Reviews for Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Double Agent

76

Not the best port

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | See all WolfeClawz's reviews »

Double Agent, as a game, is a very welcome addition to the series, however the PC port is definitely lacking in terms of stability. There are many missions in which bugs are present, including some that prevent the player from continuing altogether, however there are fixes located online.

To put it simply, if you own a console, I can highly suggest that you buy it for that instead unless you are willing to put up with a few hours of frustration. If you can, then you are left with a brilliant game with great stealth elements and a surprising amount of freedom.

83

Good addition to the series.

jackyboi1014 | June 20, 2013 | See all jackyboi1014's reviews »

As a game, Splinter Cell: Double Agent is a fine continuation of the series, staying faithful to its stealth action roots.

As a PC port, the game is troubled. Although I did not experience any of the infamous frame rate issues and crashes that plague this game, and in fact got it running at over 60 fps maxed out, the port is still quite poor. Mouse support is down from the already lacking Chaos Theory. Now computer terminals, keypads and hacking systems are navigable only by keyboard, making it a lot more awkward to use. Also missing is the ability to enter keypad codes with the number buttons on your keyboard.

Additionally I found the default keyboard assignments bizarre. Shift to jump, Space to use. I can only assume that these were decided by a developer unfamiliar with typical PC controls. Changing key assignments is clunky, and on numerous occasions I found my alterations had not saved when, upon trying to knock out a guard, nothing happened and I was instead shot.

As I've said, the game ran fine on my PC, but I get the feeling it's very picky about what hardware it works with and what hardware it doesn't, as with GTA IV. You should probably only buy it if you find it cheap and/or you're feeling lucky.

93

Building Upon Perfection!

Plasros | June 19, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

Well, this game is flippin' awesome!! But, I read the reviews above and everyone is complaining about the P.C version!!! EVERYONE knows that if you're going to get games with top-of-the-line graphics, you have to get it for a console, unless you have an extremely good video card! I'd say you're free to your opinion, but you don't need to complain if you have a console where you can truly enjoy the game. These people are basing their ratings on how the game RUNS, not how it actually PLAYS. I suggest you put the proper rating for the playing, and then write about how it runs

89

I'm Impressed!

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

I'm amazed. I loved Chaos Theory, but this goes even further than that. The gameplay got even better, you have more gadgets and moves, graphics are basically the same with slight improvements (which is fine with me), the levels and missions are still very diverse and first and foremost, your decisions have greater impact than ever before. I love the fact that you're a double agent and have to make your decisions so that you satisfy both agencies, it really makes you think. All in all, it's a great addition to the Splinter Cell series, if not THE greatest. By the way, my PC: 1.9 Ghz CPU, 1.5 GB RAM, Nvidia 6600GT. It doesn't even meet the minimum requirements, but the game still runs quite smoothly on high details. Talk about great optimization... I haven't experienced any of the bugs or errors listed here, so I guess I should consider myself lucky

78

A good game... for consoles

sonarctica | May 3, 2013 | See all sonarctica's reviews »

PC port is horrible. I played this when it came on Xbox 360 a long time ago, it was great, singleplayer campaign was decent enough but where I think it shined the most was the multiplayer aspect of it. Gameplay was just amazing, but sadly the multiplayer is dead and nobody plays it anymore.

Final thoughts, the PC port is really bad and it didn't run very well on my computer but I'm sure there are fixes and whatnot on the internet.

75

Double Agent - review

carlyle | Jan. 9, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

The possibility of being a double agent giochista is undoubtedly a good choice, in fact it is probably the best direction that could take the single-player mode, for a general renovation. In Double Agent you reach the point of giving the opportunity to the player to make choices that potentially alter the course of the game. The relationship between cause and effect is, however, superficial, some important decisions about how they should not affect the relations of trust within the two factions. Double Agent is one of the most fun stealth game and probably the most complete and best-realized of all the episodes of Splinter Cell but with some defects of single player, already seen in previous chapters, and surviving in this, first of all the submissive Intelligence artificial Cpu in difficulty level standard.

78

Not the usual Splinter Cell, but with too many bugs

panz3r88 | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Splinter Cell Double Agent is really different from the other titles of the series. It's still an action stealth game, but the mission are not linear like in the previous titles. In the game you are an infiltrate in a terrorist group, so you must at the same time work for them and discover their plans to defeat them from the inside. In general you must do missions similar to the one of the previous game, but sometimes the NSA and terrorist will give you opposite objective and you must decide which one to complete. You must always remember that you must not do something that ruins your cover, otherwise it's game over. After the missions you will find yourself in the terrorist hideout, where you must use your abilities to sneak behind the terrorist and discover their secret. The original gameplay and story is a bit ruined by the bugs that afflict the game

69

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Double Agent

maciej2601 | Sept. 10, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent is the fourth episode of the series dedicated agent Sam Fisher. This time, however (in theory) evil prevails over good. Traditionally, the game produced and released the company UbiSoft.

