Reviews for The First Templar DNS

55

COOP was the only reason

xydanus | Jan. 16, 2013 | See all xydanus's reviews »

I gave this game a chance, because i do like COOP games and games that are set in medieval times. First thing you notice, is that First Templar is low budget game. Animations are pretty bad and combat is clumsy as it is boring. Atmosphere is kinda medieval but the world seems somehow empty or soulless.

Since this is not a fantasy game, enemies are humans with swords and bows. AI is also pretty dumb. Player may sneak past enemies easily.

So, First Templar is also cooperative game. Other player may join your quest to find the Holy Grail. However it may be hard to find someone that wants to play this game.

51

mediocre action game

rstokes | Jan. 11, 2013 | See all rstokes's reviews »

Everything about this game just screams "average". From the controls to the combat, everything is just plain "meh". It truly feels like a game released simply for the sake of releasing something. Hits dont have any feel of real contact and the visuals are behind its own time. Worth a pass

66

The First Templar - review

carlyle | Jan. 6, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

This game is an attempt, brave but naive to imitate Assassin's Creed. It is precisely in fighting emerging thickness The First Templar, and the real difference with Assassin's Creed. Unlike the Ubisoft series, in fact, Celian and Marie can also be defeated in a fight, especially when opponents go down in the most cunning, with shield or heavy armor. Our character can perform different combos, parry the blows of the enemy or discard the side to avoid them when they can not be stopped, perform spectacular moves that fall into the category of critical attacks and finish with a blow opponents to the ground. The levels are mazes, puzzles and anything else they can happily break the linearity of the action, while not shining because of the complexity of the puzzle and revealing simple. About the technical realization of the game, from the quantitative point of view is worth a praise, but in the same way that can not be dated when compared to current productions. Scenarios can not be explored far and wide as in Assassin's Creed, rather they are full of limitations and invisible barriers, alternating textures little inspired and a choice of colors is often questionable.

30

Avoid like the Black Plague

SugarSoap | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all SugarSoap's reviews »

I played roughly 10 minutes of this and couldn't take it anymore. I had hopes this would be good for coop but the level designs, characters and interface all need refinement. The mini-map for example is comprised of three dots; one represent the player and the other 2 representing primary and secondary objectives. The problem is that I think every other game I've played had a better looking mini-map. I doesn't even show buildings or terrain changes which I find very strange. The level designs might have been OK if the combat wasn't so boring. Granted every now and then your guys can perform executions which are cool but from what I could see the sword play was going to be the same for the whole game. Seeing as it was less than enjoyable now I wasn't looking forward to the monotony all the way through. The Characters might have been good if the cut-scenes worked as they should. The second cut-scene I was shown lacked audio as well as some dodgy visuals showing the lower half of most of the characters involved. Whether this was caused by a problem my end I don't know but I am running a pretty decent system so I suspect the problem lies with the game programming. All in all the game could have been much, much, much better than what it is if the developers took more time in the development to refine features, graphical interfaces, and the game-play mechanics. I'm sorry Kalypso but you dropped the ball on this one. P.S. I'm rating this 30/100 as the game with a little more time could have been really good.

65

Worth a shot

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Good game, fighting system is enjoyable, graphic is nice, animations are smooth, i do not spot any serious bug and no crashes. Some complaints goes to bad voice acting and wrong sound positioning (also bad volume), some scenes has wrong camera setting, the same faces, maybe simple storyline, no physics interaction with barrels, woods, and so, but nevertheless, it is good game for 7. It reminds me some of Blade of Darkness, which was slightly better game. The bad... Were this game made 5-10 years ago, it would be awesome. Unfortunately, there are many aspects of the game that look aged and tired.

65

Good game, not a masterpiece

panz3r88 | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

The First Templar is an action game where you take the role of a templar that is searching the Holy Graal. The story of the game is quite boring and not so original. The best element of the game is the fighting system: you can use single attacks and combos with different weapons and acquire new skills during the game if you accumulate enough XP. In the various levels there are some collectibles to get for extra experience and objects. The graphic of the game is really bad: this is a recent game and looks like a ten year old game There are many action games better then the First Templar, but if you have finished them all and you have nothing to play you can buy it.

86

A nice, solid medieval romp

Cooberstooge | Sept. 10, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

If you're not going into this one expecting the budget version of an Assassin's Creed clone, you'll find quite a bit to like about The First Templar. The story is good, the characters fairly interesting, and the setting quite well fleshed-out.

