Reviews for VVVVVV

80

One Mechanic, Endless Fun

WolfeClawz | Feb. 17, 2014 | See all WolfeClawz's reviews »

For a game that focuses purely on the single mechanic of reversing gravity on yourself, this game still manages to throw new challenges at you every step of the way. While there are times in which you'll feel like slamming your face against the keyboard, when you do eventually come out on top you'll be extremely satisfied and cry tears of happiness.

The art style is simplistic which really helps the player to focus on the task at hand and the music is simply phenomenal and varied. VVVVVV is a must have, especially with the price being so low.

84

A wonderful platformer

AkiMatti | Feb. 5, 2014 | See all AkiMatti's reviews »

I approached this game with pretty much no expectations. I do have a soft spot for retro games in my heart so there was something in favor of this game already.

The game shines with personality! The little guys in the game are so adorable, only animation they have are their facial gestures (basically happy/sad) but they really tug my heart strings! The game mechanics are simple, you slide sideways and you can reverse gravity, making you slide on the roof or on the floor. From such a basic movement repertoire a lot of different and challenging problems are created. The game even surprises the player many times along the way when you feel like you've seen it all.

Playing this game is a delight, you always seem to be in control of the character and the failures are pretty much always your own fault. Checkpoints are frequent enough so that when you die (and you do, lots of times) you don't have to backtrack a lot. Recommended!

80

Great platformer challenge

stitch123 | Sept. 27, 2013 | See all stitch123's reviews »

VVVVVV is awesome retro platformer game. Main mechanic in the game is that you change gravity instead of jumping. If you like challenge games like Super Meat Boy, you'll sure like this one, too. It's really hard sometimes. Also soundtrack is very good. I really recommend this. In addition, it's very cheap ;)

(Sorry for my bad English)

85

Excellent platformer

lok0812 | Aug. 24, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

If you enjoy any 2D platformer like Super Meat Boy or Braid, chances are you will like this one as well. Unlike the other two mentioned, VVVVVV is a more simpler game and all you need to do is control the gravity to avoid spikes and get through the stage. The game itself is as unforgiving as Super Meat Boy nor deep puzzle as Braid so it should favor more to casual players that are looking for a platforming experience. Definitely a must get if you enjoy 2D platforming and you will not disappoint.

100

Fun is the Keyword!

Thebestfootball | Aug. 7, 2013 | See all Thebestfootball's reviews »

Very Fun Game! The retro-esque gravity defying platformer VVVVVV takes one back to the days of better gaming -- where skill actually matters because the reward is worth it. You'll find the game-play difficult but not overly so and the payoff of finding new areas or making an "impossible" maneuver worthwhile. The music gives me goosebumps and fits in quite well with the game -- that of exploring space in an strange and unknown dimension to find your crew-mates. Precision platforming -- retro style -- at its best! 10/10

80

Great nostalgic game

buck | June 18, 2013 | See all buck's reviews »

VVVVVV is a great nostalgic game, very reminiscent of the commodore 64 days. It's a platform game in which, instead of jumping, you reverse gravity (on just yourself). It can be pretty challenging at times, but never too much so. The only downside is that sometimes you can feel lost and not know where you're supposed to go next. Definitely worth the few bucks it costs!

90

Great platformer with a challenge

thegaminglyfe | June 8, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

This game has a simple concept, arrow keys to move and space to invert the gravity. It may seem easy but it is one of the most challenging platformers I've ever played. The graphics work with the game with all the flashing lights and different colours. The sound also fits in with the happy jamming music. I've never played a platformer like this where when you die for the tenth time you get determined to finish it, not just smash your keyboard. The game is addicting and once you play for about half an hour you won't be able to stop. Definitely buy this game if you are a fan of platformers.

80

Great gmae.

brenker99 | June 4, 2013 | See all brenker99's reviews »

Good game it was a bundle , and its a good money waster. and with a great soundtrack! Worth it.

88

Awesome platformer!

ultimategamer | March 5, 2013 | See all ultimategamer's reviews »

This retro style space plat former is truly amazing and very fun to play! The graphics in the game suit the style of game play really well and create a better atmosphere for the player. The controls are easy to adapt to and once you've got them down the actual fun begins. The music track in the game adds a special feel where it makes players want to play more and sometimes even get overly addicted to beat a single mission. The game runs very smoothly on almost any computer no matter the capacity! Recommended for any who is a fan of Super Meat Boy and similar games!

85

Crazy pills...

PM_DMNKLR | Feb. 5, 2013 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

Yeah, I said it, lol. Crazy pills. Why do I say that? Because that's how you'll feel when you're playing this game. It's super fun, super challenging and most of all, it's so crazy you'll think you divided by zero. Oh and it's DIRT CHEAP!!! $1.99 USD can get you either 2 McDonald's McDoubles (and loads of bowel problems) or this game, which will have your brain running in circles for hours upon hours trying to break through each challenge. Think of it as bit.trip.runner meets Super Meat Boy. Yeah, crazy pills sounds right now doesn't it? XD

90

Simple concept, awesome game !

zhack075 | Jan. 1, 2013 | See all zhack075's reviews »

This game is cheap. It is made of cheap 8bits graphics, cheap concept, Cheap music... but it's a really good game. In fact it's the example that you don't need Cryengine or 300 employees to get a great game. The concept is simple, you can reverse gravity. This simple features leads to a tons of really interesting levels and for it price, I definitely recommend you to buy this awesome game ! Moreover, the soundtrack is incredible !

