Reviews for Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days

90

Seriously Strange

Obsessor | Sept. 15, 2014 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

I mean like... What the hell I just saw? Some things you see on the screen are just hilarious, other disturbing. I loved the story, the struggle of those two guys. It was something to behold. Alas... The game is terribly short and linear. But the story guys - totally worth seeing. It's like an action movie. Things are intense out there. No stopping, no rest. That's why I give this game such a high rating.

67

The scripting saves this garbage from the incinarator

yngdr | Sept. 2, 2014 | See all yngdr's reviews »

Has some decent back story and a great script. the graphics are mediocre and the sound plays its part but nothing to enlighten the soul. The camera angle are playing against you at almost every turn.

7

Terrible Title

884okeoJ | July 2, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

Kane and Lynch was a surprisingly adequate shooter, but its sequel, Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days is anything but. The only thing that keeps it from being a generic third person shooter is that most generic third person shooters aren't this bad. There is a wealth of bugs and glitches that holds the game down, as well as a terrible value for its price.

I beat the game in 4.5 hours, and for a game that started at retail price, that is unacceptable. The ending makes no sense whatsoever, and the entire plot is just a jumbled, uninspired mess. Do not get Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days no matter how enticing it seems.

79

the script is worthy of an action film

icnivadodranoel | Feb. 22, 2014 | See all icnivadodranoel's reviews »

It is addictive, without a moment's breath ... hundreds and hundreds of enemies. The game is set in Shanghai, the city is very realistic

Simple gameplay mechanics with a good tps ... typical of cameras positioned beautifully that enhance the cinematic style. Two charismatic characters. there is co-op campaign, it is very funny.

The plot extends for 48 hours of hell. good tires. shooting is more accurate.

75

Much better than I expected!

xenoturbella | Oct. 13, 2013 | See all xenoturbella's reviews »

I thought this game looked interesting when it was released but I was really put off by negative reviews. I bought it here in a recent sale though, and I was thoroughly entertained!

The game mechanics aren't the slickest. If somebody was a hardened FPS veteran with an itchy trigger finger then I can see why they might be underwhelmed. For many others they would likely just about be adequate for a challenge without getting frustrating or repetitive.

Aside from that the plot and characters are easily compelling enough to provide several hours of good solid entertainment just from the single player campaign. The graphics are a little unusual - but good and hold up well for a game a few years old. At it's current price I would say it is plenty of fun for the money and overall great value!

70

Decent shooter with some weird camera choices.

FLD | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all FLD's reviews »

If you liked the original, this is essentially more of the same. Some weird aesthetic calls were made when it comes to the camera in this one, though. If you hate shaky cams, you're not going to be a fan of this one.

Other than that, Kane & Lynch themselves are still as despicable as ever and I think that alone makes the game worth a look. It's not too often you get characters this vile and repugnant in gaming and that's pretty interesting, I think.

80

Brilliant setting

jazzozo | Oct. 8, 2013 | See all jazzozo's reviews »

The setting of this game is just brilliant. The gritty way you're following Kane & Lynch is done very well and this is a worthy successor to the first game. On the negative hand, it's way too short. Graphically it has an unique style which some may love and some may hate. Personally, I love it. The story and dialogue are good, but not as good as in the first game. If you loved the first game, this still is a must play!

65

Mindless Shooter

Radovanh | Sept. 8, 2013 | See all Radovanh's reviews »

First Kane and Lynch was good shooter, so I thought the second try will be better. But it wasnt. Totally mindless shooter with some covering isnt for me good game, I was expecting more. Camera from third person going with our antiheroes is good, but that is all. Stupid game with stupid story with stupid main caracters is not very interesting for me. More exciting is some action outside the singleplayer story. Not bad for a try in some sale, but dont expect too much.

82

Good follow up

andrewchaudoin | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all andrewchaudoin's reviews »

Kane and Lynch 2 is a great followup to Dead men. I like how the developers went the documentary style. The colors of Shanghai is what is really great. The shooting has definitely improved and so has the cover system. I like the variety of different guns, and it sticks to Chinese weaponry. The only downfall of the game is the short campaign. Overall I would say it is definately worth checking out, especially when the pack is on sale.

90

What and experience!

KayFall | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all KayFall's reviews »

I rarely re-play games, and I played this 3 times. Needless to say I'm going to play it again at some point in time. Just like the first game in the series not many people will like it. While I wasn't really impressed with the first one either, they really changed a lot in this one, and most of it for the best.

They did give up on the story element and that's a big minus for me but the that only leaves more room for more action. And that's exactly what this game is: non-stop gruesome, violent action. Just like the first one, it's pretty much a third-person cover shooter with really great and unique art design, style and atmosphere. After all it's made by the guys behind the Hitman series and that should say something.

The same problem as with the original game is its length. You'll finish it in under 5-6 hours depending on skill and difficulty but there's and awesome multilayer after that, with some great modes.

One advantage to the fact that not many people like this game is its current price so I would go right ahead and get it. You won't regret it.

