Reviews for Deus Ex: Human Revolution Augmented Edition

89

Perfect prequel

Demilisz | March 20, 2014 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

Human Revolution is a prequel for entire series. A perfect prequel that makes you want to play original Deus Ex right after finishing HR. The best thing here is level design - almost every level (boss fights are only exceptions) can be completed with guns blazing or stealthy and each location is designed so both ways are equally viable, though sometimes you will need a certain upgrade for Jensen to take easier route. Conversation system is good, characters and plot interesting. Hacking is made in form of a minigame and is slightly too random at start, but after investing a few points in certain skills it becomes better. The only problem is money - unless you are just rushing past every location and don't take your time exploring, there is really nothing worth buying.

RPG fans and Deus Ex fans must buy this, as well as players that enjoy a good game with cyberpunk setting.

82

Reinvented

chataolauj | Jan. 23, 2014 | See all chataolauj's reviews »

This version of Deus-Ex: Human Revolution is much better now because there are now several ways to defeat a boss rather than only kill it with guns and what not. The AI hasn't really been modified all that much, so it's a bit frustrating at times. For newcomers to this game, it's an Action AND RPG, so that adds quite a few elements to this game that makes it worthwhile. This version also includes the Missing Link DLC, but the DLC isn't all that great. This game IS a prequel, so it won't hurt you if you play this one before the older Deus Ex games.

85

A great game on it's own merits

Baumshlager | Dec. 2, 2013 | See all Baumshlager's reviews »

If this was not a prequel to the original Deus Ex, it would still be an epic game. Although it is set in the "past", the technology looks more advanced,and that,with the boss levels that seem out of place, would be the only downside. You can again pick your own playstyle: be stealthy, go on a murderous rampage, or something in-between. I especially liked the pheromone analysis part where you have to talk the NPCs into doing your biding by monitoring their behavior. The story wasn't as good as the original, but it still gives you an option to choose the ending you prefer, which is great, and one mission includes the iconic Tracer Tong as a young man. Immersive sci-fi setting and a gret combination of FPS,RPG and a stealth game.Get this game, you won't be disappointed.

85

Wipe away that Invisible War bad taste in your mouth

duffman03 | Nov. 19, 2013 | See all duffman03's reviews »

Invisible War, what Invisible War? This is the Deus Ex we all wanted. Stealth mechanics are great, and having the option to do a full blown psychopathic killer or a silent invisible ninja throughout most of the game (excluding boss battles) is really great. In all reality though, most of the time silent ninja turns into psychopathic killer as soon as you get detected. So you either have to be really careful and stealthy, or just enjoy it and murder everyone. Great looking game, awesome story, and the boss battles are bearable at best. Don't let them turn you off of this game though, play it now!

90

I asked for this...

derekthedj | Sept. 28, 2013 | See all derekthedj's reviews »

I rarely preorder games but this was a day-one purchase. You learn quickly that this isn't the type of game where you can take care of business by going in with the guns blazing. Instead it forces you to think your way through each level and each objective can be completed in a number of ways. You gain skills as you progress through the game and each has their strength and weaknesses.

Minus a little bit due to the boss fights that seem, well, out of place compared to the rest of the game. If it weren't for the boss fights, it would be possible to complete the game without killing anyone.

For those deciding between the regular and augmented edition, this version comes with a nice looking .pdf of the fantastic concept art that inspired the design along with a making-of video that filmed their progress through each stage of the development of this game by Eidos Montreal. Finally, it includes the wonderful game soundtrack by Michael McCann.

This game taught me to enjoy stealth games. I recommend it.

95

Worthy Prequel

FlamingDbag | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all FlamingDbag's reviews »

Considering I already own this on PS3 the fact I've bought it TWICE should indicate if I like it or not. (HINT: I probably do.) And yes it does largely feel like a modern version of the original. I actually prefer the gameplay of HR over the original, but not the story even though HR's is still interesting and incredibly immersive. Regardless this is worth playing anyway, even if you've played any Deus Ex game or not. In fact this is a prequel, so starting with this game is not going to spoil anything. So again don't even CONSIDER buying that TF2 hat until you buy this.

100

Wow! I never expected this to be so good

mutsuriini | July 7, 2013 | See all mutsuriini's reviews »

After playing the original game so may years ago, and subsequently being a bit confused by "invisible war" I really didn't know what to expect from this new entry to the series. After all there have been so many other games over the years where they've come back a few years later and completely sucked/ messed up everything that was good about the original. But man alive these guys just about nailed it for this game!

I say just about because yes, it's a bit annoying that there are these unavoidable boss fights that pop up but the rest of the time, the stealth gameplay and RPG elements are perfect. Every problem has a few solutions and every level has multiple paths. You can choose to be honourable and not kill anyone which in turn makes different people react differently to you. Even just conversations can make a difference to what else happens. The storyline is engaging and honestly wouldn't be out of place in a hollywood movie. So if you like stealth gameplay and a bit of intelligence in your shooters, this is a no-brainer! And if you wait to pick it up as a combo pack you can also get the first 2 entries at the same time.

90

Adam never asked for this... but we did

lagendofdoom | July 6, 2013 | See all lagendofdoom's reviews »

First you need to understand that this game is a stealth game and it doesn't supposed to be an action game, so for those who seek a game with lots of shooting and action you might need to search elsewhere. Deus Ex:Human Revolution is Amazing\Wonderful\Intresting and Fun. The Sci-Fi,Rpg,First person shooter is something really special, you won't be able to find a game like this one because there isn't one. The game concentrate on stealth and only on stealth you should play this game as a stealth game and nothing more or less. It is really important to remember that this game is all about stealth. Deus Ex:Human Revolution offers us an intresting ( and a little complicated ) story with nice graphics, intresting characters, a really good level disign which you can pick many ways of how to finish every part of the game, and most important the game offers a Challenge. The only downside of the game is the boss battles which can be quite frustrating, even so the game is simply AMAZING, BUY IT

100

Best game I have ever played

ivancdk | June 8, 2013 | See all ivancdk's reviews »

It's been two years since my first walk through of this game. Few days ago, I decided to give this game another go. Surprisingly, it is still as good as my first. The graphics, the game play, the sound track and especially the story is top notch. For the past two years, no game can yet to reach the benchmark set by this game, which includes Mass Effect 3 and Assassin's Creed 3. Eidos Montreal seems to have invested a lot of effort in this, something EA should learn from them. May be we have to wait for another 5-10 years for a developer to develop a game like this. To those Wii U owner out there, I strongly advised you to buy the director's cut edition. It's worth every penny of it.

