Reviews for Far Cry 2

79

Great game

gforcesa | Jan. 2, 2014 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

Far Cry 2 is a very good open world game.Ubisoft did a really good job.If you play on PC and crank up the graphics to the max it looks amazing, especially in the jungles.I like how well the car driving mechanics are done,controls are responsive and the story is good.I liked the game but the thing that probably made me rage quit at the game was that whenever i drive to a place i would get stopped a couple of times by bad guys and get shot by them.That was really annoying because it happened a lot.Other than that the game was very enjoyable for the hours i spend on it and it's worth the 15 bucks.

80

Good, but flawed

Gmen | Dec. 25, 2013 | See all Gmen's reviews »

Far Cry 2 is a game that is honestly a bit of a let down in some ways.

It looks good, but it doesn’t look as good as it could have – reason being because the developers insisted on using the Dunia engine, which is really just an enhanced Far Cry engine, or CryEngine 1, when they could have used CryEngine 2, which was used to power Crysis. This resulted in a game that still looks pretty if somewhat dated, especially nowadays.

The game also has seemingly no link to the original Far Cry, instead taking place on the continent of Africa, and it has you, a generic mercenary type trying to locate and assassinate The Jackal, a notorious arms dealer.

But the game comes off to me as really just a bunch of disconnected sub plots, with their own quests. The story isn't particularly compelling, and this makes it somewhat hard to stay motivated. There are some gimmicks introduced in the game like the fact that the player contracts malaria, and every so often they have to take a malaria pill. Or they have to do emergency surgery and dig bullets or shrapnel out of their arm. Or weapons rapidly rust, jam and degrade to the point where they can't be used any more. Poor design choices that were meant to add realism to the game, but only ended up being extremely annoying.

What the game has going for it is a huge sandbox style world with plenty to do, from driving, to hang gliding, to taking a boat down the river in order to launch surprise attacks on enemy encampments. This game is by no means tame. It’s just as deadly as the first Far Cry. But if you’re after something that is more like the original, and designed to be the absolute best game it can be, then you’re better off with Far Cry 3.

70

Amazing Atmosphere, Questionable AI

Stuman31 | Nov. 26, 2013 | See all Stuman31's reviews »

I didnt like Far Cry 1 at all. I could never get into it. Far Cry 2 was pitched to me as not being in any way connected to the first. And the presentation of this game is incredible. If you fire a rocket, the surrounding trees and grass will catch fire, if you stand still long enough you can hear and see the wind blowing through the trees. Someone spent a lot of time creating the atmosphere of this game, and it paid off. You can easily find yourself getting lost in just the peaceful atmosphere the game creates when wandering between missions. What is annoying about this game is all the other choices it made. Parts of the storyline are solid, then other parts are ridiculous. Making no sense to everything else that has gone on. Worse than that the AI really takes you out of the realism the game has otherwise built. If you kill everyone at a check point, and then drive say 500m down the road and turn back, the check point will be restocked with enemies, and there is no way to remove them. If you are sitting on a hill and fire a sniper rifle, instantly everyone in the base is aware of where you are and firing at you. Basically i do still think this is a playable game. Though now it is a few years old the graphics may no longer hold up. However if you have already played Far Cry 3, it may be a hard one to come back to and enjoy, since FC3 corrects all of FC2's horrific flaws

68

Great graphics hampered by shoddy design choices and poor AI

rjb789 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

Far Cry 2 is a great game. The graphics are incredible and shooting the many guns feels great, you truly feel like you are unstoppable. However you spend much of the game driving over similar African landscapes in cars and this can really drag you away from the experience and ruin some of the fun. Another problem is the terrible AI. Enemies will run into walls and just not provide any challenge, even on hard. There is a large number of missions though and the world is interesting to explore.

85

Good storyline and gameplay

ConorEngelb | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

Far Cry 2 has a good storyline, enough to give you a reason to keep moving forward and shooting more people. The gameplay feels good; landing a headshot is satisfying, as is blowing up an explosive barrel and taking out a whole group of enemies. The best aspect though is the open-world. Being able to drive around in the beautiful surroundings is truly amazing.

