Reviews for Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut

100

Play as you want

Xillion | Aug. 21, 2015 | See all Xillion's reviews »

This game is very diverse, You can go loud and attack everyone or play stealth and not be spotted.You can attack random civilians if you want. You can even hack into other peoples computers. That's why this game is nice. You can play however you want to. There's also a number of upgrades, which can enhance the gameplay. The graphics are nothing special but the music is really good.

70

A stealth game presented as a choose your own adventure

Valoo321 | Aug. 15, 2015 | See all Valoo321's reviews »

I remember the ads for this game. I remember one of the biggest pushes for this game was how you could do whatever you wanted in terms of RPing and fighting. If you wanted to be super stealthy, go invisible and take out one guard blocking your own, then sneaking past all the others, you could! Or if you prefer to make sure no one was left standing but the bullet casings that expended from your gun after you exited the room, then you could totally do that, too. The only problem ended up being that, in gameplay terms, the biggest push was definitely for stealth. The AI seemed to have some issues, overall, as well - issues such as trying to take cover in the middle of an aisle, or running from cover to cover in weird or awkward ways. The storytelling and RP, of course, are great. The story is presented as in depth and intricate, with so many different things to do and see and explore. The voice acting is overall well done. However, the main character's voice really grates on me personally - I'm not sure if he intends to stay monotone and flat, but it really bars the emotions that are conveyed by other NPCs. Overall, a good game with a lot of options and exploration possibilities. However, I can't wholeheartedly recommend it unless you have previous experience with the Deus Ex game, or have seen trailers of the new one coming out and want to know how this story-arch begins.

89

Great stealth game with nice story

Murderbot735 | July 27, 2015 | See all Murderbot735's reviews »

In this game you play as Adam Jensen who after an incident got heavily modified with cybernetics. You've basically turned into a super badass. The plot is really interesting, and there's also many nice side missions. Stealth is in my opinion the most satisfying way to complete missions, especially since the shooting isn't that great (but still decent), and rewards the biggest amount of XP. The graphics are technically not that impressive but still good, but very yellow-ish. The world feels very well built with a great attention to detail, and it's very immersive. Adam Jensen himself isn't the most interesting main character ever, but still pretty cool. It does also work on pretty much every computer ever, so please buy it.

85

Its a great game, but has a hard time living up to the legacy.

gamma_rad | June 13, 2015 | See all gamma_rad's reviews »

Deus Ex Human Revolution is definitely a good game, and its worth a buy, However I feel as if it might've done better as an IP by its own right rather than part of the Deus Ex franchise as it raises the expectations. Pros: *Good solid stealth-action game. You can go full on weapons or full on stealth, or mix the two at your desire. *Good graphics and voice acting. *Augmentations, the ability to customize your characters skills and abilities and in so doing provide new ways of going around the game. for example the Casie augmentation will help you talk you way out or into things, providing new ways to complete missions. *Engaging plot. Cons: *Cinematic take down button felt overpowered and nonsensical. *Completely gone away with melee weapons, which were the staple weapons of stealth Deus Ex. *Some discrepancies with the lore established in Deus Ex. *Ending is disappointing (here's hoping the sequel will fix that) *Yellow-Orange tint.

85

Cyberpunk stealth with a lot of choice

Soapmac72 | June 10, 2015 | See all Soapmac72's reviews »

Deus Ex: Human Revolution is the latest entry in the legendary Deus Ex universe, and it lives up to the legacy. It's chock full of decisions to make, from the story decisions affecting the plot to the gameplay decisions. Do you take it stealthy and quiet, or do you go in guns blazing? Do you take lives or do you spare them? The plot and stealth gameplay as well as the plethora of cybernetic upgrades are incredible, but the game as a whole is marred by weak shooting. Would recommend based on a stealth playthrough.

