Reviews for NecroVisioN: Lost Company Cap

80

Very fun, but hard

ficha13 | Sept. 24, 2013 | See all ficha13's reviews »

The first necrovision game was a real blast, it had fun game mechanics, cool enemies, a really good setting and a dumb entertaining, b-movie plot. You killed waves of enemies that went from soldiers to demonic beings with a ton of weapons, which included a demon arm and magic . Also you rode an f'ing dragon. Necrovision Lost Company is basically more of the same, and thankfully, the developers fixed some issues, added some weapons, new enemies and plane sections. If you liked the original one, pick this one up with no worries :)

76

Nice FPS

iamkyo90 | July 14, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

Really, is a nice game, hard requeriment pc to play in maximum quality, game is very fun, similar to Wolfestein! Zombies + soldier nazis, not is an original idea, but is nice game!

81

It's hell!

kalil | June 14, 2013 | See all kalil's reviews »

The game is entertaining at times, sometimes it gets a little boring. The graphic section is good, has many textures, good effects, but the stage lighting is horrible. I understand it's a horror game, but sometimes and it gets annoying. The sound is the best you have, weapons that do a good noise, ambient sounds and music that accompanies levels, so good. The gameplay is normal, what is good for melee fights, not just with butts, but kicks and "combos" of both of them. Another highlight is the secret areas and hidden cards (the more you find, the more benefits can unlock), which makes the levels be flown from end to end over and over again as they are quite hard to find. The theme of innovation, leaves much to be desired, since the play is a precise blend of "Wolfenstein" and "Painkiller" together (especially when enemies come herds of suicide). It is one of those to hang out or when you're expecting a better shooter to go on sale and do not want to be sidelined.

70

Good

Bolo | May 20, 2013 | See all Bolo's reviews »

This game surprised me in that it's even better than the first one. The devs got rid of a lot of quirks and it's neat to see a scenario from the 'enemy' perspective, coming as it does before the plot of the first game and highlighting the creation of the main antagonist from that game. Apart from that, it's pretty much the same type of game as the first one: an action shooter against human and supernatural forces. It doesn't pretend to be anything but a throwback to a simpler time and therein lies the charm.

77

NecroVisioN: Lost Company - Review

carlyle | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all carlyle's reviews »

NecroVision: Lost Company is a prequel to the horror-shooter to historical setting that staged a somewhat skewed version of World War I. History makes us play a soldier who fights supernatural forces but which seems destined to eventually become the Necromancer this then in the first chapter (after this according to the timeline). I would say that is a B-shooter, a title of second order but with dignity, well-structured and even enjoyable. The graphics engine has several new and enhanced features, the management of lights and shadows, through a general increase of the polygons on the screen and new shaders to get a speed loader. The fights will be once again in the name of absolute frenzy, populated by a dozen unreleased monsters.

45

I just dont get this game

danteveli | Oct. 4, 2012 | See all danteveli's reviews »

The idea behind World War zombie shooter is somewhat appealing to me. The horror you can create is just epic. Sadly not this time. Lost Company is much like Painkiller - run and gun type of games. It tries to appeal to old school gamers raised on Doom and that type of gameplay. i don't think it does it really well. Gameplay quality is sub par compared to the games that inspired it. Graphics is not really good and it can get boring. On the other hand price tag of 2$ makes it now more acceptable and raises the paid amount versus title value bar way higher. For me its still not really good game that can get cult following based on what it is.

50

Fun but short

Sharptap | Sept. 24, 2012 | See all Sharptap's reviews »

This game wasnt really apreciatted by the critics , and it's easy to see why. The voice acting is horrible and the game is full of bugs. But if you can get through that you can get a fun cheap game. I had some fun killing the monsters of this game and going through the short storyline of this old school FPS that makes me remember the fun I had playing Doom.

40

Ugly

Zinzun | Sept. 2, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

This game is simply ugly: horrible graphic,tons of bugs.It's an old-style fps like Doom,but developers want to make it partially "new" introducing health regeneration,the iron sight,melee attacks...so this game hasn't an identity. Maybe you can try to play it now that is on deal for two euro,but if you want old-style action game simply buy other title like Hard Reset,Painkiller and similar.

