Reviews for Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light

85

Not What I Expected, and That is a Good Thing

cedarson | April 13, 2014 | See all cedarson's reviews »

I've been a die hard tomb raider fan since the first one came out on the PS1 years ago. Pretty much the formula has not changed much. So when this was announced, I was skeptical. I'm glad that my worries were alleviated in the first 10 minutes of playing. It is a scaled down version of Tomb Raider with a little more action and a top down view. The puzzles are challenging but not impossible, and the pace is really good. I recommend giving this game a look if you are a Tomb Raider fan or even a Diablo fan.

79

Good way to keep series fresh

Specu | Nov. 27, 2013 | See all Specu's reviews »

That was good idea to keep the series fresh and prepare for bigger revolution. It's still the same concept of raiding the tombs, with different perspective and co-op friendly. I should thanks to the Crystal (developer) for that step because now control is better than original from old trilogy. There is also more shooting sequences but with better control and character movement it's now better and don't frustrate that much compared to older Tomb Raider. Puzzles are well designed (also scaled well with progress) and there is some that make a lot of fun when you can play with other player. Surgical precision or field for crocked tricks? It's all your way.

75

Decent puzzle games

YugTaht | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all YugTaht's reviews »

Played this puzzle game with my gf, who picked it up for cheap online during a halloween sale. This game is very fun puzzle wise, and some puzzles even get fustrating because that's how hard they are (if you want to 100% the game). Personally, I don't really follow the story-line and am not that interested in it. The camera work in this game may get annoying as both players have to share the SAME screen, there's no split or "your own screen," you both share the same screen. So maneuvering around may be difficult. The puzzles do NOT get easier if you are on co-op, the puzzles are the same but modified slightly depending if you're playing solo or co-op; allowing you to complete it solo if you wish, but if you had a 2nd person, then you must divi-up the tasks. Graphics are pretty standard, for a top view game, graphics aren't usually the best IMO, but it doesn't need to be to keep you entertained because you'll always be running from a giant spike ball or a wave of fire coming up behind you.

95

An Amazing Co-Op Experience

Wiesler | Nov. 13, 2013 | See all Wiesler's reviews »

Good co-op games let you play with your friend without taking away any of the fun. Great co-op games make working together with your friend(s) fun. Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light does this perfectly. Totec and Lara have to use their abilities to help each other through puzzles and platforming sections. Lara has a zipline for Totec to walk across and Totec has spears that only Lara can jump on, as well as a shield that doubles as a platform for Lara. The game has a good mix of combat and puzzles. The difficulty of both varies, but it is all fun. The many rewards that can be unlocked from playing the game and doing certain things add to the replay value. The items unlocked give some RPG qualities to the game because weapons and artifacts have various effects and statistics. This is probably one of the best co-op games you will play and it comes at a fine price.

86

Good game

Alfa8789 | Oct. 29, 2013 | See all Alfa8789's reviews »

This game has great graphics for a top down view. it is still tomb raider, with its platforming and you still play as lara croft. gameplay is great with the way you can use bombs to create new paths, and puzzles are interesting. really consider getting a 360 controller to play it though. if you can have 3 playable characters like in Trine? I believe this game would be one of the best created.

83

Great game !!!!

Andrusil | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all Andrusil's reviews »

Great puzzles+fun challanges+Lara Croft = A great adition to the Tomb Raider franchise.

91

Awesome game

steamspeedfreak | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all steamspeedfreak's reviews »

Well i bought this game and i was a bit skeptic at beginning , but after i tried it i love it so much. I started playing it with my girlfriend in CO-OP mode and omg we haven't have so much fun since torchlight 2 or Trine 2. Puzzles are cool , not too hard. Gameplay is just amazing, leveling system is preety cool and interesting, enemies are not too hard- just enough to make the game semi hard. I really hope they will make a seqal to this. Great game, its a must buy.

80

One of the best Co-Op games there is to offer

lagendofdoom | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all lagendofdoom's reviews »

A game that is literally concentrates on Co-Op, it is really important to play with a friend to actually enjoy this game. While Tomb Raider is all about platformers and a little gun play, when you turn it into "Diablo Style" it may as well surprise you as to how much fun it can be. There are good amounts of puzzle which will make you and your friend to think as well as trying to understand the abilities and skills that each of you have ( Lara and The Guardian ). Both of you will have to time and cooperate with each other to proceed and most importantly you can kill each other ( for fun and some laughs ).

80

This game needs a sequel

Nova4 | Sept. 26, 2013 | See all Nova4's reviews »

I really mean it, or at least a spiritual sequel. This game had everthing: +Pulzzes +Lara Croft. +A fun Coop mode +Lara Croft with thiny shorts. +Fun action. +Lara Croft kicking a$$es. +Fun enough story. +And Lara croft

Is a really awesome game and if you are a fan of lara croft like me, you must buy it.

90

Great with co-op!

rjb789 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This game is a blast if you have a friend to play it with. Finding caves and slaughtering all manner of beasts and monsters alongside a friend, and then jumping across the large puzzle caves and looting all the artifacts. Its a very rewarding task and it is made all that much better by having a friend to do it all with. The range of weapons is also a welcome addition to the series and allows the player to experiment with ways to kill the monsters and collect the rewards. All in all its an extremely fun game to play through with a friend and it is very rewarding to find all the artifacts.

80

A Fun Co-Op Experience

Osidius87 | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all Osidius87's reviews »

This game marked the resurgence of Lara Croft, and it did so with style. Including a challenging and exciting single player/co-op campaign, hidden collectables, and some of the best Tomb Raider gameplay this decade, this is not a game to miss if you enjoy a good puzzle-based action game.

