Reviews for Space Pirates And Zombies

83

Surprisingly good

Neonberry | Jan. 20, 2014 | See all Neonberry's reviews »

I had no idea what I am in for when I bought SPaZ. For some reason I connected it to Plants Vs Zombies and expected something in the same tone - and boy, I was wrong. The game is a space simulation where you mine, loot, help out different factions and get deeper and deeper in the galaxy. Even though the graphics may seem a bit simplistic at first glance it the game will quickly suck you in and you will be trapped in a great space mining-trading-shooting game with loads of upgrades, missions and places to discover. I would recommend it to people who enjoy titles like Privateer and X. Even though this game is not THAT complex it absolutely worths its price.

85

An interesting game worth your time if you want something unique

Luff | Nov. 14, 2013 | See all Luff's reviews »

This is a strange beast of a game; with a combination of arcadey space combat, strategic elements and RPG-like progression it feels very unique - a definite plus - but the real question is 'do the different elements gel well?'

Personally I think the game does an excellent job of blending the different aspects of the game, mostly because the UI is intuitive and makes controlling your ships easy and fast. Being able to create and outfit new ships at your will (assuming you have the in game funds) and then pick and choose which ship you wish to control, and decide how the AI pilot the others is very satisfying and makes for some fun customization.

Finally, whilst the majority of this review has focused on how this game is a breath of fresh air, it also has to be said that the pacing of the game is very flexible. In a given sector you can undertake story quests, optional missions and ambient objectives (basically passive events that can grant bonus rewards) at your own will, with no limit on the time you can spend in one star-system.

I would whole-heartedly recommend this game, since ultimately playing a unique game that mixes up the regular tropes is highly satisfying, that and being a space pirate is the bee's knees.

94

Great space game

eL_Jay | Oct. 24, 2013 | See all eL_Jay's reviews »

I got this game in a bundle and wasn't expecting much of it. This game however surprised me so much it is my most played indie-game in my steamlibrary and only surpassed by fallout en elder scrolls games in playtime.

The game is a strategic space sim, but it doesn't go in knee deep. Therefore it's an easy acces game that provides hours and hours of gameplay with decent replay value.

The goal of the game is to travel through a random generated universe and explore&upgrade your fleet.

There are 3 major resources you want to find rez (like gold/cash/money) data (used to upgrade ship stats) and goons (used to trade, man your fleet, and bribe). It's a pretty simple game and that is this games biggest strenght. Simple yet awesome ;)

Doesn't sound like much but it really got me hooked, even more so then FTL.

Biggest plusses, briljantly simple, random generated universe, hours and hours of fun gameplay. Biggest drawback, no MP, and only 2d action.

Hope they make a sequel.

77

Long, Tedious, But a lot of fun.

Infenous152 | Sept. 13, 2013 | See all Infenous152's reviews »

Space pirates and Zombies is a very fun game, with many hours of gameplay available in it. Kudos to the small team of developers that put work into this, it just goes to show that in order to make a great game, you don't need hordes of game developpers, but a couple with commitment and ingenuity.

95

It doesn't take a crowd to create a gem

mahon | July 29, 2013 | See all mahon's reviews »

Sometimes you don't need a huge budget and a crowd of developers to create a gem. Space Pirates and Zombies is a great example - I think it was developed by just two guys, and it doesn't really show! I think it's a pity they didn't have means to promote the game better because it deserves every bit of publicity it can get.

It's a space combat game with everything you might expect from a strategic game like this - randomly generated universe, interesting factions, ships you can upgrade (and unlock new ones), missions, trading and combat. And it all happens in visually beautiful space (do yourself a favour and check some screenshots or gameplay footage out) which makes gaming pure joy.

You will find yourself returning to the game for more and more, or at least to stare at the beautiful backgrounds of your space battles.

87

Space combat brilliance!

F4T4LV0iD | July 24, 2013 | See all F4T4LV0iD's reviews »

S.P.A.Z. is a game that upon first glance I was unsure what to expect. Initial feelings were it looked mediocre at best. This is an instance where I was glad to be proven wrong. What I thought to be a mindless space shooter turned out to be a fun intergalactic experience with nice story progression and challenging missions to test even the most seasoned space flight veteran.

The game offers a large collection of ships to unlock, each with their own pros and cons, which you can outfit with your own selection of guns, reactors, shields, armor and other gadgets. You get to control a single ship, but as you progress you can add AI ships to your fleet which you can switch between on the fly to maximize your efficiency against your enemies.

You get to freely explore the randomly generated galaxy at your own pace, but each sector is marked with a certain level requirement so you don't get too in over your head and get decimated. There's main story missions to follow but the side-missions and collecting data is what will be your bread and butter for most of the part to upgrade all of your weapons.