90

A Charming Platformer and Fun Challenge

CrimsonWizard | Dec. 28, 2012 | See all CrimsonWizard's reviews »

VVVVVV is a platformer built to resemble some of the 8-bit platformers of old. In particular, it evokes a graphical style like the Commodore 64, while using the unique mechanic of gravity flipping. While gravity flipping has been done before such as in Metal Storm for the NES, but VVVVVV is far more refined in it's use of it's mechanic like Bionic Commando Rearmed's use of the grappling arm in lieu of typical jumping.

By "more refined", I mean that most rooms in VVVVVV feel like a well crafted puzzle rather than just moving from one edge of the screen to the other. Each section of the interconnected world has a theme to challenge Captain Viridian, from spikes to reflective walls, and more. While a few of the collectibles placed in the game require navigating some frustrating puzzles, the game maintains a good difficulty curve. You'll die a lot, but checkpoints are frequent and restarting is quick, cutting down on frustration from a tough chamber.

Also of note, the soundtrack of VVVVVV is fantastic, using some 8-bit beepy sound with a jamming melody, each section's tune standing out from each other. It's a real nice listen when you need to stop to think out how to survive the next room.

VVVVVV is a great example of a platformer with a unique mechanic, paying homage to the old era of games while refining the gameplay to make it sleeker. It's not super long, but for the price listed and the effort put into crafting the world, VVVVVV is a fun experience.

96

VVVVVVery good!

nairume | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all nairume's reviews »

VVVVVV is perhaps one of the most enjoyably unique platformers to come out in years. Taking inspiration from Team Meat's Meat Boy games, VVVVVV is based around incredibly difficult stages where the player will be expected to die frequently, returning them to the most recent checkpoint. Where this game differs from most frustration platformers is that it also mixes in Metroid-esque exploration, dropping players into a wide open and bizarre world that they are free to explore from the get-go. The other major gimmick, tying into the name of the game, is that the player character, instead of normal jumping, will reverse his gravity and immediately jump from floor to ceiling and back to the floor when you "jump" again.

While the game is designed to be frustrating, the controls are tight enough and the levels are clever enough to where it is never insulting. This game beautifully works like a charm and is an absolute blast to play. The gravity mechanic also works fairly, making each death the result of the player's and not the level throwing an unfair and cheap shot at them. This is a great game and a worth addition to any library.

90

Fantastic game!

Axxelator | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all Axxelator's reviews »

Absolutely fantastic platformer with an ingenious play mechanic, unique visuals, great sense of humor and a kick-ass soundtrack. Highly recommended.

90

Surprisingly Good

israel_hlc | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all israel_hlc's reviews »

Imagine a platform game where you can’t jump. Can’t imagine it? OK, neither could I.

VVVVVV is a unique game of the genre, where instead of jumping you switch the direction of the gravity. Now add this with a level where you can’t see what’s above your head (or under your head, if gravity is changed), and you will have an innovative indie game.

The retro-based graphics and sounds may be unattractive for some people, but they really fit well within the game.

The game is not long; it can be finished in just a few hours. But it will be worthy its price. At least you will have enjoyed a surprisingly good game.

88

Frustratingly fun platformer

MalekTaktak | Dec. 12, 2012 | See all MalekTaktak's reviews »

I didn't know what to expect from VVVVVV at first, but now whenever a misinformed person mentions it (usually spelling it wrong) I go all out saying "How dare you! It's VVVVVV, six V's for godness's sake!"

The 8-bit style soundtrack is catchy and very well composed, and it will sometimes decrease your urge to break your keyboard since you'll probably die several times in the first levels.

The story/plot is pretty simple and doesn't require your main focus since you'll be trying to figure out how to get past this one room who keeps dumping you into red spiky spikes.

The visuals are very appealing, and provide a good feeling/atmosphere to the player who will be trying to evade the evil booby traps maliciously set by some psycho guy named Terry.

The controls are quite alright, left and right arrows for the two directions respectively and Space/up/down arrow to flip gravity. Yes you can flip gravity! But that doesn't matter: since you'll be dying and dying and dying...

Alright, yes, you'll notice pretty fast that the game isn't easy, not easy at all to say the least, it requires a lot of patience and some Nintendo-hard gaming experience to complete. I recommend this indie to die-hard fans of challenges and hard sidescrollers. And when you'll be done with the main story, there's always the online levels, and the soundtrack.

For 1.99$, it's almost a crime to not purchase this masterpiece.

87

Very confusing, but a nice puzzle game

ZeeFreeman | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all ZeeFreeman's reviews »

Wasn't quite sure what to think of the game, as it seems to make no sense. But after you get over the initial confusion, the puzzles are interesting and the game itself is well thought out, yet I still do not know what the creators were thinking when making this game, but I'm glad they did.

91

Unique Indie Platformer

Xkhaoz | Nov. 4, 2012 | See all Xkhaoz's reviews »

VVVVVV is a great game. If you need more details, then lets move on. VVVVVV is a tough as nails platformer in the vein of SMB: The Lost Levels or Super Meat Boy. Instead of jumping, you instead flip your center of gravity, so you would go from the floor to the ceiling with a press of a button. Using this mechanic, you'll dodge spikes, pits, and all sorts of other dangers. Remember when I said it was hard? Well it is, very. But its entirely possible, due to the abundance of checkpoints. Also jam packed into this game is plenty of humor. For $2, you mustn't overlook this game.