85

Refreshing Change of Pace

Turambar29 | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all Turambar29's reviews »

The Tomb Raider games have always been platformers, but this game still makes for an interesting change of pace. Playing from an overhead/isometric perspective, like many ARPGs, Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light offers up a different kind of puzzle-platformer experience. It still features beautiful environments, exotic locations, and strange mystical enemies to oppose, more or less everything you expect from a Tomb Raider game, but remixed.

90

Great with friends

meezo | Aug. 11, 2013 | See all meezo's reviews »

This game can be played solo, however it is best with a friend. An overhead Tomb Raider might seem strange at first, but it has all the things you'd expect form a Tomb Raider game. Awesome locations to explore, a great variety of enemies, and good puzzles. The story is very solid.

95

An extremely enjoyable co-op experience

damnnicholas | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all damnnicholas's reviews »

This game should be played with a friend, for the fullest experience. Plenty of weapons, in-game mechanics which actually include a purpose to co-op play instead of the fact that you're playing with a friend and overall, a great game to pick up and play. It doesn't matter if you're a fan of Lara Croft, you'll still love this game.

90

An amazing co-op experience

lucaswrite | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

With a friend, this game is an absolute jolt. You and your partner will end up running through caves killing monsters with a great selection of weapons, solving creative, quirky puzzles, and collecting rewarding artifacts that will keep you're instinctive motivation going. If this game lacked co-op, it's rating would probably drop to a 60 or 70, because the experience would definitely be lacking. But you and your partner will find yourselves constantly relying on each other to pass certain obstacles, and save each others lives. And that's a good thing, because it helps build the cooperative adventurous atmosphere that helps make the game thrive so much. Each character has their own unique abilities and weapons, such as a spear or dual pistols, but there is still a bunch of weapons available for both characters to share.

If you're looking for a deep, fun-filled adventure with a friend, than you really need this game. It'll pass time like no other, and you won't want to put it down.

82

Play as the legendary Kain!

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

Great single player and an even better Coop experience. It's has fast paced action, ingenious puzzle design for both a single player and multiplayer experience. Fantastic. Best of all, you can play as Kain from the Blood Omen series!

74

Tomb raider coop? why u dont buy it?

sagamaru | July 28, 2013 | See all sagamaru's reviews »

I was deeply sceptical about this isometric entry in the Lara Croft games, but I was proven wrong. Everything that is good about the best entries in the regular 3D series is present and accounted for. Great underground caves and structures to explore, overgrown, exotic and sometimes rightfully extinct enemies to defeat, great navigational challenges to overcome, deviously hidden treasures to uncover and last but not least, Lara herself and her posh accent. It even has a very well implemented multiplayer mode, something that none of the Tomb Raider games ever did. Highly recommended.

The game features a story on the same level as the previous

First coop game from the Tomb Raider series....sold it

Fans of the series should not miss it

100

Awsome

legionempire | July 27, 2013 | See all legionempire's reviews »

In short this a great game worth every penny !!!

75

I think is better on co-op

TGAlan | July 11, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

I must say I haven't played co-op, only solo, so my opinion is based only on the solo experience. I'm pointing this out because this game looks like it is a lot of fun with co-op. Even playing solo I enjoyed myself with this game, the puzzles weren't very challenging but were enough to keep me entertained. The action parts were less fun than the puzzles, but they still managed to entertain, especially the boss fights. I guess it's a game worth a look, but not at full price.

75

Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light review

vvhitevvolf | July 4, 2013 | See all vvhitevvolf's reviews »

This game is basically a top down shooter with some puzzle elements. It has nice graphics and smooth controls. It isn't really a "tomb raider" game because you won't be challenged to figure out any complex puzzles or be required to make intricate jumps like previous games in the series. But what it does it does well. It offers fast paced action, a decent variety of weapons and also has some hidden secrets. You are also rated on your performance in each level which adds to some replay value if your the type of gamer who likes to find every secret, get your best time or complete every challenge. It also allows for co-op game play which is nice for those who want to experience the game with a friend. I enjoyed the game even though it lacked any real depth. Overall I give the game a 7.5 out of 10.

100

Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light

EagleEye12 | July 3, 2013 | See all EagleEye12's reviews »

This game is very fun and well made; have a light story (but not banal) because the major quality of this game is the gameplay. There are puzzle (not hard and not too easy), traps and challenges, the ambients are various with themed enemies well made; you can use many many weapons and can upgrade these.

In addition to the campaign the game have some maps with different mode to play: traps, survival (very very fun) and challenge on campaing's maps; it's possible play in single or cooperative (the game is well balanced for both), also is replayable for complete all challenges, unlock more weapons, upgrade characters and weapons or just to replay the campaign with more powerful weapons.

Crystal Dinamics (the developer) have decided that when you will active the game on steam you receive for free the DLC2 (maps plus survival mode) and the DLC with skins of kane e lync.

77

Nice spinoff

lok0812 | July 2, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

First coop game from the Tomb Raider series, one player controls Lara and the other control the Guardian. Each of these characters have different moveset and unique ability to complement each other to solve puzzles and move around the map. The game style is your top down view similar to Diablo games and play with click at your target with your mouse to attack. THere are numerous puzzles and unlockables throughout each stage for the players to unlock. This is best played with a friend as each stages are boosted by playing with another human player. If not, the player can still play this solo with Lara gaining access to the Guardian's spear and solve everything solo.

92

Excellent

kalil | June 9, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Welcome to a game that breaks all the predecessors of his series, Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light is the first game in the Tomb Raider series that presents us with eagle eyes, fixed camera and cooperative.

The gameplay is excellent if not for cooperative play on the player control has problems in the speed of target, however it is easy to dodge, weapon changes and all other game options. The graphics are very elaborate, with an engine that is very reminiscent of Diablo 3 and with an awesome soundtrack that brings together some songs from previous games.

The game features a story on the same level as the previous

For more enjoyment is advisable to play co-op history, thus more complicated situations and you should use what they have learned to get through them.