92

Simply fantastic

Witchcraft6 | June 9, 2015 | See all Witchcraft6's reviews »

Deus Ex: Human Revolution knocked my socks off in a lot of ways. From it's drop-dead gorgeous visuals, to gripping and deep story, to it's open-ended gameplay which allows you to go in guns-a-blazing or sleuth your way stealthily to the goals. Being a fan of the original Deus Ex game, I had held my breath for quite a long time for a company to take the reigns on the franchise and give it a well-deserved 3rd installment, and Eidos Montreal did a superb job. The Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Directors Cut takes the original HR game and throws in some goodies, including the extra Tong mission, and the Missing Link interlude. Both add value to the game. The Tong mission is optional, though wroth playing to add a little more background to some of the characters. The Missing Link interlude adds a good deal of backstory into a later feature of the plot. Spoilers aside, I'll say that I enjoyed going back and playing through this extra chapter. My only complaint about the game is that it, like all games, ended. I could have easily dropped 100+ hours of time into this game, and would have thoroughly enjoyed each and every one of them. For $19.99, you can't go wrong.

71

liked it

deathpug | June 4, 2015 | See all deathpug's reviews »

Deus Ex: HR is challenging to review it could be best stealth game from Square Enix. Gameplay has it's issues with many scripted take downs. but it is a limited free form RPG but the good stuff about it was the graphics were gorgeous, I love the black and gold theme game play was good too.

85

Good Stealth Title with amazing plot!

kauppinensb | June 4, 2015 | See all kauppinensb's reviews »

Deus Ex: HR is challenging to review. It is better than basic stealth games, and it could be best stealth game from Square Enix. Gameplay has it's issues with many scripted takedowns and actions which are breaking immersion. In my opinion, this game is good because it allows player to choice way to play game. You aren't only to allowed choose your route. You are also allowed to make decisions which have their sanctions or benefits. And you can completely create your character with your own taste. Main character is cyborg (human with robot parts including all vitals) who can unlock his hidden abilities after gaining needed resources. My character was polite and agile stealth-boy with cloaking ability and some nice hand-to-hand skills. There is also much discussion in along gameplay. You can solve many hard situations with your mouth (without fight). Game is good because it allows much freedom and challenge. And amazing plot with much of philosophy. This game have much discussion and answers about "what is human" and "do robots have feelings". I don't like some aspects of this game. There is freedom, but still some areas are too few populated (for example mega-size cities) and looking same. There is too much scripted things and cockpit changes (game is mainly experienced from first-person perspective). End game is too easy because you can develop your character overpowered (you can cloak yourself invisible very long times). End game maps are too easy. Graphics are nice (own individual style), but some textures are horrible and console-like (consoles like ps2 and original xbox). Still I enjoy the game. I think it is not so masterpiece that Metacritic's reviewers are writing. But game is very cheap and usually at sales nowadays;)

75

it's good, not really amazing

sycomantis1991 | May 28, 2015 | See all sycomantis1991's reviews »

Human Revolution is definitely a worthwhile purchase. That being said, I feel like it's been heavily overrated since its release. it controls well, looks nice, and has a couple decent plot elements. At its core though, it's a decently well contstructed shooter that doesn't give a whole lot of new additions in terms of gameplay. it's good, but it's not all that amazing.

90

Simply Fantastic

TheTortoise | May 25, 2015 | See all TheTortoise's reviews »

This was my first foray into the Deus Ex Universe and definitely not the last. Deus Ex: Human Revolution takes place in a plausible near future setting with a striking and complex narrative that asks some compelling questions. The real strength in this game comes in the versatility of the progression system. Something that may seem like a simple upgrade can drastically alter how someone may approach a particular scenario and even alter the outcome of many events within the game. Everything from the art direction to sound design is simply stunning, with the signature orange glow permeating the throughout the cyberpunk backdrop as well as one of the best soundtracks I have had the pleasure of listening to. Deus Ex is all about versatility and challenges the player to think outside the box throughout much of its fantastically crafted campaign. In my opinion, its an absolute must for just about anyone that is looking for an involved and thought provoking experience.

90

"I never asked for this" only because I didn't know I needed it

bainet | May 13, 2015 | See all bainet's reviews »

When I played the original Deus Ex, I was too young to fully enjoy it, so I can't say I was a fan of the series, but when Human Revolution was first shown it hooked me right away, the promise of multiple paths around the level, the do it your own way style of gameplay was promised a lot but rarely delivered properly, but boy did Deus Ex HR deliver it. There were choices in abundance in the game whether it be in the story, missions or the way you played, the gun play was average to good, but the stealth was amazing, though I'm more for the stealth approach so I might be biased. This is one of very few games that I actually played through more than once to experience different ways of playing, and enjoyed it either way, picking one play style over the other did not detract from the game at all. Aside from gameplay the game excels as well, the graphics are gorgeous, I love the black and gold theme, it's sleek and just feels properly futuristic, the soundtrack is also great and fits the setting perfectly and really gets you into the game.