85

Take a Look, it may be woth it

LordShogun | June 5, 2013 | See all LordShogun's reviews »

Nice Graphics, Good Story and Gameplay. Also, it's cheap compared to other games. Is not a long game but you can replay it with more difficult and diferent tactics. It laks of a multiplayer and the ending was a little disappointing the way they do it.

97

Best game I have ever played, period.

kr1sEboi | May 25, 2013 | See all kr1sEboi's reviews »

Played the original deus ex and after many, many years, Deus Ex:Human Revolution was released. This game, IMO, the best game I have ever played. It grabbed the perfect ingredients and threw them into the melting pot and by god, it tasted good. The graphics are excellent, very sharp and crisp but I felt that graphics that was illustrating buildings and streets from distances, especially in the helipad scenes could have done better and I feel this is quite literally, the only thing that lets the game down. The soundtrack is excellent and has fits perfectly aswell as the characters, who have been well developed through conversation within the game aswell as being able to see their character from different perspectives - through newspapers, emails and e-books which can be found through looking the game world. The storyline is fantastic, you can tell instantly that alot of studying and ground work has been done in order to make the storylines more believable and the game has been well constructed, with no major flaws within the main storyline at all. The game, with the DLC (The Missing Link) included gives the game even more gameplay and further analysis into what happened at a particular part of the story (I won't elaborate, don't want to ruin the story). In the hardest difficulty, whilst seeking out ebooks, emails etc, this game (including DLC) took me about 40-45 hours of gameplay to complete. It's a bargain, even at full price.

95

I never asked for this... but I'm sure glad I got it

Profoundly_Mad | May 2, 2013 | See all Profoundly_Mad's reviews »

Deus Ex Human Revolution managed to defy pre-release cynicism and emerged as a worthy successor to the original Deus Ex.

The game is part RPG, part action game and part stealth game that provides many choices in how exactly you accomplish your objectives. Do you want to sneak in through the vents? Go in guns blazing? Or even take a diplomatic approach and talk your way out of situations? These are just some of the choices presented to the player.

Sadly the boss fights are probably the weakest part of the game and tend to force you into one particular playstyle to beat them. If you can overlook that however, Deus Ex Human Revolution provides hours of entertainment and is a must buy.

100

A beautiful game

CymTyr | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all CymTyr's reviews »

This game got mixed reviews from the purists and die hards and most of everyone else really enjoyed it. It goes on sale frequently, so my advice for you, if you're wondering if you'll like it, get it on sale, though I can say it's worth the full price.

100% because Eidos resurrected this franchise in a way that made sense, though not everyone who's played it agrees. Make up your own mind, stop reading my review, and GET THIS GAME :)

85

Good game, not as good as the original

999flame | Dec. 26, 2012 | See all 999flame's reviews »

Don't get me wrong, the game is pretty dam nawesome, but it just doesn't live up to the original Deus Ex. If you haven't played the original, just go ahead and jump into Human Revolution, you'll probably enjoy it more.

95

Masterpiece

Lekes | Dec. 25, 2012 | See all Lekes's reviews »

I started the Deus Ex series from the beginning, rolled with the punches through the second, and have come to grips with the recently released DX:HR. To say the least, DX:HR is a great addition to the franchise series of Deus Ex, I have not gotten very far, as I am taking my time and learning the games setup, options, intrigue, and story as well as plot built into the games system through ebooks and emails. The writing and acting in the game is incredible, streaming an awesome cast and very neutral to aggressive outlook for the main character Adam Jenson allowing you to come to terms with the main character without feeling like not a part of the action. All aspects of this game is fun, from the hacking, social, combat, and stealth, everything comes together in a great combination. The only thing that seems to match this games integrety, complexity, gameplay, and story has yet to come out for another few months. And given this games capabilities and concepts, it will probably last just that long if not longer in my game collection as I roll through the games this year. I believe this game deserves a extra .5 added to the score, it soars way above my expectations of the game, and provides that little extra umph that I am glad I waited for.

92

The sequel that satisfy Deus Ex fan

panz3r88 | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

Deus Ex Human Revolution is the action RPG that brings all the best characteristics of the first Deus Ex(one of the best game ever made) in a modern game. The story of this title is a prequel of what happened in the first Deus Ex and as usual is full of conspiracy and strange characters with a hidden agenda. The game is really fun and during the various mission you can complete your objectives using different approach: you can try to kill everyone or try to hide and avoid the contact with the enemy. I usually used this second approach and I found Deus Ex Human Revolution a great stealth game. Deus Ex Human Revolution is a great game and a fan of this series will really love it

80

Best Of Times, Worst Of Times

Shrykeabyss | Dec. 24, 2012 | See all Shrykeabyss's reviews »

Deus Ex: Human Revolution was responsible for some of my favorite gaming moments in 2011. Unfortunately, it was also responsible for some of the worst. Beneath it all, however, is an enjoyably Action-RPG that is definitely worth your time.

The high point of Deus Ex: Human Revolution was, for me, the incredibly well implemented conversation mechanic, where you attempt to gain information from your adversaries by choosing one of three responses to continue the conversation. This may not sound revolutionary, but it's the way the game makes you feel like you have an actual influence on the outcome, and not based on any arbitrary number of conversation points you may have, such as in Mass Effect. Of course, there are augmentations that help you in conversation, but they generally help you pick from the existing list of options, rather than adding new ones, which just adds to the sense of pleasure you get when you finally manage to draw out that crucial piece of information.

Another noteworthy point is the games distinctive black & gold aesthetic, which does a very good job of highlighting collectibles as well as interesting locations, while still maintaining the worlds clean and futuristic feel.

However, all of this is offset by my two biggest gripes. The leveling system, and the boss fights, both of which do their best to ruin the thing that made Deus Ex so highly rated in the first place - choice.

In a game that supposedly promotes players finding their own solution to problems, the boss fights turn this idea completely on it's head. You can't sneak around to silently take out your enemy, you can't hack a turret system and turn it against them, the only thing you can do is hide behind cover and fire a conveniently placed rocket launcher at them while they are reloading. And if you're playing a stealth focused character then you'll be quick-saving quite a bit because, unless you've invested in the armor augmentations, you'll find yourself dying whenever you pop your head out of cover.

Not that it matters that much because the augmentation system more or less removes player choice by around half way through the game. There are simply too many upgrade kits available for the number of augmentations you have to choose from, so you'll quickly activate the ones unnecessary to your chosen style, and be left upgrading augmentations you otherwise wouldn't use. This creates the scenario where you end up mastering just about every ability, turning the game into going one route through an encounter, then going back through all the other paths to pick up any loot you may have missed.

Overall though, Deus Ex: Human Revolution does most things right, and I would recommend the game to anyone who likes the original game, and action games in general.