Fans of the series should not miss it

67

An interesting Tomb Raider spinoff

Mavromatis | June 6, 2013 | See all Mavromatis's reviews »

This is a good game to play in coop mode if you like Tomb Raider games and isometric gameplay. It has lots of puzzle relying on coop mode so instead of playing solo you must play coop to have fun. It also has a nice controller setup in case you want to use your controller on your PC. Can be bought when it is cheap.

75

New Adventure

Winklers | May 31, 2013 | See all Winklers's reviews »

An interesting new entry to the Tomb Raider franchise, this time fitting the gameplay and level design into an isometric style adventure. It still feels like a part of the series but plays differently while still being an enjoyable game.

90

Awesome co-op experience

Supraballs | May 28, 2013 | See all Supraballs's reviews »

I actually love this game and really love the top-down approach it has. It reminds me a bit of Torchlight without the loot system and the co-op is the only way to play this game. Seriously--if you play yourself, you're not going to enjoy this as much. It's got some decent length to the game but it's Tomb Raider. Expect to go through some puzzles and fight enemies and that's it. Story comes second here. Enjoy this though and buy it while it is cheap nowadays!

85

Nice game

Hellslol | May 25, 2013 | See all Hellslol's reviews »

This game is a fun game to play, it doesn't have a long story but have a great re-playability.

Moreover there is a coop mode that add even more fun. Definitly a great pick for its price

85

Great fun! Especially with a friend.

GuardianOfSouls | April 27, 2013 | See all GuardianOfSouls's reviews »

This game might not have a lot of replay value but it is a fair length and is fun up until it ends. However, if you are someone that enjoys going back and doing all the challenges there is still plenty of stuff to do after the story is over.

The graphics are good for the style of game and the game play is fun. This is best played with a friend and I have played it online and in local co-op with friends and it is a great adventure.

Simple but great fun!

I recommend that you have an Xbox 360 Controller or equivalent to play.

90

Mini Lara's Great Adventure

Guardian412 | Feb. 3, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light is an interesting and refreshing take in the Tomb Raider franchise as instead of playing in TPS view, you're controlling Mini Lara from a distant 3D perspective on her next great journey. The game is more of an action platformer and much faster paced than the previous episodes in the series, yet you still have to think a lot if you want to complete the chapters. The other interesting improvement as the cooperative mode where you may also play with the Mayan Guardian of Light, Mini Totec, to along with Mini Lara, stop the evil Mini Spirit, Mini Xolotl (With the exception of the cutscenes, each of them are "mini" in the game, thanks to the distant perspective. :) ). The game's story is nothing special, yet it decent enough for this title and will keep you entertained on the about 8-10 hours long campaign. The levels are great, detailed and beautiful, has plenty secrets to discover. The narration and voices overs are all high quality, so as the gameplay which is easy to play, but hard to master, especially if you want to get all the achievements. If you ever loved the Tomb Raider games and platformer games, Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light is for you.

86

Mini Lara Croft

carlyle | Feb. 1, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Lara Croft leaves the third person in favor of a broader recovery by opening a range of new gaming solutions previously precluded transforming the latest incarnation of gaming Lara in an interesting combination of elements shooter, platforming and puzzle solving. The presence of two characters allows you to play the game in co-op and this certainly appears to be the best way to fully enjoy the experience that allows players the freedom to approach the levels. Other interesting feature is the use of cell-shading technique, used in a shrewd without being invasive but never helpful in giving a personal style and pleasant to play. High level is definitely the level design, with settings often extended vertically and complex architecture served equally excellent development of the puzzles that even in this incarnation isometric accompany exploration.

80

Good coop title

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 8, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Well, this title, with a "Diablo" camera style, is maybe the best Tomb Raider title of this era. Plot is nothing special, of course, but cooperative mode is very funny. You must fight and solve puzzles with the help of a friend, collecting treasures and red skull. Graphic is very good and the game is about ten hours long. Can be boring if played solo, warning.

85

Great coop

Lekes | Jan. 6, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Great game with lots of re-playability. There are tons of weapons to unlock as well as artifacts, relics and even new costumes for Lara. If that isn't enough there are online leaderboards where you can compete with your friends for top score. It's a very polished game and I truly enjoyed playing through it with a friend, the controls works way better with a gamepad though due to the analogue movement, jumping between platforms using WASD is quite hard as you can only move in 8 directions. If you are looking for some good action to play alone or with a friend, you won´t regret buying this one.

88

Different from this generation

Lippe1989 | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

This is a amazing game. When I played I had a lot of great moments. It was a big surprise for me mainly because it is a Lara Croft game, but made in a different way with a different proposal. The puzzles are interesting and not so difficult and not so easy. It is a game perfect to play with a friend, one as Lara the other with Toten. Each of them will give you a different way to do things and help the other. Lara can use a rope to go to some places and help to Toten to go to other far places. Toten can help lara to go to high places. So, totally cooperation. The gameplay is very fluid and easy to catch. You will learn how to play quickly. There are a lot of levels and you will have a lot of weapons and artefacts to help you. Will will also have access (if you buy) to some characters from Kane & Lynch and Soul Reaver. It is very cool. There are also some challenge levels. I recommend a lot. You will have some funny momments for sure.

80

Incredibly Fun but Hardcore Platformer!

Brumbek | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Brumbek's reviews »

A tremendously well-made isometric platformer game. Excellent visuals, great audio, interesting level design, and fun extra challenges. The menus stink due to a bad port job, but the game is good enough that it doesn't matter. The controls are great, with very responsive shooting and fun unlockable guns.

Although this game is fairly hardcore, so if you aren't a skilled platformer player, you may get frustrated. Still, I totally recommend this game if you want a modern platformer with all the charm and precision of the classics. A wonderful game that takes only 10 hours for 100% completion, but it will stick with you for years to come.