70

A linear RPG in the guise of a freeform

Zaggeta | May 8, 2015 | See all Zaggeta's reviews »

Deus Ex: Human Revolution (henceforth: DEHR) is a first-person action RPG. The gameplay centers around choices between stealth or action and investigation. Upgrades and different choices throughout the game allow players to diversify their experience and incentivises multiple playthroughs. The story is probably the highlight of the game as the player follows a man seeking truth and vengeance in a world on the cusp of technological revolution. Where the game truly suffers is its boss fights as a usually choice-based game forces decisions upon the player. In this regard, the game reveals itself to rather be a linear singleplayer experience disguised as a limited freeform RPG. If you love cyberpunk and you don't mind heavily limited freeform, then consider buying this game.

85

A fun game all around

BlockAgent | May 7, 2015 | See all BlockAgent's reviews »

I never played the first Deus Ex game, but I was able to jump right into Human Revolution and understand what was happening. So if you didn't play the first game, no worries. Human Revolution is a fun and exciting game that gives you the feeling that you are in control of what happens in the game and that you can approach it however you want. That is rare even in today new releases. I had a lot of fun doing some section being stealthy and some with guns a-blazing. The gameplay is solid. The controls are solid. The graphics are still good in 2015. The story is a little on the thin side, but what is there is very well done. There are memorable characters as well. Overall I had alot of fun playing this game and I recommend it to everyone who likes a good first person shooter or stealth game.

40

Quite plain

PlayTyrant | May 7, 2015 | See all PlayTyrant's reviews »

This is one of the few games I regret purchasing. The story was plain, the ambientation was good, but it somehow didn't work for me. The few stealth missions were not too enjoyable, and the bosses were too weak. I didn't feel hooked at all, and believe me, I tried, but no. I guess I'm not the sci fi kind of player, but I didn't like this.

82

Robocop Augmented

KingTed | Feb. 17, 2015 | See all KingTed's reviews »

While everyone was expecting a sequel to Deus Ex 2 Invisible War, Eidos choose a different path, a more yellow-ish path. Human Revolution is a prequel to the original Deus Ex. You are Adam Jensen, Chief of Security for Sarif Industries, one of the companies that manufacture and sell bionic limbs and augmentations. But one day, the company HQ is attacked and you are left for dead. Your are saved by Sarif's scientists who made you a cyborg. Your job now, is to find who attack the company and why. Deus Ex Human Revolution is not your typical First Person Shooter. On the contrary, it's possible to complete the game without killing anyone. That's the game's first quality : choice. Each mission, each quest, was designed to let the player makes his own decisions. Will he infiltrate the compound without killing anyone, will he negociate with the NPC or will he storm inside with brute force, all is possible. It's up to the player to choose how he wants to play the game. To help the player in his decisions, the game allows Adam to install new augmentations, new "powers" that upgrade its possibilities. So basically, Deux Ex HR is both a good Action game and a good Stealth game. The story is excellent and the artstyle and music offer an thrilling cyberpunk atmosphere. In this Director's Cut edition, the DLC are included and the boss fights have been revamped for a better experience. The only remaining issue is the ending (The choices are too simplistic). Deus Ex Human Revolution is a must have.

82

Looks better than it plays, but still plays well

MadDemon64 | Jan. 5, 2015 | See all MadDemon64's reviews »

Deus Ex is a gem to look at. The art design, the colors, everything is gorgeous. The gameplay, however, lags behind the art, but not by much. In Deus Ex, you play a cyborg working for an company that was recently attacked, and you want to know who and why. As with most games that take place in a futuristic setting where cyborgs are common, motives and characters are not as they seem, While the story is very well done, many philosophical questions surrounding the aspect of coming a cyborg within the game are more or less the same ones you find in titles with similar settings, such as Ghost in the Shell. The game takes a first person perspective, but how you go about tackling objectives is up to you. You can go in guns blazing to an enemy stronghold, or you can sneak around, taking enemies out from the shadows, or go completely stealth and nobody will ever know you were even there. Different skills, upgrades, and abilities will help you more than others in certain situations, but some, like hacking, are universally required throughout all playstyles, especially if you wish to read more into the people whose computers you are hacking or take their money for more upgrades. However, whatever playstyle you wish to use, you need to be sure you actually know how to play that way, as there is little to no handholding in the game, and it is easy to mess up. Deus Ex has beautiful visuals and an array of choices that rivals most other open world RPGs. Just be sure to remember what kind of game you are playing.

