Reviews for Wolfenstein: The New Order

95

Make Nazis Fear

LordAristocrat | July 31, 2014 | See all LordAristocrat's reviews »

Unexpectable return of great legend! One the best games of 2014! Cool, cool and again COOL! For all FPS lovers it will be an incredible addition to the gaming collection! Cut story short, the New Order is a game about american soldier whose purpose is to destroy Nazi's regime and free world from Germain expansion. The best side of new Wolfenstein is a hurricane gameplay: kill enemies everywhere, use old and modern weapon, travel through amazing locations. Wolfenstein The New Order is an excellent first-person shooter which makes you to feel spirit of oldschool! MUST HAVE!

100

The return of the first-person shooter.

PrimalHunter779 | July 28, 2014 | See all PrimalHunter779's reviews »

Wolfenstein: The New Order is a follow up to the mediocre Wolfenstein game from 2009, which didn't really stand out against other WWII games and just generally failed to innovate. Coming from the team responsible for games like The Darkness and The Chronicles of Riddick: Escape from Butcher Bay, I had very high hopes for a polished shooter with a riveting story. I can happily say I was not disappointed; from start to finish, Wolfenstein: The New Order is expertly crafted and memorable in every way. You are BJ Blaskowics, US soldier and steadfast killing machine, tasked with the elimination of General Deathshead. Standing out from previous game, BJ's character is extremely well characterised and likeable, supported by strong voice work and character movement/modelling. All of the characters in this game have excellent voice acting, and this really supports the role of the villains in the game; characters such as Frau Engel and Deathshead were memorable because of the terrifying non-combat encounters reminiscent of scenes from Inglourious Basterds. Gameplay generally borrows from thw work of Quentin Tarantino, with plenty of gory explosions and dismemberment. The shooting mechanics are tight and refined, including a wide range of weapons which can all be dual wielded for maximum carnage. This works fairly well and allows the player to mix up the gameplay whenever it is desired. You can also take cover and peer over obstacles. You also have a mostly non-regenerating health bar, and there is more empasis on old school mechanics like health-kits and armour pickups. The refinement of somewhat simple mechanics means that this game is a successful blend of old and new age shooters, meaning the game never grows boring and even breathes fresh life into the genre. The levels are less restricted than other games of the genre, and you are actively encouraged to explore in order to find new weapons and unlocks. New features of the game such as perks (new upgrades unlocked by performing specific tasks) are not necessary to the game, but provide an interesting addition for completionists. The visuals are also quite polished, and the game is often stunning to observe. However, there are occassionally texture pop-ins and slow loading textures, which can get distracting over the course of the game. Despite this, most of the game retains decent visual quality. Overall, Wolfenstein: The New Order is an entertaining, over-the-top shooter that surprises you with a quality story and characters you'll really invest in. The high quality of the game ensures a definite return for the series, and has given me high hopes for both this franchise as well as DOOM; Machine Games has lived up to their reputation and delivered a fantastic game not unlike The Darkness and Riddick. Excellent and surprising. 10 / 10.

90

Damn, that was awesome.

Duracell410 | July 22, 2014 | See all Duracell410's reviews »

Wolfenstein is back, baby! At a 10 hour duration (just for the story, not 100%), it has been the most fun I've had in a shooter for years. I was also very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the story. Amongst the frantic arcade blitz-every-Nazi-on-screen, there's a nice plot at play.

GGWP, MachineGames. Looking forward to your next title.

96

The New Order - A refreshing new Take!

khawaja07 | July 19, 2014 | See all khawaja07's reviews »

Wolfenstein - The New Order ladies and gentlemen, the game which sets the bar for future First Person Shooters to come. In all Wolfenstein games i've played so far, i have never seen B.J "Badass" Blazkowicz wreck as much Nazi scum as in this game!

It surprisingly features a great touching story of B.J's rebellion against the Nazi atrocities, which in my opinion which was really great to play through, it also excels in what other first person shooters these days don't quite succeed in - No Regenerating HP, amazing looking textures, wielding two weapons at the same time while wrecking havoc among the Nazi's, classic Shooting battle royals in a finely created destructible environment which is really fun to play in and what not. It has quite a few difficulty levels which i had a ton of fun playing through as this game unlike the past entries involves a really nice bit of replayability as well. It however can seem extremely hard on some levels and on some, a smooth ride.

