Reviews for Sanctum

75

Good game, better with friends

kawette | June 11, 2014 | See all kawette's reviews »

Sanctum is a tower defense in which you play a character owning his own weapons and particularity. It is not a basic tower defense, you have to make the choice to upgrade your tower, make other towers or to upgrade your weapon. If you make the wrong choice it can be quite hard to defeat the level, at least in solo.

For the multiplayer it's funnier, the choice that you make have less impact in the game so you can enjoy more it. Playing with friends is always better.

It is a bit different from Sanctum 2, the strategy here has a bigger place. If you liked Sanctum 2 you will also like Sanctum (1) if you prefered placing towers.

70

Enjoyed this more than I expected

bcf623 | June 11, 2014 | See all bcf623's reviews »

This game does not have the most stellar graphics, but it is certainly made up for in gameplay. How this game works is that it is a tower defense, and as you would expect you earn money which you spend to build towers. What makes it unique, however, is that it is also an fps. What this means is basically that you yourself are a tower among others! I must admit though, playing through did get boring at points, but i would just stop and pick it back up at another time. What improves this game is definitely playing it co-op with a friend, as it makes the overall experience much more enjoyable and much less annoying.

85

Power Defence

Autocyclist | March 7, 2014 | See all Autocyclist's reviews »

An innovative twist on the tower defence genre, Sanctum puts you in the both the role of construction overlord, and hired gun.

Waves of enemies are coming for your base, and it's your job to stop them. Place a maze of blocks, traps and weapons for your enemies to navigate, and then take them out with your own weapons skill (and a variety of guns!). Spend money earned from crushing your antagonists to either buff your defences, or upgrade your guns into ridiculous killing appliances.

Fun alone, but great fun with friends, Sanctum is the sort of innovation we'd all love to see more of.

74

OK on your own, good with friends.

GeorgeStorm | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all GeorgeStorm's reviews »

Sanctum is a first person tower defence game, it's a great combination which I hadn't experienced before, mixing up the strategy and planning of classic tower defence games with the action packed fast pace of a first person shooter. The graphics are good, with a nice art style allowing for a decent amount of contrast, although at times it can get a little muddy with lots of enemies all packed together. There's a good range of weapons for your character, as well as the different towers you can build. Since you choose the route the enemies take by building walls, it allows for a good amount of replayability. It really shines when you play it with friends though, allowing for a really fun experience as you frantically try to help each other out as you try to hold back the waves of spawning enemies.

56

A reasonable Action TD game

drakso | Jan. 15, 2014 | See all drakso's reviews »

Sanctum is an Action Tower defense game, meaning: you must defend a point on the map from enemies by building towers, upgrading them and shoot at the enemies with various weapons along the way. At first glance the game looks complex enough and it shows promise. But in reality, when you play it for a while, the game gets very repetitive and you get bored. The weapons are not that interesting and the upgrades to the towers are very arbitrary. The graphics are simple and the soundtrack and overall sounds are mediocre. The most fun that you will get out of this game is if you play it with a friend. It is a great buy for half price tho.

80

Great game to play with your friends

Freako | Jan. 3, 2014 | See all Freako's reviews »

Sanctum is a great game to play with your friends partly because it says it's a Tower Defence but trust me it is not a tower defence itself.

Sanctum brings shooting games and tower defence to a whole new level where you can play both genre of games at the same time. The variety of guns in Sanctum is sadly not as much as one would expect but i highly recommend to look into tower defence aspect as it's better crafted.

Playing with friends is great because in this game teamwork is key. With teamwork you can honestly fight any level you want.

I would say buy it when it is on sale. Just wait for it patiently for it to go cheaper so you wont regret as much when you buy it for 10 bucks.

80

Worthwhile

Stuman31 | Nov. 24, 2013 | See all Stuman31's reviews »

The graphics in this game wont blow you away, but it is a great tower defense stragey game. I played and loved Defense Grid, but managed to knock off every level and achievement. Sanctum was the perfect replacement game to give me a challenging hunt. A great puzzle game requiring some creative thinking. The biggest set back of this game i would say is that you need a decent PC to avoid it getting sluggish, which would make some levels impossble. Also, the multiplayer is essentially pointless. It seems to hold no records of your best efforts, but as a single player game, i love it

74

Bring Some Friends

Wiesler | Nov. 18, 2013 | See all Wiesler's reviews »

Sanctum is an interesting mix of FPS and TD. Though the concept is novel, the execution is not quite perfect. The thrill of building a maze of tomorrows is combined with that of a horde mode in a n FPS, to an extent. The towers, weapons, and upgrades are all fine; they function well without being extremely creative. However the most crucial ingredient that Sanctum lacks in terms of FPS, is the danger of dying. Enemies will destroy your tower, but ignore you. It takes away a bit of the excitement.

Another flaw, though Sanctum itself is not responsible, is the lack of community. Truly the bane of every multiplayer game is the lack of community. There are barely any players on, so don’t expect immediate action. However if you have friends that are interested in a different kind of Tower Defense game, this should hit the spot.

75

Good game

kwadracik | Nov. 12, 2013 | See all kwadracik's reviews »

Sanctum is a first person tower defence. It isn't very complicated. On each map, there are 20 waves of different waves of enemies. Before each wave you can build new structures, and upgrade weapons. Always you have 3 weapons with you, in the example Freezer, REX Rocket Launcher and something what is looking like portable gatling. And when it starts, you are killing aliens. Mass of aliens. You should play it in cooperation, it becomes much better when you shoot with friends.

83

FPS and TD combined

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all eL_Jay's reviews »

Great meltingpot of tower defense and fps-action.

Biggest USP however is the awesome multiplayer. This is one of the most fun party-like games the pc offers.

There is nothing really innovative about this game except the great combination of the FPS and TD genre. However the execution of this game is done really well.

Grab some friends and kill those nasty aliens. (disclaimer, strategic capability is required ;))

82

Sanctum - review

balbo79 | Oct. 9, 2013 | See all balbo79's reviews »

Sanctum is a first person shooter tower defense , the game is easier to play than to explain. Choosing one of the three selectable maps need to build blocks of the defensive structures ( machine guns, laser turrets , mortars , etc.) Building on the boxes . This is to ensure that groups of aliens from reaching the core energy on the end opposite to their landing zones . Finished building , you go to the next step , which is the real action , with the player required to participate directly in the conflict as a classic FPS , holding one of the three weapons at your disposal right now : a machine gun / grenade launcher , a sniper rifle and a pistol freezing , all three upgradeable over again. The defenses are constructed so as to make possible the more intricate path which divides the arrival areas of the enemy from the nucleus. In this way the aliens will stay on the map for more time and you will be able to hit them from different positions longer. Sanctum is a title that is cheap but has a lot to offer in terms of novelty. Interesting experiment , manages to entertain despite not having a lot of content .

99

must play by everyone

kapamaru91 | Oct. 4, 2013 | See all kapamaru91's reviews »

The Sanctum is a very interesting FPS - Tower Defence hybrid, which makes a lot of steps forward with a good balance between the two genre, great variety and content and fun gameplay. Combining strategic thinking through Tower Defence, but also offering frantic action with the FPS element is an indie creation that definitely deserves to play it

90

TD/FPS mashup.

asiersua | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all asiersua's reviews »

This game is fun when played with others, so make sure someone else has it/will have it before buying it. I myself have stopped playing it because of this, it's no fun alone. Anyway, it's a great game (when played on co-op), so if you like Turret Defense games, you'll probably love this one, since you get to help the turrets with your own arsenal of futuristic weapons of all kinds. The sequel, which is out already, is kind of an improvement to the first, so consider getting it instead.

87

Original and fun

Sebastai | Aug. 23, 2013 | See all Sebastai's reviews »

At first when I bought this game I thought it was another tower defense, but what a surprise I have taken, this game brings us to something new and brilliant. A tower defense mixed with fps, the graphics are pretty good, the gameplay is very easy to adapt, and the game is not at all easy. The best from my point of view is cooperative play, because this type of game is much more fun to play them in company, and then I will give me the reason. It's a good game and originality I think he deserves a good review!

