Reviews for Assassin's Creed Brotherhood Deluxe Edition

90

Ezzio Auditore at his best.

Obsessor | Aug. 12, 2014 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

After amazing Assassin's Creed 2 we get the Brotherhood. Changing charming Venice for Rome. I personally didn't like it at first. Too much countryside locations, not enough roaming through city. But after a time I came to love Brotherhood. It expands AC potential. You get to lead a whole guild. Hiring new assassins, sending them on missions that fill the guild's coffers.

The graphics and music are like in AC 2, just a bit more refined when it comes to graphics.

And what's more important, again you are thrown headfirst into amazingly detailed world set in our world's history with characters who actually lived there and then. That's one of the reasons I love AC series. Historical referrences.

To sum up - more AC 2, more Ezzio, more possibilities(managing assassin's guild!). A worthy successor of AC 2.

84

Very good game

kalil | June 20, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Family and old friends will remember events that will rock the foundations of Ezio and force him to return to different sites to meet parts of his past. All this always connect with Desmond, who have ghostly encounters with his ancestor and go assassin perfecting their techniques while escaping from those who persecute you. With the help of Lucy and her team, which will attempt to maintain stable, the protagonist of this have to struggle to keep track of any of the tracks that left him in a past very lejano.Para end the setting, include the database system, which will give us very detailed information about the places we visit for the first time. Once a first walk through the facilities it will remain in the database for future visits. The curious will enjoy many data from both sites and of institutions or individuals that marked a before and after in the Italian Renaissance. Graphic work than expected Beyond the work of documentation and reproduction of each city or town is the graphics performance and reproduction of textures. Each character, Ezio and Desmond as the main figures, has a very broad level of detail. The different sites also provide incredible performance that will make you enjoy much of a game with a lot of material to be cut. Ideally this PC version is to play with a team whose performance allows execution of the title with the maximum benefits. Those without a machine so powerful lower resolutions can enjoy a very high degree of configurability, which will launch the game on medium power machines. Despite the clear loss of quality, the game is still a great title that hides great things. Another point of graphics performance are the different kinematics. As if it were a movie, Assassin's Creed offers introductory scenes assignments and important events in great quality. The correction in the lip when different dialogues and actions in the video is a great point to take into account in this regard. A good job for a deserved title In the introduction we mentioned the importance of knowing and seeing renewed past mistakes. Assassin's been known not only see but also has acted to avoid the latter title. From the repetition of missions of the first game there is no trace and improving the graphics technique is also spectacular. The different movements have increased and secondary level is another thing entirely. Stocks and options when buying and improving armor and weapons also increase allowing the player a good interaction and customization. Shopkeepers who appeared in the other game available to us many more goods. Each change has been to improve a game that already said ways in their marketing. The arrival of The Brotherhood is a good point and followed for the series, we will ally with the Countess of Forli, Caterina Sforza, and continue a relentless struggle against the Borgia family. A new search is open to us and we will be the fastest to find out what it is. A new mystery turns to talk of a lost civilization and magical place that nobody had ever heard.

85

Not just a multiplayer feature

Antix | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all Antix's reviews »

What originally seemed like a tacked on multiplayer expansion to the franchise is actually a really good single player entry in the Assassin's Creed series... and a tacked on multiplayer expansion.

It's a direct sequel, starting at the exact point that the second game ended at but it will quickly have you starting all over again, and this time instead of working mostly for your personal goals, you'll do it to improve the Assassin brotherhood and achieve your goals through that. You'll be transported to Rome and spend the vast majority of the game there, as opposed to switching between a number a cities like in the previous games. You'll have to liberate sectors of the city from Borgia control and after that you'll be able to renovate shops and landmarks. It's essentially the villa minigame in AC2 but vastly expanded. The PC version exclusively has an online investment system as well but it's not worth the trouble since you'll be rolling in money anyway. After you've liberated an area, you also get to recruit an assassin trainee under you. You can send them on missions via a menu or have them join you in-game to help with fights. They level up and eventually become stronger, but the feature is mostly optional in case you don't want the game to become even easier. Another new mechanic are the optional objectives in missions. Basically these are challenges that you can complete if you want e.g. not getting detected during a mission, but completing them has no worthwile rewards. They can still add some spice to the gameplay when you feel like doing them but unfortunately missing the objective means you have to restart the whole memory, no checkpoints allowed.

