Reviews for Tropico 4 DNS

90

For the Future Manager/Dictator

rnbv424140 | April 29, 2013 | See all rnbv424140's reviews »

Feel the thrills of managing your own little island and balancing the variety of whims of the different political parties of Tropico and the demands of the world powers. The campaign is a challenge in the later levels, especially when the conditions start ranging from bizzare to weird!

The visuals are decent enough and will run on low - end machines, albeit with a little lag. What caught me the most is the catchy music and the witty comments of the Radio DJs. The learning curve is not that steep, although the tutorial does not help a lot. But the game does help you understand itself.

If you like playing a simulation, strategy and comedic game all in one, then you should definitely go for this.

85

Great, simple strategy game

sittinghawk10 | April 28, 2013 | See all sittinghawk10's reviews »

I've never been into simcity. It took too much time and effort for me personally. But I like games in the genre. I heard about tropico, and it is exactly what I wanted.

Each mission is completed after completing several objectives. This focus is very good in my opinion. I'm not very creative so being a "god" that creates every thing in my city is much too complex. This game removes a lot of those things and I think it makes the game very fun.

The dlcs aren't really worth it for me. They add a couple of bonuses or a building or 2. Skip them and save yourself a couple of bucks.

86

If you like city building games, you are going to love this one.

shannara55 | April 8, 2013 | See all shannara55's reviews »

You can decide what kind of president you are going to be. Are you going to slave your people for that little bit of profit and a filled Swiss bank account or are you going to create villa's by the sea? Are you going to bribe, kill and scheme your way to the top or are you going to earn the loyalty and devotion from your people? Are you going to give people the rights on gay-marriage, abortion, lower taxes and free education?

The game gives you an option to create your own president, male/female and special skills and handicaps or play as one of the famous presidents.

Really a great game, the DLC Modern Times will let you play with even more buildings and options. This DLC is highly recommended. It gives 12 more scenarios.

88

Fantastic game

darksiders666 | March 5, 2013 | See all darksiders666's reviews »

Tropico is a ton of fun, and unlike many other games, you don't get bored of it after a while. The gameplay is great, very open-ended, and very entertaining. I find it to be a much more realistic sim than some other games...buildings take time to create, workers take time to come to your island from other countries, and there are endless ways to run a country...same is true with Tropico.

There are many different "paths to greatness": you can make money from industry(rum, jewelry, etc.), farming and mining, tourism, fishing, or all of them. You can keep your island heavily guarded by military (be careful...lack of liberty is not tolerated by citizens) or you can let your people do whatever the heck they want (again, be careful. don't let them start a rebellion).

This game has few downsides. -The interface isn't well designed. It takes up a lot of space, and doesn't provide easy access to info. -Buildings cannot always be rotated as you want them, which is quite annoying if you want a Tenement to overlook the water, for example.

Overall, a great game, definitely worth buying.

76

Plays like an Expansion Pack to Tropico 3

georgecopos | Feb. 23, 2013 | See all georgecopos's reviews »

This game IS basically Tropico 3. Don't expect any giant leap forward in terms of gameplay or graphics, its just not there. The good news for me at least? I really enjoyed Tropico 3 so this is just more fun for me and since I wasn't expecting a giant leap forward having read other reviews here and having paid only like $15 for it, I was pretty happy to get a whole pot full of additional challenges and fun. Its possible that this game would have worked better as an expansion pack to Tropico 3 since it is basically the same game with a few tweaks and a few additional options.

Pretty much everything is the same, sure some of the interfaces are a little different and I'm pretty sure the music is too though its hard to tell. There's a few new buildings to play with and a few other new things. If you're looking for a new or updated experience or the next step in the evolution of Tropico, you won't find it here. On the other hand, if you really like the Tropico series and want more of the same, then this is a great game for that.

88

Tropico 3 was good. This is even better.

Lekes | Feb. 11, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

Game is definitely a solid upgrade to its predecessor. Tutorial to teach you the basics. Campaign is much more coherent, and from my experience you have a lot more flexibility economically to build up your nation which should make it overall more accessible. That isn't to say you can't screw up. I don't consider myself an expert and have had a few missions where I spiraled into debt, but most of them I have been able to grow my nation as I had planned. Tropico 3 was good. This is even better.

92

Welcome back to Tropico.

Xgoesrawr | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all Xgoesrawr's reviews »

Tropico is one of my favorite simulation game series.

At first I was a bit disappointed by Juanito (the radio host of Tropico 3) not being in the game but after awhile I got used it.

I liked that they added the ability to import goods to your island as the previous Tropicos didn't have that.

The difficulty level however seems to have decreased as its much easier than Tropico 3 because there is really no time limit in which you have to complete anything.

If you like city builders you should get this game.