68

TD + FPS = Sanctum

harpiegirl | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all harpiegirl's reviews »

Sanctum is an interesting mash between tower defense and first person shooter, combined with a sci-fi environment. The game also seems slightly reminiscent of Portal in terms of design.

Sanctum takes TD to a whole new level of complexity, making sure you pay attention to what's happening. In order to survive, you'll need to manually attack enemies yourself as well and constantly place new traps. You may also play the levels with a friend through co-op.

89

Awesome Tower Defense/FPS

GMF_Roxas_DQ | Aug. 13, 2013 | See all GMF_Roxas_DQ's reviews »

This game is really cool. It has a good bunch of maps, an incredibly low price, an good replay value, and the co-op mode is awesome ! You can choose between different guns and towers, so that you can play with your own style. I would really recommend it, especially if you have friends to play with !

89

It's like Orcs Must Die with guns

forgot2shave | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all forgot2shave's reviews »

I think the best way to sum this game up is to call it Orcs Must Die with guns, gameplay wise and quality wise. Just like OMD, it's a tower defense with a kind of FPS/TPS element. You defend your base, build towers, shoot stuff and upgrade your gear/towers. That being said, it offers up a refreshing take on the genre and I don't think that anyone can really say that there is a game that is truly like this. It looks great and plays great and on top of that, in can generally be found for little to (almost) nothing in cost, making it a GREAT value.

65

Tower Defence. FPS style.

JetShredz | Aug. 10, 2013 | See all JetShredz's reviews »

I had never heard of Sanctum until my friend talked to me about it over Steam. Interested, I brought it. Before I say anything else, this game is hilarious fun when played with others, on your own however, it is fairly boring. If you're a fan of tower defence games, you won't be disappointed by the game's sequel, Sanctum 2. Save your money and buy that in my opinion.

75

Great challenge, gameplay, and music.

Grimagin | Aug. 6, 2013 | See all Grimagin's reviews »

If you're like me and love a challenge while playing a kickass tower defense game, then you've found yourself a winner. Not only does this game provide you with the ability to strategically place and upgrade towers, it also lets you be apart of the action by entering the field as a first person shooter. There are plenty of fun levels to master with music that never gets boring.

Having so much fun that you've beat all the levels? Not to worry, there are a couple of map packs that let you continue the slaughtering of aliens! If that isn't enough, grab some of your friends and join together, up to four players, to help defend the core!

70

Tower Defense FPS

F4T4LV0iD | July 23, 2013 | See all F4T4LV0iD's reviews »

I'll be the first to admit, I'm a huge sucker for tower defense game. I'm also no stranger to the field of FPS games. So what happens when you combine the aspects of both of these games? Sanctum.

Anyone familiar with tower defense games knows the basic model structure. -- Build up an impenetrable defense, unleash a wave of enemies, pray you survive before they hit their objective, repeat. This is a tried and tested foundation for tower defense games that seldom fails, and with a first-person-shooter aspect added to this, it adds a feature to tower defense games that some people find is lacking in some of them. ACTION! While your defenses pound away at oncoming invaders, you can run around and blast them with your guns as well. It's like you're a portable tower!

The game is pretty fun the first several goes, but the realization soon kicks in that the game is much more fun when you play online with some friends after you play through the same handful of maps over and over again. There's DLC to add new weapons and towers, but that luster wears off sooner than later and doesn't change up the gameplay all that much.

If you are a fan of tower defense games I say pick it up with a few friends and maximize the game's potential. If you're on the fence with tower defense games, it's a coin flip situation.

82

Really cool game

vaccaguy | July 22, 2013 | See all vaccaguy's reviews »

This is a really original game in it combines two types of gameplay into one. It does so very well and i like it very much. The graphics are ok and it runs well on most machines. The game is a tower defense with first person shooter combined. All the towers and guns are made so that one is not more powerful than the other and like other games, they have a role to play in the onslaught of various monsters. I enjoyed it alot and had lots of fun playing together with my friends for longer than most other games i play.

75

A very good TD/shooter.

Learthion | July 21, 2013 | See all Learthion's reviews »

A great game with many different towers, fun multiplayer and interesting weapons. The sequel is a better game.

70

Nice tower defence

simodeso | July 14, 2013 | See all simodeso's reviews »

This game stands in a category between shooters and tower defense game, and i liked the idea. it is great, good graphic, no story at all, but interesting gameplay. Something that i don't like it's that you can't improve your character with permanenet bonus or something like that like the others tower defence games like orcs must die! 1 and 2. But it doesn't cost too much and if you don't mind it can give to you a lot of hour of fun, because there are a lot of traps to try and a lot of guns and enemies with different weak spot or charateristics. Give it a try!

88

The pinnacle of tower defense game design.

Traldera | July 8, 2013 | See all Traldera's reviews »

Sanctum provides a well implemented blend of tower defense and first person shooter genres. The game has a very small learning curve so is fantastic for beginners and also has some of the best co-op gameplay around. The variety of classes, weaponry, and towers meant that alone or with friends each level has massive amounts of replay value. If you and some of your friends are looking for something new to do together that doesn't break the bank i cannot recommend this game enough.

88

Only tower defence game I like!

bercilak | July 7, 2013 | See all bercilak's reviews »

Sanctum has to be the greatest "tower defence" game I have ever played. I have mainly played Sanctum in multi-player, which is thoroughly enjoyable (and gives you twice as many towers as playing alone). The ability to build the level to your own specifications and then shoot the enemies yourself as well provides this game with features that aren't available on other fps and tower defence games that I have played to date. Highly recommended, especially if you are looking for a multi-player game.

80

Really cool Tower Defense

TGAlan | July 5, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

Sanctum has a very awesome and unique take on tower defense. Since its FPS it actually requires a lot of strategy on your own, you build towers to help but you have your own gun to do damage as well. While playing you need to decide if you want to upgrade your towers or your guns. The levels get progressively harder just like a normal tower defense game. Found it boring playing solo so you should try finding friends to play with.

So basically to sum this up, if you like tower defense games and FPS games then you'll definitely like this game as its a lot of fun!

90

Tower defense done right

666satan666 | July 4, 2013 | See all 666satan666's reviews »

This first-person tower defense game packs some wonderful visuals and creative concepts into a very difficult game. This game punishes those who play it with tons of challenges and enemies. This isn't a bad thing, though - the game is full of replayable levels, and is certainly worth your time.

82

Tower FPS at its finest

Chack | July 4, 2013 | See all Chack's reviews »

Sanctum is a nice mix between FPS and Tower Defense genre, works really well, the gameplay is fun, it can get a little challenging like every other Tower Defense out there, it's also more fun playing with friends. For $10 this is a great game for your collection.

80

The best tower defence experience!

PinataIdol | July 4, 2013 | See all PinataIdol's reviews »

Who doesn't love all those tower defense genre games? but, haven't you ever thought "Ungh! why can't i go down there and help these guys out?" Well, now you can! take out your weapon of choise, choose your defences, and let's rock!

71

One of the best TDs.

sgtpepper901 | July 3, 2013 | See all sgtpepper901's reviews »

Its a third person TD, a great twist on the genre. You set up towers that make the path for the monsters and you can shoot them as well. This was a great idea, but not made too well. Hopefully the second is better.

95

My Favourite Tower Defence Game!

ColonelSandvich | June 28, 2013 | See all ColonelSandvich's reviews »

Sanctum, Is the combination of FPS and Tower Defence, And it is awesome. If you enjoy FPS and even slightly like Tower Defence, I'm sure you'll enjoy Sanctum. But it is definitely best played COOP with a friend or 2,

It has been update alot since I first played it, and when I played it a few days ago I found it to be even better than before. The DLC is also worth getting as some of the towers and maps are very fun. the Killing floor can be deadly when used against high wave enemies.

But when it comes down to it. Sanctum is definitely worth the full price if not more. Very well optimised as well.

74

If you love tower defense this is for you.

kkwikmick | June 27, 2013 | See all kkwikmick's reviews »

Like the title if you love tower defense games then this is for you. A first person game shooter mixed with tower defence makes a great and fun game.

