Reviews for Star Wars The Force Unleashed: Ultimate Sith Edition (MAC)

69

Star Wars: The Force Underwhelming

MadDemon64 | March 27, 2015 | See all MadDemon64's reviews »

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed is meant to bridge the gap between Episodes 3 and 4, telling the story of what happened to Darth Vader and how the Rebel Alliance started. Even if it isn’t, that’s really the only interesting parts. In Star Wars: The Force Unleashed, you play as generic brooding protagonist who feels conflicted #12, sent to do x and y by Vader because reasons. The story was not all that interesting. The combat, however, is superb, if only because it plays a lot like God of War. It really does make you feel like an all-powerful Jedi or Sith, even though some enemies and concepts seem to go against what has been established in Star Wars lore. Star Wars: The Force Unleashed promised a lot and delivered only some of what was promised. It’s still a decent game, just not a good one.

67

Good, but worse than old Star Wars games.

Furrek | Feb. 6, 2015 | See all Furrek's reviews »

What I look in Star Wars action games are fights using lightsabers. I remember how much fun I had in Jedi Outcast or Jedi Academy. If you thought these two games had best lightsaber fights ever then there is nothing that will surprise or caught you in. Fight here are quite boring. Still, it's a good Star Wars game. It's beautiful, have nice story which is sadly not canon, but I don't think it matters that much. Ultimate Sith Edition comes with a DLC with additional mission on Tatooine and Coruscant, which, if I'm not mistaken, wasn't earlier available to buy separate on PC. Anyway, if you are fan of Star Wars then you will love this game but if you think you gonna find here a better and more effective lightsaber fights than in Jedi Outcast / Jedi Academy then you will be probably disappointed.

74

Most epic Jedi game ever

KingTed | Feb. 6, 2015 | See all KingTed's reviews »

Star Wars The Force Unleashed is quite original for a Star Wars game. This time we play as Starkiller, apprentice of Darth Vader. Yes, that's right. This game focuses on a bad guy. The story is nice but not that great. However, the DLC missions are funny. Visually, the game is pretty good and impressive (You can move and deform a lot of stuff using the Force). The fights (a la God of War) are fun and a bit violent (No blood though). The campaign offers a lot of epic fight scenes and great action sequences. It's a shame that the game is not that challenging. It's among the best Star Wars game ever made.

70

Hype machine destroyed

vipe_1 | Dec. 5, 2014 | See all vipe_1's reviews »

Star Wars The Force Unleashed is necessarily a bad game, but considering the hype and pedigree, it definitely falls flat. The Force Unleashed follows Starkiller, an apprentice of Darth Vader's set before the time of the first movie. A 3rd person action game, movement is fairly fluid and detail isn't bad. Most notable is the system utilizing your force powers, and stands today as the best representation of physics and force effects in any Star Wars game. On the flip side, the story is less than stellar, combat can be tedious, and goals hard to figure out. Movement and AI can be clunky, and from my perspective "boss" fights in this game are some of the most pattern based letdowns of any game. High points abound, but they are tempered by an equal number of lows. Star Wars The Force Unleashed: Ultimate Sith Edition is better than some, but falls well short of where Lucasarts envisioned it would go.

95

I love it! :D

M0rten | Nov. 12, 2014 | See all M0rten's reviews »

A great game! Further more a must have for all real Star Wars fans. I felt like a "badass" the whole game, smashing, tossing, gripping, lighting things up with the force, while making crazy lightsaber combos. I am not usually the replay type, so often if I write a game is really replay able, I never do it, this is the exception. I finished this game 3 times, did the bonus missions a whole lot more, and did couple missions a few extra times, loving the game more and more with every minute. I wish the second part could have lived up to this one. P.S.: If you are thinking about buying this...CLICK THAT "Buy now" RIGHT NOW. :D

82

Solid all-around

Lorddyran | Sept. 16, 2014 | See all Lorddyran's reviews »

This game is fun; really, that's all that there is to be said. The story is good but not great. The action is frustrating at times but mostly empowering. The enemies are just smart enough to provide a little challenge but just easy enough to make you feel powerful. The force powers are well-implemented but limited. I left the game feeling good, and by the next day, almost the whole experience was gone from my head. In the end, it was worth the time and money but nothing to rave about.