88

Now those are choices

anticerber | Dec. 21, 2014 | See all anticerber's reviews »

I've played a lot of games...A lot..and I'll be straight up honest with you...I'm not really one for sci-fi type games... But, as me and a friend usually get and play games together, I decided on this one...and I found myself surprisingly pleased...Not about the choices in the games dialogue like most games ( Mass Effect) that don't really seem to carry any actual weight, but how you play the game. You have so many options of what you can do....You can kill enemies, or knock them out..You can disable turrets, destroy them, or sneak passed them. The game is all about carving your own path. Not only do your upgraded skills improve your abilities, but they also add options about how to go about things...You can get skills that let you fall from great heights, break through walls, hack through more difficult doors. This felt rather unique and I honestly haven't played a game like it up until I found Dishonored....The game can be a little slow at times, but it does have diverse areas, good voice acting, and an interesting story. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who likes games like Dragon's Age, Mass Effect, etc.

90

A game all about choices

ale91 | Nov. 6, 2014 | See all ale91's reviews »

Deus Ex Human revolution is a game that doesn't follow the rules of modern gaming. As gamers know,today games tend to be long corridors that lead to your objective.Deus Ex does exactly the opposite of that. In this game you play as Adam Jensen,chief of security at Sarif Industries.After a terrorist attack Adam finds himself augmented and looking for answers about the attack.The story poses many interesting questions about what defines a human being and how science can shape human kind. In particular the dichotomy between augmentations supporters and human purists is well outlined and deep.To this elements we must add conspiracy theories,hidden plots and manipulation of the public opinion. The real star of the game is its gameplay.How will you reach your objective?Take the main path and kill everyone?Use a vent and take the stealthy approach? Deus Ex does an exellent job of giving you the instruments to reach your goal however you like.In particular you can shape Adam as you please,for example choosing to spend all your upgrade points on stealth abilities. The mantra here is "Play the way you want". The art style is a mix of futuristic neons and renaissance fashion.You play in a new golden age of humanity and your surroundings certainly show this. This game is an instant classic,just like the original Deus Ex.It is a game that will be remembered in the years to come.

85

Director's Cut: Just Another Edition

Azrael360 | Nov. 2, 2014 | See all Azrael360's reviews »

"Deus Ex: Human Revolution" was a real surprise for me, the game starts a little slow but then a major event happens and all hell breaks loose. The story is amazing, the missions are also part of this main story, and the way you can play the game is up to you according to your way and "mood". And depending of that, people will react to you or you will see some differences on each missions. The graphics are also very nice and the music is amazing, it nails the atmosphere of the game. The maps are very big, but not "open world", but as how you like to play you will find some secret areas or many ways to avoid direct contact with your enemies. The game is also very long, for completionists it should take at least 50 hours. For me, the game (excluding "The Missing Link" expansion) lasted 57 hours, and "The Missing Link" alone lasted 9 hours. The game also has gamepad support. Now, this "Director's Cut" edition has some minor differences with the original base game: Includes all the DLCs (mostly new items and a bonus rescue mission) and "The Missing Link" expansion, all fused in the new edition as if they were part of the game. But this version also includes modified "boss levels" for people who like to play stealthy and want to avoid direct contact at all cost, although in the original those were never actually hard, because the bosses weren't difficult in the first place. The graphics also received a minor tweaking, some few textures were replaced by some others with more detail and some of the effects (the most notorious: the "gold" effect) has been minimized. The rest is practically the same. This edition also includes some bonus material, like the making-of videos and trailers, but it's missing others found in the previous "Augmented Edition", like the special (and amazing) game soundtrack and the motion comic. This edition also has some bugs and glitches that were fixed in the original edition but some some reason, they are here again, which is a shame. Comparing this edition with the original, I honestly have to say, the original was much better, especially comparing it with the "Ultimate Edition", which I also have and love much more. That edition included the "Augmented Edition" plus all the DLCs and "The Missing Link" expansion, was more stable with already fixed bugs long ago, and looked better. If I were reviewing that edition it would have received a 95/100 from me. This new edition instead is getting an 85 from me. It almost impossible now, but if you have the chance, buy the "Ultimate Edition" instead, but this version is still a very enjoyable experience and a highly recommended game to buy if you still don't have it yet.

