Reviews for F.E.A.R. 3

35

Not For Fans Of The First Two

pickelsurprise | March 16, 2014 | See all pickelsurprise's reviews »

I came into this game quickly off the heels of F.E.A.R. and F.E.A.R. 2, expecting a satisfying conclusion. While the gameplay is fairly solid, F.E.A.R. 3 fails to deliver as a proper continuation of the series.

Despite being labelled as horror games, the F.E.A.R. series has never really been one of the scariest games around. However, the first two games blended moderate horror and action together into an effective combination. Not the scariest experience, but still a satisfying one. F.E.A.R. 3 on the other hand is hardly scary at all. This is an especially large problem because it is clearly still trying to be. Nearly every horror moment in the game falls flat on its face.

Perhaps F.E.A.R. 3's worst offense is its pitiful conclusion to the series's story. These games never had the most amazing, inspiring storylines, but they were at least moderately engrossing, and I for one wanted to know how the series would end. When F.E.A.R. 3 was essentially reduced to a 5-hour-long arcade shooter, any hopes of a proper story were lost. This game does conclude the trilogy, but not in any satisfying capacity.

Personally I can only recommend this game to players who need a passable co-op experience. Fans of the previous two games should keep a wide berth.

80

Amazing Combat But Not Scary

IDprofile | Feb. 12, 2014 | See all IDprofile's reviews »

If you are looking for a scary game than F.E.A.R. 2 is the scariest in the series. While F.E.A.R. 2 is one of the scariest games out there to buy, F.E.A.R. 3 is not at all scary. However the combat is amazing. The controls are fluid and work. The guns and the ability to posses AI enemies is very fun. The multiplayer in both cooperative and wave mode are extremely fun. If you are looking for an FPS game to play with your friends then this is it. The graphics are quite good and the game runs smoothly on low end computers. I really suggest playing F.E.A.R. 3. I also suggest playing all of the F.E.A.R. series.

82

Get it for the co-op and the zombies

Unbenannte | Jan. 28, 2014 | See all Unbenannte's reviews »

Overall its an OK campaign, I really don't like single players, this one at least for me wasn't that horrific or terrifying. The graphics are very nice, you need some power to run this game, so have that in mind. I really recommend this if you have: 1) time to play. 2) someone to play with. Its not that the game is boring or something like that, but the campaign feels like if it had been made for the co-op. It has good graphics, nice campaign, excellent co-op, normal multiplayer, nice guns, good zombies and good sounds. So if you like zombie games, then this one is a nice add to your collection. Not really a must have, but if you have the money, then don't think, buy it, its above normal, but below amazing. Hope you find this useful.  

50

Sequel Syndrome

vipc | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all vipc's reviews »

The F.E.A.R series, particularly the first one was well known for its horror elements and solid A.I and gameplay. Alas, F.E.A.R also falls victim to the failings of sequels.

F.E.A.R 3 becomes much less about the horror and becomes another generic first person shooter. The gimmick is a bullet time style power which slows down time. The story itself is weak and forgettable, but the graphics are quite nice.

This is a game best played as a co-op experience, and only for the co-op experience. In co-op mode, one of you get to play as the brother which offers a new power, and offers semi-strategic gameplay. All in all though, this still doesn't make it a great game. Unless I have something wrong with my internet connection or of being in the Australian region, the online multiplayer is completely dead.

For $2-3 it might be worth it, especially in co op. Otherwise, if you lack spare time or money, I'd give this a skip.

81

Beware, Zombies are there

scanner786 | Dec. 30, 2013 | See all scanner786's reviews »

Nothing is more terrifying than the unknown. The campaign is good fun in single-player and especially enjoyable when played cooperatively with a friend. And the game's multiplayer modes present some thrills for those willing to work with others to survive. It is a thrilling game if you are playing single player at night alone, you will get some (jumps). Animation is great and the weapons and interactions are also great. Very highly recommended.

80

Fun Co-op

gforcesa | Dec. 23, 2013 | See all gforcesa's reviews »

Let me say this now.Fear 3 is best played in co-op mode mainly because its more fun to play with a buddy so you can dismember,explode,control your enemies.You can play as one of the two brothers, The Point Man and Paxton Fettel.The Point man has the power to slow down time and kill his enemies more easier while Fettel can control his enemies and use them to kill others.The levels are pretty basic, but i really enjoyed the one where waves of crazy guys or zombies attack you with knifes and you have to kill them, probably one of my favorite levels.It's a great 4 hour co-op experience that you should not miss.

79

Solid Arcade-like Shooter

Volzmir | Dec. 19, 2013 | See all Volzmir's reviews »

Copied from my Steam Review:

[STORY] ✮✮✮✰✰ [GAMEPLAY] ✮✮✮✰✰ [REPLAYABILITY] ✮✮✮✰✰ [GAMEPLAY HOURS] 8+

F.E.A.R. 3 is a hauntingly grim first person shooter where you play as Point Man fighting your way through hordes of Armacham soldiers and hellish beasts to unravel the truth of his origins. Paxton Fettel, his disembodied brother, acts as the game's narrator and gives perspective to the actions unfolding on screen.

As Point Man, you often find yourself jumping from cover to cover and in engaging in "Slow-Mo" to pick off enemies one by one. Depending on the difficulty chosen for your campaign, ammo can be very valuable and should not be wasted when you can easily melee foes. Interval 6 in particular has three mech enemies that can prove frustrating to defeat if you don't manage your ammo.

F.E.A.R. 3 features 8 intervals or chapters can be played solo or cooperatively with a friend.

This game uses an arcade-like scoring system allowing for replayability after each interval. Additionally, after completing an interval, you unlock Paxton Fettel for that level which provides players a new experience with dark psychic powers.

I recommend F.E.A.R. 3 for fans of the series and for anyone looking for a horror-light themed shooter with arcade elements.

70

Good shooter

Jokin93 | Dec. 3, 2013 | See all Jokin93's reviews »

I got my copy of this game back in October, when there was a big discount and I must say that it was worth every penny, it's nothing spectacular or very innovative and it's not as good as its predecessors, the multiplayer is quite lacking, but it's a very good game overall, especially if you are a fan of single player FPS.

The horror element from the previous installment has diminished, but it is still present.

All in all, this is a game that I would recommend for all FPS enthusiasts.

100

BRILLIANT FUN

nixyjane | Nov. 11, 2013 | See all nixyjane's reviews »

i had soooo much fun playing this game. I have played this game both single player and co-op and found both enjoyable XD co-op was the best, i have played through the entire game with my one friend and we got one ending. We enjoyed playing the game together so much that we have decided we will play the entire game again, but we have switched characters, and we are still loving it. we are aiming for the different ending, the challenges make it very fun as well as you have to sometimes combine the brothers skills in co-op to receive some of them. overall i have really loved playing this game and don't know when ill stop XD

78

Good Game

Confuddled | Oct. 28, 2013 | See all Confuddled's reviews »

Been a fan of the Fear Games since the first one and have to say this one scared me a lot as i played it in the dark lol the coop is lots of fun but you do get some players who have really bad connection so you can get a lag but its a fun game to play with friends and on single player

have enjoyed it so far

84

Fettel 3nters And Rules

DeaD | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all DeaD's reviews »

Sure he does! Got a shot in the head? Who cares? He’s back and he’s freakin’ awesome. And you can choose him to play with. Ok, after completing the game with Point Man…ooor…choosing co-op. Yes, co-op. Love it.

If you ask me, F.E.A.R. 3 is one hell of a game. Graphics are nice, gameplay is good, but the atmosphere of the third game is rather crazy or mad, than scary. No matter, it’s still entertaining. Want a bloodbath? Choose Paxton, and you’ll get one :).