I really was surprised to see that it contains a really nice soundtrack to listen to, which in the past Wolfenstein games was absent.

Overall, totally my game of the year so far! totally worth its price! Its a great treat to play in all of its HD glory and at max. settings on my PC at 60 frames per second.

Cannot wait to play what Machine games works on in the future!

90

A reboot done right.

pixel | July 17, 2014 | See all pixel's reviews »

Wolfenstein The New Order really surprised me. I went into it expecting just another fun shooter but what I got was one of the best games I've played in 2014.

The game-play has what you would expect from a shooter, satisfying guns, explosions, blood and gore. Then there's stealth which the series of Wolfenstein has not had like this before. You can choose how you want to tackle a situation either guns blazing or sneaky with multiple paths you can take to proceed, which really helps to make the game feel less linear.

There is a perk system which allows you to earn special abilities by completing small objectives which also double as achievements. The graphics and animation are top notch which really shows off what the id tech 5 engine can do, but be in mind this game requires a pretty beefy pc to run well.

The sound design is also pretty exceptional with an excellent voice cast that make the characters come alive and music and sound effects that really immerse the player into the tense and scary world the Nazis have created.

For a story in a video game, machine games have really raised the bar when it comes to quality. The characters all feel very human and life-like which makes it very easy for the player to care for them and feel involved in the games setting.

Machine games is a brand new studio made up of ex Starbreeze veterans so I am not at all surprised I ended up loving Wolfenstein the new order so much. I can't wait to see what machine games does next weather it be a Wolfenstein sequel or a new game entirely.

So yeah I liked this game a lot you should buy it.

81

A decent shooter

thewhitewolf | July 15, 2014 | See all thewhitewolf's reviews »

If you like first person shooters then you definitely should not miss out on this title. Wolfenstein is all about killing modernized nazi soldiers in a world where world war 2 went in favor of the nazis. It has a good story that is going to immerse you in the futuristic nazi ruled world. These days first person shooters are getting really repetitive and its good for a change to see one that isn't or trying to be call of duty.

62

Tries to beat the original. Tries.

artixerix | July 9, 2014 | See all artixerix's reviews »

I got myself this game and tought "It could be fun". I played it for a while (18 hours) and here's what I can tell - game could be a little bit longer and harder. 9 hours for a game many people waited for and had expectations? Please. I completed it twice. Second thing - first big choice you make in game. It has no impact on whole game, except one different character, lockpicking/hotwiring is mainly the same and the biggest change that has actual impact on gameplay is the kind of bonus you are going to collect.

but this game has also some great things, like soundtrack. I mean, re-recording hits in german...it is so fitting for the universe. And dual-wielding sniper rifles. Also, graphics is great. Very detailed textures and even on lowest settings game looks amazing. Next thing...weapons. There should be more. 2 variants of pistols and sub-machine guns (depends on level only...), a sniper rifle, heavy laser minigun looted from soldier's corpse and Laserkraftwerk. If we count in weapon mods, multiply it by 2 and substract 3. I expected a lot more. Get it on a good sale. Or wait for price to drop down. If you waited for it for that long - you can wait a little bit longer.

79

Great throwback to older shooters

884okeoJ | July 2, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

Wolfenstein: The New Order is an excellent return to the wide-open levels and ridiculous guns of older shooters. In an alternate timeline, where Nazi Germany won World War II and control the world, you must defeat them once and for all. The plot is not one of The New Order's strong suits, although the atmosphere is quite good.

The graphics are fairly good for a 2014 release, but some of the textures look quite dated. The game is well optimized for PC's, and rarely dips in frames. The most important part of the game is the shooting, which is done very well. Over the course of the game, you evolve into an unstoppable Nazi killing machine capable of dual wielding assault rifles and doing many more ridiculous things. If you are a fan of old school shooters, you should definitely give the New Order a try.