92

Great Star wars Game

adboyum | Sept. 16, 2014 | See all adboyum's reviews »

If you're a fan of Star Wars then this is a must. It's got awesome action, great villains and THE FREAKING FORCE! The lvls in this game get progressively more awesome, and you get to kick butt as an awesome sith! Definitely one of my favorite star wars games.

80

Great

mcofdiablo | June 29, 2014 | See all mcofdiablo's reviews »

I am not a big fan of Star Wars movies. I've seen them, they are good, but I am not crazy about them. However, I am a big fan of Knights of Old republic games, and when I heard that there was an action game made in Star Wars universe I was a little bit skeptical. And I shouldn't have been! The best thing about Force Unleashed is its story. You play as Sith apprentice! Not just Sith, you are apprentice of Darth Vader himself! The story is told and shown via incredible CGI cutscenes. I have never seen cutscenes that good back in 2009. The game itself looks good as well. Character models look detailed. There are some destructible objects,too, especially, considering that the game is action oriented. The game itself is action slasher. You just kill people and monsters with your lightsaber or lightsabers and use the force. And it feels so good! There are a few problems as well. The game is poorly optimised and is too demanding! Controls are not that comfortable, too. Especially, during one nightmare mission closer to the end. All in all, the game is wonderful. It is not masterpiece, but it tells interesting story in Star Wars universe from the point of view of The Dark Side.

92

Absolutely recommended

johansdr | June 29, 2014 | See all johansdr's reviews »

This game is awesome, I played it 3 times and I still like it. Is a NON-canonic story of the world of star wars that put you into the secret apprentice of Darth Vader. I really loved the story, the feelings, that "something" that let you know that you are playing a Lucas Arts game, a REAL Star Wars game. You must spend your money and play it, and of course when you finish it play the second part. The graphics are old but they still cool for me, and the music is awesome. A MUST BUY.

80

Wonderful

mcofdiablo | June 28, 2014 | See all mcofdiablo's reviews »

I am not a big fan of Star Wars movies. I've seen them, they are good, but I am not crazy about them. However, I am a big fan of Knights of Old republic games, and when I heard that there was an action game made in Star Wars universe I was a little bit skeptical. And I shouldn't have been! The best thing about Force Unleashed is its story. You play as Sith apprentice! Not just Sith, you are apprentice of Darth Vader himself! The story is told and shown via incredible CGI cutscenes. I have never seen cutscenes that good back in 2009. The game itself looks good as well. Character models look detailed. There are some destructible objects,too, especially, considering that the game is action oriented. The game itself is action slasher. You just kill people and monsters with your lightsaber or lightsabers and use the force. And it feels so good! There are a few problems as well. The game is poorly optimised and is too demanding! Controls are not that comfortable, too. Especially, during one nightmare mission closer to the end. All in all, the game is wonderful. It is not masterpiece, but it tells interesting story in Star Wars universe from the point of view of The Dark Side.

90

Light Sabers & pew pew

Tretabyte | June 28, 2014 | See all Tretabyte's reviews »

Great story, great gameplay, more than a simple SW game with nothing else to offer, the Sith Edition brings a few more levels and a full set of dark powers for everyone to pew pew the enemies. Make part of the creation of the Rebel Forces! Oh, and we have lightsabers!!!

86

The Force Is Strong With This One

crispybacon1234 | June 27, 2014 | See all crispybacon1234's reviews »

Damn straight! This game is flawless, even today. Star Wars fans are sure to love this game. Play as Starkiller, apprentice to the infamous Darth Vader. Slice and dice through countless stormtroopers whilst experiencing one of the best Star Wars stories to date. This game will be worth your time.