Reviews for Reign: Conflict of Nations DNS

82

Intriguing Game

kalil | June 20, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

It´s a highly underrated but intriguing game. There are no massive battles Total War style, instead this is a game along the line of Europa Universalis III with an element of RTS similar to Mount&Blade or Real Warfare 1242. This game has a beautiful albeit simplistic graphical approach a smooth tutorial and a good interface. The AI is solid, though like most games sometimes Moscow just really wants to conquer Oman or in this case the Crimea, personally I think that kind of result is intrinsic to the concept of alternative history strategy. The two primary problems with this game, as can easily be discovered by checking reviews or the 1C forums are that: 1) there is no decent manual, while the tutorial is a great outline it offers limited suggestions on strategic considerations, and 2) as many underrated games this was reviewed and pigeon-holed by "professional" reviewers who are either afraid to get their feet wet or think that no one else will want to either. This game is FAR from the opaque mess it has been portrayed to be and as anyone who plays Total War or Paradox or Starcraft knows that if you REALLY need to know something just open the game files to understand the actual combat mechanics

81

Solid game

DanielZo0 | June 12, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

Reign: Conflict of Nations is a highly underrated but intriguing game. There are no massive battles Total War style, instead this is a game along the line of Europa Universalis III with an element of RTS similar to Mount&Blade or Real Warfare 1242. This game has a beautiful albeit simplistic graphical approach a smooth tutorial and a good interface. The AI is solid, though like most games sometimes Moscow just really wants to conquer Oman or in this case the Crimea, personally I think that kind of result is intrinsic to the concept of alternative history strategy. The two primary problems with this game, as can easily be discovered by checking reviews or the 1C forums are that: 1) there is no decent manual, while the tutorial is a great outline it offers limited suggestions on strategic considerations, and 2) as many underrated games this was reviewed and pigeon-holed by "professional" reviewers who are either afraid to get their feet wet or think that no one else will want to either. This game is FAR from the opaque mess it has been portrayed to be and as anyone who plays Total War or Paradox or Starcraft knows that if you REALLY need to know something just open the game files to understand the actual combat mechanics, otherwise just experiment, isn't that the way a game should be?

65

Unique setting, flawed game

DaiMonPaul | Jan. 21, 2013 | See all DaiMonPaul's reviews »

This is a game that I really, really wanted to like. I enjoy grand strategy games, and this game reminds me a lot of both Knights of Honor and the turn-based map sections of the Total War series. It takes place in the Medieval Baltic, encompassing Russia, Lithuania, etc, and you just don't see this area and time represented in many video games. The graphics are solid, and it's easy to get started in the game, but once you start playing, the bugs and poor AI start to show up. It's also somewhat simplistic and not as engaging as the grand strategy elements of the Total War series or Knights of Honor. I've never had the game crash, but I have had issues getting the game to run smoothly on a low-end system. My system can run Crusader Kings 2 better than it runs this game, and I'm not sure why; your situation may vary, of course.

Overall, this game is a missed opportunity. If you enjoy grand strategy games and want to play one in a somewhat unique historical setting, it's worth picking this game up when it goes on sale. Otherwise, I'd recommend a real hidden gem, Knights of Honor, instead.

72

Fairly solid game, but has some problems...

Cooberstooge | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Reign is a solid, fairly straightforward strategy game that, while it initially is quite good, further play will reveal it has some issues. Said issues are nothing a few extra weeks of development time couldn't have fixed, but they've yet to be patched out.

The graphics are nice to look at, and the characters are well-detailed, despite being 2D. The story is probably the highlight here, and is quite detailed - the game is worth the asking price just for this, in my opinion. The soundtrack is nice, with music that is pretty calm, instead of the usual imposing instrumental stuff so many of these titles love to use.

The AI is normally pretty good at what it's doing, but occasionally can get pretty dumb - I've run into this in every game of Reign I have played so far. While somewhat irritating, other than the quirky AI, the game runs just fine, and it's never crashed once on me.

For being set in an unusual historical period most similar games don't touch, and having a great story, I definitely recommend giving Reign: Conflict of Nations a go. Just be prepared to handle sometimes goofy AI.

40

Doesn't live up to its potential

IganX | July 22, 2012 | See all IganX's reviews »

Having the potential to be a great game, its amount of bugs and simplistic mechanics make it a game which is mediocre at most. You will have a good time a couple of hours and forget it as soon as you try another strategy game.