The graphics are quite good for an older title, and make you want to explore off the beaten path, and there's a few areas here where you can - despite being channeled to your objectives, movement never really feels all that restrictive. Fighting especially really shines, with little of that blocky animation switching so common in most hand to hand combat titles.

The game controls very well, and as you upgrade your party throughout the adventure, new attacks and movements quickly become second nature to the player. Mouse controls work well with a trackball, too, which is nice for those of us who use them.

All in all, quite a satisfying little game, and something definitely worth considering if you like the setting of medieval times, but are getting a little bored with leaping from rooftop to rooftop.

11

If you have a friend to play with, the game will be funny...

Zinzun | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

So this is a horrible game. Truly, it has no interesting plot, it's an on-rail action, with poor action and bad character writing. You can upgrade your skill, but they don't serve nothing. Graphic is simply old, soundtrack is non-existent. I have the retail version of this game (with a free DLC included) which I obtained for FREE buying another game thanks to a promotion, and I toss this game into garbage becase it is no fun. No fun at all.

72

A Common Game, like an assasins creed

kalil | Aug. 17, 2011 | See all kalil's reviews »

The First Temple is a very intriguing game that comes from the Bulgarian study Haemimont Games, also known for his work on more strategic games like Tropico Imperium Romanum or 3.

Is set during the First Crusade and focuses on the Knights Templar, but also the game is also treading on territory already explored by the famous saga of Ubisoft Assassin's Creed, so he has a difficult job on their way to success.

Therefore, The First Got Templar offer the best action adventure genre still has a long way to go? Find out.

History

The First Temple is set during the First Crusade and the Knights Templar shows and are starting to get weaker and weaker ties with the church because of the emergence of an influential Inquisition and many other problems of the Middle East.

Although this environment has already been explored by the franchise to Ubisoft Assassin's Creed, in which the murderers had to stop the Templars controlled the world, this new game features the Templars as the good guys.

The main character is a young knight named Celia, who uncovers a vast conspiracy within the Church and try to find the mythical Holy Grail.

During his travels throughout Europe and the Middle East will partner with different characters, from brothers to a girl Templars accused by the Inquisition for practicing witchcraft.

While some parts of the story are very close, The First Templar is able to offer a good story with many surprises that will keep players entertained during his campaign for 9 / 10 hours, depending on what is done or explore in the game.

Gameplay

The First Templar has no gameplay too different from the genre "hack and slash," while at the same time providing some elements of Assassin's Creed and other games, because you can use swords, shields and daggers to kill the murderers through attacks chained or special tricks.

When you fight, you can make a very powerful movement that will leave your opponent vulnerable to further attacks by your comrades.

The gaming experience is essentially cooperative, so that Celia will always have a companion at his side. Players can go through as one of the two when they want in order to combine the two different attacks to defeat the toughest enemies.

Unfortunately, unless you play with a partner or even a stranger, you'll be disappointed to see that the computer-controlled comrades will come to be easily damaged, so you have to take a look from time to time in their lives but you should not forget about your health.

If you are injured, as there is any chance to regenerate health, have to withdraw from the fight and return to the nearest tree with fruit or the nearest water source to gather life-force. If the partner falls, you must go to him, and if you have enough energy you can restore your health.

You can update your skills in a special display with talents and abilities in a cross of the Knights Templar, which is divided into four parts, to increase stamina or health, one to improve resilience, while the other two parts focus on various types of attacks.

Each character has his own cross of skills and experience so that you can unlock many special abilities for the world and use them as best you into the story.

You can also increase your skill levels of the game exploring and discovering pieces of cloth, which allow you to complete outfits that include certain benefits in combat. Some even hide special weapons such as swords or shields.

As you go through each level to try to meet the objectives of the history, the game also adds additional challenges, such as helping to NPCs, finding things or rescue others.

A pleasant surprise is that The First Templar open levels are quite large and allow you to explore without a lot of invisible walls, so your route is not too well defined. Unfortunately, the mini-map on the top left corner does not show you what's in your environment, but it just shows you you, your partner and the position of your goals. This surely recoil at some levels are too vague because it does not know if your target is behind a wall or is hidden under your position.

During the game some sudden blockage can occur, which has happened to us when trying to play it in Ultra Quality mode, despite having a very powerful PC. Blockages are more common when traversing a map, so that the transmission of map elements may have been more direct to hide these transitions.