88

Not the usual Lara Croft game, but still fun

israel_hlc | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all israel_hlc's reviews »

Guardian of Light is a nice game, featuring Lara Croft for the first time in a game outside the main “Tomb Raider” franchise. While it keeps some similarities with the classic Tomb Raider gaming style, the gameplay is totally different. It can be perceived easily in the first few minutes, where the original third person view gives place to an isometric overview. The game is quite easy, and the collectibles are also quite easy to find, at least when compared to the last Tomb Raider games. The greatest addition is the cooperative mode. One player will have to play with another character (no two Laras in the same screens, of course), what some people found strange in a game where Lara Croft is the main character. But in fact, the co-op mode added a great replay value to the game: all the levels must be played differently from the solo campaign. I only missed the option to have in game voice chat, because stop to write messages is not really fun.

90

Big Surprise!

antonioli84 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

I have to confess that I expecty really nothing about this game. The first thing that caughts my attention was the price. But I have a very good surprise about it. The game differs in such ways if we compare to the others games with Lara Croft. We have puzzles and guns, but now the perspective/camera and kind of game are differents, but believe me, different for good. It's a kind of game that it is not so present at our current time and it is a good thing. We can have a partner to play with us, one with Lara and the other with the Guardian. The amazing thing is that the characters have different ways to play that complement them. With Lara you can use a rope and with Guardian you will use a spear and a shield. Lara can use it to go to some places with difficult access as far or higher places or also use the rope to let the Guardian do it. You will think together with your partner how to do the things. Very recommended!

100

A surprisingly fresh, fun, and fantastic take on a tired series

nairume | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all nairume's reviews »

More often than not, trying to shoehorn a franchise of one genre into another never quite works out right. By all rights, taking a single-player third-person action shooter with a heavy focus on puzzles and platforming and putting it into an multi-player overhead twin-stick shooter with heavy RPG elements should not have worked. However, defying all expectations, Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light is a wonderful little game that takes the core concepts behind the Tomb Raider games and puts them into something fresh and fun. Not only is the game just as fun to play on your own as the Tomb Raider games have traditionally been, but the addition of multi-player adds to the experience, rather than detracts from it. Strategies and portions of levels that wouldn't work on your own suddenly become viable in multi-player, with players being able to combine their skills to solve puzzles that dynamically change depending on the number of players. On top of that, the game features tons of unlockables and extra challenges to ensure that players will get their money's worth out of this fantastic game.

86

A lara croft game that's actually fun to play

liquidsnake78 | Oct. 31, 2012 | See all liquidsnake78's reviews »

I never thought i would say that when it would come to lara croft games cause most of the games in the series are hard puzzle oriented action games that got on my nerves specially when the puzzles and the controls got too hard.

Enter Lara croft and the guardian of light , this is not like the previous lara croft games , this one is played in a top down view and is much fast paced and easier to control lara croft than in other games. The new change that game brings in is the co-op mode , you can invite a friend and play the full game with them.

The puzzles are back and this time they are very innovative and timed. So the game can be played in two ways (single and co-op) focusing on collecting all the stuff in the game as well as completing the puzzles and levels in before par time, some of the puzzles really are awesome when you tackle them with you co-op partner [such as him shooting sticks and lara using then to get to a higher platform] and the other way is the casual run using single and co-op play to just finish the game.

The story is simple and lets you know how the game progresses , they have added a cool dlc mechanism where other dlc characters can be played instead of lara and the guardian. overall a huge thanks to crystal dynamics for reviving this series, game just blends in great to the other games of the series and yet it is fun.

You also get a few dlc free on purchasing the game here on gmg, they are very cool and make the game more fun , you can purchase other puzzles on steam too. Highly recommended for those who have avoided the lara croft games for its rough controls and puzzles.

85

Not your usual Lara Croft

sweetcuppincake | Oct. 18, 2012 | See all sweetcuppincake's reviews »

I hadn't played a Tomb Raider game for a long time before I picked this one up. I had heard good things about it; mainly that it was fun. It didn't disappoint. It plays differently from the old Tomb Raider games, but it still maintains the spirit of what made Tomb Raider a great series in the first place. It's even better if you can play co-op with a friend. The meandering ancient ruins, puzzles, and bosses are all there for you in singleplayer, but I feel like this game was meant to be played with a friend. There's not a great deal of game, but there are challenges to keep you coming back. It's nothing outstanding, but the goal was to make a fun Tomb Raider game, and they succeeded.

88

If you have a friend, buy this game!

DukePaul | Oct. 16, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

This game is one of the best games of Square Enix/Eidos on this generation, they gave a change to the Tomb Raider series with isometric view and coop and I can say it was a good choice.

The coop in this game is awesome, it needs two players but it is not only shooting together all monsters you see, you need to cooperate to solve puzzles because the two characters are very different and they have exclusive weapons/items or moves, Lara can use her hook and Totec who is a Mayan warrior that has a shield to cover the other player and him from projectiles.

The game also offers exploration, you will need to get a lot of items if you want to complete all the achievements!

It is game that Im waiting a sequel because is great.

84

Unexpectedly good

Engin33r | Oct. 5, 2012 | See all Engin33r's reviews »

I was deeply sceptical about this isometric entry in the Lara Croft games, but I was proven wrong. Everything that is good about the best entries in the regular 3D series is present and accounted for. Great underground caves and structures to explore, overgrown, exotic and sometimes rightfully extinct enemies to defeat, great navigational challenges to overcome, deviously hidden treasures to uncover and last but not least, Lara herself and her posh accent. It even has a very well implemented multiplayer mode, something that none of the Tomb Raider games ever did. Highly recommended.