There are several multiplayer modes outside of co-op, like F**king run, where you have to … guess what. Yup. Alma’s Wall of Death is chasing the players while they are trying to push forward against Armacham forces. Nice. Another one is Contractions. In this mode you have to fight off waves of enemies. The two other are Soul Survivor and Soul King. The first is about to survive against one of your teammates. At first. One will be „possessed”, and have to convert the others. Genius. The other means playing on the dark side, as spectres.

After all F.3.A.R. is a great game, even when it lacks something the previous ones had. For the fans of those, the third game will be a bit of a dissapointment maybe, but it’s still recommended. It’s more than worth a try.

75

Good, solid shooter

SebaOnePL | Oct. 12, 2013 | See all SebaOnePL's reviews »

For me, FEAR is a decent, good game. Not the best game in the world but it is very solid. First of all, shooting gives a lot of satisfaction and this is the most important thing in shooters. The story also is OK and motivates player to continue. If you know the early part of the FEAR that's for sure we will derive greater pleasure than if you're new to the series. I have no objection to the technical side of FEAR 3 The graphics is nice and the sound is impressive suitable for the mood of the game. If anyone is looking for a good single player shooter FEAR 3 will be a good choice.

60

A bit dull

Pur3Bolt | Sept. 16, 2013 | See all Pur3Bolt's reviews »

I expected Fear to be a horror game judging from the name of it with shooter elements, however it was just yet another shooting game on the market. It was still a good game to play it, however it sure doesn't have the horror element I expected from it.

74

Not much moments to F.E.A.R., but still a good shooter.

borgiswa | Sept. 12, 2013 | See all borgiswa's reviews »

Contrary to the basis of the series, this game is not scary. However, I found the gameplay to be excellent. The controls were tight, the gunplay was fun, and the AI was only as dumb as they are in every other game today.

The multiplayer/arcade modes, such as F**king Run, add tons of fun to an already well made game.

The story is well written, but don't get your hopes up. If you are looking for horror, I recommend you go in the way of the Amnesia series.

60

Average at best

zachoines | Sept. 11, 2013 | See all zachoines's reviews »

When this game was first announce, I was indeed very excited. It was a famous horror series that I loved, which was always able to strike F.e.a.r (see what I did there) into me. However, this time around, I think the developers missed the mark. But, before I go into what I disliked, lets look at what was good. First off, the story was definitely above average. Apparently, the developers wrote the story with the aid of John Carpenter, who is one of the greatest horror movie creators of all time (he is the guy who made "Halloween" and "The Thing"). As a consequence, I found the story to be engaging. Although, I do have the say that the first F.e.a.r game was more interesting for me honestly. Nonetheless, the story was well written. Another aspect this game did well in was the shooting mechanics. As in the last two F.e.a.r games, the main character "Point Man" has the ability to slow time, and I think that in F.e.a.r 3 they improved this mechanic in the sense that it now makes the action seem even more intense and gruesome. Lets move on to what I didn't like about F.e.a.r 3. First and foremost, the F.e.a.r series is a HORROR series, specifically made in the first place with the intention to scare the player. However, this time around the game was not scary at all. This game has fallen into the common pitfall that so many horror movies series have fallen into. The enemies are no longer as difficult to kill, and they are less likely to kill you. In other words, the developers made the game more easy to play, thus in turn causing the the enemies to be less fear invoking. An additional cause for the game to be less scary lies in the fact that there is less unnerving events and potent atmosphere. In the first game, there was many moments when unnerving events would happen, such as a little girl walking down a hallway and then just disappearing. These moments happened separate of the moment to moment game-play and they served to add a constant sense of dread, mystery, and tension to the atmosphere. F.e.a.r 3 hardly had any of these moments when compared to the other games, thus causing it to be less scary. Another thing that I didn't like about the game is the lack of variation in weapons and enemies. I realize that this is a miner gripe, but I actually found my self becoming bored often times killing the same enemies with the same weapons over and over again. And this was compounded by the fact that the game was lacking in the scare department. Overall, I was disappointed by F.e.a.r 3. Although the story and mechanics are serviceable if not above average at times, it has sacrificed the soul of the series in order to attract more buyers. And as a result of this, F.e.a.r 3 misses the point of the entire series, of which is an atmospheric horror action experience. And without this fundamental quality of the series, the game comes off as generic and average at best.

65

Wrong name for a good FPS

Warning_origina | Aug. 15, 2013 | See all Warning_origina's reviews »

If this game wouldn’t be named as F.E.A.R., it would been a great FPS. The gameplay is very nice, the feeling with the guns for me is awesome, the enemies's AI is very very good. This game could have been a great FPS, but it’s been called F.E.A.R., and if you’ve played a previous game of the saga, you have to compare them, especially with the masterpiece of the first one F.E.A.R.. That was an horror FPS, with a pleasant plot, the third, instead, hasn’t none of this features. There’s no more the constant tension that every horror game or similar, should have, and for me this is a very pity. So if you’re looking for a good FPS, this game is good enough, but if you were looking for a worthy heir of first F.E.A.R., see you next time!

75

A solid shooter, horror not so much.

IcemanO11 | July 16, 2013 | See all IcemanO11's reviews »

Well, If you played the previous F.E.A.R games, I'm sure you will find a lot to like in the shooter mechanics of FEAR 3. Controls are responsive, gunplay is fun and the enemies are fairly varied enough to help you shake things up. The environments can be interesting to fight in as well, including a dilapidated Bulk Food store, an Airport, and a cookie cutter housing district. Where FEAR 3 falls short is realistically in its horror element. It's drastically reduced from previous games, and mostly replaced by some slow motion quick time moments with dear old Alma. Not to say that those moments aren't freaky, but it just seems that they are appealing to more of a shooter crowd with this entry. If you like shooters, especially Co-Op shooters, worth your time.

65

Solid, but lacking.

Kradath | July 15, 2013 | See all Kradath's reviews »

I played all the FEAR games up to this one and sadly I'd say that part 3 is the weakest of all. I tried numerous times to get into it but it simply does not work.

It seems somewhat solid and works, but the levels felt extremely restricted and scripted, it wasn't really scary and worst of all: the gunplay is very lackluster.

Especially the first game was known for its extremely good gunplay and the great feal to the weapons and this is where FEAR3 fails for me completely.

Only recommended for hardcore fans.

85

Loved it the MP... but now there's nobody :(

TGAlan | July 7, 2013 | See all TGAlan's reviews »

F.E.A.R. 3 is a fun and well polished shooter, if you're looking for a fun casual experience like Call of Duty, but do not mistake it for a F.E.A.R.. The gameplay has now become a mix of Parkour and fast paced gunfights, the goal being to make the highest score by replaying the same levels, over and over.

Interestingly, the campaign can be played in co-op, but this makes the game a little too easy, so I would recommend to finish the game in solo first. The game also features some very original multiplayer game modes. In F*king Run, up to six players are tasked to escape from an ever advancing fog of death, while the players are being pursued by an increasing number and tougher enemies. This game mode is exceptionally fun and challenging. Contractions is a survival mode tasking the players to barricade themselves from waves of possessed enemies. Unfortunately, nowadays it's impossible to find anybody playing multiplayer games or the cooperative campaign.

65

Funny but not the best

skadex | July 4, 2013 | See all skadex's reviews »

Despite the presence of John Carpenter, this title is below expectation, proving to be lower than the first (unmatched) chapter. But it's not a bad purchase: the gameplay is good and uses many elements taken from other later games (like Mass Effect 3) good and the ability to use a second character with different abilities completely complementary to the first. L 'A.I. not as good as in the first chapter, the graphics are enough. Title playable with PC not so powerful. Rating: 6.5 out of 10

70

Horror Game.. But with No Horror

Sivisx | June 20, 2013 | See all Sivisx's reviews »

Call of Duty: Psychic Warfare gets a lot of bad rep that I feel it doesn't fully deserve. Sure the game feels like a giant CoD rip-off but it's not just that. It also rips off Condemned, right down to the anorexic faceless knife-bearing nutjobs. Can you blame them from taking popular successful things and wanting to make it like that? It feels so very modern compared to the first, and yes I am ignoring the second for this because you go back to the city from the first and play as the protagonist of the first, this time tagging along is the fratricides baddie himself Paxton lending a helping hand which I can't deny that I love the love/hate chemistry between the two since they are co-oped. By the way, I never felt that FEAR had it fully right, how can a game be scary when you have a ton of guns.. this time they threw in Co-op.. Be mildly startled with a friend

Worth the buy, but play the FEAR first.

