Reviews for Post Apocalyptic Mayhem

80

Pretty Good

lajvjjajajaaaa | July 31, 2014 | See all lajvjjajajaaaa's reviews »

Post Apocalyptic Mayhem also know as PAM is my favorite racing game. There are tons of vehicles to choose from and to fight with. Your car have limited turbo which is a green line. Each car have it's 3 weapons blue, red and yellow some are destructive like the explosives some are just to slow your opponents. Pick items from the ground by driving on them to activate the weapons. The more cars you kill the better and the faster you are the better. There are challenges and achievements, which you'll need friends for. The game is worth your money, but if you can get it on sale.

80

Only game where you can 'kill' other cars

grhakerck | June 13, 2014 | See all grhakerck's reviews »

A fun game, my not look like it at first, but when you figure it out, it is kinda fun. It is a racing game set in a post apocalyptic time. All of the landscapes look nice, cars are also fine. Sometimes, I get bothered by a little bit unfair AI, but I got used to it soon and learnt some tricks to manipulate with bots. You have a nice choice of different cars and maps, so you can't easily get bored. Also (this is very important for some people), this game has trading cards and achievements.

60

Simply fun.

Furrek | June 8, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

I don't remember when was the last time I played simply racing game - where you just pick one of the cars, pick the map and just race, trying to be first or trying to make your enemies fail. It's that kind of game. Every vehicle have it's own special attacks that you can use on others. There are few maps that are different themed. There is a nice, snow one, that greatly fits on christmas! There is also multiplayer mode, so there is 6 times more fun - you can play up to 6 players in total. The only thing I think this game is missing is local coop (split screen). It could be a nice things, old racing simply for fun games had this options. Graphics and music from this one aren't anything special but well, those aren't the most fun things in game like that. If you are looking for something simply, even to play few minutes a day, this game is for you.

80

destroy everything in your path

Assorted_sp | May 5, 2014 | See all Assorted_sp's reviews »

When you see the 44 metascore you might think this game is broken, but if you actually read the reviews you'll find out that the reviewers always complain about the same 3 issues: 1st, they were too dumb to notice that this game is NOT a simulator, it's a mayhem arcade. So, complains about the "unrealistic physics" are just stupidity. It's like complaining that Mario Kart is not realistic! 2nd, the game is too short. Now, it is true that there are too few tracks and too few cars, but the game actually runs very well with no bugs at all and it is actually fun for some fast destruction racing with friends. And 3rd, the graphics are not top quality. But in my opinion, they are good enough. (Actually, I just can't understand why people give so much importance to graphics on games. Fabulous graphics may impress you at first, but after some minutes you get used to it and your entertainment will actually rely much more on other aspects, not on the graphics, unless it's so bad that it hampers gameplay, which is rare and definitely not the case here) Though there are better titles out there, it's 44 metascore is simply absurd. This is not the first time I see a totally misleading metascore. I can't trust it anymore after this one.

70

Smashin' and Dashin'

HaonofRemlu | May 1, 2014 | See all HaonofRemlu's reviews »

When I got this game I thought it would be bad, because of how it looked, but I actually played it one day and the game is actually really good, I may have lost a time or two, but the game is really fun once you get the hang of it.

67

Pretty fun

Jokin93 | March 30, 2014 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

As far as racing games go this is a pretty basic game… That being said, it is surprisingly fun to play! The vehicle choices are all well planned out, each having its own stats and weapon variety, so the diversity in the vehicles is there… The tracks are where things fall a little flat, because I think there is around 4 tracks and 1 festive track which is simply a re-textured version of one of the other tracks, so I feel there could have been more content in this regard. The handling of the cars does vary between the vehicles and at times it can feel quite flighty, believe me you will have a favorite car.

Overall it’s a fun game if you’re looking for a simple kart-esque racing experience! Unfortunately, the multiplayer does seem to be dead most of the time, so that is worth keeping in mind!

77

A lot more fun than you'd think!

AkiMatti | March 21, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

This game might not look like much from the screens but the gameplay is actually pretty fun! It is like Mario Kart but in a Fallout setting! Totally overthetop mayhem with easy controls.

There are 3 ways to attack with each vehicle, and each vehicle is different. You win by fragging other cars, not by finishing first. Powerups are gained often so there is constantly explosions going on.

Really entertaining for short periods of mayhem when you need it.

70

Fun multiplayer if you have people to play with

bibora | March 20, 2014 | See all bibora's reviews »

That's the major flaw with this game. There's nothing much to do besides playing it multiplayer. Single player is basically playing vs AI in a number of different tracks to get the best score. There's no career mode, nothing much to unlock, it's just for a quick spins and blasting away opponents. In multiplayer, however, this game can be a blast. Grabbing the same premise as single player game, you are thrown in with other players and it's time to go wreck others as much as possible. It delivers quite a lot more fun this way. However the game lacks players. Due to the lacking different things to do, the game just became a bit repetitive and I guess people eventually stop playing it. Could have been a great racing game...