71

Decent supernatural shooter

Cooberstooge | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

For someone who's into the alternate history / WWII Nazi zombie stuff, Necrovision: Lost Company is a pretty cool game. The mix of old-school shooting mechanics with a few things thrown in from the FPS games of today is nice, and it's all wrapped up in great visuals.

The sounds are superbly done, with tense moments often causing the player to jump because of a wisely inserted explosion or scream. The soundtrack is dark and moody - a perfect score for the theme of the game.

Graphics-wise, the overall choice of colours is one of darkness, with plenty of shadowed textures and gaunt faces on the soldiers you'll be running across. The guns are all period-correct, and look very good, with lots of extra time spent obvious in the detailing. Explosions and fire also look fairly realistic, and coming close to any of that did unfortunately cause me some lag.

Melee combat is a big focus in Necrovision: LC, with lots of blood flying during combat. The FPS elements are pure old-school, and some of the tight, dark corridors will take you veteran gamers back to such classics as Doom.

The game did crash a couple of times on me without giving any reason, but otherwise, I had no other problems while playing. Definitely a solid bit of programming but, like others have said, could really have done with a little more polish.

75

Fun game for 2 bucks

yulog | Aug. 25, 2012 | See all yulog's reviews »

It wasn't the greatest game but it was enjoyable, a few hiccups along the way, it obviously was done by the people doing painkiller(same set up and the bonus areas were the same) i had fun playing it and it made me want to come back for more, you cant go wrong for 2 bucks!

71

lil bugs but very funny game

KeisukexS | Aug. 14, 2012 | See all KeisukexS's reviews »

this game is good but it haves some bugs that need a fix it is like black ops zombies with boss fights and much more you can pilot aircrafts and tanks for 2 bucks is worth it

20

Terrible game

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

I got this game free with GMG (Thank you for that) but it was terrible. I traded it in as soon as I could. The voice acting alone is enough to make you hate this game. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone unless it was under $2. For $2 it is a fun 30 mins before you hit the uninstall button. Very buggy as well with boss fights that are a joke. Graphics: 2/10 Gameplay: 2/10 Story: 2/10 Multiplayer: Pretty sure it was single player only

35

Interesting At Least

Megapieman | March 8, 2012 | See all Megapieman's reviews »

Having played the original Necrovision I was mostly disappointed with this game. Poor story and game play left me bored and did so quickly. I feel that there is more that could be done with this series, but this is not it.

76

Old school shooter, with some forgivable problems.

Cyrosis | Jan. 3, 2012 | See all Cyrosis's reviews »

Necrovision Lost Company may be a simple game, but it's the kind of throwback shooter that you can't find any more. Fans of Doom and other 90's shooters should feel right at home with Necrovision, as it primarily uses mechanics from that age of PC gaming. They have updated some things however, like adding a melee system, iron sights, partial health regeneration, and a combo system that encourages you to get creative while slaying your enemies. Of course the nonstop action, and secrets to find in the levels are brought back from the old school influence.

Overall, it may not have the high polish of a larger studio's game, but it's something I can easily look past, since shooters like this are extremely rare these days. I recommend it to anyone that misses the old school shooter.

65

A fun game hides behind bugs and unpolished gameplay

Johnnsen | Aug. 20, 2011 | See all Johnnsen's reviews »

Now, this game is a lot like Painkiller. The biggest problem are the bugs, and also some crude level design that leaves you lost at points. If you can look past this, you will have a nice, brainless shoot-everything-that-moves game which reminds you of the classic painkiller experience. It has some fun finishing moves, and the atmosphere is good at parts. For the price its worth a try. If you want the classic experience, go for Painkiller (The standard one) instead.

25

A hauntingly bugged game.

mevidek | Aug. 19, 2011 | See all mevidek's reviews »

This game is truly one of the more darker-toned games out there, with some truly chilling points. NecrovisioN: LC may keep some awake at night, and scare others. However I didn't see any initiative in getting this game once I had, so sold it after completion. No replay-ability, a lack of an interesting or immersive storyline, loads of bugs, and annoying controls (maybe just for me) add up to make this a poor, poor game.