82

Lara done differently

Cooberstooge | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Even if you're not a fan of the Tomb Raider games, you're assured to find a solid amount of entertainment with Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light. The isometric viewpoint really adds a little something to the game, and makes it feel more like the classic dungeon crawlers of olde. The controls on both keyboard and gamepad are very well mapped as well, so it's basically just load up and play.

The game manages to look like something new while retaining that classic dark, dingy look of older RPGs. The cutscenes are thoroughly "now", but fit with the graphical style completely. The sound is perfect, and the voice actors really seem to have gotten into their respective roles on this one. I've never run into any bugs while playing, although I get lag during cutscenes for some crazy reason - not a big deal, but worth mentioning nonetheless.

Definitely recommend this one for fans of the series, and those into isometric games.

100

Fun in Co-Op

hotmando | Sept. 10, 2012 | See all hotmando's reviews »

I expected this to be boring when i played with one of my friends, however it turned out to be the opposite. Puzzles are not too hard and engaging at the same time. The game is clearly meant for co-op play but it even supports single players just as well. Sometimes, you'll need a second player- instead the game gives the single player a ball or etc to replace the needed person. Truly, the game is a gem.

83

Different from Tomb Raider but a very good game!

panz3r88 | Sept. 3, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

This game is a different from other Tomb Raider games. It's not a third person action shooter, but looks like a platform game with an isometric camera. The levels are full of action and enemies to kills. There are also some puzzles like in the classic Tomb Raider games. You can play the game in single player but you will have more fun in cooperative, in this way the other player will command the other main character of the game called Totec, that will help Lara through all the adventure. The game is short, but always fun and full of action in every level.

72

An enjoyable game!

Zinzun | Aug. 10, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

Lara Croft The Guardian of Light is really a suprise. It's not an adventure like the old games,but it's a cooperative shooter with a flying visual,where you must take advantage from your buddy in order to proceed.If you want,you can play the game alone,but it isn't funny as with a human buddy. Graphic is ok but nothing special,there are no FMV cutscene,only static screen ones,there are also several puzzles you must solve to proceed. You can obtain new weapons acquiring red skulls or achieving high score at the end of the level (thanks do treasure on it). DLC are not needed to fully enjoy this game

70

Good on solo, best with a friend !

arkantos | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all arkantos's reviews »

A very nice platforming game of Lara Croft and her new adventure, you can also play co-op with a friend, even the single player mode is fun, it will keep you busy for a few while you try to complete the game with maximum scores, trying to unlock all the bonus rewards, also you will have few nice skills that will help you through the game.

89

Diablo meets smash TV and has a child with Tomb Raider

rstokes | July 24, 2012 | See all rstokes's reviews »

If you are looking for the puzzles and platforming found in previous tomb raider games then you may not be as disappointed as you may initially think. While its not as direct and explicit as other tomb raider games, the platforming and puzzles are still there but now from an isometric viewpoint. I cant comment on controls since I used a gamepad, but with a controller the game feels pleasantly reminiscent of the old ps2 Dark alliance games. If you have a friend who owns the game make sure to play co-op as it is an absolute blast. It feels like a very niche game appealing to a few tomb raider fans who love Diablo, or the Diablo fans that enjoy tomb raider. I can say I fall into that niche and this game scratches an itch very rarely reached by games since Dark alliance 1 and 2

72

Good adventure game

CJV | July 23, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

I must say I haven't played co-op, only solo, so my opinion is based only on the solo experience. I'm pointing this out because this game looks like it is a lot of fun with co-op. Even playing solo I enjoyed myself with this game, the puzzles weren't very challenging but were enough to keep me entertained. The action parts were less fun than the puzzles, but they still managed to entertain, especially the boss fights. I guess it's a game worth a look, but not at full price.

85

Great coop action!

Lunk | July 23, 2012 | See all Lunk's reviews »

Full disclosure: I've never touched any of the other games in the Tomb Raider franchise. I gather that this one is quite a departure from the rest, so it's possible that it will upset longtime fans who are looking for more of the same.

That said, this is a fantastic game if you have someone to coop with. The gameplay is almost a hybrid of a puzzle game and a twin-stick shooter, and is very well executed. Sets a nice atmosphere, presents puzzles that are fun to solve cooperatively (if a little on the easy side), and the score attack and challenge targets add some nice replayability.

The one thing I will dock it points for is that the single player mode suffers when compared to coop. It simplifies the puzzles from the coop mode so they can be completed solo, but does so in a way that takes the puzzles from easy to painfully obvious in many cases. It's still fun, but not on the same level as playing it coop.

85

A different take on Lara Croft

Cynaris | July 20, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

The game is great, no doubt about that. But it will immedietaly will be noticeable, that it is something entirely different than what we are used to (hearing the Tomb Raider name). Of course Treasure Hunting is still Treasure hunting, traps are still traps, and many elements are in the game as it is expected, but the focus on co-op, and the whole different perspective makes the game unique. It is challenging, pretty, and very well made, I like it. Great puzzles, decent platforming, it is solid.

82

I like it

wooglah | July 8, 2012 | See all wooglah's reviews »

Not a fan of Tomb Raider games, or Prince of Persia (except the first one from the 80s, of course) series. I like to see what's going on, and camera angles in these type of games are weird in my opinion. The Guardian Of Light is entirely different, an action game based upon the best arcade hits, with view from the birds perspective, engaging action and interesting puzzles to solve.

70

Wasnt As Great

ROKET | June 30, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

As much as I wanted to like this game I just couldnt get into it. The game is solid, with consistent visuals, solid controls, and a good bit of challenge but the game doesnt really give me much to get excited about. The weapons were meh, the enemies were generic, and the collectibles and puzzles were kind of...dumb.

I even bought all the DLC along with the game anticipating that Id play through everything but just couldnt in the end. It was a waste I really wish I didnt make. Not recommended.

