Reviews for Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

100

A Masterpiece

GipsyDanger2 | Aug. 25, 2014 | See all GipsyDanger2's reviews »

This came out 7 years ago but still is one of my favorite AC games. It has one of the best environments and characterizations ever in any AC game. Ezio Auditore is my favorite protagonist in the series and will always be my favorite. If you haven't played this yet, what are you doing??? Play it now! Experience the music, the setting, the gameplay, the story most importantly. It will all blow you away!

94

"Requiescat in Pace !"

neokratos48 | Aug. 22, 2014 | See all neokratos48's reviews »

Well, after playing many hours to AC I, I had many expectations about this second opus...and I am not deceived, at all. This game is like the first one, but best, in all ways. You are more free (you can swim this time), cities are larger, Venice is amazing, you can meet characters that you are more inclined to know (I am thinking right there of Leonardo Da Vinci) who have really made history. By being the first one of an Ezio trilogy which was going to be very interesting, it is a turning point in our way of playing videogames. I think that I may remember this game as a game which taught me a lot, about Renaissance and Italy. The metastory is going quite further, but not really fast enough.

90

what a wonderful game!!!!!

cyborg1481 | Aug. 15, 2014 | See all cyborg1481's reviews »

even after 7 years its an amazing game with a beautiful world and living xities that makes you want to go and explore more of them the story is firm and the main character is very likeable get it and play it!!!! you wont regret!!!!!

90

Simply beautiful

Obsessor | Aug. 12, 2014 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

This game will win you, no matter who you are or what you do. To have a chance of roaming Venice... To witness first hand the beauty of architecture. And to immerse yourself in this amazingly detailed world.

The plot and characters themselves are very good too. You get to meet young Leonardo da Vinci! This is what I like in Assassin's Creed games - you are entering a "real" world. Of course the story is purely fictional. But embedded in factual events. Creators of AC were brilliant in their use of the best asset there is in creating works of art - our history.

The graphics may not be state of the art, but I commend it for being very detailed. Architecture, those arches and domes will make you purr like a kitten. Music is also very good, it's style and tempo heats up your blood during battles, and provides a chilling atmosphere when you roam the world .

Get this game guys, it comes from the original Assassin's Creed, refines it, and is much much better than the first part.

100

All New Era. All New Hero. Still an Assassin and Still deadly!

khawaja07 | July 30, 2014 | See all khawaja07's reviews »

Some years after the first Assassin's Creed brought an innovative Open World, Assassin's Creed II even further improves upon it and makes it seem even more responsive as ever! It continues the same fun gameplay which made the first game so popular among stealth fans and also makes some pretty nice additions too!

You return as Desmond Miles, as he continues to be used by Abstergo in order to fuel their own desires. However you play a different Assassin this time around, Ezio Auditore Da Firenze, an Italian assassin who seeks redemption after he & his family goes through a gritty and tragic part of their lives. Assassin's Creed II takes place during the Italian Renaissance and in which you play a very vital role in Holding back the Templars from succeeding in their plot to make Mankind their slaves.

Gameplay mechanics are a lot improved in this second outing of the series. You now have two hidden blades on each of your arms to help you in assassinating more than one enemy at a time. You also get multiple additions to your armory of weapons. The Eagle Vision mechanic is also improved as now you can use it while moving and finding your targets & objectives. Sword fights are now also much more authentic and accurate experiences.

This second entry returns to its beautifully crafted worlds that we have seen from the past game in the series. It is built upon an upgraded version of the Anvil Engine which helps even more in extending the graphical capabilities of the game. Character models now seem much sharper, textures seem a lot more crisper and smoother.

The Soundtrack is even better than the last iteration and is a pleasure to listen to.

Assassin's Creed II is pretty much the defining game in the series so far, which has seen huge upgrades and improvements in mostly all departments. It is highly recommended by me that you play it and is totally worth its price considering how cheap it is these days.

100

Nice

Xelibrion | June 30, 2014 | See all Xelibrion's reviews »

This game takes what was in the first and adds so much to it. Several locations, varied mission types, frustration and joy all in one. The setting for this game, reneissance Italy, lends itself extremely well to the game. It's the perfect time and place for an epic story. And this game brings it. I mean, really, it has got to be one of the most engaging stories I've played through in a video game. The mechanics are fun too for the most part, albeit they could have made the controls a little better on the PC version. There really is no need to hold several keys down at once to perform an action. But that in itself is a small mishap and is quite easy to get used to.

95

What a deal.

gluxia95 | June 11, 2014 | See all gluxia95's reviews »

This game in one of the most atmospheric games i ever played.You play in renesanse Italy,whitch looks just gorgeus even in lowest settings.It haves decent amount of side quests,(you even get quest line with Leonardo DaVinci) around 35 hrs to beat,if you dont rush the story,and if you do all side quests the time amound goes double.Jumping on rooftops and setting Borgia towers on fire never gets old.For me personaly this is the best game in the franchise if not the best Ubisoft game ever. P.S English is not my native language,sorry if my review is full of spelling errors.

85

Renaissance God simulator

SASteve | May 31, 2014 | See all SASteve's reviews »

Assassin’s Creed 2, as you probably know is a game developed by Ubisoft in which you play as a young Florentine nobleman, Ezio Auditore da Firenze. Everything starts well, fact that should ring an alarm bell in your head, so of course things get messed up pretty fast, so Ezio starts in a quest to avenge his dead relatives, not quite like Batman, although they are both some rich dudes in silly outfits that make a living out of jumping on someone’s head. The game controls usually well, and I say usually because you run and jump with the same button, which can feel like you are suddenly controlling Spiderman that has a urge to fuse with the nearby wall. The assassinations are the core part of this game, as you can tell from the title, so you have many tools to help you stab people more effectively, like: hidden blade, dual hidden blades, poison blade, poison dart, crossbow, throwing knives, hidden pistol, throwing coins, punching people to death and unlockable chainsaw gun (just kidding). As I previously said, this game is one of the easiest games I’ve ever played, partly, if not entirely because of the game-breaking counter attack. You can basically kill unlimited enemies without getting killed just standing there and wait for someone to attack you in order to complete a Quick Time Event.
Another complain I have, besides the dodgy controls is the difficulty. If you are looking for an assassin experience with lots of careful planning and some sense of achievement, you’ve come to the wrong place, because Assassin’s Creed 2 one of the easiest games I’ve ever played. The only things that makes this game “difficult” are the jumping puzzles, which can be excruciating because of the controls and the stupid level design in some parts of the game. When I say stupid level design I am thinking at the instances that the game made me do some kind of an ultra mega jump that I won’t ever use again because outside these puzzles the jumpy-climby part works without the ultra mega jump! Want to know why? Because it’s extremely hard to pull off and the parkour it’s all about going from point A to point B in the shortest time, so you don’t have time to fiddle around with the jumping controls to make them behave properly for 5 seconds. Fortunately, most, if not all of those puzzles are “optional”, but if you want the best armor in the game you have to do them. Speaking of “optional” things that there are in Assassin’s Creed 2, this game introduced in the series the Sim City aspect: you have a villa, the place is a junk yard, it’s your job to invest in it so you can make more money that will eventually pile up, because there aren’t really that many things to buy, besides weapons (considering the fact that you get the best armor from side-activities). The story is one of the strong factors of this game, well one of the stories. The story is divided into two different stories: the present one and the past one, because we are not playing as Ezio actually , we are playing as a smug teenager from the future that relieves the memories of his ancestors because the memories are stored in his DNA, as you can probably tell, this is the bad part of the story. The good part is in the past, in the Renaissance Italy, with Ezio and the other interesting characters, which leads me to another question: why do we need the DNA memory storyline? The games would have worked just fine without this sub-plot that is nowhere near solving, and, Frankly I stopped caring a long time ago and apparently so did Ubisoft. After all those complaints you are probably legitimately wondering why I gave this game such a high mark, well that’s because I really enjoyed this game, maybe it’s just the fact that I consider Renaissance one of the most amazing historical periods. Combine Renaissance with some interesting characters, an interesting plot, a parkour mechanic and some nice architecture to climb on and you’ll have a nice game. It’s not the best game I’ve ever played, but I really enjoyed it and I think I will play it again sometime.

90

Unforgettable Game

billie_boy86 | May 12, 2014 | See all billie_boy86's reviews »

Assassin's Creed II is the game that started the story of Ezio Auditore one of the most favorite character in the AC's Franchise. Assassin's Creed II was a giant step forward from it's predecessor and improved a lot in terms of Graphics, Control Mechanics from walking, running and climbing and gave the player more freedom to explore the gorgeous Italian cities during the 15th and 16th century era of Renaissance. Assassin's Creed games are very well known for the historical events which they mixed with fictional yet believable story in which players first steps as main protagonist Desmond Miles who then gets into the Machine called the Animus which reads the DNA of him which he can access to the relive the lives of his ancestors as Assassin in order to find Apple of Eden and to fight against the Templars. Assassin's Creed II is also a narrated story driven game but with the freedom and side quests it has to offer makes it one of the most enjoyable game of all times. The Brawling, Counter Attacks and overall the fight system and gameplay has been much more improved from the original Assassin's Creed which came out before it. I would recommend everyone to start playing Assassin's Creed games if they haven't played it yet.