85

A great game, not perfect.

thefinalhope | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all thefinalhope's reviews »

Human Revolution came out exactly when it needed to. It showed today's masses that FPS's can be more than linear experiences. Eidos looked at what the original CLASSIC Deus Ex did well, and did it's best to try and keep it intact for the masses of today.

For the most part, it succeeds. And succeeds well. I was actually very pleasantly surprised to see how much it felt like a Deus Ex game, which in this day and age I thought could never happen.

The first thing fans should notice is the art direction and the absolutely incredible score. Micheal McCann should be cherished for his absolutely incredible work in Human Revolution. The score is beautiful and fits and feels absolutely great in the game. The art style is also fantastic. From an art point of view, the game is often stunning in terms of such realized design. Technically, the game isn't too good looking. Low resolution textures are the main problem, but the game does sport some nice PC features, such as DX11 tessellation (which in most cases, you cannot tell the difference, but it's certainly there).

Story wise, it's nothing amazing, but it's certainly worthy of Deus Ex and offers a conspiracy filled and thought provoking story that will have you thinking and immersed throughout the entire game. Side quests are generally well thought out and great to explore as well, but there is one issue with these that I'll speak about later.

Gameplay, it feels like Deus Ex. The game is open ended, and there are a couple of hubs that are completely open for you to explore and complete side quests. They aren't very large, but they are visually stunning. There is also several ways to play the game and lots of ways to augment your abilities to make you better as whatever kind of player you want to be. You don't get penalized for shooting everything, so if that's how you like to play, you can play like that. However, I believe it's confirmed that you get more XP for being stealthy, which I'd imagine is a bummer for those who wish to play more aggressive. Multiple ways to complete quests are also in the game full force, with there usually being a conversation way to completing an objective, a stealthy way, hacking style or just plain old aggression. It's great to return to this open ended style of gameplay, allowing the player to choose how to complete objectives in often creative ways.

In terms of flaws, the elephant in the room is the boss fights. In Deus Ex, you could run away from a boss encounter and completely ignore the encounter. AND IT SUPPORTED THIS, and there was changes in the story if you did this. In today's gaming world, NOBODY would think that would be possible, and unfortunately, it isn't here as well. They are forced, tacky, and not needed. Side quests don't really matter much in the end as well, which is disappointing as well as most game choices.

Besides this though, you cannot go wrong with Human Revolution. You don't need to have played the other games to understand this, however if you have, you will certainly notice and appreciate the homages paid. Overall, it's a breath of fresh air in today's overly congested linear games.

Recommended.

95

One of the best games of this generation

oginer | Nov. 4, 2012 | See all oginer's reviews »

Very good game with interesting gameplay and good storyline. It doesn't give you the amount of freedom that the first one of the series, but it comes close enough. There are always several paths to your goal, some obvious, some quite hidden, you can choose direct confrontation, or stealth. And here comes the biggest flaws of the game: if you play stealth you still are forced to beat the bosses (unlike in the original Desu Ex) and you'll most probably lack weapons if you didn't know this beforehand. And the bosses are quite hard.

95

Third times the charm.

Damien_Azreal | Oct. 10, 2012 | See all Damien_Azreal's reviews »

I've always loved the Deus Ex series. But, while I've loved them... I've always firmly believed they are very flawed games in some way or another. The first one tells a wonderful story and does offer some creative and fun gameplay elements. But, the stiff gameplay and dull gunplay, horrible voice acting... and bland visual style does drag the experience down.

Invisible War again tells a great story. But, suffers from it's fumbled development and broken "vision" of what the game should be. While it's slightly more open for people to get into... it does suffer from the same problems of the first one. But with smaller levels and far more constant loading times.

Human Revolution is the first game in the series that I personally feel nails the entire package. The story is fantastic and engaging, drawing me in and kept me interested in what would happen. While giving the levels a decent size, not too large and not too small. They fit the story and missions they were putting the player in. With enough depth and polish to the gameplay (be it stealth or gunplay) that it's fun to play. It doesn't feel stiff or unsatisfying. It felt complete.

Top it off with a brilliant visual style and color pallet and you've got an amazing game. And finally brings a return to the FPS/R{G hybrid that truly gives player choice in how they want to play.

95

A work of gaming art

hylian90 | Oct. 6, 2012 | See all hylian90's reviews »

I've started and restarted writing this review several times. Human Revolution is so good I can't decide where to start explaining why, or how to make my point succinctly. It's the sequel the original Deus Ex deserves.

It's really a love letter to the sci-fi genre. The plot explores complex themes like the ethics of scientific progress, the definition of our own humanity, wealth distribution, and violent vs nonviolent activism. But more importantly, it explores those themes in ways that are subtle, mature and capture the complexity of the moral questions. The writers never bash you over the head with their message.

And it's got the gameplay to match. The visuals may not look like much at first (some textures are noticeably low-res, and lip syncing is not terribly good), but once the game sets you loose in the first hub, the art direction of the game takes over. The graphics may not be technically impressive, but the visual style of the game is at times breath-taking. Think Blade Runner. The game offers a variety of gameplay options, from stealth to combat to social manipulation, all of which are done nearly to perfection.

I honestly can't recommend this game enough. It's engaging, intelligent, thought-provoking and most importantly FUN. It was worth every penny of the MSRP on release day. Whatever it costs now, buy it. You'll be getting a good deal.

97

What means humanity

JohnySVK | Sept. 17, 2012 | See all JohnySVK's reviews »

First it's one of the best games i've ever played. Human Revolution is an action first person shooter with RPG elements(you can upgrade abilities). Cover system works perfectly in third person view. The gameplay is very classic but it seems innovative just because today's games are too simple but it's a plus for the game. The game tells story about some kind of bodyguard Adam Jensen who is almost killed in action and he's forced to be augmented(implanted). He's starting a new life. i wont tell anything else about the story but at the end YOU will chose the way that the world and humanity will go. And it really has the best soundtrack i've ever heard. In every mission you can choose between the silent stealth way, the "Rambo style" and something between but the ways are mostly linear and the way doesn't mean way like option but way like a path so the ways are really simple to find but it's a really great thing you can choose. So prepare for real movie like experience and one of the best game stories. Maybe the only bad thing about the game is that the main character has really weird cigarette voice.

90

Great Game

skulldude50 | Sept. 15, 2012 | See all skulldude50's reviews »

This game is all about choices. Do I run in, shooting up everyone I see? Do I just sneak by, hacking the security systems? I love these types of games, it truly immerses you into the game. Dialogue options are also great; show someone how you really feel, not how Adam feels.

The graphics are amazing! I have all the setting on max and it's looking pretty beautiful right now!

