Reviews for Call of Juarez: The Cartel

65

Fun if you have friends to play with

RedFrix | April 21, 2014 | See all RedFrix's reviews »

Call of Juarez: The Cartel is a change of pace on the Call of Juarez series. If you expect a wild west cowboy game like the previous games then this game is not for you because the game setting is on the modern era.

Graphics are good considering it's from 2011, expect some weird physics because that's what you're gonna encounter when you face a ton of enemies around.

The AI is broken, don't pick the easiest difficulty because you'll end it in no time, your AI friends most of the times they do nothing that's why I suggest you to play this game co-op with 2 more friends to play with

Multiplayer is broken or nonexistence, you'll encounter 2-3 cheaters per match or... nothing at all because no one plays this game anymore

Overall it's a fun experience if you only wanna try out the single-player mode which takes around only 4 hours of gameplay (more if you three want to do all collectibles without "getting caught")

69

Wild west...nooooo!

Gojko | Oct. 10, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

Dust, hats, revolvers, wild west...Call of Juarez...yea.... no... what is this.

This game was very good Western shooter, and now we get... nothing. Game is too monotonic it' not worth playing it more that one day.

Game is working on their new engine Chrome Engine 5, but it seems that engine have a slight problem with textures. Sound... a lot of curses.

67

Not as bad as people say

arimajeen | Sept. 18, 2013 | See all arimajeen's reviews »

I can comfortably say that while it lacks polish in many places it is still a decent game. There is a nice amount of weapons to use, the shooting mechanics are spot on. While many will comment that the visuals aren't the best, the levels are varied and look pretty cool. The game isn't without its faults but If you have a friend who would like to play co-op I would recommend it.

89

Delicious game.

yuppy | Aug. 25, 2013 | See all yuppy's reviews »

This game is delicious but have some disadvantages like AI or not excellent graphics. Story of game is better than in previous pieces of game. At the beginning game can be little boring but at City of Angels start to be delicious! Must play it!

87

Fantastic

iamkyo90 | Aug. 12, 2013 | See all iamkyo90's reviews »

Dirt is the typical driving game in which we dive behind the wheel and I can say dirt 2 has returned stronger than ever in your PC vercion we observed using directx 11 making this one of the few games that use it and that is to say very good dirt 2 potential advantage in the PC graph as we have seen the engine used in dirt 2 is simply spectacular, and is perfect optimization in computers is another flattering look dirt 2 has managed to be one of the best driving games poniendonos to give our best potential curves also have seen that car damage is very real since losing the bumper to lose or damage the car doors in the history of the game are more types of races from the typical rallies we've seen to cross rally racing or land rush in history along the familiar characters appear as dave mirra pastrana travis among others and besides that compete against them and show them who is the best aspect of the gameplay is well maintained both in keyboard and in control but personally recommend using a xbox 360 controller keyboard because sometimes the engine is tedious we see here is almost similar to the grid but slightly improved in the graphic look is not to say the game looks too so I was real happy so I'm not complaining in appearance very good sound from rock to electronic music inidie

60

CoJ BiB Review

Compax | July 30, 2013 | See all Compax's reviews »

The graphics and gameplay are good, but capping it all off is a bundle of extra content outside of the singleplayer game, the most obvious and important part of which is the multiplayer side of the game. There aren’t any real big surprises or twists and most of the different modes are team-based in the old ‘Cowboys and Indians’ style rather than offering anything unique. The multiplayer side is somewhat class-based too and gives a choice of different weapon load-outs and stats for players to select from, each of which can be upgraded over time. It seems a lot of games are using this approach since Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare came out and Bound in Blood follows the trend.

36

I love the Call of Juarez series but this was rubbish!

britishlad | May 10, 2013 | See all britishlad's reviews »

I love Bound of blood and even though I thought setting the game in modern time and a lot of the reviews were pretty bad - I still gave this game a chance....big mistake

So first off the outdated graphics. Mind blowing late texture popins. Poor voice acting. Bad and glitchy during gameplay, for example the game was never tested and that resulted in, glitched out enemies, deaths, and sometimes gets you stuck in areas unless you restart the level. Long load times. The game is like Mind Jack, Two Player co-op completetion is not the same with the single player, good luck with finishing the game twice, on your own! The game is pretty much unfinished and has been rushed.

The guns carry the exact same ammo. The map is useless. Too many missions where if you go out a certain piont, you failed. The car is too hard to control, it doesn't let you see anywhere exept for the hood of the car. The weapons feel like water guns due to them not having any recoil. And the games choices really takes you out of the action instead of bring you in. There are too many scenes with slow motion. And the ending is either common or anti-climatic depending on the choices you made.

I gave it a chance but it's just not worth playing

69

Fun CO-OP Game

Stoibs | Sept. 13, 2011 | See all Stoibs's reviews »

I was originally sceptical about the prospect of a non-western themed Call of Juarez game, but I have to admit as much as I prefer the classic setting, there are a bunch of game features that simply work better in this modern day iteration. The game should be played Co-op with friends if at all possible, and I would personally have rated this much lower as a single player only experience. The Good While obviously as a shooter the goal is to watch each others back while progressing through each mission, a unique feature has each player with a secret agenda and collectables along the way – the catch is that these are usually less then legal objectives and thus must be completed without being spotted by your teammates. It’s interesting to see one of your allies duck in from a side area while texting something on their phone before pocketing it and resuming the action, especially in the midst of an epic fire fight. In a LAN setting this is usually accompanied by friendly name calling and general laughter. However more important to the story is that each character basically has a subplot going on, this is ingenuously done by the use of one sided phone conversations; player A gets a call and hears what’s being said, players B & C can only hear player A’s responses (which can lead to hilarity in some instances) this carries over into cut scenes as well. I also liked the fact that every mission didn’t follow the same procedure of all 3 characters moving as a group; indeed many times you are split up with different goals or the goal of coming to the aid of one of your friends. The Bad This is quite obviously a console port, the first thing you will likely notice is the horrendous FOV, as of yet I am unaware of any way to change this. The Video options are missing a lot of advanced settings and the font style they have chosen for all text and subtitles is pretty bad. Speaking of subtitles, they are often incorrect displaying something other than is being said and can lead to confusion at times. The quotes that are spoken upon “bullet time” activation are cheesy at best. I personally remember in the original McCall duel wielding bible + revolver quoting scripture as one of the most badass moments in gaming. Now they’ve tried to “modernise” it by throwing the F bomb in there and it just comes across as rather immature. The Ugly The game is buggy. Often times enemies will literally spawn into existence in the world in front of you. On more than one occasion a cut scene completely failed to play correctly for 2 out of the 3 of us, the camera focusing on a wall or some such. Also Singleplayer; as mentioned above the whole gimmick of this game is the conspiracies, the backstabbing, and the secrecy of each person’s personal agenda, all of which are completely absent from the AI controlled partners. If you don’t have any gamer friends to play this with then honestly give it a miss, it will amount to nothing more than a generic, boring FPS. On the other hand playing with mates is a fun experience that offers a good 7 or so hours (Or more if you decide to replay to see the other character’s storylines and points of view).