75

An improvement over the first in every way

9insane9 | April 14, 2014 | See all 9insane9's reviews »

This game takes what was in the first and adds so much to it. Several locations, varied mission types, frustration and joy all in one. The setting for this game, reneissance Italy, lends itself extremely well to the game. It's the perfect time and place for an epic story. And this game brings it. I mean, really, it has got to be one of the most engaging stories I've played through in a video game. The mechanics are fun too for the most part, albeit they could have made the controls a little better on the PC version. There really is no need to hold several keys down at once to perform an action. But that in itself is a small mishap and is quite easy to get used to. But what really grinds my gears (and many other people's, for that matter) are the fixed camera angles in the assassin tombs. During those, the direction in which the character is headed depends on the camera angle rather than the usual (direction of the character). Plus, the game does not run terribly well. Even though I'm running this on a notebook with a GT650M, it should run constantly at 60 frames per second. I mean, several years have passed, right? It should run better. All of this is a result of bad porting. However, even though the game suffers from being a bad port, it is still a really good game because the story and setting make up for it. The game ( unlike the next games in the series, which have been filled with micromanaging tasks) remains very casual, which makes the game more enjoyable in my opinion.

TL;DR: If you can withstand the negative effects of a bad port and like a good story and casual gameplay (and an awesome setting), this game is for you.

98

Best game in the series

youknowwho77 | April 2, 2014 | See all youknowwho77's reviews »

This is my personal favourite of the whole franchise. Assassin's Creed II. They improved A LOT of stuff in this game. Added A LOT of things to do, since the first Assassin's Creed. They improved the graphics a little bit, but that's not what impressed me. What really impressed me was, the cool and authentic Italian atmosphere. The setting. The rooftops. These little details which make the game a masterpiece. But the story, the story is the real deal here. It continues AC1, just where it ended. You are now Ezio Auditore. An Italian noble, who becomes an Assassin, in the meantime when he struggles to take revenge for his family's death. A MUST PLAY!

92

The Enlightenment Creed

CriSilCart | March 2, 2014 | See all CriSilCart's reviews »

From one of the most important franchise of Ubisoft apart from others more. Assassin's Creed II is, by far, the best game of all the series, till now. The history is quite amazing and the graphic environment inspired in the renaissance make it the most impressive of all.

The different an unique ambience of each city had improved from its predecessor and also the gameplay. The capabilities and the limits of the main character have been extended that lead to a huge freedom of the gamer. The main character is quite good and the history continues with all the mystery and secret of the first issue.

The cons, because there are always cons, are that the strategy, the calm and the secret of the previous part gradually lost importance and the game is becoming least interesting over the series. Despite this, it is quite good and play it over and over again really worth it, you will never get bored.

90

Way better than the first one, and third...

Serdastan | Jan. 6, 2014 | See all Serdastan's reviews »

After playing AC1 my expectations for AC2 were really low, as I was afraid I'd have to run from city to city, just to do the same repetitive missions again and again, with the same dull color scheme all over the place. Luckily, this wasn't the case. Everything has been improved, in my opinion, from the boring AC1: the fighting, the exploration, the side missions etc. etc. The voice acting is great too, something a lot of games could learn from. The setting too. I don't get why there aren't more games set in this time period, it obviously has a lot to offer. Anyway, I can only recommend AC2, even if you haven't played the first one.

100

Still the best in AC series

Freako | Jan. 2, 2014 | See all Freako's reviews »

Assassin's Creed 2 by far the best one in the series in my opinion.

I am a Assassin's Creed fan myself. i have played all of the Assassin's Creed series . Let's talk about storyline. The storyline in Assassin's Creed is marvelously put out. A man named Ezio lost someone valuable to him and he seeks revenge but little did he know there was something bigger behind the lost of his loved ones.

Something you couldn't comprehend at his age. In the real life Desmond Mile the person "controlling" Ezio and learning about his success and failures.

Desmond is in an Animus in other words desktop computer. He plays,develops and lives Ezio life going through every painful moment Ezio had to go through. Desmond objective is to find a special Cube which is carefully hidden somewhere in Ezio's memories. He seeks to find it.

Gameplay in this game is awesome. You can either play stealth or just rush in and sword fight with the guards. Though some require you 100% stealth to prevent being spotted.

95

I've always wanted to jump stab a renaissance guard.

Argentum | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all Argentum's reviews »

... and now I can.

This is the best game in the series, I picked it up late after initially skipping straight to 3 but after playing through all (bar black flag) this one is the most polished and has the best story line out of all of them.

The swordplay is spot on, it feels like Rocksteadys batman picked up a sword and really started liking to kill people, the whole thing flows and it has a delicate balance of difficulty and awesomeness that keeps you interested in it. The extra addition of the gun built into your wrist makes you feel like a god of the old age and leaping out of the air to stab an man in the neck awakens a primeval sense of fun in you.

Story is top notch, and a massive improvement over Altairs tale, I actually cared about Ezios journey through it, its not a suprise it got 2 story sequels out of it.

Assassins Creed 1 created its own genre, this sequel owned said genre.

90

Taking The Next Step

Stuman31 | Nov. 25, 2013 | See all Stuman31's reviews »

The one thing that the Assassins Creed series does, is improve. The biggest issues with the original game were certainly fixed in this one. A much smoother game, with an even better story than the first. The game steps up in every way. The biggest flaw in this game is that you cant go back and just do certain missions again. This doesnt sound like much, but when there is an achievement only gettable on one quest about 70% of the way through the game, and short of restarting there is no way to have another crack at it, its a bit rough.

97

One of the Best 3rd Person Action Games Ever.

DarthEaglePrime | Nov. 21, 2013 | See all DarthEaglePrime's reviews »

I really enjoyed Playing ACII. For me, it has been the best in the franchise. I loved the original Assassins Creed and when this one came out it felt it was way better than the first. Better graphics, Better gameplay and a much deeper story. At first I didn´t like Ezio, but he kind of grows on you. I just wish they would have continued to grow all aspects of the game through Brotherhood and Revelations But it was more of the same. I consider the other 2 as very pricy DLCs. The only thing that was missing from this was the multiplayer.

94

The best AC game to date.

gforcesa | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

I was a big fan of the first assassin's creed game and was hoping to get a sequel and when AC 2 came out and i played it,it was amazing.My favorite history lesson in school was about the renaissance and believe it or not thanks to this game i got a good grade.In this game you will meat the famous Leonardo Da Vinci who will create the gadgets you are going to use in the game.In my opinion this is the best Assassin's Creed game in the series just because the developers nailed the story,drama and action.

95

Probably the best game in AC series.

bauwan | Nov. 2, 2013 | See all bauwan's reviews »

I started playing Assassin's creed from the very first one. Next I had ACII and it was like... wow. Comparing it to the first game, this just took the series onto new level. First of all, story was much more interesting for me. It was also interesting, that we could see Ezio since his birth. New weapons, new features, non linear quest (as in first AC, in each city we had to do the same activities, scouting, following, helping citizens, etc.), better combat, so much more to do, secrets and all that stuff make it bigger, better and more fun. This is how improvement in games should look like. Brotherhood and Revelations continued Ezio's story, ACIII wasn't so fun, as previous games, so still in my opinion, Assassin's Creed II was the best game in the series. We'll see if ACIV will take its place.

89

Best in the series

westleysnipez | Oct. 25, 2013 | See all westleysnipez's reviews »

A great 3rd Person Action Game. It's the best in the series in my opinion, it improved on everything the Original did, but the successors of it just sort of seemed like a repetition of this game with a different story arc and a few different weapons.

Very solid game, and I'd highly recommend it to people who enjoyed games like Arkham Asylum or God of War

94

The best Assassin's Creed.

KingArthas94 | Oct. 16, 2013 | See all KingArthas94's reviews »

AC2 is an action game set in my loved Italy. It's a sort of free roaming game, full of secrets and funny! The reproduction of some buildings like San Marco in Venice is awesome. It's a long game but this isn't a bad aspect. The graphics were awesome when the game was launched and in 2013 they're still really enjoyable! The plot is a bit strange for some aspects but everything has a conclusion in the next games of the series (mostly AC Revelations and AC3). The gameplay is fantastic, leaving the player the possibility to choose how to reach a target and kill him. I loved this game, I recommend it to everyone.

90

Cool

Lasiu2 | Oct. 2, 2013 | See all Lasiu2's reviews »

This game is similar to first part. But it isnt surprising i think. It shoudl be similar. This game has better graphic, similar plot and still nothing special with soundtrack. New graphic design of panel (where you have health etc.) is pretty good. But i think i liked AC's first one more (btw which i get bored of, because of playing it all the time). I dont know what to write. Its still same game. You have more weapons what is plus. I really liked shooting everyone with this gun-something. I liked a lot idea with double hidden blade or blade with poison. It was so funny for me to walk on street and kill everyone with it! Haha I still remember this times. Of course the best thing in this game was... hang-glider! O my god i enjoyed it a lot. Its pretty cool game, but similar to first one. If you dont like first part, i dont think you like this one but i still recommend it ;D

75

A Good Sequel But Is Too Long

lagendofdoom | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all lagendofdoom's reviews »

When Assassin's Creed was first released I was skeptical but nevertheless I played it and had a blast playing it even though it did get repetitive by the end. When Assassin's Creed 2 was released to the PC there were tons of problems especially because of the stupid DRM that Ubisoft have added in order to protect the game from piracy. Still it didn't really bother me when I was able to play the game, At first it seems that AC2 was better then the first game in everything, from gameplay to story and characters as well as AI and much more open world. It was fun but there was one problem that seems that only bothered me. The game is still repetitive and by the half of the game I got bored and had to push myself by force in order to complete this game and since then I not once touched it ever again unlike the first game it seems that here it really got repetitive for me.