73

Less inspired than the first one

darkyhbk | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Kane and Lynch 2 tries to emulate the good blend between interesting storytelling and exciting action that the original game reached, but doesn't quite hit it. The graphics might seem a little weird at first, the game using a number of film grain effects and filters in order to make it seem like caught on security tapes. You'll get used to it, but I doubt it will ever make a positive impression on you - Manhunt did it so much better. The audio, though, is top notch. The voice acting is great, as was the case in the first game, and this helps make Lynch and Kane seem like believable characters. The music and sound effects are also good and work well as a whole. Big plus here. However, the rest doesn't quite impress. The storyline is pretty uninspired, leaving almost no room for character development, aside from a few situations that the duo finds itself into. The plot is predictable, and the other characters are shallow. It just tries too hard to shock and impress, and it rarely succeeds. Gameplay-wise, it's a generic cover shooter, without too many special things to offer. Few firefights feel really intense, the level design is rarely surprising, making everything feel like a downgrade from the original game. Itis by no means a bad game- just not good enough to really stand out, as its predecessor did.

78

A newcomer.

rmysterio80 | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all rmysterio80's reviews »

I had never played the first game, so i came into this with an open and mind.

I was blown away by the aesthetics and dark tone of the game and fell in love instantly. Kane and Lynch 2 is flawed game however; its short, the shooting can feel clunky at times, and the aesthetics can be displeasing to some. But if you love dark gangster/crime stories, check out Kane and Lynch 2.

78

From someone who loved the original Kane and Lynch...

lucaswrite | Aug. 1, 2013 | See all lucaswrite's reviews »

Alright, long story short: I loved the original Kane and Lynch. It might be because it was one of the first games I got for the 360, and I had someone to play it with all the way through who also enjoyed it, but it also might be because it was a fun game.

Anyways, onto Dog Days. Once again I had someone to play it with, and it was a different experience. It still had the fun gameplay from the first game, but things were a little bit different. Firstly, I didn't really like the environment. In Kane and Lynch 1, there were so many different settings, like robbing a bank, infiltrating a night club, and running from the cops. In this game it feels all the same, set in the dirty streets of Shanghai. The whole game has a feeling of Shanghai and I just don't like it.

What I do love in this game is the multiplayer. The heist game mode is extremely fun. Basically, you and several other random people online rob a bank or a vault or someone with a lot of money, and then try to escape. Everyone alive at the end shares the earnings. After you've robbed the money, you can choose to kill your teammates for a bigger share. This makes for a fun time in the multiplayer universe. The thing I sincerely don't like about this mode though (and this was on the 360 I have no idea if it's the same on the PC) is that you can't play this mode ranked with your friends. That sucks!

It might sound like I hate this game, but it turned out to be alright, especially if you liked the first Kane and Lynch. Give it a go if you have a friend to play it with.

97

Love the brutality!

Oblaque | July 29, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

Kane and Lynch 2 is an instant classic. By all means buy this game. It is very inexpensive yet a masterpiece of its own kind and will go down in history alongside Half-Life 2 and Doom. The story, atmosphere, characters and style are simply amazing. I won't give too much away cause that will spoil the fun.

64

A good game, but just a good game

metalos1 | July 28, 2013 | See all metalos1's reviews »

I trully like the Kane & Lynch games, but the first game is better than this, in my opinion. The K&L 2 is gory and action packed, but i don't feel that, what i felt in the first game. That has a good story, well composed gunfight scenes, drama, and more.

The K&L 2 also has these, but something is missing. I don't say that, this is a bad game, but a necessary sequel, and because of this, the game hasn't a 'soul'. You just shooting, shooting, walking, shooting, jumping from cover to cover and shooting again. The story and the dram are secondary, unfortunatelly.

But the action is very good, the gunfights are pretty awsome, Kane and Lync are badass. So, if you buy the game, you will had a action orientated, cool game.

93

Shorter than the original yet fun & bizarre game

spycid | July 28, 2013 | See all spycid's reviews »

This game had improved gameplay, graphics than it's predecessor. Storyline is improved too. It's uber fun to play in Co-Op mode with a friend. Must buy for all Co-Op shooter lovers and especially if you loved the original one.

60

Very funny action game

Speed4Runs | July 26, 2013 | See all Speed4Runs's reviews »

Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days can easily be an amazing action game for most people. Its performance is good (even my poor PC can run it without problems, at full settings), as well as the graphics. The only problem that I had with it (and it's a personal problem) is that the graphics weren't "clear" and "clean" enough, and I don't really enjoy it. Anyway, for the rest, it has a great gameplay and plot (with a lot of twists). Nice sounds, but mediocre longevity, because it isn't a "long" game.

Graphics + performance: 6.5

*Graphics: 6.25 - very good. There are a bit disturbing effects, but it is a part of the game. *Performance: 6.5 - very good, too. All mid-powered computers should run it easily.

Gameplay: 6

Very enjoyable gameplay which can offer you very intense moments and even funny ones.

Sounds: 6

Good sounds, on average.

Plot: 6.5

Very good plot with some twists. Intense and somehow deep.

Longevity: 4.8

Longevity isn't good because the game doesn't last much and it is even limited.

Final score: 60 Good game, I recommend it.

