Reviews for Rise of Nations: Extended Edition

67

Good 2D resource management game

htanmsa | May 15, 2015 | See all htanmsa's reviews »

This is good game especially in managing resources.If you have good management skills then this is a good game.Here you can cut wood,mine gold feed people and go to wars.You can advance ages from old age to modern age and accordingly you can use tanks,helicopters, ships or catluputs,horses according to age you are in.Its a 2d game and has upper view.The drawback is that this game is so long that you will fell bored.

65

Not Everything is Truthful and my Expectations were not Met

TheForgery | May 11, 2015 | See all TheForgery's reviews »

This is one of my first RTS games and I did enjoy it. I truly did. However, RoN: Extended Edition is overpriced. Major Cons: The so called "improvements" on visuals and textures are non-existent. The only difference I can see is the water. There's no fixes to bugs (as of yet). This is most noticeable in the Scenario Editor in which it will often crash if placing a mountain too close to water. Moreover, artificial islands are often absorbed by the water regardless if a save is done. This results in very glitchy cities, foliage, etc. No new content. I expected new units, nations, campaigns, etc for the high price. There's no increase in the annoying population limit (and even if there was, it would cause the game to lag tremendously). This is very disappointing as many other strategy games over the last 10 years (since RoN first came out) have the improvements that RoN desperately needs. There is a workshop in Steam but it lacks the strong community that other games have. In other words, mods are very limited. I do have hope, however, that it will increase gradually. == Although I am deterred by the aforementioned cons, Rise of Nations: Extended Edition does have a few pros for those who missed playing this game, like I did. Major Pros: On the bright side, at least the gameplay mechanics were untouched. It still has retained the classic formula that made me love RoN. The game is now more easily purchased and at least will not fall into obscurity like many other older games. == Summary: Get this game only when it is at a discount AND if you never had the original RoN game. It's a good purchase for those that seek to take a break from FPS games.

74

It stands the test of time

drakso | Dec. 22, 2014 | See all drakso's reviews »

If you like RTS games and you haven't heard of Rise of Nations you must have been living under a rock. This game is one of the classics. A game that will stand in the RTS hall of fame. The objectives are simple: Build a base, advance trough the ages, make and upgrade your armies and defeat your opponent. It sounds simple but it is really well put together and pretty fun to play. The new conquer the world mode is the most fun. It makes the game play like risk but every battle that you fight, is like a skirmish battle. It is an awesome mode and an awesome game and I recomend it to every RTS fan out there.

99

Best Combination of RTS & TBS

MacerV | Oct. 11, 2014 | See all MacerV's reviews »

Perfectly combines RTS & TBS into cohesive gameplay which gives the player both ownership and pride in their nation as they strive for uniting the world under one banner. Quite honestly this is the best strategy game I have EVER played, sinking over 100 hours of gameplay with my original CD! Unfortunately the CD just stopped working so couldn’t play it anymore, but I am extremely excited that they’ve put it on digital release, and with an expansion to boot! Overall this game is practically perfect, the only gripe I have ever had with the game (and why it gets only 99) is that it always seemed to end too quickly…even after over 15 hours of gameplay. I just wished the regions were broken down just a tad more, just to have an excuse to play even more.

96

Perfect Simulation type game

philip08533 | Aug. 28, 2014 | See all philip08533's reviews »

RoN became very fast my favorite strategy games once it got released at 2003 and later with its expasion at 2004. I love it as it consists of gameplay of all eras. Starting with your slignshots and swords, and improving until you get missiles and stealth bombers.Get it now. Don't even think about something else. This game is the best. Prepare to get nuked and frustrated. This game is exactly how you remember it and if you don't you should probably see now.

95

Brings back good memories

darkyhbk | June 19, 2014 | See all darkyhbk's reviews »

Rise of Nations was one of my favourite games as a kid, and I still regard it as one of the best RTS games to have graced the scene. Gameplaywise, it's a mix between Age of Empires and Empire Earth, getting the best out of the two. The resource micromanagement is simple, but basis to a complex system of buildings, upgrades and research options. Each nation, and there are a lot of them, has its own specific units and bonuses, and it's a joy to experiment with each and every one of them. The game stretches from Antiquity all the way to the modern age, enabling an astonishing variety of units and tactics. In this repack you get both the original Conquer the World campaign, and the Thrones and Patriots scenarios, including an Alexander the Great campaign and a Cold War espionage series of missions on the tactical map. There's been some graphic improvement, the most notable being the adapted resolution, but not much more is so apparent. This re-release could have improved and added some additional stuff, and it's a pity it didn't do it. Of course, keeping everything classy, 11 years after the original's release is a plus, and everybody who didn't get a chance to enjoy this masterpiece should definitely do it !

84

Everything is Better With Nostalgia Goggles.

wolfister1590 | June 16, 2014 | See all wolfister1590's reviews »

(Just going to get this out of the way first, this is not a bad game) When Rise of Nations released back in 2003 I remember saving up my money and getting it, because it looked so amazing. I have very fond memories of playing the game, building up huge forces, seeing the buildings change through the ages, and just being incredibly fun. Yet now playing it again after a decade, and being older I have found that this game had some serious problems with it. 1. I had forgotten about that bloody timer. Yes this is a little gem that I guess I had blocked out of my memories of playing RoN, since it just provided nothing but extreme frustration. I guess when the devs put it in it was a way to try to keep the player from being able to build huge booming cities that could churn out resources and units faster than the AI. I am not sure what the devs were thinking but this is an old issue that I wanted to touch on. 2. It really is the same exact game just slightly unscaled in resolution. This is good and bad at the same time. It keeps the things you loved about old RTS games like base building, unit production, building defenses, and overwhelming with superior force. It also keeps the not so great aspects such as the not very bright AI, the difficulty that does not ramp up well (from easy to moderate it is like jumping from a pillow fight with a bunch of kittens, to a 9ft tall wall of a person with a club slowly smashing you into paste). Look the bottom line is that if you enjoyed this game back in the day and continued to play it for enough years that you can remember all the problems as well as the good things, then yes buy this it is a great way to play a pretty damn good game on a modern PC. If you have not played this game in a decade and only remember the fun I might say to just leave it that way. let those memories stay as rose colored as possible. Also if you are new to RTS and want to experience an absolutely amazing old school RTS then maybe pick up Empire Earth 2.

93

Amazing game!

drafek | June 16, 2014 | See all drafek's reviews »

I've had this game for ages, but now it's on steam, and I can tell you pick it up right now! The graphics are amazing but that's not the most important thing, the gameplay. The gameplay in rise of nations is amazing, no gameplay will be the same. There are alot of maps to play on. The music in this game is great, it fits the game really well. The textures have been upgraded iin the extended edition which is a great feature. The multiplayer battles are really cool, but if you forget just 1 thing there's a big chance you'll get conquered. Overall this game is worth every penny!