92

Great!

drafek | June 22, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

If you played Far Cry 3 you'll probably also like this game. The mechanics are the same. In Far Cry 2 you're in the desert there is a man who delivers (broken) weapons to the enemy. The story is interested. The side quests are mostly all the same. The graphics are amazing, The sunshine bloom is really good. The map is pretty large, it will take you hours to see everything. I recommend picking this game worth full price.

84

Great once you get into it

wildster30 | June 1, 2013 | See all wildster30's reviews »

At first far cry 2 is quite difficult to get into, however after you get over the respawning enemies and get control of the malaria this is an amazing game. Honestly I have rarely had more fun in a free roam single player. Added to this is the fantastic map editor that the community has used to create a huge variety of maps such as races, mazes etc. which creates an overall great game.

50

Amazing graphics but just not fun

britishlad | May 10, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

It looks and sounds fantastic and has some neat ideas such as the buddy system but there's about all I can say that's good about this game. Here's a list of things I didn't like:

There's way too much driving around, and it isn't nearly as much fun as driving around in a lot of sandbox games.

The enemy AI - as lots of people mention - is unforgiving and will spot you from several miles away it seems and they constantly respawn at every single checkpoiny

The saving system is cumbersome, resulting in lots of replayed missions. Your character frequently has to deal with outbreaks of malaria which cause him to faint. Hardly fun is it?

Everyone wants to kill you! There are no neutrals or civilians in this game. Everywhere you go you'll be shot at. Even when you work for a particular faction their guards will still attack you!

The story is non existant

Guns jam too frequently and is extremely frustating during firefights

The glider is useless. Don't bother trying to use it. Enemies spot you a mile off and a few shots bring it down. Totally wasted concept.

Graphically and technically amazing but just not fun

77

In the heart of Black Africa

balbo79 | March 14, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

In the role of a mercenary, thrown in the darkest corner of Africa , and tasked with tracking down and killing the biggest arms dealers in the area. Far Cry 2 is a First Person Shooter very classic but placed in a context of freedom of movement, typical of free roaming. The amount of things to do is truly disarming but unfortunately the progress is very monotonous, and all variables appear to be very marginal. The main problem is related to the massive presence of enemies and their lack of artificial intelligence: The tenacity of the enemy is really irritating, and once you have seen will be able to follow even for miles. Beyond the huge area where you can move, and the impressive number of missions available, Far Cry 2 is a FPS customary and usual, but discreet.

82

Good game and good storyline

Neapolis47 | Feb. 7, 2013 | See all Neapolis47's reviews »

Far Cry 2 is a really tough and difficult, very long and varied, full of crossroads and choices to be made. The plant is not linear at all is enhanced by different approaches available, able to enhance all types of player. Some radical choices of gameplay make it a game unusual these days, a real tough cookie with the first moments that may seem puzzling and in frustration, but only with patience and dedication can be overcome with great satisfaction. To top it all a sumptuous graphic layout, with the excellence of applied physics and an incredible ecosystem African general attention to detail. The only jarring notes are artificial intelligence, really fluctuating and sometimes absurd behavior, and management of the map sometimes very usable.

