Reviews for BioShock Infinite (MAC)


Great story with unfitting gameplay in the best city ever

Murderbot735 | July 31, 2015 | See all Murderbot735's reviews »

The story of this game is great. The characters are interesting (except the main character), the gameplay is fun (but doesn't really fit the story, more on that later) and Columbia might just be the most beautiful city in a video game ever. So the gameplay. It's basically you running around and shooting guys and using super powers (vigors). While the story is great, it feels a bit more distanced when you're jumping around and travelling with skyrails, ripping a guy apart, making another guy's head explode and then setting someone else on fire. Booker DeWitt is supposed to be a poor man with big debts, who has also lost his daughter. Not a complete badass who kills a million people. While Elizabeth seems a bit shocked at first about me killing her father's men, she quickly recovers and helps me. That's the only big problem I have with it, the other thing is that there's is one enemy called "Handyman" which is so incredibly annoying to play agains. I may have misunderstood it's mechanics, but it just jumps around and is so hard to dodge. Except that the game is incredible, and really worth playing through. While my review may have consisted of like 50 % negative stuff, the game is great.


Incredibly optimized and fun.

Miller5berto | July 27, 2015 | See all Miller5berto's reviews »

I managed to run this game on an Intel HD Graphics 4K with no problems with FPS or stutter or whatever, this game is really optimized, and playing it probably won't be a problem for you. Just like other BioShocks, the game is basicly magic + guns + retro art. You get to upgrade your guns, buy ammo, and these things. You can use your powers which include, for example, telekinesis. (as in the previous bioshocks, it allows you to move objects with your mind). You need vigor's from certain machines in order to do those things, which include, for example, possesion (Exactly what the name implies). And to upgrade/get more vigors, you need to use the money you get from fighting. This game is really good, and it goes on sale all the time for $7.50 or so, so if you want to buy it, rest assured your money is well spent, as it takes over 20h of gameplay to finish it up at the easiest difficulty. Not bad, but some people still prefer the old bioshocks, so for this matter, buy the sea DLC, it reassembles bioshock 1 and 2.


Pure Fun and Excitement- for the most part

daxthevortex | July 21, 2015 | See all daxthevortex's reviews »

This game is, at it's core, a spiritual successor to Bioshock 2. Both series are Single Player First Person Shooters, but this game is starring Booker Washington as the game's protagonist. The game is a fun romp through Columbia, a floating city, a stark contrast to Rapture. The gunplay is a blast (no pun intended), featuring upgrades for every weapon, making every playstyle in the FPS genre a valid way to play the game. You can upgrade the Sniper Rifle fully and pick people off from a distance, or you can be a steampunk gunslinger and rock out with a deadly Broomhandle pistol. The game also has its own version of Plasmids, being Vigors. You can specialize in these instead of guns, or you can be an awesome spellslinger. All in all, the gameplay is complemented by the story. I really wish that this game was open world, but alas, it's a linear playthrough. The game being linear complements the story well, however. All in all, my only complaint is that the story gets in the way of the otherwise seamless combat. Mainly, this is your companion, Elizabeth's, fault. She constantly breaks the flow of combat to throw you loot, be it money or a medkit, and her power of accessing different universes breaks the flow of combat by having you stop and hold a button on the desired lootable wormhole. Other than that, the game is fun, and the story is good. For this, I give it a 9.0/10


Solid, but overrated.

MrAsterB | May 15, 2015 | See all MrAsterB's reviews »

Don't get me wrong, this game is very well crafted. Story is well written and touching, atmosphere is detailed and neat and overall feeling of the game is very pleasing. But if we dig deeper, to the core mechanics - they will present themselves as unimpressive. First of all the core gameplay. First person shooting has nothing new to offer in this game. Its dynamic, its flashy, but nothing to entertain a person who played other solid shooters. Second thing is enemy design. Visually they are fine, but mechanically they all felt the same. Even bosses felt like they were common enemies but with bigger hp pool and a bigger gun. Last fight was the only entertaining fight in the entire game for me. And last thing is level design. Again, visually they are great - lots of decorative details. Mechanically though those levels are just straight lines and big rooms/halls/squares. Which i personally liked. Until the game made me run through them several times in a row making simple enough levels feel repetititive. Overall, as i said, its a very well crafted game, solid story-driven experience where the plot and characters alone are more than enough to recommend it to everybody. I enjoyed my time in it. But i also had to force my way towards the end to see the plot because i stopped enjoying core mechanics of this game. So as far i'm concerned, this game is great, but highly overrated.