55

An average horror FPS

FreeMan85 | Aug. 2, 2011 | See all FreeMan85's reviews »

This is a prequel of the original NecroVision game. You play the role of Jonas Zimmermann, a scientist who want to cure the deaseae which infected both ally and enemy soldier in 1916. You must fight through yourself monstaers, demons, living deads and who know what Hellish creatures. Authentic World War I weapons help you and you can also use a pistol-granate or melee weapon combo. You can also make special attacks fur Fury, which helps you run faster or slow down the time. The story is a little thick at the beginning, but the end... not bad. There's many secret area in the maps, good idead to find them for armor or special weapons! You can also drive planes and tanks. The graphics a little unpolished, if you set everything to max start totstutter, and if you lwer the settings it's looks like an '90 DOS game. Of course my rig are a little weak. The sound voice acting and effects mediocre.

Maybe horror and other occult/paranormal like game fans will join. It's not that bad, one playthrough surely worth.

28

Is this out of beta?

9stian9 | July 31, 2011 | See all 9stian9's reviews »

This game is not worth paying for. it doesn't even have a decent story, with bad gameplay. its fun at the begining, but you quickly get tired of the same animations over and over again. The only thing you have to monitor is how much ammo you got remaining on the current weapon, before you swap to melee and slashes your way through the enemies. However, it had some fun moments bashing some brainz and blowing heads, but only for a short amount of time.

Playing it made me wonder, how hard can it be to make at least 2 animations per special move? And what made the creators release it? In adition there are many bugs, making it look more like a beta than a released game.

The only thing decent about the game was the graphics. Though the optimization should have been better. And so in overal,l a half-finished game.

49

Just Shoot/Reload/Repeat

murklind | July 25, 2011 | See all murklind's reviews »

The biggest problems: bugs. This ruin the gameplay. And the voice acting is terrible, the gamplay is so primitive. Shoot zombies/reload/repeat. The graphicsis bring the expected level. But I enjoyed it, just shoot everything. And forget the Oscar winner cutscenes.

32

Seriously Flawed / Broken

postewar | June 11, 2011 | See all postewar's reviews »

I had some fun, and absolutely love the story and old school "Painkiller' type game play. Unfortunately now I can't get passed Chapter 6 because of game script errors keep crashing out the game. I tried the official 1C forums suggestions to no avail.

Certainly not worth the $19 price tag here or anywhere as is. Good thing I got it as a GMG giveaway. Its to bad too, I'd have rated it higher on completion, if I could just finish it. 60 or 70 But the crashing is just not worth my time.

67

Did this game pass beta tests? This apart nice game.

klaros | June 9, 2011 | See all klaros's reviews »

I found this game worth to buy only at price drops.

Some defects: - you can get stuck between objects - Servers for multiplaying are no more online - when enemies are close to you your bullets or melee weapons could pass throught them without consequences. This means that enemies will hit you while you'll try to hit them. This seems to be a glitch. - Enemy sometimes will hit you also if you are under cover or their fire sometimes will pass through objects - The game theme seems a bit kitsch. Only at the last chapters the game will became something really intriguing and appreciable. This way you'll ask yourself why the whole game isn't like the last part! - the graphic is not bad could be better. They used hard bumping map effect on everything, also on faces. This way graphics seems better but you'll ask yourself how some materials (like faces) can reflect so much light. - The Vampire Artifacts idea (which will give you physical power) could have been implemented better. - AI is not good. An example is when you use the tank: zombies will not be a threat, but your friend, the granate launcher, can inflict you many damages! - May happen some fatal game crushes. Although 1C will try to help you as much they can, seems that Farm 51 is not supporting you. - I didn't find the Challenges Rooms really fun and not usefull. These will give you weapons if you'll achieve some results.

These aspects will let you think that the game is not finished yet and it is still in beta.

Positive aspects: + you can kick you enemies when they are too close (glitch apart). This way you'll bash them. + you can use a weapon for each hand. + Good weapon variety (Vampire weapons are nice, but you'll use them only in last chapters!) + you can use your firearms as melee too + you can perform combos and rise your fury levels (which are like Max Payne's bullet time more some lightnings) + Some variety in gameplay. In some chapters you'll use tanks, in another a plane. Gas mask use.