70

In the Africa

carlyle | Nov. 23, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

I never play twice in a row in the same game, I did it once with Far Cry. Then I bought Far Cry 2, I completed didinstallato and put the DVD on the shelf, difficult to reinstall it on the PC. The game is beautiful, spectacular graphics, beautiful settings, never frustrating, but sometimes it is not clear if it is a driving simulator or FPS. The missions are repetitive, almost all look alike, and between a mission and other touches you move to an exaggerated time between a point and the other on the map. Boring. Fortunately, you can use public transport, but is strange that a ruthless killer moves only by bus ... The snares of the enemy are exactly the same, take them out at the end becomes a cinch. Every now and then you happen to be a sniper that you sidereal distances centered in the head, was not even a UFO. Unreal. It 'nice for the first 50%, then to put it Califano: Everything else is boring. The weapons are very realistic, jam easily and there are several. Too bad we can combine as you wish, for example, the combination sniper rifle and Kalashnikoff which for me is the favorite, you can not do. The graphics are the best part, I am on a laptop, even if the latest generation, I did run almost set to maximum. Incredible. The best thing about the graphics is how it is represented fire, fire and there are several. Realistic. Great sound, and well-voiced dialogue in Italian, is an entry of an enemy spiccicata to that of father Amendola, voice of Rambo. Exciting. There's still a few bugs, such as snipers penetrated in stone, of course invisible and invincible, but not much. Good game, nothing to say, but in my opinion, not at the first, and easily forgotten.

30

Good technical achievement, that's it

schroff | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all schroff's reviews »

The Dunia engine is a great tech achievement by Ubi as it looks and performs great. Sadly the thing that matters - the game - itself is a massive let down. First of all, Africa over here is remarkably dull to play in, everyone you see is hostile and then that weird malaria thing going on in the game. The enemies also keep respawning so it can get annoying after a while. Guns were awful as well. The driving which is forced on this game just sticks in my mind - it's that bad. What was Ubi thinking? The name is more like a pun as it is a Far Cry from the original made by Crytek.

76

Good game with some defects

panz3r88 | Aug. 4, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Far Cry 2 is a good game but not a masterpiece. In this free roaming you must complete many mission for the various factions in order to achieve your objectives. The main features of the game is the malaria you get at the beginning of the game. In every moment of the game this illness can annoy you, so you must always be prepared to take a medicine. An other interesting aspect of the game are the friends you meet during your playthrough. If you help them, they can assist in your mission, suggesting an alternative to complete the mission. You must pay attention that your friends can die if you don't protect them. The game is quite long and fun but the mission are repetitive and after some time do the same thing a lot of times becomes annoying. There is also a multiplayer mode you can try when you are tired of the singleplayer campaign

75

Even with its flaws it can be fun

kettels | June 13, 2012 | See all kettels's reviews »

By now I'm sure you've heard constantly about the flaws of this game, driving to missions and respawning AI. These are definitely present within the game, but if you are able to overlook this the game can be fun.

The world is beautiful and it is a pleasure just roaming throughout it. however if you are looking for a serious game experience you will not find it here. The missions are repetitive and can become tiresome very quickly. It helps to break it up by exploring the world around you.

If you don't mind exploring the world, you can have a good time. However with its flaws if you are looking for a straight shooter you will be disappointed. It is a sandbox game, with shooting. Not a shooter with a bigger environment.

90

Repetitive but still fun

Dagexon | April 21, 2012 | See all Dagexon's reviews »

Far Cry 2 is a great free roamer, there are over 70 missions (most of them are sides) which, although I've played at least 15 hours, I've still only done 5! I think this game will certainly last me a long time.

My biggest fear when buying the game was that I would find it difficult to find a fight yet once I started to get into the game I have found out that this is not a problem. You can't go far at all without bumping into some enemies that are driving along the same road as you or having to pass an enemy outpost. This can actually get annoying after a while but at the same time makes the game harder and longer.

Although I love the game I still find one thing incredibly annoying and that one thing is that you can't go so stealthy despite the fact you can have silenced weapons. The game environment is too open and the enemy can see you from a mile away. And even when you do get into an enemy base unnoticed as soon as you kill one person the enemy become very aware that something is wrong despite the fact that they did not see or hear the kill. Although the game is not a stealth game you would still surely expect some stealth elements from an fps.

The game environment isn't the biggest for a free roamer yet the fact it's in first person somehow makes the environment seem bigger than it really is. The fact you're in first person almost 24/7 actually makes you feel like your more part of the game despite the fact that the story line isn't so engrossing.