77

Good game, especially coop.

simonsix | June 18, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

Good game, especially coop. The combination of puzzles and action is well done. Fans of the Tombraider games have to keep in mind that this a different type of game. The controls are incredible. Mouse and keyboard or gamepad both work great. Excellent graphics and top down action with puzzles that don't punish the player.

91

Lara again, this time accompanied ...

kalil | May 22, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

In my opinion, this new installment of the archaeologist most famous of all time, has been fantastic. The gameplay is excellent, leaving nothing to be desired the player. The multiplayer is really fun, perfect for spending a few hours without getting bored playing in the least. The graphics are very good, without being dazzling or the other world, but with an engine worked very well. The fact of taking a game with the news about the camera still, with eagle eye, may have signally failed, but not at all what happened with Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light. Finally, for fans of Lara Croft, you can not miss in any way to play this game.

90

Fresh, Fun and Exciting! A great adventure game.

albeenox | May 16, 2012 | See all albeenox's reviews »

Crystal Dynamics really hit it out of the park with this one. I LOVED IT!

After doing nothing but rehashing old Tomb Raider ideas, they've FINALLY given the franchise something unique and fresh - and its fantastic!

The game looks great, for a start... visuals may be somewhat basic, but theyre full of great artistic design. The game handles great if you play it with a gamepad, and the combat is genuinely fun - it really is! Its some of the most enjoyable combat ive experienced in a game in a long time, it all just flows beautifully - as does the exploration and puzzle solving.

...the story... yeah its nothing much, but what little there is, is delivered with some great cutscenes and voice acting. Theres items and powerups to collect, and unlockable costumes as well.

The game isnt overly long or challenging, so it makes for a really fun little adventure game if you're in the mood for something light, visually pretty, and fun to play - both by yourself OR with a friend. HIGHLY recommended.

76

Fun game, even without the co-op.

Cyrosis | Jan. 3, 2012 | See all Cyrosis's reviews »

Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light is a fun new look at the Tomb Raider franchise. The puzzles, and exploring ancient and interesting locations is still abundant, but the new perspective, and more arcade flavor really gives it a fresh feel. I haven't played the heavily featured co-op, but the single player campaign is still very enjoyable, and the puzzles still interesting.

I've always had love/hate feelings towards many previous Tomb Raider games, because of awkward camera angles and annoying combat moments. Luckily, this new isometric view fixes many of the camera issues, and the combat feels more properly integrated into the arcade style of gameplay.

I can certainly recommend Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light, a refreshing experience, and a good value for the money.

70

Different from the rest

RaTcHeT302 | Nov. 17, 2011 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

The first noticeable thing will it be the new CO-OP feature. The developers structured the levels in such way that you can complete them even if you are alone, too bad the controlls aren't that great as the level design. The game is 8 hours long and there isn't really and replayiability but considering the price what's offered is really good. It uses the graphical engine from Tomb Raider Underworld, no wonder it looks so good. There are many enigms and such but it is a bit dissapointing that the developers hadn't put more effort into it.

90

Finally a co-op Tomb Raider game

liquidsnake78 | Sept. 5, 2011 | See all liquidsnake78's reviews »

Although the tomb raider series had a great start, at some point of the game's release, they were frowned upon by gamers for complex gameplay, hard controls , glitches and bugs. Thanks to crystal dynamics the tomb raider series is back with a bang :D . This game is special cause now you have the thrill of adventure along with a buddy, the game has awesome co-op and achievements too. The controls are easy and the puzzles are interesting. At such a low price its a must buy and a must play for lara fans. Dlc's add more fun to the game, cant wait for the next tomb raider game :)

85

She still has it!

Baha | Aug. 30, 2011 | See all Baha's reviews »

As somebody who hasn't played a Tomb Raider game in years, it was a pleasant surprise when I picked up this title to play with a friend. Lara Croft & the Guardian of Light is an isometric twin stick style shooter with a fun relic system that increases stats and firepower. Whether you play alone or online with a friend, the game is a joy to play as you'll find yourself racking your brain to solve it's many puzzles or navigating across chasms with the help of a friend. There are various traps as well and you'll find yourself at the mercy of your partner as you attempt to solve them. For a downloadable title, there's plenty of content here to play through not to mention that the single player and co-op campaigns differ slightly in puzzles as well. Time attack challenges and hidden collectibles provide incentive for replays (not to mention achievements). If you plan to play this alone then I would recommend it but the game really shines when played in co-op with a friend.

75

Not your average Tomb Raider

faraany3k | Aug. 27, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light is a huge step away from ususal titles in the series. The first noticeable difference is the camera. Instead of controlling Lara from the third person view, game is played through isometric camera, top down. This is a huge change and completely alters the way we use to play Tomb Raider. Platforming sequences are all there but game is more geared towards action oriented gun play rather then the usual platforming fun. That is a let down.

Another huge new redirection is the addition of Coop. Game is developed around the concept of coop and doesn't feel right when played in single player mode. Secondly the partner which Tomb Raider has is a generic and generally uninspiring character at-least for me. Although Coop gameplay is superbly crafted and there is not something broken, But long time Tomb raider fans will be disappointed with these huge changes. Game is a cheaper and if you are a newcomer you should give it a try. Game also has a huge replaybality value and gun play is generally fun. For old veterans of the series, it might not be the sequel they were looking for.

87

an unexpectedly great game

soad667 | Aug. 25, 2011 | See all soad667's reviews »

I admit i was quite skeptical about this game, until i got my hands on the demo. Lara's return proved to be quite a success, even in a complete different way that TR fans were used to. The camera now is isometric and the action/fighting more often and intense. Graphics are very detailed, puzzles all over the place awaiting to be solved and a lot of collectibles quarantee replayability, especially for the completionists out there. Coop is included in the package with great mechanics that push people to actually cooperate and not just play/fight together. Overall an awesome game, try the demo and see for yourself. Hope to see a sequel following this spin-off title. So different from the original TR games, yet so amazing.

