tries something new

Kradath | July 15, 2013 | See all Kradath's reviews »

The Earth series was always known for changing the gameplay formula slightly and trying out something new that wasn't done this way before in RTS games.

2160 is no different and in a few aspects it succeeds in bringing those new gameplay features. The whole product got it's flaws though, it feels sometimes like not all of the features work as intended for example.

Recommended.

90

Good game, amazing music.

yuppy | June 1, 2013 | See all yuppy's reviews »

Earth 2160 is oldschool but really good game which has amazing music! Better that StarCraft!

70

Very good end of very good serie

Demilisz | May 30, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

Earth series was one of the best when RTS was one of the most popular genres. And it was in C&C and StarCraft era. Earth 2160 is the last iteration and it is good. Good graphic (not Total War or CoH level, but still good), enjoyable campaign and gameplay. Four factions, each with slightly diofferent design. Music could be better, the most memorable part of it is probably the only song with lyrics (played in main menu). In Earth 2150 you could design your own unit using avaiable blocks (waepon, engine, corpus etc) and this is here as well. So if you need antitank unit that moves using antigrsvitational enginer - you can make it happen.

It may be worse that today's top RTS games, but neverthles it is worth to give a try.

80

Good game

1lbert | May 15, 2013 | See all 1lbert's reviews »

Earth 2160 is a good game. Do not know this game until Green Man Gaming gave it free. I played a lot in multi player with my friends. The solo game is quite long. The graphics are good. I played 2150 and I love it but that game is worst than Earth 2160.There is 4 civilisation but they gameplay is quite the same. The music is not so good. This game is better with SuperStorm mod allow us to play Skirmish with your friends. The worst thing is that short video when you build a plasma gun disappear (I thing that in Earth 2050 it was one of the best idea).

65

Tough old style game

Prozac | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all Prozac's reviews »

I would describe this game as stable, oldschool coding in a world of advanced graphic games. It reminds me of a Sierra game in this respect. Some people had problems with it, but I've played the campaigns twice on two different comps with no bugs. There is a patch you get a link to by email when you register the game, but it is only to improve the functionality of the skirmish and online gameplay features, and doesn't affect the campaign in any way. I can't seem to win if I don't play on the difficulty setting Easy, however. I wanted to play a space game and this scratched the itch. There are four campaigns, each with about 8 missions, and some rather long movies between them to carry the plot along. The movies could've been better: it's not the graphics, but the sense that the voice scripts were not read in the same room by the readers, and cut/edited together to give a feel of synchronicity.

The gameplay is, well, hard. There are so many commands it takes a while to understand what to do to give that competitive edge. Every attempt is made by the game designers to alleviate some of this - fully customizable commands, etc; but the system defaults for keyboard/mouse control are as good as any... For example, it took me a long time to figure out how to attack with the Lunar Corporation "Ripper" ship. After playing it a while, though, it gets really fun. A Save Replay function stores a set portion of the game as a file so you can review your tactics later, or just watch how you annihilated the enemy. It is like Starcraft with a lot of additions, including customizable ships and a "hero" who can collect special tools to help them (armor and weapons). The campaign is like a cross between Aliens (the movie) and Stargate.

60

It's pretty good for its time but could do a lot better.

ExtinctThings | Dec. 28, 2012 | See all ExtinctThings's reviews »

This game is pretty unique. It tackled the RTS genre packaged with features that more modern RTS games now have (although I don't think it invented a lot of them). The campaign is also pretty good, with a somewhat compelling storyline and missions. However, my gripe with this game is that it didn't fulfill its potential. Everything felt like it could have been better; controls could have been smoother and more intuitive (big one), plotline could have been better, setting could be more varied, and AI could also use a good deal of work. Also, online play and games against bots outside of the campaign are not very enjoyable. Overall it's not a terrible game especially considering when it was released, but it's definitely a stretch to say it's a good game. "Decent" is the adjective I would use for this game, in almost all aspects.