89

Assassin's Creed 2 - review

Neapolis47 | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

Assassin's Creed 2 starts from the end of the first chapter. In this second chapter Desmond disappears almost entirely, to make room for extended sequences lived in the fifteenth century and the history of Ezio. AC 2 is a title from the fundamentally different structure than that of its predecessor. One of the biggest differences is the total separation between main and secondary quests: now no longer need to overcome assignments of questionable taste for access to those essential for the progression. The sequence of the "main quest" remains visible and can be addressed without problems. Assassin's Creed 2 replaces the voids of its predecessor the urgency of thousands of opportunities to chase, in the splendid setting of the Italian Renaissance. This time, to surprise, then, is the amount, number, and curiosity that each device can generate. Back again the combat system is already known, which includes the performance of spectacular counterattacks if the user proves to have the right timing.

86

Better than the first AC

MarcoCav | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all MarcoCav's reviews »

Assassin's Creed II is a tribute to Italy, as well as the result of many small improvements that Ubisoft has made to the original title. Reproduction of Florence and Venice are really detailed. The game has a balanced structure, which can mask the underlying repetitiveness, and this structure is also supported by a good narrative. Some quests are really good and the longevity is well above average. There are margins of improvement, like artificial intelligence and fighting, but Assassin's Creed II is a title not to be missed.

100

Best Assassin's Creed so far.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

This game, which I find to be the greatest of this saga, is one of the most fun I've ever had with a game, and the visuals are also stunning. You're in the Italy of the Renaissance, one of the most beautiful setups you'll find in a game. Your duty: to take revenge for the murders of your family. Gameplay-wise, it greatly improves the first game's weak points - it's not repetitive, it has a wider variety of weapons and quests to take on and, of course, improved graphics. If you like this series, this game is a must!

85

Best way to the 15th century

Jimmysil | Sept. 17, 2013 | See all Jimmysil's reviews »

It's not just another action game. In Assasins Creed games there is always a piece of history. The story is based on some true events. You meet people that really existed like Leonardo Da Vinci. And I just love the feeling of the 15th century Italy. The city is made with unbelievable precision.

You have also more freedom in this game than in the first AC. There is more things to do around the city to make sure you won't geet bored. You can also choose to play with stealth style and try to kill only who you really have to, or you can kill everybody that stands in your way and enjoy amazing combat animations. It's up to you.

98

One of the greatest action games made

KingMassive | Sept. 3, 2013 | See all KingMassive's reviews »

Assassin's Creed was a great and fun game with few flaws, but this sequel improves on everything. The fighting, climbing, weapons, graphics, mood, size, story, everything is great, especially when compared to the first game. Of course like any game, Assassin's Creed II does have a few flaws, but they are very minor and easily overlooked. The biggest flaw might be that the series only gets worse from here.

So if you like action games, do yourself a favor and get this incredible action-adventure set in 1400's Italy now.

88

Good Fun

Skyrao | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all Skyrao's reviews »

This game is a lot of fun. I ran around the place just killing guards and as many civilians as the game would let me. However, I could live without the story because I stopped watching cutscenes and listening to dialogue but if you don't care too much for that then this is a great assassin simulator thing that will have you playing for hours.

82

Great fun

Pandoricai | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all Pandoricai's reviews »

Brilliant graphics, improvement upon first game - a great historically set game, worth the money!

85

The pinnacle of the series

mw3321 | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all mw3321's reviews »

AC2 discards everything tedious, boring and annoying about the first game and instead improves massively upon the good things. Assassinations, upgrades, and gorgeous cities everywhere - it's just wonderful. This is the first game in ages I got 100 % in while actually enjoying it. The story's also engaging, even though it's your typical conspiracy drivel and the moral ambiguity of the first AC is largely gone (really the only part that I missed). To conclude: play it. You won't regret it for a single second if you like yourself some of that assassin business.

81

Best in the AC series.

Iluminatro | Aug. 22, 2013 | See all Iluminatro's reviews »

This game takes everything that made AC great and enchances it while adding new features and reducing bugs. The freeroaming is even better now that Ezio, the new hero, can swim through the small canals of venice. The story is great as usual and there is more to do than ever. New side mission types, new enemies and weapons aswell as new abilities make this game fun even without following the main story. This is by far the best AC in the whole series. Definetly worth a look and the price its selled for.

Combat is improved, the story is impoved, graphics are improved, quests and freeroaming are improved, what are you waiting for?

85

The better Assassin's Creed Game

DonVercetti | Aug. 16, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

I feel the spirit of the AC series is slightly decreasing after around this game. I found Assassins Creed 2 to be a great refreshing game to play and still a game which felt sort of innovative to it's core. As the games that came later on didn't fill me with excitement much. Assassins Creed 2 is around 4 years of age at this time, but isn't dated at all in my opinion. It's still very enjoyable and I still play it once in a while. A must get!

98

One of the best games I have ever played!

spiken0 | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all spiken0's reviews »

Simply one of the best games I have ever played. Great, engaging storyline, superb combat and gameplay, witty dialogues and a charismatic lead. You can only love the great assassin Ezio Auditore. His story brings evokes great emotions in the player and that is a highlight of a well made game.

94

Assassin's Creed 2 is the best!

Theyakov2020 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all Theyakov2020's reviews »

Have you ever played one of the Assassin's Creed Games? Well, if you didn't... you should start from this one! The game does a great job describing what happened in the first game and than you start the game as Ezio, a young man who then starts his assassin's life in a rather unexpected way. The story of the game is good and you WILL be in suspense when the game wants you to. You'll see Ezio hone his assassin's skills over the game which coveres about 20 years of Ezio's life. You will be doing courier missions, assassinations, synchronizing in viewpoints like in the first Assassin's Creed game. This game is so enjoyable. The BEST Assassin's Creed game till this day!

95

Assassin's Creed II - The best in the series

metalos1 | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all metalos1's reviews »

The first game was a new experience, but it was repetitive. The combat system, gameplay and the settings brought some fresh ideas among the third person games. But the sequel was way better. We got a badass protagonist, the medieval Italy and a smashing story with good characters. Ezio is a likely protagonist. He is the hero the world deserves. But he's not our hero. He's a silent guardian. A watchful protector. An Assassin. Yes, this qoute from the Dark Knight, with some modifying, because this line is fit to the assassins. They are like batman, fight against the injustice and the evils, but they are killing theirs enemies. The AC II almost a perfect game. The story, the characters, the settings, and the a anagnorisis is very good. It has some minor bugs, but these bugs are not disturbing.

95

Just great

bartinkopl2 | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all bartinkopl2's reviews »

Did you ever played Assasin's Creed part one? You thought it was boring? Or maybe you enjoyed it? Neverthless you should try Assasin's Creed 2 - it is open world action adventure set in Italy. Graphics and sound effects got huge improvement from creators.

Scenario is cool, many interesting characters you will never forget. Best thing about this game is that you can explore every part of the town - jump on the roofs, hide in the hay or simply walk through beautiful streets.

I highly recommend it, and for this price it's a great deal.

96

Epic, playable game.

grzegorz2047 | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all grzegorz2047's reviews »

Minor faults graphics do not impress me in the light superbly designed and thought-out gameplay. Assassin's Creed II is a massive game, giving the mass of fun by dłuuugie hours. Cool palette is both the city and perform side missions and gate valves scenario, which, unlike other famous sequel, it takes more than five hours - here to complete the main quest you will need a circle of 20 (and there will be more, because as you introduce the side-quests). The cool thing with history, both the fictional and real. I pushed this game even more thorough investigation of certain facts, only to find out what they looked like in the absence of events ASCII-filter.

100

The best Assassin's Creed game.

JetShredz | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all JetShredz's reviews »

Assassin's Creed 2, developed and published by Ubisoft was released back in 2009. The story follows Desmond Miles voiced by Nolan North and his ancestor, Ezio Auditore da Firenze and his rise to becoming an assassin. Ezio is one of the most popular characters in video game history, and with good reason. He is the definition of badass, and a womanizer.

The game, set in Italy during the Renaissance period, is delightfully colourful and fun to explore. There's even an appearance by famous artist Leonardo da Vinci.

The gameplay is amazing. The parkour is easy to grasp and the combat is fun. There are new counter moves and attacks to fit Ezio's fighting style and you feel like awesome after finishing off a whole group of guards that have chased you through the city.

This is without a doubt, the best game Ubisoft has ever created and you're missing out on something spectacular if you haven't played this game.

95

Better than the first Assassin's Creed

Avesomeofthat13 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all Avesomeofthat13's reviews »

This game is so much better than the first Assassin's Creed. There are more acrobatic moves available and the combat is more fluid. The graphics look brilliant and the story is more involving! I love the Italian renaissance theme and idea of involving Leonardo DaVinci is brilliant. I prefer this to some of the later sequels and I really do enjoy this game even in 2013.