96

OMG!!!

hugemouth | Nov. 1, 2012 | See all hugemouth's reviews »

One of the hardest and most fun games ever made. If you like games like SUPER MEAT BOY you should buy this game. It is challenging like hell, prepare to rage quit often and to play the same 1 minute level for over an hour :D The soundtrack is also AMAZING, you should buy it too ;)

92

One of my favorites.

vivaramjetjr | Oct. 8, 2012 | See all vivaramjetjr's reviews »

VVVVVV is a short game, clocking in at 4 hours for me, but it’s quality, rather than quantity, that justifies the game’s cost. The game’s central mechanic is gravity flipping, a very nice twist on the classic platformer formula. It is challenging but rarely frustrating; there are only a couple levels that feel unfair. Navigating space using your map is reminiscent of the Legend of Zelda; regrettably, the game isn’t large enough to capture Zelda’s sense of exploration. The game introduces new gameplay elements slowly and plays with them to their fullest extent. As the gameplay complexity increases, so does the graphical complexity. The visuals are diverse while maintaining a consistent aesthetic. They are quite charming and remind me of Atari games. The soundtrack is catchy and upbeat. It leaves you with a lingering sense of happiness. Overall, VVVVVV is undoubtedly worth buying if you enjoy platformers.

87

Veni, Vidi, Vici

Engin33r | Oct. 5, 2012 | See all Engin33r's reviews »

This is a very good, engaging and challenging platformer built around a simple idea. The only thing you can do is move left and right, and flip from floor to ceiling. Add an alien world full of deadly spikes, that you, as Captain Viridian, must fully explore to save your lost crew, and tight controls to help you navigate with pixel-perfect precision, and it is a recipe for success. Everyone with enough patience should be able to resque the crew, but some of the optional challenges are only meant for the truly elite and dedicated players. Two thumbs up!

85

Pixelated Hairkiller

Adanos | Sept. 3, 2012 | See all Adanos's reviews »

VVVVVV have a lovely atmosphere: the pixel graphic and the 8-bit tunes are very good.

The mechanic of the game is simply: go from A point to B with the power to switch gravity when you hit the ground. But in the real gameplay it is sometime is extremly hard, but it's fun after the 1000 deads, too. But if it not enough to you the game has modes to make it more harder.

The story is nearly nophing, but it's not really importan.

And as nowdays the game has collectible orbs that gives you the soundtrack, and as i sad the soundtrack is good.

So, for 2$ dollars it's a very good buy if you like challange and retro graphic style.

96

Hard arcade game

Rubin1993 | Sept. 3, 2012 | See all Rubin1993's reviews »

VVVVVV is 2D arcade game. The gameplay is simple but the game is very hard. You're playing rule of captain of spaceship who must find his crew who were teleported in spaceship accident. Our protagonist have the ablity to walk upside-down. The graphic is stylised to retro graphic like in old arcade games. Overall the game is very addicting and can also frustrate.

90

A must

Zinzun | Sept. 1, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

If you love hard old-style platform,buy this game.It's hard but it's also easiest then Super Meat Boy.It takes about three hours to complete,you you can find all crew members of your ship.The soundtrack is simply amazing,Positive Force is a theme that will play on your mind for much time.For only 2 euro,it's a great deal!

90

VVVVVVs, VVVVVVs everywhere

Raoin | Aug. 31, 2012 | See all Raoin's reviews »

VVVVVV has an interesting retro approach. The game is kinda simple, but brings back the difficulty of the classic old titles. The gameplay itself is made of two movement keys (left and right) and a key to change the gravity settings. Yet the game is still very fun and hard. Trust me, it's hard. Die in VVVVVV is very easy. Avoid the death, though, requires a bit of reflex and persistence. If you like challenging retro games, VVVVVV is totally worth it.

85

Should be called VVVV-NOOOO!

Micepudding | Aug. 29, 2012 | See all Micepudding's reviews »

The game is titled after the typical button mashing - V is the default key to flip gravity, though others can be used, and your aim is to flip around avoiding spikes and enemies. There's no jumping, just left and right movement, and the gravity flipping. Sounds simple, until you play it, and it turns out to be quite difficult. The main quest is fairly straightforward, and can be beaten in around an hour, but collecting everything in the game will take longer. Some of the most difficult challenges are known by name to anyone who's played the game.

With catchy music, fast, fun gameplay, and cool retro style graphics, VVVVVV does pretty much everything right. The simplicity is also where it lost points with me - once you've finished it, there's not much reason to play again, and it really doesn't take long to complete.

77

Original and oh so very strange...

Cooberstooge | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

This game is so retro it hurts, and that's a really good thing. VVVVVV is everything a good platformer used to be, back in the good old days. It's fast, it's hard, it's wacky, and it sounds awesome.

This is a game without a jump mechanic, and instead you invert gravity and walk around on the underside of passageways as needed. Most certainly takes some getting used to, and makes for some unexpected deaths, but it's all good. Dying repeatedly isn't really all that frustrating in VVVVVV, and that places it head and shoulders above all the other rage-inducing indie platformers of late.

The game runs along just fine, and supports big resolutions too. The controls are well thought-out and easy to learn. The difficulty ramps up at a decent pace, so you'll not get stuck near the beginning and start trying to pull your hair out. All in all, a great indie platformer you simply must get, and it's ridiculously cheap too.

90

A must have for retro fans

griff92 | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all griff92's reviews »

VVVVVV is an old school platformer that'll get you hooked the moment you start playing. The game itself has an 8-bit style to it with a superb and catchy retro soundtrack, responsive controls and a hard difficult setting.

VVVVVV is different to other platformers. Instead of jumping, you have to invert gravity which means you have to be careful while you're in some of the more difficult areas. You'll die over and over again but you'll be relieved once you reach the next checkpoint.

Overall, VVVVVV is a fun retro platformer that deserves your attention.

88

Gleefully dying over and over again

Lunk | Aug. 21, 2012 | See all Lunk's reviews »

VVVVVV is an indie platformer with retro graphics and a steep difficulty curve. In that regard it's a lot like another game that I gave an unfavorable review to - Super Meat Boy - with one key difference: it's fun.