84

A Great FPS Game But Not as Good as the Original

thegaminglyfe | June 19, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

FEAR 3 is an excellent FPS game. The controls are nice, they've added some more features and a very fun co-op mode. But it drifts too far away from the original. For example, the slow motion isn't as exciting and detailed. In the original there was lots of detail and you would notice small things like paper like bits of paper flying around the room. There is an extra partner for your coop partner to use who has some very interesting abilities. But if you are playing solo, you can only use the second character when you replay a mission and you choose him. The story isn't that good but very exciting to play through. A big downside is the length. The story is very short and will not take you very long to beat it. The graphics are nice and have a cartoon look, but as I mentioned before, not enough detail. The game sounds good from the soundtrack to the gunshots. There are some new multiplayer modes that are very unique but they get boring after a while. Each game mode revolves around NPC's that aren't controlled by players. The game gets challenging at some points and you will need to make a plan so you can get past these frustrating points. Highly recommended to any shooter fan. If you're looking for a coop game this is a must have. If you're a huge fan of the original FEAR like me this game will be disappointing but fun in a whole new way!

80

Brother Issues

Bynn | June 10, 2013 | See all Bynn's reviews »

This game was really fun to play with a classmate when he first bought it, we were looking for some nice shooter tho play co-op and we nailed it. The thing of 2 brothers fighting side by side is really fun, specially when one is a higly trained assasin and the other is a ghost with dark and fun powers. Blood, gibs, guns, big guns, bigger guns, mecha suits with even bigger guns, fanatics, soldiers uehrgeruhgehurgeurh. And of course, being the game allways a competittion between the brothers to "earn mother's 'favors' " is the cherry on top. But of course, as most shooters, it gets really repetitive, but hey, it's still fun to make a guy explode <3

75

Play with a friend

captainstark | June 7, 2013 | See all captainstark's reviews »

This game is a pretty average shooter, with a unique feature where you can possess the enemies, but only if you are playing as the second player. The story doesn't make much sense unless you are playing co op with a friend, as in single player, the cut scenes make references to the second player, which we don't see on the screen.

78

Neither good nor bad

kalil | June 6, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

Before starting the analysis of F.E.A.R. 3, because you might be wondering (because comparisons are odious), is better than FEAR 2? So what F.E.A.R.? Answer these questions in the same order in which they are made. No and ... Heavens, no! The first set the bar too high for the sequels to be at its height and even FEAR 2 was a great title (crucified for not approaching the first), this third part before us is a game ... the heap.

The game features two main characters to play the single player campaign. Unfortunately or fortunately (depends on who prefers what play mode), the single-player campaign is a campaign to play co-op. Two players at a time. One controls Paxton Fettel and Point Man second (see that it is difficult to invent a name, you do not have to know as Point Man). Perhaps one might think that for a single player game, have your incentive to play first with a character and then the other (thing to do), but levels vary not at all (or a miserable alternative path depending character), the desire to replay the title down to zero. Another drawback is that the game can be passed without any difficulty in less than ten hours. The gameplay mechanics strictly follow the rest of the FEAR series with its "bullet time", strange enemies (much less inspired than in other installments) and no shock.

Technology has lights and shadows. The best part is that the game moves relatively smoothly but observe in certain circumstances such as the number of images per second lowered so amazing and we do ask why, because there is nothing onscreen to suggest that the time it deserves and I mean pretty powerful equipment.

If we go to the theme graphics, worse stop the thing out yet. Very very diffuse textures sometimes, but sometimes all looks pretty good, if individualize display items, the finish on all of them is quite irregular (animations included).

The sound is perhaps the most satisfying section title, with sound effects sturdy and solid. The music will go unnoticed throughout the title.

F.E.A.R. 3, however, innovation. Innova offer cooperative campaign for a single player who can be very funny, as though the two play the same levels, each character has different skills that can be exploited for the common good. Special mention deserve the cinematics, superb and very well executed. Too bad the rest is not up to par, however, FEAR 3 is not a bad game at all. I have played and probably much worse games I'll play.

90

One of the best FPS game !

FreakDeity | June 5, 2013 | See all FreakDeity's reviews »

A must-own, a must-play, a must-have or whatever generic must-“word” or must-“phrase” that you’ll find plastered on a game box. From start to finish, this is a tight experience that will challenge and entertain you unlike any other FPS games.You really should play this awesome game.

85

FEAR NOT!

anazqwe | May 26, 2013 | See all anazqwe's reviews »

Got the game for a pretty cheap price. Less than $5 and I truly enjoyed the game! It has a nice atmosphere and the gameplay is really fun. Compared to the first FEAR, it is not as scary and feels more like your generic shooting game. Nevertheless, the game is pretty fun,

The multiplayer is quite fun too. The two players will have to use different character and on the hardest difficulty, it is pretty fun and challenging co-op.

Definitely a grab if you can find a cheap deal on this game!

65

Nothing can beat the first game

britishlad | May 12, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

The first game had amazing combat, AI and story. The second had none of these! Sadly the third one only has a good story and average gameplay. The minor point is that FEAR 3 does not know what type of game it wants to be; one minute you are running round, shooting soldiers, and the next minute it's all horror scenes and screams of who knows what. The horrors parts are the best; very spooky and it even makes you jump at times just like the first game. The combat is just average but a little better when played in co-operative since the second player plays as Fettel (The antagonist from the first game) and he is much more fun to play as since you have access to powers such as being as able to possess enemy soldiers. Sadly this game is a couple of years old and finding players on co-op and multiplayer is hard and the single player campaign is only 5-6 hours long

Also in terms of productions values (graphics, music, voice acting etc) is simply average. It's not a bad game but it's a downgrade from the first game and it's worth buying at a very cheap price

85

Not like F.E.A.R. 1 or 2

jimsteryo2 | May 3, 2013 | See all jimsteryo2's reviews »

The first F.E.A.R. games were scary games (the first, more than the second) except this game, I think I only got scared once. This was quite a shame because it's called F.E.A.R. for a reason... supposedly to be a "scary" game. Other than the game not being scary, the game was alright. The gunplay was excellent though, I have to give the game that...in F.E.A.R. 3, after you complete a level with Point Man, you can then play the game as Paxton Fetall, who possesses super natural powers and I have to give it to the Paxton Fetall character because playing as him was extremely cool because you can possess your enemies and then control their bodies, just this alone was very cool. The story was alright but nothing to get excited about. Finally, the multiplayer...when there was a person or two in the multiplayer servers, I had loads of fun, but unfortunately, the servers are basically dead and therefore you can't really experience what a masterpiece the multiplayer is...then you have the option to play the campaign on co-op mode with a friend, but like the multiplayer servers, the co-op is dead also. You might be dissapointed if you were expecting this game to be like the first two f.e.a.r. games but none the less, this game is a masterpiece in my eyes...especially with the unforgettable slo-mo option which makes the gun fights extremely memorable. I personally think this game is a must get.