84

Painkiller meets Wolfenstein meets Bulletstorm

grandmaster_b | June 1, 2011 | See all grandmaster_b's reviews »

When i started playing the original Necrovision i didn't get it at all, the gameplay mechanics are a bit different, you have to find the right mix of offensive and defensive tactics. To make a simplifiction, multi-kills (so to speak) can regenerate health and can do multi damage, this also varies with different weapons and combos. So be open to experiment with that a lot! The (optional) challenge maps gives you a run for your money, otherwise the game is not too difficult.

Graphics are nice, the sound is great, the atmosphere is unique and even the controls are just right. The only downside is a bland story and some mediocre vehicle driving/flying parts. Anyhow, if you wanna show some undeads who's boss, this is the game!

55

Good for a F2P title

Adrianix | May 31, 2011 | See all Adrianix's reviews »

I wouldn't have paid any money for this game, I have to tell you. It has its potential and it gets funny along the 2 last chapters, but it's plenty of bugs, the optimization for PC isn't good enough (although it has some good graphics for environments) and, most important of all, the story is practically null: the only thing you know along the game is you have to kill, kill and kill monsters. Some words about a plague, a cure, a biological weapon... but it isn't able to tell a good developed story as you only kill and kill, level by level...

As I title this review, Necrovision: Lost Company is sort of a irregular game, it has some good, funny moments, but the non-sense killing, the bugs and the practically null story doesn't make it to pay for it. It would be a really good F2P title, and thanks to Greenmangaming it was that way for me.

60

Average

peldik | May 28, 2011 | See all peldik's reviews »

The graphics are ok. It's kind of scary at first when enemies appear from unexpected places, but later you learn to expect them. The gas mask vision looks fun at first, but actually it reduces your visibility along with smoke, gas and blur. Then again these things make the atmosphere cooler. The most annoying thing is that you have to waste a lot of bullets to kill a single enemy. The melee weapons and pistols are pretty much useless, but there some weapons, that are more fun and more effective.

70

Fun, But...

xflurry | May 26, 2011 | See all xflurry's reviews »

The game its self is fun, But there are a couple of flaws that get annoying very quickly. For one, The motion blur and all the screen movement gives me a headache, And I'm not one to get headaches from games. Also, The movement is buggy, If you run into something at the correct angle it will fling you up in the air, Making you take fall damage. And unnecessary damage is a no-no in all games.

65

A great game to skip.

AraxisHT | May 25, 2011 | See all AraxisHT's reviews »

This is just another WWII Zombie shooter minus 80% of the quality of every other game in the genera. Graphics can only be described as mediocre, plot as suckish, weapons as mildly interesting, melee combat as horrendous. If you're looking for a great game, skip this one. If you are absolutely desperate for a WWI zombie shooter horror... skip this one and go for the original.

85

Memorable and Strangely Captivating

Pepperized | May 25, 2011 | See all Pepperized's reviews »

If they made a campain of Nazi Zombies this would be it! The graphics are good if you crank them high the gameply mechanics are a little hard to master but very fun. There is good voice acting in the game. It is unbeliveable fun with balanced enimies that seem easy but not too easy on normal. This game is strangely addictive!

70

scary good-one

satyakun | May 24, 2011 | See all satyakun's reviews »

This game has it own story- another zombie shooter set in WW environment. Overall, the graphic are so-so, but covered by the dark -and scary looking enemy- side of the game. i think it'll be better to play at night. so the all-out-horror will shown up in your monitor. Well for another alternative of WW + zombie shoot'em up game, this game has it own genre, you shouldn't miss it :)

80

This game is just plain fun

simonsix | May 24, 2011 | See all simonsix's reviews »

With this game you slowly unlock all kinds of bizarre weapons. And you can use a lot of weapons with ALT-FIRE, which is bizar!

You can use spades to cut some one's head off or just throw it at them. There is so much variation in the weapons that you can use. Also you do not always have to do the same killing everytime. You can use robot's and slow down the time. Also I didn't find the acting that bad, it was entertaining in some way.

Also the environments were rich and not just plain. And having the ww2 horror story did it for me. The planes flying and bombs dropping. The sounds are not bad at all.

67

Good ol' zombie nazi killing.

Vulpine_Vixen | May 24, 2011 | See all Vulpine_Vixen's reviews »

This may not be the best game on the market but it is fun. With its dire voice acting, lacking plot and average graphics it's easy to expect the worst from this game... but it's actually fun and it's oddly all of the things that make it average that make it, strangely, good.

