Reviews for Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (MAC)

85

A great Star Wars RPG

gamma_rad | June 10, 2015 | See all gamma_rad's reviews »

Star Wars is a franchise perfect for RPGs, which makes me wonder why they haven't done one ages ago. And who else is better than BioWare, possibly the the best western RPG maker in the industry. with a match like that you can be sure the result is a great game. Pros: Great writing, great characters and truly Star-Wars scale epic plot with a twist towards the last part of the game. Roleplay a Jedi, choose the light or dark side of the Force, obtain force power and lightsabers. Set in the Old Republic time period, allowing you to a explore a lesser known era of the Star Wars universe. Cons: Starts off slightly slow. you only obtain Jedi powers after a the first Planet of the game. Slightly aged.

99

One of the greatest games ever created

sycomantis1991 | May 28, 2015 | See all sycomantis1991's reviews »

I could go on forever about this. KOTOR is one of the greatest stories ever told in my opinion. It's full of great characters, shocking twists, and a huge, living galaxy to explore. BioWare proved themselves to be story-telling geniuses, though hardcore PC fans already knew this. Knights of the Old Republic made me love Star Wars more than the movies ever did.

92

What a wonderful game!

Cheese4395 | May 8, 2015 | See all Cheese4395's reviews »

One of the best games I've ever played. What a wonderful RPG and what an amazing story. If you need a huge time waste this is your game, whether you want to be a sith lord or a heroic jedi or even just a gunslinging badass. You pick what you want to be and you get to be it. Also you can bring along a few friends that you make along the way! I generally play FPS and RTS but let me tell you, you will not want to put this game down. It is amazing. Just get it. I promise you wont regret it.

99

As a meatbag would say: 'I have a bad feeling about this.'

Obsessor | May 6, 2015 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

And my bad feelings promptly became reality. By the time I played KOTOR for the first time(around 2006), I failed two important exams. I just couldn't help myself, but experience this game to the end, uninterrupted by meaningless "real life" events. It is Star Wars unlike what you can see on the big screen, painted beautifully by Geore Lucas, and upcoming Jar Jar Abrams Binks. At first I was sceptical. No Skywalkers, no Vaders... No Boba Fett... My worries dissolved when I watched the intro, and set my foot on Taris after a brief, but very good, tutorial-prologue. Timeline of The Old Republic quickly became my favourite setting for Star Wars universe. That was caused by the greatness of the story, detalis put into creation of believable characters filling the game's world. It was a pleasure to read and listen to dialogues. Exploring each planet ever was a necessity, like "I have to go through this to reach the end of my quest... bah..." That was never the case. I have recently replayed KOTOR once again. It took me over 30 hours, and I must admit - I've skipped several quests on the way. Once again I was reliving this amazing story, and was disappointed when it ended, so suddenly KOTOR might not look up to any standards, but that's not the issue. It is enjoyable, it is playable on new PCs,I had no issues running it on Windows 8. "For now, please excuse me, master. I wish to meditate upon the face of my former meatbag master as he was electrocuted. I find it most soothing."

99

Top 3 Greatest RPG of All-Time

NShep53 | March 23, 2015 | See all NShep53's reviews »

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic was probably the first RPG I ever played. I wasn't very old at the time and I simply loved this game back in the day. Going back to it over a decade later, it has held up it even better than I ever thought it would. In Knights of the Old Republic, you play as a random soldier in the Republic, aboard the starship Endar Spire, that is being fired on by Sith forces in the beginning of the game. You make your own customizable character and go from there. Your journey will take you all across the galaxy and you will find out your true purpose in the game. Combat is "round-based" but is very fast going and doesn't drag. The force powers are amazing. Combat will never be dull; trust me. The best part of the game is the story and characters. You will only find one game series (another BioWare product, Mass Effect) that has better characters. These characters are that good. Conversations are intelligent, and for the time this game came out and even now, the conversation system is well done. And the Story is top notch. If you have played BioWare's more recent games (Dragon Age/Mass Effect) you will feel at home with of the best games of all time, Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic.

