Reviews for Saints Row IV

100

Open world crazy

iltamies | Nov. 3, 2014 | See all iltamies's reviews »

I've only played Saints Row the Third before this, but I have to say this one is vastly superior. If you're in the mood for a bit of open-world insanity this is the game for you. Once you pick up the super-powers it's just plain crazy fun. It is not however a game to play with kids around or anyone easily offended because it does not tip-toe around the offensive but instead eats it up and subsequently vomits it back up like a bad egg salad sandwich.

90

Realization of the series

sreisnyjr | Oct. 28, 2014 | See all sreisnyjr's reviews »

Saints Row 4 achieves to do what the developers wanted to do with Saints Row 3, a game that is simply a blast to play and everything else be damned. Comepletely breaking off from its origional series roots, Saints Row 4 story is completly off the walls, leaving behind an effort to create an emotional story. Characters like Zinyak the Alien overlord, is a joy to listen to with fantastically written dialogue and great voice actors as well to accompany the good dialogue. Saints Row 4 introduces a variety of new gameplay elements which kick the gameplay up to 11 with superpowers, new guns llike the almighty Dubstep gun, upgrades and skins for all of your guns. The same issue of actual enemy variety remains the same, making killing them almost feel like a chore, however with the new elements added to gameplay, it allows for you to change things up and offers more variety. While some may have complained about the "reskinning" of the world from Saints Row 3, I myself have no problem with it due to how the gameplay is able to change up the navigation throughout the city so much, it almost feels like a different city entirely. Saints Row 4 utilizes the new powers to an intense advantage as shown with the new ammoun of content readily availible for you in the game, almost all of it is great fun, and you will have no problem blasting through all of the challenges they have in store. In the end Saints Row 4 signifies a parting for the series to clearly what seems to be a more passionate direction from the developers, a great buy if you are looking to have something to play thats just fun for a while at any price.

96

Yes

postags | Oct. 24, 2014 | See all postags's reviews »

Silly as frick. The story isn't as consistently, jaw-droppingly inspired in its absurd escalations as SR3, but the game plays way better. As a counterpoint to GTA 5, which was the deathknell of the open-world crime game by way of being mired in its conventions and weirdly vicious approach to everything, SR4 is the deathknell by way of showing the absolute limits of what you can do with the formula. What I mean is, within the first hour you get superpowers that let you jump really high, run really fast, and basically fly. Combined, all three of these make stealing in a car, driving around and committing crimes seem antiquated and ridiculous. It's faster and more satisfying to super-run through cars, super jump across rooftops, and fly.

It is hard to talk about what happens in the game without giving away huge spoilers, but let's just say that its entire tone is a very knowing sense of the word "badical." It takes itself very seriously, even when the things it is taking seriously are how totally badass it was that you just climbed a really tall tower and got to the top, or how a confrontation with the alien overlord starts with you, the President of the United States, jumping out of the huge 8-barrel POTUS-branded AA cannon that is stationed on the White House lawn, and running at the crashed alien scout you just shot down, jumping at the front window and shooting it out with a pistol and immediately engaging in a Rowdy Roddy Piper/Keith David "They Live"-esque brawl with said overlord.

Anyone who takes it seriously and makes a character that looks remotely realistic is absolutely playing the game completely wrong and seems to have missed the pitch slider on the voices. The game is basically Your Fricking Ridiculous Power Fantasy: The Game, and is designed around both exceeding your wildest expectations while also subverting them. If there is one thing that the game is willing to critique, it is itself; its existence, your desire to play it, and the video game industry as a whole. It's never condescending when it does this, and comes across as the wet fever dream of a designer at the end of their life, transcribed via dying breaths, and developed as a celebratory eulogy to everything that once was. Its comments are made with a light touch, even when the game itself is so intent on destroying the world and starting over.

Great game.