85

Really fun and crazy

TGAlan | July 11, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

Kane and Lynch 2 is a good game, unfortunately it was not appreciated by the critics, has a very innovative camera mode to be an action game in the third person, brings a lot to the game visuals and also helps to placing in scenarios and situations that the game offers.

The only downside is how short the srtory mode is and unfortunately the multiplayer is not working as it should be (seems to use the classic host system.)

history is not the most elaborate but it is entertaining and does the job, unlike the first kane and lynch here try to give more plot twists also show various facets of the crazy characters we possibly did not see in the first game.

Unlike the first we dont have have an stealth system or whatever you call it, but our friend here is really smart and very useful if you have difficulty in low, generally is an added challenge when having to cure it if it falls. Generally adds more realism to the game.

It is appreciated that the controls have been polished, and correct annoying bugs with the coverage that had the previous game. Besides this new Kane and Lynch has a very good variety of weapons that you can enjoy in all modes, also highlighting the cooperative where we can play the story mode with a friend, this works well.

For its fun gameplay, crazy situations, and for being a good third person shooter game deserve this note.

72

A Good Game But Not as Good as the First

thegaminglyfe | June 18, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Kane and Lynch 2 doesn't have the same great feel as playing the original did. The graphics are improved and the co-op is still insanely fun. But the cover system and controls is too clunky and the AI has extremely good aim. The camera gets annoying at times when you are running or in a large firefight. These flaws ruin the game for playing solo. The first game was still kind of fun in solo, but this is horrible in solo. In my opinion, the only way you can have fun is to play in co-op.

65

Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days review

NewfieBullet | June 9, 2013 | See all NewfieBullet's reviews »

Although Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days from IO Interactive has a distinct visual style, the other parts of the game never branch out in any interesting or different ways, and made worse by the shockingly brief 3-5 hour single-player campaign.

The best part of Dog Days is the visual style. The game is shot like you are looking through a handheld camera. Although you can turn on steady cam for anyone prone to motion sickness, the rest of the effects cannot be turned off. This is a welcome change. Most games allow you to turn off their effects, I appreciated that Dog Days had a vision and stuck too it with this game.

While the visual style is distinct, unfortunately the other parts of the game are not. It's a standard cover based third person shooter, the story did enough to keep me wanting to see how it played out, despite the fair amount of cliches, such as Kane talking about this being his last job, or one the characters literally saying "I'm too old for this".

The game is also incredibly short, it took me just under 4 hours to finish the single-player campaign on medium. Even though their is multiplayer, I was unable to find any ranked or player matches.

Ultimately Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days is a flawed game, the visual style is very unique, but goes to waste in a game that is not that much fun to play.

75

Dead men walking!

El_Rickhead | June 4, 2013 | See all El_Rickhead's reviews »

I'm not entirely sure why people hate on this game so much, maybe it's because the first game was actual garbage? It's unclear but i actually really enjoyed playing through this game. There's nothing overly special about the game, it's a fairly standard third person action game but the characters are really kinda likable... Even if they are both murdering criminals! I feel that the game really does shine through it's multiplayer though, you and 3 others team up to rob a bank, shooting off any enemies and then picking up a bag of cash that you must then get back to the getaway vehicle and make a run for it, however on the way back, you have the option of offing 1 or all of your allies to steal the whole payoff, it goes without saying that your 'friends' also have the same option so you need to be watching your back at all times. This little twist makes the multiplayer part worth hours of fun.

70

This game got waaay too much flak

Forceflow | June 1, 2013 | See all Forceflow's reviews »

This way got waaay to much bad press because of the camera effects. Never understood why - they can all be turned off pretty easily.

The game is a standard action-packed tale, with enough variety in the environments and enemies to keep it interesting. The enemy AI is pretty dumb, but their numbers more than make up for it.

The story is interesting, but nothing you haven't seen before. The game can be described as a Michael Mann film: lots of shooty-shooty bits and a thin plot to tie them all together.

Honestly, it's perfectly allright. The shooting and cover system is functional, the game doesn't look too bad, and it's pretty short (6h). Pick up at a cheap price and enjoy, is my advice!

66

Worth trying but only at a cheap price

britishlad | May 10, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

This game is one of the most brutal darkest games I haver ever played. The character are all unlikeable and they through hell and back without any sort of like ability to there characters. Which in terms of story and characters make this a unique experience for a game but I cannot not recommend buying this the campaign is only five hours long and co op and multiplayer are both dead (PC version)

Now on to the performance of the game. The shooting mechanic is vastly improved in this game, and the cover system works perfectly. About 99% of the game runs beautifully at a very constant frame rate and the action blends nicely into the ongoing dialog the two characters, Kane and Lynch, carry on throughout the game. Also, I actually enjoyed what they did with the camera, making it look like the entire experience was recorded.

So in closing worth trying but only at a cheap price

35

Meh in every way

Infiltrator | May 6, 2013 | See all Infiltrator's reviews »

While it has nice graphics, poor control and a broken cover system kill this shooter. To make up for the pedestrian AI, the designers gave your enemies dead aim (they can hit you even behind cover while shooting blindly over obstacles) while your automatic weapons spray bullets without hitting anything. The makers wanted to go for the roving "realistic" camera look but it's just annoying and you'll turn it off after the first few minutes. Pretty much meh even for the bargain price.