The game does a really nice job of making progression through the main story challenging without being maddening, and for those who enjoy extreme, rage-inducing difficulty there are a bunch of optional collectibles that are often far harder to get. Make no mistake, even if you only go for the "easy" path through the game you'll still die a lot, but checkpoints are offered with such frequency that even for someone like me who prefers a more casual gaming experience it wasn't really a source of frustration.

The music also helps keep things enjoyable. It definitely has a retro sound, and it's incredibly catchy and upbeat. It's hard to get mad while listening to music that cheerful!

The one thing I would deduct a few points for is length. Without doing much in the way of the additional challenges, I clocked in at a little over 2 hours. However, I imagine those additional challenges do add some significant time for those who want to work on them, and at a $5 base price you should feel like you got your money's worth however you choose to play it.

82

Fun and hard retro game

panz3r88 | July 30, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

VVVVVV is a particular platform game. The commands are simple: You have two buttons to move left or right and an other one to invert the gravity. The game is very hard: after some tutorial levels you will have to avoid many kind of traps and you must really have good reflex to reach the end of the game. When you finish the game, there are many other things to do: complete the challenges and get all the collectibles. There is also a level editor and you can even play the level created by other players. If you love retro platform game and you are looking for a good challenge this is the game for you

83

Lovely retro style

CJV | July 16, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

This game has a certain charm to it, not only because of how the game looks but also because of how the game plays. I find it quite original that this is a retro 2D plataformer in which you never jump. The basic mechanic here is to flip gravity, and it may sound odd, but the levels are all very well design and this works very well with the game. Overall, it's very unique and a lot of fun, I think everyone should at least try it.

71

Such a strange but awesome retro game.

Dinoienugget | July 7, 2012 | See all Dinoienugget's reviews »

There isn't really a lot I can say about this game that will do it justice, you seriously just need to play it for yourself. If you arent a fan of retro games then this game is absolutely not for you, but if you love puzzle games then this will be right up your alley.

The concept of this game to begin with is unique, you can press space in the game to invert yourself and thus will send you flying upward until you hit a new surface, now what was once your ceiling is now your floor and visa versa.

VVVVVV has rather a simple design to it and it can sometimes be confusing as to where you are supposed to go but it is really a very fun and satisfying game and i recommend everyone plays it

95

A Must Play

hellinperson | June 16, 2012 | See all hellinperson's reviews »

Games these days don't have something: Difficulty. This game has that and much more. VVVVVV is an 8-bit styled game. The composer of this game did an excellent job. The songs are catchy and really well done. Controls are perfect. I shouldn't spoil any of this game. Just play it and see for yourself.

85

Amazing retro feel.

KnightFire | June 15, 2012 | See all KnightFire's reviews »

This game is great for the price, first of all. If you like puzzles and/or retro games, this is a definite must to get. It is worth all that I have spent on it. The endless dying and the feeling of "I NEED TO FINISH THIS PART!" keeps you going, along with the catchy retro - styled music for the game.

88

Absolutely Amazing

WinDiesel | June 13, 2012 | See all WinDiesel's reviews »

I love everything about this little indie gem, but how does one describe this simple retro game? Well, for starters, you are the captain of a space crew "stranded" in a weird dimension. You somehow have the ability to manipulate gravitation, which comes in handy considering everything is made out of platforms.

What follows is a challenging game in the style of metroid (sans shooting) with many neat gameplay twists and a stunning soundtrack. I recommend it to anyone who is into retro gaming or great platformers. There also is a free demo on newgrounds.com if you want to try it out before you buy.

90

Excellent retro game

sweetcuppincake | June 13, 2012 | See all sweetcuppincake's reviews »

Don't be deceived by the simple looking graphics. VVVVVV is an incredibly fun and challenging game. This is the most retro game I've played, graphically speaking. Solid colors and simple shapes that hearken back to the Apple II I played on as a child.

The story is fairly basic, but works well enough to keep you interested. What really stands out in this game are the mechanics and the music. Some of the best chiptune music I've heard comes from this game. It's fun and exciting and at times urgent. It really matches the tone of the game.

The gameplay seems simple, but becomes very challenging as the game goes on. Instead of jumping, you flip gravity so you are drawn to the ceiling. You use this to get around enemies and over spikes. It becomes very frantic at times. Beyond the basic plot, there are also optional collectibles to challenge you further. Overall, a difficult but fun retro game.

83

Simple genius

Finka_Karfein | June 5, 2012 | See all Finka_Karfein's reviews »

If you think that video games are too casual even on hard difficulty setting nowadays, try VVVVVV. It is very demanding yet highly playable. The graphics are sweet and retro-like, just like the soundtrack which stays forever with you. Reversing gravity and omitting obstacles could not be more fun than with this game. Drawbacks? Maybe the price outside the sales or bundles and the shortness (just 2-4h depending on the player skills). But hey, there are some custom maps and an editor! It is not a secret that indie games are often far better than those of big companies. But this one is big among the indies. Just buy it and give it a shot.

94

Very challenging. great game

ruready12 | March 15, 2012 | See all ruready12's reviews »

I played this game for quite a bit on steam and I have to say, at first it looks like flash game material but the soundtrack kept me in. I soon discovered how addicting the game was and stood up all night playing it. The game will leave you screaming because its so hard, but you will come right back and vow you will beat it. The game is worth the money and its an overall great indie platformer with an amazing soundtrack and fun aspects.

