Reviews for Dungeon Siege III

51

Barely Passable

nairume | May 18, 2014 | See all nairume's reviews »

Long time fans of both Obsidian and Dungeon Hack & Loot-style games should have had something exciting to look forward to with Dungeon Siege III, but this sadly would not be the case. Dungeon Siege III is a passable attempt at giving a player a more story focused dungeon hack experience where you can fight monsters and loot gear to your heart's extent. However, saying that it gives a player (singular!) a passable dungeon hack experience, this does not go for a second player. Though the dungeon loot rpg subgenre really shines with cooperative multiplay, and this is also sadly where Dungeon Siege III embarassingly stumbles. Due to the increased focused on story, DSIII imposes weird restrictions on the multiplayer side of the game, making it actively unfun for any second player and rendering the game's promoted revival of cooperative play moot. Given the genre and the marketing push both promoting cooperative play, this failure to actually provide a good cooperative experience basically means that DSIII largely fails at one of its primary goals and never quite recovers from it.

32

Where does Dungeon Siege go?

RakuPL_Markolf | May 14, 2014 | See all RakuPL_Markolf's reviews »

First Dungeon Siege was a revolutionary hack and slash game. 3D world, tons of stuff, issuing orders for companions with their own managable inventory etc. Then came second part which was not a revolution, but a small evolution and still a great game. But about Dungeon Siege 3 I can't say anything warmly. Almost totally console like controls and lack of climate (at least for me), bad mechanics. It makes it all very bad game, especially in h'n's genre.

60

Dungeon Siege 1/2 fans beware, you might not be a fan

cappincrunch | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all cappincrunch's reviews »

This game is limited to 3 classes, but coop is still working so this could make for some great fun.

Unfortunately, this game lost a lot of points for 2 personal reasons:

1) Gender locking/Character Creation: One of my favorite parts of games is creating a character. My least favorite is gender locking. I'm a guy and I want to connect to my character and I can't do that as a female since I have no interest being a female. The only exception I have is if the story revolves around 1 character and the script and design is meant for a female lead (Tomb Raider.)

2) Limited Classes: Guns, Magic, and Melee. That's almost as bare minimum as you can get. Give me an archer, paladin, necromancer, ASSASSIN?! They tried to push all the voice-acted scenes and animations and left out the most important part of a game and it was not worth the sacrifice.

78

Okay game

Freako | Feb. 4, 2014 | See all Freako's reviews »

I feel the game is okay and fine. I personally prefer DS 1 and DS 2 because the gameplay is more polished and has better User Interface.

DS 3 is slightly disappointing partly because the DS3 user interface and the gameplay feels different and not what a fan of DS1 and DS2 would like. Also multiplayer in the game honestly is broken and one should not purchase this game because of the multiplayer. Multiplayer is seriously bad.

I feel one should only buy this game if they are interested to continue the DS franchise. It's a great game fanchise honestly.

80

Fun and enjoyable

ficha13 | Jan. 18, 2014 | See all ficha13's reviews »

Dungeon Siege III is a really fun game, can't compare to the previous ones cause I didn't really play them, but I personally had a lot of fun with it. There isn't a lot i can say about the game, it's a hack and slash game in the vein of diablo and torchlight. If you like those games, this might be your cup of tea. If your a fan of the previous ones, check some other reviews on youtube or something. Some fans really did not like it, so better check a bit more before buying it!

75

Aint Dungeon Siege

Mscigniew | Jan. 4, 2014 | See all Mscigniew's reviews »

Its a very fun game,and it should have a different title because nothing in it in any way resembles the Dungeon Siege franchise.Forgetting about the title we have here,very fun and colorful hackn slash RPG,with some never seen before,fresh characters.The game is very fun experience didn't really care about the story cause gameplay was so fun.There is ton of equipment,and even more enemies to us it on.If you like Hn S genre you gonna like it I did.

62

A good game by it self

drakso | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all drakso's reviews »

The dungeon siege games are RPG games in a fantasy setting. But unlike the first two, dungeon siege 3 tries to advance the game on a whole new level. Some of you, that never enjoyed the older games would see it as a good thing, but the fans of the old games are not really happy with the changes. The game has decent combat system - Far better than the previous games, but it lacks the variety of items, gear and cities. Also the exploring in this game seems to be more linear than before. It is also a lot shorter than you might expect from a Dungeon Siege game. On the other side, the graphics and effects are really good and the soundtrack and overall sound are not bad. It is a very good game, but not representative of the brand.

85

Excellent

Krymm | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all Krymm's reviews »

I know there are a lot of people who don't like this because it is not very similar to the first games. I agree that it is far different but a great game in it's own right. It's more action combat than diablo style point and click like the first 2 and I actually enjoyed the new play style. I played through with the expansion in 3D on my 52" HDTV local co-op using 2 xbox360 controllers. It was EXCELLENT, so much fun to be had.

