Reviews for To The Moon

94

I almost cry when i finished

LastNutria | Oct. 5, 2014 | See all LastNutria's reviews »

This game has one of the most sad stories that i 'd ever played, seriously, i almost cry when i finished it. I used to check the reviews of this game before and said "nah it couldn't be so much sad", but i was wrong for god's sake!!!

But... before you try to get it, you most know something important first, this is more like a Visual Novel than a game for me, because the puzzles are really easy, the gameplay is lineal, you just play it to know more about the history... even sometimes i was really getting bored of playing but when i was close to the ending i was like "Jesus i must see what's coming next"

I think everyone should play this little game, it's really worth, and if you cry at the ending, try to smash something or watch some nasty things, i don't know, but don't feel bad for Jhonny, he's on a happy place now ;_;

92

To My Heart

emptyhaven | Sept. 23, 2014 | See all emptyhaven's reviews »

None have captured my emotions from the very start, with every aspect of the game contributing in one way or another, in a very long time since this game.

The ambiance, clever and thoughtful writing, and just spot on scoring, all come together to create a game that will leave you wailing. I don't want to spoil anything for the prospective player, but I suggest that as you play this game, really sit and read through the text. Let the story build itself around you. There is much to the game's writing that expresses the full scope of emotion present in us.

If a game can draw out every emotion from within you, then don't you think that this is a powerful game? It's a great game and everyone should play it.

80

An affecting story and some odd gameplay

Lorddyran | Sept. 16, 2014 | See all Lorddyran's reviews »

Good music, an emotionally affecting story, and some weird gameplay choices all combine to make an odd, but enjoyable, experience. Play this game for the story and you'll come out satisfied and feeling melancholy. Play it for the gameplay and you'll probably stop shortly into the game.

The first time I came at this game, I thought of it as ... well, as a game, and I was sorely disappointed. I played for, maybe, an hour, and then decided it wasn't worth my time. It doesn't help that it takes a while to really set up the story. I kept hearing positive things, though, so eventually I ended up dragging myself back and trying again, soldiering through the intro, and then I couldn't put it down.

It's a short game, sure, but I still ignored real life to finish it in one sitting, and at the end I was both glad to be done and sad it was over. It stuck in my head for a while, and I found myself trying to convince people to play it just like they had done to me.

As a game, it's not worth playing, no ... but as an experience, it's one that I cannot help but recommend.

95

A beautiful tale

Fourclops | Sept. 1, 2014 | See all Fourclops's reviews »

I often hear that people don't like games that center more in the story than the actual gameplay, but I disagree. To The Moon is a great example of how you can have an amazing game, tell a beautiful story, and little gameplay Including some minor puzzles, To The Moon is more like a book where you can wander around before turning the page. Some people find it anoying, but I think everybody has a different taste

85

Old school graphics + great storytelling = a winning combination

BlockAgent | Aug. 31, 2014 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

I normally don't like these retro graphics indie games, but I bought this one based on other people saying that it had such a great story...and I am glad I did. This game is a gem. The gameplay is simple and very easy (as are the puzzles), but the story is so good, that the simplicity works. That's because the story draws you in so much that during gameplay, you just want to get to more of the story. If the gameplay was complex and time consuming, you would get annoyed at the big gaps in storytelling. This game was done right and it is obvious. I highly recommend this game to those who don't play games because they like a button mashing challenge, but because they like having great experiences.

90

So sad... so compelling... so memorable

Nova4 | Aug. 23, 2014 | See all Nova4's reviews »

This game is a unique experience among rpgs... or "RPGS"... this game is more a tale than a game... and its great! The Good: +Awesome Story. +Beautiful Pixel art. +Great characters. +Awesome... and I mean AWESOME soundtrack. +It made you feel good... by not killing random things.

The bad: -Horrible gameplay -Lineal... super lineal -Some times... so random... and this is worth mention it.

Overall is a great game, worth buying it full price! I would recommend it to everyone!

85

Atmospheric. A great way to spend a day inside.

Nigee | Aug. 22, 2014 | See all Nigee's reviews »

This game plays out as more of an interactive story. It has bits of humor, but where it really shines is creating an emotional connection to what is going on in the game. The game plays out simple enough, do some dialogue, explore a bit, progress the story. Nothing too complicated. But as you begin to find each new piece of the puzzle, you begin to reveal more and more about the man whose memories you are exploring. This game is best played in as few sittings as you can manage. Let the story build up and pull you into it; you will not be disappointed.

90

The game that penetrating deep into the soul.

Suppression555 | Aug. 18, 2014 | See all Suppression555's reviews »

The combination of piano and story - an incredibly moving story. Travel memoirs ... Youth, youth, childhood. First love and childhood dreams, resentment, despair. You poured into the game, you become part of it, you know, that everything depends only on you, that only you will be able to correct the turn of events, arrange all the same meeting of the protagonist with his cherished dream. It seems that the most incredible desires can be fulfilled by magic. Magic game, insanely nice and wonderful. Play it is to each. Understand the essence of life and understand what you need to always believe in your dream. And most importantly - love. After all, she only sent the protagonist to the moon. Where they will meet one day. Must meet.

I love you. To the moon and back.