The game mechanics are great. You can even custom map your keys to personalize your game play. It also has smooth transitions from first person to third person; whether you're taking cover or taking down one of the bad guys.

90

Deus Ex: Human Revolution

skyipie | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all skyipie's reviews »

In Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew about your job changes. At a time when scientific advancements are routinely turning athletes, soldiers and spies into super-enhanced beings, someone is working very hard to ensure mankind's evolution follows a particular path. You need to discover why - because the decisions you take and the choices you make will be the only things that can determine mankind's future.

95

Best Game Ever

YouCallMeNaz | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all YouCallMeNaz's reviews »

Ok, i'll be honest with you, this game is not exactly what i expected it to be. After Deus Ex Human Revolution was released, i was pretty to sure that the graphics will definitely be on the edge, but of course, i was wrong. Again, i felt the urge to at least give it a try and i can tell you this, this game has shown its beauty in an amazing way. From underground sewers, hacking devices and so on, i admit that this game has really shown its target. What kind of target you say? Its target, which is to explore the future in a new way.

86

Deus Ex Human Revolution, just another game or a masterpiece?

stirling | Sept. 4, 2012 | See all stirling's reviews »

The Deus Ex series is by far one of the greatest series of games i've ever played. And the latest edition to this series certainly does the others proud. With its unique assassination system that allows you to stealthy creep up being your victim on break there neck, then hide the body or go in with guns blazing and tear the house down with your variety of guns.

The story to the game is thrilling and deep you play as Adam Jenson, a half cyborg half man, you follow Adam o his journey to unravel many conspiracy and hunt down the men that brought down serif industries.

Overall the whole series is iconic and a work of art and human revolution just adds to the canvas of masterpieces!

92

Very good game!

Zinzun | Aug. 27, 2012 | See all Zinzun's reviews »

This game is wonderful. Initially,it's really slow but when you go throught the story, it takes you until the end of it. You can approch every situation in many ways, like the first Deus Ex. Stealth option,of course, is the best, but if you want to shoot all the enemies, well, you can,thanks to the augmentations you can gain levelling up. There are also several side-missions,and for many of them you can choose different ways to accomplish them. The game is forty hours long,but you will never be tired of it. A must buy,a truly rpg and a perfect prequel to the legendary Deus Ex.

89

I Never Asked For This... GREAT GAME!

WalrusKing171 | Aug. 23, 2012 | See all WalrusKing171's reviews »

Deus Ex comes out in a time of great innovation. The graphics are smooth and the game play is solid. It gave me a solid 25 hours of fun in the sun. The shades gave me the confidence to "stealthily" attack some ladies in the street. The choice between brute strength and stealth made the game fun and challenging. The character and dialogue are the best ever. I quote lines to my friends everyday. They have no idea what I'm talking about, but I digress. Overall: this game is great if you love stealth games and beating innocent people in the street.

90

Worthy of the name Deus Ex.

KenpoJuJitsu3 | Aug. 14, 2012 | See all KenpoJuJitsu3's reviews »

This game is simply excellent. The gameplay is spot on. The controls are spot on. The audio is great. The story and characters are interesting. The visuals are quality and consistent. The performance is excellent and it has the options PC gamers are accustomed to while also being gamepad friendly for those so inclined.

Being another game to bear the Deus Ex name (one of the best games of all time) there was a lot of pressure on this game to deliver. It delivered, and continues to deliver. I'd have scored the game higher if not for one glaring issue. Boss battles. This games has some pretty standard boss battles that are at odds with the glorious open freedom of playstyle that the rest of the game not only allows but openly encourages.

100

One of the best RPG avaible

TronLight | Aug. 8, 2012 | See all TronLight's reviews »

Deus Ex Human Revolution it's simply one of the best game (if not the best) that you can found in this generation. Before you play it, you should know, it's not an FPS, so please, don't call him like that. Deus Ex Human Revolution is an RPG where you can decide if you want to shoot someone. Because you can choose between a wide range of possibilities, like going non-lethal (with stun-gun and melee takedowns) , stealth (lethal with silenced guns and non-lethal), fps-like, or a mixed way. The cool thing is that the game keep track of your body-count, and therefore you will have a different ending depending on the number of kills you made. The gameplay is very simple, but yet very solid. It plays like an FPS, but when you're near a wall you can activate the cover system, that allow you to hide beyond a wall or every other object. It's a core mechanics, whether you choose to play like a normal FPS (because it allows you to regain health, even if not so fast, so be careful!), wheter you choose to play in a stealth way, because it allows you to spot your enemies without be seen. The game comes (like any good RPG) with a very complete but simple power-up system. You will obtain a Praxis point every level you gain, and this point can be spent into the upgrade menu to purchase augmentation. But, you can obtain Praxis not only by gaining level. You can (well, you should) explore the three big cities in the game, and by discovering secret places you may come across some praxis kit (and anyway, exploring is a fast way to gain XP points, which allows to unlock other Praxis point). On the story... Well, I don't want to spoil anything about this awesome game, but I think that if you appreciated sci-fi and fanta-politics you won't regret playing this game. On a technical side, the game is good. It's pretty well optimized, so you will be able to play it even on an older pc, but even on max settings it's not outstanding. Reflections and particles effects (smoke, fire) aren't that good, facial and body animation neither, the cities are well crafted, the atmosphere it's marvelous, but on a pure technical side there are better games. In conclusion, Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a game that everyone should play.

90

The true sequel to Deus Ex

Neohoodman | Aug. 6, 2012 | See all Neohoodman's reviews »

The Deus Ex series is a touchy subject. Considered by many as a classic and 'required reading' for games (opinions I share with them), the sequels/remakes never captured the right mix of atmosphere, gameplay and options. Options, options, options. Decisions that actually make an impact.

Deus Ex: Human Revolution changes that. DE:HR is the first true sequel (actually, a prequel) to the original game. Things that made the original so great (the amount of choices, the setting, openness) all made it to HR with a slight modern tint. While gameplay might feel a bit janky for the original Deus Ex nowadays, DE:HR has polished gunplay and feels very good to play. The story follows cookiecutter conspiracy themes that belong to the genre/series, but they're still enjoyable.

All in all the original Deus Ex is still iconic and master, while Human Revolution is several steps in the perfect direction. It sets the bar and earns its place next to Deus Ex.

65

It was ok

rstokes | July 25, 2012 | See all rstokes's reviews »

I didn't really dislike Deus Ex HR. But i didn't particularly like it either. It felt like a watered down Metal gear to me. I really didn't like that the melee system was linked to energy and removed you from the game world for several seconds. I finished the game and dont see myself getting any of the DLC or ever playing it again, a totally forgettable experience

96

Wasn't expecting a game this good

PedroVarela | July 20, 2012 | See all PedroVarela's reviews »

After Invisible War, I was quite skeptic about a new Deus Ex. Turns out I was wrong. A splendind cyberpunk ambient, along with the classic augmentations.