65

Good game to play with a friend

lagendofdoom | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all lagendofdoom's reviews »

When I first played Dungeon Siege III I had the impression that I play a game which really reminds of "Diablo" which can be considered good and bad. I am not a fan of "Diablo" but I did enjoy playing Dungeon Siege III when I played with a friend, it is obvious that the game was built with concentrating on Coop. The story and characters are pretty much dull but every character is different from the other ( there are only 4 character which you can choose ). The game is very linear, the side missions are a dull and you will forget about story or the purpose of the characters in which clearly it isn't a good game for a single player ( especially because of the idiotic AI ), but nonetheless when playing with a friend the game becomes interesting fun and at times funny, you won't notice how the time will pass as you play with a friend, there aren't any stupid ally AI and you actually can pay attention to the character and story as you play with a friend or ignore it and just go with the side quests or the main quests, most likely you won't even know the difference between them. Eventually you will beat the game and will notice that for an RPG\H&S game it is really short and you will most likely won't ever play it again.

77

Enjoyable hack'n'slah

fRost373 | Sept. 21, 2013 | See all fRost373's reviews »

If you're expecting it to be like the first or second Dungeon Siege you will be disappointed, that's not to say the third installment is bad in anyway, to the contrary I found it too be a very enjoyable hack'n'slash loot fest with a interesting enough story to keep me coming back for more. It's definitely worth your time!

84

Surprisingly enjoyable

arimajeen | Sept. 18, 2013 | See all arimajeen's reviews »

This game is not for everyone and many die hard Dungeon Siege fans will hate it. However, as a stand-alone game, it is rather enjoyable and easily addictive. The controller made this game very enjoyable with regards to a hack-and-slash dungeon crawler. It is easy to switch between powers and move around IF you have the controller. I would avoid the mouse and keyboard completely. I do not regret buying this game or using the controller to play it

91

For the10th Legion!

Guardian412 | Sept. 2, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Dungeon Siege 3 is a game what I hated first, mostly because of the weirdo controls, but by time, as I got used to it, it is became a very-very enjoyable game. With it's great atmosphere it sucks you so easily. The world is well detailed, the story, which is building from the usual fantasy cliches, is well told and has enough twists to keep you entertained until the very end. Dungeon Siege 3 is relatively long game, which has a very good consequence system, similar to Dragon Age: Origins. Here, in the end you'll truly see the result of your game descisions. The game itself is relatively long one. According to Steam it took me 24 hours to beat all the missions, along with the 4-5 hours long DLC, which is a must for this game as it's easily one of the best DLCs on the RPG market, has a similar content and quality like Titan Quest: Immortal Throne. Dungeon Siege 3 is not a brainless hack and slash game, but during many battles, especially during the DLC missions you have to adapt and use different strategies to defeat the enemy. The game itself is beautiful, even by today's standards. You can't create your own character, but the four characters and their skills are great for this game, especially as each four of them will be part of the story and will be your party member by time regardless which character you chose as your main character.

Dungeon Siege 3 is a great game for casual and RPG fans alike. It's not the Dungeon Siege you may know as it's quite different than DS1 or 2, but if you give a chance for this game, if you let it to suck you with it's atmosphere and good storytelling, you'll enjoy the war against Jayne Kassynder and her dreaded army, and the revelations you'll make as the member of the 10th legion.

66

Good, but not as good as the first two

Pandoricai | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all Pandoricai's reviews »

Although the first two games in the franchise are now old by game standards, I would still rather play them than this one. Although I will admit I played Dungeon Siege 3 to the end, there are a couple of problems. I found it possible to complete the whole game using the "roll and hit" strategy, so combat needed work, or even to go back to the old way. Not very open world, but great item/armour as usual

70

Good but could be longer

insanegentlemen | Aug. 14, 2013 | See all insanegentlemen's reviews »

Has very good features such as the two forms each one of the playable characters can choose and focus to sort the players or the situations play mode. Great characters each with there own speciality to play the game and go through the story, with quite a few choices along the way this game can be very entertaining but i would have liked it to be a little longer with more areas and loot to find.

70

Nice Hack'n'Slash but..

simodeso | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

Not the best one, and not the Best Dungeon Siege. It still worth playing because it is entertaining, and it gives hours of fun but i prefer other hack'n'slash. The story is nice and also the gameplay, Graphic is not very good. RPG elements could be improved to make a nice game but.. it's too late! If you loved Dungeon siege 1 and 2 try this one, only to know how the game continues.

64

Not the best Dungeon Siege

ConorEngelb | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all ConorEngelb's reviews »

The first two Dungeon Sieges had a delightful layer of complexity. Dungeon Siege III dumps this is favour of a limited number of abilities, uninteresting loot and forgettable storytelling. It's fun to play, but when compared to its predecessors it falls short.

75

Intuitive fast-paced gameplay with a robust RPG system

suvojit91 | Aug. 8, 2013 | See all suvojit91's reviews »

Dungeon Siege 3 is an Action RPG that seamlessly blends intuitive fast-paced gameplay with a robust RPG system featuring a large selection of abilities. Players can loot to their hearts content but also find the depth of story Square Enix and Obsidian Entertainment are known for creating.