96

Top City Builder

igzaustion | Dec. 31, 2012 | See all igzaustion's reviews »

I've logged over 250 hours in this game so far, and I've hardly even touched the campaign mode. Sandbox Tropico is just so much fun. If your focus is managing your population, juggling superpower relations or maximizing industry output, this game is enjoyable in every way. Tropico 4 might not be much different from its predecessor, but frankly there was not much to improve.

85

Great addition to the series

Prozac | Dec. 30, 2012 | See all Prozac's reviews »

I've read people saying "should have been an expansion" - just like Tropico 3, etc. and I have to wonder how long they played it before they wrote their review. I've played through all the missions (20 in total) and I can say that Tropico 4 holds its own as a new addition to the series. There are a ton of differences. Here are all the NEW elements of Tropico 4.

1) All new radio announcements/announcers throughout the game. Yes, Juanito is gone, but he does get his "revenge" on you in one of the missions. My favorite radio line after I ruled for 50 years... "it is with great sadness that I must announce the passing of El Presidente (pause)... JUST KIDDING! We all know El Presidente will never die."

2) Voice acting. This is separate from the radio announcers. All the characters now talk, something they didn't do in Tropico 3. And there are a lot of characters too. This alone is a huge improvement over Tropico 3.

3) Interactive Disasters (plus several new disasters too). What's an "interactive disaster?" It's where you play a role and your decisions dictate some of the disaster effects. For example, during an oil spill, you determine how much you want to clean up. That dictates how polluted your waters become. During a drought you have to manually water your fields if you chose to conserve water. And the disasters are all animated. You see the tsunami hit your island and it even deposits a crashed ship somewhere on your island. You may get anywhere from 1-3 tornadoes hitting your island at once.

3) Tons of new buildings. I think I read there were 20. And these aren't puny buildings either. The Stock Market, for example, allows you to control the privatization of your island. So one building comes with an entire network of new features to give you another approach to making money in the game. The weather station helps forecast disasters so that your citizens can be warned. You'll still lose buildings, but your citizens will get out of harms way and loss of life will be minimized. The fire station helps put out fires. Fire trucks race to the building, and little firemen get out with their hoses and fight the fire. These are all huge advances over Tropico 3.

4) Rebuild Feature. In Tropico 3, when you lost a building, you had to go search for it again in the menu, rebuild it, then reapply any upgrades you had on the building. In Tropico 4 when a building is lost, you have a little Rebuild icon that shows up. Click it and your building is automatically rebuilt with all the features you had applied to it before (you have to pay for it, of course).

5) Quick Build. One of the frustrations of Tropico 3 was trying to build a bunch of buildings and having to wait forever for your builders to get them all done. Tropico 4 has a Quick Build option where, for a premium price, you can instantly construct the building. I probably use this more than any other feature.

6) A new in-depth campaign with several cut scenes. The campaign is the most in-depth storyline in the history of the Tropico series. There are 20 missions on 10 maps (wish it was 20 maps). Now the interesting thing about this is that after you start the campaign, through the course of the first several missions there are "cut scenes" that help move the story along. Now this is great and a huge improvement over Tropico 3. HOWEVER... it appears that the developers ran out of time or got lazy at the end because as the missions go on the cut scenes get fewer and fewer then disappear altogether. So I have mixed feelings about this. But as far as stories go, this is a pretty darn good one.

7) Remembering your deeds. The game remembers your deeds. So something you do in one of the first several missions can come back to play a role in missions later on when you least expect it. I like this feature.

8) Instead of just dealing with the U.S. and USSR, you are now also dealing with China, Europe, and the Middle East. Now unlike the U.S. and USSR, they don't send you financial aid. But your relationship with them does have import/export ramifications.

9) In game challenges. One of the biggest new additions to Tropico 4 is in-game challenges that have an effect on your relationship with different factions or foreign countries. The USSR may want you to quietly send them exports of Iron. The environmentalists may want you to build new gardens, etc. These challenges appear as icons over buildings. You click it, read the challenge/reward, and decide if you want to take on the challenge or not. This helps you dictate the direction of your game and improve with factions your having problems gaining respect from.

10) You can now import! If you're lacking a resource on your island, you can still build an industry around it by importing. You can also dictate what countries to allow importing from and how much to import. It's a huge new feature for those dependent on Industry to win games.

11) Skill Upgrades. Before you would select a skill and the effect would be the same for every mission. Now when you select a skill/trait and complete a mission, you get an additional star next to that trait (up to 5 stars) which improves its abilities.

All put together, those are huge improvements that obviously took thousands of hours to program, much longer than it would have taken to create an "expansion pack". I wouldn't be surprised if the developers are put off by people saying it should have been an expansion. I'd hate to see the company stop developing the game altogether. There are many more new things I didn't mention like all new music and the Facebook and Twitter integration. Thank goodness you can turn the Facebook/Twitter integration off if you don't care for them. :-) There's the new Challenge editor, online leaderboards, etc.

