Reviews for Age of Empires II HD Edition

74

Age of Empires II? Hmmph....

adrianching7 | Aug. 19, 2014 | See all adrianching7's reviews »

So what is this? Is it another strategy game for warfare or a "Build your own Civilization" game? Well it's pretty much both of those combining into one! Age of Empires brings us a very classic but engrossing game that seems like you could get trapped in forever and never realize it. The graphics in the game gives you a relaxed feeling because it isn't too realistic to make you feel that everything depends on you. Perfect for casual gamers. The one thing that astonished me when I started to get more into the game what the fact that the gameplay was extremely well made and I can also play along with my friends which makes this all the more better.

81

Really worth it

vanpaassen | Aug. 18, 2014 | See all vanpaassen's reviews »

This strategic-based game has lots of ways to plan your victory with, you can e.g. Build defensive buildings, choose formations for your troops, and even give them commando's like follow units. You can compete with your friends or other players through the steam servers. This game is really fun and you won't be disappointed if you buy this game.

66

A Classic Resurfaces

884okeoJ | June 30, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

The original Age of Empires 2 is possibly my favorite game of all time. On those merits, this game is an easy 10 out of 10. However, this re-release has to stand up based on it's own worth as well as it's original counterpart's. The game does look slightly better than the original Age of Empires 2, but no enough to warrant a rebuy. The main selling point for anyone wishing to buy this is a much-streamlined multiplayer system which allows you to play with friends over steam. For a marginal graphical improvement and an improved multiplayer system, whether this game is worth buying at full price is doubtful.

95

Definitely worth it.

MarianoAlipi | June 28, 2014 | See all MarianoAlipi's reviews »

Either if you played the original Age of Empires games, or if you're new to them, Age of Empires II: HD Edition is a game you won't regret playing. Campaigns are interesting, entertaining and challenging. Now, with the better multiplayer support provided by Steam, you can challenge your friends (or unknown people) like never before. This game never gets old. I played the original version, and decided to buy the new one. Worth every penny. Try it out!

80

Nostalgy helps but still good

jkail | June 13, 2014 | See all jkail's reviews »

I remeber playing this game for so many hours when I was young(er).

It's now a bit old regarding new gameplay mechanism but still have the awesome basis.

Still hard, still fun, the "HD" doesn't seem to add much. I guess new player can be disapointed because the game feels old but if you like RTS it's a must play.

80

Great for Newbies

ROKET | June 10, 2014 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I have to admit, I never played the original, but I was quite glad when MS finally started making remakes for its great original RTS games.

Gameplay: The game doesnt have much of a story but it does have a few campaigns (with stories) that are fun enough to play through. The gameplay is simple enough with resources to manage and units and buildings to build. You build and army, take it out to the battlefield, and try to annihilate or survive the enemy in order to win the day (and level). Its a tried and true and worth the asking price.

Presentation: The game does look good for what it is and I do appreciate the ability to install workshop content and play at higher widescreen resolutions. I wish, however, that there was some sort of AA (if possible with 2D games) and that the textures were even more updated.

Online: I havent really tried the online gameplay but I hear that the game has been patched quite a bit to fix the launch issues that plagued the game. There isnt much you can expect and the online population on Steam has gone down since launch.

Overall 80/100

I cant wait to try out Age of Mythology HD and Rise of Nations HD

90

Return of a classic

TG_Judgement | May 3, 2014 | See all TG_Judgement's reviews »

One of the RTS classics alongside C&C & Starcraft, Age of Empires 2 is brought remastered on steam. Now supporting all HD resolutions, reworked terrain, water & building textures/sprites, it definitely looks better than it did a decade ago. Gameplay is left mostly untouched, with the only notable change being a pop cap increase to 500. Multiplayer is handled through steam, meaning (generally) more stable MP, but with the caveat that LAN got removed from this version.

The constant support and existing features makes this a version to get even if you still have your old copy laying around.

85

Endulge in Awesome Nostalgia!

Coolicy | April 21, 2014 | See all Coolicy's reviews »

Do you remember Age of Empires 2 fondly? Do you like Conquerors over Age of Kings? This pack contains both of those games, but remastered to run on modern machine and in HD!

If you're anything like me, you'll find the graphics to be a bit worse than you remembered. However, the graphic actually didn't change, the dev up-ed the resolution so now you'll see much more of the screen than before. This allows for better tactics coordination and better micromanagement.

All the campaigns are still better than ever, with awesome (read: cheesy) voice acting accompanying the opening and closing scenes. It sets the mood well, and makes the journey all the more epic! Refresh your history knowledge of Joan of Arc, Genghis Khan, Montezuma and more!

Perhaps the most underused feature this edition features would be the Steam Workshop integration. You'll find a lot of nice textures/model replacement, but unfortunately there isn't many mods that's ambitious or really worth your while. That said, if other modding communities taught me anything, is to give modders time, and they will deliver amazing content.

However, you're not really getting the full experience. You should definitely be investing in The Forgotten Campaign (which ISN'T included in this pack) as that packs in a couple of tightly scripted and designed campaigns and civilizations. The new additions fit perfectly with the existing content, and even perfectly balanced so not one civilization is overpowered.

This HD version is very well done, and will run very well on modern machines. And if you recall playing (and loving) AoE 2, you won't regret reliving your childhood with this HD pack!

90

Awesome game!

LL1928 | April 21, 2014 | See all LL1928's reviews »

First played this game in 2000, after 13 years, it's still awesome! This game doesn't get old.

75

Solid Remake

Incredzible | April 20, 2014 | See all Incredzible's reviews »

I remember loving Age of Empire 2 when I was younger, it was incredibly addicting and the strategy was great.

Playing this again is a joy, if not all to similar. Apart from slightly improved graphics there are no noticeable changes - for some this will be fine but I would have liked a few more additions or changes to improve upon this amazing game.

Integration of the steam workshop is nice addition too. The game certainly looks nicer - but it isn't amazing and altogether it does look a bit dated.

All of these issues don't take away from this being an amazing game. If you don't have it, get it! If you do have the older version, there isn't much new here you won't already have.

90

A Triumphant Return

pickelsurprise | April 19, 2014 | See all pickelsurprise's reviews »

The Real-Time Strategy game that defined the genre for a generation has returned to us on Steam. Everything you knew and loved about the original game is back, and there are plenty of welcome new additions to go around. At least a couple of AI updates are also in the works, but for now they appear to still be under the knife.

Perhaps the best alterations to the game are the new avenues for community support. Setting up an online game with your friends, or even other random players, has never been easier. On top of that, Steam Workshop integration allows you to easily grab new maps, skins, game types, and dozens of other mods. Most of the updated graphics do look pretty good, but if you want even more eye candy, there are plenty of fan-made graphical mods, and at least one of them is bound to suit your fancy.

This updated release of Age Of Empires II is everything I could have ever wished for, and I definitely have high hopes for the similar re-release of Age Of Mythology. If you're an RTS fan, new or old, definitely check this one out.

90

A True classic

Pwnclub | April 16, 2014 | See all Pwnclub's reviews »

If a 15 year old game is still played and still considered to be a great one, that is a good sign. This is the case with Age of Empires II.

Not much has changed in this "HD reboot", the graphics are still essentially the same and the gameplay is identical. This may upset some, but I find this a positive thing, since I can finally play AoE2 on my PC. The game itself is really fun. It is real-time strategy done perfectly. It is challenging, but enjoyable nonetheless. Since it is on Steam, multiplayer has been added, so now you can fight against your friends.

If you want to play a fantastic RTS on your PC, I highly recommend Age of Empires II HD!