Players will be able to adventure by themselves, on the couch with friends, or online in a fully multiplayer experience. In Dungeon Siege 3 evil has returned to Ehb and the people turn to the few remaining Legionnaires for the protection of the past. As one of the few remaining members of the disgraced protectors of the land, the 10th Legion, it is up to you to rebuild the once great Legion and stop Ehb from falling into darkness. Joined by a group of unique companions, you will travel through the striking land of Ehb defeating all manner of villains and beasts through a combination of heroic abilities, screen shaking magic and pure cunning.

It is also quite long, taking over 20 hours to complete. Dungeon Siege III might not be the game it was a while ago, but it's still a solid experience. Overall, its a very fun experience and I'd definitely recommend it! It's not creed but it's not that bad... Good luck!!

78

A great casual action RPG game

nleibert | Aug. 2, 2013 | See all nleibert's reviews »

Dungeon Siege 3 is a great action RPG game that has some dark graphics and some fun game play that provide a nice well rounded casual like RPG. The graphics/visuals in DS3 are superb a long with the sound so you are easily sucked into the game. Dungeon Siege 3 definitely has taken a step back from the old Dungeon Siege games and no longer has a lot of the options that the older games in the series had but that isn't necessarily bad (the older games in the series had a tendency to get repetitive FAST). The story takes precedent in this game more so then the old ones and I thoroughly enjoyed the story in this game. The major problems I had with Dungeon Siege were probably that the game isn't as open world as most action RPG games are and the story can drag on at points (but it does get much better).

84

Humbly entertaining

Oblaque | July 24, 2013 | See all Oblaque's reviews »

Throughout the years we have been treated mischievously with hack n slash games here and there within our life time. Now, this game took me by surprise. I enjoyed Dungeon Siege 1 and 2 but I LOVE this one. Everything about it has been improved upon since its original release. Much much better graphics and faster combat makes this game an instant buy in my books. Superb story telling as well the choices you make impact what is gonna happen next.

77

Little long in the tooth but still worth playing

lightlurker | July 16, 2013 | See all lightlurker's reviews »

This is a game that is best played with a friend, some of the cut scenes can get a little tedious and speaking to the NPC's can take really long if you want to go through most of the options, having someone to talk to through it makes it easier. The fighting is fun, you essentially get two characters in one when you play the elemental which is enjoyable. I think it is a game that is worth buying when its on sale, and is still pretty decent when it isn't.

76

Dungeon Siege goes casual

darkyhbk | July 6, 2013 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Personally, I loved the first Dungeon Siege and its expansion - the setting, the mechanics, the graphics, the level design - everything. It's one of my favourite hack and slash games. The second was good, but not as good. Now, the third one is quite different from the original formula. You get a single companion alongside you, while the complexity of previous games is gone. You get a rather small number of abilities, and while the upgrade tree is done rather well, the loot is not as vast either. However, this is still a good game, with some rather generic characters but nevertheless, an interesting storyline. The visuals are superb, the music is really suitable and the sound effects all help with the immersion. It is also quite long, taking over 20 hours to complete. Dungeon Siege III might not be the game it was a while ago, but it's still a solid experience.

75

Fun multiplayer game

grunts00 | July 5, 2013 | See all grunts00's reviews »

This game is definitely a hack and slash RPG, so definitely give it a try if you enjoy games like that. I've been having a blast playing through it with my girlfriend.

The game takes a good amount of time to complete, especially if you read all the dialogue.

The only downside to multiplayer is you're all limited to one screen, meaning you can't venture outside the other players field of view.

Overall, its a very fun experience and I'd definitely recommend it!

72

Casual Game

Plasros | June 14, 2013 | See all Plasros's reviews »

Just finished this game and DLC with someone else. This game has an really really good storyline, good voice acting for all of the quests, good look along with tons of items to loot. The most eye catching aspect about this game is that as you play this game you have to make choices that effect how the story plays out. Usually the choices have to do with someone's fate or what action should be taken. Combined with the voice acting this is very impressive. Over all a really good RPG game, looking forward to the other DLC that is sure to come for this game.

The only down sides is that it is not what I would call an open world and in multi-player the "3 legged race" feel with the camera takes getting used too. But if you ignore those two things this is a game that is worth you time. Fully say to anyone who likes the screen shots to get this game.

55

This game doesn't know what it is

Demilisz | June 11, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

Dungeon Siege series was a straight forward hack&slash from the start. Maybe too casual and easy sometimes, but enjoyable. Dungeon Siege 3 was made by Obsidian and the game doesn't know what it is. Is it hack&slash? Too many coversations that slows action down. So maybe cRPG? Nope, too many hacking and slashing. This game tried to be both at the same time and as a result isn't anything. Too bad that a good series probably dies like that.

75

Casual action RPG

kalil | June 9, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Dungeon Siege III does not recover the origins of the series, but that reinvents itself leading to an action RPG "decaf". The changes in the game mechanics have only served to further simplify it, but nevertheless in the dialogue system itself that are more complex and allow create a mature and credible history. In addition, the PC version will note that this is a multiplatform game since control sometimes puzzling and the interface is too simple while uncomfortable.

