Reviews for Magicka: Wizard's Survival Kit DLC

71

Get this for Meteor Shower!

DonVercetti | Jan. 6, 2013 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

Some people who are criticizing this DLC have not really looked in to it too much. I've seen way higher priced content in other games with less usefull addition to that certain game. I picked this up in a 50 off sale, which made the content well worth it, Which even makes it worth it just for Meteor Shower. I usually play Magicka online, barely singleplayer. The funniest thing to do online is to strike out one big meteor shower!

30

Boring DLC that is quickly overshadowed

nairume | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all nairume's reviews »

Part of the charm and point of Magicka's DLC model is in the constant stream of interesting gear and costume packs that, while adding very little to the game, brings in a lot of general humor and referential jokes to the game. The problem with this particular DLC pack is that two of the three items included fail to include much general or referential humor, leaving them to be rather boring additions that almost feel as if they would have otherwise been random items already included in the game. What remains is a single spell that humorously brings down meteors on everybody on the screen, that kills everybody along with yourself.

Since the first two items in the DLC are almost inconsequential, this DLC is effectively just a two dollar expansion that lets you kill yourself. Since the game already has plenty of other funny ways of doing this, there really is no point to it at all.

35

Only good thing is the spell

jeyko | Sept. 22, 2012 | See all jeyko's reviews »

Well here's another useless Magicka DLC. It was given to people who preordered the game originally. The only fun thing that stands out is the new magick. It's an AoE-effect magick and is really powerful. But charging any amount of money for something so cosmetic is ridiculous for a game that I payed for and is not free to play.

30

Useless DLC

CJV | Aug. 18, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

Magicka has so many DLC that is might be a bit overwhelming when trying to pick which one to buy. Well, just be warned that this one is not worth the money, the content added is pretty useless.

50

Feels like this was ripped from the game pre-release

Cooberstooge | May 14, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

I think Magicka is great, but having investigated this DLC before getting it, I really wasn't expecting a pack of mostly-average weapons.

The one good item in this bunch, the Meteor spell, I found got old fairly fast. Yes, it's powerful, but it packs so great a punch, I found myself not overly challenged upon restarting the campaign.

The other weapons are slightly more powerful stock items to me, and I don't see how they couldn't have originally been in the game, then yanked out and sold back to us.

I'd go after one of the other DLC instead of this one, could I do it over again. This feels too much like a Greedy Publisher's Survival Kit, if you get my drift.

70

It's amageddon time

metalfreak | Oct. 23, 2011 | See all metalfreak's reviews »

This is the first DLC that came out for Magicka. It was actually given free as a preorder bonus and later it came out in stores with the rest of the Magica DLCs. As a first DLC it doesn't give any new maps or challenges but it gives one of the most powerful magickas in the game, the meteor storm. Other than that magicka you get an alternate robe Wizzard's hat that sadly doesn't give any bonuses and a sword and a staff that are surprisingly underpowered and are generally replaced right after tutorial with more powerful items. In the end only really useful thing in this DLC is Meteor storm magicka that can kill almost everything that moves including you but if you can shield yourself it can become quite useful in a tight spot and makes the game quite easier.

84

another cool dlc for magicka

liquidsnake78 | Sept. 14, 2011 | See all liquidsnake78's reviews »

The Wizard's Survival Kit was the pre order bonus dlc for pre purchasing the game. Its now being sold at a cheap price. Other than the name and as a part of dlc collection for magicka its usefulness is doubtful.

The first item The Wizard Hat is a character model which looks ok with no benefits what so ever, The second item the sharp blade is only slightly better than the blunt sword but as soon as the tutorial is over, you will find better weapons, so its useless too.The third item the +1 staff er add one additional dmg to all spells....yeah pretty useless and replaced early in the game. The last item IS what makes this dlc worth buying, you get the Meteor Shower spell. This spell is AWESOME provided you know when to use it and shield when its used, it will destroy anything on the screen along with your buddies :D if they dont shield.

The spell is what this dlc is all about. you can progress easily in the game if you can spam this spell safely. The other cool thing about any magicka dlc's is, if one of your friends owns a dlc and hosts the game, then all the players joining get the content for that game :D. At this low price its worth buying with no worries.

50

I guess the spell is neat.

Xonus | Aug. 24, 2011 | See all Xonus's reviews »

The items in this DLC are pretty insignificant, and the hat doesn't look good at all to me. The meteor shower spell is pretty neat, like the other huge AoE spells in this game. Overall it feels silly that they felt the need to make tiny DLC like that without offering it for charity or something like that.

I guess it's fine if you feel like supporting the people behind Magicka more. The score I give is pretty insignificant because it's so tiny.