And so, to conclude, if you want an fps with many stealth elements then get crysis but if you want a free roamer that'll last you a decade then get this.

70

Could have been much better

UnH | Jan. 4, 2012 | See all UnH's reviews »

Far Cry 2 is a good game. Unfortunately it is only good. The first impression for me was stunning, but the more I played, the more cracks begun to appear.

Let's start with the visuals. The graphics in this game are absolutely gorgeous! Lush jungles, hot, sandy deserts, savanna with wild animals and muddy rivers, it's all here. It's like all that Africa has to offer was packed in one small country torn apart by war. It's a really joy to wander through such beautiful terrains and shoot baddies. You can see the trips to Africa that Ubisoft guys had gone on really paid off.

Far Cry 2 is an open world shooter. You take a mission, get it done, and then return for a payment. The story is almost nonexistent, there is some, but I found it boring and didn't bother to pay attention to it. The missions mostly consist of travelling from one point of the country to another and then shooting bad people. Main story missions offers some twist to that style, and are quite varied so they can keep interested, but I can't say the same about side quests. They all the same, just go to a place on map, kill all the people then return. It gets boring pretty fast, so I recommend either to skip them or play the game in small portions. For me it was game's main flaw, not offering much variety.

Gunfights are really good. Far Cry leans toward realism, so you can't rush fights like action movie hero. Instead you have to be careful and think about your next move. But don't take me wrong, fighting here doesn't resemble chess and it can get really intense. The game gives you quite a choice of various weapons, so each shootout can be different. The AI is decent and sometimes can do a surprising maneuver. Unfortunately, your enemies from time to time have a tendency to do something stupid, funny or strange. The main problem with fighting are posts. Imagine you drive your car to a mission. After a while you encounter a camp full of enemies, they're on almost every road crossing in the game's world. You get out of your car and kill them all. Then you go back to your car and continue to do your mission. You get it done, and something like 5 minutes later you driving back through the same post. And enemies are back there, happily greeting you with their guns. They respawn almost instantly. It can be really annoying because it slows down the game and it is just ridiculous.

I have good times with Far Cry 2, but the boredom and respawning enemies spoiled a bit this beautiful African adventure for me. You should give a try, especially if you like open world games and intense gunfights. Just remember to skip sidequests they're not worth your time.

57

Mediocre game with some potential

Min0rThreat | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all Min0rThreat's reviews »

Ill start off saying, this is a very average game, its by no means bad, but its just missing something that would make it stand out. First of all, this is not a sequel in any sense as the title would suggest. There is little in common with the original Far Cry. The game has an open world, quite a large one too. The only problem is that its missing variety. You see one merc outpost, you've seen them all. And unlike Far Cry 1, there are no monsters, you will always be fighting humans, all of which will act the same. That is one of its flaws, the AI. The AI has the strange ability of pinpointing your position as soon as you make any noise. But to compensate, their aim is terrible. But this makes any stealth rather useless. On the other hand, in the heat of battle, the game can get quite intense, bullets flying all over the place, and its "trademark" realistic fire. Flames will scorch the massive dry grass fields along with anything in its way. This can make for some beautiful scenes, if you're into burning wastelands that is.
This brings me to the graphics, for the most part, they are very well done and all objects and weapons look (and shoot) like they have been dropped in dirt. This is very fitting in the African wasteland map. The story is almost non existent and uninteresting involving of, go there shoot everyone, take something then drive back. Which is basically what you do while free roaming. However, the game has yet another flaw, your character has malaria and you have to regularly take medicine, which gets very tedious and serves no purpose but to irritate you. On the other hand, you can get AI partners that follow you, or even better, once you die (in first person) a few seconds later, your screen starts to gain colour again as you see your partner dragging you out of battle while being shot at. Very intense stuff really. But overall, this is a very mediocre game, if you want some more first person sandbox game, you wont be disappointed with this, nor will you be amazed. Its a decent purchase, just don't expect much.