Gameplay Character control is done by combining the keyboard (E for action, space to defend and roll on the ground) and mouse (left click to attack, right click to move). Sometimes this "mix" is a little confusing, but in the end you get used. The control is not so bad, but I think at this point there should have been to apply classical formulas that worked perfectly (see games like Sacred 2, Titan Quest ... and even DungeonSiege II) without further complications.

Technology The graphics engine is very solid, not detected drops in FPS and PC optimization is excellent. On the other hand the effects (fire, explosion) are nice and fluid and the animations of the characters and enemies. Of course this is not a technology "toe", but it is necessary in a game like this.

Graphics Environments become not photorealistic, but are nicely modeled and ambient. However, this section is unforgivable shortcomings: you are missing a world map that allows us to see our situation and be guided by the environment, the character customization is negligible (most objects have the same design and differ only in their statistics), which subtracts depth customization, especially taking into account that the game's characters are already preset from scratch.

Sound The soundtrack fulfills the role of play and not boring, like sound effects.

Innovation The "Achilles heel" of the game. Instead of innovating developers have simply give "snips" on the mechanics of a typical game hack'n slash, minus overall depth to the game. Perhaps it was a game casualitzation attempt, but clearly it could have been much more than other and have been an excellent game.

72

The downfall

crispy52 | June 7, 2013 | See all crispy52's reviews »

Obsidian entertainment designed this game in the lights of a fun sequel to dungeon siege 2. Coming from the lead designers over at Neverwinter Nights, you would think this game would be nothing short of amazing. Though it isn't. One thing that ties the deal for me is the fact that there are pre selected classes now. Pre selected classes and a sense of being locked into a linear path without one being noticeable. Dungeon Siege and Dungeon Siege 2 were very good dungeon crawlers that added a nice explorable open world adventure within the maps that were there. Although still enclosed in a small area, there were more things to explore. You never really knew where you had to go, you just went off on the path and by exploring, you found out where you needed to be. Which is something that Dungeon Siege 3 doesn't have. It is VERY linear and there isn't much exploration. Loot doesn't even change the way you look. The game is rather short, although it is a nice multiplayer experience. It still lacks in many ways. The other Dungeon Sieges gave you the ability to be a mage that carries a bow and still deals damage. It leveled you based on how efficient you were with the weapons. After spending many hours on Dungeon Siege 1, this game just comes to bring a false sense of hope. If they have plans on a 4th game, they need to do something better with it. Something that screams Dungeon Siege, because this is one of the worst sequels to such a fantastic game. Visually the game looks nice, and the game is still fun. But in lights of the older Dungeon Siege games, the hardcore fans may be disappointed. The game is fun for a short co-op experience as well, and the graphics are again, astonishing. The spell particles are amazing to watch and it is still a rather fun experience. There are just a few downsides based around the games main focus, exploration and looting.

70

Dungeon Siege series goes downhill

lok0812 | June 5, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is no longer the Dungeon Siege series that you used to play, it is nothing like the first two installment. In this one the game is very linear and locked you in a single character story of you choice. It no longer have that dungeon crawling for loots feel anymore. While graphic received an upgrade that didn't help much in terms of gameplay. The game is still very playable but just don't expect the same experience you had back when you played the first two. If you haven't played the first two then definitely give this action game a shot.

81

Same name, but different gameplay.

McDoenerKing | May 28, 2013 | See all McDoenerKing's reviews »

The third installment of Dungeon Siege is very different to its prequels in that it is strongly oriented to using a gamepad. This means that the typical gameplay of a Dungeon Siege title can't be found in this installment, but it is still a very good game for what it tries to accomplish.

The Good: The combat feels fluent and engaging, but you do not need to master the combat until you try a playthrough on hard mode. The menus are very good designed. You can go through them pretty fast and you find all the information you want to have. This also makes comparing your current equipment with found loot very easy. The character progression is quite straightforward and easy to understand. You gain per level up a skill point, which you can use to enhance one of your skills in one of the two possibilities and a point, which is used to level passive abilities. Another thing I genuinely enjoyed was the scenes you will visit. They look pretty good and give this game very much atmosphere. There is a lot of variety in the areas you will visit so it won't be boring to move forward. The cutscenes are very well done. I like this art style very much personally. There is an ingame help which you can view at any point to look up what certain stats and effects do.

The Bad: It is very straightforward. There is almost no exploring and thanks to quest arrow you won't need to think much. It is a bit too easy on normal except certain encounters. Only 2-player couch coop, although 4 would have been easily possible.

Summary: If you got two gamepads available and a friend, you will have a very good experience with this title. Just don't expect a Dungeon Siege 1 or 2 type of gameplay, because this game takes a new direction. I personally liked this title more than the previous two, because DS1+2 were very passive in its gameplay especially the first game, which essentially played itself.