80

A Good Buy

Bertolli | Aug. 18, 2011 | See all Bertolli's reviews »

I bought this dlc simply for the magick of meteor shower which is quite an awesome and hilarious spell. However, the equipment provided in the pack as well are quite useful. They are buffed up versions of the standard wizard kit basically and I do prefer the standard kit over the majority of the DLC kits. So a buffed up version gives me the same feel of the original but with more power to back it up

69

I guess it's acceptable

pman | Aug. 16, 2011 | See all pman's reviews »

This DLC is cheap. Dirt cheap. However, I still wonder weather it is worth it... it seems like this is the kind of DLC which should have been included in the original game if not included in an update...I suppose the most worthwhile part of the DLC is the new power to summon meteor storms. Apart from that the other items don't add much to the game, they really just feel like cosmetic options. Overall i guess for the very low asking price it is worth it for the new ability, but only if you really enjoy the game. I recommend this for fans of the game only.

70

For the collectors

faraany3k | Aug. 14, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

With a number of DLCs released simultaneously for Magicka, Wizards Survival Kit mostly concerns with the visuals customization options available in-game. Another one of the highlights of this DLC is newest Meteor Shower ability. It is a strong AOE magick and it looks pretty cool too. But ultimately it is up to you, a few random skins and a new magick is worth your 1 dollar. But if you are a Magicka fanatic. Just don't miss this at any cost.

100

Indispensable DLC

culefinslamort | Aug. 5, 2011 | See all culefinslamort's reviews »

If you want to enjoy the game the way it deserves, you need this DLC! It gives you the chance to change your suit with 4 news costumes that will make you forget the default one.

Totally worth it! I can recomend it 100%

70

Worth Price

vigotski | June 29, 2011 | See all vigotski's reviews »

A really cheap dlc for a really cheap (and great) game. It gives you another option of customizing your character and two new items. The new Magick, Meteor Shower is useful against some enemies and sometimes this helps a lot. This is not a must-have, but it costs only one dollar, so, why not buy it?

50

Not really needed

Annoyer13 | June 28, 2011 | See all Annoyer13's reviews »

I agree, it is quite cheap, but I do not really think it is worth buying. That survival kit does not give you much more than normal kit. It should be free anyway.

30

It's your choice..

Aladar | June 27, 2011 | See all Aladar's reviews »

I.. am seriously confused by this. The one point of view is that this is a completely shameless money milking using the old DLC trick.. the other point of view is.. it costs less than a cup of coffee.. But then again, do you want to buy a DLC that gives almost nothing to the game, even if it's as cheap?

The choice is yours, I guess. Myself, I don't like the fact that Magicka developers are starting to shower us with more-or-less pointless DLCs. Also, the +1 Staff is, as the name says, a stronger version of the regular Staff, so this is just another case of "you pay extra, you get stronger" fad..

And yes, the spell is the only useful thing in this DLC - but then again, useful may not be the word, as it can very easily kill your whole party if you aren't lucky..

50

Very minor

hotmando | June 21, 2011 | See all hotmando's reviews »

While the base game itself is very fun, it is also very easy to see why it's so cheap for a minor price of ten us dollars. It has an array of dlc that can cost from a simple dollar to more than five. An intereasting strategy because it'll easily drag you into buying dlc when you see your friends with so and so items.

5

Laughable!

GMGReviewer | June 1, 2011 | See all GMGReviewer's reviews »

This is another disgrace for a DLC that the developer/publisher are trying to nickel n' dime you like with Team Fortress 2 and Portal 2. It's basically a MMO-like strategy to try and profit as much as you can with tiny upgrades and skins, and i don't blame them ...it works lol

70

Meh..I Guess It's Worth it

drakaenae | May 28, 2011 | See all drakaenae's reviews »

I guess this DLC is worth the price but it doesn't do much. The weapons/hat provides a new outfit to customize your looks. The new Magick Meteor Shower makes this DLC worth it. If you bought Magicka before Jan 31, 2011 you should have gotten this DLC for free.

Buying this DLC is an excellent way to support the developers. I would recommend buying it if you really like magicka or if you want to support the developers and spend a minimal amount of money.

78

have fun +

satyakun | May 25, 2011 | See all satyakun's reviews »

The wizard survival kit doesn't help too much in 'cursing' the enemy, but at 99 cents, it has what it takes to make your little wizard look very cool. Try it, then see if you like it.

65

So-So

wakenbakejake | May 25, 2011 | See all wakenbakejake's reviews »

If, as many are, you are a big Magicka fan, you may want to pick this up simply because it exists. As for the DLC content itself, it is nothing to write home about. The coolest part of it is the new Meteor Shower Magick, as the other items are more or less useless. Wizard hats are always cool though, right?

70

You get what you pay for

GAMERamble | May 18, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

The Wizards Survival Kit DLC is not something that is essential to the enjoyment of the game and neither does it add much to the experience but to its advantage it is quite cheap. If the sound of raining burning rocks down on your foes sound appealing and you are just dying to sport the latest in pointy hat fashion then give this a try. At this price it is definitely an impulse buy.

93

DLC

robertification | May 17, 2011 | See all robertification's reviews »

Although this is a fun attribute to Magicka, it isn't that very useful. Why you might ask? Well, that's because the wizard's hat, sharp sword and staff are just temporary items, once you lose them once, you lose them forever. Meteor shower is a Magick that is kind of fun of course, as is the new wizard outfit included. It is after all, only 99 cents, so I'd definitely recommend it.