50

Fresh setting and many interesting ideas but needs polish

Maniacal | June 17, 2012 | See all Maniacal's reviews »

I was intrigued by the Eastern European setting which is often ignored by AAA developers and the medieval setting. The game has quite a lot of interesting features and ideas and at first I enjoyed it. However, the more I played the more its flaws and short-comings were revealed. Especially the AI which was often poor and there were a few rather buggy features.

44

A good idea, a bad game

virtualflyer | Aug. 12, 2011 | See all virtualflyer's reviews »

It was surely a great concept, a game that had interesting ideas inside, but it hasn't surely been realized as it should. It has bad graphics, surely it's not important, but it takes its part and even gameplay become soon boring. Not the worst game, but I won't advice you to buy it.

57

Not as good as I expected...

newn | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all newn's reviews »

When I bought this game, I actually expected something nice. Graphics looks good, videos look good. But it isn't. First of all - the A.I. is extremely buggy. It seems as they were short of time in the end of development and cut on A.I. Though A.I. is usually somewhere in the middle, not in the end of the development process. And it's not getting fixed in any way. It seems as 1C have forgotten about this game after creating it. The only two things good about this game is story and graphics. So if you want a shiny game and a nice story - you should get it. If you want a hard game to play against PC - it probably isn't what you want. Personally I'd buy it again, but only with 70% discount, because I liked the story despite the buggy A.I..

68

good game,concept but lacks the shine

liquidsnake78 | May 24, 2011 | See all liquidsnake78's reviews »

before i went into playing this game having read all the reviews, i was expecting it to be disappointing, but i was surprised the game's approach story-wise seemed to be good (medieval Europe), their idea of the game is ok too, the game does not feel that different than other real time strategy games, especially 1c's own kings bounty, having said that once you start playing the game, the lack of a simple ui , or decent smooth graphics is absent. This makes the game rather just normal, the ai has lots of problems, the heros the game claims so much are rather just extra strong soliders with nothing unique. The game can be very difficulty for those new into strategy games.

other than the in game issues, the gameplay is normal nothing epic with the story as it progresses, i wish they had polished the game a bit more before releasing it, it would have surely become a classic.

however for those with ample experience playing strategy games, this one will fit in nicely hope 1c releases some game fixes and patches for the game later.

60

Good idea but buggy and boring gameplay

dottore_46 | April 15, 2011 | See all dottore_46's reviews »

I took the game during the promotion and believed it to be another rare gem from the guys of 1C like king's bounty or fantasy wars. However, this game does not reach the fun level of the former. The graphics and sounds are ook for normal gamers. However, the gameplay is rather unoriginal and is full of bugs and irrational AI.

84

I like it

McMissile | April 10, 2011 | See all McMissile's reviews »

This game is a lot of fun, if you've missed the promotional, I'd suggest you buy it. I played it at my friends house and it was a lot of fun. Very nice gameplay, well engineered. Check it out. It can be challenging though.

54

Creativity is not always good

MadMonkey119 | April 9, 2011 | See all MadMonkey119's reviews »

This game tries to create a new and unique experience so hard that it ultimately becomes something difficult to understand and play. This game will focus on the area of Russia divided into provinces where 26 factions fight for supremacy. So you choose a point on the map as to where you start and this will determine your commander/ruler and units unique to that province/territory. However the world map although looks nice, can hinder game play. It has ever flowing and annoying clouds! If you zoom in to get past the clouds you don't see enough of the map. Graphics tend to be composed of sprites which at times looks dated but also detailed. Also, I find the AI to be completely and utterly silly. At times they work, but usually they will do the opposite of the logical move. Truthfully units aren't too unique as well. They will look similar and have one or two slightly changed stats. Overall the game lacks enjoyment personally with repetitive missions and a only alright UI.

40

seriously underwhelming

pazmacats | April 8, 2011 | See all pazmacats's reviews »

This game is... born dead. Forum is dead, there is no proper documentation and and there is no support.

Options are severely limited, it feels like a game from the early 90's with better graphics (which look nice). It might be interesting for people who are extremely interested in that time or region, everybody else should just get Europa Universalis 2 or 3 which both offer a LOT more in terms of gameplay.