95

Amazing tower defense game

Supraballs | June 19, 2013 | See all Supraballs's reviews »

I think this is a masterful blend of FPS and Tower Defense and I can't recommend it enough. It is a VERY long game if you beat all the levels (minimum 20 hours) and one level alone is about an hour a piece. You are in charge of the patterns of the monsters essentially and you can play each level however you want as there are so many ways to beat a level. Use your guns, your towers, your own strategies to win. Really, just have fun and get ready for a challenge. There are some areas that will leave you grinding out the win and that makes it awesome.

81

Well Executed Hybrid

thegaminglyfe | June 17, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Sanctum is a hybrid between tower-defence and wave-based fps shooters. And it pulls it off perfectly. There are lots of different high-tech and simple towers with their own advantage and disadvantage. There are also things like walls to guide the monsters into one path so your towers can destroy them. The objective for the monsters is to make it to the other side of the map to your core and destroy it. Pretty generic tower defence. But one big part is the actually fps part of the game. If you don't get into the mess of things and shoot the monsters yourself, 95% of the time you will fail. There aren't many weapons, only 3 or 4 but they are upgradeable throughout the map. One bonus feature that's added in the game is the co-op. You can play yourself or with 3 other people. This makes it so much easier because you can tell him where to shoot and where to place his towers so you can speed up the process. Highly recommended for people who think that there needs to be more strategy in first person shooters.

75

Good Twist on Tower-Defense

Fluffy_McFluff | June 17, 2013 | See all Fluffy_McFluff's reviews »

Few developers have tried to give the player an actual, 'physical' place in the Tower Defense game world - from either a first- or third-person perspective - rather than just being some omniscient, all-seeing, all-controlling overlord. Fewer still have done a good job of pulling it off and still making a game that is well balanced and playable.

Sanctum leans a little heavier on the 'hard,' frustrating side of things, as most of the weaponry the player is given feel horribly underwhelming - but various constructable 'tower' objects can help give the player an edge. Apart from the standard minigun, flamethrower or slow-field generating towers that hinder and/or kill your enemies - which, of course, can be upgraded - there are Televator tower blocks, which add some mobility in the sizable maps.

Overall, Sanctum is a tough Tower-Defense strategy game. The visuals and environments are beautiful and well-crafted.

67

Gets boring before long

Wrayman | June 9, 2013 | See all Wrayman's reviews »

This game is good fun no doubt when you have a group of friends to play it with but even with a group you'll get bored soon. Despite the amount of levels available I couldn't help but get a sense of each one being too similar. The combination of both first person shooter and tower defence does offer a different experience to what you may be used to with the usual FPS games (team deathmatch, capture the flag etc.) so it may be worth playing for a bit of change but don't expect to get hours and hours of fun out of this game. That said, it is cheap, and the price is often reduced so if the idea of the combination does float your boat then it could potentially be worth a buy.

82

Great Tower Defence

Gruntman14 | June 7, 2013 | See all Gruntman14's reviews »

This game is a great game if you are a fan of the TD genre. It plays very much like the game "Fieldrunners", being that you build the path that the enemies must run through. The graphics on the game are very nice, but certainly not the best. It has a bit of replayability when doing the game solo, but when you team up with friends, the fun never ends. The multitude of weaponry that you can use is amazing. You can upgrade them differently each match you play so it is even more diverse. The game can be difficult at times, but always turns out fun.

70

A bit unbalanced

captainstark | June 7, 2013 | See all captainstark's reviews »

This game feels like it's designed for four people to play. The difficulty felt scaled up when I was playing with one other person. This is a pretty unique experience as you are combining a tower defense game with an fps game. The graphics are pretty good for an indie game.

75

Great game

brenker99 | June 4, 2013 | See all brenker99's reviews »

This game is really fun as a solo player for about a hour. But with another person , Spaicely when your Skype or something it becomes an Epic game.

84

Hard, but satisfying

Shav | June 3, 2013 | See all Shav's reviews »

I had great expectations of Sanctum, as I am generally a fan of fun, fast paced tower defense games. Really liked Orcs Must Die, so just had to try this one, even if it is set in totally different setting.

Instead of a fantasy world, filled with blades, crossbows and orcs, Sanctum is set in a sci-fi future. You are using high-tech towers and futuristic weapons - guns, shotguns, sniper rifles and even rocket launchers, to defend against hordes of enemies. What is interesting, this game mixes the classical, strategic elements of TD with an FPP shooter - in action phase you can just run around, killing the enemies by yourself, all in first person perspective.

This game is quite challenging, even on easier difficulties. It is certainly WAY MORE complicated and hard then OMD, but that isn't a downside tho, atleast it will keep you focused and satisfied, when you will finally beat a level after a number of tries.

Also, the graphics are truely spectacular. If you will play it with high details, then it is a real eye-candy. Definitely one of my favourite TD games ever made, on pair with first Orcs Must Die.

65

FPS + TD

lok0812 | June 3, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This is the game you get when you mix in FPS and TD. The ingredient is very promising bu the result is really just average. The first few maps are fun but it can get dulled very quickly. All the monsters in the game have a certain weak point that the player must aim in ordered to take them down and this is where it gets bad for the game. The defense itself will not aim at these weak spot and majority of them will aim at their first target who are immune to damage unless are hit at the weak spot which causing them to act as a tank while the others follow in and slip past your defense leaving you doing all the work. It is not really recommended to get this game but unless you really want to try this promising genre of FPS TD get Sanctum 2 where it has improved in all aspect of the original Sanctum.

81

Interesting Hybrid.

McDoenerKing | June 1, 2013 | See all McDoenerKing's reviews »

I played this game mostly in singleplayer and still very much enjoyed it. At the first few sessions it was awkward to shoot at the waves, but the weakspots and behaviour of the different enemies make the shooting part the opposite of dull.

In this game you are encouraged to maze and it is very cheap to maze in this game. Also the tower are very different from each other and have their cons and pros going for them. Before each level you have to choose a set of weapons and towers. This is sometimes tricky and you will find yourself tweaking your builds and start evaluating your weapons and upgrade progression.

The graphics and animations are superb for an indie developer, although the artstyle won't suit everyone. I needed some time to get used to, but finally I thought it was a clean way to make gameplay mechanics more obvious e.g. weakspots.

In summary even if you can't find a coop buddy, grab it if you love TDs and do not mind the FPS part (although it is well done). This game is more TD than FPS so I'd rather recommend it to lovers of the TD genre. :)

83

Almost Perfect Blend

kalil | May 30, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

This is a unique game, quite original and fun mazcla the famous FPS mode "Tower Defender" that varies between shots playable side us and tower defense with pauses between rounds of enemies to gestionesmos our team and buy and we improve the towers.

Gameplay -> It's pretty good, but it has its drawbacks, for example you can not run or agacharce, which is strange in a game that becomes very frantic in places. The interfaces are simple but they are not comfortable at the time of build, as everything is done in first person and in the end it a little uncomfortable.

Technology -> The corpses are piling up between so great, the scenario is quite exesible about spending x narrow areas and that there are variety of weapons but if they wanted to attract more people could have put more visually realistic weapons, no more types of weapons but if several of a class (4 machine guns instead of one and so would choose), almost all weapons have secondary fire and infinite bullets but no gun overheat or recharge their effects, except x the sniper can not aim.

Graphics -> They are good, they remind me of the first Portal.

Sound -> Chord, also if x example we x a relentize the music we heard more slowly, the effects are good.

Innovation -> While mixing two common ways (and more FPS) gives a fresh title without history but very addictive.

------------- The Good --------------------- * Variety of enemies acceptable for missing distinction Enemies are special but still good. * Displays the number of how much life we ​​take Borderlands style enemies as useful data but we were not rewarded with exp or anything. * Good ambience. * Ability to upgrade weapons and towers, but improvements are not general, but is improving all the weapon without us to choose whether we want to increase damage or cadence, etc.. * Long Lasting x level

The Bad ---------- -------------------------- * The only panoramic view only serves to teleport rather than to build as we all hope. * Lack more variety of Torres, desbloquiables, to buy, to choose the improvement we want, etc.. * You can not aim, run or agacharce.

