Reviews for Resident Evil 4

85

One More Chance to Play Survivor Horror Masterpiece

DDEMOLITOR | Nov. 17, 2014 | See all DDEMOLITOR's reviews »

Resident evil 4 one of the best games ever made.But now this game is nine years old and still impress us by the help of new hd graphics and textures on PC. There isn' any gameplay or content upgrade sadly.However Resident Evil 4 has really great amount of content and has so much replay value.You will complete the game one more one time to unlock most of the weapons and items these game offers.Pace of this game is one of the strong point of its success and near perfect.Story doesn't make much sense at the beginning but fastly gets very interesting through to the game.So many places and clever location through to the game and enemy types and bosses well designed and really fun to defeat.Also there is trials like mercenaries minigame which unlocked after beating the campaing is definitely worth playing.There is no co op multiplayer mode unfortunately. Resident Evil 4 is a revolutionary survivor horror game and one of best game of all time.

90

A new breed of Horror

KingTed | Nov. 7, 2014 | See all KingTed's reviews »

After years spent in the Survival Horror category, Resident Evil came back i, 2005 with a new orientation."Forget the horror. Forget the zombies", they said. This time, Resident Evil is an action game. You play as Leon S. Kenney, who got promoted from rookie cop to special agent under the President's direct orders. Your mission is to go to a remote village in Spain where Ashely, the President's daughter, was abducted. Confronting a new kind of mutant, born from a ancient parasite called Las Plaguas, you must fight your way through the village and the forest nearby.

RE4 is an action game. You have plenty of ammo and weapons. You can even buy new tools of the trade from a mysterious merchant and upgrade your gears. This game introduced the aim system that is populared in Third Person Shooters nowadays. RE4 is filled with great action sequences, epic boss fight and over the top cheesy dialogs. If you love action games, it's a must have.

This HD port is way better than the original PC port of the game. Controls are better but I recommend to use a game controller. The visuals are good and the game is fluid.

The game also has a great replay value.

75

Good game, but no RE flavour

Visicko | Nov. 6, 2014 | See all Visicko's reviews »

I liked this game. The graphics are neat, the mechanics of hiding and protecting the president's daughter are cool, lovely shooting action, not a bad story, a tense atmosphere. That being said, I was a bit disappointed with the deviation from some concepts that I thought were central to the series. The three first games [I haven't played Code: Veronica nor RE0] had more of a suffocating and terrifying feel. I think what contributed to create it was the cinematic cameras, the interior settings, the exploration and puzzles and the sacarcity of ammo and healing items... You find little of those elements in this game, so it did not quite feel like a RE game to me. More of a horror action shooter than a survival horror, but good game nonetheless.

99

The greatest game of all time

Generalcanada | Nov. 3, 2014 | See all Generalcanada's reviews »

RE4 is the best survival horror game out there. In fact, it ruined Resident Evil franchise forever by changing the camera angle and making it more action packed. That being said, it's still an extremely tense game that has extremely satisfying gun play. This HD port increases the FPS to 60 and ups the res of the textures. Note that before playing this I would recommend a controller and also to make sure you have the system specs to run the game.

70

pretty good as far as FPS goes

rslancer | Sept. 29, 2014 | See all rslancer's reviews »

Yep the usual FPS. Closest one to this is the FEAR series. Some scares here and there but the controls are hard. I think that may be due to the fact that this is a port but its still worth playing nonetheless if you are into FPS.

70

It needs no introduction

madm0x | Sept. 26, 2014 | See all madm0x's reviews »

Basically if you haven't played Resident Evil series before, game may seem a bit clumsy. Well that's obvious. It has been released 7 years before and people in nowadays rather spend money on new battlefield DLC than on old single-player shooter. However I enjoyed every second of it. It's combination of FPS, strategy (more or less), and the best thing ... Zombies. Cool missions, secrets, bosses and main character is Leonardo di Caprio. What could be better?

80

Great game, but bad controls.

FriggleFraggles | Aug. 22, 2014 | See all FriggleFraggles's reviews »

As my review states, this game has a fantastic story and gameplay. However, the controls aren't he extraordinary and will be frustrating to get used too.

87

A Legendary Game!

Pro_Fish | July 31, 2014 | See all Pro_Fish's reviews »

Resident Evil 4 is the PC port that should have been around the first time. Some may say that this is too little, too late, but I say nonsense. I believe this game would be an excellent addition to any PC gamer’s library for its sheer force in the gaming industry. Unfortunately, this game seems to shy away from its horror root for more of an action, over the shoulder type game, but there are some horror elements left over to keep the game exhilarating as well as give it a unique feel all its own. Also, the tank controls may be jarring to some at first, but after some play time, they will be easily adjusted to, to provide an excellent experience.

84

A Fantastic Game!

Pro_Fish | July 31, 2014 | See all Pro_Fish's reviews »

Resident Evil 4 is easily one of the most iconic games of a previous generation that should not be missed. It abandons most of its horror aspects, although there are still a good number to provide an occasional scare, but makes up for it with its fantastic third person action and interesting story. Also, as a port it is great. Not perfect, but very good. It will run at 60fps, but there may be a few hiccups. All in all, this is a legendary game that should not be missed.