The game honours the first Deus Ex, bringing back the stealth factor, good as ever! It is also a nice shooter, pleasing the more "agressive" players, such as myself. The mechanics are very acessible to play with.

The graphics feature tesselation, enhancing the graphics. However they can take a lot of resources, so make sure you have a fine computer to admire what this game has to offer.

Good games do come once in a while, so make sure to grab a copy of this one.

97

An homage to classic PC gaming

makosuite | July 17, 2012 | See all makosuite's reviews »

What can be said about this game that hasn't been said already? It's been out for quite some time, and every corner of the Internet has been littered with articles praising or maiming some feature of the game.

What can be said that isn't said nearly enough about this game is this: Deus Ex: Human Revolution is an homage to classic PC gaming that doesn't suffer from cliche novelty or gimmick'd, cheeky scenarios. The creators of this game have walked across a narrow edge--where if they feel to the left, it would be a game only remembered as a tribute to The Game, and if they fell to the right, they would have a well-built, stylistic game with writing that is absolutely disjointed from its predecessor.

What I can guarantee you is this: If you enjoyed Deus Ex at all, you will find something within DEHR that will intrigue you.

On a side note, the soundtrack written by Michael McCann is one of the best electronic compositions ever made for a video game.

Simply put: Visuals: 9/10 (Phenomenal lighting, strong neo renaissance themes) Sound: 10/10 (One of the best scored games I can think of) Gameplay 9/10 (Frustrating DE1 systems removed, fantastic systems retained) Control 8/10 (Third person cover system far better than Mass Effect, menus occasionally difficult to navigate) Overall 9.7/10

95

Was worried this was going to be another Invisible War

Suienreizo | July 7, 2012 | See all Suienreizo's reviews »

Could not be more happy with how this game, in my eyes, redeemed the Deus Ex series after the horror that was the sequel.

The art style is quite pleasing, music plays well into the setting, the overall story enjoyable if not a bit transparent in some ways, the augmentation system felt right, cut scenes look excellent, and the voice acting wasn't cringe inducing.

The multiple methods of working your way towards objectives with suited more towards certain styles of play reminded me fondly of the original title. No need to be the terminator and slay everything in sight.

Currency in the game was far too easy to come by which made acquiring equipment fairly brainless and the boss battles could completely throw off the pace of the game if you made more of a spy/sneaky character than an outright bruiser. Even with the minor flaws, that the developers owned up to I might add, this game shines as an example of what I hope future titles attempt to achieve.

95

Great game with minor problems.

Nauticle | July 6, 2012 | See all Nauticle's reviews »

I never played a Deus Ex game before this one came out and my god, it is simply amazing. The universe is very interesting and has lots of depth to it. The combat is very satisfying though a bit easy even on the higher difficulties. The sound quality is out of this world along with the graphic quality. The only problem I have with this game is the boss battles being way to easy and lackluster.

94

Human Revolution keeps the standard high

Finka_Karfein | June 17, 2012 | See all Finka_Karfein's reviews »

I do not know if I really need to praise here all the good things. I think they are pretty known to the greenmangamers interested in Deus Ex: Human Revolution. Just to enumerate the positives: story, quests, gameplay, dialogues, atmosphere, audio, bonus content in Augmented Edition... Bad things? Well, there are occasional bugs connected with graphics and the graphics are not of the Crysis quality but they do the job nicely. Returning to the story, it is very good apart from the ending. You just choose between three switches... what? I thought the original Deus Ex gave the option of the ending too late but this one is went too far. And this is rather all of them. Any other remarks? Yes, Augmented Edition is the only true edition to buy because it has the DLCs which add to the game Rescue Tong Mission and some items which should be in the basic version (those items were handy and present in the original Deus Ex - and they cut it out from basic Human Revolution). All in all, a must-buy for all players who like FPP games and a good story. A real must-buy-right-now for Deus Ex fans. Especially with discounts.

85

A great game

simonsix | June 15, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a great game, but is not as great as the original. A solid, fun shooter. The aiming mechanics are fine, and although occasionally frustrating, the cover system works fine. Storyline and the characters are interesting. The voice acting is good, the action is excellent, and the atmosphere is dark and gritty.

95

Amazing prequel to the best game ever!

ilyabru | June 14, 2012 | See all ilyabru's reviews »

This game is amazing and exiting and if you loved the original you will still love this one. Although it feels a little simplified The atmosphere, story, sound, voices are all still amazing. The game can take you up to 50 hours to beat and you will probably play this game twice so it's well worth the money!

93

Best purchase I've ever made for 2011

Zyinxz | Nov. 15, 2011 | See all Zyinxz's reviews »

Where do I begin? The story was great. Within the first 10 minutes, I wanted to know more of the storyline. This isn't your generic game that you can easily pass on, especially with the gameplay replay value.

While I do like the storyline, I personally think it was too short. When you have a game like Deux EX:HR here, you would want the main story/gameplay to be at least 50 hours minimum, not 15 - 30hrs max. The side missions were alright, but I wished they could of at least brought in more close personal friends or family members of the main character and make them as the side missions rather then helping out an undercover cop prostitute.

I like these kind of games that makes you think outside the box. Makes you see the bigger picture. You don't want to go all out rambo? That's fine, you can be as sneaky as Batman. There are usually 2 approaches in getting from Point A to Point B. The usual and obvious path is the doors, and the other is the sneaky path where you get into vents to get where you want. This adds replay value to the game which of course, everybody loves replay values.

The graphics are great, but I can't say much for the cutscenes. I feel as if the cutscenes for the PC were an afterthought considering the fact that it looks rather bad then good. The cutscenes were most likely made for the console players then PC players.

Overall, this is a magnificent game that you don't want to miss out on. The main story gets you into the game, as well as the augmentations you unlock while progressing the game. The only thing I wish they would improve on is the cutscene quality.

92

Against all odds, a true heir to the Deus Ex style

UltraGT | Oct. 13, 2011 | See all UltraGT's reviews »

I was frankly surprised by how good this game turned out to be. There was a lot of expectation for this prequel to a legendary game, but I'm glad to say it delivered. Levels with multiple paths, different approaches to combat or stealth, great conspiracy-themed story, awesome art style...oh, and this time the gunplay is nice and satisfying, unlike DE1.

It's true that it has some minor annoyances, the main one being the crappy boss battles, along with an unbalanced economy and too many praxis points at the end of the game...but like I said, minor things for an otherwise excellent Deus Ex successor. This is, without a doubt, one of the best (if not the best) games I played this year.