97

Beautiful.

LastNutria | Oct. 18, 2014 | See all LastNutria's reviews »

Just beautiful. This game has one of the best stories ever! you play as an agent of a mega-corporation that with a lot of weapons and cyber-implants must look for a group of scientists that disappeared some time ago... But while you are looking for those scientists you will be stuck in a global conspiracy that will decide the future of the humanity... When i finished this game i was really suprised, i never thought that it will have four amazing endings, you have the future of the humanity on your hands, you must decide what could be better for the earth, you are "Deus Ex Machina"... Oh right, i almost forgot to talk about the gameplay... well, you have a lot of ways to finish a level, being aggressive or being a ninja without killing anyone (yes, you can finish this game without killing anyone except the bosses)

95

Adam "Fisher" Jensen

Pit_52 | Oct. 13, 2014 | See all Pit_52's reviews »

Well, not much can be said about this game that haven't been told already, what's more, this game speak for itself by bringing very large quality. You don't like fpp camera style? You preffer more action then stealth, you don't have much patience? Don't worry, you can enjoy deus ex human revolution anyway cause the plot and entire storyline will pull you in front of a desktop immediately and make you stuck completely for hours to this futuristic brilliant cyberpunk universe. You will just adapt to this game style, it can't be just easily explained. I compared this game always to batman arkham series and star wars kotor... You'll ask why... You can hate star wars and batman but fall in love with arkham and kotor thanks to extraordinary plot and perfect storyline, that's about it I guess, if you haven't played Deus ex then... Change it... instantly please, enjoy

90

Human Revolution as it should be

Obsessor | Oct. 7, 2014 | See all Obsessor's reviews »

Exactly - the game feels now as it should from the very beginning. There is one major improvement I consider a pivotal point for playing Director's Cut instead of the initial release of this game. Finally you don't have to fight every boss in a typical shooter manner - which forced you to build your character, chose implants and stuff to be able to survive open engagement. Now you can find a stealth approach which utilizes your hacking and stealth skills. At last it is valid to make a character that fully relies on his hacking skills and not another Terminator. Another great thing - merged Missing Link DLC. And merged flawlessly and seamlessly, as ones who played base release of Deus Ex Human Revolution, know that you had to play Missing Link at a certain point in the story, or it became invalid and outright nonsensical to play. As for graphics - the devs removed golden filter from the screen. Some people did't like it. I did, so it feels a bit awkward to me. As for other stuff - weapons are somewhat smaller and their placement in Jensen's hands is different. All things considered, apart from my minor rant, I consider this game the proper Deus Ex. And it will be a great experience for fans and new players who want to know Deus Ex alike. 90/100 and vision augmentation implant!

80

The bionic man meets revenge

yngdr | Sept. 2, 2014 | See all yngdr's reviews »

A game combining the basic elements of a rpg upgrades,skills and the various fps elements of a shooter. decent A decent script for the AI along with improved graphics from the original marks the game as its own little genre with the added bonus of stealth.

85

Great FPS with RPG system

FrozenFireCZ | Aug. 24, 2014 | See all FrozenFireCZ's reviews »

The most immersive action RPG ever just got better. I love all of the improvements of the Director's Cut. I was extremely pleasantly surprised with the new options they have added to beat the boss fights. I also thoroughly enjoyed the Developer Commentary and it provided a lot of insights that I never knew about the game. But the biggest and most noticeable change is actually having two beautiful energy bars that automatically refill to play with. Makes everything so much easier. The "golden haze" effect will be missed, however, but the game still looks great, almost remastered even. The cutscenes just now feel a bit out of place compared to the rest of the game. If you haven't finished Deus Ex: Human Revolution yet, get this and do it now. There's no reason not to because you are seriously missing out. Highly recommended.

