Reviews for Virtua Tennis 4 DNS

65

I expected more...

Lekes | Dec. 29, 2012 | See all Lekes's reviews »

A reasonable game overall. The exhibition mode is good however the World Tour gets monotonous towards the end. The career should have included the opportunity to play with the tennis stars over a calender year (or more) and making them win the tournaments. The drop shot is probably the worst thing in the game, getting a point with the drop shot is very difficult as a drop shot is performed with a lob as opposed to slice. Overall an enjoyable game if you want to play the exhibition mode but not for too long.

85

Fantastic game

Cooberstooge | Sept. 12, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

There is, quite simply, nothing else out there that compares to the Virtua Tennis series, and this latest edition is no different. All SEGA has done is tweak and add to the perfect formula, and given us gamers something we can finally show our real-life tennis playing friends that is worthy of their attention.

The graphics in this one are astounding, and a decent machine comes highly recommended if you want to wind out all the game is capable of. It runs just fine on lower settings, but trying to raise or enable some features on an older machine will result in lag. Controls are good, but this is one console port that really does benefit from the use of an x-box or similarly designed controller - it is playable with mouse and keyboard, but it just doesn't feel quite right.

Solid, unchanged on-court gameplay from previous iterations of the series is once again backed up by completely random mini games, such as rescuing chickens, and these too are great fun, and serve to break up those rare times when one gets sick of the main action. All in all, another great entry in one series that only gets better as it grows.

85

Best Tennis Game on PC

faraany3k | Aug. 31, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

Virtua Tennis 4 is a latest iteration of long running Tennis series by Sega. The series is know for its arcade roots and pick and play approach. Like all sports games, Virtua Tennis 4 is a improvement over its predecessor with few new roster updates, slightly better graphics engine and more gameplay modes. The game adds very little to its previous titles and is more like a expansion pack then a full game. But some of the aspects really make it worthwhile. Specially the new improved and redesigned Career mode is a highlight here. It is much more refined and easier to navigate around and let us plan our tour beforehand. There is also a multiplayer component which is mainly handled by Micorsoft's GFWL. Although I have faced no problems with this service so far, but is generally considered among gamers to be problematic. Specially game invites and ingame chat is 'over-consolified' and cumbersome. Controller options are also limited and mainly supports the XBOX 360 controller. The game is best played with a controller so I suggest you to get one before buying the game. Virtua Tennis 4 is the best Virtua Tennis title yet with all the fast and arcadey gameplay intact. Zany and fun minigames and ever growing player roaster. The best tennis game option on the PC. A must buy for all tennis fans.

86

Some good improvements

dr_house95 | Aug. 22, 2011 | See all dr_house95's reviews »

This version is the best ever. Graphically this very well done, and asks for a last generation machine. Loudly as all previous ones. We have more licensed players (Federer, Nadal, Murray and Djokivick is added Del Potro, Monfils, and Courier), no licensed tournaments. The gameplay is added to a Super Strike. But best of all, its new World Tour mode, short but very funny. This is a board where they go Moving on can train, play tournaments, and buy new stuff, getting a punctuation at the end of everything. Highly recommended.

75

Game, set and match.

GAMERamble | Aug. 8, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

Since my only other Tennis experience is with Sega Superstar Tennis I don't really have much to compare this to. It's fun and playing it with a gamepad is highly recommended. It is obviously a console port but if you don't have access to a Xobox 360 and enjoy a good game of tennis then this is worth your while.

67

The Best Tennis Game

t20k | July 2, 2011 | See all t20k's reviews »

If you're looking for a tennis game for PC, this is your chance. Yes, there are some bad things about it (no mouse support), but it still is a enjoyable experience. The graphics are the most impressive thing about this. I highly recommend playing it with a Xbox 360 Controller. I'm not a huge fan of GFWL, but it's not terrible as some people might tell you it is.

For a pretty cheap launch price, it's worth it.

75

Solid effort by Sega

niniendowarrior | July 1, 2011 | See all niniendowarrior's reviews »

Virtua Tennis 4 is Sega's port from the internally developed console versions, taking control of development from Sumo Digital's Virtua Tennis 2009. For the most part, Virtua Tennis 4 is straight forward to play, making the game very easy to pick up and play. Anyone who had played Virtua Tennis before will slip right in easily with this new iteration as everything seems very familiar, gameplay-wise.

What is revamped is the career mode which uses a board game style approach in contrast to the globe map style of 2009. I found this a much welcome change as it gives me an idea of what events are available as well as allow me to plan the travel and training schedule effectively. During the course of the career mode, you will get to unlock new styles of play for your character as well as clothes while playing through silly mini-games.

The different styles of play entices you to adhere to that style (e.g. playing as hardhitter means being aggressive and using powershots often, etc). Doing so will fill up a gauge meter allowing you to use special shots on your opponent.

Online play is handled through Games For Windows Live and though it is serviceable, there have been people complaining about save corruption issues that possibly stem from it. The list of players is a little thin also, but it should not detract from the solid tennis play, making this a solid entry in the series.

40

Same old same old

hotmando1 | June 28, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

Another console port to the pc that uses GFWL. This series is almost like Madden where it releases a yearly edition of the almost same concept and ideas. However, given the number of tennis games on the market for pc: it can easily be named the best since there really is no other tennis game to compete with.

75

Best PC Tennis Game So Far

GMGReviewer | June 27, 2011 | See all GMGReviewer's reviews »

Now the title doesn't say much as there haven't been a decent Tennis game for PC in the past few years.

Lets start off by saying, it feels like a console port (no mouse support) and it uses Games for Windows Live (GFWL). Now those aren't really a bad thing as it also runs very well. GFWL is most hated on by Steam fanboys, but the online system and software itself is very solid (if you installed all the software requirements ie. updates to Internet Explorer, NET Framework, Flash Player).

I highly suggest using a game-pad as you can only use the keyboard controls. The game is very similar to previous Virtual Tennis series to the point where i can't even tell the difference (gameplay wise). The graphics are of course improved, the controls are very simple, the sound & music are basic and repetitive and the modes are actually very fun.

Although i'm not a Tennis fan, the game does lack of a lot of in-depth features but it's an arcady pick up & play game which makes it accessible to newcomers.

The main issue here is that it feels the same and there isn't much improvement to the series. It's outdated but for what it lacks, it makes up in the low price point.