In short it is a good game that has a lot of potential wasted but still so much fun

76

Feels like a great mashup :)

Rawrbacon17 | May 15, 2013 | See all Rawrbacon17's reviews »

This game feels like the perfect blend of tower defense and FPS. It is as though Coffee Stain Studios has thrown the player into a tower defense environment with a Borderlands feel. I enjoyed Borderlands which is really the only reason I decided to give this game a look, and I wasn't disappointed by my experience. The game offers a fresh yet familiar feeling which is hard to achieve, however the game play does seem to lose it's value after 50+ hours, however multiplayer really makes this game with the co-op mode.

85

A fun and challenging TD game.

florindo | May 13, 2013 | See all florindo's reviews »

If you are into tower defense games, you need to check sanctum, enough said.

The controls are easy to master but the game will offer enough challenges and will keep you occupied for hours through it's variety of maps, enemies, towers and weapons to use.

How you play in every step of the map will affect your ability reach the end and win. The mixture composed of chosen towers and weapons, upgrades and your skill to shoot at the enemy will determine your success in this unique game.

Recommended.

63

Fun at first but gets boring fast

Infiltrator | May 3, 2013 | See all Infiltrator's reviews »

Sanctum combines the classic tower defense game with FPS co-op. The players will build a maze on a map and construct guns of various types with various abilities. When the players are ready the spawns start - waves of different monsters will be incoming and the players will have to rely on their weapons and the deployed turrets to kill them and stop them from getting through the maze. When monsters die the players make money, which can be used to upgrade guns or existing turrets or build new ones.

The game is quite well executed (very few bugs) and the design is thought through and relies heavily on the normal tower defense games. The weapons are neat-looking, works as you expect them to work - you have three of them, a sniper, an assault rifle with grenades and a freezing gun that'll slow monsters. There is a certain variation of maps, but I never felt much of a change when switching between them - as you build the maze yourself, the maps will mostly just provide obstacles for the maze you would like to build. The game, however, got somewhat dull for me rather quickly. The incoming monsters don't offer much variation - the spawn order is random, so sometimes the only thing that can really threaten you is a spawn composed of 3 groups of the same type: as you have been dealing with varied threats you have made maze for varied incoming, so when a full spawn of flyers (that can only be shot by certain types of turrets) for instance show up, your turrets for shooting at the ground will be useless. Therefore the best investment is a high level gun, which turns the game more into a shooter than a builder. Also - maybe it's just my personal shortcomings, but I have a hard time getting beyond a fair percentage of the monsters looking like genitals.

In Sanctum I never get the "tower defense" experience of leaning back and watching your awesome killing zone at work as I constantly had to rush around killing the monsters that slipped through your maze. Turrets can NOT handle stuff on their own and will gladly fire away at the front of a monster that can only be wounded from behind or pumping hundreds of rounds of lead into the belly of someone who only takes damage from head shots. It's up to you to stop the enemies that will need accurate shots, and after a number of games I was sorely tired of trying to get "head" shots on the wobbly beings with balls on top of their necks. Did I mention that most of the monsters look like genitals?

Anyhow, Sanctum is a very well executed game that will be immensely funny at first but get rather boring in the long run. If you have some friends who're keen on co-op playing it will be a good purchase though.

87

Brand new twist for Tower Defense

tatsuevo | April 23, 2013 | See all tatsuevo's reviews »

I'm not a big fan of Tower Defense-esque games but this one really caught my eye. Having a FPS element into this giant world of Sanctum really adds a new element to game play. It lets the veterans of TD get to work creating the best pathway to kill all the mobs while FPS heavy players can spend their time running and gunning down the giant creatures. It's just a giant ball of fun when you really get into it. While it's not the best, it certainly is of high caliber in gameplay and immersion. Definitely give this one a go, you won't be disappointed.

85

Great tower defense FPS

Stebsis | April 9, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

I just love tower defense games, something about the planning and taking every little thing into account is just so much fun in these games. Sanctum does the TD formula almost perfectly, it's just a shame that it isn't actually that long game.

So when you start a game you go to a building phase, you have limited amount of money that you have to spend on different towers and traps to kill your enemies, and also buy blocks to create as long paths as possible for enemies to go through. There're nice amount of different towers you can create and leave you lot of room to mix and match.

After this you go into battle, you get a gun and it basically turns into a first person shooter. You have couple weapons to choose from. Its your job to find the weak spots on enemies that you can exploit and do a ton of damage. These can get intense battles, much more than in almost any other TD because you're actually in the action yourself and not just watching as your towers destroy enemies.

Any tower defense fan will like Sanctum. It has nice depth and lot of replayability too.

75

A very interesting mix

curseknight | March 8, 2013 | See all curseknight's reviews »

I really love when games come up with a new idea, a new concept never seen and never thought of before. That's what happens with Sanctum.

Sanctum is a third-dimension tower defense, but alongside with that, you also have FPS action on it, so you can "help" your towers, and I also liked the futuristic touch of this game. Well, this "idea" might sound a little weird, but once you play it, you'll probably enjoy it.

I recommend you to buy it even if you don't like tower defense, but this is really a whole other story that has little to do with conventional tower defense games and everyone should try it. I'm giving it 75 because it could be improved, but it is still a great game.

70

Tower Defense from a different perspective

Neohoodman | Feb. 28, 2013 | See all Neohoodman's reviews »

With its crazy art style and different perspective, Sanctum is instantly an original take on the standard tower defense genre. It does what it does pretty well; the mechanics work great translated to first person (you look at tiles with your pointer and place towers) and are able to use your own weapons as well. But it still feels lacking; A tower defense game is usually hailed for its strategy options, which Sanctum seemingly does not have. Where games as Defense Grid are great and allow for hundreds of combinations to beat a level, that certain 'click' was never there with Sanctum. For a low price you should definitely pick this game up for a good time with friends (It has co-op) but it is not the to-go tower defense game.

60

Cool but not the best

Mrrickniel | Feb. 11, 2013 | See all Mrrickniel's reviews »

Its an overall decent tower defense game but i like other games more. (like orcs must die). The graphics are horrible and the gameplay gets a bit boring after a while. The fun things about the game is the FPS part. The FPS part is well done and it fun to finish waves. The controls work great on the keyboard no need for a controller. Overall a decent game.

71

Fight for your sanctuary

Wolfear | Feb. 9, 2013 | See all Wolfear's reviews »

Aliens invade your planet or something like that. the story is not really important or interesting, However it does allow you to blast away aliens with guns, always a plus in my book. The strategy of placing your turrets and where to aim your firepower becomes steadily more interisting with more types of aliens. Strategies that worked the level before suddenly don't work anymore, and you'll have to change. It stays interesting. It can only become better with friends, though not as fun with strangers. After playing it through you probably won't play it a lot anymore. All in all not abad game.

67

Not bad FPS and TD

kokosabre | Feb. 1, 2013 | See all kokosabre's reviews »

It could be better.If you are fan of Dungeon Defenders or Orcs Must Die! you probably gonna like the game but still after you pass all levels with friends hardly you will get back to it for long sessions.Still it remains the fun to kill aliens instead of orcs.

67

Fun and addictive

eMP3Danie | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all eMP3Danie's reviews »

Sanctum utilizes the Unreal 3 engine and splines the FPS genre with Tower defense in a visually stunning way.

It has a multiplayer option so you and a few mates can tackle the levels socially and have a good old laugh fighting out who didn't add enough air defenses in!

As I said it tackles the FPS side with Tower defense and I think it does it really well, there are a number of bad guys trying to secure resources and you could simply choose to destroy them with your towers or upgrade your weapon and take them out by your self.

Each set of enemy's have their own unique weak spots and will trouble even the most savvy fps players.

This is a Steamworks game and controller support is available. Perfect for SteamBig Picture.

50

Sanctum

xydanus | Jan. 16, 2013 | See all xydanus's reviews »

Sanctum is old fashion tower defence from different perspective. FPS adds more action to original concept that tower defence games usually have.