Not for me

PlayTyrant | May 8, 2015 | See all PlayTyrant's reviews »

This is the last BioShock game I played. I was very disappointed, Bioshock 2 was awesome compared to this one (for me). Yeah, the ambientation looks cool, the graphics are very improved, but I found this game ridiculous in so many aspects... Again, the story is a pseudo-philosophic mantra, the characters, specially Elizabeth, felt ridiculous to me. They put you the character in your face one time after another like saying 'hey look at me I'm cute!' and I felt like it was made for cosplayers and fans. The opponents... well, they look like they came out from a comic, and some others like they came out from a kid's idea. The dark claustrophobic ambience changed and now everything is shiny and beautiful, always sunny. The sound treatment is very good, and so is the music. The music doesn't really stand out, which is good when we're talking about a soundtrack (it's not made for listening by itself but for giving rytyhm and soul to the game). If you like BioShock 1 and 2 a lot, I'd probably say you shouldn't try this one. But again, it's a matter of tastes, a lot of people adore this game.


Another great Bioshock

eekar1 | Jan. 6, 2015 | See all eekar1's reviews »

The bioshock series are amazing and this game honors the name. Everything is fantastic and the horror and dark that was in the other games are balanced into brightness and beauty (in my opinion that's not a bad thing). The story is amazing and do not follows straight the others bioshock, but has a little similarity. That game was my favorite one of the series and I recommend for everyone Fantastic gameplay!


Another great Bioshock

eekar1 | Jan. 6, 2015 | See all eekar1's reviews »

The bioshock series are amazing and this game honors the name. Everything is fantastic and the horror and dark that was in the other games are balanced into brightness and beauty (in my opinion that's not a bad thing). The story is amazing and do not follows straight the others bioshock, but has a little similarity. That game was my favorite one of the series and I recommend for everyone Fantastic gameplay!


A beauty in and outside

martinni | Nov. 17, 2014 | See all martinni's reviews »

It's not news this game's appearance is outstanding. It's certainly one of the best environments I've experienced in a game, and you can see that by just looking at the trailers, gameplay videos for one second. But this game is so much more than a great setting; it's deep, it's a good shooter indeed - I've seen guys complaining about the combat, don't believe them, it is pretty good, you just have to understand how do you take damage bonuses against each enemy class, - and has some weirdness/madness of itself which for me is a must have in a story-first shooter. Found a little issue with the location helper in a mission, but wasn't hard to work it around since it was pretty explicit it was going to a place where you'd gone before. All in all, not the best game ever created (come on... it's "just" a shooter!!!!...). But a must have! And a must play!


Epic action and amazing atmosphere

Zaggeta | Nov. 6, 2014 | See all Zaggeta's reviews »

I honestly never played the original Bioshock. At the time of its release, I was a bit of a coward and its guise of a horror game pushed me away. When Bioshock Infinite was released, I didn't make the same mistake, and purchased it immediately. I was not left dissappointed. The gameplay is like many singleplayer FPSs. It's simple and intuitive, with enemies often dying when you shoot them and a number of other means of murder being thrown into the mix. Elizabeth, as your sole companion, is probably the greatest side kick you will ever have in a shooter. She doesn't get in the way, doesn't steal your kills, gives you stuff that you need, and obeys your orders without a second thought. What really makes Infinite shine is its story. It's engaging, confusing, thought-provoking and probably enough to make it best game of the year.