80

Quite enjoyable, with a reserve (Italian version)

MauroR | May 2, 2013 | See all MauroR's reviews »

I loved very much the first game in the series, great atmosphere, scary moments, a perfect blending of horror and shooting, in my opinion a small gem in the FPS category. Then Fear 2 has been released and it was clear that they have oriented it more for the console market, but I still found the shooting enjoyable experience enjoyable. Not the "WoW" factor of the first but I liked it in some way. Then let's talk about the third installment, Fear 3 or F3AR as they developers love to type the title. I mentioned the italian version in the review title because the localization it's been released with little attention leaving the intervals introductions with english audio when the rest of the game it's completely localized in italian language (audio and subtitles) even if the "localized" stuff it's not so perfect in the translation and dubbing (there some weird localized phrases, especially those spoken from the enemies), another reason to play in in the original language if you don't have problems understanding english language even if it's not your mother tongue. Told that, let's talk about the game. Also in this third (and last?) installment the "WoW" factor isn't here too, but I founf the game quite enjoyable to reach the end and finish it, so I haven't been disappointed after all, sure that it should have got more attention (especially in the italian localization 'cause of the problems that I've mentioned before. At the end what matters it's having fun playing a game, and I had it, so I give to it an 80, not a bad score considering the issues it has.

87

A grim game a shooter will almost common

espeditow | May 1, 2013 | See all espeditow's reviews »

In summary, the game has its great sides that are a good story (not so shocking and striking done FEAR 1) but it unfolds very well during the 12 pm (Insane Difficulty me take it: P), the graphs of game are exceptional, not Crysis, but it's not minecraft, gameplay is waged less than FEAR's previous multiplayer despite little busy today, yields great hours of fun with friends, everyone who played claim that game out of its infancy, I agree, but it's still a great game.

75

I FEAR I Spent Too Much on This Game

StoutsUrDaddy | April 30, 2013 | See all StoutsUrDaddy's reviews »

Well, FEAR was decent, FEAR 2 was an improvement and pretty fun. FEAR 3 seems like it was thrown together with little effort to improve on its predecessor. The graphics are not that great - textures are messy and the atmosphere of each level consist of recycled areas. The controls work fine for a FPS. The sound is ok and the voice acting is decent. The story line is strange and a little messy. Enemies start to become repetitive. And this game is certainly not "scary" by any means. My assessment is that this title is a mediocre shooter at best. Score out of 1-10: 6.5. Typically, when it takes me a long time to get through a game it's due to the difficulty level and resulting frustration that makes me put it down for a while. However, this game took me a while to get through because I kept putting it down out of boredom. If you are a crazy FPS fan, and are in dire need of something new, this may satisfy you. But probably not. If you are looking for a good story, fun battles, and a game that you can't put down, PASS.

PROS - Control scheme works well - Some gunfights can be fun - Voice acting is not bad

CONS - Enemies are repetitive and actually more annoying than anything else - No real thrills or "scares"

70

It's not the same fear you once knew

onewinged90 | April 17, 2013 | See all onewinged90's reviews »

Day 1 Studios took over the franchise from Monolith Productions, thus presented us the third main game of the franchise, FEAR 3.

The protagonist of the original FEAR, Point Man as well as the "ghost" Paxton Fettel, the antagonist makes a return. When there're two main characters, the game introduces co-op campaign for the first time in the franchise. Don't have any friends? You can play the game for the second time with Paxton Fettel unlocked as the playable character.

Fettel is a rather unique character, where you do not have any guns to begin with and you need to possess one enemy soldier in order to wield weapon within a limited time. If you are killed while possessing someone, the body will disintegrate and Fettel is out in his spirit form once again, giving you two lives in total before dying for real.

The storyline and narrative is further expanded in this third game, which is a good thing and it retained the gameplay from the first and second game. But the atmosphere is nothing compared to its predecessors.

The downside of the game is that it does not have the same horror and scare element compared to it's predecessors, it feels too much like Call of Duty with slo-mo now. Liked the mech battle in Project Origin? Fear not (see what I did there), you get so much more game time obliterating enemies in that overpowered suit.

Would I recommend the game to everyone? Well, it's a mixed bag this time. Hardcore fans might find the horror experience cheapened and too much of action involved. $20 may be too much for a 5-hour single player campaign, might want to get it on sale otherwise.

75

F.E.A.R. 3 - review

carlyle | Jan. 5, 2013 | See all carlyle's reviews »

The gameplay F.3.A.R. reveals immediately solid, fast-paced and spectacular, with management of arms and a feeling of the same in many ways reminiscent of Modern Warfare. The bullet time is a key element of the gameplay of F.3.AR, a trait that becomes distinctive and emphasizing the spectacle of a large number of situations, especially when enemies are many and maybe even some among their hides enhanced soldier. There is definitely a balance between challenging firefights with soldiers, the hordes of "zombie" that runs counter to the phases in which we drive powerful mech and those, terrible, in which there are supernatural beasts, but lacks the shock of a terrifying enemy that box in front of the blue. So put aside fear, indeed one of the prerogatives of F.3.AR, what remains is still a FPS very well done and very thick, with an arsenal of highly respected and excellent feel and impact of arms, the very rare cases. The game uses a system of appostamento similar to that seen in Killzone 3. Clearly, also benefit from the enemies of the objects of the scenario for lurk, and their behavioral routines within the average as regards the complexity of artificial intelligence.

50

Running outa' gas...

boris73 | Jan. 4, 2013 | See all boris73's reviews »

The previous two games were a blast! This one, it just kinda feels like its going through the motions... I guess the feeling is off, is the best way to describe it. It feels a bit too clean, a bit to neat and tidy, a bit to formulaic. The graphics are nice, and the controls are fine, and the gameplay is ok, it just lacks the gut-punch that the previous games had.

What you're getting is a functional shooter, one that will kill time and provide a bit of enjoyment, but it's nothing memorable and if you have the choice, I recommend the previous F.E.A.R games over this one. Rating this one 50/100 to reflect what this is - very middle-of-the-road. Not terrible, but nothing special.

80

A solid game

Lekes | Dec. 31, 2012 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Despite the numerous, and not totally unjustified, remarks about the game being consolized, none of them really detract from FEAR 3 still being a solid game. The atmosphere and gameplay from the first two games remains, and this entry basically draws the whole story to a conclusion. The real shine to the game is playing as Paxton Fettel, which brings back memories of Messiah, except without being suck. If I had to say anything negative, it would be the need to unlock Fettel on each level instead of having him playable from the get go, as he is the far more enjoyable character to play

82

A little bit different from previous but also good

Lippe1989 | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all Lippe1989's reviews »

FEAR 3 was a very good game to be played for me. I liked a lot. It is a little bit different from the previous game. The other two are more scary but FEAR 3 gives you a better gameplay with better graphics. The story is also interesting but the characters are the most interesting thing of the game. They are completely different. The gameplay you be totally different depending on who you choose to play. One uses commom weapons and the other interesting powers. I recommend to play with a partner because the experience seems to be better. You can combine the way you two will attack the enemies using the different qualities of the characters. It is very nice mainly to the people that like co-op games. The game has always good price, it is not difficult to be played on high quality and will gives you good momments. Very recommended.

80

Very good co-op game

antonioli84 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all antonioli84's reviews »

This is a very good co-op game. I think that it changed a little bit with we compare to the other games of the series but it continues to be interesting. The gameplay improved a little becaming more attractive and actual. The two characters are very interesting and charismatic with they very different personality. The gameplay is very very different depending on which you choose. One is more linked to weapon and the other to powers and I think that it gave an extra charm, becoming ideal to co-op purpose. The story is cool and will gradually showing who they are and where they want to reach. I recommend this game for sure!

65

Nice coop

xydanus | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all xydanus's reviews »

FEAR 2 was bad game and i had no real expectations about FEAR 3. Still when i heard it has cooperative mode, i gave it a try. Few hours of shooting evil bastards with your buddy is what you get. Sadly this game is far apart from horror genre.

60

FEAR is the last thing I obtained from this

abelfs | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

The hype generated about this game was interesting, but the hard reality knocks when you hit this game. The plot of its predecesors was OK, why they had to sign John Carpenter for this one. They could have save the money making improvements to the game, because it's embarrassing that the second part kicks it in graphics and gameplay. The only way to enjoy it is playing the campaign in Co-op.