Firstly you build your defences, like turrets and walls, and then comes the horde that you try to stop. Player has his/hers own weapons so that game does not get boring. Cooperative mode is best thing that this game has to offer. If you play this alone, you will be missing big part of the game.

Graphics are somehow bad or cheap looking. And then there are terrible animations in both weapons and mobs. On the other hand, sounds are actually good and dude moves smoothly.

I recommend Sanctum only if you have already played Orcs Must Die 2 and still want more things to defend with your buddies.

74

Sanctum - review

carlyle | Jan. 13, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

Sanctum is a first person shooter tower defense, choose one of the three selectable maps need to build blocks of defensive structures (machine guns, laser turrets, mortars, etc.) Building on the boxes. This is to ensure that groups of aliens from reaching the power core on the end opposite to their landing zones. Finished building, you go to the next step, which is the real action, with the player required to participate directly in the conflict as a classic FPS, holding one of the three weapons at your disposal right now. Any structure constructed or improved cost resources, resources that would otherwise be used to upgrade weapons. At the start you have a few credits, which accumulate rejecting the enemy waves, so you have to choose wisely what to build and set up what would later be the strategy of any level. Interesting experiment, manages to entertain despite not having a lot of content.

80

A nice tower defense game

Cavalieroscuro | Jan. 9, 2013 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

This is a very interesting tower defence game. You can set up your turrets, fighting horde of robots, but you can fight them too thanks to your own weapons. Is nothing special but is funny, especially in coop (on solo the game can be boring soon).

70

Loads of fun

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Lekes's reviews »

The field of tower-defense-meets-shooter is beginning to get crowded, with games like "Dungeon Defenders" and "Orcs Must Die" to face off against. Sanctum holds its own in large part because of its style, but the game play isn't as dynamic as those other two games. In Sanctum, the character, Skye, is clearly there in a support role and the towers do most of the work. The weapons are just too weak to take out swarms single-handed. The relatively small amount of character/weapon customization adds to the feeling that Skye s a servant of the big machine and not the main protagonist. This isn't necessarily bad; it's just the choice the developers made as to where to draw the line between tower defense and shooter. Some games draw that line more toward the side of shooters. Sanctum is definitely a tower defense first and a shooter second. But this combination does work well. It's nice to be able to go lend a hand when you find a hole in your defenses, but it's more stressful to have to go to the tower to upgrade it instead of doing it from a bird's eye perspective. The DLCs are really not the big deal that some people have made them out to be. They're cheap on an average day but when they go on sale, as they often do, you can get the lot of all DLCs for less than a cup of coffee at Starbuck's. If you like the tower defense genre, you're doing yourself a disservice by not having this game in your collection. At the very least, put it on your wish list and grab it the next time it goes on sale.

20

Way Overrated, Bad Controls, Unbalanced

Brumbek | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Brumbek's reviews »

A great concept that is totally ruined by horrible game design, terrible presentation, and infuriatingly ambiguous tower/enemy stats. This game is the worst sort of indie trash. It's clear it was made by some newbie developers who don't understand UI design or production values. The big boys like Defense Grid and Orcs Must Die! crush this pathetic attempt at a game. Sorry, this is a bad Unreal mod, not a game. Complete FAIL. I do not understand all the people praising this game. Go play Orcs Must Die! or Defense Grid because this game is just amateurish in every way. Too bad because the concept was solid.

92

Without a doubt my favorite Indie game!

DonVercetti | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

This is without a doubt the greatest Indie game I have played in a while. The Concept of a Tower Defense mixed up with a first person shooter is brilliant. This game has great atmosphere, the strange looking maps you’re dropped in give you that feeling you’re really in a sort of Sci-fi location. So environments fit the alien attackers perfectly. The balance between the towers you’ve placed and the shooting you do yourself is mostly perfect. Unless ofcourse you are at that high of a wave you can no longer upgrade your weapons and keep on upgrading the towers, but that’s only really at the endless runs. With 60 hours in this game, playing with friends of mine, I have enjoyed every minute in it. If you do not have this game, go fetch the demo and try this one out!!

86

A great mash up of Tower Defense and FPS

Firehand94 | Nov. 6, 2012 | See all Firehand94's reviews »

It's rare that you find a game that flawlessly combines two genres of game so well. Though great on its own the game truly shines when you play it with a group of your friends. with all the towers and weapons available you will have a blast mixing and match various towers and guns for the best combination to work with your buddies. This is a must buy if are a fan of tower defenses and co-op.

80

A great mix of FPS and Tower Defense.

DukePaul | Oct. 17, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

I think is the one of best Tower Defense I played because of the originality, you can control a character and play like a FPS but also it is important to build a good maze.

You can build a maze made of towers and each towers has different uses, one can be a machine gun, other beams, antiairs, etc and upgrade with credits killing enemies to make them powerful, also of course you need to be on the top of this maze to kill the enemies.

Also you character has weapons, pistol, shotgun, sniper, freeze gun, I love how the developers update the game with new weapons are maps and some for free.

Also this game has COOP up to 4 players, the strategy with 4 players is great and you will need to think a lot to beat the levels.

The graphics are really nice, I love how the stages look so futuristic and clean.

73

Less strategy more action

das_regal | Oct. 2, 2012 | See all das_regal's reviews »

Sanctum takes the tower defense genre and immerses you in it with 3 dimensional map design, shooting mechanics, and top-down tower positioning between waves. Most of the familiar genre staples are here, though they are tilted on their head slightly by the action element. You defeat enemies to earn money, but that money can be spent to create structures that are both offensive, defensive, and of utility to the player only. Money can also be spent to upgrade your weapons. Sadly, the shooting is very basic (think 1998 shooter style), the graphical style is gratingly simple, and the musical score is forgettable. Sanctum has the mechanics down, but it's a bit lacking in charm. Furthermore, the additional control they give you over the outcome of waves takes some of the science of tower defense out of it: as a result, Sanctum feels less cerebral and puzzling, and more twitchy.

88

A hybrid that works

Cooberstooge | Sept. 10, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Admittedly, the tower defense genre is getting pretty stale, and really needs a massive kick in the rear to get it going again. Sanctum may just be that kick, and manages to make two incredibly unlikely types of games work seamlessly together as one.

Once you've constructed your defenses, it's not time to stand back and take a managerial overseer position - it's time to strap on your sidearm and fight. You'll be right down in the think of things, trying to protect your constructions with brute force and gung-ho FPS insanity. The entire game looks insane, too, and makes combat, as well as the building and repair phase, something to truly behold - the clean, sterile look of everything is mangled totally during combat.

Sound is fantastic, and during combat, it can get quite loud. The FPS element is suitably harsh, with your weapon sounding nice and meaty. It's easy to lose track of a near-demolished defense during combat due to all the noise and commotion, and that's what makes Sanctum something you can easily play through multiple times - battle never gets old.

The multiplayer component is hilariously good fun, and is still very much alive and well. Defeating waves with friends never gets old, and it's a great way to make some new friends, too. Totally recommend Sanctum - it's just so much fun, and it runs and looks great while doing it.

78

Nice to play with friends

zhack075 | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all zhack075's reviews »

The concept of mixing FPS and Tower Defense is really nice ! In fact I bought it with friends and we had a great time on this game ! It is difficult and the coop mode is a great experience.

The only thing I can regret is the lack of feelings you get by shooting weapons and the many DLC that adds Maps, weapons or even tower. Except this what can i say ? It's not the best game in the world, but it's still fun to play it if you're not alone !

70

Some refreshing elements to the Genre, but still lacking.

Mikester7 | Aug. 20, 2012 | See all Mikester7's reviews »

Sanctum is a single player or co-op FPS/Tower Defense(TD) game that has included some nice TD elements. It is good to see a game that focuses on mazing, by that I mean making a maze of cheap towers so the enemy take longer to get to the end. Having air levels is also another good thing I like to see in tower defense games. I believe that the custom maps in the game Warcraft 3 Frozen Throne were by far the best tower defense games that currently exist, so I like to base other tower defense games on the really good ones from then.