25

What a Shame

cwsox | May 18, 2013 | See all cwsox's reviews »

This 3rd edition of the Dungeon Siege trilogy is a complete mess. It mocks the beauty of Dungeon Siege II's open ended world, easy click to kill controls, and endless combinations of party adventures. Everything I stated is all gone. Dungeon Siege III is chopping, terrible graphics, bad control scheme, and downright no fun in multiplayer. Do yourself a favor and buy Dungeon Siege II and avoid this trainwreck.

42

Disappointing

Infiltrator | May 3, 2013 | See all Infiltrator's reviews »

Being a huge fan of Dungeon Siege, I was really anticipating DS3, after playing it I must say that I am disappointed to say the least, I am quite glad it was a gift and I did not waste my own money on it. On it's own, it's not a bad game, that's why I gave it a 4 and not a lower rating, but its NOT Dungeon Siege in any respect. Yet another fantastic PC game title falls victim to the onslaught of cheap inferior console development. The game is about as "linear" as a game can get, nothing like DS, or even DS2. For a console game, by any other name, it would not be all that bad, not all that good, but not bad. However it's not by any other name, it was Dungeon Siege, and if you came here looking for that series, I am sorry to say, you're not going to find it here.

45

Avoid.

Antix | April 28, 2013 | See all Antix's reviews »

This game has nothing to elevate it above average and to top it all off the control scheme is terrible. The customization is very limited. You only get 9 usable abilities for a character. The loot you find barely changes your character's appearance at all which is basically a bad design decision and flat out laziness in a loot based game. And a playthrough is about 8 hours long.

It's just a mindless and poor game. Do yourself a favor and play Titan Quest or Torchlight instead.

50

Only for hardcore fans of the genre

TartFlavor | April 5, 2013 | See all TartFlavor's reviews »

First off, I have never played a Dungeon Siege game before. I was going into this game on a clean slate and cannot compare it to the previous games.

Dungeon Siege is a fantasy action RPG with lots of loot. In game, you have the option to choose to play as one of four characters. Each character has a different play style. There is a swordsman, mage, elemental (spear & fire), and a rifle/musket character. Here is where the problems begin to arise.

The game is unplayable with mouse and keyboard. Like Dark Souls, this game should have a disclaimer on steam that says using a controller is strongly recommended. Even after switching to my gamepad, the controls still felt a little clunky. The next thing you notice right off the bat is that the camera is in a really awkward top-down position. When going under a doorway, the camera may bob up and down. This caused me to start to get motion sickness, and after a while longer even puke.

A positive thing I found upon entering the game was the graphics style. The game has fairly high-def textures and the graphics add a nice feel to the overall game. The menus, while obviously laid out with a controller in mind, are fairly easy to navigate.

However, as I delve deeper into the game I began to discover even more flaws. While the some of the voice acting in the game is pretty good, the conversations are far too long and dull. Another major complaint is that the combat seemed to be designed more for melee combat than ranged. I played as Katarina who uses a rifle and duel shotguns for combat. In a top-down RPG it is extremely difficult to aim my gun where I want it to shoot.

One of the things I found most annoying was the tutorial. One thing not explained in the tutorial was "how to save your game". This later led me to having to restart the game completely after my first death, about 45 minutes into the game. This at least allowed me to come to terms with the controls, after I had switched from my keyboard and mouse to my gamepad. The main reason I died in the first place was that the game doesn't have a menu that shows you the keybindings for the controller, only for mouse and keyboard.

After a bit of playtime it became clear that playing the game solo was not the way to play it. The game was obviously designed as a co-op game and adapted to become singleplayer. This is shown from features such as non-character specific loot drops and a system where if you die, you'll be able to resume the mission if your partner can make it through. However, if you die in singleplayer you just go back to your last save point. In an attempt to fix this, I tried to find an online game. The only problem was that there weren’t any, as the multiplayer for the game appears to be dead.

Another thing I discovered was that after death, all enemies that you killed respawn. This can lead to you being mobbed by multiple hoards of enemies at once, causing a no-win scenario (yes, it is possible Captain Kirk) and forcing the player to reload an earlier save.

While the game appears nice on the surface, it is riddled with small problems that add up to make it a poor experience overall. I would only recommend this game to someone who deeply enjoys the genre and has a buddy to play co-op with.

69

We're the 10th Legion and we love to borrow ideas

Guardian412 | Feb. 4, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

Dungeon Siege 3 feels just like Space Siege Redux, a game which is intended to be unique, had some great ideas, but its a prime example how things may go wrong during development. While the story starts interesting and also has potential, the gameplay, the awkward and a bit useless console inventory and the linear levels turns the sweet to sour. Just like Space Siege, unfortunately Dungeon Siege III is also trying to borrow many things from other games, while its leaving it's original roots behind. It wouldn't be a problem, if it would work. Unfortuately it doesn't. While the four characters that with you can play are colorful, the art design is great, the music, especially the main theme is very atmospheric, somehow all of them can't create an overall great and unique picture, what the designers intended to create. Something is missing and you'll feel it throughout the game. It is a relatively long, about 20-22 hours, but unfortunately it turns flat in the first hours. Dungeon Siege III would be a good game, if it wouldn't run under the name Dungeon Siege, and if it would be more unique instead of borrowing ideas from other games. But it does, and comparing to the previous episodes, its a bit disappointing. Still it's better than the sci-fi edition of Dungeon Siege, Space Siege, which has fallen into the very same mistakes. However if you've never played with Dungeon Siege before, but if you love Action-RPGs, give Dungeon Siege 3 a try. I won't say that it's the best in the genre, as it's far from it, but it's far from being the worst. If you're patient, the story may drive you from the beginning to the end. Don't expect too much.and you may enjoy it.