93

The best Tomb Raider in years.

Rzepak01 | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all Rzepak01's reviews »

To me this is whithout a doubt one of the best titles in a series that has had its share of hits and misses. Leaving behind the standard third person platforming formula, as well as the iconic Tomb Raider title The Guardian of Light is a breath of fresh air. This is a puzzle platformer with a fixed camera that shows Lara from further away the we are acustomed to. The game can be played either alone or with a buddy in online coop. When playing alone Lara will have her grapling hook along with the spear that the Mayan warrior carries around when controlled by another player in coop. Totecs shield remains a coop exclusive. I would suggest playing the game with a friend, but its still great fun offline. The game spans 14 levels, which is about 7 hours of platforming and puzzle solving goodness. Not only that but because the games levels are different for single and coop GoL becomes one of the best deals when it comes to downloadable titles. The game controls a bit like a twin stick shooter, which is the reason I would suggest playing with a pad. GoL is not only one of the longer downloadables it also looks absolutely stellar. The environments are very detailed and atmospheric, the animations are very fluid and the enemy design is interesting. In the end this is a game for any fan of Tomb Raider, as well as anyone looking for solid action and well designed puzzles.

85

Lara's back!

ktbtren | Aug. 6, 2011 | See all ktbtren's reviews »

Lara is back but this time it’s in isometric view instead of the usual third person camera angle but don’t let that discourage you from playing this game. It’s a lot of fun playing alone but even better with a friend. It’s as much fun to complete levels as it is to mess with your co op buddy, letting them fall to their death instead of catching them or making them die in a trap, or just seeing their body fly to their doom due to some weird glitch or bug. Loads of weapons to be found or unlocked and artifacts that are used as “perks” to improve your abilities will get you hunting for those hidden secrets to unlock them all.

85

Diablo + Tomb Raider = Lara Croft: GoL

acare84 | July 22, 2011 | See all acare84's reviews »

First of all I love Tomb Raider Series. And this game is different from all Tomb Raider games. Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light is isometric shooter and plays like action RPG games. It is really fun, you can solve puzzles and shoot everything. Level designs are cool and not boring. Also it has online Co-Op and if you have friends to play you should buy this game quickly. Co-Op is addictive and fun, you can help each other and solve puzzles with your friend. Game is long enough too, you can spend 15 hours to complete the game also it has great extra bonuses as well in the levels. Tomb Raiding is really fun in Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light.

82

Break

hotmando1 | July 17, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

This game is a huge breakaway from the previous Lara Craft titles! Top-down? You don't like it? You probably will or not after playing it. Indeed, the puzzles are still there and the gunning is there as well. But for some, top-down is an entirely different world! I'll agree that I too was turned down but co-op in this makes it way better. Co-OP is actually CO-op. You need to help each other to actually get past traps and puzzles. I like that. It's not much of a breakthrough but because of the lack of it in so many games that make the co-op in this game better. Level design and visuals are pretty average but very decent. Boss fights are like magicka boss fights, fun stuff. I'd recommend this to any buddies with spare time!

82

Solid game

Harjyot | June 17, 2011 | See all Harjyot's reviews »

This game is a solid top down platforming action title, despite being different from the previous Tomb Raider games. The audiovisual experience is pretty good, considering it's a downloadable title. The experience and fun is even greater in co-op. This is an adventure that is worth the purchase.

90

Lara Croft: GoL

CrimsonBasterd | April 21, 2011 | See all CrimsonBasterd's reviews »

Lara Croft first came into the gaming scene in 1996 during the first Tomb Raider game and after success of the first installement the follow ups mainly went downhill. But now with a spin-off title developed by Crystal Dynamics and published by Square Enix is Lara back to regain her popularity?

The first and most noticeable change within the game is the new isometric thirp-person point of view. The game is a platformer, making Lara go through poison-plant infested jungles to spider infested tombs, and as expected from any Tomb Raider game it has its fair share of puzzles. Combat is another heavy factor of this game. Lara is capable of carrying up to 4 weapons with her at once ranging from spears to rocket launchers.

The co-op aspect of this is what makes it thoroughly enjoyable. A friend is able to join you as Totect, the mayan warrior. Within co-op mode a lot of the puzzles and platforming within each chapter will change in order to make the most out of the co-op mode as these challenges require both players to help each other. *It should be noted that the online player base is sadly very poor and if you're interested in co-op make sure a friend has a copy as I spent hours trying to find a match the fist time I got the game.

When this Lara Croft title was announce I wasn't exactly very excited as I recently played all Tomb Raider titles and to be honest they were quite... meh. But I still decided to pick this title up over christmas and I don't regret it at all as it gives the whole franchise the break it needed. Overall it's a great game let it be for single player or co-op and for the curren't price it's well worth it. Playing it was a joy, and I loved how the developers were able to put a new spin on the series whilst keeping true to the franchise. After completing the whole game and finding all the artifacts, weapons and other collectable all I can say is that Guardian of Light never got dull. And ladies and gentlemen... Lara is back!

90

Great game for co-op

adasikow | April 16, 2011 | See all adasikow's reviews »

I bought this game to play in cooperative mode with my brother and after completing 4 chapters I have to say that it was perfect purchase. This game is addictive and gives a lot of fun, puzzles are interesting and some of them require thinking and skill. Sound, graphics, optimization and overall quality of this game stand on high level, but it also have some bugs and in my opinion it's a bit too short. Despite of these disadvantages Lara Croft and Guardian of Light is definitely worth buying, especially if you are looking for good game for two players.

