Reviews for Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell

86

The pinacle of stealth

rjb789 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all rjb789's reviews »

This game is the ultimate stealth experience. Much of the game involved watching and planning out attacks on the individual guards, or finding new ways to traverse the varied levels in order to cause as little chaos as possible. The game is brutally hard but extremely rewarding too. If you enjoy stealth games that take planning get this game!

85

Best stealth game.

jackyboi1014 | June 20, 2013 | See all jackyboi1014's reviews »

The stealth element in the game made the game itself come to life. Despite the weapons, there were also a variety of objects in the game as well. Another good thing about this game are the graphics. The graphics are polished in every single environment along with the effects of the sky, explosions, fire, and decals.

The interrogations and conversations from the NPC's are also entertaining. In the Kalinatek building, you see two guards through a transparent wall talking about how wall mines are dangerous.

You have two choices: Wait for one of the guards to walk into the room and be knocked out by you or just open the door in the middle of their conversation, take out your SC20K, zoom in and shoot the mine to turn them into barbecue steaks!

Overall: I have played all the Splinter Cell games in the franchise so far and even though this game is old, it is well worth anyone's time.

88

ah good memories

drafek | June 20, 2013 | See all drafek's reviews »

This game does bring really good memories up, I've played it some years ago so I though why don't pick it up. The stealth in this game is done really well. The graphics are pretty good, atleast for it's time, that's because it's made in the unreal engine. The sound and the lighting in this game are done well. You'll get around 15-25 hours out of this game, which is more then enough for it's price. The storyline is interesting and the characters are written well.

100

Excellent!

Plasros | June 19, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

First, straight off the bat, I'd like to say, GREATEST Splinter Cell game in the entire series. I mean, bravo, 2 thumbs up. Gameplay is very organized and not too tweaked around like the later games. Story line was exceptional. Running on a very good computer, this game rarely has any glitches or bugs, so, good job Ubisoft. The co-op portion is possibly the best part about Chaos Theory. If you love taking out bad guys in stealth over lan or online, this is probably the best game to do it in. Very, very fun game. I prefer it highly over Double Agent in my opinion. 10/10

84

New Splinter Cell Fan!

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

I'm not a fan of the earlier splinter cell games for PC. I tried them (after buying them at a deep discount on Steam) but didn't care for the clunky controls or the tedious gameplay. Conviction on the other hand is really fun to play. As others have mentioned, the single player campaign does go by pretty quickly. There's some replayability if you ratchet up the difficulty and try to work through the levels without being detected. The inability to skip through some of the "story telling" bits on subsequent plays does get annoying.

The Deniable Ops pack gives the casual action gamer a nice variety of missions that you can play through in 10-30 minutes depending on how you want to play them (run & gun vs. stealth). These are highly replayable as you can experiment with a variety of tactics and approaches to each level. Given that I bought this game years after it's release, I haven't played much multi-player. Seems like it would be fun over a LAN though.

90

A legendary game

Zinzun | Sept. 4, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

This was the only opponent to the Metal Gear Solid saga,and is a very good stealth,but is brutally hard.If you don't play "well", an alarm during the end of a mission you can't avoid (maybe because a guard on a preavius part of a level has discovered a bad-hidden corpse) will force you to start the mission from the beginning.Luchly you can save your game when you want,so make multiple save can grant you the endgame. A must buy,a game when Sam Fisher is really sam Fisher.

76

Old and awesome.

maciej2601 | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell is an action game view from the perspective of a third person, developed by Ubisoft Montreal. Players take on the role of Sam Fisher, Third Echelon agent organization whose mission is to perform highly classified military action. Gameplay consists mainly breaking into strictly protected objects and elimination of opponents. Really worth.

90

A classic of stealth games

panz3r88 | Aug. 4, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Splinter Cell is the first title of the series of action stealth game dedicated to Sam Fisher. The game is linear, but the story and action are always amazing. You can use many advanced technological tool to avoid the enemies. If you are a fun of stealth game this game is a must buy

95

The one that started it all

DrHouse | July 2, 2012 | See all DrHouse's reviews »

This is the only, the one, the first Splinter Cell. It is so good that it reinvented the stealth genre. It has all you can ask a game for. it has action and stealth. You have to plan every move if you want to finish your mission. The graphics are great, with a good integration of the shadows as a main part of the game. The sound is perfect, and lets you immerse in the game even more. And the storyline is just one of the best storylines yo can see in a videogame or even a movie. A must buy for stealth lovers.