92

Simple and awesome

dog1543 | March 7, 2012 | See all dog1543's reviews »

VVVVVV is old school 2D sidescroller. You play as a little guy who can change gravity. Your objective is to save all of your friends. It's quite easy to complete this game. It has an awesome soundtrack, that gives a 90's nostalgia. For me, the game was very good and I enjoyed it. The price is too low for a game like this. I highly recommend to try this

90

A challenging retro 2D platformer with a great soundtrack

Bluer | Nov. 4, 2011 | See all Bluer's reviews »

If you enjoy a challenge, retro graphical style and platform games then this is the game for you. You will love the charm, the character and the soundtrack is great. The difficulty is spot on and at the price this is on GMG then you'd be a fool to not try it. The environments are simple, but the 'puzzles' you will encounter will make you have to think on your feet, without getting too much (feels more comfortable than Super Meat Boy at any rate). Give this game a try and you may realise you've found a modern gem.

90

Nostalgia

STJ | Oct. 21, 2011 | See all STJ's reviews »

Theres not much to say about this...See that cluster of Pixels with the two black dots on top?That's you.Your on a Spaceship with something goes terribly wrong and your crew is transported via emergency teleport into parts unknown,your goal is too find them.How do you accomplish this seemingly impossible task on the huge spaceship you ask?By reversing gravity.You will travel through many enemies,some with very tricky traps,moving platforms,hidden items and notes.While your doing all of that there is amazing music playing in the background guiding you through.Basically this game is at a low price as it is,and is way worth it,buy it and you will see,or download the demo first if you don't take my word :)

90

Awesome game at an unbelievable price!

Dweezy | Sept. 5, 2011 | See all Dweezy's reviews »

The game's concept is very simple; you play as a little dude who can reverse gravity. You are a captain of a ship when something horrible has gone wrong. Now you have to reunite your crew members but you got to find them first! You must navigate through screens of obstacles to find them whilst using your ability to invert gravity whenever you so choose. This game is tough at times, very challenging (youtube VVVVVV venividivichi and you'll see what I mean). The retro-like music in the game is quite charming as well and the simplicity of the game makes it very enjoyable. Did I mention you can make your own levels too? (Try out the levels made by Notch!) All in all, great indie game to have in your collection.

91

retro platformer at its best

soad667 | Sept. 3, 2011 | See all soad667's reviews »

Don't let the retro looks scare you away. This game is a unique gem in its category. Simple sidescroller, but quite addictive once you spent a few minutes in and then realize they were not minutes, but hours. Unique sidescrolling, where you move only left and right, you cannot jump or crouch, but you're able to change gravity at any point (the only requirement is your feet to touch the ground). The wonderful chiptune music is a huge plus. If you like retro music, you will love every single track in the soundtrack. The main story won't take more than a few hours to complete, but seeking all the collectibles and a lot of alternative modes will keep you busy a lot more. Also, a recent patch brought the game to another level. Between a large number of improvements, it added an editor, so prepare to keep this game installed for quite some time. On top of all, check its price. Ridiculously low for a game like this.

66

Simple game, but totally worth it

Min0rThreat | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all Min0rThreat's reviews »

VVVVVV is a simple 2D 8-bit styled platformer. The only difference compared to most traditional sidescrollers is, you don't have the ability to jump. You have to use alternative methods, the same way Spencer used his bionic arm, you change gravity. Its very simple and intuitive. The challenge is just right, you wont breeze through it, and you wont get stuck too often. That is, if you don't try to collect everything. For me, this wasn't that great of a game, especially because fans hyped it up very much. But let me tell you, I would pay the small 2.97 Euros simply for the music. This game has possibly one of my favourite soundtracks in a very long time. I probably would not recommend this game if it was not for the soundtrack, if your into old school platformers with 8-bit era musical greatness. I would greatly recommend it. If neither of those interest you, look further.

85

Buy it, right now!

jojot | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all jojot's reviews »

there are very few games that I would recommend to anyone. This is one of those games. It has a good aesthetic, excellent music, simple gameplay yet it's difficult to master and above all, it's just plain fun.

The game revolves around one simple mechanic, the ability to invert gravity. The trick is that you can only do this while you are on ground/ceiling. There is no jumping or any other trickery, just moving left and right and flipping gravity. This seems very simple at first, but when the game frequently puts you under pressure to navigate through complex environments with lots of pointy death spikes it can be quite challenging. The hardest challenge, the one the game is named after (Veni, Vidi, Vici) involves flipping gravity and then navigating through 4 screens of complex maze while "falling" and having nowhere to land and take a breather until you get to the end. What happens when you get to the end? You land on a platform that collapses in less than a second, forcing you to reverse gravity again and go all the way back down again with no break in between, navigating the same path but in reverse and landing back where you started, but a few feet tot he right. Why would you go through such torture you ask? Why, to get over that knee high wall and collect the entirely optional shiny trinket on the other side of course!

The music in this game is also phenomenal. Even though the thing is entirely chiptunes stuff, with all that extra fidelity Techno/Electronica has still doesn't help it come close to being this awesome. It's one of the only games where I would actually put the soundtrack in my normal music playlist and listen to it (metro 2033 being another one). The soundtrack also fits very well with the retro inspired graphics of the game, which is largely limited in it's color pallet and distinctly lacking in detail. This in no way detracts from the experience though.

90

Highly Recommended!

Razorsharp87 | Aug. 31, 2011 | See all Razorsharp87's reviews »

If you like side-scroller platform game, I would say this is a MUST-TRY! It uses minimistic design and slightly pixel drawings here and there as its art-style, which is great! The difficulties of the puzzles are just right. It's not too difficult and not too easy. For those who wants more challenge, try to collect some rare items along the way while playing this, I challenge you to try to collect them all! ;) As for the music, it's simply amazing! With such low price, why pass this offer?