80

Nice coop

Lekes | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

I honestly don't know what is all this bad water surrounding the game. True, it falls short of being a great game, but it certainly doesn't deserve this kind of a witch hunt. Solid gameplay, interesting multiplayer, very decent visuals and a bold new art direction make this a definite 8. Sure, the story isn't what you would expect after playing through the original, but it's there nonetheless. I still think that Kane and Lynch, the characters, sell the franchise alone, despite its game play shortcomings. Still, it is undeniable how the grittiness that was sought by the first game to mixed results is finally captivated in the sequel. I'll wait for the third game.

10

Don't Buy This Game

PresBarackbar | Jan. 2, 2013 | See all PresBarackbar's reviews »

Kane and Lynch 2 is an awful, awful experience. Mostly due to the fact that you can see flashes of brilliance throughout the game that just don't quite come together enough to make the game interesting. The "amateur video" graphical style, with color separation and deliberate frame drops when something big explodes make it an interesting game to look at. Fragile Alliance multiplayer is also a great concept, pitting you and your teammates against AI police while you conduct a heist. At any point, someone can turn traitor and attempt to take all the cash, rather than escaping and splitting it.

Sadly, that is where the positives end. The game is downright ugly. Textures look extremely low res. The controls are pretty janky, I never felt like they were as responsive as they could be. Speaking of janky, the AI in this game is pretty terrible, awkwardly snapping to cover from strange angles, as well as being pretty dumb in general. The game is also pitifully (perhaps mercifully?) short. I played the game coop with a friend on normal, and we beat it in three hours, even with a few deaths and restarts. Also, at the time I played it, the online multiplayer was completely dead, so I never even got to try it out (I had only played the multiplayer demo map).

This game isn't worth your money at any price, even if you are morbidly curious.

82

Same as before but with some improvements

Lippe1989 | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

Well, this game is like the previous. But the characters are in China and continue to be crazy as we know. The focus chages a little bit from Kane to Lynch (at least is what I noticed). The gameplay changed a little. It is very important because it was the worst part of the previous one. It was not very accurated but this game it is better. If you need a more precision shoot it will give you. The graphics is a little bit better, not too much and the style of the game with some interesting dialogs during the game and sometimes acting like a movie are also present as before. If you played the other game I am sure that will like Dog Days. It is almost the same experience. If you did not like, I think that is better to think about the price. If it has a good discount I think that will be a good bought.

70

The same as before

antonioli84 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

This game is basically the same as the first one. Same characters same gameplay (with some improvements). The characters are even more crazy and the place is also crazy to. I think that the story is a little worst than the first but the gameplay improved a little, so I can say that they are on the same level. If you liked the first one it can be a good idea to buy this game. You will have some good moments for sure.

20

Ugly game

Zinzun | Sept. 12, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

This game is ugly.No plot,no fun gameplay,a horrid "snuff" filter that make you vomit after five minutes.Seriously,don't buy this.If you love the first game,then...play it again,but don't buy this game.There are also a lot of bugs and glitch.

58

These dogs have seen better days

Fkpuz | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all Fkpuz's reviews »

I like Kane and Lynch. I think it's an original series with a lot of potential. Their characters are alright and the atmosphere is pretty good. What this game lacks is direction. The graphics and art styles are completely all over the board. The voice acting is chaotic and seemingly random. The gameplay can't decide on what it wants to be. And the story has very little rhyme/reason. So by saying this game lacks direction I really mean that in a literal sense.

The game feels like it had no real creative director who oversaw the project and as a result you just get a bunch of puzzle pieces that don't quite fit into the puzzle. However, if you can score this game at a good price then it's still worth a look.

40

What happened to the game?

YouCallMeNaz | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all YouCallMeNaz's reviews »

Well, I'm not much of a Kane And Lynch fan but after watching the trailer, i felt as if the game is pressurizing me to at least give it try, so in the end, i managed to get it at my local game store and i have to say that i completely wasted my money on it. The graphics really disappoints me. And game has a lot of bug issues going on. So, for all the gamers out there, you guys are better of without this game.

60

Not Having a Good Time?

theamazingshala | Sept. 8, 2012 | See all theamazingshala's reviews »

Kane and Lynch 2 takes place sometime after the first game. Both Kane and lynch are on the run again and this time in Asia. This time around the game tries to through an almost voyeur/snuff feel to the story, with random security camera action shots and censor bars.

The atmosphere is there for the game, but the game play is severely lacking and unforgiving at times. Fighting the same type of enemies as well gets repetitive to the point where you don't want to push on further. It tries to be a 90's/80's action movie but lacks a lot of the charm and interest. Tack on guns that don't really feel like they give you any power and your left with a bland tasting gritty action again.

At least the menu is quite nice.

