Reviews for The Void

69

A star that shines and burns

ccccp | July 23, 2013 | See all ccccp's reviews »

A game of a rare intelligence ! But how can you judge a fabulous, very original game, that is probably a bit too hard? I am almost tempted to remove points, as the level of difficulty is extreme. But ultimately no, because this game mixes brillantly reflection, poetry and originality. The principle is the one of a terribly addictive game. By cons, it is almost necessary to visit forums related to the title to move forward when you're stuck (and possibly resort to cheat codes left by the developers to reduce the difficulty). Anyway, if a poetic reflection adventure tempts you, so do not hesitate any longer. You might love the colors like never before!

76

A game that wants you die

lok0812 | July 3, 2013 | See all lok0812's reviews »

This game is difficult, but not because you are overwhelmed by monsters or quests. The game just wants you to die and not to mention it provides no hints or tutorial on what to do even though it might be a good point for players who actually wants to learn the game with no hints or help. Most of the time it is just too much and you will be lost instantly. This game really require a lot of time to learn and play through in order to know what is going on. Give it a try if you have plenty of time and want to learn an adventure game.

85

Innovative gameplay

Lekes | Feb. 22, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Amazing genre-breaking gameplay experience that will keep you coming back for more. The Void is a journey of constant learning and discovery. It's a bit frustrating until you realize that the game won't hold your hand, that you have to figure out a lot of things yourself. In the end though, you'll feel more free than in any "sandbox" game. Its gameplay is like nothing you've ever seen before and yet it doesn't feel broken or poorly put together. It's a solid experience that will change the way you look at mainstream games.

84

Weird, unusual, but very good game

Guardian412 | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all Guardian412's reviews »

The Void is a very-very strange game with a brilliant and very unique game mechanic and a unique world and story to discover. The game starts right after your death. Somewhere between heaven and hell, there is a world, known as the Void and this is your new home. As the newest resident, you'll have to adapt to this new "life", while you have to face with the older residents, the Brothers and Sisters, and complete their sometimes so strange wishes and sometimes sick desires. The game is difficult, requires great tactics and timing in actions at many times, and there is a chance that you won't survive the first days during the first tries. But if you listen to the tutorial, which is highly adviced, and if you get the real taste of The Void, there is a chance that you'll love it. The graphics is a bit old, yet its still requiring a better rig, but its a graphic which is perfectly fit for this game and its so strange atmosphere. The Void is not for everyone, and honestly when I played it for the very-very first time, it lasted on my rig for 30 minutes, but mostly because it was so strange and new and I didn't have the patience to understand it, to learn how to play. But then, on a gray afternoon, when I gave another chance for the game, followed the tutorial and started to understand how the game mechanic works, I started to love the game. So, as I said it is not for everyone, but it is for those who love unique and challenging games and love to learn and discover new, non-mainstream worlds and games.

80

Fascinating

lucasart | Oct. 2, 2012 | See all lucasart's reviews »

The Void is a video game much deeper than average. A lot of complexity is enhanced by a philosophical background that drives the moves of the player and put them up in discussion, both in terms of game mechanics that the real plot, developing in an unexpected way. The guys from Ice-Pick Lodge, creators of the controversial and fascinating Pathologic can be no doubt counted among those few who try to push the videogame medium over the threshold of tech toy. The Void of course is not for everyone and requires, especially in the beginning, the will to deal with a product from the original gameplay that bases its appeal on the presentation more than action and asks the player to make choices often problematic for lead him to one of the thirteen different endings.

60

Could be better, imo.

Raoin | Sept. 3, 2012 | See all Raoin's reviews »

To be honest, I didn't like The Void. When I discovered the game I became really excited because of its thematic. But when I played it, my expectations kinda turned on deception. Actually, it happened mostly because of the gameplay. I was hoping for point and click mechanics instead of insatisfatory FPS ones.

Yet, I cannot deny the game itself is pure art. And this is the justification of my rating. I keep playing it for its beauty concept and theme, but it is still insatisfatory to me in terms of gameplay. Maybe you should try it.

78

Most unusual game ever

Cooberstooge | Aug. 28, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

This is more an experience than a game, and if you try to play through The Void as such, you'll find quite an original title. The strange factor in this one is off the charts, though - drawing with your own blood is pretty normal compared to some of the stuff you'll be coming across.

The game's visuals are beautiful yet spartan, and really draw the eye. There's many times where the player will find oneself simply staring at something instead of continuing on with the game, and that seems to have been the intent here. The music fits the game like a glove, and only serves to emphasize key thoughts and images. I found myself forgetting many times what my objectives were, and was just drawn into the sounds.

Bug-wise, I've yet to run across any, and the game runs smoothly on my system, even though it gives my video card a decent workout. My main complaint would be the tutorial which, although it does a good job, is for some reason found later in the game, so it's pretty useless by that point. Definitely give this one a shot if you like radically different games - especially ones that make you see things differently after finishing them.

46

Weird

hotmando | Aug. 1, 2011 | See all hotmando's reviews »

This game defines the word" weird". It's weird because all of a sudden there is a void. Between life and death, souls, heaven, hell, it's all a real confusing mess. The game doesn't bother to explain any of it to you too. The only plot and lore it provides is what everyone already knows. There is not much speaking or talking to do around here as much as resource gathering. Also, the visuals look extremely lacking. They are heavily outdated and the trailer does not make it seem any better. Gameplay is real slow...to the point where you might just quit. There are easier puzzle/action/adventure games for a better price. So unless your looking to lock yourself in a void, look somewhere else.

90

goty 2009

steamisbetter | April 4, 2011 | See all steamisbetter's reviews »

video game art at its finest. this is not an adventure game in the traditional sense of the word, but a slow-paced action game of resource gathering and management. it's certainly unique.

the game can be brutally difficult for newcomers as the in-game "tutorial" explains gameplay mechanics poorly and far too late into the game. you have to start over at some points, probably multiple times, as you learn how the game works. this seems to be a turn off for many gamers.

you can find a fan-made "easy patch" and plenty of friendly advice on the official forums. check them out.