The core combat system also changed. The open conflicts used to be all about waiting for counter opportunities while the rest of the combat features were all but superficial. Now you don't have to wait and can just rhythmically continue slaughtering your enemies after your first kill. This doesn't make the basic and easy combat better, but at least it's a little less boring since battles will be shorter so it's a welcome addition.

Aside from that, it's mostly the same thing you have seen in the second game, with a wealth of side activities you've come to expect. It brings a somewhat fresh approach with new elements and some improvements, however I still prefer Assassin's Creed 2 overall, but only by a hair. Mostly because you are not restricted to a single city. Still, if you liked AC2, this is also a must have and they're both fantastic.

86

Single and... Multi?

maciej2601 | Aug. 29, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

The next part of the famous series tells of a challenge two fractions: Assassins and Templars. Return to the form of the Italian assassin Ezio, who moves to Rome to face the next opponent. The Brotherhood made ​​a lot of additions and improvements, including a simple management system and the ability to summon guild to help fellows. The game presents a huge world full of side quests and different challenges, which is amazing. Awesome game, worth buying.

92

Assassin's Creed 2, with small refinements

Cynaris | July 20, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

Brotherhood is a lot like Assassin's Creed 2, the setting remains, the soundtrack is very similar, and the gameplay and variety hasn't changed much. However it does introduce 2 major things. You have your own Brotherhood where you train Assassin's by sending them on missions. They improve, and will help you whenever you call for their aid. It is a fine and well executed addition. The second one is your Villa. You are now taking over a small town, bringing shops back to life, improving your own residence, and increasing your income. It doesn't have much effect in the end, as you'll drown in money, but it is a nice addition nonetheless. The game is still thoroughly enjoyable, and recommended to play.

Multiplayer is also an option, with surprisingly unique and well working modes.

87

The more, the merrier

Finka_Karfein | June 26, 2012 | See all Finka_Karfein's reviews »

Like many others, I was too skeptical but it turned out that Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood is a very fine game. Graphics and music are still at their best and missions are even more concentrated on being a stealth killer which is good. I also loved Cristina missions. The plot is generally good but the last several tens of minutes were really bad and artificially prolonged making me nervous. Recruiting new assassins was cool but did not give the sense of accomplishment. However, the multiplayer made my day. Or many of them in a row. Many game modes, maps nad unlocks will keep you going until you move on to AC: Revelations.

85

Surprised Me - Left Me Grabbing for More

ROKET | June 20, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

When I first heard about AC Brotherhood I was skeptical. It was a new AC game sure but it also introduced a form of multiplayer and threw me off. I discounted it as a gimmick.

Now, a few years after release I had finally finished AC2 and gave Brotherhood a try and man was I pleasantly surprised. Brotherhood not only improved on the AC formula but expanded on the gameplay by a huge amount. You are given the ability to quickly slash through enemies through better combat mechanics, ride through Rome on horses and support yourself economically by revitalizing Rome and making investments into the market. Its simply awesome.

The story itself was quite interesting - if a little slow - but you find yourself rooting full on for Ezio by the end of the game and that made me happy. I recommend this game.

91

Assassins Creed 2.5

Lingwisyer | June 13, 2012 | See all Lingwisyer's reviews »

Assassins Creed Brotherhood is less a sequel than a really big expansion. This game trades story for combat with less compelling story compaired to AC2 compensated by extremely fluid combat. The killstreak mechanic makes you feel ever so much more deadly with the ability to chain together kills instead of it feeling almost like a new fight. A change from the previous games is that the whole game takes place in a single city, that being Rome. That being said the city is varied with is Royalty class zone, Banking sector, Middle class and almost country like areas which all look stunning. Familiar monuments can also be found scattered throughout the city.

90

The Assassin's Creed series just keeps getting better

t20k | Aug. 22, 2011 | See all t20k's reviews »

When I played the first game in the series many years ago, I saw I lot of great ideas, but it was far from perfect. Ubisoft has really surprised me by improving and making the series even more fun as the sequels are released. Brotherhood is absolutely fantastic: it's got a lenghty single player campaign, an original and great multiplayer mode which is a fantastic way of introducing multiplayer into the series and stunning graphics.

The Deluxe Edition comes with even more stuff to enjoy, and I absolutely recommend it for those who are fans of the series. The maps and skins add more playing time and variety to the game, while the rest is very interesting if you enjoy the story of the AC games.