There are a few features that I think make up a great tower defense; Mazing, while not required to be a good tower defense, it certainly is a great element, a large variety of monsters (fast, slow, tanky, big, small, flying, shielded, invisible etc.), tower upgrading that substantially changes the towers visually and/or their combat abilities rather than passive bonuses (an upgrade "tree" is also very nice to see on a single tower), multiple "races" or "factions" to choose, each of which have different towers, possibly different tower combat themes as well, Competitive multiplayer and/or Co-op with more than one game type, multiple maps and freedom to place towers wherever on the map rather than being confined to a certain "cells" where you can place towers.

Sanctum has some of these, it has the Co-op, enemy types, mazing, suitable tower placement freedom and a decent amount of tower types. It falls behind in the FPS side with a lack of weapons, even after DLC additions and shallow tower and weapon upgrading. Overall the game feels lacking polish and variety. Sadly because of this, Sanctum is not the brilliant tower defense game that fans have been craving, but to be fair there are none that have hit the nail on the head. It's worth a shot, but if you are after a better TD game, try Defense Grid or the new (and great) Tower Wars.

75

A gorgeus tower defense

FreeMan85 | Aug. 6, 2012 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

Sanctum is maybe the most popular tower defense game in years, at least the most gorgeus. Powered by the powerful Unreal3 Engine the game graphics is rise and shine. Lush plants, cosy buildings and terrific lighting effects. The gameplay is the Iron Grip like mixed RTS-FPS type. You can build and manage defense units in RTS mode, then you can shoot and move in FPS mode. You can also play with 3 other players in co-op. The good thing, if only the host has a specific DLC map other player still join the battle. The devs gladly gave many free updates which are free weapons, towers or maps. There's two free DLC too, one for X-mas and the lastest The Yogscave map.

If you like tower defense games, you can't miss Sanctum. Beautiful and fun. Has many achievements and easter egg and game modes to compete the online stats.

78

Very interesting TD game

ultrapwnd | Aug. 5, 2012 | See all ultrapwnd's reviews »

this is a very interesting TD game in which you can set up weapons but also fight the enemies yourself like a first person shooter. The gameplay is nice and fluid and there is a wide variety of cheap dlc to buy, You can also upgrade your weapons during matches to give yourself an edge. The game can be fun with friends and the graphics are nice and crisp. If your a fan of either genres I recommend this game

78

An original tower defense

panz3r88 | Aug. 4, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Sanctum is probably the first game that tries to mix two different type of games: tower defense and FPS. The result is a good game where you must combine your ability with various weapons with the ability to manage and place in an efficient way all the towers with a limited amount of resources. There are not many maps, but they allow you to face a good variety of situations. It's not so easy to reach the final wave of the level, you must plan carefully each move and use in each situation the most efficient weapon against a certain enemy. You can also play each level in endless mode choosing between various game modes or try the cooperative multiplayer where you can defend the core with the help of other players

85

Unusual, But Fun!

UltraJake | July 26, 2012 | See all UltraJake's reviews »

Sanctum is certainly not your ordinary game. It's an FPS/Tower Defense Hybrid and it's a lot of fun. On the hardest difficulty it is indeed difficult, but if you're not into that you can play it casually. With a decent number of towers and a small assortment of weapons, you can customize your arsenal and play with up to 3 friends. For $10, there really is no reason not to pick this game up. It's worth your time.

85

Great for an OCD Tower Defense fan

Lunk | July 23, 2012 | See all Lunk's reviews »

This is not a perfect game by any means. There's not a whole lot of variety, and a number of things feel just a little bit awkward - not bad by any means, but it lacks the polish of other TD or hybrid TD games like Defense Grid or Orcs Must Die.

However, if you're like me and enjoy experimenting and maximizing your strategies, there's a ton of fun to be had here. On almost all of the maps, you get to shape the enemy's path in pretty much any way you like and the subtlest difference in your setup can make a big difference in the outcome. I've spent tons of time in survival mode tweaking maze shapes and tower placements, trying to eke out just a little more firepower for the punishing enemies you face deep in a survival game.

One common complaint I've seen from prospective buyers is the relatively low map count in the base game compared to other games. While that's true, it's important to keep in mind that the maps here last a lot longer. Each map takes about 45 minutes to an hour, and that's just for your first playthrough in campaign mode. If you're inclined to amp up the difficulty, try coop, or check out any of the alternate game play modes you can squeeze a whole lot more time out of it.

Coop (2-4 players) is fun, the devs have added significant amounts of free content post-release (and some paid content), and there are numerous difficulty levels that radically change the experience depending on how casually or seriously you want to approach it. Highly recommended.

80

A great tower defense game

StewartX | July 5, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

This game is a lot of fun and is a blend of FPS and Tower Defense. I'd say the greatest pro for this game is its multiplayer. I've spent many a day with friends trying to work out the best way to stop the oncoming hoard of enemies. Another fun past time is just exploring the maps, there is a secret section to each map and a ton of achievements to be earned. Definitely worth $10. Graphics: 5/10 (Basic) Gameplay: 8/10 Multiplayer: Yes Final note: A great game to play with friends.

91

Interesting Mix of Genres

nibblemonkey | June 24, 2012 | See all nibblemonkey's reviews »

Sanctum is an interested mix of Tower Defence and First Person Shooter, the whole game takes place from a first person perspective and you put down towers to defeat the enemies before they get to the goal and when you start you can directly fight the enemies in case your defences aren't enough to stop them. All of the game controls well making each thing easy to do and the rounds are well made so that you won't get bored of playing. Overall this is an unusual mix of two genres but it works well making a good game

72

FPS with TD

killlerkirsche | June 23, 2012 | See all killlerkirsche's reviews »

Well, what can I say about this game? Well, let´s talk about the good things.

If you know, what Tower Defence is, then you know half of the game. If you know, what First Person Shooters are, then you know the other half of the game. It´s pretty simple, they have just mixed these two types of gameplay and put it together.

In my humble opinion, you have to play that game with some friends. In my view, Sanctum is perfect for playing a half an hour and then you should do something different. It isn´t the game, where you want to play two hours in a row.

65

Fun, but not enough to do

catranizi | June 22, 2012 | See all catranizi's reviews »

At this point, people will know the deal about Sanctum: it's a tower defense game that puts you in first person mode, and when the waves come in, you can shoot alongside your towers to help mow down the horde.

The game provides just enough different towers, guns and upgrades to make it fairly fun. The kicker is that there just isn't enough maps, or much of a campaign to follow. Most of the content is variations on the same maps, with different limitations, difficulty and number of monsters and waves, but otherwise, you'll be doing similar things for a while.

It is fairly fun with co-op partners, but again, it gets repetitive fairly fast.

Still, for the price, it is fairly good and enjoyable, although other tower defense games that lets you fight waves in between will be more fledged, for a very similar price (Dungeon Defenders, Orcs Must Die!).

80

Interesting Mix

Lingwisyer | June 13, 2012 | See all Lingwisyer's reviews »

I jumped at this game soon after it came out on steam. I've enjoyed many different TD games and I'm a fan on FPS games so seeing a fusion of the two I thought, why not. One thing I love about this game is the fact that you get to build your own maze, but you are soon knocked on the head by the fact that there are two creep types at can fly straight over it... though the variety of towers available at your disposal is adequate to over come this still dilemma. The weapons that are available to you mix up the gameplay a bit as you could see yourself as a moveable, variable tower so you've got to question yourself about which weapon you should use and which creeps should you target. Overall, the game works and for it's price, it's great.

This game is best played coop for a couple of hours every now and again as it can get a bit repetitive.

75

Innovative, but repetitive

BaCkStAbEr | May 27, 2012 | See all BaCkStAbEr's reviews »

The game is a perfect blend of Tower Defense and FPS, without pushing any to the side, the Tower Defense part is pretty much the basic as with any other, you build towers, blocks and upgrade them to stop upcoming waves of enemies, but the game forces you to be part of the action with its FPS part, wich is essential to victory and also can be challenging.

With a variety of maps, strategies and weapons, the game manages to deliver a completely new take to the Tower Defense genre, but it can get very repetitive after a while, with great graphics, innovative gameplay, and a coop great with friends, Sanctum is something you should look after.