85

Great story, great soundtrack, great game.

x0nex | July 24, 2014 | See all x0nex's reviews »

To The Moon by Freebird games. This is such a great game. One of my favourites for sure. Don't watch the videos on YouTube, just play it. It might look basic/boring, but play it to the end and you will not be disappointed. I highly recommend playing it if you haven't already. [Overall rating 8.5/10]

Gameplay is pretty average. There isn't much exciting about the gameplay. You click to move, search for objects, click objects, talk to NPCs and that is about it. Don't expect a lot from the gameplay but what it lacks here, it excels in storyline and audio. I believe the gameplay is meant to be quite simple so that more people can experience the story. Even though gameplay is a big deal in video games, this game was amazing still. [Gameplay rating 6/10]

Storyline was something else. Beautiful. When you finish the game and reach the credits, you want to applaud... after you've wiped away the tears of course. If' you're just starting this game, I can't stress how important it is to play this game to the end just for that experience alone. The story alone makes up for the simple gameplay and graphics. [Story rating 10/10]

Graphics are retro style, like something from a SNES time RPG. Don't expect something cutting-edge from the graphics, but they are detailed enough for you to see facial expressions and catch the emotions needed. [Graphics rating 8/10]

Audio is amazing. I find that I'm listening to the full soundtrack regularly. The song, "Everythings Alright" by Laura Shigihara still gives me the feels when I hear it. Amazing voice, and amazing soundtrack. Audio often helps a great deal with infusing emotions into a story, this is definitely the case with To The Moon. [Audio rating 10/10]

Instead of showing gameplay or epic moments in the game. I will leave you with a YouTube link for the full soundtrack. Enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Snl67XsI6Is

See my other reviews here. adf.ly/qXfSM

94

Breath-taking story

kaprCZ | July 14, 2014 | See all kaprCZ's reviews »

I must admit that at the beginning, it looked a bit boring but then I focused more to story. The story is very interesting and touching. It's about old dying man and his memories. His relatives wants he could die in peace so they'll call two scientists who can change his memories to make him feel better and fulfil his big dream. You play as the two scientists and looking for pieces of his memories. During the game, the story is more and more interesting and sometimes also very sad. I would never say that RPG game like this (game where you see the world from above) can have such a strong story. Maybe it's not about playing as I thought before I played it, it's just like reading a book with moving pictures where you can control characters.

I can highly recommend for all people who like breath-taking stories and who don't mind if the game is not only about playing.

79

To The Moon, and in our hearts

Darlus | June 22, 2014 | See all Darlus's reviews »

To The Moon is a very touching tale told through mix-up-order memories that make more sense the deeper you get into the game. On top of a solid story, the writing for this game great, though the humor seems tailored to a specific audience (Lucky I am in that target audience and enjoyed it). The soundtrack is also filled with beautiful tone-setting scores that I grew quite fond of throughout the game. The gameplay mechanics however leave something to be desired. You advance from memory to memory by solving sliding tile puzzles that become annoying quickly, and, aside from a coupe of mini games, that's really all there is to it. Most of your time is spent walking around examining objects to collect more dialogue and unlock the puzzle, which I don't mind aside from not wanting to do the puzzles in the first place. I recommend this game to anyone looking for a unique, story-driven experience who doesn't mind a game being mostly reading with pixel-art graphics and light controls for a few hours of enjoyment.

93

Videogames as Story

untitled36 | June 16, 2014 | See all untitled36's reviews »

My brother was challenged to find a videogame that tells a unique and engaging story. One that stands on its own if you were to subtract the gameplay elements from it. The challenge was harder, because FPS, RPG, and adventure games were ruled out offhand. This game (along with TRAUMA) were my top picks to prove the naysayers wrong. It's deceptively simple, and defies genre. It's still probably more an adventure game than anything, but more of an interactive story. Games like this prove that videogames can be art. "Videogames can be art?" Are you calling this 16 bit looking RPG maker project a work of art? Yes. You lose yourself in the story. It's touching, it's thought provoking, and makes you smile, laugh, and maybe even cry. Those who grew up on the SNES RPG's understand that sometimes the simple, abstract art of the 16 bit era can be more powerful than the most high tech graphics available today. Play this game. If you care about truth and beauty, you owe it to yourself.

93

I got this for cheap

drafek | June 7, 2014 | See all drafek's reviews »

I'm sad I didn't pick this game up for full price. Well sad I should've got it for full price because it's an amazing game! The game is created with RPG maker but it has alot of custom features, because of this it doesn't look like a RPG maker game. The story is made really well. But the gem of this game are the sound tracks, they're amazing I can't really write about them but you should look them up! The graphics are all custom made which is really unique. Worth full price!

90

Well Written Interactive Story

minoru09 | June 7, 2014 | See all minoru09's reviews »

At the first glance, one can easily dismiss To The Moon because of its childish graphic, labeling it as another cheap RPG Maker game. However don't let the visual fool you. To The Moon is an example of how a video game can be an unique storytelling medium if it's done right.

You play as two scientists who are tasked to give a dying man another chance in his life to fullfil his dream... by altering the said man memories. You then follow the elder man's tale from his childhood and try to figure out how to make his dying wish come true.

In my years of playing video game, I've almost never encountered a story as touching as this. I'd be lying if I said I'm not tearing up near the end. The writer certainly did an excellent job to stir the emotion of the players. It's one rare gem that everyone needs to experience.