69

Dungeon Siege III - review

carlyle | Jan. 14, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Dungeon Siege III played alone is soon to boredom. Not that it hurt, mind you, but after a few hours of play we have seen everything there is to see, scenarios aside, and new stimuli they are found. The same bosses are all pretty similar and have attack patterns that repeat themselves. The balance between the powers of the character and the power of the monsters remains stable throughout the adventure, with the progression of classical elastic guaranteed by the management of the collection of objects and the increase of the level, you can select new skills or grow them in different ways depending on personal taste. From the technical point of view, Dungeon Siege III is very good, with well-shaped characters and enemies, scenes full of details and special effects of a high standard, especially for the representation of power. The graphs of Obsidian have worked a lot on variety, perhaps to compensate for the monotony of the gameplay, and were able to pull a repertoire of scenarios and fantasy creatures impressive.

80

No clue why this game gets so much hate

rstokes | Jan. 11, 2013 | See all rstokes's reviews »

I personally loved the game, the graphics are effective, the action is fun, and the controls translate perfectly to a controller setup (my preferred method of playing any game that's not a FPS or MMO) If you are looking for a fun hack and slash that holds your interest then look no further, Though I cannot speak for co-op as I had never tried it but have heard its poorly implemented.

65

A good action RPG

Lekes | Jan. 7, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

I believe this game's biggest crime was naming it Dungeon Siege III. I found the game enjoyable as an action RPG-lite style game in a vein similar to the Overlord series, Dragon Age II, and perhaps Trine. Think Gauntlet and you'll be on the right track. Its a decent bit of cartoonish fantasy fun that works better with a gamepad than the traditional keyboard and mouse setup. The game features a dialogue/choice system similar to Bioware's. It's not quite as fleshed out, but not quite as pointless either. Decisions you make are neither good nor bad, just different, and will effect how things carry forth from the point they are made. With the excellent Treasure of the Sun DLC the entire game clocked in at 20 hours for the first play through including all but a few side quests. The previously mentioned choice system and four character classes lends the game a fair bit of potential replay value. I recommend giving this game a look.

60

Well... you CAN play it...

alexxkkapricorn | Jan. 2, 2013 | See all alexxkkapricorn's reviews »

Look, I didn't know anything about Dungeon Siege when this third game was about to be released. Therefore, I asked a friend of mine about it and he told me "man, that's a freakin' mess! Too many chars on screen... You can barely even tell who is trying to kill you!". Ok... I took that as a "dude, just... just don't, ok? Just don't..." Little did I know I'd be a bit more stubborn than expected. I played it! Well... I guess I did... You see, nor the gameplay or the story can actually entice you enough. It's not "boring" on the most negative tense of the word. It's just... numb. Yeah... it's numb. You take control of this guy or girl... I just really can't remember that well. And it's not bad memory. It's just because the character, the MAIN character, is just really dull... His lines are boring and too "heroic", as so to speak. He or she (you get to pick that) is just your standard white knight with the "I'm the righteous hero" syndrome. You do get to make one or two important decisions, that will, indeed, mean something to the story. But you are most likely not to remember the story! As for the gameplay itself, they did solve the whole "billion characters onscreen issue", but only because, in this game, you get to carry around just one NPC. And I must say, it is a bit nice that your decisions sometimes do change the way those NPCs see you. But that could be done better... Anyway, still regarding gameplay, it's kind of meaningless... You do get to hack your way through several places, gathering some loot. Every now and then, one good weapon does pop up, but it doesn't happen so often. You are very likely to find just a very good wepon really soon, making the whole "loot-system" rather empty. The visuals and sounds are actually pretty nice. But the voice acting is kind of atrocious, compared to some modern jewels, such as L.A.Noire, Borderlands and even Diablo 3 (if we are, indeed, speaking of loot-games). Well... you CAN play it... just don't expect to have too much fun or too many good memories of the game.

25

Terrible game

999flame | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all 999flame's reviews »

I started playing this game expecting it to be as good as the original Dungeon Siege and its sequel. I was sadly disappointed. The game just feels like a poor attempt to try and cash in on an already-established franchise. In my opinion, Dungeon Siege 3 should have never been made.

50

Pretty, but Unbalanced, Boring, Dumb, Cliched...