76

Good fun, but repetitive after a while

ConorEngelb | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

AC2 is a good game. The gameplay is fun, the world good fun to explore and the story strings you along, keeping you interested throughout. Which is a good thing, because it means I can forgive the slightly repetitive side-missions. Good fun, worth picking up on sale.

88

One of the best Assassin's games

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all tomdoughnut's reviews »

This game is a huge improvement over the first. The story is much better and more diverse than the original games and the game play has been improved significantly. There are more weapons, new locations and fantastic missions. I f you enjoyed the first game then there's no doubt you'll absolutely love this one!

89

A fantastic sequel

zipnox | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all zipnox's reviews »

Assassin's creed 2 holds the same concept as the first game, it's an open world action adventure although this time, set in Italy. The new setting has great atmosphere, the art and sound direction keeps the high quality standard that the first Assassin's Creed gave us. The side missions and activities have also been improved.

The story is awesome, it's filled with plenty of memorable characters and conspiracies. Gameplay still holds up and it's an absolute blast to roam around renaissance Italy. Sadly, some of my previous concerns with the series still exist; the side missions do get quite repetitive after a while and traveling long distances is a time sink I'd sometimes want to avoid when I've already seen the beautiful scenery one time too many.

The game continues the epic story and introduces even more mechanics that are fun to play around with. It's a solid game and I recommend you try it out, might want to check the first one aswell.

90

Awesome story

Hunork | July 27, 2013 | See all Hunork's reviews »

Assassin's creed is Ubisoft's best game series ever.Ezio is a great assassin with a great background stroy.I love to buy new clothes and armors.Spending two days finishing this game was well worth it, Playing through this game was very intriguing and fun but also very difficult to walk away from. The only complaint I truly have about the game are the controls. Sometimes your character dident exactly go as you intended and caused defeat. However, the saves were fairly close to where you failed and soon you were right back where you left off killling guards with your different techniques and weapons.I love Assassin's Creed series.

90

Just one word: Great!

heavybear | July 23, 2013 | See all heavybear's reviews »

You play in historic ambient, and there is an excellent story. Like other games in Assassin's Creed series, this game is great too. Looking at the whole city on buildings, doing all quests, and especially lots of hours of fun show us, this game deserves to buy. Not only this game but also other Assassin's Creed games actually, you must play them.

84

In my opinion, the second best AC game of the series

MichalM | July 15, 2013 | See all MichalM's reviews »

Why second? Because it was before AC:B but after AC1, which by the way was a very good game. AC2 is taking us into a completely different history chapter, we're traveling from 12th to end of 15th and the beginning of 16th century into crazy times in renaissance Italy. We receive a completely new character, Ezio Auditore da Firenze who's trying to get revenge of his own after death of his father and brother, yeah, you could say that this kind of theme is in almost every movie/game but hey, It's Assassin's Creed. We get huge city and outskirts to explore, like Florence or Venice, we can now create and rebuild are own CITY !!! It's just great fun for good amount of money. Grab it now, it's worth it

90

The Best Assassin's Creed Game

nudeood | July 8, 2013 | See all nudeood's reviews »

It's hard to describe to joys of freerunning across beautiful Italian architecture - it really is something that any other Assassin's Creed game has never been able to recreate. I personally found the original game to be visually drab, whilst Assassin's Creed Brotherhood was similarly good and Assassin's Creed Revelations felt like a step backwards. The plot in AC2 is interesting (and confusing), whilst the missions are fun and the world is a joy to explore. If you have never played an Assasin's Creed game before, I highly recommend this one.

80

probably the best Assassin's creed

odren | July 6, 2013 | See all odren's reviews »

The design on the locations is quite spectacular, the story has enough drive behind it to see it through to the end and the combat is much smoother than it was in the original Assassin's creed

80

Extremely satisfying!

straandin | July 4, 2013 | See all straandin's reviews »

Interesting and intriguing storyline. From the very beginning to end you share the same hate and love as Ezio Auditore da Firenze who's story being told. This game is definitely the best out of all three games starring Ezio as the main character. What truly makes this game stand out is playing a character who is becoming an assassin. Which makes the story and gameplay even better. Because you are learning as you progress, the same way your character is doing. Hell, even water assults are fun in this game.

Spending two days finishing this game was well worth it, Playing through this game was very intriguing and fun but also very difficult to walk away from. The only complaint I truly have about the game are the controls. Sometimes your character dident exactly go as you intended and caused defeat. However, the saves were fairly close to where you failed and soon you were right back where you left off killling guards with your different techniques and weapons. This is something that definitely could be fixed but thankfully will not take away the enjoyment of the game. Jumping on and off rooftoops have never been this fun.

Conclusion: This game will without doubt entertain you for 18 hours with an interesting storyline & characters, along with enjoyable fighting and climbing throughout the game.

I Give it an 8/10

81

Great action game.

Matis221 | June 20, 2013 | See all Matis221's reviews »

Assassin's Creed II is one of the best action games I've ever played. As every game from the series it's great. Of course have some defects, but they don't make a gameplay worse. Great combat system, great graphic and fantastic story. You must play this game.

85

What a game! What a treat!

Serdastan | June 19, 2013 | See all Serdastan's reviews »

I don't know how many hours of gaming I've poured into Assassin's Creed 2, but it's definitely a lot! I have never played a game revolving around the middle ages, and felt so engaged as I have with this series. I can honestly not think of a single reason why these games shouldn't be on your radar. Sure, the game can get a bit tedious at times, but not many games have managed to keep me as entertained and hooked as this one. If the price is good, don't hesitate to buy it!!

90

Th only Assassin's Creed I ever finished

Demilisz | June 18, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

This game is far better than first Assassin's Creed. While combat system is more or less the same and counterattack is like a magic button to solve all problems, the game is more enjoyable. Maybe because story are better presented, or because there are secrets important to plot. Or maybe because they get rid of locations between cities so game feels less repetitive and gameplay is more smooth. This time game throw you to XV century Italy and you will visit Forli, Venice, Florence and Rome (Vatican more specifically and only at the very end).

You will kill, steal, searching for Altair's Armour and use money to restore family estate back to glory - all in the name of vengeance. Meanwhile you can take part in some races (but here the time is your only opponent) or search for treasures. Oh, and you can collect one hundred feathers scattered all over main cities, but reward for during it is the worst I ever saw in video game.

I'm not fan of this series, but the AC 2 is the only one I truly recommend.

99

One of the best

Radovanh | June 18, 2013 | See all Radovanh's reviews »

One of the best games I played ever... And I played hundreds of games... First: I never played the first Assassin Creed Second: I like Prince of Persia titles Third: Assassins Creed II is much better than Prince of Persia. This is one of the must have titles. You will try it and you will be captured. And thats all. Try it, play it and enjoy it...

97

The best title of the Saga

kalil | June 17, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

This game certainly is the best Assassin's Creed so far, continues with the game doing mature a lot from the previous and the first game in the series "Assassin's Creed" in this game you get to enjoy the most of a game that deserves personally is a game that in no time I found boring, moreover, combines the story of Desmond Miles in the life of new character Ezio Auditore, whose history is a strong point of the game.

Gameplay: Corrected all the bad aspects of his predecessor without removing the control new character style, which has given it a very personal touch to the later games in the series (except ACIII). It is a game you can play while having fun in no time with adjustable difficulty, despite not having distitnos difficulty levels, plus the complete freedom you have in the game, and the things you can do that do not follow the general argument but give you hours of entertainment.

Technology: This section does not stand out much as the evolution from the previous is minuscule (and a game of such quality, totally unnecessary)

Graphics: The aesthetic detail that has defined the personality of Assassin's Creed is enhanced in this release and also favored by the historical context of the development of the story, the Italian Renaissance, an era with lots of wonderful buildings, this game recreates very well.

Sound: In this section, this game stands out more because of a masterful soundtrack, and Ezio Auditore phrases, each one more clever.

Innovation: Follow the aesthetics of the previous Assassin's Creed with acrobat which crosses the city from rooftop to rooftop and using some new techniques that are not even in Altair.

In conclusion, this installment is the maximum expression of a game that learns from previous errors (which are few), and that not only corrected, but improves the game, and makes it much more palatable to this saga.

96

Amazing!

Plasros | June 14, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

I love this game. It improves in every aspect over the first game with much better character development and storyline. AC2 offers a variety of new tools, weapons and techniques to dispatch targets in a variety of ways. The development team really hit the nail on the head this time around. I did so because like AC1 this game has an excellent storyline, and thoroughly interesting universe to play in and learn about. Ezio is also a much more fleshed out and interesting character than Altair in AC1. Another thing the writers did fantastically in this game is humour which is exceedingly hard to write you know and it made me laugh out loud many times while playing. This earns it the extra point I gave it over AC1.

Unfortunately while the game play is improved in places as fighting is no longer as difficult or annoying to engage in it still remains exceedingly frustrating and is literally something you suffer through for the dialogue, universe, and storyline. I know again it makes sense given who Ezio is (he is more the warrior archetype compared with Altair's rogue and being that he mows through enemies because of that makes sense) but it is still a pain.