Now, with that said, there are ways the game can be improved going forward:

1) They need to deal with the transportation issue. Roads are built the same way as in Tropico 3 and there are no new transportation methods to get citizens from point A to point B. Ideally the developers would add things like Buses or highways and also increase the SQUEEZE to get to the shore where the docks are. Yes, I said docks (plural). Unlike past Tropico games, you can now build multiple docks! Another thing I'd like to see is the ability to build bridges.

2) I'd like to see them allow you to work on multiple islands at once. The game screens/islands are getting huge. Why not make one that has four islands that you can develop at the same time on the same map?

3) One of the key features of Tropico is to have your own Swiss Bank Account (Slush Fund) that you can channel money to. While this is fun, it serves no purpose. You can't do anything in the game with that money. I'd like to see this flushed out so that El Presidente can buy things with the money. One idea is to be able to buy luxuries for yourself (i.e. yatch, plane, etc.). Another completely separate idea would to build your own Presidente Mansion. You have a piece of land set aside that is El Presidente's "home" away from the palace. You can continually buy upgrades with your Swiss Bank Account and watch your mansion grow. Being able to spend the money would make the game more fun and interactive.

I really like this game and hope that people buy it so that we see more expansions and versions in the future. I hate to see good games die (i.e. SimCity and the Roller Coaster Tycoon Series). Tropico 4 is definitely a quality game and does stand on its own.

80

Fun sequel

lachking | Oct. 15, 2012 | See all lachking's reviews »

Tropico 4 in essence, is Tropico 3 with a new coat of paint and for the most part, is a good improvement over the previous game. For those unfamiliar with Tropico, it is a city building game similar to Sim City with the added element of political simulation: you can implement policies and you need to win elections to remain in power. Tropico 4 brings a visual upgrade to the table. The HUD in particular has received an upgrade over Tropico 3. The interface looks much cleaner and objectives are much more readily displayed. The musical style is also better in this sequel. One particular addition I really like is that buildings can be quickly finished for an additional cost and this can be incredibly useful, especially when you need a particular building in a pinch. Tropico 4 also adds new buildings and attractions, such as cruise liners and ministries. The missions themselves are also more engaging then they were in Tropico 3. Overall, Tropico 4 is a strong sequel and makes some good improvements over the previous game.

86

conclusion

cristiano171 | June 27, 2012 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

Tropico 4 and its expansion 4: Modern Times is a true must have for anyone who likes simulators, strategy games, construction and management of cities. We can not forget the great humor in this one as well in another way, in fact, what ultimately makes them something much lighter than other games belonging to the same genus. Even without huge differences in relation to its predecessor, Tropico 4 is a good choice if you like the franchise or whether to face a game where a session can last a few minutes or hours (or days). We're talking about a game and a DLC that they have virtually no shelf life, and that the player can offer high quality entertainment for a long time.

99

Tongue in cheek city builder

swixel | Sept. 1, 2011 | See all swixel's reviews »

Tropico 4 continues the rich tradition of Tropico, adding new and interesting features to the game's mix.

Instead of simple earthquakes, a myriad of disasters plague you, from natural disasters like the tornado to social ones like rebels and lost elections, you will almost always be fighting something. Beyond those troubles, you've got the typical Tropican problem of balancing economy with happiness.

This isn't just Tropico 3+, just like Tropico 3 wasn't just Tropico+. The new buildings, the cabinet/ministry, and the complexity of having to buy the blueprints for most of the buildings changes the gameplay in a significant way. The difficulty hasn't increased, but it has changed.

Tropico 4 is a must play for fans of the Tropico series, as it builds upon the gameplay style of its ancestors and once again refuses to sacrifice its integrity for cookie-cutter parts. Another unique (albeit incrementally unique) experience. I recommend it for all fans of city-builders and real time strategy games alike.

90

Just the same? Or "better".

trinest | Sept. 1, 2011 | See all trinest's reviews »

Tropico 4 presents the players with what looks to be the previous game just a little different, and that glance is pretty much an accurate assumption. However the game does include things which make this assumption just a little bit primitive. For example the games challenge modes now feature an array of missions you have to accomplish throughout the game. Eg.One might pop up about asking you to build a church, and in return points with the various factions and some cash. There is also disasters, which don't really seem like they add much, but are great to look at and when a disaster comes by and distories your hard work, you just have to think that this game is becoming more and more like Sim City. However don't feel bad at the end of the day the games primary objective is still the same, which is to be one hell of a dictator, there's even still the classic sandbox mode if you get sick of challenges or just want to set your imagination free. There is even Twitter and Facebook integration so you can shoot out messages of your dictatorships cruel rise. Overall while it can feel it is more the same of the previous Tropico games, it stands on its own and worth the play for any die hard fan of the series, or anyone who just wants to poke around in a brand new simulation game.