69

Frag and drop

Albys66 | Feb. 22, 2014 | See all Albys66's reviews »

A fast-paced racing game set in a futuristic world looking decadent. Despite being an indie -game, the graphics has a very respectable and a good optimization. It 's very pleasant to travel on tracks formed between the devastated city, desert areas and airports, where the jumps and explosions are always around the corner. The competitions are based more on the armed clash between the competitors. We are therefore not dealing with a game like the old Pod, where the final result was given by the performance. Here what matters are the frag, obtained with three types of weapon (front, side and back) for each different vehicle and really good for originality and effect. The many achievements to earn and provide fun right degree of challenge from the beginning, thanks to the three levels of difficulty present. Unfortunately, there are also drawbacks: one of these is the limited number of tracks. Even the repetition of everything you may bored after a few hours of play. Finally there are some bugs that often lead to sudden crashes with the game back to the desktop. But if you love the spectacular games, PAM will be able to strike at the heart and keep you company for a few nights.

65

Just another mayhem racing game...

ColdFire1511 | Feb. 17, 2014 | See all ColdFire1511's reviews »

You may love this game, or you may not. Its core is a combination between racing and destruction which means that the speed alone won't let you win the race, which is not really a new concept they're plenty of racing game with these ideas already, I can say that it's like an old book with new cover.

There're many vehicles that you can choose whatever that you see fit, each one has their own abilities, advantages, and backdrops. Now about the tracks, I have to say that they're well designed. When you try another path of the same track, you'll find something new that you might not imagine before. I found maybe 2 backdrops of this game. First, some abilities of some certain cars are too overpower, it gives the other players almost no chance to win. Second, I feel that the number of tracks are too small. It's really fun in the first few hours, but after that it's get boring.

So overall, to put it simply, if you're not get too serious with it, It's a good racing game to kill some time.

78

Old School Racing

xiluxpain | Jan. 13, 2014 | See all xiluxpain's reviews »

Although at first glance, this looks like a racing game, it is actually anything but that. Racing actually does nothing but end the current round. What truly matters when it comes to Post Apocalyptic Mayhem is causing absolute mayhem.

When I first started playing, I was looking for a simple game to pass the time. This game delivered just that. Post Apocalyptic Mayhem offers a variety of vehicles, each with their unique set of weapons, each with their own style to kill. When I say, "Kill," I mean kill. The sole objective is to destroy the other vehicles and players.

While it is needless to say this game is more fun with people you know, or multi-player, I have found myself playing this game for hours and even going through the trouble of purchasing the DLC that adds two other vehicles.

It is an empowering feel to destroy the other vehicles, especially with the weakest of them all. If you think because you are a player, it will be a walk in the park, you couldn't be more wrong. It actually takes analysis, careful planning, and perfecting each individual vehicle to win the game.

Hopefully, you'll make it to the finish in one piece.

70

Decent indie game with good graphics

furious_gamer | June 4, 2013 | See all furious_gamer's reviews »

This post apocalyptic concept of racing is good, but this ain't about racing alone. But if you love destruction derby kinda games, you may like it. This game is good for after playing for days, i don't feel like playing it again. But it is a decent indie game and if any offer is there, grab it up.

65

Post Apocalyptic Fun

Shav | May 31, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

Bought this game for a really low price, and decided to give it a try. It is certainly not a game that could be compared with the top racing series like NFS, Motorstorm or Dirt, but for just few $$$ you can't go wrong getting it.

The game features arcade and challange modes. In arcade you have single races with cars and tracks of your choice. The apocalyptic challenge mode on the other hand is a serie of continued races. While the game gets boring after few hours it is still fun to play during that time. The good-looking graphics and multiple cars with various weapon are a nice addition to the fun gameplay.

76

Fun but gets repetitive

Cooberstooge | Aug. 26, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

PAM is one of those games you'll love right from the start. It's simple, looks good, and runs great - it's also loads of fun. Each vehicle is unique, and they all handle quite differently from one another. The tracks are nice and varied, with lots of jumps, dips, and drop offs. The AI cars offer up a good challenge, and sticking with them too long during a race is a surefire way to get cooked.

Racing online with your friends is where PAM truly shines, and half the time one person will make it to the finish miles ahead of everybody else, because you're too busy blasting the heck out of each other.

The game does start getting old fairly soon, though. Tracks can be memorized, and slamming into the invisible walls that litter them can quickly lead to ceasing of play. If you can look past its faults, Post Apocalyptic Mayhem is a nice little racer to pull out between waiting for the next big title on the horizon, and a good source of cheap fun with your mates.