100

Flawless

Eskimoseb9 | June 14, 2013 | See all Eskimoseb9's reviews »

I love this game completely, and give it a 100 because I don't think it has any real flaws. Ezio is a wonderful character, and his developement is really well implemented. Even if Brotherhood and Revelations were progressively worse games than AC2, Ezio remained strong. AC2 is unadulterated fun, and everything from the climbing mechanics to the combat system were as enjoyable now as they were when the game came out. The highlight of the game though has to be the locations, which are still the best of the AC series - in my opinion Venice is the most beautiful real life location ever created in a game. After playing it for 100 hours I still go back to play AC2, because everything about the game tied together perfectly.

93

Great sequel to an amazing game.

jackyboi1014 | June 11, 2013 | See all jackyboi1014's reviews »

I think it's ABSOLUTELY ridiculous that people are bashing the game because of the DRM. The DRM does not make the game any worse. I understand that your gaming experience can be ruined by the fact that you have a really spotty internet connection, but that's just the experience, not the game itself. When I bought this game, the first thing I noticed was the big box on the bottom that says "Continuous Internet Connection Required." If you see that, don't buy the game.

It's that simple. I completely disagree with Ubisoft for using the DRM, but don't let that detract from a great game. Now for my actual review:

I loved this game. It was MUCH better than Assassin's Creed. The combat itself hadn't improved all that much, though I really liked being able to use the hidden blades in combat, and the attachments that went with it. I particularly loved the fact that climbing wasn't as slow, as Ezio could climb swiftly if there was a clear path to the top.

What I was most impressed about was the story. In the original AC, you played as Altair. He was just a blade with a voice, and you never really connected with him. However, Ezio was fantastic. His personality had so much depth, and as the story progressed, you really felt Ezio progress as well. Hats off to Ubisoft on this one.

98

Assassin's Creed at its best

DunkerGZ | June 9, 2013 | See all DunkerGZ's reviews »

The first AC was an epic adventure and a revolutionary action game. The sequel adds a lot of new feature and scenario. How about the reinassase Italy, meting people like maquiavelli and the borgia? EPIC

89

Evolution at it's finest

El_Rickhead | June 4, 2013 | See all El_Rickhead's reviews »

In every possible way this game outdoes it's predecessor. The combat in this game is refined and tuned to be very satisfying, the game looks as if it were a generation apart from the first one, the story is much more appealing giving a lot more away to who Desmond is and giving birth to probably the most memorable character in the series, Ezio. There are a tonne of new quest types to enjoy here too mixing the gameplay up probably more than any other free roaming game at the time, this game honestly feels an age away from the original, Ubisoft really outdid themselves here.

90

A much better experience then first Assassin's Creed

Shav | May 31, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

I have done a terrible thing, and started playing AC series with second part. Then I couldn't myself to start playing first Assassin's Creed. Why? Because AC2 is just much better.

It is a truely complex game, and unlike the first game, you have a lot of things to do. It is a great example of a real sandbox game - the world is big, and there are many things that you can be doing - gathering collectibles, performing stealth kills, secondary missions, or just freerun around the cities.

The storyline is really good, and I can certainly see a movie based fully on Altair deeds. I enjoyed every single minute of this game, and IMHO this is the best part in the whole AC series.

94

The best in the series- THE Assassins Creed-game

Crazy4ever | May 20, 2013 | See all Crazy4ever's reviews »

It seems like ever time assassins creed ads a number to their titles, and not a long name, it turns out to be one of the best titles. AC1 was quite good and AC3 was very good. AC2 is my facourite. The controls are not to easy (brotherhood, revelations), but they are not as undeveloped as the controls of AC1. The story is brilliant! The first few hours when you play as Ezio as a young man are unforgettable and his italian charm and the charachters are alike unforgettable. The story is exciting throughout the whole game, and the great intro to the game made Ezio my favourite Assassin. That there is no multiplayer does not make a difference as AC multiplayer is not that good. Buy this game!

90

Good, Good, Good

maddocks2379 | May 12, 2013 | See all maddocks2379's reviews »

I missed Assassin's creed the first time around as i heard some shocking reviews of the first one i just ignored it. my brother in law showed me Assassin's creed 3 and i thought it looked good. I picked up AC2, BH & Rev in the sales and having played AC2 i am impressed, the style of game is good. Some of the go here & do that gets a little repetitive but it didn't put me off. The graphics are ok, the cities still look good but the character textures (except ezio) are poor to average and its not greatly optimized. But i enjoyed my 20 hours and have now booted up AC: brotherhood and im looking forwards to it

91

Improvements on all fields over original

Infiltrator | May 3, 2013 | See all Infiltrator's reviews »

Improvement on the original in every single way. I have not been this engrossed in a game since Bioshock. Not only is the gameplay top notch, but the writing, voice acting, and environment are also extremely well done. My favorite part of this game is probably the story. The story hits that perfect balance between being complicated while also being well put together and understandable. Most games when attempting a complex story end up with a incoherent mess, but this is not the case with AC2. I highly recommend this game. A note to anyone interested in this game though, you must play AC1 first otherwise the story will make no sense whatsoever.

70

I get the feeling I'm not on the same page as the developers

Knurek | March 11, 2013 | See all Knurek's reviews »

Yes, Assassin's Creed 2 is a massive improvement compared to the first game. Yes, the amount of detail put into cities depicted in the game is breathtaking. And yes, Jesper Kyd's score is amazing.

But still, I get the feeling I'm not really playing the game the way it was intended. I had way more fun with tower climbing, treasure hunting, side missions, and the whole 'renovating your base' aspects of the game than with the main story line.

I can't say that the game was great... It just, I don't know, left me wanting for more. You see, I find it rather weird for a game called Assassin's Creed, to have the actual assassinations just not that much fun.

Oh well, can't have the game being perfect, right? It still needs to have room for growth for the sequel. Still, it was fun while it lasted. Just don't go in expecting a good assassin's simulator - you might be a bit disappointed.

90

Far better experience than AC1

zhack075 | Feb. 26, 2013 | See all zhack075's reviews »

To my mind, AC1 was a prototype, and incomplete experience. The game was repetitive, the character were pointless...

In AC2, they overcame all those issues.

Ezio is nice character, the background is deeper and the cities are gorgeous. The game is much more enjoyable due to the fact that objectives aren't as repetitive as AC1. Moreover the little management aspect with equipement and incomes is pretty nice and permit to acess different way of playing this game. AI is still pretty dumb but does the trick.

If you enjoyed AC1, you cannot be disapointed by AC2, if you though AC1 was boring, don't worry, AC2 isn't. It is clearly one of the best game of the franchise !

95

The perfect sequel

Stebsis | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

You play as Ezio Auditore da Firenze, a son of an assassin. You witness his birth and see him grow to an adult man. He's suave and charming, he's funny and he can be a real threat to his enemies. He's just a perfect main character in a video game and you see him grow as he becomes a member of the Assassins, you really get to know and like him.

Something terrible happens in Ezio's life and he's forced to become an assassin and he goes on a revenge quest. He's just a rookie and you learn with him as he grows to become the man known as the greatest assassin of all time. You meet lots of colorful and memorable characters along the way, including Leonardo da Vinci who makes you weapons like the hidden blade and hidden gun. The story has some nice turns, and ends in a satisfying and really intriguing note that makes you just want to know more.

Ezio can climb to the rooftops quickly where you can quickly travel where you want. When you're on the ground guards can notice you if you're notorious. You can hide from them by blending in the crowds, sitting in the benches or buying some thieves or mercenaries to hide with or distract the guards. You really feel like an assassin. It's so satisfying when you're doing a mission, hiding in the crowds, just waiting for the right time to strike at your target and get away without anyone noticing.

The game alltogether is really easy combat wise. You can take out a group of guards really quickly and efficiently. This isn't made to be a hard game, but a little difficulty would've been nice.

The Italy is just a beautiful place, I especially loved Venice, all the canals and great sights from rooftops are just superb. You even get to priefly visit Rome, which is your main city in the sequel.

AC2 doesn't require you to play AC1, you get a hold of the story quickly by a nice introduction in the beginning. And if you've played the first game, you'll notice that AC2 has made some improvements, real improvements. AC1 was a bit clunky and really repetetive, but AC2 mixes things up a lot and gives you lots of different missions that are fun to play. AC2 is a prime example how a sequel should be made for any game.

If you like adventure/action/stealth games you just can't go wrong with AC2

90

Beautiful sequel

MalekTaktak | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all MalekTaktak's reviews »

With the first opus being an illumination to the action adventure genre, this second installment brings it to a whole new level, Assassin's Creed 2 puts the player in the shoes of Ezio Auditore, a soon-to-be part of the Assassins Guild, during the Italian Renaissance, in the city of Firenze, and he shall battle the order of the Templars for revenge and as a duty.

What is really outstanding about this open-world game are the new combat and physics engines, which feel very smooth, clean and make the gameplay so much fun: assassinate a guard and throw him from a rooftop, battle many types of enemies at once, taunt them or disarm them.. there are so many possibilities for the player to explore, and lots of new features like hiring mercenaries, courtesans or thieves, lots of side missions and hidden treasures, which keep the player busy.