80

Great as game, fail in RE series.

Furrek | June 12, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

I'm a huge Resident Evil fan and I'm sad when I look at this game as part of Resident Evil. It became more like action game than a horror one. This game is not scary at all. There is one moment (I won't tell you which one) that is kinda scary, but that's all. Also, where the heck are zombies? It's truly bad how this became a standard, but that's all for annoying fan talks.

As a gamer I did enjoyed this game. Fighting your enemies in Resident Evil 4 is so much fun. There are few difficult levels so if you are looking for a challenge, you will find it here. Mercenaries - the best thing that happened to RE series. In short - you have some time to kill the waves of enemies, trying to get as much points as you can, beating the scores of players in whole world. I spent in this mode twice as much time as you need to clear the games on every difficult level and trust me, it's not really a short game.

If you are fan of RE series, just try to play it as different game. If you are just looking for good game - congrats, you have found it! It's now in HD, so if you did played it before you must know, that everything that was annoying, got repaired.

95

A Much-Needed Port That Actually Works

pickelsurprise | April 1, 2014 | See all pickelsurprise's reviews »

This was actually my first experience with a Resident Evil game, and boy was it a good one. I wanted to get the older PC release of Resident Evil 4, but I was told by many people time and time again that it was a terrible port, largely because it completely lacked keyboard and mouse support. With this new HD re-release, this unfortunate truth is no longer so.

If you're a modern gamer, the controls will probably still take a little getting used to (mostly because you can't move and attack at the same time), but there is full keyboard and mouse support this time around. There's even an option to use an updated aiming system that will be more familiar to fans of current games who haven't played something in this style before.

It took me a little while, but eventually I acclimated to the controls. Once I passed that hurdle, everything about the game was smooth sailing. The story is interesting, the characters are entertaining, and the gameplay is frantic without becoming annoying.

If you want to get into the Resident Evil games, this is your gateway drug. If you're a long time fan who wants to give it another go, you won't be disappointed.

78

Good game

TheBeastF9 | March 5, 2014 | See all TheBeastF9's reviews »

Resident Evil 4 in my opinion is the best one out of all of them. From start to finish its very enjoyable, it has an RPG fell to it as well which is good for people who like playing games like this. Price isn't bad at all worth the buy if you enjoy playing resident evil, there is not many things that make the game not worth buying but the HD is a let down. Overall the game is fantastic but not worth buying if your not to into resident evil, i would consider buying a different zombie game if your not with the series.

87

Great game, now with polish!

backslashio | March 3, 2014 | See all backslashio's reviews »

It's had quite a few re-releases on various platforms with PC originally being the absolute worse with incredibly bland textures & stability issues. Now, years later its been polished to playable form and supports the 360 controller

While the game does still show its age as its not a complete HD remake its enjoyable as it used to be. Yes, the controls might still seem sluggish to today's standards but if you can look past that you'll enjoy the ~30 hours of content including Ada Wong's missions. It will always be the RE game that reinvented the franchise with a somewhat faster pace but still retaining the horror elements and some great set pieces. Get it, you won't be disappointed!

80

Good, but with port problems.

TETfromLondon | March 1, 2014 | See all TETfromLondon's reviews »

Resident Evil 4 is one of the greatest survival horror games (and arguably greatest games) of all time, but even though it has been ported to almost every platform, PC has never had a good version. The gameplay and gunplay are the same as they used to be, and the main changes are to do with the graphics and controls. The game now looks far better and can be played with a mouse, although it is still fairly clunky, so a controller of some sort is ideal. The textures are now pretty decent, although there are some that stand out for not being so good, and there are occasional glitches.

If you've ever played a Capcom game before, you know that the plots and dialogue are written by someone who's been locked in a room for 20 years with nothing but a box of cheesy 80s action movies for company, and this is no different. Don't let that put you off though, as the game is still overall worth getting, now is the time to get it.

92

Still a masterpiece

Arteus | Feb. 28, 2014 | See all Arteus's reviews »

Resident Evil 4 is an old favorite of mine and I've owned it on the PS2 and Wii in the past. When I saw that it was being brought to Steam with a bit of a graphical upgrade and the promise of running at 60fps I pre-ordered it and waited for release. Now that I've played it I can say that it seems to be a competent port with no massive problems. The game will run at 1080p at a solid 60fps, play perfectly fine with a mouse & keyboard or a gamepad and the textures are indeed slightly better than they were in the original release of the game.

Now, anybody expecting a massive graphical upgrade need to get their heads straight; Capcom could have grabbed the same mess of a PC version that they originally released and thrown it on Steam to make a quick buck. The fact that the textures and fps are better at all is something to be happy about, they don't need to be magically making the game look modern. This is a port, not a remake.

With that out of the way the game plays well, runs well and looks as you would expect; like Resident Evil 4 but slightly better than you're used to. Personally I still prefer the Wii version simply for the incredibly fun control system but the Steam version is nothing to scoff at. Definitely worth a purchase if you're an old fan of the game or a newcomer that has yet to play this masterpiece.