90

Love it

derangedboar | Dec. 18, 2012 | See all derangedboar's reviews »

Didn't think i would like this type of game, but boy was i wrong! its a great game with average graphics but its made up with some great controls. I wish i knew about this game sooner. I am going to recommend it everyone i know! thanks gmg for such a good game!

65

Earth 2160

xydanus | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all xydanus's reviews »

Earth 2160 is a solid RTS game, where you gather resources and build units. Unit design is interesting and game has nice scifi-feeling. I personally would have wanted more different kind of units. Earth 2160 is nothing you haven't seen before, but it's nice to have options once you have played C&C and Starcraft games enough.

80

A great strategy game

rulzmaker | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all rulzmaker's reviews »

I remember playing Earth 2140 back in the day. Oh, I loved that game. Earth 2150 was disappointing and this one I haven't actually played until GMG offered it. It's a great game, better than it's predecessors with even better graphics and gameplay. I'm going to invest lots of hours into this.

70

In-depth and complex but awkward controls

Maniacal | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all Maniacal's reviews »

Earth 2160 is a very in-depth and complex RTS (which is a very refreshing change from the increasingly simplistic indie RTS and "tower defense" games that are common now) set in futuristic solar system. The campaign is interesting and the different factions of humans, machines and aliens all play somewhat differently. The use of agents adds a more flavour to the game as well. The sound track is nice, although the graphics have not aged that well in 7 years (although they are not bad!). As I am not a huge RTS player I found the game's depth and complexity a little overwhelming at times but I can see its appeal to other people looking for a more of a challenge!

75

Review

lok0812 | Dec. 5, 2012 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Interesting gameplay with pretty graphic for a game that is this old. The game let you design your own units choosing between 4 different factions to play as, each one of them is unique to the others. The multiplayer skirmishes can also be very fun to play against the bot. Only downside is the game storyline is just average, pace is horrible, and the voice acting just really need some more work.

Overall, a must try for RTS fans for the Skirmish mode and the ability to master 4 different types of faction strategies.

76

Great RTS

lok0812 | Nov. 28, 2012 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Interesting gameplay with pretty graphic for a game that is this old. The game let you design your own units choosing between 4 different factions to play as, each one of them is unique to the others. The multiplayer skirmishes can also be very fun to play against the bot. Only downside is the game storyline is just average, pace is horrible, and the voice acting just really need some more work. Overall, a must try for RTS fans.

75

Good RTS

lok0812 | Nov. 27, 2012 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Interesting gameplay with pretty graphic for a game that is this old. The game let you design your own units choosing between 4 different factions to play as, each one of them is unique to the others. The multiplayer skirmishes can also be very fun to play against the bot. Only downside is the game storyline is just average, pace is horrible, and the voice acting just really need some more work. Overall, a must try for RTS fans.

83

A solid RTS

panz3r88 | Nov. 23, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Earth 2160 is really a great RTS. There are four factions with different characteristics that allow you to try different strategies: the Eurasian Dynasty as old units like tanks and helicopters and they are good for a defensive strategy;the UCS uses robotic units that can be improved through various add-on; the Lunar Corporation has very advanced units that use laser weapons. The new alien faction added to the game is probably one of the few defect of the game, because it's not well balanced with respect the other three factions. In single player each faction has a campaign with seven missions. The campaigns are good. Earth 2160 is a must buy for who wants a complex and fun RTS, even if it's inferior to Earth 2150 that has a more original single player campaign

54

Good game but failed execution

trunks10k | Nov. 21, 2012 | See all trunks10k's reviews »

I got this when GMG had its deal not complaining its a good game but I found it rather hard to play seeing as the controls are very robust. You would think that coming from a good lineage and around the same time as the RTS boom the controls would mimick those of the genre but they don't really. I found it really hard directing my troops. When building troops I didn't know how to set auto spawn point which made it a pain in the but cuz enemies would just attack my base while I was offing exploring and my units that were being built n those that were complete would spawn god knows where, but not anywhere near where the intruders were which made it such a pain for me going back and forth selecting - deselecting...etc... a game isn't suppose to be a chore and for that I gave this game a mediocre score.