I must also mention the graphics, great textures, carefully modelled and huge cities, enhanced water, lights and shadows effects that really strenghen the appeal for this game.

A must-buy for anyone who likes action adventure sandbox games with a strong replayability value and a good storyline.

87

Assassinate in style

sYncz | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all sYncz's reviews »

Amazing wall climbing simulator! All jokes aside it's a great game with a breathtaking story set in 15th century Italy. The game features a unique and fitting soundtrack as well as many historically famous people, inventions and events. Assassins Creed 2 has a rather lengthy story and bunch of optional missions. In addition you can collect things like paintings, feathers, armor sets, weapons, statues, etc. It should be noted that level design is also very good, many historical buildings can be seen around the city. Only downside is that the game should be played with a controller, otherwise the keyboard controls seemed a bit awkward and I went on to play with a controller instead. This was the first game of Assassin's Creed series that I played... and I loved it.

85

What the first game should have been

Antix | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all Antix's reviews »

Set in renaissance Italy, Assassin's Creed 2, much like its prequel, is a game that focuses on free running in stunningly created sprawling historical cities. However, this time around you don't only have three tasks to repeat, you have an actual plot, and characters with personalities, less time spent on Desmond, you can touch water without dying etc etc. It really improves over its predecessor in just about every way you can imagine, while keeping all its strengths.

You play as Ezio Auditore, who you follow from birth to his midde-aged years, a man who gets swept into the secret battle between Assassins and Templars, and ends up having a personal stake in all of it. You'll end up visiting beautiful cities like Florence or Venice. This time around you also get a supporting cast of people who help Ezio in his quest. He also has a lot more gagdets, some from Leonardo da Vinci himself. You also get a home base that you can improve with various structures to make it a town worth living in for people and a more lucrative business for you.

The map is a complete activity center. Hidden treasures, flags, feathers, various side quests await you around every corner and you can involve yourself as much or as little as you like. The soundtrack from Jesper Kyd is simply great.

One of the finest games of the generation; be sure not to miss it.

85

Assassin's Creed 2 - review

carlyle | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

The structure of the game is in its bases substantially the same as the first chapter, Assassin's Creed II is a third-person adventure that offers a large game map and immediately explored for the most part, a main story to follow, and many different types of quests and optional. Once again, through the memories of Desmond can relive timelines involved who see Ezio Auditore, "strategy" that is used to move from one period to another or to skip unnecessary downtime, so much so that the goal is to synchronize with everything that happened at the end of 1400, and find out what is useful to the present day . Change the setting, change the actors, but also changes the way in which the progression of the game is offered to the player, where Ubisoft has managed to much to erode those defects, repeatability and schematic, representing precisely the most critical of the first Assassin's Creed. The game has a clearly better balanced, which can mask much of the time the repetitiveness of the fund and is supported by a fascinating narrative and with several twists. Some quests are really great for construction, the idea of ​​managing your own villa interesting, longevity, well above average for such a title.

90

One of the best game I ever played

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 5, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Assassin's Creed 2 is, maybe, the funniest game of this series. The plot is intriguing, gameplay is awesome and the locations too (Florence, Rome, Venice). In this version of the game there are also additional DLC, so buy this if you never played it!

66

Way too overated

ILoveIL | Jan. 1, 2013 | See all ILoveIL's reviews »

The assassin's creed franchise introduced to us a new gameplay mechanics.At start it looked promising, but very fast it gets very booring. This was true to assassin's creed 1, and was improved a little bit here, but definitely not enough.

The gameplay is pretty enjoyable at first, but no drastic changes overtime; a very simple and poor gameplay and a complete lack of challenge make a certain recipe for a crushing boreness quite soon.

There are two ways to kill a templar: stealthily or in plain combat. The stealth system feels stupid. This is because the enemies are stupid and you aren't required any special attention let alone planning. Just climb to higher grounds and you will lose your guards in no time. Probably they can't look up. And this is a strange thing because they created beautiful populated cities. The combat system is very poor too and includes mouse clicks to attack and a defence. Yes, there is no trick. click to defend indefinitely. Then click in time to counter. Add a few more clicks and you are done. Maybe you will see a nice finish move, but only a handful of these. And did I mention that you can go through the whole game without dying in combat?

Furtermore the plot is utterly stupid and failed to interest me at any point. The graphics is the only bright part here.

Frankly, I can't understand at all how this game got average score of 9.

94

Assasins creead in Full glory!!!

crazyspike | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all crazyspike's reviews »

BEST (so far) Assassin's Creed game!! Awesome main quest, much improvement from AC1, more side quest , items to find, and yours small village to expand, simple THE BEST. Music is so great, i listen to it every day! Graphic is very good. Good optimization. You have to play it! Much fun, good times ;))))

85

A vast improvement over the original.

owned2260 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all owned2260's reviews »

Fixes everything that was wrong with the original, making it less monotonous and generally more fun to play. All of the characters are very well done, except from the villains as they all seem to be very one dimensional evil people (which AC3 fixes). However, combat is far too easy and is essentially just countering, as only one enemy attacks at a time.

90

Ezio Power

Angeluzian | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all Angeluzian's reviews »

Assassin's Creed II, is an amazing game overall which I greatly enyoyed. The flaws I see with it is for example no killing spree like they added in brotherhood, but it can still be greatly enyoyed. The world of Italy this age makes it very enyoyable. Everyone needs to play this game. :)

90

Best Assassin's creed so far

bolosfura | Nov. 26, 2012 | See all bolosfura's reviews »

It just takes everything good from AC I and expands it, while throwing away everything bad. no more repetitive annoying missions, new and fun ways to assassinate your target. and the story is just amazing. it will keep you playing until you beat it. very recommended

84

Satisfying, yet repetitive

OllyTrolly | Nov. 20, 2012 | See all OllyTrolly's reviews »

Assassin's Creed as a series always feels simply fun to control. Nipping around the rooftops while avoiding guards and surveying the beautifully-crafted cities is an absolute highlight that will keep you coming back for more. The combat is fairly fun too, with a lock-on mechanism, blocking, and all the staples you'd expect from a vaguely strategic and consistent combat system. And yet, the trouble is that Assassin's Creed 2 is a long, unfocused game. The endless sidequests of AC1 haven't entirely gone away, and you're left with 30 hours of running on rooftops and assassinating people with little variation. As for the story, as with the first its theme of conspiracy is fun to unfurl and get absorbed in, but sometimes the main characters can be grating and the plot can get a little farfetched.

Personally, if I were to make another AC entry in the franchise, I would make it much more focused on quality and a few big scenarios rather than lots of small and generic quests. I think the sheer scale of the cities you're in could be used better in some way (I'm thinking some kind of flight), and I would probably do a little more to make Desmond an interesting character.

But overall, the game is highly enjoyable, especially if you're likely to lose hours running around rooftops looking at scenery.

80

The best in the series

BobMoron | Nov. 9, 2012 | See all BobMoron's reviews »

Assassin's Creed was bland and repetitive. AC2 improves every single element found in the first game, and adds some more. The story and the characters are reasonably engaging, the gameplay is more varied (although repetitiveness is still the biggest issue in the whole series) and there's a good amount of content, even if you're not a completion whore trying to gather the 10.000 feathers or something hidden throughout the cities.

Brotherhood is alright as well, but it's not a huge improvement like when you transition from AC to AC2.

90

Awesome Action/Sandbox/RPG elements game

Sharptap | Sept. 26, 2012 | See all Sharptap's reviews »

I played Assasins Creed 2 and i feeled in love with the franchise. It´s a great sandbox game , great story and soundtrack. And it has your dreams:being a assassin. Jump off buildings and killing people is fun (do not try this in real life), Pros: Huge World to explore Climbing/running on buildings is awesome Battle System Tons of items Italian Accents Cons: It´s like the other sandbox games. Game can get repetitive.

94

Best in the series!

schroff | Sept. 14, 2012 | See all schroff's reviews »

What just happened here? It's incredible! This is the perfect sequel, it took everything that made the first game great or at least had potential and shined it to perfection. The combat has a glaring flaw that only one opponent will engage you at a time but who cares, it's fun to both play and watch! Music is among the best you'll find in a video game, dialogue is excellent and the recreation of renaissance Florence and Venice is just gorgeous! An added bonus, you'll learn some Italian curses :P A must play title.

78

Ezio!

maciej2601 | Aug. 12, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

The second edition of the famous series of action games with the open world. You play it at Desmond, who lives on memories of their ancestors by using advanced technology. This time the hero returns to the character Ezio, an Italian Renaissance assassin. Daredevil has to face the enemies - the sinister organization of the Knights Templar, who want to take over the world. The standard game has plenty of side quests, taking place in a beautifully rendered cities of the past.

91

Truly a masterpiece

Sandoooooo | Aug. 12, 2012 | See all Sandoooooo's reviews »

Inspite of Ubisoft's sketchy and poor DRM. This game is just brilliant with an epic long story filled with action.

In the first 3 sequences, I found myself a little bit bored untill it started getting more exciting.

I liked the fun free running and the smooth gameplay in this game. However, the camera angle goes wrong sometimes, but it's still amazing.

I never felt that I've spent over 30 hours playing this game.

Highly enjoyable and recommended to play.