Just like in Assassin's Creed, the game also has a mechanism of camouflage by which the game's characters try to avoid attracting the attention of many enemies through stealth. Apart from the graceful posture, mechanics camouflage works well in some cases, but most times it is very annoying because you have to do to progress. You have many options during times of camouflage, as it is trial and error, and need to go undercover and eliminate enemies until the game decides that you can use your normal attacks again.

Graphics and audio

In terms of graphics, The First Templar could not aspire to the status of game Triple-A, because the graphics do not have too much quality in some cases. The animations are fluent in the gameplay or combat, but during the cinematic characters look very bad. Graphics are good overall, but much lower compared to other games this year.

With regard to the sound, the game has a good soundtrack, but the voices had to be more prepared. Though the voices are generally good, the dialogues are not up to par, and no change of tone or express any emotion.

There are some speeches given by Celia are not bad, but they are few and large distances between them.

Conclusion

Overall, The First Temple is a pretty decent game, but it conveys the feeling that there are certain aspects that should be improved, including graphics, code or dialogue of the game, though it is still a good action / adventure.

While not the murderer of Assassin's Creed, The First Templar certainly entertain the players, especially if you have friends to play with and explore its interesting history.

80

Good fun unknown Gem.....

Cronik2k | Aug. 3, 2011 | See all Cronik2k's reviews »

I bought this not expecting much when it was on sale and I was pleasantly surprised at how fun it was. The combat is very enjoyable with alot of different moves and animations which you unlock with loot on a skill tree. The combat isn't hack and slash in the sense you cant go charging in there pressing the same buttons going crazy not getting hit, the a.i. will hit you and they will do alot of damage they aren't totally useless. You will need to parry, block, dodge, reverse and think about your attacks for different enemies and learn the patterns of the different enemies. Great fun co-op which I highly recommend doing as the A.I. bot really isn't upto much keeps dying but its a good job you can keep reviving him or her. Its a decently sized game as well 20 Chapters at 20 different locations, me and my m8 played it through on hard and it took us around 15hrs. Theres some fun puzzles and Indianna Jones like Temples where you have to avoid all kinds of traps and obstacles which was a good change up in gameplay. The graphics look good on high settings nothing ground breaking but good enough, the animations for executions kills are good but the voice acting in the cut scenes will make you cringe however the story of the game is decent enough. Basically well worth checking out this game if your on the fence whether or not to.

54

Like Dante

hotmando1 | July 19, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

This game can't help but remind me of Dante's Inferno. It's gameplay and feeling feels so similar yet so distant. Mainly because of the horrible dialogue and horrible level design. Combat feels smooth and ongoing just like Dante's infenro. But the level design..is really just bland. It's not very memorable and unique to fight in. I just didn't get the vibe that other games give me. Anyway..the AI in this game varies. i don't understand why can't all your enemies can't just rush forward and kill together. It always has to be a 1v1 huh? Your companion ai is bad. Play with a friend. The companion ai does nothing but the most simple things. Sometimes it'll neglect your health and let you die. Other times it'll simply die reaching you. Visual quality is good and bad at the same time. You'll find that it's average with it's cons and pros. Look at the texture quality and fx quality and you'll see what I mean. anyway..an okay good if its for an okay price.

73

Nothing special

JackFive | June 2, 2011 | See all JackFive's reviews »

The First Templar is basically an hack’n’slash, but it has also a very small GDR component: finding hidden objects around the map or gaining experience in combat, you will unlock equipments, life, strength or weapons. In the game there are also small puzzle game, but really basic, like "unlock the door" or "lower that bridge". The gameplay behind the game puts us in control of two characters at a time. I recommend to play with a friend, since the AI of the partner isn’t the highest level, in fact, will happen several times that he will die in idiotic ways possible. But luckily, there will not be gameover until we will not be both killed. The different types of enemies, will force us to implement different tactics to knock them down. Colored icons will warn us about the blow launched by the enemy, so we will have the time to shield or dodge it.The graphics, considering that the game was released about a month, it is ugly. The effects, like fire or smoke, are ridiculous. There are some beautiful environments, but it is not surprising that much. Not even for the music the game shines. The story behind the game is fascinating and full of surprises, we must find the Holy Grail during the Crusades. So, if you don’t look for the graphics at all costs, I recommend it, but at a lower price.