90

Almost Perfect

lonewolf80 | Sept. 22, 2011 | See all lonewolf80's reviews »

In most game series, sequels usually ruin the game, bringing along lots of unwanted features. However, Deus Ex Human Revolution doesn't fail to impress. The game allows players to complete objectives (as well as travel in cities) in any way they please, as long as they have the augments to do so. Players can play any role in this game, from a stealthy ghost operative to a rampaging mass murderer. The game also brings back the inventory system from the original Deus Ex, which is always a pleasant return, considering how Invisible War's clunky inventory was one of it's main gripes. Certain bosses require some augments to complete, and although it can be through multiple ways, there are some augmentation combinations that leave players trapped, unable to continue. Overall, the game is great, but not without the random bug or annoyance.

95

Fantastic

omnigeno | Sept. 7, 2011 | See all omnigeno's reviews »

Many ambitious games fall flat on their face. The Eidos Montreal team had their work cut out for them when they were chosen to make the amazingly ambitious follow up to the cult classic and multiple game of the year award winning Deus Ex. They delivered. Deus Ex Human Revolution is a lot of fun to play. This game makes you think - not only whether or not to kill, knock out, or sneak past your foes; not only whether or not to help certain groups achieve thier goals. Its portrayal of both the dangers and the hope brought upon by advancements in biotechnology is amazingly relevant and thought-provoking. Play this game for the great action and RPG systems; finish this game for the eerily relevant philosophy. Definitely a top 5 game of 2011.

95

Incredible Game

Bungieware | Sept. 5, 2011 | See all Bungieware's reviews »

It's very rare to find a game that draws you into the universe completely, but this is one of those game. The art style, the characters, the level design; everything comes together to make this an unforgettable experience.

The gameplay is fantastic as well. You can literally play this however you want. Whilst it rewards you for exploring, being stealthy, hacking computers and completing additional objectives, you always have the fire-power to take the enemy head on. The AI is pretty good for an RPG, and you can use the environment to your advantage depending on your abilities.

This is a game that rewards you for thinking outside of the box. Whether it's stacking boxes to reach previously inaccessible areas, or positioning turrets to block the path of enemy.

The augmented edition adds an fantastic art book that really gives you appreciation of the work that went into crafting the incredible art style. There's a 'making of' video as well, which I'm sure you'll want to watch once you complete the game.

The only negatives I can attach to Deus Ex: Human Revolution are that there's no new game + option, and the graphics are ok but nothing special. Otherwise it's an amazing game that I would recommend to anyone.

100

Absolutely Perfect

vigotski | Sept. 5, 2011 | See all vigotski's reviews »

This game is absolutely perfect. But what does it have that makes it so good? The answer is "choice". You can play it anyway you want. Wanna be a ninja? Check. A hacker? Check. Rambo cover? Check. And it's not simply a "character build", you feel compensated for any choice you take.

The story is very deep and involving, full of mysteries and conspiracies. You are always wanting to know what happens next, making you play the game like a maniac!

Weapon customization. Aahh... amazing. See that revolver at the beginning of the game? By the end it can be so lethal take even the Terminator would avoid a gunfight with you.

The graphics are very polished and well made. They contribute a lot with the cyberpunk feel of the game. The music score is heavenly, you'll never forget it after so many hours play this piece of art. Buy Deus Ex: Human Revolution RIGHT NOW!

The augmented edition items are very interesting, they help you get in the mood for the game.

95

The best in the series

souldemolish | Sept. 5, 2011 | See all souldemolish's reviews »

This game is one to get. It takes the good points of deus ex and invisible war (THE GOOD POINTS) and combines them to make a almost true to form near perfect pc game. The only reason they don't succeed is because of the console limited graphics which is a shame but nevertheless, this is a must buy. The controls feel good, and the game gives tons of choices as to how you complete a quest. If you enjoyed Deus ex 1 and/or 2, GET THIS GAME, if you didnt, GET IT ANYWAY.

90

Almost Perfection... Almost

PaperDog | Sept. 3, 2011 | See all PaperDog's reviews »

Deus Ex (pronounced as Day-us Eck) Human Revolution is a game of near perfection. After playing it for over 35 hours (and still replaying it), this game has much going for it. Of course I am bias for the game because I was huge fan of the original. I will still try to keep it as objective as possible though.

When you start the game, the first element you will notice is the terrific art direction. The architecture, the furniture, clothing, logos, all of them have very distinct and eye appealing features to them. The world truly does feel alive. Detroit is very run down and looks to be on the verge of anarchy. Hengshu is a massive economic city (one could say cities) with a lower level city and a higher level city on top. Eidos Montreal did a terrific job in world building.

Another appealing aspect is the gameplay mechanics. I was fearful for a console port like Deus Ex: Invisible War was, but thankfully it's not. The shooting and movement elements are very smooth with keyboard and mouse control. Shooting enemies with a 10 mm pistol that has the armor piercing upgrade is quite satisifying. Pistols not your style? No need to worry as there are other weapons as well. If you prefer the non-lethal approach, there are several options for you. Watching Rambo is your favorite thing, then feel free.

Then there is the storyline. Although not as deep as the first game, it is still very good and has a personalized feel to it. The plot is advanced through looking at emails, reading the scattered ebooks, and through characters and cutscenes. The best nuggets of the storyline involves conspiracies that's nestled in secret areas. I do not want to spoil the storyline at all, but it's definitely a Deus Ex plot. The only weakpoint might be that it feels more scifi than a conspiracy thriller, but that is ok in my book.

Unfortunately, the game does have some flaws. One of the flaws is that the gameplay does favor stealth mechanics more than the run-and-gun approach. You gain more experience points from stealth takedowns than you do with guns blazing. This allows a stealth character to have more augmentations, which allows them to be more powerful in the end. This one flaw in the gameplay can make roleplaying a Rambo character difficult.

Another flaw is the character models. Although Adam Jensen (the protaganist) looks fantastic with DirectX 11 on, the other characters do not look as good. This is the most apparent in the secondary and fill in models. Their facial movement feels unnatural and their body movement appears stiff. It is as though the character models come from 2008-2009. By no means are they ugly, just unnatural.

The biggest flaw in my opinion is the boss fights. This might be a small spoiler, so if you do not wish to read it please skip this paragraph. You are forced to fight the bosses and kill them. There is no other option. If you are a stealth character, then you will have some issues with it. It took me several times with my stealth character on the normal difficulty. If you are playing a non-lethal character, you will have issues as well. A tip I have for you is the stun gun and EMP grenades are the best tools to taking them out. How they did the boss fights is a direct 180 from what they did with the game. Through out the game you had several options from sneaking to killing. Then suddenly you had no choice. It greatly interferes with your roleplaying experience, especially if you're attempting a non-lethal approach to the game.

