Reviews for Resident Evil 4

80

Great as game, fail in RE series.

Furrek | June 12, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

I'm a huge Resident Evil fan and I'm sad when I look at this game as part of Resident Evil. It became more like action game than a horror one. This game is not scary at all. There is one moment (I won't tell you which one) that is kinda scary, but that's all. Also, where the heck are zombies? It's truly bad how this became a standard, but that's all for annoying fan talks.

As a gamer I did enjoyed this game. Fighting your enemies in Resident Evil 4 is so much fun. There are few difficult levels so if you are looking for a challenge, you will find it here. Mercenaries - the best thing that happened to RE series. In short - you have some time to kill the waves of enemies, trying to get as much points as you can, beating the scores of players in whole world. I spent in this mode twice as much time as you need to clear the games on every difficult level and trust me, it's not really a short game.

If you are fan of RE series, just try to play it as different game. If you are just looking for good game - congrats, you have found it! It's now in HD, so if you did played it before you must know, that everything that was annoying, got repaired.

95

A Much-Needed Port That Actually Works

pickelsurprise | April 1, 2014 | See all pickelsurprise's reviews »

This was actually my first experience with a Resident Evil game, and boy was it a good one. I wanted to get the older PC release of Resident Evil 4, but I was told by many people time and time again that it was a terrible port, largely because it completely lacked keyboard and mouse support. With this new HD re-release, this unfortunate truth is no longer so.

If you're a modern gamer, the controls will probably still take a little getting used to (mostly because you can't move and attack at the same time), but there is full keyboard and mouse support this time around. There's even an option to use an updated aiming system that will be more familiar to fans of current games who haven't played something in this style before.

It took me a little while, but eventually I acclimated to the controls. Once I passed that hurdle, everything about the game was smooth sailing. The story is interesting, the characters are entertaining, and the gameplay is frantic without becoming annoying.

If you want to get into the Resident Evil games, this is your gateway drug. If you're a long time fan who wants to give it another go, you won't be disappointed.

78

Good game

TheBeastF9 | March 5, 2014 | See all TheBeastF9's reviews »

Resident Evil 4 in my opinion is the best one out of all of them. From start to finish its very enjoyable, it has an RPG fell to it as well which is good for people who like playing games like this. Price isn't bad at all worth the buy if you enjoy playing resident evil, there is not many things that make the game not worth buying but the HD is a let down. Overall the game is fantastic but not worth buying if your not to into resident evil, i would consider buying a different zombie game if your not with the series.

87

Great game, now with polish!

backslashio | March 3, 2014 | See all backslashio's reviews »

It's had quite a few re-releases on various platforms with PC originally being the absolute worse with incredibly bland textures & stability issues. Now, years later its been polished to playable form and supports the 360 controller

While the game does still show its age as its not a complete HD remake its enjoyable as it used to be. Yes, the controls might still seem sluggish to today's standards but if you can look past that you'll enjoy the ~30 hours of content including Ada Wong's missions. It will always be the RE game that reinvented the franchise with a somewhat faster pace but still retaining the horror elements and some great set pieces. Get it, you won't be disappointed!

80

Good, but with port problems.

TETfromLondon | March 1, 2014 | See all TETfromLondon's reviews »

Resident Evil 4 is one of the greatest survival horror games (and arguably greatest games) of all time, but even though it has been ported to almost every platform, PC has never had a good version. The gameplay and gunplay are the same as they used to be, and the main changes are to do with the graphics and controls. The game now looks far better and can be played with a mouse, although it is still fairly clunky, so a controller of some sort is ideal. The textures are now pretty decent, although there are some that stand out for not being so good, and there are occasional glitches.

If you've ever played a Capcom game before, you know that the plots and dialogue are written by someone who's been locked in a room for 20 years with nothing but a box of cheesy 80s action movies for company, and this is no different. Don't let that put you off though, as the game is still overall worth getting, now is the time to get it.

92

Still a masterpiece

Arteus | Feb. 28, 2014 | See all Arteus's reviews »

Resident Evil 4 is an old favorite of mine and I've owned it on the PS2 and Wii in the past. When I saw that it was being brought to Steam with a bit of a graphical upgrade and the promise of running at 60fps I pre-ordered it and waited for release. Now that I've played it I can say that it seems to be a competent port with no massive problems. The game will run at 1080p at a solid 60fps, play perfectly fine with a mouse & keyboard or a gamepad and the textures are indeed slightly better than they were in the original release of the game.

Now, anybody expecting a massive graphical upgrade need to get their heads straight; Capcom could have grabbed the same mess of a PC version that they originally released and thrown it on Steam to make a quick buck. The fact that the textures and fps are better at all is something to be happy about, they don't need to be magically making the game look modern. This is a port, not a remake.

With that out of the way the game plays well, runs well and looks as you would expect; like Resident Evil 4 but slightly better than you're used to. Personally I still prefer the Wii version simply for the incredibly fun control system but the Steam version is nothing to scoff at. Definitely worth a purchase if you're an old fan of the game or a newcomer that has yet to play this masterpiece.