70

Good, bad, definately not ugly

jojot | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all jojot's reviews »

Far Cry 2 was the result of Ubisoft having a name for a game and no studio making the game (they had the IP, but Crytek, makers of the first Far Cry jumped ship to EA). They basically looked at what was good about the first game (huge open environments and game play, and awesome graphics) and tried to build a game out of it. They certainly got the graphics part right, it's a lovely looking game that manages to make the brown desert environs of Africa look colorful and interesting. The rest was hit and miss.

One thing they hit dead on was the openness of the game play and environments. In the game you can go anywhere and do anything, and some of the new additions like setting the dry grass alight and starting raging savanna fires that get blown about by changing wind patterns is incredibly awesome to behold, and really adds a huge level of dynamics to combat. The breaking down of weapons as they age is also an interesting mechanic that makes fire fights much more interesting, although it happens far too often for my tastes.

One of the annoying features with the game is that the mercenary checkpoints always respawn as soon as they go out of sight, which makes traveling around the environment tedious as you are constantly having to stop and clear out checkpoints that you just cleared out 5 mins ago or they chase you to the ends of the earth. The story was also pretty average, it tries to be all philosophical about the impacts of western intervention on civil wars in Africa and the horrible affects it has on civilians out there, but in the end to the player everyone is an enemy, whether freedom fighting rebel or oppressive dictators forces and you never see the civilians or how affects them past some people sitting around waiting for fake passports so they can skip town.

Overall, as a sandbox game it can be good fun to play, but something like GTA or Just Cause 2 might fit the bill better, as an open world shooter it's average with some awesome mechanics that can lead to some awesome emergent game play, but when it's not doing that it can be a drag.

60

Lacking, but can still get pretty fun.

Xonus | Aug. 24, 2011 | See all Xonus's reviews »

The game itself is beautiful, with detailed environment and various great visual effects, and even smaller details like leaves moving when you move against them.

In the beginning of the game, during the cab ride, you immediately become immersed in the presented setting, a harsh and war torn African land. This immersion however gradually gets taken away as the repetitive (in a bad way) gameplay elements begin to emerge, consisting of clearing up checkpoints (with respawning enemies no less), going back to your own houses occasionally, and doing a handful of different missions that are only fun for the first couple of times.

Even though repetitive, it can be a lot of fun in small doses, and things like the flamethrower combined with the grass, trees, houses, and most things that can burn make for plenty of fun parts.

The multiplayer aspect of the game is really nothing special. Sniper rifles kill in one hit, so it's pretty much pointless to take anything else in the bigger maps, and setting up punkbuster to actually work without kicking you out is a bitch. In addition to that, you have to wait for a set amount of players to even start a game, so you can't simply slowly populate a server while playing, you have to wait in the lobby. At this point, I assume it's pretty much dead.

Overall, a decent single player game, worth playing at least for the initial fun or even just the flamethrower.

75

Far Cry 2. Good fun with some odd design choices.

Brotacon | Aug. 23, 2011 | See all Brotacon's reviews »

At £10 you really can't go wrong here.

The game has some really interesting systems for managing things such as health and ammo, and it succeeds in being very immersive. The characters you befriend in the game will sometimes come to help you when you're stuck in a jam and I remember the first time this happened to me was frankly awesome. The world is fairly large and traversing is is refreshing and rewarding. Or at least it would be if it weren't for the checkpoints.

I understand the need to keep the environment hostile and the game engaging. I don't understand why after clearing out a camp full of baddies on my way to the mission point should I have to repeat myself should I happen to pass by again five minutes later. It really breaks the feeling of accomplishment that you get for engaging in a heated firefight and whilst other games are also guilty of respawning enemies, it is never so painfully obvious as it is in Far Cry 2.

70

Imperfect and best seen as not a sequel, but a separate game.

Bluer | Aug. 18, 2011 | See all Bluer's reviews »

Far Cry 2 is a fun game. Is it anything special? not in my eyes, but if you're looking for an open world to explore, set on fire and complete missions however you please then you'll have good fun with this.