60

Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Bugs

xtrench | April 12, 2011 | See all xtrench's reviews »

This game is a step to the side in terms of gameplay, controls and camera view, but not a bad one. The new direction provides a fresh look at Lara's adventures yet remains true to the spirit of theTomb Raider games. You still shoot monsters and solve puzzles. But in this game the puzzles are how to navigate the level instead of searching for items to unlock obstacles and item searching was replaced by finding artifacts that boost your abilities. The game provides replay value in terms of completing different achievements on any given level ranging from performing acrobatic maneuvering to simply collecting items or completing a level in a certain time. Completing those achievements provide Lara with opportunities to boost her abilities. With the addition of the co op mode the life of the game is extended but this mode is poorly executed. While the levels are slightly modified for two player co op it still feels like the same game and the large amount of bugs present in this mode cannot be ignored. The bugs range from glitches that render your friend invisible or unable to use weapons to just bad level design where the camera view pushes players off cliffs to their doom. Still even the game bugs provide laughs from the ridicules outcomes.

90

Not really a Tomb Raider, but still fun & fresh

Jahman | April 11, 2011 | See all Jahman's reviews »

If you loved all previous installments of the series you’ll… quickly realize that apart from the presence of Lara C., this is hardly a Tomb Raider game and has pretty much nothing to do with the entire series. Now that that’s out of the way, let’s look at the game itself, from a more stand-alone perspective.

The LCatGoL is a fresh, fine-tuned and rather original platformer/hack’n’slash mashup. You spend most of your time jumping or swinging around, exterminating waves of enemies and solving puzzles that require some intelligence and lots of dexterity. While the game itself may not be a revolution in a genre it offers far more than enough to entertain a player of at least a couple of hours.

The strongest point of this game is that it manages to keep the pace up during both combat and platformer sections. Add to that quite varied enemies & weapons, distinct bosses, balanced difficulty, nice co-op, properly done “spear as a ladder” and grappling hook mechanics, remote detonated mines, some physics puzzles (mostly involving rolling a giant ball) and you get a very entertaining gameplay that will keep you on your toes until the end of each level.

As for the levels themselves, the design is very good – the themes are unique and the maps are just the right size – and the graphics quality is more than enough given the perspective. Also, the additional challenges, different for each level, and the collectible aspect (“red sculls”) are a really nice touch.

One of the best things about LCatGoL is it’s replay value. While the maps, challenges and the simple joy of playing often provides more than enough incentive to complete the game again, the free DLC included with the game (and paid one too, of course) provides an even better one – a new set of main characters complete with their own voiceovers – Kane & Lynch for free and Raziel & Kain for a price. While this is hardly more than a gimmick (the gameplay remains the same), I find it a very pleasant one which further proves the point that LCatGoL would be (and is) a game equally worthy of attention even if it wasn’t marketed as a part of Tomb Raider franchise.

In short - it fast-paced, it’s fresh, it’s fun.

85

Little Lara? The best Lara ever!

matesko_ | April 7, 2011 | See all matesko_'s reviews »

I've never loved Tomb Raider. Yes, they're good, gratifying action-adventure games, but... There were better games in this genre. When Square decided to make a little twin-stick shooter with Lara for XBLA, Playstation Store and PCs, I thought "It's the end of Tomb Raider". I was terribly wrong. `Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light is fantastic co-operative game (single player is good, but multiplayer is hugely more fun). I've been playing it with my brother, who doesn't play game as often as me, and when we finished - he asked "Have you got something similar?". Seriously - in my opinion it's the best game with Lara.

85

Worthy of attention

Balon | April 6, 2011 | See all Balon's reviews »

Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light is a very good hack'n'slash-style game. It's quite different than the previous Tomb Raiders titles, but it's still addictive, interesting game full of puzzles, ancient-style enemies and a huge bunch of requiring challenges (like collecting red skulls) and achievments.

So, this game is a great hack'n'slash and I truly reccomend interest in it.

85

A change of face from Tomb Raider's PC franchise.

wahidasoldier | April 6, 2011 | See all wahidasoldier's reviews »

This is, IMHO, the right call for Lara's fate. I mean in our world not her. To be honest, I already grew tired of playing her after "Legend". If they continue using Lara in this third-person shooter mechanics even with new moves and weapons, I think I'll dump her. Maybe also I grew tired because of the stories, or maybe the puzzles, or... I don't know. Anyway, this game has a kind of refreshing feeling of playing Lara, away from the usual Tomb Raider (is it because not Eidos but Square that they drop the title "Tomb Raider" or is it to seperate this game from the original? hmm).

The game uses beautifully textured 3D with an isometric view. Yea, isometric, like many retro adventure and rpg games, you cannot manually rotate or zoom the camera, but the game cleverly does that for you. I really like the environment and the athmosphere; very well done. The animations and actions of Lara are very fast, smooth and responsive. You can play with a partner, that's cool, but not for a PC player like me. Sound effects and musics are good, most are taken from the Tomb Raider's series; Lara's voice is still played by the same Keeley Hawes. Puzzles are good and innovative. The only downside from me is the game's non-playable displays, I mean the menus, inventory, map, etc. They look unpolished and amateurish.

90

Best Top-Down Action Adventure Shooter

GMGReviewer | April 5, 2011 | See all GMGReviewer's reviews »

Unlike Magicka, the single player in Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light is truly enjoyable. There's also two player online and local co-op as well, but it's not drop in/out and you would need a friend if you plan on playing it online since it's hard to find a game with strangers.

It's not as cutesy and colorful as Magicka and it's also not that repetitive either. The game has a nice mixture of action, platform, clever puzzles and secrets, there's a whole lot of variety in this game. There's also many different enemies/weapons/challenges.

With it's top notch production value and serious detailed graphics make it the best (digital download) top-down action adventure shooter to date. The only issues i have with it are the controls, because it's a console port, the diagonal jumping (for secrets/puzzles) are difficult to maneuver; I highly suggest using a controller.