80

A very good FPS

Cavalieroscuro | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

I never loved the FEAR series too much. But this chapter...well, it's very good because it's gameplay is very different from the other games. It's Call of Duty oriented, with the addiction of "bullet time" and some mechanics taken from Bulletstorm (the score system and melee running combat). Plus, there is the possibility to play the game as Point Man or Fettel, that has a completely different gameplay due to the possibility of take control of your enemies. And if you have a friend, you can play the campaign (and the multiplayer section, of course) with him. The story is also good and it closes Fear saga in a decent way. Graphic is very good and the game can run on low config machines without problems. By the way, campaign is very short (I completed it in five hours on Recruit), but for this price the game is worth it.

80

Fear its loosing ground but Co-op gives it twice its value

casziel | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all casziel's reviews »

F.E.A.R was probably for me the game of the year when it came out. It Excelled in only one thing. Taking the best of other worlds and combining it into a whole new experiences. The MP slow mo, the Fear factor of the ring, the AI of HL2.

But here is the problem. F.E.A.R 2 and now 3 build on that and its nothing new. We have game excelling in other things now. So the story still there, and its intresting but not enough.

But turn on Co-op and this game takes on a whole new life. So get it if you can for that. If no one wants to play it with you buy something else.

70

This game should be called S.H.O.O.T.

digitalpunk | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all digitalpunk's reviews »

Well, about the title: This isn't F.E.A.R, it's just a generic shooter with FEAR's name on the cover. It's not a bad game, it's actually decent but there are no scares. no FEAR atmosphere, not even the shooting is as good a the first FEAR.

It has some fun COOP but that's it.

60

F.E.A.R. 3 in a nutshell.

Darklands | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all Darklands's reviews »

So the final game in the F.E.A.R. 3 ends up being a bit a of a disappointment. There's nothing terribly wrong with the game per say. The graphics look nice but nothing special, the gameplay is passable but the guns lack punch and impact, at least when compared to the previous games in the series. The game is also quite short (but then again the F.E.A.R. series were never famous for their longevity). The story, writing and characters are all forgettable and you'll end up being hard pressed to remember any of the details. But the game's biggest problem it's just that it isn't very terrifying or scary, it uses constantly the same tricks to try and get a reaction out of players, but it just ends up just being redundant and predictable. It's not all bad though, the co-op is actually quite fun and actually pretty original in the genre.

But still if you're just looking for a mindless shooter it's not bad way to spend a few hours, just be sure to lower your expectations when playing it.

70

Fear

metal_pt | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all metal_pt's reviews »

It's actually a great game but I don't think it is as good as it's antecessors. It's not as obscure or heavy as the previou titles. Nice playability and a not so good story. Although think it's worth to give it a try.

89

Really good FPS

panz3r88 | Nov. 21, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

FEAR 3 is very similar to its predecessor and it's quite linear: in each level you must go from one point to the other and survive to the soldiers and monster that try to kill you. The enemy have a good IA and they are quite aggressive, especially at the highest difficulty level: sometimes you see them trying to sorround you or to use cover or different tactics depending on the weapon that use. In FEAR 3 you can use two different characters:Point man has the ability to slow down time; Fettel can posses and use enemy bodies.The gameplay is more or less the same with the two characters. During the game you can complete many challenges like killing a certain number of enemies, or stay in cover for a certain time: if you complete many of them your score increase and you can even improve your health or the duration of POint Man and Fettel abilities. There are various multiplayer modes and you can even play the campaign in co-op with an other player FEAR 3 is a really good FPS even if the horror component that characterized the first two titles is completely disappeared

80

Coop, definately coop.

ND1Razor | Nov. 4, 2012 | See all ND1Razor's reviews »

While I have never played any of the other fear games, its easy to see why the third was looked down upon. The game is not scary in the slightest. However, put that aside (easily if you're not a hardcore fan) and look at the game itself. It has very solid gunplay, fantastic coop and some very awesome multiplayer modes. Ran through coop once and doing it again on the hardest difficulty to try and get the alternate ending (which changes depending on how well you did compared to your partner). Survival mode (contractions) is a blast with friends and the three different maps add a lot of variety, each map contains different enemies that charge you.

79

Coop is worth it.

DukePaul | Oct. 15, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

This game is a stepback in the franchise, the horror atmosphere is lower than the previous games but that does not matter if you have a buddy to play the campaign coop.

The coop is interesting. because the two characters (both from the first game of the franchise) are very different and when you beat the game, you can beat it again but choosing the other character and that makes an awesome experience for two players and also it gives to the game more hours of replay value.

The PointMan character is like the previous games (also your favourite weapons from the previous games are here) he special feature is slow time so if you played before you will not have problems with to play this character. The Paxton Fettel character is very original, he does not carry weapons, but he has powers like levitate enemies or hijack their bodies!, its not like other FPS and the experience for play that is worth it.

Maybe this can be the weakest game of the F.E.A.R. series but that does not mean that is a bad game.

54

Not up to par with the first 2 games

dark2025 | Oct. 11, 2012 | See all dark2025's reviews »

This game felt pretty generic to me. The story was crazy and the gameplay was nothing special - more or less a generic shooter. It wasn't scary and was pretty short.

I haven't played the co-op though but have heard it's better than the single player mode, which I can believe. Basically you might want to consider this game if you enjoy generic shooters or you have somebody to play co-op with you, but otherwise either ignore it or get it in a pack with the other 2 FEAR games.

66

The finale...

Damien_Azreal | Oct. 10, 2012 | See all Damien_Azreal's reviews »

FEAR 3 (or F.3.A.R.) comes from Day1 Studios, while they have experience with the FEAR series (by porting FEAR to consoles) this is the first time they've actually gotten to really create a FEAR titles themselves.

And so... overall, it's a very mixed bag. Gameplay wise the game can be hit and miss. While player movement feels okay, and the gunplay is very solid. The scoring/points system put in place in the game is a problem. The game is built around the idea of coop, and has a scoring system in place for this. But the scoring system still works even when playing by yourself. So, any attempt to build atmosphere in the game is broken and ruined by pop ups in the bottom corner telling you you've ranked up and gained points for taking cover.

The main issue is the story. The story is absolutely horrid. Taking rather odd choices and directions with the existing characters, ignoring other characters... basically reducing Alma to almost nothing. It also feels as if levels were cut to speed up development. The biggest problem with the game is the story, and really... it's such a disappointment. Had the team taking more time to flesh out the story this could have been a great conclusion to the Alma story.

As is... the series now plays as if the first two games were big, blockbuster movies and the third game is the cheap, made to TV Sy-Fy channel exclusive.

75

More action than horror

lok0812 | Aug. 12, 2012 | See all lok0812's reviews »

Compared to the previous installments, FEAR 3 focuses more on action than horror. If you have never played the previous installments then you will have nothing to lose playing FEAR 3. The game itself is a pretty solid shooter with 2 different characters ( 1 shooter and 1 using psychic power) and both of them plays differently. The game also features co-op mode to tackle the single player campaign with your friend which it can be a blast.

But if you have played the previous installments, don't expect too much from the horror part from this game. Most of the down-rate of this game was due to the switch of this since many people thinks that long run horror series can still do the trick.

Do pick this up for the co-op experience of the game.

65

A little dull until you get to play multiplayer coop

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

The single player is a little dull, very much your generic shooter and I only played half way until getting too bored to continue. I then decided to play coop with a friend and found a whole new world of fun. Paxton. He is a spirit that can take control of the enemy, had so much fun taking control and dropping grenades at my feet. Haha. Oh you have to try it. Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay Single: 5/10 Gameplay Coop: 8/10 Story: 5/10 Mulitplayer: Yes and includes 2 player Coop.

