Reviews for The Elder Scrolls® Online

72

Elder Scrolls Online Hyped a bit too Much

yngdr | Aug. 14, 2014 | See all yngdr's reviews »

I beta tested a few instances of ESO. I ran into quest problems NPC's doing weird things to name a few problems. However, in its latest state it is getting better but still not worth the price tag. Lag seems to creep in a few times, but nothing to get you killed by. The graphics are Skyrim level but not the scripts. What the developers should have done was write code to implement online versions of Skyrim rather then a whole new game that tries way too hard to do the WOW thing. Quests are similar with help me get or kill this many mobs, I understand limits on what one can do to gain exp in a game with many others, but creative thinking could have paved the way for more exciting variations. the Sounds i cant say anything bad about as they were great when I played, just the talking scripts were a bit off as I said above. My suggestion is wait a bit and grab it when it drops or goes free to play.

50

A Disappointment to Elder Scrolls.

StupidMarioBros | July 14, 2014 | See all StupidMarioBros's reviews »

Skyrim is one of my favorite RPGs of All time, but this just feels like a cheap MMO knockoff of world of warcraft.

I was hoping for a more feel of skyrim but custom built for a multiplayer game, but I was okay with a MMO, but they still screwed that up with very boring gameplay that feels like a chore. If you want a new MMO to play, its decent I guess, but it is pretty boring to me.

Filled with moneygrabs and micro transactions, this game keeps asking money for more DLC, monthly payment, and more. Terribly overpriced.

Not worth your money, and probably the worst in the series. Hopefully Elder Scrolls VI will make up for this mistake.

95

Almost perfect

philip08533 | July 13, 2014 | See all philip08533's reviews »

This game is a must have for every gamer's collection. With its top of the line gameplay and graphics it serves perfectly to entertain and enjoy you. Not only that, but because the steam workshop is available for it, you can mod the PC version to literally add whatever you like.

I highly recommend this game.

70

Not terrible. Not fantastic.

fuzeblu | July 10, 2014 | See all fuzeblu's reviews »

The Elder Scrolls Online struggles with an identity crisis. It wants to stay true to the original titles, and the player can see that with familiar landscapes, involved lore and story, and soft action combat. Yet it also is first and foremost an mmorpg and caters more heavily to those features. The voice acting is great. One of the best voiced acted mmorpgs out there. The world and lore are relatively interesting, with lore books and a detailed zones. The AvA PvP is really fun if you enjoy large scale battles.

And here the attempt to blend both worlds, the massive and the single, doesn't work as well as the developers planned. Lack of true exploration with loading screens and leveled zones. Granted, the zones are decently sized, but there is little incentive to go rampaging across the countryside because there will always be one of two things: An obvious quest item or NPC marked clearly on your minimap, or a chest, which, I will say, is occasionally fun to open. No real Player to NPC interaction, i.e stealing or reputation status. Phased "instances" which adjust to your quests, but make other players or party members not on that quest invisible. The combat is halfway decent, it has soft targeting and pseudo action abilities. It's fun if you want to try something a little different. Overall, the game isn't bad, and I wouldn't disapprove picking it up when it's on sale to get a free one month and try it out for yourself. Or, you could wait until more planned features are added (dark brotherhood, thieves guild) if you want to get more bang for your buck.

80

decent

TribalJeebus | June 12, 2014 | See all TribalJeebus's reviews »

Its good fun if you have a couple buddies to play with, but it honestly fees like something ive already played. Nothing new about this game, but its cool to be in an Elder Scrolls world regardless. Every mission is just go to point A to grab item/fight enemy and bring back for completion. I enjoy the game but after the 3mo I paid for is up theres zero chance ill keep playing until it comes out on PS4 and XB!

58

Not horrible, but not great

Volace | May 22, 2014 | See all Volace's reviews »

This game didn't pull me into it as much as I had first anticipated, as the story is fairly uninteresting, and the combat being a bit duller than I had anticipated. There were however a few features I enjoyed, such as some of the quest mechanics and the fact that no matter what class you were, you could use any weapon available to you. Overall it's not a terrible game, but definitely not worth paying the subscription fee

90

I love it

Aedific | May 22, 2014 | See all Aedific's reviews »