52

Good story and poor gameplay like the previous title

panz3r88 | Aug. 11, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

If you have played the first Kane & Lynch you will not find many differences in Dog Days. This is a third person action shooter where you must reach the end of each level killing all the enemies. There are not other things to do in the level. The story is good but the game is short and the enemy IA is really bad. After the short single-player you can try the multiplayer, where there is the same mode present in the first game where you and the other player must cooperate to steal as much as you can in the various maps and fight against the cops

80

Not a bad game - Multiplayer is where it shines

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

The single player part is a bit boring, very much a "hide behind this and shoot" the entire way through. The story is weird and doesn't make a huge amount of sense other than "you dun goofed, now you die". So if this review was based only on single player then it wouldn't be high at all. Good thing this game has multiplayer! That is where this game shines. The only down side is lack of players and you can't start the game without at least 4 to 6 players. If you can get a group of friends together it'll be a fun night! I loved the robberies as you've always got the option to shoot your teammate in the back and take his cut of the profits! Top marks for that! Makes the game so much more interesting. Graphics 8/10 Gameplay Single 5/10 Gameplay Multi 9/10 Story 2/10

45

Just an average, "ok" cover shooter

Cooberstooge | July 23, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Lacks originality, depth, and good, enjoyable game play. There's honestly not much here to recommend. The characters are back and as crazy as ever, but this is one heck of a letdown for a sequel.

Bullets have a nasty habit of killing you through walls, which is a real knock against Kane & Lynch 2. Seeking cover is often as dangerous as just pulling a Rambo and running straight into the thick of things.

The odd camera style is aggravating after not too long a time, and is the main reason I'd never touch another K&L game. It seems original at first, but then throws you off too often to be anything other than a pain in the butt later on.

Multiplayer is mostly dead at this point, and I couldn't recommend buying the game for it, even if it were still kicking.

Final verdict: Save your cash for something else - this just ain't worth it.

60

This game is a disappointment to the first game.

aqnickdan14 | July 6, 2012 | See all aqnickdan14's reviews »

This game doesn't have as much characterization, plot, or as great of a story as the first game. The environment stays the same through the whole game and there aren't many details which make the game better, so this game lacks in many areas. There are quite a few bugs, and the game is very short. The single player lasts maybe 6-8 hours, which isn't a long time at all. I don't recommend this game very much.

66

The story is good, but..

simonsix | June 18, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

Single Player is repetitive and is more just a one dimensional cover to cover shooter without all the exciting set pieces that make cover to cover shooters fun.The story is good, but a little disappointing. The cover system is pointless and only serves to get you killed multiple times by magical enemy bullets. The weapons, aiming, and corresponding ability to hit an enemy seem to be tied completely to chance and incredibly absurd accuracy balancing.

80

Great, underratted game.

NoLove3827 | June 18, 2012 | See all NoLove3827's reviews »

Very similar to the first K&L game, but with better graphics and sound, and it has a cool reality tv camera effect. Gameplay is largely the same as the first game, the levels are larger though. Definantly reccomended!

71

Good game + -

cristiano171 | June 3, 2012 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

Interestingly, the multiplayer modes (which also enjoy the same look) are more creative than the story mode. The developer was able to adapt the criminal underworld of the plot for the group matches. All styles of online gaming is full of twists. You can choose to help partners or betray them all the time, but aware that their every action is logged on the server ... giving other players a good idea of who you are before the countdown to the start of the round begins. And nobody wants to give back to a player recognized as treacherous, making the dynamics of the games very interesting.

Considering the final - a bit disappointing - the campaign should be a continuation plans of Eidos Interactive. If the company maintains the aesthetic quality and to achieve further improve the gameplay and story (it has a movie coming up with Bruce Willis and Jamie Foxx), Kane & Lynch can take that extra step that separates a good game for a truly memorable experience.

61

Not bad

Geenaro | May 27, 2012 | See all Geenaro's reviews »

Enjoyable but not a brilliant game. the antagonists are as insane as they were in the first game but the "documentary" style camera can be rather disorienting during long play sessions. i had to quit a couple times due to nausea but still enjoyed the game. only managed one playthrough though which is a bad thing in my book. i prefer a game that can keep me coming back....

The multiplayer on the other hand, has some refreshing ideas, but the execution is ugly and messy. Lag is a large issue, not to mention at launch, it did not even have a way that let's you mute someone who has their microphone constantly on with grating noises coming from it.

I would not recommend getting this game for any more than $5, if at all, as the content just does not last long enough for paying any more than $5 to be justifiable.

96

Kane And Lynch, in a vengeance.

kalil | May 22, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

Kane and Lynch are back, this time more violent after the events in Venezuela, Lynch lives a normal life in Shanghai, China with his girlfriend XIU, while Kane Need Get Paid To Jenny, You're going to smuggle weapons together when something ocure that cost the lives of many.

graphics: Graphically is superb, the lighting, textures, Performance, Physical Exelentes Having addition, the scenarios are excellently detailed, far surpassing 1rimero, if I had made ​​Dead Men 6 that I put both this?, simple, this game is a very good game, a game!

sound: Has an excellent FX and music, I like the theme Dreams Mandarin, the vocalist is excellent!, Better than Mary Elizabeth (Silent Hill) just one of the best games with one of the best musics!

