Reviews for The Elder Scrolls® Online: Imperial Edition

80

A solid Elder Scrolls MMO experience

Jennifur_Vultee | Dec. 31, 2014 | See all Jennifur_Vultee's reviews »

Don't let the old reviews of ESO fool you, many of the issues from the launch have been patched, the gold farming bots were completely done away with months ago and the new content and bug fixes happen regularly. I've played since the beta, early access and still happily pay Zenimax $15 a month because I enjoy ESO and I like playing a TES title with my friends.

Are there problems with ESO? Sure. Class balance and skills are still being tweaked to find a balance for PVP, there are times the ping rate jumps for no apparent reason but overall my experience with ESO has been very good. Since April I've encountered only three broken quests and Zenimax has fixed them promptly.

Combat has been smooth and fluid for the most part, its more action oriented so don't expect to stand in one spot spamming skills...dodge, use strategy and the proper use of your skills or die regularly. You can tab target to lock onto a specific enemy but frankly I never use it. You don't get several bars with 20 skills to choose from...you get 5 slots for skills plus one for your ultimate attack so choose your skills carefully and change them to meet the situation at hand. At level 15 you do get a second weapon slot with 5 more skills that you can flip to at any time even in combat so if you equip the same weapon to both slots that's a total of 10 useable skills for one weapon. Personally I prefer to use two different weapon sets like sword and shield flipping to a restoration staff for example.

If you like questing and good story telling you'll like ESO, if you hate questing you'll feel like its a "grind" completing quests but I personally do enjoy the quests and stories they tell. The main quests are all solo instanced so you won't see 10 other people while doing your main quests competing for the same quest goals as you. There are public group dungeons and instanced 4 person party dungeons that can be very challenging to complete.

If you like MMOs and you like The Elder Scrolls you'll probably like ESO.

15

Not Worth it

Kveni | Nov. 11, 2014 | See all Kveni's reviews »

I mean, I like this game, it's great, in fact, and I LOVED being a tester of it, but when I saw this "Special Edition" pack that literally gives you nothing for a lot more money, why even bother. The game is already way too expensive a year, and then having to buy an "Imperial Edition" with a new race to play as is one of the dumbest bonus editions ever added to a game. I love the Elder Scrolls, and it is literally one of my favorite game series of all time, but this game is one big money grab for the experience that you could get from Skyrim (just without the other people) Honestly, really think through this before you want the "Special Edition" because I'm a die hard Elder Scrolls fan, and I'm not even going to consider this.

25

Ehh

MadTucks | July 15, 2014 | See all MadTucks's reviews »

I supported the game, played the beta, pre-ordered the imperial edition, and all I can say is that the game is decent. It's your standard theme park mmo but with voice-acting. That's about it. You're better off playing World of Warcraft or just about any other mmo that has more features than this. If you're into the TES series, go ahead and play it, but I can assure you that you'll feel jipped of your money for spending so much money on this game. The game isn't bad, but it certainly doesn't do anything new or exciting.

32

Meh

PinkBunnyShadow | May 22, 2014 | See all PinkBunnyShadow's reviews »

This version is no different than the standard. It opens up the Imperial class, a horse and a few other perks. Nothing special other then that.

50

Maybe if it didn't have a subscription...

Kevduit | May 17, 2014 | See all Kevduit's reviews »

Don't get me wrong, this game lives up to the hype, and plays just like any other good Elder Scrolls game would, but they actually did something to get kids (well at least the not spoiled brat kids) off this M rated game, to let the people that actually have a job make the money to pay for the subscription. Which gets me to my only problem, the game is MASSIVELY fun, exploration, looting, fighting, it has it all... including an annoying subscription that is a little too much. If you are willing to pay to play this game, I'm sure you'll have a fantastic experience, but overall, the subscription turned me away from it.

10

pretty bad

mirta000 | May 13, 2014 | See all mirta000's reviews »

Was there during the beta and still read the forums for this game. Worst to best:

Worst: problems that the game is facing. This game is losing its battle against bots, exploits were allowed to run for so long that economy is out of balance (players were able to duplicate money and items for weeks), the current bug that is rampant for a few weeks now is that people are getting charged from 2X to 4X for their subscription, are not receiving their subscription upon paying, have their subscription cancel for no reason and similar problems. I wouldn't recommend subscribing until this is fixed, unless of course you don't mind being overcharged.

Story and overall environment: This game is not Skyrim. The story is rushed and incoherent, the environment looks murky and bland, questing is grindy and slow, combat has target assist, most of the abilities have to be attached onto enemies trough tab targeting. If you're looking for that famous RPG experience you won't find it here.

PvP balance: there's overpowered combinations and those are not getting balanced. Expect to have to run werewolf or a vampire in pvp if you want to get anywhere.

music: the musical score in this game is quite good. I know a friend of mine that enjoys playing the game just for that reason.

82

It is actually really good

Entonwolf | April 22, 2014 | See all Entonwolf's reviews »

It is a great Elder Scrolls game and not worse than the other Elder Scrolls games like many say. I had much fun with it and it has very much time sink.

Good things are: -questing, very fun -pvp, like in daoc a very big pvp map -the class system, you can be everything you want to be and it makes a hell of a lot fun to make his own skill traits

Bad things: -server problems atm -bank loot wipes, but they said it will be refunded -item shop (only a mount for now but who knows how long?)

Tl;dr: if u love the Elder Scrolls, you will love this game too. It is a good MMO and doesnt try to copy something. I like it and think its worth its money.

92

Loving every second

DaLaw | April 14, 2014 | See all DaLaw's reviews »

If you enjoyed Elder Scrolls, but always wanted to share the story and adventure with friends - then this is for you.

Every piece of the exploration, adventuring and story is worth every penny.