100

One of the best

Stebsis | Feb. 28, 2014 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Resident Evil 4 HD is fantastic remake of one of my all-time favorite games brought to 1080p and 60fps which make it glorious to look at and joy to play on modern machine. I’ve played this game close to 10 times through on PS2 and Gamecube, but it’s still as good as ever, now even better thanks to higher fps, and still scares the crap out of me, I never handled horror games well at all.

RE4 puts you in shoes of Leon Kennedy, who’s on a mission to retrieve president’s daughter who’s been kidnapped. Things of course start to go wrong and soon you’ll be shooting down zombies who come at you with pitchforks, scythes, chainsaws and dynamite. There’re actually no zombies in this game, enemies are possessed by a kind of parasite. Personally I don’t care but some fans seem to get a bit upset if you call them zombies, so I’m gonna call them zombies.

Story never gets that interesting but it’s still enjoyable and has that classic Resident Evil cheesiness. The atmosphere alone is enough to carry the story though. Later in the game enemies start to get really creepy, like chanting monks, and these very disturbing Regenerators that scared the crap out of me first time I played. I was like 10-11 years old and almost couldn’t continue at that point, I was just too damn scared.

Game is pretty long and you go through variety of different areas, villages, underground tunnels, old castles, riverside and lot of other places, it’s pretty linear but never felt restricting because there’s always something to find all around. You’re given a variety of weapons to use and customize to your liking. There’re pistol, shotgun, sniper rifle, rocket launcher etc. nothing really different, but guns feel good to use and have lot of add-ons that you buy from a mysterious merchant that always appears everywhere.

Inventory management is kind of a mini-game on its own, you have limited space so you have to try to get everything fit there. You can turn the weapons, items and ammo around in almost like a game of Tetris. Game doesn’t have crosshair, all guns have red dot sight which makes the combat even more fun, it doesn’t feel like you’re just pointing a reticule over a guy and shooting. The gun actually sways quite a bit in Leon’s hand and it can be very tricky to get a headshot, giving shooting a tad more realistic feeling, but thanks to mouse controls it’s a bit easier than on controller.

One thing that does kind of annoy about everyone in this game is Ashley, the president’s daughter. She’s rescued quite early on, and from that point the game is about 50/50 escort mission, maybe not even that much. You have to keep Ashley safe so that zombies don’t start munching on her, thankfully her AI isn’t horrible so it’s not impossible or that infuriating task as some other games make escort missions. Best parts of the game definitely are when she’s not around.

PC version does have couple oddities. I don’t like the mouse and keyboard at all because it doesn’t work like other third person shooters. You don’t control the characters direction with the mouse, only the camera which disorients a bit when you try to use mouse. You have to turn Leon with A and D keys which is a bit irritating and one thing I wanted them to change. Also there doesn’t seem to be a way to exit the game other than alt+f4. There still are some great things about the PC specific features. It natively supports Xbox 360 controller with 3 different control styles, and also other controllers that you can rebind the keys for if you need to. Game runs solid at 1080p and 60fps, I don’t think it goes higher than that. Also nice little thing added is that you can change from HD textures to original which I highly recommend. HD textures are a bit too clean looking, they don’t have that rugged feel to it like original does.

Resident Evil 4 is just such a great game I can’t even fully describe it, the gunplay, customization, characters, the journey, horror, creepy enemies, varied locations, atmospheric music, even Ashley all make this just an amazing experience that I still haven’t gotten bored of after almost 10 years. I still remember playing this the first time, I was still in elementary school and my brother had borrowed Gamecube from his friend and RE4 with it, I was so scared but I pushed on, and later that year got my own version on PS2.

Many have criticized that this went too much into action and not enough horror, but I think they found the perfect balance that later installments just couldn’t get right. This is without a doubt the definitive edition of RE4, I’ll always treasure my old PS2 version, but time goes on and this HD remake catches up, 60fps really makes a huge difference. If you for some reason haven’t played RE4 yet, give this a go.

85

The best in the series

Elfangorax | Feb. 27, 2014 | See all Elfangorax's reviews »

Resident Evil 4 has had many iterations, due in no small part to how genuinely unique a game it remains to be. As but one entry in a lengthy series, this is no small feat in and of itself.

In terms of plot, the game's main strength is that it takes place all but outside the realms of the series proper, with only the occasional nod to the mess that is its continuity. This gives it a freedom that no other Resident Evil game enjoys, which it at times uses to comical effect: from the creepy travelling salesman to the Napoleon-esque boss, there is a degree of tongue-in-cheek humour throughout.

Mechanically, there is nothing to fault. The weapons are varied, with their upgrades as a nice touch; the balance in difficulty never feels off; and the puzzles are well-placed. The game's grid-based inventory is a particularly nice feature, wherein the player is forced to prioritise their resources (weapons, grenades, recovery items, etc) based on the space available. While deliberately limiting, this also affords the player a great deal of flexibility in how they wish to approach the game.

Resident Evil 4 is a shining example of its generation in gaming, and remains a fantastic game to this day. I cannot praise it enough.