Reviews for Sniper Elite III

73

Solid But A Few Things Hold It Back.

DBOT187 | Aug. 10, 2014 | See all DBOT187's reviews »

It's a pretty enjoyable and solid action game. The bugs and graphical glitches hold it back (i've been able to lodge myself into terrain, enemies have magically appeared in front of me when they were over the other side of the map, grenades have teleported to in front of me when I threw them 5 minutes earlier)

80

Solid entry in a solid series.

PrimalHunter779 | July 30, 2014 | See all PrimalHunter779's reviews »

Sniper Elite 3 is the highly anticipated entry in the Sniper Elite franchise. I am a big fan of this series, and I even enjoyed the somewhat repetitive Zombie Army titles. I was hoping for an enjoyable romp through a slightly larger world with improvements to the stealth and sniping mechanics. Rebellion certainly doesn't disappoint. You play as Karl Fairburne, a US Sniper dropped into Africa during World War II to combat the Afrika Korps stationed there. You'll navigate through gorgeous rendered canyons, valleys and deserts to complete your objectives, and Rebellion has done an excellent job in the graphics department. I was never once disappointed by the visuals in this game, and was wowed at every opportunity. The levels are also quite large, and there are also optional objectives to complete during a main mission. These include tasks such as assassinating a visiting colonel, sabotaging a German fuel depot and eliminating enemy tanks. While not particularly original, these objectives are fun to complete and provide a nice XP boost. Gameplay has a number of mechanics designed to create a good sniper game. You have items such as stones and flint that you can use to distract enemy soldiers, as well as a silenced pistol to kill enemies discreetly. You can loot these corpses for items before moving their corpse to another location, which is a relatively unseen feature in modern shooters. Another stealth mechanic is the ability to create noise with other items so you can fire your rifle without being detected. On the subject of sniper mechanics, this game excels. The gory x-ray kills are back, and you can witness your bullet shattering bones and puncturing organs in fantastic HD glory. Bullet drop and wind speeds are an added factor to sniping, which makes each kill that more satisfying. Despite being a solid game overall, Sniper Elite 3 has a number of flaws. Enemy AI is fairly inconsistent, and will go from spotting you easily to being blind to your movements and visible corpses. The amount of bugs in this game is quite baffling, but most have been fixed due to frequent patches. Not a game breaker, but definitely frustrating if you're not a fan of bugs and glitches. Overall, Sniper Elite 3 is a solid entry in a solid series. It improves over its predecessor, but still has the dull story and characters retained in the series. Despite this, I'd recommend this game for the huge levels and enjoyable mechanics. 8 / 10

81

a bit short but still an improvement

on2wheels | July 13, 2014 | See all on2wheels's reviews »

I won't bash the game but I can't give it a 100 like some other reviews, simply because there are glitches that really shouldn't have made it to the final game. take xray cam for instance; they pride themselves on it and still it won't work in coop mode which they also brag about. The coop was a huge selling point for me and after convincing my coop partner to also preorder from GMG we both were disappointed that xray cam doesn't work in coop. Aside from a few other small bugs (FOV is tighter in SE3) that may be fixable in patches, this is still a solid game for stealth fans, so if you like run n gunning, stay away from this and even SEv2.
They did improve visuals, and the new setting in Africa is a nice relief. More levels or DLC missions are much needed however.

100

The best Sniper Elite!

lynxil | July 8, 2014 | See all lynxil's reviews »

This game is surprisingly excellent, from the amazing graphics to the fantastic atmosphere and up to the game play, it's purely great and packed with lots of fun. If you don't know what sniper elite is, it's time you know... this is a fps, with sniper elements, like holding breath to steady your shot, and stealthily moving around. the most fun thing about this game is the slow-mo capture where you shoot the enemies, it is so much fun to watch and you can feel the power in your mouse. the game is in Africa which is a nice change than the European scenery.

overall, it's very very good, I'm enjoying every second of it, go get it!

94

The best installment in the series

runnerx | July 1, 2014 | See all runnerx's reviews »

Anyone who played V2 knows exactly the problems that game had: small maps with tight crossing points, a fiddly stealth system that got more in the way and wasn't at all enjoyable and omniscient enemies who could often tell where you are after you fired a shot even from beyond a mile which was ridiculous. So how does Sniper Elite 3 work compared to it's predecessor? Well it took everything i said above that didn't work in the second game and actually fixed it! First the maps are huge this time around and you can approach them anyway you like for stealth or simply to go loud. The new mechanic of relocation means that you can fire two loud shots from a direction before the AI knows where you are at which point you have to move out of the area while the AI will go and search the area that the shots came from. The AI is still a mixed bag in this game. For example it will search for you if they find a body but if they don't find you they just return back to patrolling instead of sounding the alarm. They will sometimes spot you from odd angles as well but it happened to me less than in Sniper Elite V2.