It is, as one reviewer stated, like playing a B-movie. While it maybe lacking in plot it does mean you get instant nazi-zombie killing action. There's an interesting selection of weapons and grenades, you're able to dual-wieled pistols; or a pistol with a malee weapon.

There are secrets galore as any old school Doom player would expect. It also has multi-player, with semi-customisable player options, with a choice of 3 classes, British, German or undead. There's also a challenge room for all you achievement hunters. In all it's zombie-smashing fun with gore, zombies and guns.

70

lives up to the rating level of scary

liquidsnake78 | May 24, 2011 | See all liquidsnake78's reviews »

the fps reminds me of the good old blood and doom eras, at times the game can get a lot scary, the world war 1 setting is freaking scary, although not much to say about the story, its the typical fallen solider dreams story, the game endings depend on what difficulty you finish it, in overall its a ok fps game with scary elements in it, the ending of the game could have been better

60

A lot of fun...

bartvader | May 24, 2011 | See all bartvader's reviews »

Well, this is a fun game. It has a good gameplay with good graphics (nothing too excepicional, but it is not a "ugly game") and an interesting story. Also do not expect much of this game. You'll play and have fun for hours, along with its multiplayer, but it is not nearly big titles like Call of Duty or Medal of Honor. In short: a good game for the price it is.

60

The closest you get to a b-movie experience

REDMAN44 | May 23, 2011 | See all REDMAN44's reviews »

NecroVisioN: Lost Company is the the ultimate gaming equivalenc of a b-movie it's loud, gory, funy (usually for the wrong reasons). Things really make any sense but you roll with it (And come on do you really need a reason to kill a giant mechanical scorpion??) Most important the core gameplay is solid, so there's no real objection against buying it

45

Less like "next in the series" and closer to "more of the same"

Jahman | April 7, 2011 | See all Jahman's reviews »

There are games that make you want to play them again and again and again… And then there is NecroVision: LC.

I rather enjoyed playing the first NecroVision (although it got a tad bit boring near the end), so getting Lost Company seemed like an obvious move. Bashing and shooting my way through the first level I got an intense feeling of déjà vu – didn’t I play this before? “Nah – it’ll pass” I thought to myself. And then I finished the level, and the next one, and… the feeling only intensified. Not only did the gameplay feel the same (that I did expect) but, to me, both the enemies, the locations and the weapons seemed like a sorry rip-off of the first part. I mean – sure – there were new ones and the graphics were (somewhat) improved but in the thick of it hardly felt as I was playing a sequel/prequel. More like… that’s it! A stand-alone expansion pack! To me, that’s what LC is – a glorified expansion pack. Sure, it contains new stuff, but it doesn’t help the fact you’re still bashing the same old zombies with the same old methods and only a couple of new tricks. And for the most part, that’s what both NecroVisions are all about – slaughtering wave after wave of similar enemies.

As I mentioned, the first NecroVision really bored me near the end (after wave, after wave, after… of enemies I just had enough) so the fact that NV:LC brings, in my opinion, only minor improvements (you even get the same “magic glove” with the exact same abilities) didn’t really remedy the problem. It still was fun, but it got repetitive and boring even faster than before.

True, you now can fly a plane for a short while (and with awkward controls, nonetheless) and trample some zombies with a tank. Yes, the maps are new, there are a couple of new guns and enemies and the graphics are overly better. But unfortunately, all of this doesn’t change the fact that, at its core, only slightly refurbished NecroVision you probably already know.

My advice? If you haven’t played the previous NV and really want to bash some zombies – start with Lost Company. If you loved NV so much that you just couldn’t get enough of it – but LC now! It you kinda liked NV but got your fill – well – wait until you’ll want to play it again and then go for the LC.

65

Cheap and fun

keeveek | April 4, 2011 | See all keeveek's reviews »

This game is not a hit. Despite this, he can make a really good couple of hours of gameplay. Nice graphics, new enemies and weapons will be enough to convince people that liked the previous part of the game. This game can also provide a few thrills of emotion, as befits a horror. The game is bloody and brutal, certainly not suitable for children. But it is damn cheap!