85

Really is a must play

virulent0o | Aug. 20, 2014 | See all virulent0o's reviews »

I picked Deus Ex up during the "top 50 must play" sale to see if was deserving of its spot on the list. At first I wasn't really moved by the voice actor for Adam Jensen - he sounded like batman with a cold. But after the first mission, I was hooked! Deus ex provides a good mix between a shooter and RPG. The player can blast either through enemies with guns, hands and augments OR take on a stealthy espionage approach. The beauty of it is that each approach yields different results. Main story is somewhat expected, but what excels are the side quests. These are not the mindless "fetch" quests, each side quest introduces the player to some NPC that actually has a story and motive. Some of them even helps/deters the main story. Without taking up more writing space. I have to say that it really deserves its spot in the top 50 must play list.

95

Gold game.

Furrek | Aug. 17, 2014 | See all Furrek's reviews »

And by gold game I mean that literally. It's beautiful color that fits great to cyberpunk game. Every step you make in this game, no matter where you look around, you see how developed technology is in Deus Ex: Human Revolution. What made me fall in love with this game? Starting from great atmosphere - it doesn't have just a few things that would make this game labelled as "cyberpunk" one, but the world in this game is very well made. Next thing is greatly interaction with characters - it's not only boring talks, but what you say to the person you are talking with will lead you to other outcomes. Another thing is that you can play however you like to - you don't even need to fight anyone (except boss fights) if you don't want to, there is also special achievement for doing that. Sound crazy, but it can be done. Sometimes trying to bypass your foes is easier then fighting them. Difficult level, even played on lowest setting, is still kinda hard. You are not invincible, few shots, or a good one in head, will make you start from last checkpoint. Story and music are also great. In my opinion, it's a title that everyone should play. Never played Deus Ex? Don't worry, it's a prequel to the other 2 main games. Director's Cut edition comes with DLC and additional commentary from developers, available when you are playing. It's a great deal for an amazing game like Deus Ex: Human Revolution.

85

Perfect stealth game.

Suppression555 | Aug. 13, 2014 | See all Suppression555's reviews »

"If you want to make enemies, try to change something ..." pros: + The story raises many adult themes, and the final movie definitely force to reflect + Style game allows to immerse your head in the game, everything worked out to the smallest detail around from conventional diaries and room facilities, explore the world of really interesting + Large branched levels, there are always several ways to get to the goal + The game does not dictate the style of passing, we can do whatever you like, it all depends on the preference of the player + Chic atmospheric soundtrack cons: - Outdated graphics part of the game Deus Ex: Human Revolution adult clever game in the style of cyberpunk, with more detailed world, with different possibilities of action, with the dialogue, some of which are similar to the present psychological testing and many, many others. Effect of immersion is so strong that at some point you might think, and that if we are waiting for a future with all these implants and their problems? Who knows ...

91

One of my favorite games.

klinkplink | Aug. 12, 2014 | See all klinkplink's reviews »

I don't know what it is about this game, perhaps the overall feel of it, but I just keep coming back to it. I originally played it on my friends computer, and now I've bought it for myself. Definitely worth it.

86

RPG elements + FPS = great game

Romy68 | Aug. 12, 2014 | See all Romy68's reviews »

This is by far one of my favorite games released in the last years. Deus Ex : Human Revolution provides a great play time thanks to its almost unique, individual mechanics, which allow you to hack different kinds of places and objects. That being added some cool RPG elements such as a skill tree and various options to upgrade the main character, this title definitely has its place in the market and deserves as well the words of praise.

95

Good Game

lajvjjajajaaaa | Aug. 1, 2014 | See all lajvjjajajaaaa's reviews »

Deus Ex Human Revolution is mix of first and third-person shooter. You're ex-SWAT member who is now bodyguard of scientists and there company secrets. But they are killed your world change. You are in a time with great technological advancement. With the many guns in the game there is great amount of upgrades, some abilities and combat skills. Choose to kill all your foes or sneak behind them and leaf no traces. There are some bosses weak and strong. The game proceed the way you play it. The game is really good pick it up on sale if possible.

80

Dark. Fun. Immersive.

fuzeblu | July 29, 2014 | See all fuzeblu's reviews »

Deus Ex creates a complex and unique futuristic world with a fantastic story arch. Not being familiar with the franchise, I dove in with no expectations and was pleasantly surprised and happy with the game. The story RPG elements are fun, the world gritty and engaging, and the mix of stealth and action gameplay gives great variety. Overall the game was a smooth ride. I definitely suggest giving it a go.