100

One of the best

Stebsis | Feb. 28, 2014 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

Resident Evil 4 HD is fantastic remake of one of my all-time favorite games brought to 1080p and 60fps which make it glorious to look at and joy to play on modern machine. I’ve played this game close to 10 times through on PS2 and Gamecube, but it’s still as good as ever, now even better thanks to higher fps, and still scares the crap out of me, I never handled horror games well at all.

RE4 puts you in shoes of Leon Kennedy, who’s on a mission to retrieve president’s daughter who’s been kidnapped. Things of course start to go wrong and soon you’ll be shooting down zombies who come at you with pitchforks, scythes, chainsaws and dynamite. There’re actually no zombies in this game, enemies are possessed by a kind of parasite. Personally I don’t care but some fans seem to get a bit upset if you call them zombies, so I’m gonna call them zombies.

Story never gets that interesting but it’s still enjoyable and has that classic Resident Evil cheesiness. The atmosphere alone is enough to carry the story though. Later in the game enemies start to get really creepy, like chanting monks, and these very disturbing Regenerators that scared the crap out of me first time I played. I was like 10-11 years old and almost couldn’t continue at that point, I was just too damn scared.

Game is pretty long and you go through variety of different areas, villages, underground tunnels, old castles, riverside and lot of other places, it’s pretty linear but never felt restricting because there’s always something to find all around. You’re given a variety of weapons to use and customize to your liking. There’re pistol, shotgun, sniper rifle, rocket launcher etc. nothing really different, but guns feel good to use and have lot of add-ons that you buy from a mysterious merchant that always appears everywhere.

Inventory management is kind of a mini-game on its own, you have limited space so you have to try to get everything fit there. You can turn the weapons, items and ammo around in almost like a game of Tetris. Game doesn’t have crosshair, all guns have red dot sight which makes the combat even more fun, it doesn’t feel like you’re just pointing a reticule over a guy and shooting. The gun actually sways quite a bit in Leon’s hand and it can be very tricky to get a headshot, giving shooting a tad more realistic feeling, but thanks to mouse controls it’s a bit easier than on controller.

One thing that does kind of annoy about everyone in this game is Ashley, the president’s daughter. She’s rescued quite early on, and from that point the game is about 50/50 escort mission, maybe not even that much. You have to keep Ashley safe so that zombies don’t start munching on her, thankfully her AI isn’t horrible so it’s not impossible or that infuriating task as some other games make escort missions. Best parts of the game definitely are when she’s not around.

PC version does have couple oddities. I don’t like the mouse and keyboard at all because it doesn’t work like other third person shooters. You don’t control the characters direction with the mouse, only the camera which disorients a bit when you try to use mouse. You have to turn Leon with A and D keys which is a bit irritating and one thing I wanted them to change. Also there doesn’t seem to be a way to exit the game other than alt+f4. There still are some great things about the PC specific features. It natively supports Xbox 360 controller with 3 different control styles, and also other controllers that you can rebind the keys for if you need to. Game runs solid at 1080p and 60fps, I don’t think it goes higher than that. Also nice little thing added is that you can change from HD textures to original which I highly recommend. HD textures are a bit too clean looking, they don’t have that rugged feel to it like original does.

Resident Evil 4 is just such a great game I can’t even fully describe it, the gunplay, customization, characters, the journey, horror, creepy enemies, varied locations, atmospheric music, even Ashley all make this just an amazing experience that I still haven’t gotten bored of after almost 10 years. I still remember playing this the first time, I was still in elementary school and my brother had borrowed Gamecube from his friend and RE4 with it, I was so scared but I pushed on, and later that year got my own version on PS2.

Many have criticized that this went too much into action and not enough horror, but I think they found the perfect balance that later installments just couldn’t get right. This is without a doubt the definitive edition of RE4, I’ll always treasure my old PS2 version, but time goes on and this HD remake catches up, 60fps really makes a huge difference. If you for some reason haven’t played RE4 yet, give this a go.

85

The best in the series

Elfangorax | Feb. 27, 2014 | See all Elfangorax's reviews »

Resident Evil 4 has had many iterations, due in no small part to how genuinely unique a game it remains to be. As but one entry in a lengthy series, this is no small feat in and of itself.

In terms of plot, the game's main strength is that it takes place all but outside the realms of the series proper, with only the occasional nod to the mess that is its continuity. This gives it a freedom that no other Resident Evil game enjoys, which it at times uses to comical effect: from the creepy travelling salesman to the Napoleon-esque boss, there is a degree of tongue-in-cheek humour throughout.

Mechanically, there is nothing to fault. The weapons are varied, with their upgrades as a nice touch; the balance in difficulty never feels off; and the puzzles are well-placed. The game's grid-based inventory is a particularly nice feature, wherein the player is forced to prioritise their resources (weapons, grenades, recovery items, etc) based on the space available. While deliberately limiting, this also affords the player a great deal of flexibility in how they wish to approach the game.

Resident Evil 4 is a shining example of its generation in gaming, and remains a fantastic game to this day. I cannot praise it enough.