In the end, this game is near perfection. It is a true Deus Ex sequel. Unfortunately there are flaws that keeps it from reaching a higher plane, but it's still no excuse to not getting this game. If you are a PC gamer, this is a must have game of the year.

100

A more then worthy follow up to Deus ex

joeman098 | Sept. 3, 2011 | See all joeman098's reviews »

This game is a beautiful blend of stealth tactical combat and social interaction. there is no overt good or bad choices the conversations are more in depth then i have ever seen in a RPG. if you are the more run and gun type this game wont really be for you as more thought is required. if you try and run into a fight guns blazing you will probably end up on the floor rather quickly. the AI in this game will flank you, suppress you while others try and get around. toss grenades at you and all around try and ruin your day. some of the smartest ai I have ever seen. this game is def worth every cent.

84

Very well made game

rstokes | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all rstokes's reviews »

While not the stealth/choice powerhouse it was hyped up to be, Deus ex Human Revolution still managed to exceed my expectations. The game gives you several different ways to deal with most obstacle, and upgrades called augmentations can open up new doors.Though I never really felt like my decisions had any impact on the game, and load times were horrendous (then again it did motivate me not to die). All of that aside the combat system is extremely satisfying, with a heavy emphasis on stealth and the use of cover to complete your objectives. You are given the choice to kill or knock out enemies, though it seems more like a coma that can only be broken with a light tap from a comrade. I was also very disappointed in the graphics, not to say they are bad. Actually far from it, Most of the game is highly detailed. But while some characters/textures are detailed and HD others look like something out of a 2006 shooter. Even Jensen's coat seems to have a rather low texture compared to other characters clothes. In short its a solid mix of a FPS , RPG elements through augmentation, and a stealth action. If you're computer can handle the high requirments i would highly suggest this game, hell even if it cant play it through onlive

99

Pretty much Perfect

Ratmandu79 | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all Ratmandu79's reviews »

This is probably the closest to perfection that a video can get. despite initial teething problems and an influx of patches at the games release to make it work preoperly the game is now working perfectly and all can enjoy what is probably the game of 2011. whether you want to go in guns blazing or sneak your way around every enemy in the game there is an augmentation and path for you. loaded with hidden places to explore for all those RPG fanatics out there and plenty of enemies to satisfy even the most hardcore FPS nut. exceeds every expectation you could have possibly had whether you are a fan of the original game or if it is your first foray into the Deus Ex universe. Definitely a must buy.

90

Fantastic game!

Kane666 | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all Kane666's reviews »

Having never played any of the other Deus Ex titles I had no expectations or prejudice coming into this game. Simply put, it was awesome.

I really enjoyed the fact that you could play the game many different ways. You could use stealth and non lethal tactics, stealth and lethal tactics, or just run in guns blazing. So many different playing styles means I'll HAVE to play this game a few times. Not to mention the additional endings.

The only con, which has been mentioned in another review, is the boss battles. The arena style battles are fairly mindless but my biggest complaint was that I was forced to switch from my usual play style (non lethal stealth) to a straight up gun fight. With only so much inventory space its tough to keep a variety of non lethal weapons but also have a backup powerful enough for boss fights (and also be able to carry any decent items other than weapons).

Truly a great game with lots to explore and discover.

88

A great, atmospheric stealth game

gupp | Sept. 2, 2011 | See all gupp's reviews »

When a new Deus Ex game was announced, I didn't have any expectations. After the horrible reception Invisible War got, I was sure this game would meet a similar fate. Oh, how wrong I was. Human Revolution is a prequel to the first game, and retains the characteristic cyber-punk stylings of the franchise perfectly. Neon lights, dark alleys, grey skies and above all: sunglasses in all weathers! The gameplay is a mix of stealth and first-person shooting, with plenty of depth and opportunities to choose your own path through the complex levels. You could hack a turret to take out the guards, kill them from the shadows, go out guns blazing or simply sneak past everything in your way. It's your choice. And that single, but important word, the word that defined the first game and has now been carried on as the most important characteristic of Human Revolution, is as beautiful as it is simple: choice. I will warn potential buyers that there are problems with periodical stuttering and audio delay for some users (including me), but hopefully these issues will be fixed in a patch.

90

A saviour for pc, but will console gamers approve?

Colt2911 | Sept. 1, 2011 | See all Colt2911's reviews »

You know ur playing a good game when even the title screen ngive you the jitters! after the intro sequence dissapered and the words Deus Ex Human Revolution were splashed across the screen I was feeling its power! This is the game i've been imagining in my head for so long!

Multiple Paths-Check Multiple guns- Check Multiple Multiples- CHECK CHECK CHECK.

Im sure alot of people were worried that this wouldn't live up to the pressure off being the TRUE sequel to the highest rated PC game off all time. But my GOLLY MISS MOLLY has this game met them. Back soon guys, im off to shoot hoops for 20 minutes in Boston.

95

A deserving prequel

Chibithor | Aug. 28, 2011 | See all Chibithor's reviews »

The long awaited prequel to the highly regarded Deus Ex is here, and sure enough, Human Revolution takes what made the original great and brings it to the current generation, and it does it well. The gameplay feels good, and improves on the predecessor significantly, and the controls are fluid whether it is exploring the world or combat. The game favors a stealthy approach, but ultimately leaves you to play it as you wish. Choice is what Human Revolution is all about. With different augmentations and weapons to choose from, you can approach the missions in the game in any way you want.

The excellent level design which all have multiple paths to different places, open environments and mission structure creates a very well maintained balance between a free-roaming and plot-driven game. Conversations use a conversation wheel which works well, and there is an interrogation mechanic which is interesting and very rewarding. Graphically it is not the most impressive game, but I felt that it kept the Deus Ex feel very well, and the design overcomes the technical flaws most of the time. Some animations, especially mouth animation during dialogue seem a little off, but it doesn't noticeably hinder the game. Overall the game is fantastic, and any flaws it has are minor and easily dismissed, as you get immersed again into the futuristic world of Deus Ex.

94

Leave no lock unhacked.

omnipotentgrape | Aug. 27, 2011 | See all omnipotentgrape's reviews »

Jumping straight into Human Revolution, I was extremely happy to say that this game is worth your money. The dialogue is fantastic, gunplay is decent (It definitely is not the main focus though.), and the stealth is freakin rad. Seriously. Forget Metal Gear. This just feels much more natural. Combat takes strategy. Run in guns blazing? Dead. Hide and wipe them out? Alive. Leveling up in this game is very interesting. As you level up, you get 'Praxis Points', which you can spend on 'augmentations' for your character. Not only does this fit perfectly with the story, it also is really engaging. Do I get the Hacking skill? Or do I want to see through walls? You can't pick them all, so some thought goes into this.