History: Mature and well thought out, history shows that Dog Days Great Mafia bosses and Corrupt have weaknesses, I will not say anything, if they find out juegenlo, Kane And Lynch endured Torture Niko and Roman in GTA IV Multiplied by 1000, saying that Niko and Roman are as Big Boss before he died, even so Big Boss is stronger than them just before he died.

55

Not THAT terrible... but not that great either.

albeenox | May 16, 2012 | See all albeenox's reviews »

I didn't hate this game as much as others seem to. Its just nothing special, just a standard cover-based shooter. I found the combat pretty satisfying, the visuals were adequate but nothing special... I mean really, that's all you can say about it - its just... OK. nothing stands out, really.

The story was pretty pointless - an afterthought, design to get you from point A to B to C etc..., and the characters were pretty irrelevant and unlikeable; lets face it, the only reason to play this game, is if you feel your life is missing another cover-based third person action game.

It'll kill time, and if the price is right, pick it up and give it a try.

65

Short but not sweet

Baha | Sept. 16, 2011 | See all Baha's reviews »

Kane and Lynch 2 is an interesting attempt at a gritty narrative that falls short on various levels. The 'youtube' style camera is neat at first but starts to get in the way of the gameplay as it begins to disorient players and make long play sessions difficult for those prone to motion sickness. Also the game is rather short and even in co-op, you can expect to beat this game in 5 hours or less. As such, it really is hard to recommend this game unless it's on sale for a fraction of the retail price.

69

Budget Price = Fair Deal

pauljebe | Sept. 4, 2011 | See all pauljebe's reviews »

This game is not as bad as you may have heard. Yes it has it's share of bugs and problems. First off, many people do not like the "shaky" camera that is meant to add a sense of cinematic style to the game. Some of the keyboard keys cannot be remapped. The campaign is relatively short, running only 4-5 hours. The online lobby system is terrible and no one is actually playing this game online meaning you only get value form SP and coop play.

Not painting a very nice picture so far, am I? Let me say that what K&L 2 does well it does very well, and that is to capture the look, fell, and intensity of a dark action film. This game is very violent, has a good plot, excellent voice acting, and a mostly ambient soundtrack that (if you actually pay attention to it) adds substantial depth to the adventure.

The people who paid full price for this game at release got ripped off. However, if you watch for a sale make sure you buy two copies and gift one to a friend. The coop cover based action is a fantastic way to kill an afternoon.

50

Guess they didn't get the hint the first time.

jojot | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all jojot's reviews »

When IO interactive brought out the first Kayne and Lynch it was derided as one of the worst games ever made. Personally I think this was somewhat overblown, it was decent enough B-Movie action material mixed with average cover based shooting gameplay, nothing too horrible (but then again, they should have been working on the new Hitman game which people actually wanted).

While not many people would admit to having bought the first game (let along the second), I think that again, the problems with the game are overplayed. The main issue here is that the story is pointless, there isn't really any character development and nothing really gets sorted by the end of it, that and it's about 3 hours long (seriously, I woke up early because of daylight savings once so I decided to try it, finished it and was having breakfast on time that day). A lot of people gave the 'shaky cam' a poor review, but to be honest I think it actually added some decent atmosphere to the game, even if it did make life hard at times.

The ideas for the multiplayer also sounded like they weren't half bad, but as with most unpopular games, you will be hard pressed to find people to play with online. Could be good to buy cheap and play with a friend, but otherwise this one is entirely missable.

70

Failed Second Attempt

faraany3k | Aug. 24, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

They say if you fail, then try try again. I think Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days is following the same formula. First game was a forgettable third person shooter with mildly engaging storyline and decent shooting mechanics that got old, pretty fast. Sadly Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days is no exception. The most horrible thing that the kept from the prequel is the same old inspiring cast. I as a gamer can never relate to uninspiring protagonists of Kane and Lynch 2. The story is your standard criminal mafia affair. Shooting mechanics are replica of the prequel aswell. Game also feels to be a poorly ported game as mouse movements feel sluggish. Although a coop mode extends the life of the game but still 5 to 6 hours single player is way less even considering the modern standards of short campaigns. There is a visual effect called 'Raw, Real & Uncut' introduced in this game. I must admit it looks cool and novel but isn't anything dramatically innovative and cant hide the poor graphical quality of the game. Famous multiplayer mode of the prequel also makes a return here. And is fun as long as it lasts. But all in all an uninspired effort once again by a talented bunch of developers who brought us the legendary series of Hitman. Its a shame that game doesn't improved anything over the prequel. If you are interested in mildly fun 3rd person shooting action you might try it, just don't expect anything exceptional.

71

an acceptable second part

dr_house95 | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all dr_house95's reviews »

Kane and Lynch have done it again: we did not get any big surprises. The gameplay is the same, a system of coverage there and kill all our enemies. Graphically, the game is very good, with a touch of independent films (eg, censorship parts). The story is compelling but not as good and could be overcome in about 6 hours. The best of the game is its multiplayer, you can play the cooperative campaign mode and the famous fragile alliance, where we belong mercenaries and betray each other.