The voice acting is poor. It is rushed, some NPCs seem to mumble a bit and voices seem to be on random AI (a black person can have a white australian voice exactly the same as a white man has, for example, breaking the immersion).

The textures aren't particularly great but the beauty in the environment makes up for this. There are a variety of collectables to find which are worth collecting for a change, for example you can collect diamonds that you can find scattered around the world and are used as currency. The weapon deterioration is very nice, especially when the gun explodes in front of your eyes and you're forced to run away or pick up another gun (although the AI usually has poor quality weapons). The health system is nice. If your health is very low you have to do things like pull bullets out of your arm, then you can heal yourself more with a syringe. Your character has malaria in the game which adds another interested, but sometimes frustrating, consideration. You have to get medicine to help you get through the game and you can have a problem at random times throughout the game. The saving is done at key points, such as at a small safe house that you get more of through the game and can upgrade with ammo and syringes. The traveling is done either on foot, in a vehicle or "fast travel" on a bus at specific locations.

I could go on and on about things in this game, but I think I've said enough for you to judge whether you would like to play this. I enjoyed it, but it's definitely not a favourite of mine.

90

Far Cry 2 - Review

mevidek | Aug. 18, 2011 | See all mevidek's reviews »

Far Cry 2 is the completely unrelated sequel to the much-loved but also much-hated first game, ditching the boring story, and instead putting you in the position of a bounty hunter sent to an unstable, civil-war hotbed of a country, ridden with malaria and starvation. Veterans of the first game may be disappointed, but overall Far Cry 2 is a great game with brilliant visuals, and interesting campaign, but a rather mediocre multiplayer.

Far Cry 2 is a really good game. Very repetitive in many ways (go there, kill someone/blow something up and respawning enemy outposts), but still providing a satisfying storyline that has you fighting on two sides, while ultimately trying to kill the Jackal (based on Carlos the Jackal), the arms dealer supplying the two armies.

Good graphics, brilliant fire and lots of things to blow up and shoot at, Far Cry 2 hits the right spot, and does everything a good game should. My view: GET THIS GAME!!!

85

I guess I never played the first Far Cry...

ChrisCullenInc | Aug. 16, 2011 | See all ChrisCullenInc's reviews »

So I don't know how this compares to it, but I love this game. It's been a while since I last played it, but I couldn't get enough of it. The Single Player was great fun personally, picking off mercs with the Dart Rifle was always enjoyable.

Messing around with some friends in a private server and trying out some of the custom maps is brilliant, chasing them around with explosives on Clear Cut, at night with stormy conditions is something which you should try. And the gliders!

90

Severely Under-rated

pman | Aug. 15, 2011 | See all pman's reviews »

I bought this game back when it was first released and, like most other people, went through a period of frustration whilst playing this game and decided to stop playing for a few weeks. However, after a while i came back and pushed through this annoying section in the game and what i found on the other side was a rich selection of weapons, amazingly fun game-play mechanics, solid environmental effects and finally, a well written conclusion

I think most people got frustrated at the way weapons were purchased in this game. Diamonds are the currency, and these must be found in hidden briefcases throughout the massive 50 square kilometer map. I agree, sometimes this made being able to afford new weapons painfully slow, however I feel this made the moment what I finally got a new weapon much more rewarding than in other games. Also, the range of weapons in this game is really quite large, easily out-doing most other shooters. (pick up the flamethrower for some extra fun)

Another aspect of this game that I enjoyed was the environmental effects. As you swing at trees with your machete, branches fall off realistically. However, by far the most impressive environmental effect in this game is it's fire. The fire spreads realistically from tree to tree and building to building and can be one of the most fun and effective weapons in the game, however death by your own fire can be quite frustrating.