If you are expecting skyrim or oblivion in a MMO mode, you will be disappointed. It is not skyrim. I think that skyrim with MMO would be chaotic. You would be killed every 10 minutes by another player, and there would be no lore, since almost every npc would be dead, or fighting for their lifes. I like the idea of having a different area for pvp. It has pvp, quests, exploration areas. You can choose between going to a zone where you can raid castles and steal elder scrolls and explore while being alert because you can find an enemy at any dungeon. But also, you can play exploring and making quests in your alliance territory without enemy players. It’s your choice, and I enjoy that a lot. You can easily switch between areas. Also, the crafting system is great. It takes effort to improve your skill there, and I loved that you have to research for different traits every single item. It takes time, so you can’t rush it.
Finally, the best part is that the staff of the game really takes into account everything you report. It is not a robotized system. I have been playing since beta, and yes, they were a lot of bugs, even at the start of the game. They rushed it. But the developers have been answering every single bug report and fixing them to make a great game. It may have flaws, but the game is in constant improvement. It is a new game, and I see a lot of future in it.

70

TESO

PinkBunnyShadow | May 22, 2014 | See all PinkBunnyShadow's reviews »

I was very excited to dive in to this game, pretty much i was thinking it will be the same as any other Elder Scrolls game. Well It does have the wonderful voice acting and such. However things like the broker system, the alliance system, grouping systems was a bit off for me. The game itself is still a work in progress and needs a bit more time to improve. The potential is still there perhaps revisit it in later months.

50

Not Like Skyrim at All

lnpeek | May 14, 2014 | See all lnpeek's reviews »

Just another MMO game that attempts to entice players by using the lore of the franchise. I would suggest this if you are into playing just another MMO, but not if you are looking for a game that is as comprehensive as Skyrim is in many ways that are often related to the Elder Scrolls games.

80

interesting

eccentricdreams | April 30, 2014 | See all eccentricdreams's reviews »

Very similar to the original game, yet something seems missing. Everything is much much more better and upgraded, which is good. But there are plenty of other free online games similar to this one. However, it was still good game to relax on boring day and play for fun.

65

Not What I Expected

bassking31 | April 24, 2014 | See all bassking31's reviews »

It's still a fun game and all, but I really expected something more along the lines of multiplayer Skyrim or Oblivion. It has a bit of a "WoW" feel to it, not sure if it's something I like. The tutorial levels also take FOREVER.

45

Has promise but falls short

wynnefox | April 23, 2014 | See all wynnefox's reviews »

I found the game interesting but at the same time it falls short as it trys to satisfy both the needs of being an MMO and an Elder Scrolls games. Combat feels weak and like hitting stuff with wet noodles, zones are large to explore but it's more "massively solo" game, don't be expecting much if you plan on playing with friends.

89

I am pleasantly surprised!

Baromanthefool | April 14, 2014 | See all Baromanthefool's reviews »

I am not a big Elder Scrolls fan, i played Oblivion a fair bit and only a little bit of Skyrim, perhaps that's why i find the lore in this game good, i prefer the earlier era's. This game keeps me playing, i enjoy playing my Templar Tank/DPS, has good MMO qualities with the high standard of Elder Scrolls story telling you expect from a game like this. Now I'm not saying this is a perfect game... some bugs and things i really question, but the game runs well, it looks good for an mmo and plays well for a PC game.

50

Boring game

Cavalieroscuro | April 14, 2014 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

Do you love The Elder Scrolls saga? The this game isn't for you, because it's just a World of Warcraft clone. There is anything interesting here, only features present in almost every mmorpg in the market. You must pay something like 13€ per month to play (excluding the game itself, that is 55€), and the game won't offer you anything. There are a lot of free2play mmorpg (like Guild Wars 2, for example) better then this.

88

One of the Best MMO Ive played in a long time

kventura | April 9, 2014 | See all kventura's reviews »

This is coming from a guy who played: Warcraft, Aion, Tera, SWTOR, Guild Wars 2, Final Fantasy and Wildstar beta... For me this game has been the best since Warcraft in the matter than I can spend endless hours playing and that's because everything about it is challenging and beautiful.

The PvP is amazing you don't get stuck doing arena over and over again but you siege castles and everything you do matters in the war. The game is no way revolutionary but something about makes me wanna play it for hours. I was in the fence about buying it but now I'm glad I followed my instinct.

85

You like Elder Scrolls AND MMO's?

Napalm420 | April 5, 2014 | See all Napalm420's reviews »

Well, do you like the Elder scrolls, and also MMO's? Do you miss having to actually explore for loot and the like? Having to search for resources? Having enemies that can actually kill you if you bait more than One or Two? Then I'd say this game is for you. The PVP as far as i can tell, is pretty top notch. Though i would still recommend anyone who is considering this game, to watch a "Let's Play" video