75

Typical Splinter Cell

simonsix | June 21, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

Typical Splinter Cell but with an extra Action. The storyline branches, depending on what you do. The graphics are very next gen too. Too bad, in few missions there is severe frame rate issues. Personally, I thinks it is unforgivable in a game like Splinter Cell where your movements and subtle moving are everything. Single player is way better than multi, but multi can be fun, if you will find someone to play with...

60

A good example of how a bad port can ruin a good game

jojot | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all jojot's reviews »

Double Agent is a decent entry into the Splinter Cell series. It follows the exploits of Super Secret Spy dude Sam Fisher after he goes off the deep end due to some possibly spoilery stuff. In typical self-destructive manner he starts taking all sorts of crazy dangerous assignments, the game focusing on one in particular where he is tasked with infiltrating a terrorist group and finding out their plans to blow up America and stuff. The story line was pretty cliche, although the 'moral choice' moments were interesting, as was the fact that you were constantly getting objectives from both sides, often causing conflicts and forcing you to choose who you were going to appease to gain/keep trust. This brought a certain tension to even menial tasks like setting up bombs for the terrorists, what was essentially a menial task instead left you thinking, should I give them the shaft and not set up the bombs and risk loosing trust? Can I finish this quickly enough to go spy on them? There was always an element of planning out how to do everything that was nice. This was all between missions though, the actual missions themselves were usually less interesting, being sneak to objective A, complete and do something for agency, go to B etc.

One thing that really let down this game though was the port quality. The controls were awful, as was the UI. The lack of effort really shows, especially when you fire up the game and the window Icon is the default icon from Unreal Tournament (it's a UE2 game I believe). It's a shame too because it makes it very difficult to get into what is otherwise a decent game. Constantly having to look up illogical keybinds and things being in unintuitive places is a real downer. It could be overlooked in a superb game where it is the only flaw, but Double Agent is only an OK game, it really detracts from what should be a fun experience you just want to drop into.

72

Flaws, but perfectly okay

trinest | Aug. 24, 2011 | See all trinest's reviews »

Double Agent has to be my favorite Splinter Cell. The games story is pretty good for a game of its caliber. While the game might be a little bit boring on the tech side of things, supporting some pretty okay but average graphics and rehasing the stealth element to the point it feels somewhat miss used. At the end of the day it is a good packaged game despite its flaws and recommended if you want a game in the series.

86

Deeper story, but less stealthy

DrHouse | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all DrHouse's reviews »

In this game you have to go even deeper in the inmersion of the story, becouse you have to be on both bands at the same time. The story won't disappoint you, and the graphics and sound are also great thanks to the unreal Engine 3 used in this game.

The gameplay, while retains some classic things from frevious Splinter Cell games is now more a shoter than a stealh game, impliying that you will have to shoot more and hide less.

If you enjoyed the previous three Sam Fisher adventures you will surely enjoy this too.

81

choose your side

satyakun | June 26, 2011 | See all satyakun's reviews »

Splinter Cell : Double Agent will take you to Sam Fisher World, fill with another conspiration. the gameplay is unique. You must disguise and goo deeply in the terrorist organization without leaked. The style of gameplay is still same, stealth. another good game for a stealth-action lovers.

80

Pummel terrorists. Silently, of course.

MisterSlimm | April 19, 2011 | See all MisterSlimm's reviews »

After getting used to the pace of the game after playing just about anything else, this is an absorbing highly satisfying chance to pummel terrorists. Silently, of course. The structure of the game is terrific: you have several objectives, some have to be done, some don't. It means that you don't have to do everything perfectly and allows for three major decisions for you to take with agreeably weighty outcomes and lots of little ones. Despite being an early seventh-generation console game, it looks fantastic - crisp, detailed and highly convincing. It's not brutal and detailed in the violence but that doesn't lessen the impact or joy of rendering another scumbag unconscious without alerting any of his buddies.

This game contains bad language and violence.

75

Double agent? Wish not..

xtrench | April 14, 2011 | See all xtrench's reviews »

Great Splinter Cell game with pretty good missions that bring back the old school splinter cell style of play. Visiting different location in the world, Sam is back to his old sneaking ways of dispatching enemies silently like an urban ninja. That being said, upon completion of the missions Sam is thrown back to a "hub" of sorts, a terrorist cell in which he needs to spy on and yet gain the terrorists trust and at this point that the game grinds to a halt. Going from great Splinter Cell type of missions to a slow and agonizing gameplay of solving puzzles and sneaking around base. If you're a fan of Splinter Cell and believe you could grind your way through the intermissions then you will find enjoyment in this game. But for many this iteration of Splinter Cell will not be on par with previous titles.

45

Revolution?

fearon | April 11, 2011 | See all fearon's reviews »

New look to Splinter Cell series. Was it necessary? I don't think so. Double Agent is forced revolution, that made from deep and rewarding gameplay just another action game with stealth elements. This game looks like poor copy of previous parts of series. Even Sam Fisher looks like low-budged clone of himself. Only for blind Spliter Cell fans.