45

Not cool man, not cool...

setoraven | July 23, 2012 | See all setoraven's reviews »

This game is like a bad bad joke for all of the original F.E.A.R. fans, not only it doesn't have ANYTHING that made the first game special, it's nothing but a bunch of generic FPS traits that makes the game annoying and not scary at all, the thing is that it can be good for a couple of hours along with the CO-OP, but after that, it's not a very good experience overall, and a complete dissapointment compared to the first game (I'm not a very good fan of F.E.A.R. 2 either by the way...).

70

Decent

gunpoint15 | July 22, 2012 | See all gunpoint15's reviews »

Overall I enjoyed this game slightly less then I thought I would but, if you have no one to play the 2 person co-op in this game can be pretty dull and unoriginal but when you have a friend especially one like mine that I played through this with it is extremely enjoyable to hear them scream and run other wise I have to say this game is not worth the buy unless it is on sale.

70

The scares are rather thin on the ground in this action fest.

GAMERamble | July 19, 2012 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

The original F.E.A.R was one of the premier first person shooter titles on PC back in the day. Two expansions that were deemed non-cannon and a sequel that was a console port brought down the franchise a few notches but the brand name still generates some excitement. This third installment was handled by Day 1 studios instead of Monolith and the console versions were once again the priority so is the PC version still worth your time?

The game opens with Point-Man (and yes everyone addresses him as such despite how daft it sounds) being beaten by some Armacham facility guards. Paxton shows up to save the day and from there it's an action packed, bullet and blood drenched rollercoaster ride spread out across eight "intervals." The journey back to Freeport will take you through sewers, slums, suburbs and even a demolished airport. It's very clear right from the start that this game was designed with co-op in mind. Playing as Point-Man gives you the typical first person shooter experience as you go in guns blazing. He still has the ability to activate slow motion, which makes lining up those headshots easier. Paxton on the other hand cannot pick up any guns due to his corporeal form. He makes up for this by hurling bolts of psychic energy at enemies and possessing targets. As long as he has a hold over enemies, things turn back into a typical shooter although slain foes drop tokens that allow him to stay in possession mode longer. Paxton is vulnerable while in his own body so do not think that being a ghost makes you invincible.

The co-op mode is where the game really comes into its own. Paxtons abilities compliment those of Point-Man, so one player can levitate enemies making it easier for the other to riddle them with bullets. Like in solo mode you get points and achievements for absolutely everything you do which not only increases your rank (giving you new perks) but also determines who is the "favourite son" at the end of each level. Random bodies scattered throughout the game world also reward you with psychic pints so the game subtly encourages you to outdo your partner on each level. While there are a few multi-player modes, they are co-op only in nature and are played with a maximum of three other players.

The game definitely feels like a console port due to the checkpoint saves and field of view. I must admit that I found the lack of scares somewhat disappointing as well. A two-weapon limit and regenerating health further drives the point home. F.E.A.R 3 is a solid shooter with plenty of action and a kick-ass co-op mode but loses a lot of atmosphere in the process. If you are new to the series, you will definitely have fun but I would have liked to see a greater emphasis on the creepiness that made the franchise famous.

60

Not much F.E.A.R.

danteveli | July 19, 2012 | See all danteveli's reviews »

First FEAR game was loved by gamers for its atmosphere. Second one was ok and could stand on its own. This one is hated for the lack of scary elements and so-so story. We receive satisfying shooter with great fun in co-op and some interesting multiplayer modes. FEAR 3 suffers from greatness of its predecessors and having title beloved by many gamers. This is why I'm going to rather speak about MP for a while. Most interesting mode is the one where one of players is some kind of demon ghosts that has to turn other members players into monsters. We can use random spawning enemies to our advantage. Also there is mode where in co-op you have to run and gun enemies while deadly mist chases you constantly. This is why I liked this game. Multi is not your typical stuff and its really enjoyable. With great price on GMG its interesting products with some flaws.

45

Better than No Ending, But not by alot...

psyfer | July 16, 2012 | See all psyfer's reviews »

Fairly dismal outing here, alot of the game seems tacked on around the story, it just doesn't feel like a fear game. I am a big fan of the series, and wish more would have been done to make this one fun, but it is just not.

42

Be scared of F3AR

Chivay | July 14, 2012 | See all Chivay's reviews »

The times of the good old F.E.A.R. are gone. F3AR is like FEAR 2, unoriginal, generic FPS game with minimum of inovations. The shooting is still entertaining, but it is the only one big plus of the game. The story is closing everything, so I find it satysfiing. The resst is rubbish.

85

Pretty fun, not as scary as expected

jennkei | July 14, 2012 | See all jennkei's reviews »

I honestly expected to be scared a lot more. Anyway, decent story, smooth gameplay. Not too shabby in co-op, either.

Must...be...the..favourite..son! XD

40

Do you want F.E.A.R.? Then avoid this

Cynaris | July 13, 2012 | See all Cynaris's reviews »

I might be the most disappointed with this game, so don't take my review for granted.

But F.E.A.R. 3 is absolutely nothing like it's predecessors. Regenerating health? Check. Mindless shooting? Check. Co-op to a horror game? Check. Lack of atmosphere? Check. No tension whatsoever? Check.

But hey, at least it plays like Call of Duty with a cover system. Except this isn't what we wanted. Go and play again 1 and 2. Or buy them if you haven't already. But avoid this like the plague.

55

Not what I expected

moul | June 25, 2012 | See all moul's reviews »

As many people already stated in their reviews, FEAR3 (also known as, F3AR) really turned into an average shooter. I did not feel the oppresive atmosphere from the first two games. The solo campaign is really short and I did not even want to keep playing as the story was not interesting at all (for someone who did the 1&2, at least, that's my opinion). I rushed to the end so that I could play something else.

In the end, an average shooter. If you consider buying a FEAR game, just go for the first and second one, as they are both way better than this one. I'd give it a 55 out of 100 just because of the price I got it for (awesome deal on GMG, as usual).

65

F.E.A.R. ? Not anymore, but still good.

Raggamuffin | June 24, 2012 | See all Raggamuffin's reviews »

I have to say, that I love FEAR series. After I have noticed that Day 1 Studios are making third game, I got worried. But the game is not that bad. Experience system is cool and in co-op you will have lots of fun. The problem is in brand. It's not a FEAR title anymore and it's not scary anymore. Also the story is very confusing and in the end you won't even bother to care about it. But when on sale, I would recommend you to grab it.

70

Mediocre, if you have someone to Coop with

Ninjer | June 21, 2012 | See all Ninjer's reviews »

First, let me start it out like this. This is NOT even close to FEAR. Then again, I feel that FEAR already changed with FEAR 2 being more "action" than horror.

This game is fun with coop. It feels like a typical coop shooter after that, a game where you can mess around in with friend(s). There were no parts that were scary (just a few pop-ups). Take the action side of FEAR 2, and take out any horror that it had (if it had any in the first place), then ramp it up by 10.

The multiplayer mode is like Nazi zombies with much smaller maps.

I would recommend this game only if you have someone to coop with. The online community is already dead, so make sure you know you have someone to play with before you purchase this game.

60

Very Meh

PPG113 | June 13, 2012 | See all PPG113's reviews »

Review of the SP portion so take that as you will.
Compared to the first or second FEAR, FEAR 3 leaves much to be desired. With almost nothing to make the player jump up or even be creeped out over FEAR 3 is a disappointment to the franchise. The game plays much like MW2. Shoot until youre injured, duck for cover, heal up, shoot some more. The tactical feel of the series was thrown out the window with this third iteration. Re-playability is very limited. Overall the game is a disappointment and if you havnt bought this game yet then good for you.