CONS: Graphics are... eh... dated. Very playable, just not Amazing. My major gripe is the forced bossfights. The stealth that you might've been using the whole time is worth nothing with these encounters. You have to blast them to bits, with your guns. Not really engaging, just mindeless.

Don't let this get to you. There are only a few boss fights, and the atmosphere of the game more than makes up for the graphics. Buy this game. I rest my case.

95

Exceeded My Expectations

Endyo | Aug. 26, 2011 | See all Endyo's reviews »

After thoroughly playing through this game over the past couple of days, I have to say that I am certainly happy with Deus Ex: Human Revolution. It lives up to its predecessor in both gameplay and story and will keep you playing much longer than you intended. While it's not completely perfect, I have to say it is amongst the best games I've played recently and a must-buy for any fan of Deus Ex, or the RPG/Shooter market.

First let me begin with the graphics. With my now mediocre computer I managed to set the graphical tuning reasonably high and still maintained an solid framerate in all but the most intense events. That being said, the graphics were sometimes hit or miss. I can understand the need to keep some textures lower resolution or lower some polygon counts when you want to load a huge area (which is often done) in a timely manner and avoid the constant loads you see in other modern shooters. However, there are some areas where I wish they had focused a little more to please the eyes. For one, the skybox looks like the same one you saw in the original Deus Ex 11 years ago. That was strange to me. Also, it just felt like some objects were muddy or just not at the same level as the rest of the game.

Another issue I found a bit distracting is that the animations for some characters were very wild and gestures were over the top. It seemed some characters were just flailing arms around regardless of what they were saying. Yet in all cases these can be easily overlooked as you enjoy traversing between buildings and large areas without load screens. And with the most recent patch, loading is so fast you sometimes can't even read the tips that grace each one. I assume with a faster computer they would barely show up.

Something that I found truly impressive was that, after turning off the “object highlighting,” many useful objects were seamlessly integrates with the surroundings. You might be able to pick up a bottle of painkillers, but they'll be on a shelf of other unusable items and you can't discern them from any other object without moving the cursor over them. It seems like this is the reason they included the highlight function to begin with. However, I have to admire their ability to integrate them so flawlessly. On the same note, I would suggest keeping the objective icons on because navigating the large areas can be extremely difficult if you don't know exactly where you're going. These regions are so large and so rich with random buildings, rooms, and people that you'll find yourself just wandering around looking for nice random goodies instead of doing any of the missions.

Graphics aside, the game is extremely fun. It of course plays much like the original Deus Ex with lots of sneaking (perhaps more) and plenty of action. Of course both depend on how you wish to play. You can approach a situation head on with guns blazing (though early on it might get you killed quickly), or you can skillfully sneak around an entire group of enemies and never fight a single one. Or maybe you'll maneuver your way to the proper computer and turn a turret against them without ever lifting more than a finger for a few keystrokes. Hacking was one of the routes I followed most intensely. In doing so, you can clear yourself a glorious path to your goal by simply deactivating cameras, or go on the offense by turning an automated robot against your enemies with devastating effect. You will also be able to use the skill to unlock doors and safes as well as various mission-related objectives with ease. The gun combat is as intense as any of the FPS games you'll find. You can have scenarios where you engage several enemies as once and they'll use intelligent tactics to suppress you behind cover, or clear you from it to get the kill... and kill they will. Even maxing out your armor doesn't give you a lot of protection as enemies become more resilient and use deadlier weapons. Cover is something you'll have to cling to like it's your only hope (and often it is) else you'll end up looking at the load screen for the tenth time. Taken as a whole, these gameplay aspects are the real core of what makes Deus Ex: Human Revolution a quality game.

One of the most compelling aspects of the game is how each acquired skill opens up different routes in meeting an objective. Whether you make yourself more apt to survive direct combat, or make yourself so sufficiently stealthy that no one finds you, or hack your way through door to circumvent the whole process, your skills can make each aspect of that more or less viable... or even possible at all. For instance, you may see an air vent behind some large boxes, but you can only move those large boxes if you've upgraded your strength abilities. If that doesn't work for you, you may see an area that you can reach only if you've upgraded your jumping ability and can leap to that goal. If both are out of the question, you may realize that a code you acquired from a Pocket Secretary (the rough equivalent of an iPhone) will unlock a door that lets you get to your goal without any specific skill. Often times you'll have multiple options and the path you take is entirely up to you. That, to me, is exactly what I want in any RPG.

A seldom explored but extremely interesting gameplay mechanic is the scenario where you are communicating directly with an individual to obtain information. It's sort of an interrogation minigame. What's so great about it is that you must actually listen and interpret what the individual is saying in order to select the correct response. Each response is outlined in the selection and fits the original statement. Your only indication of its success is to gauge the response of the individual. It's something that is fairly innovative and really fit well into the flow of the game.

My play through took around 26 hours which, by modern game standards is a lifetime. It also fits roughly in line with the original Deus Ex game length. There's tons of content and side quests that is essentially, but skipping it is akin to cutting out half the pages in a book just because it makes it shorter. There's so much good about this game that the minor issues like some odd animations and the occasional confusing routing through the large areas. Everything about this game screams maturity. It's the first game I've played in a long time that actually feels like it was made for adults. It isn't quite as complex as the original Deus Ex... the random bits of text you'll read is something that could be understood by your average person... but it's something you can dig deeper in to and enjoy if you set out to do so. I would suggest this game to anyone short of someone who plays exclusively bad games. Play it. Enjoy it. It's that simple.

90

A worthy successor to the greatest FPS/RPG of all time.

Dranz | Aug. 25, 2011 | See all Dranz's reviews »

Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a labor of love on the part of the art and writing departments of Eidos Montreal, and a marked change of pace for publisher Square-Enix. The game, while not the most technically advanced piece of graphics technology, is pulled forward by the aesthetic value and art direction, which depicts very effectively the troubled cyberpunk future of the world. Accenting the art is a robust voice talent, from the Clint Eastwood-esque Adam Jensen, to the authentic and entertaining Chinese dialogue of the people of Shanghai. All of this, combined with the sound design and hybrid role-playing first/third person shooter/stealth gameplay makes for a brilliant game, which emphasizes choice in action, and paints a picture of a future on the cusp of revolution so well that fans of the original Deus Ex will not be disappointed, and newcomers to the series will get to see how the world of Deus Ex was prior to the events of the first game. A definite contender for Game of the Year, and a masterful execution of hybrid gameplay if I've seen one yet.