Reviews for South Park™: The Stick of Truth™

91

It seems like another episode.

MafuMafu | July 11, 2014 | See all MafuMafu's reviews »

But, don't let the title fool you. This game is one of the best and funniest I've ever played. I laughed my ass off with this amazing piece of art from start to finish. I love South Park, I love video games. And, they did a perfect work with Stick of Truth. Obsidian never let me down. They are the masters of the RPG genre. Buy it now or Kenny will die. Obsidian promised that part of the earnings will go to Kenny's family, so Cartman doesn't make fun of them for being poor.

92

A True Testament to the Show

mrminecrafter1 | July 10, 2014 | See all mrminecrafter1's reviews »

This is the best video game that respects the show it's based on unlike the Family Guy game. Great comedy and acting that makes you feel like you're part of the South Park TV show. The RPG elements is done really well but it does have a few problems here and there. Story is really great and the environment is done pretty good with many different areas to explore. Sound design is excellent as well as the soundtrack. A recommendation is guaranteed from me.

90

Comedy and RPG Mixed into a wild adventure.

StupidMarioBros | July 3, 2014 | See all StupidMarioBros's reviews »

After 3 previous attempts, this is the one south park game that is not only playable, but entertaining, and almost feels as if you are in a south park episode.

The game is an RPG turn-based game with a comedic theme, and it works perfectly with the art style of a south park episode, the simple combat that works pretty good, as they say after all, "Keep it simple, stupid."

While the look and combat system is pretty good, the game really shines in the story. And while I usually dont judge a game for a story, this game just has a hilarious adventure of comedy, and even somewhat of a twist ending.

The only problem I see with this game is the replayablility, which is a problem for any story-based game, as once you finish, you usually just dont play the game ever again. This game only took me about 12 hours, which is decent, but I hope for more replayablility in a 60$ full game. If the game was in the 40$ range, I would raise the rating of this game to a 95.

All in all, a great adventure for any south park fan, or to someone who has not even heard of the show, it is a welcome introduction or a continuation of south park to anyone. I reccomend for anyone looking for a laugh or two.

95

A must own for fans of the show

psutrife | July 3, 2014 | See all psutrife's reviews »

South Park: The Stick of Truth is incredible. As a fan since the shows inception so many years ago, it is all there. So many awesome moments that have been revisited, revised, and recaptured. It is not just rehash of previous gags however. The humor we all know and love is ever present and some could argue, better than ever.

Stylistically, it is perfect. A major issue I've had with previous South Park games is the terribly rendered polygons designed to represent the show's 2D characters. Having the game look exactly like the show is awesome. Between the graphics and the humor, it really is exactly like playing a long episode of the show.

Gameplay wise, nothing is out of the ordinary here. It's a pretty simple turn based combat system, which borrows from games like Super Mario RPG with the timed hit system, which keeps combat engaging.

The story is great, controls and gameplay are good, and the humor is top notch. If you enjoy South Park at all, buy this game now. If you don't, borrow a friends.

30

Simpsons Did It

nairume | May 18, 2014 | See all nairume's reviews »

It seems sadly appropriate that this specific South Park game came as the book end of an extended console generation, for it acts as a mirror to the Simpsons game that came at the beginning of the same generation. The Simpsons Game itself was a lazy attempt to take a familiar property with a penchant for parody and build it into a popular genre while also lampooning that genre. What this meant, however, is that the Simpsons Game was a very poor game in its own right that tried to act as if the bad mechanics and terrible ideas were all intentional. Even more annoying was that much of its humor came off as incredibly dated due to being based around lampooning a type of game that had long since abandoned many of the cliches being mocked. It was not a good game.

Sadly, those same problems are still very much active here. South Park: The Stick of Truth takes the same exact formula, swaps out the Simpsons for South Park and collect-a-thon platformers for an RPG and tries to get by on mocking the genre based around genre "cliches" that have been on the way out for years now. As such, the game's actual humor constantly falls flat, while much of the rest of the writing relies upon referencing popular jokes from the show to try and remind players that South Park was once clever and fresh.