70

Vengeance of the borthers

FreeMan85 | June 10, 2012 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

F.E.A.R. 3 is a bit out of sync sequel of the popular F.E.A.R. frenchise. Maybe because WB taken away from Monolith, maybe it's maded a "bit" to console type of action game. The using of covers in FPS view is very awkward and annoying. PointMan's slow-mo skill is good and fun, but it's became a cooldown ability rather then the collect more spray thing. Fettel abilities are more interesting, but also has a sidekicks. He can't use any weapon or powered armor unless he posses a body. The game feels it's been programmed to co-op prios then single player experience. Sadly the game totally deserted in multiplayer. You lucky if you can try any of the many modes it has. Easier to find a friend who has this game too. The story has many errors or continuity errors. Maybe the new devs does count the first game expansions or simply ignore them. We see dead characters living and I not talking about Fettel. The whole FreePort is also a paradoxon. Just like the new weapons or different looking powered armors. Since they still Armacham stuff, but looks totaly different then in the previous games. Anyway, we finally got a few answers and explanation about the Wade family, Harland Wade, Paxton Fettel and Alma. Sadly Alma is barely can be seen in the game. And the game is loose it's scary atmosphere and unique shadow-lighting effects. However for me F.E.A.R. never was a really scary game, but 3 doesn't even want to be scary. The only good thing in F.E.A.R. 3 is Paxton Fettel voiced by Peter Laurie. His character and performance simply stills the show! Since PointMan totally mute he must plays for both of them. Oh, and Jason Graves wrote the music.

If you played the previous F.E.A.R. games you can't miss this one, if you neve rplayed F.E.A.R. games you can still play it. You won't feel you in the dark, because the game tells the prequels, however the game feels more like a reboot then a sequel.

50

Not as good as it looks

knfes | June 6, 2012 | See all knfes's reviews »

After playing this game, I felt like I was just playing another copy of CoD. The story is confusing, and there is little horror in this game. It just feels like they ditched the horror genre for an action movie type.

50

F.E.A.R. 3: Call of Duty?

vigotski | Sept. 5, 2011 | See all vigotski's reviews »

What's happening? Why are all the FPS games are getting even more like CoD nowadays? This game is really mediocre and average is all senses. The story is much less interesting than on the other two games of the series, the campaign is ridiculously short, very linear and with incredibly boring parts, some very hard and some very, very easy. The graphics, meh, aren't even worth mentioning. Stay away from this one, buy F.E.A.R. 1 & 2, much better games and a much better spent money.

65

FEAR? I think not

GudomligaSven | Sept. 4, 2011 | See all GudomligaSven's reviews »

When you hear a game with the title FEAR, you would think it a horror game. This is true in the first and possibly the second (it had its moments) but not in the third installment.

FEAR puts you in the shoes of Point Man, the "hero" of the first and second FEAR. It's a paranormal tale with lots of enemies and some horror, even though it has been dumbed down to non-existant in FEAR 3.

Instead of being the horror shooter it once was, with excellent graphics, controls and story, it has turned into a more dumbed down and washed out generic shooter.

Although FEAR 3 isn't just your ordinary shooter, it does have some twists. The different gamemodes that you can play online against or with your friends are somewhat entertaining. FEAR's version of Nazi Zombies from Call of Duty might convice some to buy this game, seeing as it would work great as a cheaper and independent game.

Overall this dumbed down experience probably won't appeal to FEAR fans, but might pull in some new ones looking for just another run-of-the-mill shooter.

75

Lost its charm

faraany3k | Aug. 30, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

Fear 3 is actually the fourth title in the series. Fear 1 was followed by an add on campaign. So technically its the fourth title in the series. And it is unfortunate that game hasn't lived up-to the standard the first game set. The story component of the franchise has severely degraded and lacking in depth. Single player campaign is much shorter then Fear 1 and Fear 2. Graphics are strangely uglier then what we saw in FEAR 2. The sense of eeriness and horror is replaced by more action oriented gunplay. And thus game plays more like a modern shooter then a survival horror title which the title of the game so proudly claims. Shooting mechanics themselves are polished and are a lot of fun with a loads of interesting weapons. Game now features a complete Coop mode. Which frankly is lot of fun. Coop mode actually rely on partners to cooperate and work with each other. Multiplayer mode is quite fun but it is hard to find populated servers. "F*ing Run" is another multiplayer mode that is extremely fun and plays more like a zombie survival mode. All in all a decent shooter title with a really short single player campaign. But Coop and Multiplayer modes give it a reasonable replay value. If you are looking for a fun shooter game FEAR 3 is a decent title. But if you want your survival horror fix. You might look elsewhere.

72

Fans will Love FE3R

HWatch06 | Aug. 24, 2011 | See all HWatch06's reviews »

I wasn't looking into this game to much but something drove me to buy it. The first thing I went for was the co-op campaign. Me and a friend beat the game in the day. Now this is a good and bad thing at the same time. Obviously the good things is the reason we beat it in a day was because the campaign was really good and surprisingly entertaining.

While the FE3R campagin doesn't necessarily progress the franchises story to far it is very entertaining to good to co-op through with a friend. The one thing I was disappointed about in the campaign was the lack of creepy/dark moments that made the first game shine so well. Going through this game solo can provide that certain atmosphere with the sound up and lights down, but its still pushing the scary-ness of the overall game.

Now the multiplayer is not so much competitive but has some unique game modes that can be very fun. The first mode that caught my eye was FK* RUN. Which is a game mode in which Almas dark cloud is chasing you and you have to literally run from check point to checkpoint while also dealing with plenty of bad guys in your way, its sound simple but this can be difficult because every member of your team has to stay alive during until the end of the level. There is of course also the traditional wave driver mode Contractions which pits 4 of you against continuous waves of "them", and Alma makes an appearance from time to time. The twist on this mode is that you don't buy your guns, but essentially collect them via utility boxes found throughout the level which spawn at the beginning of every round, I personally loved this idea and though it was a well need adjustment to the typical display. There are other multiplayer modes that are equally entertaining to explore but Ill end the review there with my final thoughts.

As a core game, FE3R is a very entertaining addition that I think FEAR fans will love.

20

A further degeneration of the FEAR series.

Xonus | Aug. 22, 2011 | See all Xonus's reviews »

It seems like the FEAR series was never set for long term greatness, considering that every entry since the first game seems to only get slightly or a lot worse, this time a lot, both in terms of gameplay and story.

The gameplay seems to have embraced COD completely, turning once exciting fast paced combat with incredible AI, to boring shootouts where half the time is spent ducking behind cover, or sections that are simply too easy to mention. It seems like the majority of the challenge even on the hardest setting is to endure all the time you will need to spend behind cover looking at virtual strawberry jam being spilled on your screen. The weapons feel worse than FEAR 2, and far worse than FEAR, and even the graphics somehow seem to have degenerated since FEAR 2 (I personally preferred the feel of the first games visuals although 2 is technically superior).

The story is just an absolute mess at this point, with FEAR 2 partly to blame. I guess it could be viewed as funny from a silly sci fi perspective.

The redeeming point is that playing is Fettel was relatively fun for a while.

65

Avarage on all fronts.

Rzepak01 | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all Rzepak01's reviews »

The third game in the FEAR series is also in my mind the weakest. The story while interesting did not keep me as enthralled as the previous titles. The game has lost almost all of its atmosphere and tension found in the first two games. Sure, Alma is still here and some setpieces are very memorable but in the end the game feels like your average shooter Graphically the games engine is really showing its age, but the sound design at least stays on par with the previous games. A nice addition to the game is a coop option and the two different characters the player can choose. Pointman uses standard weapons as well as his ability to slow down time, while his brother uses hit telekinetic abilities. These differing playstales are very good because they add a little inscentive to pass the game twice. Especially since this is a very short game clocking in at around 4 hours. Its saving grace though is its stellar gunplay. This has always been an important part of the FEAR games. The weapons all feel and sound great. The enemy AI is also top notch making for some great firefights. The mutliplayer component is very good but suffers from lack of players. The mode "F*ing Run" is probably the most fun element of the whole game. Think Left4Dead with a wall of death chasing you through the levels.