95

A long time ago in a galaxy far far way...

KingTed | Feb. 6, 2015 | See all KingTed's reviews »

There have been a lot of Star Wars video games. Action games, platformers, spaceship simulators, strategy games, shooters... But there is one game that stands above them all. It is an RPG and it's called Knights of the Old Republic. KOTOR takes place during the Old Republic era when Jedis and the Sith Empire were at war. Your character will get involved in some of the important events of this time and will even become a Jedi himself. You can explore several planets like Tatooine or Manaan. There are lots of quests to do and a bunch of characters to recruit. All of them are likeable and a few are really excellent partners. The battles take the form of your typical western RPG. You can pause the game and make tactical decisions. The moves are flashy and the music score is brilliant. Oh and one another thing. Like Mass Effect and Dragon Age after it, KOTOR gives you the possibility to choose how your character will act. You can choose the Light or the Dark side. Each one has its owning ending. Knights of the Old Republic is a classic that every Star Wars fan must play.

96

A great , expansive space RPG

daniyyel | Dec. 20, 2014 | See all daniyyel's reviews »

Bioware has delievered one of the greatest , deepest and most expansive RPGs ever in this game. The story is epic, the characters well written and the atmosphere captures the essence of Star wars perfectly. There are lots of options to customise your character. Many options to approach (or avoid) combat with. Choices are weight and affect the game. The only drawback is that the visuals are dated. Highly recommended

98

A Masterpiece

vipe_1 | Dec. 5, 2014 | See all vipe_1's reviews »

Knights of the Old Republic is a classic, one of the best Star Wars games ever made, and one of best games ever made. Set in a time period away from the movies, and sending you back to the time of Old Republic, KOTOR is an unmatched RPG by Bioware. By todays standards, the visuals may seem dated in KOTOR, but looks serviceable and fine to all but the most picky. Sound is terrific, and voice acting is strong across the board. The story of KOTOR takes a time and setting unfamiliar to most, and succeeds it telling possibly the highest quality story in the Star Wars universe. High praise indeed. This version is for MAC, and runs well with no discernible differences from the original on the PC. Seriously, just play this game if you like good games and RPGs. You won't regret it.

100

The force fights with me!

Pit_52 | Dec. 4, 2014 | See all Pit_52's reviews »

If you reading this... Means you haven't play Knights of the Old Republic... Wich means you are a shadow of your former self, you must change it immediately. There is very little to say about this game. Hard to not spoil something, you must experience that storyline on your own. All I can say you will cry after this game come to an end. If you'll see the credits screen, you'll drown in tears because something so amazing should last far longer. Anyway, you wake up as an mercenary who later become a Jedi. Everything is in your hands, how will you bahave, how will you making choice, how will you fight, for what purpose, what will find as the adventure goes on, what will you learn, how will you withstand all of that when you realize who you really are... You can change the faith of the republic, how will you do it, it's up to you. You can collapse faith of the republic, how will you do it, it's up to you as well. Do not become a pawn of dark side, control it. Now sink in this deep adventure rpg and make jedi order proud... or yourself... It's 100/100, those barely few bugs are nothing that messing up with a gameplay. The storyline is far then enough to deserve 100/100. Lack of this kind of games nowadays. Star wars epic OST will serve you right as well in this remarkable adventure.

85

A modern clasic

Nova4 | July 30, 2014 | See all Nova4's reviews »

If you had played it and enjoyed it dragon age: origins, you would love this game. Is awesome, all in the universe of star wars, but you don´t need to know anything of about star wars to enjoy this game. The good: +Awesome gameplay, is fluid, is fun and challenging. +Great story: I wont spoiled it for you, but is great! +Beautiful soundtrack! +Deep choices trees. The bad: -Is a little stiff for me, but still fun. -A little buggy. -Kinda short but that is just my opinion. Just buy it... this game is great!