Likewise, playing the game is a chore, as combat is a poor copy of Nintendo's Paper Mario series, while everything outside of combat is an even poorer attempt at recreating PC RPG mechanics. Both sides are amazingly clunky and obscure the fact that the developer behind the game are genre veterans with almost two decades of experience behind them. On top of that, the game is disgustingly short and can easily be beaten in a sitting or two.

What's left is an embarrassment on all fronts.

90

I have not seen a game that respects both the original work

Payaso109 | May 9, 2014 | See all Payaso109's reviews »

I'll start this review by the end. If you're a fan of South Park, or have ever enjoyed watching some of the seasons of this animated series, the note is 10 and you'll fall in love with this game. In fact , I think it is the best video game based on another work of fiction, and that gets you to think that you are enjoying a kind of interactive episode. The "respect" with which it has treated the original series and included many winks , make this title is a must for any fan of South Park.

It will cost an analysis without spoilers of what awaits you in this surreal game, while also going to cost me not to mention the amount of obscenities including senior inside. The game is even " more adult " than the series, which is saying , introducing us to the most delirious scenes . Lock yourself in your room , do not let anyone see you play South Park: The Stick of Truth if you want to avoid having to explain to your acquaintances .

This RPG begins with a classic dilemma , choosing between four different characters: Fighter, Mage , Thief and Jew . As expected , personalization is one of the strengths of this game , choosing clothing , accessories , appearance, etc. . our character and tweaking each of these features .

85

Awesome

DallasV | April 30, 2014 | See all DallasV's reviews »

I'll admit, I had my doubts about this title. However, I was pleasantly surprised when I played it. It's your typical RPG game, but with crude humor to make it a funny game to play. Not corny jokes either, jokes that made me laugh legitimately. Basically it's like watching an extra long episode of South Park.

100

An epic adventure for fans of South Park.

HerrDethnout | April 16, 2014 | See all HerrDethnout's reviews »

To be honest, South Park has had bad games (at least for me), but with this game, it managed to recover completely. This game is basically an episode of South Park, but become game (If you watched the episodes of the Black Friday already know) And blah blah, this game has such a long history, and some amazing graphics, but what makes this game becomes 3 seconds on a masterpiece is its comedy, its comedy is unique, and in this game is that comedy that characterizes South Park.

This game is a masterpiece of comedy all games. We can see things that remind the old episodes of South Park. The only downside is that the translation into Spanish, grace who has the Latin American dub, or at least the English dub, hence, you lose this game is the masterpiece of all the games of this world. Recommended to all those who want good black humor. And for true fans of South Park.

By the way, a secret: This game is a parody in large part to The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim.

88

Great for any fan of the show!

randompokes | April 16, 2014 | See all randompokes's reviews »

South Park is basically a parody of Skyrim/Game of Thrones/LotR with the gameplay style of Paper Mario. You play the new kid who never talks (Douchebag as everyone calls you) with legendary power of excellent anal control (no joke) and your “dragon shouts” are flaming farts and such.

It’s turn-based with button commands that need to be executed in order to attack and defend. No sitting around and hammering the X button to get through battles. There are a lot of environmental puzzles that you do outside of combat, so it’s kinda a mixed genre game. Loads of collectibles too, such as Facebook friends, costumes and Chinpokomon dolls.

The game is completely in the style of the show, so it’s all 2D with layered sets. You get to see the entire town of South Park, since it’s open world and do quests for characters from the show. Your enemies are other kids playing, drunk hobos, and ginger kids, among other silly things.

89

South Park fans rejoice!