75

money that u will enjoy spending

pudge195 | Aug. 23, 2011 | See all pudge195's reviews »

After beating the game, the game pointed at me and wanted me to collect the orb thingy's which is more masochistic then the game itself, and the game likes to see you dead,and dead and deaddddddd. But it isn't lame death's, its simple death's without any cheap controls or anything. Great game if you into super meat boy style games, i personally didn't enjoy it as much as others because i felt like someone was punching me in the crouch,over and over, and it was me for being stupid. Buy it ASAP you masochistic bastards.

95

What is $3.48 to you?

omnipotentgrape | Aug. 22, 2011 | See all omnipotentgrape's reviews »

VVVVVV is great. Let's just get that out of the way. Whether you are the completion freak, or the platformer master, there is something for everyone. This is not a platformer in the traditional sense. You "jump" by reversing your gravity. This mechanic really made the game interesting. The game is not especially hard, unless you want to collect all the extras. However, this is completely optional. The music is first rate. Loved it. So, even if you have the first $3.48 you ever made on you, you should definitely get this game. First rate platformer.

85

Awesome and challenging old school sidescroll platforming.

Xonus | Aug. 22, 2011 | See all Xonus's reviews »

Even though it's very short, VVVVVV is incredibly fun while it lasts, and actually gets really challenging at some points, where a lot of precision is needed, and when the game gets really fast paced (against moving objects or when the screen is moving).

A surprisingly great point in this game is the soundtrack, I enjoyed hearing the majority of the tracks while playing the game, and listened to the few favorites outside of the game as well.

Absolutely recommended for the low price.

85

No reason to pass up

Endyo | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all Endyo's reviews »

VVVVVV came along with the slew of modern 8-bit styled indie games that seem to be popping up out of nowhere these days. However VVVVVV stands out amongst the crowd by having original gameplay mechanics and challenging puzzles.

If you could give one quality to VVVVVV that would surmise the entire game it would be utter simplicity. The game has only one real action other than run left or right and it’s not even jump, it’s to invert your character. You’re capable of maintaining control while doing this, but you are only able to invert back from another surface or under special circumstances. The game uses this mechanic to approach the player with tons of complex puzzles that you need to solve in order to rescue your friends. The puzzles don’t just require reason to solve, but also proper execution and often lightning quick reactions.

Another quality that this game has that is certainly not apparent from the start is that it is mind numbingly difficult at times. For me it carries the same sentiment as one of its 8-bit styled brethren, Super Meat Boy, that it can make you go from calm to rage in milliseconds. At times, games like this are so frustrating that I just have to put them down for some time. The speed at which you need to perform some tasks in a chain of quick tasks seems to be impossible. Some people enjoy challenges like that a lot more than me. I would highly suggest having a gamepad in order to play though, because a keyboard just won’t cut it. I can’t take away much for being difficult and the game doesn’t really miss on any particular fronts for the price and what you get, but I still don’t believe it’s a perfect game or anything. Realistically, regardless of whether you think it’s a five star game or a one star game, you could try it because it’s both cheap and original. Cheap and original are not qualities you generally associate with gaming these days.

100

Lovely indie game with a neat concept

Neohoodman | Aug. 17, 2011 | See all Neohoodman's reviews »

From the cute simple retro graphics to the absolutely fantastic soundtrack, this is required reading from the indie game scene. You are Captain Viridian and need to gather all of your crew that got lost due to some horrible portal accident. The gameplay: A platformer. The twist? You don't jump. You flip gravity. The different levels range from various difficulties and concepts, every level as amazing as the one before. And the soundtrack... 8-bit beats that will blow your mind. After beating the fairly short main story, there's loads of challenges and time trials to play through. In short: Sublime game.

85

Retro Fun

faraany3k | Aug. 17, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

VVVVV is a retro classic. And it doesn't even shy away to show it. First thing you ll notice are the looks that will look dated at first but if you get past this early barrier, you'll come to appreciate how beautiful the art style is. VVVVV offer a unique twist on tradition platforming formula. Instead of jumping and dodging in the game world. You manipulate the game world around you by reversing the laws of gravity. Result is a pure challenging and cerebral experience. I strongly recommend this game to all 'platform genre' lovers.

100

This is a game well worth your money.

t3rraria | Aug. 13, 2011 | See all t3rraria's reviews »

VVVVVV is one of the best "platformers" out there. It really challenges the user, forcing them to get creative, and the retro-style graphics make the game that much more appealing. I love the ability to make your own levels, and many user-made ones are out there. Adding levels is easy, and this game will probably never get boring because of this. The soundtrack is amazing as well, and it really fits the game well. This game actually has a deep storyline, as well as a ton of optional things to do, making the game have that much more replay value. Although you will get frustrated at times, that makes it exponentially more rewarding after you conquer that challenge. Definitely one of the best indie games out there.

90

Epic retro game. [Spanish Translated]

KgsRoCks | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all KgsRoCks's reviews »

I loved this game literally, music, levels, product originality . It's just a good game, plus at this price should not pass up. The game is easy at first but then begins to unravel as you progress. Moreover, the latest update brings a great level editor and levels created by the very "Notch."

100

Hard but great and entertaining.

PANIC98 | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all PANIC98's reviews »

This game will literally take out your mind and beat you into 8 bit oblivion with it. Well the game isn't that hard. It just gets progressively more challenging as you go, reaching a climax of slamming you face into the keyboard. None the less it is, in my opinion, an experience only matched by Super Meat Boy. This is a "Pixel-Perfect-Puzzler"

85

So simple. So fun.