91

Atmosferic and Inmersive

Nova4 | July 21, 2014 | See all Nova4's reviews »

This game is almost perfect, is the prequel of the great deux ex, a stealth/rpg game, this game is kinda hard, but nothing too hard if you play it stealthy. The good: +It had a great story, hell yes is cool and interesting, this game talk about the meaning of being human, cool stuff. +Smoth gameplay, great cover mechanics, sweet dialogo threes, an awesome skill three and you can modified your weapons. +Interesting sidequest, doit all you can change the game for good or bad if you decide to do something "different" on a side quest. awesome! +An detailed world and it reward exploration and experimentation, is not a sandbox game like TES games or Fallout, but is still fun looking for cool gear and things to hack and reading "books" on this game is cool. The bad: -Generic boss battles. -The main character is to flat in comparison with the world. -Lip animation desync. For me is a must buy if you like games with great story and with lots of things to explore.

25

Can't Even Play :(

rslancer | July 14, 2014 | See all rslancer's reviews »

So I didn't really even get to play the game because this game's got head bobbing. I find that it makes me dizzy/nauseous and I'm sure there are plenty of other people out there with my problem because you can see on forums people complaining about it. What aggravates me is that they haven't fixed it. I don't see why there shouldn't be an option to turn the head bobbing off. I'm not even sure why developers these days are so intent on making the head bob effect. Its not like we walk around seeing our world go up and down. Either way no way to turn it off so I can play five minutes at a time before succumbing and giving up. If your like me save your money and yourself some dizzying and don't buy the game.

90

An Underrated Game

mrminecrafter1 | July 13, 2014 | See all mrminecrafter1's reviews »

Deus Ex: Human Revolution is an extremely good game in my opinion. In this game, you could do basically anything. Blow up a car, hide a body, the typical open-world stuff. The depth of the systems implemented in this game is surprising deep especially the stealth system which is done pretty well. Graphics are pretty good with impressive lighting. The story is a bit corny at times but still pretty good at best. Overall I would recommend this game. RPG + Action + Open-World = Deus Ex: Human Revolution. Recommended.

93

Return to Deus Ex Form

884okeoJ | July 13, 2014 | See all 884okeoJ's reviews »

After Invisible War dragged the Deus Ex name through the mud, Human Revolution brings the series back up to its very high standards. You have multiple ways to go through each mission, and multiple ways to build your character. While there isn't as much freedom as the original Deus Ex, Human Revolution is still an impressive game. The graphics are quite good, and the music is fantastic. The FPS and RPG elements are balanced well, and the game as a whole is a rewarding experience. Definitely pick this game up if you haven't already.

90

enjoyed

PLAYS | July 13, 2014 | See all PLAYS's reviews »

i adore the Deus Ex games, even the one whose name should not be mentioned. i am happy to say this is a great follow up to the gaming series. like most hardcore fans of the game there’s only one real way to play, and that’s a no kills play through. *i personally up the difficulty to the highest setting because i am actively avoiding confrontation. this is the Directors Cut version of the game, looks great and can be played on Windows or OS X. i mentioned playing a non lethal play through. with the original you weren't able to beat the boss fights without fighting. the first boss you could by throwing things at him and shocking him repeatedly with your stun gun, only for a cut scene showing him riddle with bullet holes.. not good. with this version they have “fixed” the boss fights. there’s now an alternative way to beat each boss. the game plays nice, looks nice, sounds nice. the visuals are great but the music in the game really impressed me. i’ve played the game many times so for me i wanted to play through again hearing some of the games documentary commentary from the people who made the game. there’s also improved textures which is also great for us PC owners, but the best part is the new game + mode in which all your augmentations carry over. so perhaps you weren’t too confident to stealth your way through the game the first time, playing through again with all your augments at the start is at least worth a try. caveat emptor (buyer beware): as much as i like the Deus Ex games, specially this one. i would rather play the original non directors cut version of the game. Steam no longer sells it but GMG still does. it’s just the little differences, the Gold/Yellow tint to everything is now gone. i liked that, i liked how the people looked, how the cities looked. the textures are “better” but i would rather the feel of the original.