90

This game is Amazing

DarkSparda | June 25, 2014 | See all DarkSparda's reviews »

Great gameplay, easy mechanics, cool tools.Best value in a game for this year.The story is surprisingly amazing. Story is set in an alternate reality 1960s Earth, the Third Reich has won World War II and taken over the world. Only one man could possibly stand against the new mechanical might of the Nazis and he is William. This game will make you want to stay in this Nazi world just because of how much fun you can have in it.

The graphics are sublime!

84

A Solid Outing for Wolfenstein

mrminecrafter1 | June 19, 2014 | See all mrminecrafter1's reviews »

This game is a pretty good addition to the franchise. Not one of the best shooters out in the market right now, but it certainly is more than above average. The story of B.J. Blazkowicz is just phenomenal. B.J. is a really like-able character alongside with all the other characters in the story. The diverse environment is really good which is essential for this game considering it's only single-player. Graphics are impressive at moments. I don't like the linear level design but it is being retailed as a classic shooter with modern improvements. It is still fun even if the level design is a bit weak, but that little flaw I noted is because I never grew up with old classic shooters. Overall this game is pretty good.

Recommendation Level: For FPS gamers, this deserves a bit of attention.

100

Stunning and Amazing Game Overall! (My Game of the Year, so far)

Oscillopsia | June 17, 2014 | See all Oscillopsia's reviews »

This game has brought back an amazing series with the graphics of today and a gripping story. The gameplay is great, you can be stealthy or you can fight those dam* nazis guns blazin'. Personally I believe the graphics are great. Also you, you can't forget the gore... and sex,,, But anyways overall the focus on the singleplayer was great since there was no multiplayer. A multiplayer patch would be pretty cool but hey, this game is still beyond amazing. Also this game game is one of the best bug-free quality releases this year. The game engine is great and the voice acting is also of high quality. The game is solid, polished and just plain magnificent (just like the gun fights). Everything is great about this game except killing dogs... So far this game is my game of the year (yes, to me, it ranks higher than watch_dogs... so get this game!!). This game really deserves the spotlight. GET IT.

86

B.J. was never so badass.

MafuMafu | June 17, 2014 | See all MafuMafu's reviews »

Wolfenstein: The New Order is the kind of "What if" story. What if the nazis won the WWII? What if they had very advanced technology? What if laser weapons, robots and cyborgs were mastered by them? This game is one of the best FPS experiences around. Let's make a small list. Shall we? Pros: - Great story. - Amazing characters. - Impressive weapons. - Beautiful graphics and models. - THE CLASSIC WOLFENSTEIN. And, here, I say that is one of the best things of the game. - Fun gameplay. - Dual wielding.

Cons: - Although good, the story is quite short. - Even in the higher difficulty (Über), the game could be a little harder.

So, if you're looking a genuine and fun game, The New Order is for you. Because, what's best than killing nazis? ROBOT ZOMBIE NAZIS.

84

Wolfenstein: The New Order - old and new get along well

cristiano171 | June 16, 2014 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

The game is set in an alternate reality. A kind of parallel version of the 60. United States, here, were devastated by a nuclear attack, the Nazis won World War II and came to dominate the whole world. The Nazi war machine is very strong and has very well equipped soldiers, high-tech weapons, robots, mechs, drones and a wide variety of metal beasts, and planes that closely resemble modern fighters (not to mention helicopters). The characters have a past, has a history. Text notes and audio help further the plot, and by the way, be sure to seek out and read (or listen to) the daily Ramona, sister Anya. His story is tragic and touching, and no, we can not say that it has a happy ending. Wolfenstein: The New Order also has funny moments and phrases. The Blazkowicz own time or another shows his badass side, which does not cease to be funny, too. One scene in particular caught my attention. When opening a door, one of those robot dogs suddenly appears. Another soldier, at this very moment, screaming: "- Hey doggie" - and throws a grenade in his direction. The result you can guess, and it's quite funny. The fight of BJ Blazkowicz and Resistance against the Nazis is fierce and full of good times. Moments with plenty of action and a great soundtrack, composed by Michael John Gordon (and available on iTunes, for example). And beyond the obvious enemies, we also realize that the Nazi propaganda eventually "indocrinar" many people.

The people, the people in general, are so accustomed to the domination of the German Nazis, many things end up being accepted. Many abnormalities end up being seen as something normal, and opponents of the regime are called terrorists and degenerate, in newspapers, on television, and so on. The game also offers us a visit (full of goals) to a concentration camp, visit this which allows the player to control a kind of mech - very cool mission, by the way.