95

Great Action game

panz3r88 | Aug. 1, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Assassin's Creed 2 is a great action game that follows the story of Ezio Auditore in Italy during the Renaissance. The story is very interesting like in the first title, but the gameplay is really better. There are many secondary missions and their variety is good. There are many new features with respect to the first title:the most important is the presence of shops in the cities, where you can buy weapons or other objects.An other important element is Villa Auditore in Monteriggioni, where you can collect paintings and rebuild shops and buildings to earn moneys. The variety is the characteristic that make Assassin's Creed 2 a great game.

96

A huge leap towards

Cynaris | July 20, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

I really wouldn't get into details about the game, since the the "DNA" is very much the same as the original one. What I do have to tell you, is how many things have improved. Assassin's Creed 2 features revamped combat, more tools at your disposal, a more interesting setting, a hero you will care about, huge diversity in missions, side missions, and many other pastimes to influence the playground you are enjoying. Improved visuals, some of the greatest videogame music, fantastic story. Is that enough? Thought so.

95

A Fantastic Game

Sublime50lbc | June 21, 2012 | See all Sublime50lbc's reviews »

I remember the intense excitement that came with the first Assassin's Creed game when it was announced. Everything about it sounded amazing. I remember waiting in line for it's midnight release and heading home to be amazed at how fun it was to scale any building I wanted. But I grew tired of the game fast. Real fast. The repetitive nature of the side missions turned me off. I forgot what came out shortly after but I traded in my Assassin's Creed game for credit one something else.

When they announced the sequel I was a bit apprehensive, but I eventually caved in based on all the fantastic reviews it was getting. So I picked it up and I am glad I did.

They fixed everything. Side-quests weren't repetitive and annoying, climbing buildings was much easier and the combat was more enjoyable. Even the story (and thankfully the acting) was improved tenfold. Everything about this game is an improvement on the previous installment and I couldn't be happier.

While Brotherhood included even MORE improvements, Assassin's Creed II was the highlight in the series and proved that it had potential to be a great franchise.

85

Great Game

ROKET | June 18, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

Ive always had fun with the AC Series. The first one blew me away with its climb anywhere system and now the rest of the series continues to get better and better.

The story in AC2 is awesome. It takes you through 4 or 5 different cities and gives you tons of backstory for the games. The gameplay and climbing mechanisms got a great face lift and had me hooked for hours on end. The game easily lasts 25 hours with the main and some side quests but you can easily extend that number to 30 hours or more doing all the side missions and even more if you try to find all the collectibles.

90

Amazing game

simonsix | June 15, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

Improvement on the original in many ways. The gameplay is top notch, also the writing, voice acting, and environment . My favorite part of this game is probably the story. The story hits that perfect balance between being complicated while also being well put together and understandable.From start to finish, it is full of a fresh variety of activities and action. Each mission becomes memorable for their own distinct flavor and style. Overall- Amazing game

98

Best of the Series

Lingwisyer | June 13, 2012 | See all Lingwisyer's reviews »

I'd have to say that AC2 is the best AC game so far. It's got a compelling story, polished combat system with a decent array of weapons, well detailed cities of Renaissance Italy and a beautiful musical score. Whether your playing for the free running, the story or the freedom to cause what ever trouble you so wish to create, this game will entertain you for days.

92

That is how AC1 should be like

Finka_Karfein | June 8, 2012 | See all Finka_Karfein's reviews »

If you liked the first Assassin's Creed, you are going to be thrilled with this one. Virtually everything was improved in the sequel. Plot is more engaging and interesting, graphics varied, music worth remembering, and the gameplay... Pure awesomeness. There are more types of missions, they are more story-based, there are more ways to assassinate, Ezio can swim, the economy system works great. Only two flaws that I know of. First, the DRM is crap. It does not work and harms honest gamers - my friend completed the game without problems I experienced; and too weak rewards for finding all the feathers and flags. Do not do it, it is not worth your time.

95

The best of the series.

Gh0st233 | June 7, 2012 | See all Gh0st233's reviews »

Assassin's Creed 2 brought the most innovative Assassin's Creed game in a long time. The next innovative one is just coming.

Instead of doing everything the old way of the original Assassin's Creed, where you have to do the same thing over and over again, in order to get information on your target, in order to progress the game, but brings a new GTA-like free-roaming, open-world system, where you get to choose what mission to do next and where to go, at any given time. Each mission, instead of the same old beat-up missions or time trials, is a lot different than the one before. If you're familiar with Grand Theft Auto games, then you'd know what I'm talking about.

The gameplay is a lot like the original Assassin's Creed, which is not bad, at all. What's new here is the purchasing gear at shops, like weapons, outfit dyes and armor. The combat is very fluid and fun.

The game has 2 major cities, 2 minor towns and the Villa. The cities in itself, are very impressive, and they resemble the real-world cities of Firenze and Venezia. They are done extraordinary, and there are lots of similarities between the real modern cities, and the in-game cities of the renaissance era.

My rough estimate on the length of the game would be 20 or 30 hours, depending on your play style. The game has some replayability behind it, and I would recommend it to everyone who liked or even did not like the original Assassin's Creed. I didn't because I found it repetitive, but I loved this one.

90

Long and beautiful.

arkantos | May 1, 2012 | See all arkantos's reviews »

This is one of the best AC's games around, very long with awesome locations, a very long story, kept me busy for 40 hours almost non stop, also if you like to explore this game is completely "Free Roam". Wanna go on top of a building ? You can ! Wanna look for collectibles ? You can, I would say this is one of the best and safe buy of AC's game i did, you will be able to visit Venice and Florence, and as for me which i listened to the entire game made in Italian which made it feel real.

85

A great game ruined by the developer's greed!

lucebuce | Oct. 14, 2011 | See all lucebuce's reviews »

Assassin's Creed 2 is, to put it mildly, EXCELLENT. I have been a great fan of the original even though it wasn't so popular and this game only expands and improves upon an already great formula.

AC2 has amazing visuals that have a full day-and-night cycle, four distinct cities with four distinct styles and looks and amazing animations and cutscenes.

The gameplay in AC2 is very fast paced as compared to the original. You can climb faster, fight faster, kill faster and move faster.You simply have to play it to believe it. The only gripe regarding the gameplay is that the game is very easy. The ability to perform counter-kills , like the original, is just an instant-kill ability. Coupled with the fact that the AI is not exactly the smartest and that if your health drops too low, you can just block your opponents and wait until it regenarates, the game can be very easy at times.

The story is magnificent coupled with amazing and lifelike voice acting and animations. The main character Ezio is a very devil-may-care character that people can appreciate and relate to. Although I preferred the first game's character , Altair, because unlike Ezio, Altair has been trained his whole life to be an assassin. And although Ezio still has the skills and abilities like parkour and climbing buldings and Eagle Vision, it can sometimes be a little annoying.

The only thing about this game which is really frustrating is the DRM. The DRM makes it so that you can't play the game unless you're always online. This system is horrible for people who'se internet is not that fast or is a little unstable. If you have a fast and stable net connection than this may not be a problem for you, but ultimately, everyone will hate this particular type of DRM and I can only wish that Ubisoft wisens up and gets rid of it for good.

90

Second times a charm.

emwearz | Sept. 21, 2011 | See all emwearz's reviews »

While the first game built a solid foundation, many people found it very repetitive in nature with a character that was hard to enjoy.

The sequel fixes both of these issues, the characters and a revenged based plot instantly get the player hooked into Ezio's world. We start to really care about the character and believe the world he is living in.

As for the gameplay it may at first seem like more of the same, but the engine has been greatly refined. It is so much smoother to fight and jump from building to building.

In every way AC2 passes the original.

88

Better than the first game

kalil | Sept. 17, 2011 | See all kalil's reviews »

Its a really great game,it´s better than the first (good dlcs and others in it) the plot and the gameplay is really good if you want and adventure and action game buy it! the really bad things are: the DRM from ubisoft ,The Internet connection is never stable on any PC, not to mention that there are people who have no connection at home. And if we add that your site is vulnerable to computer attacks,its horrible for playing a game (for a simple protection of the crackers and others)

86

Even Better Than the First

Mondu | Sept. 16, 2011 | See all Mondu's reviews »

I loved the first game but after playing this I can see how much the game has improved. The story in AC2 is brilliant and engaging, offering more than just 'go kill this guy because we said so'. The story alone will take around 10 hours to complete, maybe more; and there's still all the exploration to do and collectables to find. The graphics look great and the architecture on the buildings really does make you feel like you're in Italy.

With many more additions compared to the first game there really is no reason for you to dislike this game if you enjoyed the first. This is definitely a game you don't want to miss!

85

But wait, it gets better!

jojot | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all jojot's reviews »

The first game in the series followed the exploits of Master assassin Altair through crusades torn holy lands fighting the Templars. This new entry follows Ladies man Ezio Auditore as he gallivants through 1400's Italy and eventually gets caught up in the plotting and fighting between the Templars and the Assassins (of which his father is a member). Eventually Ezio becomes a badass assassin in his own right, but he also is much more of a character that Altiar, who was very serious and didn't have that much personality or dialog.