Brumbek | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Brumbek's reviews »

Bland, forgettable, generic: this is DS3. Ironically, on paper DS3 sounds good: nice combat, nice graphics, lots of loot, and a story with choices. In reality, the combat is clunky and totally unbalanced. Also worst PC controls EVAR, no joke. The loot and inventory system is tedious. The story is hilarious in how seriously it takes itself...too bad nobody else takes it seriously since the story is SO CLICHED.

But at least the graphics are nice, hah. Truth is Diablo 2, Titan's Quest, and Torchlight all do everything better. DS3 is just a throw-away game. A real shame too...it could have been something special.

67

Repetitive hack n slash

panz3r88 | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Dungeon Siege 3 is a classic hack'n slash game. At the beginning you can choose between four character, each one with its characteristic that will determine the gameplay and the weapons you will use during the game. The classical element of GDR are really simplified in Dungeon Siege 3 and you will pass most of the time fighting against enemies and collecting loot to improve your character. After some times Dungeon Siege 3 will become a repetitive game

57

A well polished bore

nairume | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all nairume's reviews »

Once again, Obsidian Software has been brought in to act as a surrogate developer on somebody else's franchise. Though previous attempts at this have turned out as mostly well written games that were already built on top of a solid foundation, they were also full of game breaking bugs, incomplete scenarios, and other issues. And given that these are also problems with Obsidian's one game designed and developed completely on their own without any prior franchise development, it seems as if these are simply problems with Obsidian themselves. With Dungeon Siege 3, it almost feels like Obsidian set out to prove that they could make a game void of these problems, and they've largely succeeded. Dungeon Siege 3 feels like a complete experience, has little game breaking bugs, and is a well polished game that would prove that Obsidian really is capable if they are given the time and funding.

Problem is that the game is actually a dreadfully boring game with very little imagination put into it. It is just a rote dungeon crawling loot-based game that really does little to stand out from its peers, especially in a time when there is no shortage of them. The plot is uninteresting and the mechanics are drab. Plus, the cooperative multiplayer aspect of the game is effectively broken as far as genre standards go, with the second player really not getting much in the way of a persistent character of their own to work on. What's left is a game that is well polished but poorly designed, suffering the exact opposite of the issues that Obsidian usually faces. It's a passable experience, but there are much better options out there.

65

Casual Hack n Slash

Darder | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Darder's reviews »

I have to admit, I was disappointed by the fact that this wasn't Dungeon Siege successor. It is very different from the second one, and that well is sad. However, you have to see it as a completely new game and forget about the past. Hardcore gamers might not have alot of fun on this hack n slash, but casual gamers are sure gonna be having fun with this game. It is not too hard, visually pleasing, the gameplay is alright and you can play it with an Xbox controller without any problems. If you haven't played any games of this type, try it out.

61

Middling Success

das_regal | Oct. 2, 2012 | See all das_regal's reviews »

Dungeon Siege 3 is another game in the vein of Diablo. You run around an isometric map, kill enemies, get loot, level up, and distribute points to customize your character. There is a serious attempt at story that makes this a terribly linear affair, but there are some some side quests.

The words "not bad" can be used to describe basically everything that Dungeon Siege 3 does, but unfortunately that's not enough to make a game worth playing. There's no real charm or hook to it, every time I play it I almost have to force myself to keep going. I'm not miserably, I'm just not drawn forward by anything.

70

It could be better

ojotas | June 25, 2012 | See all ojotas's reviews »

One of the biggest problem with this game is the port, Dungeon Siege was a PC franchise, why DS 3 have to be a port? If you want to enjoy this game you must have an Xbox controller. The Online coop is good if you are the host of the game, otherwise you will be like the slave of the host. You can help the host during his game but you wont be making decisions, and your character exist in the host game, not in yours, that means if you wanna continues the game alone, you cant. You can enjoy this game playing alone or with a friend offline, thats make the game more fun, doing boss battles harder and fun, you just cant slash the bosses to death you have to coordinate with your friend. The graphics are nice, there are some nice effects and physics.

In conclusion: Dungeon Siege III is a good ARPG, with fun coop offline gameplay and interesting story.

66

An okay game

simonsix | June 18, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

This game doesn't hold the same feel of the original D.Siege series. It has a semi-linear skill leveling mechanism where all playable characters will have, eg.Game started out ok and it's fun to get lots of loot drops. But it reaches a point where you're doing an awful lot of running back and forth looking for another quest.

65

Room for improvement

RaTcHeT302 | Nov. 17, 2011 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

I expected the game to be pretty mediocre but it managed to preserve a little bit the feeling of the first classic game, too bad that the controlls are uncomfortable and it feels really repetitive. There are issues with the camera and overall it doesn't feel as complex and complete as the first game was. The good thing about it is the CO-OP, Online and Offline and it is a game for almost everybody and pretty long too, the story isn't of quality tough and it makes the game not really worth to be bought for the price it has now.