Multiplayer has nothing new going for it it's still the same old thing but somewhat made better by the new relocating mechanic which means players will camp less in one spot and move more around.

Graphics wise it's not the most impressive but it is a good looking game nonetheless but it does suffer from some weird pop ins if you go with everything at high regardless of how powerful your machine is. The x-ray kill cam makes it's glorious return with improved visuals that will delight everyone who is fan of that mechanic.

My conclusion? Despite the fact that Sniper Elite V2 was a mess at times i did enjoy it for what it was a dumb shooter but Sniper Elite 3 i truly enjoy it and while it's not perfect it is a satisfying game overall and one that will hopefully entertain you as well.

100

Very nice game!

Xelibrion | June 30, 2014 | See all Xelibrion's reviews »

Is it better than V2? Yes, definitely. So, what's changed in Sniper Elite 3? Here's a random list of improvements:

  • Maps are now more open, with multiple paths and multiple sniping positions.
  • Stealth works as it should, you can stealth though most of the game if you so desire. And every mission can be completed without raising any alarms.
  • You can hide dead bodies.
  • You can use foliage to hide yourself.
  • Relocation mechanics - move often to confuse the enemy.
  • Health regen is gone. That's right, medkits and bandages are back.
  • The highest difficulty setting is pretty much free of any handholding. No minimap, no more color-coded vehicle weak spots. Now you have to figure it out by yourself.
  • Sound masking now works as it should. Everything loud enough can be used to mask your shots, even grenade explosions.

86

Amazing game

drafek | June 29, 2014 | See all drafek's reviews »

Just like SEII SEIII delivers a good experience. When I started playing I though is this game going to be fun? And yes it is! The gameplay is amazing, the graphics are alot improved and the music is amazing. The only bad experience I had was on the first few hours on release that I couldn't connect but that might've been my own internet. Overall great game!

85

A pleasant upgrade from Sniper v2

cappincrunch | June 29, 2014 | See all cappincrunch's reviews »

Players who have played Sniper v2 will feel right at home with a few nice changes. Just don't expect a complete overhaul. This is just a step in the right direction.

Key features that are available:

1.Campaign (Solo or Cooperative) 2. Multiplayer (Deathmatch or Team Deathmatch) 3. Challenges (Overwatch, Coop Survival or Solo Survival)

Multiplayer/Coop: I personally played this with another player who lives in the U.K. while I live in the U.S. The gameplay did not seem laggy for him so I am thankful for that and I can now confirm that it is not region locked like some games.

Multiplayer Versus offers dedicated servers which is crucial in any multiplayer game so this game gets bonus points for that!

Gameplay: The layout has changed slightly, but in no way is it confusing. All of the old gadgets are back, but now you can use a medic kit to bandage yourself or create campfires to use as distractions or to detonate explosives.

Guns: You can now customize 4 loadouts, unlock new items and guns. This is great for changing your playstyle through different missions.

Stealth: Stealth has greatly improved. I have taken on missions without ever being detected. Now with a new "relocate" system, you snipe, then move to a new location undetected and the guards will return to their positions when they cannot find you.

Graphics: Graphics have improved. Bullet camera is smoother and the impact on enemies looks better, but not by far.

Maps: This is not an open world game. It's still linear, but the maps are more open and it gives you options on how you will take on your objective.

Overall it's a great improvement and the maps are different enough to keep v2 still playable.

85

A pleasant upgrade from Sniper v2

cappincrunch | June 28, 2014 | See all cappincrunch's reviews »

Players who have played Sniper v2 will feel right at home with a few nice changes. Just don't expect a complete overhaul. This is just a step in the right direction.

Key features that are available:

1.Campaign (Solo or Cooperative) 2. Multiplayer (Deathmatch or Team Deathmatch) 3. Challenges (Overwatch, Coop Survival or Solo Survival)

Multiplayer/Coop: I personally played this with another player who lives in the U.K. while I live in the U.S. The gameplay did not seem laggy for him so I am thankful for that and I can now confirm that it is not region locked like some games.

Multiplayer Versus offers dedicated servers which is crucial in any multiplayer game so this game gets bonus points for that!

Gameplay: The layout has changed slightly, but in no way is it confusing. All of the old gadgets are back, but now you can use a medic kit to bandage yourself or create campfires to use as distractions or to detonate explosives.

Guns: You can now customize 4 loadouts, unlock new items and guns. This is great for changing your playstyle through different missions.

Stealth: Stealth has greatly improved. I have taken on missions without ever being detected. Now with a new "relocate" system, you snipe, then move to a new location undetected and the guards will return to their positions when they cannot find you.

Graphics: Graphics have improved. Bullet camera is smoother and the impact on enemies looks better, but not by far.

Maps: This is not an open world game. It's still linear, but the maps are more open and it gives you options on how you will take on your objective.

Overall it's a great improvement and the maps are different enough to keep v2 still playable.