Reviews for Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy (MAC)

90

Saber jockey

Obsessor | May 5, 2015 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

Jedi Academy lets you play as a Jedi Padawan, Jaden Korr, who already has constructed his/her lightsaber ahead of the rest of the students. You meet famous personas from other Jedi Knight games, Luke Skywalker and Kyle Katarn. You're introduced to some ancient mysteries of the Sith too. Even get a trip to Korriban. On the way you advance your skills, and get promoted by Luke Skywalker. With promotion comes knowledge of new lightsaber combat style, and a chance to construct new lightsaber. You can fight old-school like, with one saber, wield two lightsabers, or even a double bladed lighstaber, like the one Darth Maul fought with. I think in 2015 it's out of place to discuss the game's graphics. Music and voice acting are good though. And, what's more important, the game has Star Wars magic to it.You'll get immersed quickly. There are also two endings to this game, something even today's AAA titles won't give us(vide Bioshock (In)finite).

95

Star Wars best!

MalkaLT | March 19, 2015 | See all MalkaLT's reviews »

Fist thing - if you are a fan of Star Wars than I don't know why are you reading this and not playing this game already. Because from all Star Wars games that I played is is on the top of the list. One thing you can expect from Star Wars is that it won't disappoint you. This game offers lots of things like special force abilities, awesome graphics, amazing fights, interesting story. Abilities - As you go throu missions you can choose a new skill that you can learn and each skill gives you totally different abilities that you will use in fights. Skills can go up to level 3 and you can definitely see how they improve your gameplay, and how you would die if you didn't have any of those. Graphics - Graphics are really good considering the year this game was made and I would say these are Midle graphics because they aren't very good, but they also aren't very bad, anyway, graphics like these won't distract you from enjoying the gameplay and I think that's the most important thing. Fights - What makes fighting in this game special is the amount of different moves that you can make and that really makes you to feel like a jedi. Story - Story of this game is unique and you will find it very surprising every time you play, there are some plot twists that you won't expect at all and the struggle to find out whats happening is the thing that keeps you playing every time. So all I can say now is that you must buy it if you want to get some good experience on gaming.

95

Who wants to be a Jedi?

KingTed | Feb. 6, 2015 | See all KingTed's reviews »

Last entry in the Jedi Knight series, Jedi Academy is a First Person Shooter (With Third Person fights when wielding your lightsaber) where you create your own character. Choose the gender and the race of your Jedi apprentice is a great idea. The gameplay is similar to Jedi Outcast. However, you start immediately with a lightsaber. Furthermore, there are three types of sabers now : single, dual wielding and double (like Darth Maul). The campaign offers a cool story where you travel the galaxy, accomplishing and investigatin missions for Luke Skywalker. Kyle Katarn is also present as a cameo. Oh and you can join the dark side too! I had a lot of fun playing this game over and over again. It's a must have if your a Star Wars fan.

90

Non linear sequel

vipe_1 | Dec. 5, 2014 | See all vipe_1's reviews »

Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy is the sequel to Jedi Outcast, taking you out of playing as Kyle Katarn and allowing you to create your own new apprentice. Jedi Academy looks and feels the same as Outcast, using the same graphic engine and gameplay elements. Everything is solid, from sound to controls, and those familiar with the other Jedi Knight games will find no surprises here. What is new, beyond the character creation system, is the ability to go out on a set number of varied missions. You can pick and choose through these as your character advances, and have the ability to play them all or just a few. Each mission is a shorter objective on several familiar planets in the Star Wars universe, and offers a non-linear feel to the story. Overall, Jedi Academy is a new spin on the Jedi Knight formula, but includes the best elements and characters from the past games. This is a great entry to the series overall.

86

One of the Best Star Wars games out there

Highlander9782 | Oct. 4, 2014 | See all Highlander9782's reviews »

I remember playing this 10 yrs ago, and just recently bought it on GMG. The graphics are still decent for its age, the gameplay is still great especially with all the cool jedi tricks you can do like force push, pull, mind trick and lightning. There is still an active multiplayer community especially with a cool new multiplayer mod called MovieBattles 2, that lets you play in multiplayer maps from the Star Wars movies like the Death Star and that scene from Phantom Menace with Darth Maul vs Obi Wan and Qui Gon. Definite buy if you're a Star Wars fan.

100

Best Star Wars game.

Furrek | July 29, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

First time I played Jedi Academy in 2003. I had bad internet then, so I just played single player campaign and it was great. So great and enjoyable, that I beat it on every possible settings. What makes this game really amazing are light saber battles. Sure, some says that battle mode in Star Wars Jedi Knight II: Jedi Outcast was better, but I liked it more in Jedi Academy. So when I finally got better internet, I tried this game online. This game have infinite potential with online matches. Even after so many years, there are still active players that just love to fight with others. You can choose a single light saber, dual, or two light sabres. There is one thing that's also important when it come to battles - place, where you duel others. Do you have your favorite place from Star Wars movies? Don't worry, I'm sure it's available as map for Jedi Academy from community sites. Also the playerbase are nice, after many years only true fans are still playing it and they welcome any new player and teach them a thing or two about game and how to play better online. Sure, it's nothing lie it was few years ago, but still you won't have a trouble to find a players to play with together. I think Jedi Academy is the only game where i truly felt like I'm a Jedi, that's why I love this game.

100

The best game from the series.

hateah | July 29, 2014 | See all hateah's reviews »

That's one of the best games in the star wars series for me. I'v played it when i was a kid and enjoyed it to the max. I like the movement system, the fighthing system, the laser swords are also amazing, you can throw them and they'll just come back to you after they finish 2-3 enemies. There are a lot of magic skills which you can use. There's that old robot which you'll discover as the game flows, just like in the movies, there are some hard missions, but you won't regret playing it. It's one of the best games in the series i recommend it. The graphics are kinda good,didn't impressed me, but the characters and the way the sword and everything is drawn did impressed me.

89

Great game, the series needs to come back though

mugaro | June 28, 2014 | See all mugaro's reviews »

Built on the Quake 3 engine, this is a first person & third person shooter. When you're using guns, its in first person. When you have the lightsaber out, which is basically 99% of the game, its in third person action mode. The biggest complaint people have with this game is also the reason why it's so much fun: lightsaber & force powers are overpowered, guns are pretty useless. Force choke, force lightning & force drain (dark side powers) are awesome to use. Choking a stormtrooper & throwing him off the cliff is hilarious, but at lv3 it also makes him drop his gun. If you need that type of ammo, the gun disappears and he becomes completely disarmed, surrendering to you. You can, of course, still kill him after he surrenders. There's one mission that takes away your lightsaber & makes you use guns, but force powers are still great. Toward the end of the game you are given a binary choice between good & evil, with the only differences being your opponents on the last map & the cinematic ending. It's a lot of fun having Force powers on a Quake 3 engine built FPS game. This game aged well, unfortunately the multiplayer is dead so it's basically a SP experience at this point.