Reviews for Deus Ex: The Fall

40

A gaming mistake

Lorddyran | Sept. 17, 2014 | See all Lorddyran's reviews »

Did you play Deus Ex: Human Revolutions and enjoy it? Did you want an uglier, awkwardly-controlled, short version of it that ends on an ineffective cliffhanger? Then your prayers have been answered!

On the other hand, if you want a game that's good, especially something that feels like the earlier Deus Ex games, steer clear.

83

A very short but enjoyable Deus Ex experience

bibboorton | Sept. 12, 2014 | See all bibboorton's reviews »

If you're just itching for more Deus Ex, you can't go wrong with The Fall. Don't expect much though, as it is a mobile port and is being sold as such, the base game being ten bucks.

Just don't expect the full Human Revolution experience and you'll find some enjoyment in the game. It still feels very Deus Ex despite being light on features.

0

I can only assume these are marks out of 10,000

effinnelle | July 14, 2014 | See all effinnelle's reviews »

Because even then they would be generous. I love Deus Ex, and DX Human Revolution, I was surprised I hadn't seen this announced but I thought "I don't need a review to tell me this is good" and bought it on release,

It is worse than awful. I refuse to waste my time writing any more about it other than to say they couldn't even spell 'fail' correctly in the title. I'd want at least £10 to re-install it. Be warned.

70

Nice but...

Cavalieroscuro | April 1, 2014 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

be aware that is only a "first" episode, and actually we don't know if a second one is planned. The gameplay is pretty much the same from Human Revolution, but the campaign is only four hours long.

It's a good way to come back into the Deus Ex universe, so if you liked the other games, try this one too.

78

Consider the objective

likwitsnake | March 31, 2014 | See all likwitsnake's reviews »

If you relinquish any previous emotional ties to the other games in the Deus Ex series and couple this with the knowledge that the particular addition was originally an iOS game then Deus Ex: The Fall can be a very satisfying experience.

Deus Ex: The Fall has a story that begins with a constant source of information being presented to you about the characters and the world they live in. Betrayal, espionage and many common stables of stealth games appear in the futuristic setting that makes the Deus Ex series so great.

With The Fall, this story is coupled with a very simplistic, but rewarding gameplay where you can easily decide to blast through your enemies with a variety of guns or take a more humane approach and merely put your enemies to rest.

The biggest strength of Deus Ex: The Fall is just how quickly one can start playing and enjoying the game, without any bloated or unnecessary fillers along the way.

The game is short and a bit unpolished, but ultimately an enjoyable experience all things considered.

70

A New Chapter of Human Revolution

CrimsonWizard | March 21, 2014 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

Deus Ex: The Fall was originally a mobile exclusive game set around the time of the recent Deus Ex: Human Revolution game, but also ties in a few references to the original Deus Ex as well. With the PC release, Eidos have adjusted the controls and some game balance and overall, I say it works.

The best way to describe this game is like a DLC episode that was developed on some inferior hardware. I don't mean this as an insult however, it's more to tell you to curb your expectations a little since the game sadly isn't quite up to the quality or length of Human Revolution. The controls aren't quite as refined, some of the supporting NPCs don't look as good as our hero Ben graphically, and most of the game takes place in one town. That said, if this was about the experience people got on the iPad, I'm rather impressed. Most companies tend to release rather cheap games on the mobile market due to the hyper competitive prices, but The Fall actually does like to a degree like Human Revolution. You have Praxis Points you can earn to upgrade yourself, you can be as non-lethal or deadly as you want, there are alternate routes and strategies you can take, and of course there's conspiracies abound.

Honestly, if they had taken a little extra time to refine some of the graphics and controls, I'd call this a good first episode in a DLC series. Which sadly is also the game's biggest fault. I don't mind so much that the game was only about 7 hours long if you included meticulous exploration, but I wonder if we're going to get some continuation of this story. We end on a bit of cliffhanger as if they planned on a Part 2, but I haven't heard anything about that.

Alright though, overall, The Fall is okay. If you're a big Deus Ex fan, or just wanted an excuse to get the original Deus Ex (which is being given out for free with The Fall as of this review), then I say give it a try if you have some bucks to spend. It's not perfect, but you know, it is a nice new little taste of Deus Ex while we wait for the next full sized game in the series. The stealth works well for the most part, you get a nice array of weapons and gadgets, and Ben is a likeable hero as you play through the game. So give it a go if you're hungry for more Deus Ex.

85

Deus Ex (Mobile) Machina

Dumas | March 18, 2014 | See all Dumas's reviews »

Deus Ex: Human Revolution was a worthy prequel to the first Deus EX. Game mechanics, deep story and art style created great gaming experience. It should not come as surprise that Square Enix wished explore the setting a bit more.

What we get here is a more of the same. Mechanics, art style and even augmentations are the same. Think of the game as a standalone DLC with new hero and new story to tell. As this is a port from mobile devices, in some areas you will fill limitations of them, but the overall experience is solid.

This instalment is much shorter than Human Revolution but it looks like it will not be the last word of developers in this setting.

75

Deus Ex (Mobile) Machina

Dumas | March 16, 2014 | See all Dumas's reviews »

Deus Ex: Human Revolution was a worthy prequel to the first Deus EX. Game mechanics, deep story and art style created great gaming experience. It should not come as surprise that Square Enix wished explore the setting a bit more.

What we get here is a more of the same. Mechanics, art style and even augmentations are the same. Think of the game as a standalone DLC with new hero and new story to tell. As this is a port from mobile devices, in some areas you will fill limitations of them, but the overall experience is solid.

This instalment is much shorter than Human Revolution but it looks like it will not be the last word of developers in this setting.