Setting the Stage.

zhelng | Oct. 26, 2014 | See all zhelng's reviews »

The one thing to take away from this game is the atmosphere. The set design, voice-acting, sound design, and the flow all mesh together perfectly in one delicious melting-pot that is Bioshock Infinite. I recall parts of the game that just made me stop for a moment and just soak up the ambience and sights. The storyline is beautifully crafted to accentuate this, and the bits of history that peppers the game is just icing on the cake. To me, combat is just the dessert. It helps to move the story forward and create drama and tension of sorts. I helps that it isn't just your usual FPS, but instead tries to add new elements like rift summoning and air battles, etc.


Something new

vikas8395 | Sept. 19, 2014 | See all vikas8395's reviews »

One of the most successful franchise with a huge fan base. You just can't go wrong with Bioshock series. Bioshock Infinite just ups the ante and with its compelling story line you feel emotionally attached to the characters. I really liked the addition of magic with the guns as its a bit different. The whole dark theme suits the game . This is a must buy game :)


Favorite Bioshock So Far

adboyum | Sept. 8, 2014 | See all adboyum's reviews »

I've played all of the Bioshock's, and so far Infinite is my favourite! It has an amazing balance of beauty and darkness. There are moments when you're playing that your jaw drops in aw of the cinematic view, the sunsets, the textures, and the architecture. Then there are moments that feel more like the first two Bioshock's, where the darkness and creepiness has its own kind of beauty. I'm a very visual guy, and this game had it all. The story is also amazing! It keeps you engaged the entire time, never letting up. Twists and turns that have you yelling at your tv/pc. Amazing game!


A few story breaking flaws, but overall worth the play through.

ThreshNautBlitz | July 2, 2014 | See all ThreshNautBlitz's reviews »

While Bioshock Infinite may have fantastic visuals and entertaining gameplay, there are a few story breaking logic flaws near the ending. However, with all paradoxes aside, Bioshock Infinite is a fantastic game full of breathtaking environments, classic FPS gameplay, and a hell of a story to complete the Bioshock franchise. Graphics 9/10 Incredible views throughout the game along with an environment that felt real. Story 8/10 While Bioshock Infinite did an extraordinary job at portraying religion and racism in "early America", it failed to come through in the end due to some extreme hiccups. So while 95% of the story was over the top, the ending really puts a dent in the game's integrity. Gameplay 8/10 Bioshock Infinite's gameplay is some of the best in the series. Unfortunately, I found myself sticking to the same two weapons the entire game because while there are gun upgrade shops, vigor upgrade shops, and ammunition shops, there are no weapon shops themselves. The gameplay was still a blast, however it would have been nice to have had the option to switch back to a weapon after trying a new one out. Vigors are to Columbia as plasmids are to Rapture. Vigors added a unique twist to the FPS side of the gameplay and many allowed for a variety of playstyles. For instance, the Bucking Bronco vigor could be for all out gunzerker mode while the Possession vigor was more geared towards strategic players. Finally, the gear in Bioshock Infinite was really under powered. Sure there were some neat little bonuses to the gameplay but overall it was minuscule. Overall: 8.5/10


The Story is Amazing

alanmaz567 | June 6, 2014 | See all alanmaz567's reviews »

This game has a really unique story to it. The graphics look outstanding. The combat system in the game is fun and smooth. the story is around 4-8 hours long (depending on the difficulty you're playing on). I would recommend playing the DLC's after you finish the game. There are allot of easter eggs in the game which are fun to find. The game has a pretty big world full of collectibles to find. Has an amazing ending. Games with such an open story and amazing gameplay like this one are rare to find. Buy this game to see for yourself how great the game is.


BioShock in the air

juxtaposed_j | June 5, 2014 | See all juxtaposed_j's reviews »

I played all the Bioshocks thus far, the original being my favourite and rating quite highly up on my favourite list of games (especially this generation) Playing this one however, I felt it to be rather overrated, the plot got rather convoluted and not as satisfying as the original. Columbia looks amazing, ethereal and dreamy, however the underwater setting of Rapture was more immersive, interesting and fun to explore. Not to mention there were no enemies as iconic or frantic as the Big Daddies.