UltraJake | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all UltraJake's reviews »

The music is nice, the graphics are simple, (in a good way!) and the concept is quite original. With the ability to walk on the floor or flip yourself upside down and walk on the ceiling. You must avoid traps and use the environment of discovered map sections to search for your missing friends, finding teleporters and trinkets along the way. The game is a bit short but for the price it is surely worth it!

85

Fast paced, frantic, difficult and addictive

k_g_brothers | Aug. 10, 2011 | See all k_g_brothers's reviews »

if you looked at this game and thought "this has bad graphics" then this game is not for you. however if you can look past the obviously retro-stylized graphics then you will enjoy an awesomely frantic fun experience. i have yet to beat it but that is only because i lack the skill. i have retried the same part over over for at least an hour:) this is my favorite indie game. DO NOT MISTAKE INDIE TO MEAN CASUAL! fun game, too bad i cant beat it. 85/100

90

So simple, so addictive.

Rzepak01 | Aug. 10, 2011 | See all Rzepak01's reviews »

From its odd title to the unique 8bit aesthetic VVVVVV is an indie gem not to be missed. It is a puzzle platformer that does away with the overused jump mechanic instead allowing the player to use gravity and quick reflexes to traverse levels that can span many screen vertically and horizontally. Dont be surprised when you take a step of a ledge and the gravity starts pulling you through a mutlitude of screens. The game is all about wit and reflexes. The game contains 8 lengthy levels filled with harrowing drops, spiked floors and ceiliengs, moving platforms and trampolines. The games mechanics are easy to get the hang of but that does not change the fact that this game will be difficult, but the numerous checkpoints in all the right places will keep you from shutting the game down in frustration. The game has that certain just more more try charm often missing in todays games. With its chiptune music and recent 2.0 patch the game is a total package, with numerous new levels from indie gamings greatest devs, like Notch of Minecraft and an easy to use level editor. A must have for any indie and puzzle game fan.

75

Cheap and good

t20k | Aug. 9, 2011 | See all t20k's reviews »

Using the unique reverse gravity feature, this platformer is fun and creative. As you would expect from a platformer, it can be difficult and frustrating, but not too much. Controls are not as tight as would expect though. Has just been updated to 2.0, and now has a level editor and custom levels. It's so cheap it's a must have.

93

A simple addictive game

Wolfear | Aug. 5, 2011 | See all Wolfear's reviews »

A simple but hard game. But that is what makes it so much fun, because you'll want to end it and after that keep going on. The graphics are great, old school style, and with music that will stay in your head for a long time. Now with extra levels made by other gamedevelopers, like notch, known from minecraft. And a level editor to make your own levels, wich can be quite fun

87

Great time-killer

Doodier | Aug. 3, 2011 | See all Doodier's reviews »

This indie-retro-8bit-like game is really addictive! The concept is really simple but the game itself not so much! There are some frustrating parts where I was stuck for several minutes and was repeating few steps over and over again but oddly enough I still enjoyed it! I played it quite a lot and I will definitely play it again. For the few bucks this one is must-have!

93

Fun and Simple Game That Can Be Played On Almost Any PC

thespysapper | Aug. 2, 2011 | See all thespysapper's reviews »

This little game is 8bit. But don't let the graphics fool you. This game is one of the most addictive game I have ever played. Even if you are new to the game, the introduction of the game guides you through the basic controls and how to play the game. I would recommend this to anyone of any age. It is worth the money. Therefore, I give this game a good score of 93 out of 100.

96

Great Game! Must play!

etnies | Aug. 1, 2011 | See all etnies's reviews »

The game is really I love the concept, it is very simple and anyone can just pickup the game and get right into it. Don't let the retro graphics stop you from picking up this great game! It is very fun and addicting, sometimes even frustrating because some of the parts can be challenging but there is a ton of checkpoints to make it an enjoyable experience. If you don't have this game yet you should really look into it because its amazing well worth the small amount it costs. I forgot to mention the music in the game is just pure amazing goes great with the game and keeps you coming back for more.

91

Wonderful game pared down to the essentials

wengart | July 29, 2011 | See all wengart's reviews »

VVVVVV is a retro style platformer with perfect checkpoints that is never so difficult to make you ragequit but just hard enough for you to feel accomplished when you beat a section. In addition the music is a wonderful 8-bit throwback that is a pleasure to listen to.

This is a game where you can easily jump in for a 5 minute session or play all night. It's adaptable and you'll never find yourself without enough time to enjoy it or having VVVVV overstaying its welcome.

90

Fun and agony

Nobah | July 28, 2011 | See all Nobah's reviews »

Incredibly fun game with solid game play mechanic and controls. In a stroke of genius all of this has been coated with incredibly frustrating level design and difficulty level. This game makes you rip your hair off as your playing and also denies you the satisfaction of quitting for you are always THIS close to passing the current obstacle.

100

An indie gem

Rice77 | July 27, 2011 | See all Rice77's reviews »

This game is simply awesome. It challenges you to move right or left and jump, each time you jump you change your gravity and you land on a plataform or die trying it. It is a game where it is normal to die and where you will die (although not as much as in Super Meat Boy or I Wanna Be The Guy) and it now offers a map editor, so it has endless hours of fun!

90

Simple Addicting Game

domasgre | July 14, 2011 | See all domasgre's reviews »

I bought it when was on sale and only because was really cheap. So I thought "Meh will not play this game much, max. 30 mins". Okay so I installed it played it. And just died, died in game. I was so freaking addicted to it I played it 2 hours already. Okay so game is simple 8-bit and with great music. When you start the game it's very easy but as you play longer games goes harder and harder (much more than Super Meat Boy). So everyone should buy it and try, you will love it and be addicted for a while. I give 90 of 100. Very nice game, worth a price.