The game is basically more of the same in a new setting, but with vastly improved combat. Opponents still tend to hang back a little, but there is a lot more variety in offensive weapons and ways to break through opponents defense. The controls can still be a little frustrating, leading to Ezio leaping of ledges in the wrong direction from time to time, but it's not much of a problem most of the time. The second game also introduces a lot more variety in the side missions and main mission structure, which is now much less systematic and follows the story a lot better. Desmond also has a larger role in this game as it tries to expand on the modern time line story more, although it doesn't do too much in this department.

Over all it takes the already winning formula of the first game and makes it better in it's weaker areas, the story is just as good, the characters are more interesting, it has all the conspiracy and intrigue of the first game and then some and it even increases in scope a little. Plus nothing feels more awesome than jumping from rooftop to rooftop like an urban ninja.

40

A big disappointment

Bas92 | Aug. 22, 2011 | See all Bas92's reviews »

To me, this game was a big disappointment. The DRM (you have to be online all the time) didn't even bother me. I can definitely see why a lot of people like this game. The graphics are good, there are plenty of things to do, the cities are well-designed and it's fun being an assassin. But to me this game was ruined by the gameplay. This game is just way too easy and boring. You only need two buttons to win every battle in this game: the block and the counter button. Just hold the block button, press the counter button when an enemy is attacking you and you win. This always works. There are more options during combat, like poisoned blades, bombs and your hidden blades. But they hardly make the combat any more challenging. Plus, why would you use them if you can also use the much more effective block&counter? The balance seems lost here. So the combat system is extremely easy and (in my opinion) boring. Then there's the freerunning. Just like in Assassin's Creed 1, you can climb onto any building and run over the rooftops. It's fun at first to explore the city but it's again way too easy. You only need to hold down one button and Ezio will perform his acrobatic tricks for you. There's no timing or skill involved at all. I'm getting a bit sick of Ubisoft's "one-button-to-rule-them-all" policy. I feel like I'm watching a movie instead of playing a game. Finally, the actual missions aren't that exciting either. All missions are simple "go from A to B and kill X" missions or even worse, they let you run around as some kind of errand boy. I was hoping for some spectacular assassinations that actually require planning, but you won't find anything like that in this game. My rating for this game is quite low but keep in mind that you might just really enjoy this game. If you're not looking for a challenge and like the idea of being an assassin, this might just be the perfect game for you.

93

Ubisoft did it again

dr_house95 | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all dr_house95's reviews »

Once again followed the law, the sequels are better. The game is set in Italy in the Renaissance, and we are Ezio. The story is simple revenge, but this is going to go trapping with his big frame. The gameplay has been improved, in addition to being able to do acrobatics on the roofs now we can blow them up and even swim. Graphically, it has a small improvement. Another novelty is able to improve the armor, weapons and others. Highly recommended.

90

The game the first should have been and more

Bluer | Aug. 18, 2011 | See all Bluer's reviews »

I really, really liked the first Assassin's Creed game. A lot of people didn't, they mostly found it repetitive and lacking much content, and they were right. But I personally think of it as a proof of concept, evolving from the gameplay from Prince of Persia.

Assassin's Creed 2 introduces updated graphics, better gameplay, a better story and better content. Collectables are useful to collect and weapons and items are addictive to buy. I got absolutely obsessed with buying and improving everything I could in the game. You can buy buildings such as shops to renovate and receive income from to buy and renovate even more. Some of the weapons are great fun to use and watching your surroundings improve as you renovate feels extremely satisfying. The combat has been much improved with more weapons, more animations and feels more fluid.

Basically, this is what the first should have been, but it can still get repetitive unfortunately, which is why the score is ONLY 90. The story draws you in and spits you out at the end satisfied you'd been on this adventure.

85

A great improvement over its predecessor

Oublieux | Aug. 12, 2011 | See all Oublieux's reviews »

I'm a hard to please guy. The first Assassin's Creed was a game with an interesting lore and mystery behind it, but ultimately fell short because of one thing: repetitiveness. Assassin's Creed II addresses this shortcoming wonderfully, offering much more variety to the missions you obtain from the oft-touted assassination missions, glyph missions, flag race missions, all the way to slightly puzzle based crypt missions where one searches for hidden treasures.

Most satisfying is the improved parkour system. Altair has nothing against Ezio and his nimble climbing ability. Ezio will swing, jump, slide, and gracefully scale any building without so much as wasting a breath. Part of what makes Assassin's Creed II fun is just that, the awe at reaching the peak of a huge tower to see the landscape beneath you. Despite the high praise I give it, the one problem with Assassin's Creed II is that it is so mysterious and the plot pacing so slow that sometimes I wonder cutting away the fluff and focusing more on the lore would do it more good. It's the lore that ultimately drives people to play this game, and it's one hell of a story that's hiding behind the Assassin's Creed series.

100

Incredible game

newn | Aug. 10, 2011 | See all newn's reviews »

This part is much better than the first part. It's got beautiful graphics, amazing sounds and the environment... The environment is INCREDIBLE! Ubisoft definitely did the job as they should've done. I especially loved the fact that you can actually upgrade your villa and buy new weapons. That's right! In this part you can do that. It took me around 40-50 hours to complete the game. I did every side quest (which is another great feature of this sequel). If you play slower than me - you can squeeze even more out of this game.

I'd say get it while it's hot! It costs the same as non-deluxe edition with the 15% discount, and you're going to love it if you loved the first part! Even if you haven't played the first part - this game is incredible! It's definitely worth the whole price and even more!

95

A must!

ktbtren | Aug. 6, 2011 | See all ktbtren's reviews »

Amazing game, highly recommended. The sequel to the original assassin’s creed brings a huge amount of improvements over its predecessor. Such as the addition of in game economy that allows players to buy new weapons and upgrade your villa, different side quests in addition to the main plot missions, collectibles and a vast database of information about the rich renaissance history. The game takes about 35 hours to complete which is almost triple the gameplay time of the first game.

97

Awesome captivating game!

Icehunk | July 19, 2011 | See all Icehunk's reviews »

This has got to be the most captivating and awesome game I've ever played. With it's rich and impressive graphics and lively world of Renaissance Italy, it really brought me into another world when I'm playing it.

With a very immersing and engaging story line, it's also rather easy to play the game with the helpful guides and pointers throughout the game. The gameplay is fluid and the fighting is fun too.

My 3rd day into playing this game, it has already won me over as an Assassin fan that even GTA4 (another impressive game) didn't managed to. I am no longer a regular gamer but this is one game I am very delighted to have gotten and not missed.

Try this game if you haven't. You will be impressed!

90

Better then the first

thomasgjj | June 25, 2011 | See all thomasgjj's reviews »

I enjoyed the first game but this was amazing! This game is the only of the Assassin's creed games which I have managed to complete and didn't feel like a chore.

I never lost interest in the game with every bit feeling different from the last. The combat was great and the town features where good. The plot development was amazing but it did get a little weird towards the end.

This was better then the first and the third so I would recommend this one to anyone even if they haven't played the first game.

95

Masterpiece

satyakun | June 22, 2011 | See all satyakun's reviews »

Take a role of Ezio, a young assassin going to revenge his family. this game will make you know what it feel to be an assassin in a renaissance era. Enjoy the captivating story line, great graphic, beautiful world, and a great soundtrack. Try this 'masterpiece of assassins', youre ginna enjoy it.

90

Same price as non-deluxe version

drakaenae | June 3, 2011 | See all drakaenae's reviews »

The regular/vanilla version (regular Assassin's Creed 2) of this game costs exactly the same so you should definitely buy the deluxe version.

In this review, I'll just talk about the content which are available in the deluxe version and not the regular version. Please read my review on Assassin's Creed 2 (regular edition) if you want to know my opinion on the base game.

The new maps provided 3 extra locations where you can find Templar Lairs. These are just like the Assassin Tombs - easy puzzles where you climb walls and navigate until your each the treasure. What makes them hard is the camera-constantly angling you in the wrong direction.

I would rate the new maps 70 out of 100 because they are not very significant and they don't really enrich your experience except allowing you to reach 100% Sync. I would rate the entire game 90 out of 100 though because its a great game.

89

Beautiful but deadly.

OllyTrolly | May 30, 2011 | See all OllyTrolly's reviews »

Assassin's Creed II is an utterly immersive game, pulling you in right from Ezio's birth and Desmond's move to the Assassin base. Mechanics are much perfected over the original AC, with even more advanced maneuvers being unlocked as the game progresses.

But the thing is, while the core of the game remains the same as the first AC, the world is fleshed out far more in order to breathe life into Italy. Not only that, characters are suddenly a little more complex and interesting, and even your own character Ezio is more intriguing than your old friend from AC. Missions are more varied this time round too, you will be asked to do a number of different things throughout the game, although it has to be said by the end I felt they had dragged the game out a bit too much.

After all, this game took me 20+ hours to complete, and I by no means completed all the sidequests or collected all the feathers (although I would consider someone insane to try and get them all), I could't help but feel by the end that had this been cut down to say 10 hours of pure quality, this game would've been even better. As it is, towards the end you may find yourself wishing the story would unfold a little quicker, although that is a testament to the calibre of storytelling on offer here.

So, my humble opinion is, this is a perfected formula that has been drawn out over a slightly too long game. The story is engaging, the graphics are beautiful, Italy feels like it lives and breathes around you and killing is VERY fun.