Reviews for Age of Fear: The Undead King

80

Pretty good

Demilisz | May 28, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

This game may look quiet ugly, but under this rags hides pretty nice body. Especially somone who plays or played tabletop skirmish games like Confrontation or Hordes should take a look - Age of Fear's mechanic is close to this one. And there is a neat and simple unit level up system. For 2$ shame not to buy.

75

Good game

Lekes | Jan. 23, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Turn-based strategies are quite rare nowadays. Recently we have HOMM6 and King's Bounty series - those are good games, but they do not offer anything new. After few sessions of play - there is nothing that will surprise you and the rest of game becomes tiresome grinding. Age of Fear is an indie title, so do not expect fireworks. Game is kinda short - it takes like a 20 hours to finish plus skirmish, however I found each mission to be interesting and they require some thinking and planning. Devs are also introducing new features in each level (exploding goblins!), The Undead King does not get boring until the end.

90

Fantastic

MizzouRah | Dec. 28, 2012 | See all MizzouRah's reviews »

Found this game on the net and purchased for $1.40. Wow, quite a fantastic indie game, AI, even on novice is quite challenging. Will definitely purchase the sequel once I complete this one. Highly recommended, unless you're into top notch graphics. If you pursue a turn based game with great AI, give this one a try.

60

Interesting strategy but poor presentation

Maniacal | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all Maniacal's reviews »

Age of Fear is an interesting indie strategy game that proved to be a refreshing challenge. Unfortunately, while this challenge was great gameplay wise with a decent AI, it was challenging to deal with the poor graphical presentation of the game and immersion suffered greatly. It was enjoyable but hard to get into and after a while it became very repetitive. Not a bad game for the price, but not an amazing one either.

I did not try the multiplayer.

65

Decent turn-based strategy

lachking | Oct. 16, 2012 | See all lachking's reviews »

Age of Fear is a decent turn based strategy game. There are a variety of options available such as campaign, quick battle and multiplayer. I like the idea in the campaign that you recruit units between levels using your available gold and that you then use these units in following missions. The gameplay mechanics are quite straightforward in the sense that you control a variety of units such as archers and swordsmen and move them to attack the enemies. However, the graphics are rather low detail and bland. The sound effects are also underwhelming: just footsteps, sword sounds and low quality voice responses that do not sound very crisp. The A.I is quite good, but the game is very repetitive, namely in the battles and the environments. Overall, Age of Fear is decent. The battles are solid but repetitive and the sound and graphics are quite underwhelming.

76

Average but fun

DukePaul | Oct. 15, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

This game maybe is not best strategy title of the world and it does not have flashy graphics but developers focused a lot in the content of the game and it feels polished.

You start the game with a very small army and it is bored at first, but when you army grows and you get more and more units, the fun begins!

The game has three races, humans, orcs and undead, I prefer the undead because the other two I already saw them in a lot of games.

The campaign is good, it feels very well made and it has balance, you will never stuck in it, also it has skirmish mode for more freedom in your battles.

75

Nice tattic, bad tecnic.

lucasart | Oct. 3, 2012 | See all lucasart's reviews »

Age of fear is a great strategic indie, the phases of combat are very varied and tactically well-built, especially concerning the characterization of the various manageable units. The level of difficulty is well balanced: easy to easy, quite difficult to normal, very difficult to expert. Too bad for a technical sector not up to the rest but a lover of this kind of games can easily get over it.

72

A little bit addictive

killlerkirsche | Oct. 3, 2012 | See all killlerkirsche's reviews »

Maybe Age of Fear: The Undead King doesnt look good, but graphics doesnt matter in this case. Even though there arent any cutscenes, you won't miss them. Age of Fear is a throwback to the good old times, when developers were focused more on game content than shiny graphics. Unluckily, the campaign itself is pretty short, but there is also the well known skirmish modes. Long story short, the game itself is for this price a must-buy, if you are interested in that genre and want to support a small indie studio.

75

Great and simple game

Sharptap | Sept. 24, 2012 | See all Sharptap's reviews »

Very good game. Age of fear: The undead King is a game that i played for hours and hours years ago and now I'm doing it again and it's stil awesome. The AI is great and it gets harder each level. The multiplayer is not really good but you will waste lots of hours in the single player mode so you can ignore this feature.

79

Very good.

benyo555 | Sept. 24, 2012 | See all benyo555's reviews »

It's a good game because I can play online and it can be very funny. I can lose my boring hours with this game. RESPECT!!

5

Bad, bad, bad

Khoa | Sept. 24, 2012 | See all Khoa's reviews »

Get battle of westnoth for free instead. much better game. I finished this game's first campaign in 90 minutes. Endless fighting, end of story.

75

Luck based

lok0812 | Sept. 21, 2012 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Simple turn based strategy game on a hexagon based grid. The strategy element is truly satisfying since you choose which pieces to move in the grid and plan to exploit the weakness of the enemies. One bad thing is combat is based on dice roll, if you cannot get the roll you need the battle could turn into a long tedious match. The good part is the AI in the game will provide a challenge. Fans of turn based strategy game definitely should give it a try.

74

Simple and fun

rascallion | June 6, 2011 | See all rascallion's reviews »

This is the sort of game that looks like it was made around eight years ago. However, in the case of Age of Fear: The Undead King, this is certainly not a bad thing. You play from a topdown view, and your aim is to kill lots of different types of bad evil creatures. The game gets harder as you progress, and with loads of different levels (plus a rather glitchy multiplayer mode) the game never bores me. The campaigns are very fun and quite simple to play through, so most people can pick this up and play easily. At first. Reccomended!