73

Cool indie style game

NoLove3827 | Aug. 2, 2012 | See all NoLove3827's reviews »

Pretty cool, somewhat like a cross between Zombie Driver and Flatout. Good graphics and gameplay. Should run on any computer practically.

50

Explosive and fun!

Mixters | May 19, 2012 | See all Mixters's reviews »

I actually bought this game from you guys a couple of months back. I played it for like 2hours maximum. It was fun and entertaining but it slowly began to bore me more and more. The game is too repetitive and there's nothing new going on.

I tried to play multiplayer a while back too but there were no servers available so that was a bummer. The graphics and gameplay are mediocre but I'd hoped that they would give the game a more dynamic feeling and add more attacks and such things.

Overall it could have been a good game, but unfortunately it wasnt. Grab it if you feel really bored a day or two.

65

Smash em all !

arkantos | May 1, 2012 | See all arkantos's reviews »

Cars + Guns = Profit. Take out all the enemies with powerful guns and tricks, be ready also to meet not easy wins against the other participants, as you want to take them down, they do the same to you !

50

An average Indie arcade racing game

FreeMan85 | Nov. 17, 2011 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

I have the chance to try this game on Steam's free weekend. Well, it's not the best racing game, it's just an average Indie arcade racing game. The name tells you post-apocalyptic and that what gives you. Old skool a bit rusty custom maded racing cars what usually you see in post-apocalyptic movies like Mad Max or Resident Evil: Extinction. School bus, jeep, truck... you name it, every car has own special ability, speed... the usual. You can play solo with bots or online against other players. There's a certain lap counter, but you can also destroy other vehicles. You see yellow, red, green and blue barrels with all a specific pick-up power. You can use against other players with WASD buttons. Left, right, center and back powers. Barrels, rockets, mines the usual stuff. Honestly I'm a bad driver, I can't use them when I have one, and I don't have one when an enemy vehicle approached me. The game graphics and sound are OK. Nothing special. I feeled the bloom effect is a bit overused, like someone used a flashbang or something. Of course you can turn it off. The maps are good, canyons, airport... well, it was used to be an aiport and similar maps.

This game is fun, but only if you search for a fun Indie and arcade type racing game. Don't have great expectations, this isn't a simulator or high-end graphics.

40

Ultimately Disappointing

Endyo | Aug. 24, 2011 | See all Endyo's reviews »

I originally purchased this game because I've always enjoyed those battle racers and car combat games from the classic Mario Kart to the more recent Split/Second, so I assumed this game would fit somewhere in there. However, I was destined for disappointment.

The game looks and plays well enough, but it honestly seems like they just didn't want to finish it. The gameplay at first appears to be about racing with combat to mix things up, like so many enjoyable titles. However, you soon find out that racing to win seems impossible and it's actually about getting the most destructions. The whole racing aspect is irrelevant, yet you still race and still finish. But there aren't laps... just a timer. It's as if they started making a racing game, stopped, then made a combat game like Twisted Metal. The problem is that it doesn't really deliver on either. They have some great car designs and their abilities are fairly unique and entertaining, but after playing for an hour or so you have to wonder why you should continue.

I don't know why the developer dropped the ball so hard on this game, but it had a lot of potential that really got washed away poor production without any visible reasoning.

63

They could do more

apollo3d | May 30, 2011 | See all apollo3d's reviews »

Post Apocalyptic Mayhem is a title unambitious and without pretensions of originality. Turns out to be, in fact, a classic racing game and arcade fighting aboard of improbable vehicles fully armed. Not very rich in content. The tracks are only three and there are six vehicles. The six vehicles are well differentiated from each other as to speed, manageability and type of weapons, so you will tend to get attached to this or that vehicle, trying to get the best out of them.

The strong point of the game is definitely the post-apocalyptic setting based on radioactive deserts and cities in ruins, in which the races will be held. The graphics isn't bad, but the first thing I did, was disable the Blur. It is incredibly exaggerated and unreal, making it, at least to me, difficult to understand the correct direction to take, especially not knowing the maps.

The weak point of the game is the physics. Many times it’s as if there wasn’t gravity.

Unless you take a slow and heavy vehicle, you will find the race really frustrating. In fact, on the slightest contact, you will spin and you will be jumped in the air. Even with a small and easy bump, you will be literally thrown into the air. This problem is the main cause of accidents. In fact, losing control of the vehicle, you will be easy prey for the opponents.

It’s a game designed primarily for online mode. The single don’t offers a huge challenge, even to hard. It will happen more than once that the opponents will not keep your gait. So you will have inevitably to slow down and wait to destroy them to increase your score.

The absence of contents could result the online mode to die very soon. It’s hoped maybe the coming of some free DLC and some patches that could improve PAM.