75

Enjoyable

Ratmandu79 | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all Ratmandu79's reviews »

Enjoyable but not a brilliant game. the antagonists are as insane as they were in the first game but the "documentary" style camera can be rather disorienting during long play sessions. i had to quit a couple times due to nausea but still enjoyed the game. only managed one playthrough though which is a bad thing in my book. i prefer a game that can keep me coming back....

66

Ported with no one

hotmando1 | Aug. 15, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

Another console port. Another disappointment. Don't even expect an online community. There isn't any. Getting a game running takes longer than to buy Kane and Lynch. Also, the numerous dlc make the game seem like a cash cow. Expect a lot of disappointment. But still, the gameplay is pretty nice. You actually need to take cover. No UI or anything, pretty hardcore? Maps are pretty linear though. No sense of direction? Kane got you covered. Guns are bland and the music score is not off the hook too. An okay buy...just don't expect it to be your most played game.

25

Avoid.

Chucklehead | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all Chucklehead's reviews »

This game is an obvious console port with no real attempt at making it optimized as a PC game. The online play is very laggy due to it having a lobby system à la console multiplayer.

The singleplayer/co-op portion of the game lasts a measly 4-5 hours, depending on difficulty, as well as having a very, very lazy ending (not satisfying in any way). Majority of your run will consist of hugging cover, peeking out and taking shots, then running to another piece of cover.

The multiplayer on the other hand, has some refreshing ideas, but the execution is ugly and messy. Lag is a large issue, not to mention at launch, it did not even have a way that let's you mute someone who has their microphone constantly on with grating noises coming from it.

I would not recommend getting this game for any more than $5, if at all, as the content just does not last long enough for paying any more than $5 to be justifiable.

The only reason it gets a 25/100 rating is because some of their ideas were interesting but in the end the final package is just disappointing as they wasted the potential of said ideas.

75

Lackluster sequel, decent game.

Rzepak01 | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all Rzepak01's reviews »

The first game recieved mixed reviews, but I remember it quite fondly. It starred a great pair of unique main characters and the story the game told was pretty interesting. The titular characters return in this sequel but the interesting story is unfourtunately absent. That is not to say its bad, its just not as good and judging by the games short length the developers knew that. The game itself is a typical shooter with a nice array of weapons, a pretty good shooting mechanics. The shooting feels good thanks in part to the destructible environments. Firefights are dynamic but the enemy AI is pretty poor. Graphically the game is not stellar but it sets itself apart from other third person shooters with its novel take on the behind the back camera. In this game the camera feels like an actual camera that is following you around as you shoot up Hong Kong. Distortions both on the visual and audio sound, censoring of nudity with pixelation it all adds up to a pretty unique looking game. That being said I have found that this style seems to be a love it or hate it sort of thing. Overall the game is decent, nothing more nothing less. Its a capable, though short shooter with a great multiplayer, that to my dismay has not gained much popularity.

50

Good 5$ game

SaadKhawaja | July 25, 2011 | See all SaadKhawaja's reviews »

At current price of 16$ you should not get it but if it drops to $5 then it is worth purchasing. Can get around 3-4 hours of playtime with it and has some hilarious comments. Some of the set pieces are also nice. A 5/10 game from me.

68

Very Good Game

naroiden | July 18, 2011 | See all naroiden's reviews »

First game was cool. I expected better this game. Level design are good, action moments are very good but I expected better story this game. All you have to do is run and cover, take a point and run away again. Even so this game is still good game. Because cinematic scene as a film. Multiplayer mode is cool. My opinion is: This game is fun to play and must have.

30

A bad sequel to a bad game

t20k | July 2, 2011 | See all t20k's reviews »

Why so many positive reviews? This is a bad game. The camera is awful, the missions are extremely linear and repetitive, the shooting isn't satisfying at all and the campaign is extremely short. The visual style is original, but the graphics aren't impressive at all. i can't understand why this even exists; the first game was even worse. I guess it sold well.

If you're looking for a way to waste some time and you have plenty of money to spare, you might want to help a charity or something. Skip this.

50

Very mediocre

vigotski | June 29, 2011 | See all vigotski's reviews »

This game is better than the first Kane and Lynch. Anyway, it's still under developed and the story really doesn't seem credible. It's not fun to play it, it has a very short campaign and it will frustrate you. At least the price is not that high, but you will find much more interesting games costing the same or less.

80

The Criminal Lifestyle

GMGReviewer | June 28, 2011 | See all GMGReviewer's reviews »

Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days is one of those games that has the anti-hero character and style that most geeky gamers don't like. It's panned by some critics due to the bright language and bold personality of Kane and Lynch.

Over exaggeration, but Kane and Lynch 2 is to Mass Effect as Call of Duty is to BioShock. It's not deep and complex where you have to keep up with everything and everyone, it's just easy to pick up and play and enjoy..

The gameplay is just like all the other third person shooters today with the cover mechanic, but the difference is the a.i. is too intelligent. Yes! it's possible! the a.i. cover and blind fires from all directions, but sometimes they are dumb if you catch them off guard.