Finally,the story. Personally, i thought the story was okay all the way through until the ending, where i though it really shined. The game had me on the edge of my seat by the end of the game and in the last few minutes allowed me to make a moral choice which would alter the outcome of the story and added a certain degree of re-play-ability. However, that being said it is still fun to run around in free roam after you have finished the main story, purchasing every weapon to maximize your deadliness. I recommend this game to anyone, particularly if you're a shooter fan like me, as this game really requires you to put some hours in before you can truly begin to enjoy what it has to offer!

65

Good game, gets boring

Woundead | Aug. 9, 2011 | See all Woundead's reviews »

This is a very fun sneaking/action game in the begining. The game is set in africa and the graphics are good. Serval fun tactics can be used, such as shoot enimies in the leg and force their friends to come out of hiding to help them. Sadly after a while the game gets very repetitive and you will be more and more bored to cleanse encampments which respawns very fast. As you will mostly travel by car this is annoying. Nothing really will be gained by clearing these camps, except refill of ammo(maybe). You buy more advanced weapons in stores with diamonds you find in the outback hidden or by completing missons. You can use these to purchase weapons and upgrades.

I can recommed this game as it is very enjoyable in the beginning, but after about ~20 hours of gameplay you will be bored.

70

At first - I liked this game

newn | Aug. 6, 2011 | See all newn's reviews »

The first impression was very good - good graphics, lots of guns, etc.. But what hides behind it? After I played the game for a while, I disliked the storyline for the first thing. Then the respawning goes - everyone respawns and you can't even drive back to a house without getting shot on the way. Another thing that I loved at first was the burning fire... But when you play more - you notice that it doesn't spread very realistically. Sometimes you shoot a flare 100 meters away and the fire comes to you in a minute or two while you are silently trying to take down enemies with a sniper rifle. The driving sucks too... And the car repair isn't realistic. I mean, who wouldn't love to hit a wall driving 60kmph and get a radiator leak, get out of the car, turn a screw for 20 seconds and drive like with a new car! Although speaking about cars - I liked the dirt that gets on it after a while. On the good note - the guns were nice, I liked them. At least until the DLC was released - a silenced shotgun? Seriously? Try to put a silencer on a shotgun in the real life, will ya? Another nice thing is multiplayer mode. I think that it's quite cool, even that grass burning thing. You can tactically take down a few enemies, you gotta work like a team. At least that was my experience. You just gotta try it yourself or see a video to know what I'm talking about when I'm talking about multiplayer. I think that it's worth buying with at least a 50% discount. Otherwise... Well, not really.

Have fun, hopefully you liked my review! Wait for a discount! ;)

85

If you can look past the respawning it can be a fun game

SaadKhawaja | Aug. 3, 2011 | See all SaadKhawaja's reviews »

I spent 19 hours and 48 minutes on this game. After first 2 hours I put it down and never wanted to return to it but something happened. I forgot about the name farcry and really started appreciating the game for what it was. A shooter with great open world to explore and tons of people to kill. In the midst of all of this the storyline was also engaging and once I realized that I can skip past checkpoints, take the car, do the bus rides and engage in battles that I want to be part of; game became an absolute blast. Great graphics and sound design also helped. I give it a solid 8.5/10. Game deserves it and has tons of content to play through.

40

From jungle into Safari

domasgre | June 12, 2011 | See all domasgre's reviews »

I bought this game for full price and played it a bit. This game is suck a big disappointment for first Far Cry fans. This game is so boring that you can fall a sleep plaing this, because of transportation you get in the car go from the point A into point B, shoot down couple of enemys and we rolling again into point A. I really liked shootings in this one, but here is not so much action like was in first one. Anyways also big disappointment is that here is no animals, looks like a nature is dead. What can I say about MP? MP was really fun, not many peopel could play in one server but anyways it was a blast for me, also there is and MAP editor, with that you can create your own FUN maps. So buy this game only for cheap price like 5-10$. My verdict: "This is boring Safari with less action, but more boring from point to point." - 40 out of 100...

67

had such potential.