95

A great little Indie game

Quizn0s | July 9, 2011 | See all Quizn0s's reviews »

I got this game in an Indie pack during a Steam sale, and went into without really knowing what to expect. I thought the art style looked pretty cool, so I decided to try it out. After a 5 hour session, I realized that it was completely worth the $5 I spent on it. It's become my favorite Indie game EVER. The premise is simple: Instead of being able to jump, you have the ability to flip gravity at will. This makes challenges that would be simple in other games extremely difficult matters. One part in particular, where a single block lies between you and your goal, will probably take you an hour straight just to complete that one part (if you've played the game, you know what part I'm talking about). Overall, this is a great, challenging Indie game that deserves your attention.

86

Great retro game

bFasoX | July 7, 2011 | See all bFasoX's reviews »

This game is suitable for everyone who loves retro gaming. Because of that, the game is made in a quite easy way, without disregarding entertainment. The blocky graphics, assisted by the funky 8-bit music is a single reason to get this game. Due to the game being retro, the difficulty level raises to an almost-unbeatable level. This makes it sure that the play time gets MUCH longer than expected. Not like other games, this one motivates you to get the 100%.

50

Super Veggie Baby

GMGReviewer | June 28, 2011 | See all GMGReviewer's reviews »

Even though the auto-save function is perfect and the frustration level is less than Super Meat Boy, i find it to be another free mini flash game. It's very short (a couple of hours) and it's all about timing of the jump and the movement in between, the issue is the quality of it. But at its current price ($1.74), its a steal.

80

great fascinating game

Babelfish343 | June 27, 2011 | See all Babelfish343's reviews »

This game is a great retro-throwback but feels new somehow. the visuals accompanied by the 8-bit old school music create a great feel to the game, and levels are quite interesting with one simple gameplay mechanic: the ability to shift gravity. I recommend this for anyone who likes old atari games and such, though some levels become VERY challenging!

86

Retro at its best

GAMERamble | June 27, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

Everything about this game screams Indie. From the catchy chip-tune beats to the Flash looking graphics this title is as Indie as they come. As far as retro style platform games go this one is a winner. The challenge might catch you off-guard but it definitely has that "one more try" factor going for it. At this price you have no excuse not to get it.

82

vvvvvvvery good one

satyakun | June 26, 2011 | See all satyakun's reviews »

This game is a fun, short, and yet it very clever! Every puzzle here will make you thinking harder to solve it. The graphic will take you to the time of retro. Enjoy with a tea cup. :)

95

Ready to scream?

Arthan | June 21, 2011 | See all Arthan's reviews »

Fun, addictive, beatiful, gorgeous designed levels but dificult, very dificult. If you want to get all the "orbs", get ready to scream to the game and prepare for a difficult task cause even the easiest level will kill you dozens of times.

80

Just one more try...

GAMERamble | June 9, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

If you are a fan of platform games and don't mind a "retro" look then you can't miss this great indie title. The chiptune music is outstanding and the gameplay is extra challenging due to the gravity puzzles. Be warned this is not a game you'll just breeze through despite it's simple looks.

91

Best Indie Game

drakaenae | May 23, 2011 | See all drakaenae's reviews »

The unique title VVVVVV was the first thing that caught my eye when I decided to purchase this game. The title of this game is not the only unique thing. The music, game play and retro style are all unique aspects of the game.

The difficult finger-hurting levels and catchy retro music got me addicted to this game. This game was challenging because it is extremely hard to control. If you move a bit more right, you could land on a spike and lose a life. Through hours of playing, i managed to beat this game and collect all the trinkets. I would recommend this game to people who like games similar to Super Mario and Braid.

85

Quite the interesting game

Ichiro | May 10, 2011 | See all Ichiro's reviews »

My friend showed me this a while back, and at first I thought it was just another cheesy platformer, but it's certainly not it.

The entire game is developed using Flash, which is still quite uncommon for a paid game. Machinarium was also made using Flash, but that's away from the point.

This game will certainly take many hours out of your boredom. There's a lot of stuff to do, and a lot of difficult challenges as well. It's another one of those extremely difficult games that are meant to frustrate you to no end, but in return, add to your satisfaction.

I enjoyed playing it, but I doubt I'll ever beat the entire game.

73

Turns Platforming upside-down

Crowface | April 21, 2011 | See all Crowface's reviews »

VVVVVV is a Fun, addictive puzzle-platformer which turns a simple concept into a clever, frustrating puzzle game that keeps you hooked. The retro Style is beautiful and the music is sublime. Very fun.

90

Perfectly formed

Atrius | April 4, 2011 | See all Atrius's reviews »

VVVVVV is a really rather wonderful little platformer. I personally find platformers rather tedious usually, but the charming retro style, awesome music, and perfectly leveled puzzles kept me going. The use of respawn points merely seconds away from each painfully constructed puzzle makes the 'one more go' all the more appealing.

89

Annoying game that gets you hooked

tangoak | April 4, 2011 | See all tangoak's reviews »

VVVVVV is simple platformer with very high difficulty level. It is simple because you don't have many controls: you move your character and use only one button to control gravity. Difficulty comes from controlling gravity very precisely to avoid laser beams and other dangers. VVVVVV could be described as a mix of Super Meat Boy and Braid.

Game remainds me of Super Meat Boy as both are easy approachable but hard to master. VVVVVV is little like Braid as you have to control gravity to your benefit. Even though game is hard it is nice to play and it is easy and quick to try again. There are many checkpoints so you won't have to swear the difficulty. Graphics and music warms those who are to retro games. Recommended. There is also demo available so give it a try!