Conclusion The Games Machine managed to create an excellent shooter with a sensational and action-packed plot. Blending elements of old-school and several interesting news and that work very well, Wolfenstein: The New Order is a title that can not miss in the collection of anyone who enjoys the genre. The alternate reality in which he inserts the player is, above all, extremely inviting. Give out those hateful enemies: this need grows at an astounding rate in our mind, so we started the campaign.

86

Immersive and fun!

psutrife | June 16, 2014 | See all psutrife's reviews »

Wolfenstein: The New Order is a feat in gaming. Many FPS games attempt to immerse the player into the world, few succeed, and in this, Wolfenstein shines. The characters are believable, the world feels real, and the cutscenes are great. Combat feels perfect. My favorite thing about the combat is the stealth sections. While it is in no way required to be sneaky, there are few things as satisfying as sneaking up behind a commander and plunging a knife into his throat. The shooting feels good, minus the dual wielding, however I suppose there may be some who enjoy that aspect of the combat. I felt it was much more beneficial to be accurate than just spray twice as many bullets everywhere.

The game is a bit of a system hog, I had some minor graphical issues, but nothing game breaking. The world is believable, frightening, and intriguing. Few games in the last several years have captured me like this game.

90

Awesome game

MrBongoGT | June 10, 2014 | See all MrBongoGT's reviews »

I was wary of this game because it was SP only but I haven't been let down by any of those types of game in the past (bioshock infinite being the only one actually) so I bought it because I loved the franchise. I usually skip cutscenes but in this game I actually watched them and loved the story.

This was one of the rare games I ended up getting 100%. I was asked about the collectibles and they are easy to track and go back and get. You can figure out which ones you're missing by process of elimination as they are in order and by chapter. So if you're a person who is on the edge because of achievements, they are pretty easy and takes about 15 hours or so to get 100% with the majority of the time being the story. Oh and starting on the hardest difficulity is possible which is a +, as some games make you do hard to unlock nightmare or the hardest for achievements.

I've heard people having problems loading or playing the game but it was flawless for me. I run a gtx 680 and a i5 2500k with 16GB ram. I do overclock my hardware but even without doing so I wouldn't have any problems with quality or performance.

95

Destroy The Nazi Scum

mo0f | May 29, 2014 | See all mo0f's reviews »

The game has some good replay value, especially with the bonus mode unlocks. Sadly there is no multi-player for this game but it does not take away from how well they have worked out the story. Dual-wielding mechanics are great and there can be quite some creative ways to kill your enemies. So far, I love the stealth kills and the way you can unlock perks to enhance your play style. I hope that they will release DLC in the future.

80

Wolfenstein, fun to play, scary to imagine

Foolwolf | May 28, 2014 | See all Foolwolf's reviews »

First of all, Wolfenstein and reality are not in synch. OK? Good. It takes place in the final hours of WW2, but here the Nazi's are winning - and winning good. They have unlocked new technology and are pressing the allies. A last attempt to kill Deathshead and end the Nazi war goes bonkers and you end up watching time fly by in an asylum.

You get up when the Nazi's comes to close the asylum down - and starts killing Nazi's at the same time you realize they won. Everything. The atomic race, the WW2 - world domination. They are everywhere and in control. What happens then is a fast paced or slow paced or most likely a mix of the two game mixing some stealth and take down strategy with intense gun-play in the very best FPS game for a long time for PC. The game handles story, alternatives and oppression while making you the hero of a B-movie at the same time. Not everyone will like that - but you are the the sole reason the resistance really gets somewhere. The game plays well, the FPS mechanics are really nice and responsive. Hit locations and weapon perks and recoil, aim etc are very satisfying, the knife however - is your greatest weapon. Throwing or stabbing - preferably stealthy take downs are 'insta' kills on most enemies except the heaviest armoured ones. The map design is a bit limited being a single player FPS, but have a pleasant mix of stealthy tactics and gun-ho tactics in mind on most levels. Some levels and some super-boss battles are tricky - but you get a lot of help from your map and journal and tactical feedback in some locations from your group of resistance.