95

Save the world...stealthy

DrHouse | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all DrHouse's reviews »

One of the best stealth games of all times. Once you get inthe the world of Sam Fisher you cannot get out. It's an innmersive experience like no others, with a brillian backgraund story that only Tom Clancy could have written.

And all mixed with brilliant gameplay in which stay at the shadows quietly is more important than shot bullets everywhere. And with the night and theremic vision googles shadows will only help you, so you can catch by surprise your enemies.

Also, graphics and sound are great, and even today they look georgeous. A buy that won't disapponit you in any way.

85

A stealth classic.

GAMERamble | Aug. 8, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

This is a great place to start if you haven't played any of the Splinter Cell games before. The series has since moved on in a different direction so even if you have played some of the latter titles this one still has merit. Sneaking around in the shadows while performing missions is a blast and while there are occasional moments of frustration there is still plenty of fun to be had here.

94

Fisher King

magente | July 26, 2011 | See all magente's reviews »

A classic stealth game. Drawing gameplay, dark atmosphere of conspiracy theories. Sam fisher is able to climb, cover in dark places, stick to the walls, hide making twine under ceiling ;) distract enemies, kill by surprise. He's using hi-tech gadgets, which help him in infiltration of enemy bases, nocto- and termovision, a various weapons, lockpicks and wire taps. I recommend for everyone.

92

The one that got me into stealth games

marcinkonys | May 18, 2011 | See all marcinkonys's reviews »

Splinter Cell is a game every PC gamer should try out, regardless of what their first impression might be. In fact, this was my very first stealth game. Needles to say, it got me so addicted I would wait for a new "Splinter Cell" every year after then (and numerous other stealth games, for that matter).

Some of the newer SC games might put people off, because Ubisoft seems to have shifted emphasis from stealth to action, and sadly, the games are moving more and more towards the latter with every new iteration. Having played all the SC games to date, I'd easily rate Splinter Cell 1 as THE "Splinter Cell" game, with the third one, Chaos Theory, coming in a very close second.

Sure, the first game has no multiplayer, but that doesn't stop it from providing hours and hours of good singleplayer. The campaign is easy from the get-go, but gets pretty intense in the last few chapters, where the enemy count goes way up and shadow count goes down. With many bottlenecks and no room for failure, these few levels are undoubtedly my favorite levels out of all the SC games.

For 5 euros, this is a no-brainer. Get it NOW.

90

Bullets hurt. But so does Sam.

MisterSlimm | April 19, 2011 | See all MisterSlimm's reviews »

Occasionally obscure level design never undermines the total super-awesomeness that is Sam Fisher, the player. Splinter Cell consistently makes you feel like an amazing super-covert super-operative while still allowing you to be very vulnerable to bullets (unlike most games). Bullets hurt. On Normal, getting into a firefight is a to-be-avoided, near-death adrenalin bath. When you survive, it is always genuinely amazing and intoxicating. Usually, the action is far more considered and, remarkably, a similar level of satisfaction is obtained by successfully achieving your objectives without exposing yourself to the frequently game-ending danger of a gunfight. This is a complete classic.

This game contains none in game, sexual swear words in closing song (!) and melee and gun violence.

90

Classic Sam.

xtrench | April 15, 2011 | See all xtrench's reviews »

Splinter Cell, a classic among stealth action games brings a lot to the table with a rich, conspiracy filled plot and gameplay so well executed that even today's stealth games have a hard time keeping up (I'm looking at you Velvet Assassin). Your mission is to navigate the level using shadows as cover from enemies, helping you are different gadgets from spy cam to special night vision goggles.

Do yourself a favor and play this game.

95

The king of stealth action games!

moomphas | April 11, 2011 | See all moomphas's reviews »

The game used to astonish with visuals, was the first serious FPP stealth action game which revolutionised its genre. Sneaking up in the shadows and using high-tech devices to successfuly accomplish objectives was something that I won't forget about. If I were to point out the best Splinter Cell, I would pick this one. But note that graphics won't take you aback any longer and some game mechanics will not seem fresh. But still - if you haven't tried the king of stealth games so far you need to catch it up. It's only a fiver.

90

Stealth thriller

fearon | April 11, 2011 | See all fearon's reviews »

He comes from shadows and kills silently. Sam Fisher - secret agent, solution to hard and comlicatied situations. Splinter Cell is brilliant stealth game. In this game shooting is boring - the main fun is when we avoid detection. Deep game system, interesting scenario with charismatic protagonist and lot of clever fun. Must have!