80

FEAR taken to a Different level

DysDarkness | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all DysDarkness's reviews »

The simplest i can describe this comapred to other's is, simply, different. The storyline itself, on singleplayer, is quite short. While with the new playable character of your 'dead' brother Fettel you can probably double this, the playstyles i found were remarkably similar. Graphics were reasonably good for Fear games but i still felt that it wasn't as good as it could have been. Face's had sharp lines and angles, fettel appearance was simply... awful, not scary awful, just bad. the stroyline sis still interesting though and the ending not one expected. To top it off it Finally has multiplayer; if you can actually find a server with no constantly buzzing mic's and decent players you could play hours without stopping (i know i did.) With a twisted (but epic) version of free for all, a time lapse sprint for your life mode, Co-op, a 'zombies' type, even after you've played through the campaign twice, achieved both endings you'll still find hours and hours of gameplay left in it. Worth getting if a fear fan, but don't expect the original's level of Fear.

60

Average FPS game

SaadKhawaja | July 24, 2011 | See all SaadKhawaja's reviews »

Not a fan of this game at all. Paid about 20$ for it and still felt that it was too short. Finished it in 4 hours and 10 minutes. Might be worthwhile to play as Fettel but no real motivation to do so. I suggest wait for a price drop. Storyline is the only strong point for the game. Sound, graphics and AI are average at best. A 6/10 from me.

80

Great gunplay and co-op, but not scary!

lonelyjedi | July 23, 2011 | See all lonelyjedi's reviews »

This game is loads of fun, whether you're playing as Fettel or Point Man. The gunplay and shooting mechanics are phenomenal and pretty much what we've come to expect from FEAR games. The co-op is great fun too, and requires some teamwork/tactical prowess. The point where this game fails is in the FEAR name. To be honest, it isn't very scary - at all. I have yet to try the other modes but the campaign on the hardest difficulty that I could play on only took my partner and I less than 5 hours to play through the campaign. Again, the FEAR factor was worthless, and it's super short, but great gunplay will get me to play the campaign again!

87

Best FEAR game to date

acare84 | July 22, 2011 | See all acare84's reviews »

I love first FEAR but didn't like FEAR 2. FEAR 3 is like the first FEAR game and it is good. COOP playing with friend makes the game different from all FEAR games and it is fun. Also F*ing Run multiplayer mode is just awesome. You must escape the wall of dead with your friends, everyone must try that. Game is not scary like the older titles but action is enough to make the players happy. You should really get this game. Don't face the FEAR alone and buy FEAR 3.

99

Awesomenest

diogoreis95 | July 16, 2011 | See all diogoreis95's reviews »

This game is exhilarating it is a must have FPS, a must have horror and gore game and a must have for people who loves cooperative multiplayer modes. Graphics are very good not perfect, gameplay it´s perfect because it has a lot of cool twists. Overall the game is awesome!!!

73

FPS and horror at the same time

albundyclan | July 11, 2011 | See all albundyclan's reviews »

The single player was really short, that's bad. Story was OK, but I felt that the game was like 80% done. There were some stuff that I was missing ( the REAL FEAR atmosphere ). It was almost just about the " Shoot, Shoot, cutscene, SHOOT! cutscene, BOOO!, shoot! " Except at the end of the game. BUT the multiplayer is 94% Okay with me. There's already a free multiplayer for fear, but this game with the coop feature... Awesome! Horror ( er) game: Singleplayer alone. Action game: Coop, single player .

All in all: Liked it, but I tried to think about it as a new game, not as a Fear sequel.

80

Unique FPS Co-op Game

GMGReviewer | July 8, 2011 | See all GMGReviewer's reviews »

F.E.A.R. 1 started out as a PC title ported to the consoles, whereas F.E.A.R. 3 is the opposite. Even though the game was delayed for about a year, many had the jittering issue when the title launched, however a patch was released a couple of weeks later that solve this issue.

Day 1 Studios continued what Monolith started but improved on it. It plays a lot like F.E.A.R. 2 but nothing like the original F.E.A.R. So for those who like the original where you're wondering the (repetitive) environments, killing the (repetitive) enemies and hearing/seeing paranormal activities will not like this. (However the last level in F.E.A.R. 3 is very different from the rest of the game)

The gameplay is the same as previous title but it's much better than its predecessors by adding new features. It has a REAL FPS controls (no need to configure it), co-op campaign and a few fun 4 player co-op modes. It also has health regen which is the norm because, lets face it, you're going to re-do it again anyways, so why ruin the mood by replaying the section and showing the loading screen every time you die. Regen health keeps the flow of the game.

The negatives about the game is it's one of the shortest games in a long time (about 4-5 hours)! The graphics are dated and there's not much variety in the maps, enemies and weapons. The single player campaign isn't worth it at all, but the co-op campaign and 4 player co-op modes are what makes the game unique.

You can f--king jump kick in this game!!

85

Action Packed FPS

SnivMunchr | July 7, 2011 | See all SnivMunchr's reviews »

While this game doesn't provide any scares, it doesn't lack for memorable action sequences. The overall atmosphere is excellent, despite the fact that the story is just short of paper-thin. Honestly, I didn't even notice until I finished the game. While this game may not be as good as the first, it is certainly better than the second F.E.A.R. in almost every respect - and this without even considering the Co-Op mode, which is really where this game shines. If you don't expect much in the scare or story departments, F.E.A.R. comes highly recommended.

50

turn-Off

hotmando1 | July 1, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

The FEAR series died off at Fear 2. The introduction of mechs and whatnot really killed the mood. How can you be afraid in a giant hulking piece of metal with two gatling guns? Visuals of course have improved, smoother frame rates but comes at a cost. The first fear requires a lot less processing power to run compared to FEAR today. High system requirements may turn off those with a lesser pc. No one wants to play on low settings. Co-Op is a nice addition, playing with friends increases the experience. However, the introduction of "powers" in Fear3 really just kills the mood. To me, it was a sad disappointment. No longer am I afraid, after all: I have powers that can break doors open and smash your brains. The world FEAR3 presents itself to you is very detailed and dead. Animations are weird. Watching your friend move is not pleasing. Animations for characters are choppy. It is just one of the many things that kill the mood. I didn't really have any bugs or glitches when I played, so that's nice. FEAR3 isn't scary, just boring.

70

Not much fear in F.E.A.R.

Arukardo | June 25, 2011 | See all Arukardo's reviews »

Then F.E.A.R. came out in 2005 it was one of the best FPS game on the market. Great story and visuals. The second game was a bit dissapointing for true F.E.A.R. fans. The third games is a decent action packed first person shooter that lacks a good story. Masters of Horror did better jobs at their own work than in F.3.A.R.

The game also includes a co-op mode which might be fun after playing the whole game and a multiplayer with few new modes. PC versions is ported from consoles so aim assist may feel awkward, I recommend to turn this off. There is also a cover system, which, personally, I didn't used much, because it was unnecessary. Visuals may not be a top quality but it still looks good specially explosions in slo-mo.

F.3.A.R. failed as a true sequel to F.E.A.R. as a horror game, but it is an enjoyable FPS with decent co-op and multiplayer modes. I suggest to pick this up if you are true F.E.A.R. fan or just looking for an action packed shooter.

90

Does much good for the Fear series.

LeafRunner | June 23, 2011 | See all LeafRunner's reviews »

Fear 3 isn't simply a rehash or recycle of the old series, but rather takes everything you loved about the original Fear games and brings many new elements and concepts to the table. The campaign from what I have played so far of it is very enjoyable and will keep you on the edge of your seat, and multiplayer is a blast. For those who aren't hardcore fans of Fear, you may want to wait for a sale to pick this up.