Chack | April 14, 2014 | See all Chack's reviews »

I like South Park, I don't really watch it often but when I do I find it funny (sometimes), this is a turn-based RPG kind of like Paper Mario, the humor of the series is there, the gameplay is well done, the graphics make you think you are watching an episode of the TV show, I don't really have a bad thing to say about this game except that it may be a little too easy, I didn't die that often. Also something we should think about is if you don't like South Park you should get this game... and the answer is, it may be a little tedious but the gameplay won't affect you, so go for it if you like the genre.

90

Something that's been missing from recent RPGs.

PandaATV | April 2, 2014 | See all PandaATV's reviews »

With the transition of RPGs into the next gen, there's been plenty of missteps. More development time going into updated graphics and new combat systems have driven old fans into hiding as players aren't experiencing the same magic that RPGs have given them in the past, but I can honestly say that South Park: The Stick of Truth has some of that magic.

I'll get this out of the way though, the combat system in this game is really simple and you won't feel challenged for the most part BUT this style of combat is intuitively engaging for all players. It might not be hard, but it keeps players on their toes and engaged enough to keep playing the game, at least for a few playthroughs.

The real RPG gems about South Park is the seamless transition of the their trademark animation style onto a video game world and the high-octane story that feels very true to life in more ways than one.

If you're an RPG fan, you should appreciate when the right art style, the right environment, coupled with the right type of story can do to an RPG game. The combination of all those things can create a truly engaging RPG experience and really takes you into a whole new world that feels familiar and exciting.

Definitely a must-buy for any South Park fan, but still a solid RPG outing for the rest of us.

80

Shocked me

Orea | April 2, 2014 | See all Orea's reviews »

Im not a fan of south park but the game is a great old school RPG and shocking with a fun story the keep me playing. but on the other hand it is still south park so had just wrong and bad jokes at times

91

Fantastic slap stick humor!

dalbelo | April 1, 2014 | See all dalbelo's reviews »

I would like to start by saying I do NOT follow the show regularly. I watch an episode occasionally, but I do enjoy it when I do watch. I am familiar with most of the characters and some of the more popular episodes from old to current.

This game is great for story entertainment. It is for mature audience, so the bad words are not bleeped and any naughty animation is not blocked out, which actually makes it a bit more enjoyable for adults to give the feeling of not playing a childrens game. The story line is great and there are so many episodes referenced from something as minor as a piece of junk you may find to sell at a shop or a weapon you find to use.

The only downside I found to the game is it is VERY easy, too easy. If your mind set is to purchase to enjoy a very extended interactive South Park episode, this is a great purchase! If your in it for the challenge, you may want to try a different RPG.

100

The greatest thing to happen to South Park.

dillymydally | March 31, 2014 | See all dillymydally's reviews »

This game was simply brilliant. The game felt as if you were creating your own episode with genius character lines and scenes. This game had me laughing the whole way through! I have played many games, but none as funny and entertaining as this one. A sequel is necessary for a game this good and this well thought out.

92

Essential for any fan of South Park and RPGs

kyo413 | March 28, 2014 | See all kyo413's reviews »

As a fan of both South Park and turn based role playing games I enjoyed this game a lot. The art style looks exactly like an episode of south park, the music and sound quality is fantastic and surprising the combat is quite enjoyable. I had my doubts when I first heard about the game, but after playing it, I think they did a good job.

The story was interesting and spiced with typical South Park humor and a lot of call backs from previous episodes. The campaign was a little short, I finished it in about 9 hours. But having said that, the quality of the those hours was pretty high. Fantastic game, solid combat mechanics and lots of cool little hidden things for the fans to pick up on, highly recommended, though it's not for the easily offended or closed minded.

90

A Great Comedic Experience

blaze1099099 | March 20, 2014 | See all blaze1099099's reviews »

South Park is definitely one of my favorite shows. It is ridiculous, it is funny, it is utterly insane. This game is just the same. It looks like the show, and it feels like it too. Anyone who has watched South Park and enjoyed it will undoubtedly enjoy this. There are references to episodes of the show and various characters (but not towelie) throughout the game which make for a nostalgic experience for longtime watchers. But as entertaining as the Stick of Truth is, it isn't a perfect game. Gameplay wise, there isn't that much going on here. Most of the fun comes from the fact that it's South Park. The combat is okay but not special, the item menus are somewhat frustrating, and the rpg elements aren't very significant. Essentially its rpg lite.