The graphics are really good, the sound & controls are great, the story isn't all there, but it works. There's a bunch of little issues like the camera angle in tight closed door areas can get wonky at times. And yes there's an option to make it the camera 'style' steady! The gameplay is very repetitive and very short (5 hours), there's no boss battles and the weapons feel the same.

The online co-op option makes the game even more fun and the online multiplayer is basically dead.

80

Could have been better, but has some good points

Babelfish343 | June 25, 2011 | See all Babelfish343's reviews »

This game improves upon the original with a great atmosphere and "shaky camera" effect, and in my opinion successfully creates the desired amount of realism for the dark, gritty setting of the crime-filled streets of Japan. The camera effects such as lens flare and the neon glow of streets lights looks amazing!

However, the shortcoming of this game is the gameplay. It is better than the original in some respects, but the AI is incredibly dumb, and most of the numerous cover-shoot sections of the game feel old and buggy. Shooting is not accurate at all, only improves later on in the game with the coming of better weapons.

Overall, this game is good at a low price or maybe a rent, but do not pay full price for this, or you may be disappointed. A great attempt at a fantastic looking game, but the gameplay needs to be fixed for this to nail the crime drama genre.

75

Expected better

peldik | May 28, 2011 | See all peldik's reviews »

I really liked the first Kane & Lynch game, so was expecting this to be just as good or even better. Sadly it's not as good as the first. The levels are boring and linear. All you do, is sit behind cover shoot and then run a couple of steps to the next cover. If you stay out of cover for more than 1 second, you die. Other than that it's a nice game with good graphics and sound.

69

Sit tight like a DOG! - K&L are back!

srukor | April 12, 2011 | See all srukor's reviews »

Apparently the sequel is a big step forward compared to the first part. In part, I agree. Game-play in relation to the K & L 1 leaves less time to think. There are more moments of pure panic that forces us to make decisions faster, lot of chaos. Technical way performs well, both the visual side (from the perspective of an amateur camera and the image was superimposed on a specific type of filter - can be turned off in settings) and audio (sound side is even better than the graphics.

The dialogues are recorded professionally, watching the cut scenes You feel like watching the action film. All kinds of noises are also implemented well and so that sound natural, the music creates atmosphere and fits the action.). Multiplayer also gives advice, and the only drawback is a strange animation, when hiding behind shields like walls etc., plus a few minor bugs. Levels we explore are interesting and varied. Initially, we run through the narrow streets, then we move to the underground parking , and at the end explore the construction site or the highway . In this aspect, Kane & Lynch 2 is doing very well. Generally the game is realistic brutal and shocking. Adults only!!!

45

Forgettable

xtrench | April 12, 2011 | See all xtrench's reviews »

If you played the first Kane and Lynch game then this game will feel like you're meeting old friends that you tried hardest to avoid. Firstly the good; the visuals are trying to look "shaky cam" and "cinematic" and for the most part they succeed in what they're trying to be and that's pretty much it everything else is pretty average. The cover system doesn’t bring anything special to the table and even at times can be frustrating. The story line is just as average and fails to deliver a satisfying ending. You play Lynch in this game as opposed to the first game where you played Kane. While playing with Lynch through the so called "stealth" parts, in the event of messing up and getting yelled at by Kane gives a throwback to the first game in which Lynch kept screwing up and getting you as the player in trouble only this time you're the one causing grief.

79

For all fans of John Woo.

BoilingJD | April 11, 2011 | See all BoilingJD's reviews »

This game is really artistic. If you're a fan of John Woo movies, it's exactly what you need. Also it haves a interesting multiplayer component witch will extend you're playtime. For such price it's best what you can make with you're money.

70

Dog Days

matsza | April 11, 2011 | See all matsza's reviews »

Kane and Lynch 2 is good game, but K&L 1 is better. Again you play as black character. Plot is very interesting. Graphics is very, very good. In Kane and Lynch 2 is many curses. Soundtrack is not bad. The multiplayer and co-op are good.

Disadvantages: buggs, linear and slim gameplay and nothing new in gameplay.

Kane and Lynch 2 is good, but if you haven't many time play something else.

45

Who thought this was a good idea?

MadMonkey119 | April 9, 2011 | See all MadMonkey119's reviews »

Honestly, I was pretty amped to play this game once it finished downloading. It looked like a linear, grittier GTA. Boy was I wrong. It started off fun then just got over the top. You end up jumping through buildings slaughtering hundreds of gangstars/cops. The cover system is flimsy at best. Often not attaching to the right spot or at all. The graphics are nice but thats about it. You may find yourself queasy as well because someone thought a rocking camera supposedly shot by a drunken man with one leg and one arm was a good idea. Overall you will get bored quick with a repetitive single player and a empty multiplayer.

60

Improvement, but still pretty average

wahidasoldier | April 6, 2011 | See all wahidasoldier's reviews »

I guess most reviews would cohere. Surely it is better than the first one, not that the first one was any good, but it's still not good enough.

The Good: Amazing graphics, very graphical language.........can't really come up with anything more. THE BAD: buggy game, very linear gameplay, blurred nudity (meh), and slim as none storyline.

The multiplayer is okay.... but it had much much more potentials... I first bought this game when I saw "co-op bank robbery". But it's not really all that, trust me.