88

Very cheap and good!

Geenaro | May 27, 2012 | See all Geenaro's reviews »

Indie game, very good to play with friends and spend a little time, and very cheap and has many DLCs to enjoy a good game no doubt.

64

Funny tower defense.

arkantos | May 1, 2012 | See all arkantos's reviews »

Do you like tower defence? If yes get this game, awesome places, a lot of fun in single player, even more better on multiplayer, even if is a bit dead there will be always someone willing to play it.

74

Fun but repetitive

RaTcHeT302 | March 27, 2012 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Sanctum is truly graphicaly and gameplay wise really nice, sadly the game can get rather repetitive while surviving trough the hordes of enemies. The ambient music is done very well tough and the locations will it leave you with your breath open, tough some exploration wouldn't have hurt. Players can even buy extra levels in DLC form or weapons wich may annoy others as there is no other way of obtaining or unlocking them.

The survival CO-OP mode is really fun with a friend, the multiplayer community is not very alive and rarely players play.

For the low price it sure is worth to buy if you want to kill some time.

65

Pretty decent but lacking variety

RainbowBunchie | March 4, 2012 | See all RainbowBunchie's reviews »

I was kind of surprised when I first played the game. I thought it was one of the usual Tower-Defense games you get tired of after a few minutes. But Sanctum surprised me in a good way at first. The graphical style is fresh and lively, the graphics pretty decent for an indie game, in many aspects as good as a "professional" game.

The gameplay is interesting at first, involving the different phases of building and shooting. The shooting phase was fairly innovative as it combined the traditional strategy part with the ability to actively influence the ending of the match. The bad part about the gameplay is that it becomes somewhat dull after the first hours. The amount of maps to play on is rather low and what makes it even worse is the lack of variety among the maps. All of them have the same meshes which are used for every architecture and there's only one type of vegetation.

The enemies you fight in Sanctum might look strange and really extraterrestrial, but they're lacking diversity as much as architecture and vegetation do. There's only like a handful of different kinds and most of them can be defeated the same way, making the differences the game claims they had rather unimportant.

Sanctum is for you if you are interested in the Co-op part, but not if you're looking for a game worth spending many hours on.

71

Fun, but gets repetitive after a while

Seren666 | Nov. 14, 2011 | See all Seren666's reviews »

Coming from a fan of both Tower Defences and First Person Shooters, I would say they have both been mixed together quite well in Sanctum. I liked different types of buildings, weapons and monsters,, they were done extremely well, but I didn't really like the waiting time between waves. Having to wait for all the players to ready up got extremely annoying and started to bore me. If we could build while the monsters were spawning it would add a lot more excitement to it. Even if there was a time limit for building (say 20secs) then I would have enjoyed it more. Also, in Australia it was quite hard to find servers that weren't laggy which also stopped me from playing it often.

85

Tower Defense and FPS had a baby?! Count me in!

Dweezy | Sept. 5, 2011 | See all Dweezy's reviews »

The idea is great! Having a marriage between FPS and Tower Defense genres is an awesome idea. The delivery is a bit mediocre but still this game is loads of fun with friends or solo. On any given map, you have a grid that you can build your defense on, with various turrets and towers of different abilities and uses. You can upgrade these towers as well to help stop oncoming waves of enemies. Also, you carry with you three different weapons which can also be upgraded. Whether going solo or with a team, you must stop the oncoming advance of enemies who come in waves using your weapons and turrets. Good players will learn to direct and lead the enemy in a maze of turrets while utilizing their weapons to stop enemies in their tracks. This game is a great concept and I hope to see more games like this in the future.

37

Fantastic Idea, lackluster delivery

wardogsq | Sept. 5, 2011 | See all wardogsq's reviews »

As a fan of both Tower Defense games and FPS's this game immediately caught my eye, however I took the time to do a little research and ask some peoples opinions. They didn't think very highly of it. Despite that I decided to go for it, the price tag was low enough that I wasn't too worried. Upon playing it there was no immersion, boring enemies and game style. It lost both the element of what makes Tower Defence games fun (strategy) and what makes FPS games fun (Unpredictable action) As a summary, I would not recommend this game. But applaud the creators on having the nads to take this wonderful idea and attempt to pull it off. My rating will be on the basis that 51-100 is a game you SHOULD play.

75

Co-op FPS Tower Defense? Yes, please.

Korrd | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all Korrd's reviews »

Sanctum takes the venerable tower defense genre and adds in a genre-bending first person perspective. First you build your towers and construct a gauntlet to channel your enemies, and then, when the assault comes, hop straight into the action and shoot some baddies yourself. It sounds like a natural combination, and Sanctum succeeds in making it work.

Sanctum now also supports four-player cooperative play, so there's even more fun to be had in multiplayer. They even added the brilliant ability to help pay for turrets; if a player tries to build or upgrade a tower and doesn't have sufficient funds, another player can pitch in the remainder.

I prefer the tower selection of Defense Grid and certain other games, but Sanctum still manages to present all the necessities, even though some towers do seem far more versatile than others. The variety of towers and weapons is probably the game's greatest shortcoming--second perhaps to a rather bland selection of enemies--but thankfully that doesn't prevent it from being enjoyable, especially when playing with friends.

At under $10US, it's well worth the cost of entry for fans of tower defense games.

55

Could Have Been Great

Mondu | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all Mondu's reviews »

As someone who can spend hours on free, flash based tower defence games I was looking foward to this title - an interesting mix of tower defence and FPS. In reality I was severely disappointed.

Gameplay became dull and monotonous fast and, while the scenery is colourful and nice to look at, there are only a few maps to choose from. Zooming down your scopes for the umpteenth time on only a small handful of varied enemies makes it feel like the beautiful scenery has been done for nothing.

Personally I would only recommend this title if you are to play with friends or if you are a megafan of tower defence and FPS games, otherwise save your money.

80

Solid FPS tower defense

Dante069 | Aug. 23, 2011 | See all Dante069's reviews »

Sanctum is one of the games out there to actually try something different and actually come out doing really well. while playing sanctum i found myself playing with my buddies over and over again trying to beat our higher score from last game.This game does have some flaws which include horrible random lag due to large amounts of dead bodies at the end of the round and sometimes there might even be some visual glitches. After saying all this i believe that Sanctum is a wonderful game to play and should never be played alone. GO Co-op!

65

An interesting take on tower defense

Xamos | Aug. 22, 2011 | See all Xamos's reviews »

Sanctum takes the standard Tower Defense genre and decides to spice it up a bit by mixing it with a quake-esq FPS.

It's an interesting take on the genre, but I find it difficult to reccomend unless you are a die-hard fan of tower defense games or are playing with 3 friends.

All in all, an interesting concept, average execution, rather fun with friends. Big fans of TD should pick this one up, otherwise you might find more fun for your money elsewhere.

95

Best Lan Game

danell | Aug. 21, 2011 | See all danell's reviews »

Sanctum: This is a real LAN game for you and your friends. You can easely spend hours with this game, going trough wave and wave till the end and with the new 4-coop you can enjoy even more fun! With constant uppdating with new maps for free you can always expect this game to only getting better. Based on the Unreal Engine 3 the grafic is as good as it needs and playable with most computers, good as bad! I have recomended this game for all my friends and all of them have bought it and they are all more than happy! With an active comunity on facebook you can easy ask or sugest things to the creators that later maybe inplant your idéa to the game! I strongly recomend this game!

91

Pretty solid game

SLE | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all SLE's reviews »

The tower defense system is nice, and the FPS part is pretty cool by itself. Highly recommended if you're a fan of both genres. The levels get pretty intense. But even if you don't like tower defense, you could easily just use the blocks as blockades, just plain upgrade your guns and shoot everyone yourself. Sniper rifle is fun as heck. And that demented laugh you'll hear after shooting down a few targets one after another gets incredibly satisfying to hear. The difficulty curve from easy to normal is pretty big, but just makes the game much more enjoyable.