92

Good Game But Too Similar To Saints Row: The Third

bigstubrown | Sept. 26, 2014 | See all bigstubrown's reviews »

I was lucky enough to get this during a sale and think I only paid around £7 for it. Now this looks very similar to Saints Row: The Third and plays the same but at the same time it is a better game that is very humorous. If your sick of GTA and want something that doesn't take itself too serious then this is for you. The weapon are very inventive, the characters are very well done, the voice acting is good plus very funny and the car / motorbike handling is very responsive. In all this is a very good, funny game that will not disappoint and fan of the past games and any newcomer to the series.

50

Major meh!

Shaide | Sept. 19, 2014 | See all Shaide's reviews »

I first started playing Saints Row from the first game, right through to this one. I have watched the series go from your standard Over the top Crime Spree free roam game, to just pure insanity. This chapter in the series is basically a parody of every popular game series. From GTA, to Call of Duty, to Mass Effect and Infamous(Yea, you have super powers in this one, because of course you do!)

The game does manage to elicit some chuckles on occasion, but more often than not all it manages to cause is plenty of eye rolling. the graphics though are nice, although the controls are annoying. Switching between superpowers and remembering which ones are used on which clusters is just annoying.

I did not enjoy this game at all, although others MIGHT. If you are a fan of SR3, then you may like this. It has the same level of insanity, but just ramped up to the next level.

Also, the music is great! The best feature in this game, is the licensed music that can be listened to on the radio which can be listened to in or out of the car, which is good, cause once you get super speed you might not be in a car as much.

96

Absolutely crazy

Jimmysil | Aug. 2, 2014 | See all Jimmysil's reviews »

Yeah... the truth about this game is, that if you don't have a good sense of humor you probably won't like it. But who doesn't have a sense of humor right? You will enjoy a lot of fun with this game. If you haven't played the previous games from the series, it doesn't matter. I highly recommend to play it as coop with your friend, girlfriend, or just anyone who has it. I have been playing it with my brother and it was just great. I'm really looking forward for the next Saints Row, which I have no doubt will happen.

86

A Nice Twist To Saints Row

mrminecrafter1 | Aug. 1, 2014 | See all mrminecrafter1's reviews »

Saints Row 4 is one of the craziest/silliest games you could possibly play. You play as the president and must defend your country by beating up the invading aliens with some awesome laser gun. The game is no way serious and the story is something that I actually enjoy. The gameplay is awesome but has a bit of a flaw. Since your character is given superpowers such as speed and flying, it makes all of the vehicles in the game basically obsolete since you can get from point A to B faster than if you're driving a vehicle. Really neat weapons to use and the animations in the game are fairly good. Graphics are fairly good but it has optimization problem, so expect lower than expected framerates and framerate drops. Sound design is pretty good and also solid voice acting. The enemies you face need a bit more diversity. Overall I would recommend this game. If you are looking for a different a new spin on the open-world genre, you should definitely give Saints Row a try.

100

Best game in the whole series.

hateah | Aug. 1, 2014 | See all hateah's reviews »

That's one of the best open world - sand games. It's like Grand theft auto but with a lot of more fun. It has awesome quests, awesome cinematics, awesome cars, weapons, funny scenes and whatnot! I insta bought it as i saw it on sale. It was one of the first in my wishlist. After Saints Row III that's the best game in the whole series. I enjoyed every second of the previous series and i will enjoy this one too for sure. The cars are amazing, the shooting is kinda simple but still very interesting. It has some crazy weapons which you won't see anywhere else. You even have some abilities which will help you through the game.

70

Too much over-the-top

Jericho417 | Aug. 1, 2014 | See all Jericho417's reviews »

So, the last bit of restraint goes out the window. The bulk of Saints Row IV takes place in a virtual world. Because of that, things tend to go overboard. I really enjoyed the super powered game-play, but I would have preferred it in a different game. It was a lot like Prototype, especially with how much power was at your disposal. Guns take a back seat to the powers here, even though they added some pretty colorful weapons. The cars? You'll probably rarely use them. They become obsolete once you can run faster than the cars and can jump over buildings. The story... well, it doesn't even matter. It's just another opponent for the Saints to take down. The writing is hard to judge because it's not even remotely trying to be serious. It was an ok game, with some fun bits mixed in, but I couldn't get in to it. I free-roamed a lot but doing the story felt like a chore.