65

Not bad, there are just better

Culthero | Sept. 9, 2011 | See all Culthero's reviews »

As you have seen, Dungeon Siege III Never quite met the expectations set by 1 and 2. Though in all honesty Dungeon Siege isn't a bad game, it just suffers from a sometimes god awful UI and terrible multiplayer elements which fix your camera to a particular point. The controls as a whole aren't bad, the characters vary enough in playstyle to make it somewhat interesting but sadly customization is limited to what sort of weapons you use as far as elemental damage and how you specialize points. As I said at the start, it's not bad, just sadly there are better RPGs that you can play with others of that will even be more fulfilling on your own.

45

Too bad

Kane666 | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all Kane666's reviews »

I was really looking forward to this game. I had enjoyed the other games but this one was a let down.

The whole thing really felt like a console game. Controls were horrible, very little customization. It did look nice but how far does that get you when you're playing with frustrating controls. I really didn't like the items either, I didn't feel it satisfied my looting expectations. I wasn't a big fan of the combat system either but that could be partly because of the horrid controls.

I would only buy this game if it were 75% off or more, even then it is debatable whether it is actually worth it.

62

Such a shame

Ascadia | Sept. 1, 2011 | See all Ascadia's reviews »

Lets get one thing out of the way. Dungeon Siege 3 does not live up to the Legacy of 1 or 2.

The PC controls are terrible and you will need an xbox 360 pad to make it through this mess. The interesting level design has been replaced with a series of corridors, the loot system follows the Mass Effect 2 school of thought rather than the Diablo approach and over all everything feels shallow and unfulfilling.

If you are feeling the loot'em up ARPG itch... this game will not satisfy it.

67

Decent RPG game

chetancs | Aug. 13, 2011 | See all chetancs's reviews »

Dungeon Siege III is decent RPG game developed by Obsidian Entertainment.The graphics is good.The character designed in the game is slightly disappointing but the spell effect in game look awesome. Story of the game is not that much entertaining. Sound effects and music in game are good. In game interface is clean and the menus for the equipping items are also perfect. Multiplayer mode in game is not good. The game has fast combats. And if you play the game with the game pad its more enjoyable.

45

Disappointment

newn | Aug. 6, 2011 | See all newn's reviews »

I am disappointed of this game. That is because I used to play DS1/LoA/2. It's not what it used to be... As many other games - it went down the wrong road. I loved DS1/LoA/2... These were really great games. But this one is completely different - no good story-line, absolutely no customization for your chars compared to the other parts, no control on the other characters... Even the controls felt like it was ported from XboX or PS3. If I'd have to look for a good thing in it - it's the action. Action is pretty good if you dismiss the controls... and basically everything else.

I think it's not worth buying it unless it's on sale. When it'll be on-sale - grab it, especially if you loved DS1/LoA/2. At least out of respect and interest. I give it 45 only of respect towards Dungeon Siege.

80

Good RPG

SaadKhawaja | July 25, 2011 | See all SaadKhawaja's reviews »

Good rpg game but should be played with a gamepad. Works great with PS3 controller with X360 emulation. Also has great graphics, a decent storyline and replayability due to different style of main characters. I give it a solid 8/10

70

Fine Action-RPG

IganX | July 21, 2011 | See all IganX's reviews »

Dungeon Siege 3 is a fine RPG-Action game, not excelling much in its RPG features, but still enjoyable. It has a linear storyline which can take some hours to finish, it has some main characters with their own defined personality and combat tendencies, and a decent multiplayer option. Its main drawbacks are the combat system, seems to simple, (which can be an advantage for people who like the kind of game), and the feeling that this game has been developed more for consoles than for PC, due to some control problems that may exist. Overall, the graphics are great, and the technical requirements are fine, so the game is a must have for fans of Dungeon Siege series and for people who like a hack n slash rpg type of game.

70

Fairly good rpg

Lancelot652 | July 20, 2011 | See all Lancelot652's reviews »

Dungeon siege 3 is a good action rpg but doesn't have a very in dept character customization compared to other rpgs it's more so a hack and slash like Diablo then a rpg but still very enjoyable and simple combat.It seems once you get your companion it gets very easy. Also for those that don't have a 360 controller or game pad that it doesn't control well because it was made for consuls in mind. Id say its for buying if you can find it cheap somewhere because of how short it is and not very much re-playability.

50

Let Down

hotmando1 | June 24, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

This was a huge let down for me. You could only have 1 out of four characters. ( But I suspect massive character dlcs on way) The controls felt like they were made for consoles. The action was okay and felt like it was designed for console players in mind yet again. Story was pretty generic. Basically, you meet the other three characters along the way and you kill the oh so bad boss. The end. Worth getting as a time sinker. Worth getting on a sale. Not really worth full price. Unless your a fan of course.

78

Keyboard problems

Arthan | June 22, 2011 | See all Arthan's reviews »

Good action-RPG, very good indeed but it has a big problem. It's not possible to redifine keyboard keys to control the game so you'll only enjoy it if you have a pad to play with. It's a great game but it was made for PS3 and 360 and just copied for PC without taking care of one of the most important thing, the keyboard.