All in all, I warmly recommend Wolfenstein. It is fun to play, but in the same time it gives a scaring vision on "what if". I don't believe in the robo dogs, mecha-monsters and super-soldiers - but the scary stuff is that people let it happen out of fear and the mindset behind it all. It all comes to vision in this great title.

The game have a few faults though - the graphics has texture problems, same as RAGE (it is the same engine and the same problems...) Also I got stuck plenty of times for no apparent reason in some of the later maps and had to restart from a checkpoint. (Checkpoints are fairly well placed and not such an annoyance as in many other games). It gets a high score even though these problems since this game more or less took all gaming time for the last evenings and I had to play it from beginning to end.

95

Absolutely Amazing!

hoopscoop3000 | May 28, 2014 | See all hoopscoop3000's reviews »

Wolfenstein 3D was one of those early classics that revolutionized a genre, while The New Order doesn't exactly do that it surely creates an engaging experience.

Story- Wolfenstein creates a unique and engaging world that hasn't exactly been dug into before. I had such a great time looking through all the nooks and crannies in the world, little newspaper clippings here, and a record there. (Speaking of which 'Mond, Mond, Ja, Ja is a great song.) Also MachineGames succeed in creating B.J. Blazkowitz into an extremely interesting character.

Graphics- Although not the best looking game by any stretch of the imagination it still is a very pretty game. The texture quality is particularly high when it isn't popping in every time you turn your head. It truly is graphically appealing. Also, the character models are very top notch.

Gameplay- The shooting in this game is fun and fast, violent and visceral. I was a particular fan of Wolfenstein 2009 due to it's exceptional shooting and this is no different.

Overall, I loved this game and can't wait to see what MachineGames does next. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS GAME!

85

Great Gameplay, Great Characters, Okay Story

pickelsurprise | May 27, 2014 | See all pickelsurprise's reviews »

Wolfenstein: The New Order seemingly does the impossible. It gives us a first person shooter with solid gameplay as well as interesting characters that we actually grow to care about. No more stereotypical mindless muscle-bound soldier beefcakes. Instead, we get to play as one such character after he's become hardened and introspective. We still get the occasional one-liner, but we get just as much internal conflict and realistic despair, if not more.

As previously mentioned, the gameplay is fantastic. There isn't a huge variety of different weapons, but every role is covered by at least one weapon. Furthermore, the perk system allows you to develop your favorite play style without shutting you out from the others. You will naturally get some of the more basic perks as you play, but outside of the starter-tier, none of them are strictly required to play successfully. If you want to clear one room silently with your knife and then charge akimbo-guns blazing into the next, there's nothing stopping you.

This game's one shortcoming is perhaps the story. It starts off strong, and while the characters remain interesting, there are a few developments from the halfway point on that do little to maintain the immersion this game so carefully creates in its opening hours. I will avoid spoilers, but I will say that the vast potential of the real-world nazis' fascination with the occult is ignored in favor of other, less subtle mysticism that may make you roll your eyes, even compared to the older, campier Wolfenstein games.

On the whole, a great FPS experience, even if the storyline may leave you unfulfilled.

82

Interesting and fun but still a handholding experience

monsto | May 25, 2014 | See all monsto's reviews »

First thing, this game is huge: 40gb dl. More on that below.

TL;DR: Fun and engaging, it's worth buying.

The game is pretty fun and the story is engaging. Anymore, in order to be what I'd call a 'good shooter' you gotta have both or one in super spades. The only real gripe I have is that it seems the only difference between difficulties is how hard the weapons hit. It doesn't mean more guys or fewer pickups because there's health EVERYWHERE. It's pretty forgiving. I played on "I am death incarnate" (Normal-plus-one difficulty) and after every major conflict I could usually top off both armor and health. There were only a couple of fights that I had to restart a bunch of times because I couldn't get out of the place the game started me in. Those times aside, the combat didn't feel cheap. Just play smart, change weapons and use cover and you'll be fine.

Once I started playing, I understood why the game was so big. There's a lot of unique assets. Whole rooms and giant areas where models and textures are only used one time. "Oh ok this area looks like a boss fight" . . . Nope. Just a big room with one-time use, highly detailed models; that's all. Seemed like a waste. Even so, I guess it was a good thing for faces anyway. They are highly detailed, well made, believable.