Basically, I would definitely recommend this game if you have watched South Park and are a fan of it. If you haven't seen the show, you might want to pass on this game for now.

91

Hilarious new game

brintnall12 | March 17, 2014 | See all brintnall12's reviews »

I'm really hoping they continue with this series, as this one has been hilarious. It feels as though you are literally playing through an episode of the show. The combat you would think weak, is actually large strong suit of this game, alongside the hilarious storyline.

93

Warped, Wacky, and Wonderful

CrimsonWizard | March 7, 2014 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

South Park: The Stick of Truth is Obsidian's long awaited RPG adventure based on the hilariously dark cartoon. People tend to be wary of licensed products of an established property, but I can honestly say that The Stick of Truth feels like an episode of the TV show, almost like a second movie considering the length of the adventure. The creators Trey Parker and Matt Stone voiced their usual roles and wrote the script for it, and it shows. I had plenty of laughs among the brutal comedy and bizarre scenarios you're forced into. Obsidian pulled a lot of the weight too, doing an excellent job recreating the show's look, and also developing a fun battle system beneath it all that manages to stay interesting and develop throughout the game.

The Stick of Truth starts out simply enough. You're The New Kid, some little fellow you can customize in many, many ways as your avatar in your quest to make friends. As you meet people, you're quickly drawn into this pretend war over The Stick of Truth, an artifact that can let the user control the universe! Two teams compete over the stick, Cartman's band of heroic humans and Kyle's crafty elven forces. Things quickly escalate however, with the game calling back to some plot points in previous episodes before the real trouble starts brewing. For RPG fans, it's easy to get an Earthbound feel from this game, but South Park fans should be more than familiar with how situations quickly go out of control in what should be a small Colorado town.

As you go forth on your quest for friendship and supposed universal power, you must fight "like in olden times". The Stick of Truth uses a turn based RPG system that fans of Paper Mario might recognize. However, Obsidian merely used it as inspiration for it's own blend of action command combat. It starts out simple enough with your basic action commands to attack and block, and slowly builds on this with multiple blows and defenses along with your special attacks. You get to choose a class at the beginning of the game to determine those special attacks you get while leveling up, but don't worry too much whether you go for Fighter, Mage, Thief, or Jew, all of them are viable options and have some useful quirks. The Thief for example is excellent at hitting powerful enemies that hide behind their underlings and bleeding them, while the Jew becomes more powerful as he gets hit and can boost the whole party. Stick of Truth keeps building up on these simple ideas, giving you many different equipment options along with "Strap-ons" kind of like modifications or badges to further improve it. With all of these options, it's pretty easy to find a set up that plays to your preferred style. You can spec toward regeneration, or elemental attacks, or defense, or many other strategies, giving the game a decent amount of complexity as you level up and further explore the town of South Park.

I played the game on Normal and found it a decent challenge, but fair. The game likes to mix and match enemy types and weaknesses often, but thanks to the ability to scan an enemy for free at any time, you can see what you're up against. It's almost like making every battle a puzzle. Even bosses and the powerful unique enemies have their weaknesses, giving all the elemental attacks and status effects a chance to shine and be useful. I'd almost call the almighty summon attacks less useful since they can only be used on non-boss fights, but seeing Jesus mow down your enemies with his guns is worth a nice laugh.