85

It is good.

lok0812 | Nov. 14, 2012 | See all lok0812's reviews »

You get to choose between 4 different factions with different types of units and tech tree. While the tech trees weren't all that great between the factions but the building strategies will have you in awe. The graphic of this game is definitely high considering how dated this game is.

The only minor drawback of this game is its storyline, the pace of the game is ridiculous at some point, as well as the horrible voice acting. Regardless, this is a game that RTS fan must try out, the multiplayer and skirmishes are a great way to keep your replayability high with this game.

85

Very Good Value

pharaoh13 | Nov. 4, 2011 | See all pharaoh13's reviews »

Although comparisons to Starcraft are inevitable, this game has a lot going for it on its' own: well developed tech tree, good character development/voiceovers and a very wide range of imaginative scenarios. I highly recommend it for the price it's being offered at.

75

Not Bad, but Not an Improvement

Endyo | Oct. 2, 2011 | See all Endyo's reviews »

I was a big fan of Earth 2150, even though the single player campaign could be brutally difficult. Designing your own units from parts you've discovered and purchased was fantastic. That was retained in this iteration of the series, but what was lost was the excitement and buildup of a constant overriding goal.

Earth 2150 took place on Earth as it was losing its orbit and flying in to the sun, you had to collect enough resources to get out of there before that happened. In 2160, you don't have that pressure. You're simply playing to win with the task at hand in each mission. It plays much the same and the breadh of units expanded even further which allows for some really entertaining multiplayer (though the AI doesn't aid that) and some interesting battles. Really what it boils down to once you get over the expansive tech tree and custom designed units is a pretty basic RTS with three (ultimately four) reasonably diverse factions.

One thing that I never liked is that the new faction, the aliens, seem to be far too powerful. However, part of what makes the game fun is that you must properly prepare, through various routes, the best way to defeat your enemy's preparations. Whether it be the best weapons vs their armor or the best unit movement vs theirs, or more generally, simply the best designs to best their designs. It's a solid game to pick up and play if you're in to RTS games. It does offer what few games do these days and executes quite well. It's not the best RTS out there, but it's certainly worth a try.

80

Forgotten Gem

faraany3k | Aug. 18, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

Earth Series have always remained somewhat overshadowed by the likes of Command and Conquers and Starcrafts. This is a shame since Earth series has always remained graphically ahead of all those titles. Earth 2160 like its predecessors is a full 3D take on traditional RTS formula. Instead od a 2D game world, EARTH is fully realized 3D world where we can see our units from 360 degree and zoom in and out all we want. Game is a traditional RTS with four races each with abundant unit types, special units and other NPCs. Graphics are also top notch for there time. Game has a fast robust multiplayer portion with tons of maps and 4 distinct game modes. And at its current cheap price. You will not be disappointed for the amount of quality and content it offers.

98

Addictive and cheap

robertification | April 11, 2011 | See all robertification's reviews »

I have never before seen this great kind of game for such a bargain. The game has 4 singleplayer campaigns and 4 multiplayer modes. The graphics are nice, the gameplay is great, with some beautiful environments. This game offers a huge variety, with even a world editor. I can't name a single downside of this game. Buy, I say.

75

Good RTS.

mitzager | April 11, 2011 | See all mitzager's reviews »

Earth 2160 is a good game. It is the last game from the Earth series (2140 and 2150). I was a fan of 2150 (didn't got a chance to play 2140) and since a pc games magazine offered it for free, I gave Earth 2160 a shot. The first thing I noticed about the game was the improvement in graphics. Everything looked great, and the units details were amazing at ground level. The game has a campaign for each faction and the gameplay is different for every one. The story of the game is average, but the voice-acting is horrible, and it kinda bothers me that every mission of the campaign is like a skirmish game. The multiplayer makes the great. It's a lot of fun and you it offers a lot of variety in tactics. It definitely worth buying, especially that it's on sale now (3.29 is a great price).