Controls are good enough. This is my pet peeve and I didn't have to constantly adjust things. Backgrounds are pretty good. The overlook of Nazi occupied London is worth a good look. Animations are really good. The scenes seem acted. The voice acting REALLY adds to this. Even peripheral characters are superbly done. The music is pretty good. I was prob 80% thru the game before I shut it off... I normally don't make it an hour. Technically, it was choppy a few times. Most of my games don't do this these days, but as someone else said, it's not a game engine known for it's optimization.

Last thing: there were a couple scenes that actually gave me chills... probably because I'm an old fart and the connection from the alt universe to our own was so very striking.

90

Mindless fun

tallem | May 22, 2014 | See all tallem's reviews »

This game is a mindless shooter with lots of guns and lots of enemies. You take control over a captain in the US army who has a passion for killing Nazis. Dualweilding machine guns and gunning down your foes in a beautifully made game is a LOT of fun.

The textures are somewhat low-res and performance is so-so sometimes, this mostly because of the id-tech5 engine but overall it's a great experience. Recommended for anyone that wants a great campaign!

98

Fantastic!

VenuSV | May 22, 2014 | See all VenuSV's reviews »

In The New Order, the Nazis won World War 2 thanks to their super mysterious advanced technologies, forcing the entire world to surrender to their might, just BRILLIANT! I'm a fan of the Castle Wolfenstein franchise, and it has never felt so real and horrific as it did with the New Order. For the first time, it felt like fighting real evil and brutal Nazis. The game delivers a deep gaming experience packed with action, adventure and satisfying gunning down thousands of enemies, filled with blood spraying in fountains from their bodies and heads disintegrating and it all looks just spectacular. The level design also provides multipl routes of appraoch and flanking positions and plenty of cover to leapfrog to for both resistance fighters and Nazis, which makes it even more realistic and intense. Weapons can be gradually updated to ensure that firing doesn't get boring. However The New Order isn't just about the action, the characters succeeded to deliver several monologues with just the right amount of drama. Providing insights about needs, wants and fears, and with the remarkable acting and voicework, it all makes the ambience more believable. Magnificient graphics and pacing. Although personally, the only drawback in the game is the ammo recharging stations, as you need to stand there for several seconds to wait for the weapon to recharge all while eating shots. But still, The New Order is too damn fun!!

95

WOW

OmittingCoder | May 21, 2014 | See all OmittingCoder's reviews »

I've only played a little of the original Wolfenstein 3D and that's it. I decided to pick this bad boy up and holy crap this game is sweet. You can dual wield every normal weapon and there is blood and guts every it is so amazing. This game is made but some former Starbreeze (The Darkness, Riddick) employees part of Machine Games. This game has a great story and makes you feel like crap if when you make a bad decision. Anyway stop reading and go pick this up you will not regret it!

93

Good first impressions.

jasonwsc | May 21, 2014 | See all jasonwsc's reviews »

I'm not going to lie, I haven't finished the game yet, but here are my first impressions for the game.

Like many other FPS on the market right now, Wolfenstein: New Order is essentially a rail shooter. You have a predetermined path and you follow it closely. There are some still decisions to be made though. I don't have an issue with this, but I want just want to point this out.

The graphics on this game are absolutely incredible, and gameplay is good and very satisfying. The mixture of old-school sub-machine gun and future weapons such as the laser thing helps to keep the game fresh and entertaining.

Definitely worth a buy, especially with that 25% off coupon.

100

Amazing is all i can say

WiccaniAU | May 20, 2014 | See all WiccaniAU's reviews »

Overall this is a wonderful game . A classic FPS no multiplayer no redicuous health regen . The graphics are stunning with a few minor bugs that will be patched out later on. The story line seems quite good and the acting is really believable. Intelligent AI that will look for you and accurately throw grenades and will fight back in melee form. the gun variety is realistic with Dual-wielding (shotguns fun :3 ) and upgrades.

Con wise... well dont try stabbing robots with your kitchen knifes or hitting the beam in front of you making that grenade bounce back. i cant find a real con of this game its worth its weight in gold