Speaking of laughs, that's the other critical key to this game. Fans of South Park will really appreciate all the little references and gags to the show in the game, but the game also does a nice job on expanding on it to fill out the 15 hour game. Those damn Mongolians get their own mini-dungeon early on, call backs to major plot points like the grey aliens help to develop the story and to ramp out the ridiculous and brutal humor. Even many of the items and vendor trash you find are cute little references to episodes or jokes of the show. Some might call it a little too much at times, but I see the game as a celebration of everything the show has gone through by giving this cast of kids one more over the top situation to deal with.

I've heard some criticisms from the major game websites about The Stick of Truth being short or buggy, but I can't disagree more. The only annoyance I ever had was the short loading times when entering houses to look for loot or sidequests, but it was hardly a problem on PC. I didn't encounter any bugs at all. As for the length? Yes, it's not some super massive adventure like Skyrim or Grand Theft Auto, but it makes up for it, but having a lot of heart and charm woven through the whole town. Nearly every little place feels a bit special, and the game doesn't waste your time to bloat out the adventure too much. A few collectibles and secrets can be found, and accessed quickly thanks to the quick travel points, but the game wants you to enjoy the story first and foremost. It also doesn't ask you to grind for hours since the game will naturally give you enough fights throughout the main story to reach maximum level before the end. Stick of Truth also doesn't ask you to just swing a sword around the whole time, it asks you to think of strategies or even use the level's environment against your opponents. If I were to criticize the length, it would be to say I wish there was more of this awesome game, rather than there wasn't enough. Obsidian and South Park Studios knew what they wanted to do and cut out most of the fat to give both fans of RPGs and South Park an excellent experience.

That's why, I can write here that yes, South Park: The Stick of Truth is worth it! If you love RPGs like Paper Mario or Earthbound, you'll find this game to be a real joy. It's a twisted, sometimes perverted joy, but a joy none the less. And if you love the show, you'll appreciate how so many of these bizarre and funny moments mentioned or played out on TV are somehow woven together. It's nice finally seeing where everything is in the town as you fight to protect it. It was a long time coming, but I'm glad to say we finally have a South Park adventure that captures both the spirit of the show and a great game together.

96

2014 Must buy

ki11fr3ak | March 7, 2014 | See all ki11fr3ak's reviews »

This game, In my opinion, is a must buy for any south park or RPG fans. Love the setting and atmosphere. Love the fart jokes and one liners. Love the game play and fluidity in the game.

The campaign is a good 13 hrs long and a completionist might add another 10 hrs. There are a lot of things to do in this world of south park, everything is painstakingly taken care of to resemble the show.

I heard that there were a couple of bugs here and there but I've never experienced one.

Heed my words people, buy it, just buy it goddamit

93

Amazing

JNKRedsox | March 6, 2014 | See all JNKRedsox's reviews »

I have loved south park ever since I started watching it 6 years ago, I have seen every single episode ever put out. This game is jam packed with South Park references, anything you could think of is in this game. Exploring the town is so enjoyable, but can also be a hassle at times (there is fast travel). The story is fantastic and in my opinion really has replay ability. It can get a little repetitive while fighting but that comes with most RPG's

89

South Review: The Stick of Truth ------> Buy it or Not?

koticpaxx | March 6, 2014 | See all koticpaxx's reviews »

HOLY CRAP, this game is super fun. Like super duper, ridiculous fun. To get started, South Park: The Stick of Truth is a long awaited game developed by Obsidian Entertainment and published by Ubisoft. Delve into the world where RPG elements and South Park had a baby. You get this game. The presentation is great. The art style really makes you feel like you are a part of the living, breathing world of SP. The voice acting is top-notch, adding even further to the ride. The music is great, nothing too superb, yet nothing underwhelming. The gameplay is simple, with fighting mechanics not really my style. To be more specific, you enter into this kind of a duel state, where you each keep taking turns attacking, while giving you opportunities to block. While fun at first, in my opinion, it gets quite repetitive. However, don't let this take away from the experience. All in all, South Park: The Stick of Truth is a hilarious and awesome expansion of the South Park world. It is a very enjoyable experience and I would say that this is definitely a buy.