75

What if "Plant vs Zombies" was a FPS???

faraany3k | Aug. 16, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

We seldom see a fusion of 2 genres. There are few attempts to combine RTS and FPS genres together but most of them doesn't end up well. But SANCTUM cares to differ. Its an expertly crafted game which combines elements of 'Tower Defense' with that of a traditional FPS genre. The result is a fun and engaging experience which captures best of both worlds.

Action here is fast and frantic while you vigorously try to protect your base 'CORE' from a swarm of enemy minions by placing several different type of towers. You also carry guns so you can help your towers aswell. You also upgrade your primary weapon you are carrying. All in all alot of customization.

Game is developed on UNREAL engine and it shows in colorful and expertly crafted maps, although they are very few in number that is one of the complains about the game. Sanctum is coop enabled and it is highly recommended that you play it in Coop to maximize your fun.

85

Really solid game

pman | Aug. 16, 2011 | See all pman's reviews »

Sanctum is a game that attempts to merge 2 different genres of games and does so with tremendous success! Sanctum is a mixture of the tower defense and first person shooter genres.The game is fun on so many levels, however later in the game the supply of new weapons and towers seems to slow down and can sometimes make the game feel a bit Repetitive, however this is just a small blemish on an otherwise extremely entertaining game with a variety of game modes. I strongly recommend this game for tower defense and shooter game fans alike!

40

A unique idea that fails to deliver

t20k | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all t20k's reviews »

A FPS mixed with tower defense sounded great, but I was simply disappointed by this game. That aren't many towers, there are only a few maps and a single game is way too long, taking as long as two hours. It's hard to figure out which towers and weapons are actually useful, because all the towers felt like underpowered garbage when I used then, even after upgrading them. The only way I can describe this is boring and disappointing; you can argue that this game is more fun when you play it with friends, but you can say that about so many other games...some of them are actually satisfying.when playing alone, so I'd rather be playing them.

90

Different TD game

newn | Aug. 10, 2011 | See all newn's reviews »

This is something completely different than a usual tower defense game.This is a 3D TD game. By the way, I love tower defense games in general, I used to play a lot of them on web browsers. It kinda reminded me some MMORPG that I didn't like - there was a dungeon like this. The game itself has got some great graphics and nice sounds. Accombined with that, it's a great combination of a classical TD gameplay and an FPS - build towers, upgrade them, figure out a way to build them to do the most damage to the monsters. You have to shoot the enemies yourself now. So if you haven't build a tower somewhere in the middle yet because you were saving for a better tower (and that happens a lot for me), You can just go and take the business into your own hands - finish the monster yourself. The downside of this game is that it seldom maps. The BIG upside is that it's constantly being updated.

I would rate the game for 95 if it would have more maps, but now I rate it only for 90. I can't rate it for less because it simply is a great game with an awesome idea!

So if you like TD games, I definitely recommend you buying this game. If not for the full price - wait for a sale. 15€ is maybe a bit too much for it. 10€ would be a perfect price for me.

80

Tower defense fans rejoice

pauljebe | Aug. 9, 2011 | See all pauljebe's reviews »

What do you get when you cross tower defense with fps? Pure awesome.

Sanctum takes a unique approach to the classic tower defense genre by putting the player right into the action, but building and upgrading your defenses from a first person perspective is just the beginning. Add to that three unique and upgradable player held weapons that you use to help fend off the incoming hordes of baddies and coop play so that your friends can help you. It’s almost too good to be true.

The only down side is that there are only four playable levels, so things get stale relatively quickly. However the price point is low, the quality is high, and ongoing development brings the promise of new additions to the game. If you’re a tower defense or fps fan you really owe it to yourself to try this.

82

A unique twist on the ever popular Tower Defense formula

UnMute | Aug. 5, 2011 | See all UnMute's reviews »

My first thought upon playing this game is "Why has no one thought of this before?". Sanctum goes to show that Tower Defense fused with FPS gameplay works, and it works brilliantly. The gameplay consists of building weaponized towers to aid you in defending a core. You can also upgrade three different weapons that you carry around to increase the chances of core survival. It has an impressive graphics department, since it's powered by Unreal Technology. That is something not many independent game developers can brag about. Coffee Stain Studios, as they are called, put a lot of detail into their maps. It's just too bad that at the moment, there are only five maps to choose from, and that would be my only real complaint about this game. Though recently they added four player coop and new maps, which shows their intention of improving their game with free content updates. All in all a great game for it's price, fun to play with friends, but gets quite boring fast if you're playing alone.

92

Successful Fusion

bFasoX | July 7, 2011 | See all bFasoX's reviews »

This Game is a display of what new genres are still undiscovered. When I heard about a Tower Defense First Person Shooter I thought it would fail, but even playing the demo to Sanctum proved me otherwise. Basically this game takes all the fun from a Tower Defense game, while you still play it as a FPS. You run around shooting different types of enemies, while erecting various towers between the waves of enemies. The amount of weapons is also very high, so it is possible to say that this game has a BIG replayability rate, and for the prize it is a must-have in every steam-library.

83

Tower Denfese and FPS? Awesome!

qwasyx | July 4, 2011 | See all qwasyx's reviews »

This game is a great combination of the well known Tower Defense-Gameplay aspects (e.g. build a maze of towers, upgrade them, figure out the longest way possible for the waves of Monsters) and includes a little bit more action by adding the FPS aspects (e.g. First Person View, different upgradeable Guns, move and jump around).

You have 4 Maps at the moment which you can play alone or play online with a friend (4 Player Multiplayer is coming soon!) and they are fun for a long time. It takes you a while to figure out a good maze and much more time to master it.

Overall its a great game to play whenever you feel like, just start it and go for a round or two with your friends, you'll have a good time for sure!

92

Unique tower defence genre

satyakun | July 3, 2011 | See all satyakun's reviews »

This game is great. Your job is simple, build some turret in a tower defense mode, then when you finished, press enter. You're job done? not yet. This game is not like that, you can't just sit then watch the monster go past your maze. Now protect it with your own hands. It's suddenly change to a first person shooter. Great combination. The graphic is good, with some hi-tech sound scheme. I've been spending some days to play it, and i believe you do. try it.

74

Tower Defense

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

It's great to see this genre advance so far. The game really feels like team fortress 2 combined with tower defense. Gameplay is very innovative by itself. Although it takes a little time to learn to play, it is well worth the effort. Co-Op is big a bonus. Why play alone when you got a friend? Hours of enojoyment can be well invested in a game such as this.

90

A high quality, highly replayable game

Khalan | June 22, 2011 | See all Khalan's reviews »

Great production values and an interesting twist on the tower defence formula. Although it has limited maps and towers it also has immense replayability; strategies are increased with the options of using towers or your own weapons or both, as well as designing the best mazes, chasing the high scores on higher difficulties, or playing coop. More maps have been added since release for free; this is a highly worthwhile investment. You'll get many more hours of playtime from this than many full price games.

100

Beautiful piece of art.

Res | June 9, 2011 | See all Res's reviews »

This game to me was personally a masterpiece. every little thing about it was just beautiful. I was amazed on the first wave having this gigantic enemy horde come in and watching my turrets blow them down. it was Orgasmic.

75

FPS Defense Grid

GMGReviewer | June 1, 2011 | See all GMGReviewer's reviews »

Sanctum is a defense game in first person view and as i was playing this i can't think but to compare it to a FPS Defense Grid. It feels just like Defense Grid but with you on the ground shooting the leftover enemies. However you do create your own path for the enemies and there's an overhead view for that.

The game isn't that bad but it does feel tedious as there's no enemy A.I. that can attack you. You just play to protect the core and that's basically it. The best thing about Sanctum is the fun co-op mode and the amazing art style and interface.

The developers did mention free maps and weapons coming this year, as there's only 3 maps and 3 weapons at launch, which makes the game very short (around 6 hours). It has great production for an indie game!

85

A great concept and great game.

wakenbakejake | May 24, 2011 | See all wakenbakejake's reviews »

I have been wanting a game like this for some time, combining strategy and first person shooters. Sanctum, the tower defense FPS does a pretty good job at this, and makes the game very fun to play. There is a bit of a learning curve however, but if you can get past that, you should have hours and hours of fun with this one. You can even play co-op with a friend!