Res | June 9, 2011 | See all Res's reviews »

I bought this game a while back on retail and quite sadly it was a bit of a dissapointment. The combat got quite repetative and the story was Meh. one major thing that made me mad was that it had nothing to do with the first game at all. It was decent but not that good. I reccomend it for a cheap price. like $15. Decent game but not that good.

62

Could have been better.

GAMERamble | May 18, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

The first thing that will strike you about Far Cry 2 is how big it is. While this is very impressive initially it can become a chore later when you have to make your way around the large map. Setting fire to everything in sight is fun and there's plenty of action but half the time I found myself getting bogged down in yet another outpost shootout or getting my vehicle stuck somewhere and plodding back to the nearest signs of civilization on foot. Don't get me started on the malaria either. Overall though Far Cry 2 is what you make of it. If you are expecting more of what made the first game great then this might be a bit disappointing.

60

Beautiful with shallow gameplay

nurz | May 17, 2011 | See all nurz's reviews »

Far cry 2 is really worth seeing. Not playing though. While visuals are outstanding even by today's standards, the gameplay is rather disappointing. Construction of game world is a masterpiece but few flaws make it very annoing place. Most irritating is enemy respawning - they can appear again in about 30 seconds after their death. Also "side quests" are generic and boring. But if you go only with main story you can have a good time in this original setting.

35

It really puts the "cry" in Far Cry...

Jahman | May 10, 2011 | See all Jahman's reviews »

Far Cry 2. The world is beautiful, enormous and quite alive. You can explore almost all of it from the start and without restrictions (actually – it’s divided into two parts – you first get to explore one and then the other), you get to set things aflame and watch the fire spread (unless it dies out for no apparent reason), you get to buy and upgrade weapons (even though you can only carry three of them, so you’ll probably stick to the same selection all the time) and cars (you won’t use any single one of them long enough to really take advantage of the upgrades). Also, you get to blow stuff up that magically puts itself back together when you’re not looking and choose a side of a conflict (or work for both sides at the same time) between to equally boring and uncharacteristic factions.

As the large amount of parenthesis shows, Far Cry 2 is a game with a lot of potential, but almost all of it wasted. The presentation is awesome and the ideas are great, but loads of weird or downright bad design decisions make it a rather horrible experience. While driving through the great looking African land is very nice, doing so for the hundredth time in a row, usually even taking the same route is hardly a remarkable experience. Combat is pretty decent with rather realistic weapons and original health mechanics (a mix of medpacks and health regenerations plus need to take malaria meds). Problem is almost all of enemy outposts respawn the moment you get far enough from them and the game forces you to cross all of them multiple times. Add to that the fact that the encounters during missions don’t vary that much (even with the “hints and alternative solutions” provided by your “buddies”) and you get a game that consists mostly of driving around empty landscapes interrupted by repetitive slaughter. And once you get to the mission’s location – guess what? – more repetitive slaughter. Oh, did I mention that between each missions you have to get half way through the map to the “main city”, get the job, drive another half way through the map to the place on a radar, complete the task, repeat. And no, the fast-travel via buses doesn’t really help as there are really few bus stops and they tend to be annoyingly far from the mission’s locations.

So, maybe the storyline saves the day? Not at all. The story has at most two twists, horrible and illogical ending, one of the most boring intros since Half-Life’s tram-ride (and I think this “ride a car and look around” lasts even longer than that one did) and one you get in the middle of the conflict you’ll soon realize that not only what you do doesn’t really matter but everyone around you doesn’t really care either – neither the faction leaders nor your NPC “buddies”. I admit this improves once or twice, especially near the end but that is quickly outset by the horrible ending, mentioned before.

All in all, FC2 is fun but when taken in small doses. Trying to get through the game all in one go quickly results in overwhelming boredom and sometimes frustration and that is even without trying to collect all the diamonds, unlock everything and complete all the extra assassinations. This only goes to show that even decent combat and awesome game world can be ruined by forcing too much of both on the player.