I found the game to be paced nicely. It starts you out with baby steps to learn all the ins and outs and nothing too difficult, and as the game progresses you actually are faced with what seems near-impossible challenges that force you to unlock stronger upgrades. For an indie game this is true brilliance and I recommend it to everyone.

94

A Perfect Example of What Indie Games Should Be

thegaminglyfe | June 20, 2013 | See all thegaminglyfe's reviews »

Space Pirates and Zombies has a very strategic component to it. You start with one mothership and a couple ships and you go around to expand your fleet. You can find more equipment and blueprints so you can make better ships so your fleet is stronger. This may sound easy but it's far from easy. You have to be cautious about where you go next, whether your fleet is strong enough to fight the enemies, whether you can attack them by surprise or they'll assume you're a threat right away etc. But when you do it right, it's a very rewarding experience. The graphics are unique and you can see the immense amount of detail they put into the game. This indie game is truly a perfect example of what indie games should be like and is one of the greatest indie games of all time.

96

Finally... been waiting since escape velocity!

Exostenza | May 24, 2013 | See all Exostenza's reviews »

I have been waiting for a game like this since Escape Velocity and EV: Nova waaaaaaay back in the day. I love games like this where you start out with a crappy ship and slowly build up any way you want from trading, mining, being a pirate, doing all types of missions and end up with a fleet of awesome.

This game bring everything to plate that used to love about the old EV games and more. It has extreme replay-ability as there are so many routes of building up and so many choices of how to deal with things and what sides to take. The variance in types of ships and their abilities is staggering and having a sick fleet with you is super bad@#$. If you are a fan of space games with action, economy, allegiances and extreme variability in the manner that you can do anything this is the game for you. Think of is as a top down, very accessible, X game (you know like X2 and X3).

I just love this type of game so much and these developers delivered so well. I actually bought it twice because I wanted a friend to play it so badly and he is a cheapo. Guess what, he loved it.

Buy this game and have more fun and more game play time than several "AAA" titles combined guaranteed.

80

Hard but interesting

zhack075 | Feb. 25, 2013 | See all zhack075's reviews »

In SPAZ, you start with a few ships and a mothership. During your journey, you'll have to do mission, to buy equipement, to fight bounty hunters and to complete the main quest ( even though you can choose not to do it ).

This game is great. Even though it is quite hard sometimes, it is really fun to play. Graphics are good and even though some of the sprite are a bit "raw" ( character portrait for example. The game is dynamic and the 2D shooter view is really nice. You can customize the hull you unlock with a tons of ship parts too, which is a great thing as you can design your own fleet.

If you enjoyed games such as freelancer for example, you'll love this game even if it's more a shooter than an elitesque game.

100

Indie game at its finest

kokosabre | Feb. 3, 2013 | See all kokosabre's reviews »

This game is great.Even though i completed it several times I still cant find nothing bad to say about it.Storyline makes sense and its good enough for a movie.Game offers you a chance to create your own space fleet during the game course.Game is easy to learn but hard to master but you gonna have a lot of fun.I recommend you to get the game as soon as possible.You won't regret it.

86

If you can't decide on this one... just get it!

numanair | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all numanair's reviews »

When I first heard of S.P.A.Z. I wasn't sure if I wanted to get it. I eventually bought it and am glad I did. It has a somewhat retro gameplay with modern graphics. Not many (if any) games like this are still produced. Once you really get into the gameplay you will spend hours searching out upgrades and fighting enemy fleets. It has a good enough story and the developers clearly have a sense of humor, which added to my appreciation of the game. The missions can be thoroughly challenging, so be prepared! Since its release, mod tools have been made available, which means this game will have a fair amount of replay value.

93

Great sandbox space shooter

oginer | Dec. 7, 2012 | See all oginer's reviews »

You start with a small spaceship with weak weapons and have to advance through the galaxy, getting better equipment and blueprints for better and bigger spaceships. It's a very rewarding game, and you'll spend hours and hours in it. It's not an easy game, either. You have to be cautious about where you go next and piloting your ship skilfully. As you advance you'll also be able to have a squad of ships you own, so you won't pilot alone.

Graphically it's looks pretty good, with some well done graphic effects and particle systems.

One of the bests indie games without any doubt. Highly recommended.

90

Great game. Small issues but might get fixed.

Rumpel123 | Aug. 20, 2012 | See all Rumpel123's reviews »

First of. This is a really good game. It has a few issues but If you like game like Sid Meyers Pirates, I'm sure you will like this one.

Starting with a tiny and poor equiped ship you make your way through the galaxy to get rich. Whoooo!!! The galaxy is huge enough to give you entertainment for a lots and lots of hours (I explored ~10% and have around 13 hours played).

While killing enemy spaceships you learn their technical skills and a while after you can build stronger and bigger ships.

You can mount a lot of different weapons and upgrades on each ship, you can have specialist that give your fleet (you can get morge then one ship early in the game) special bonuses and you have to use research a sciencetree to use new weapons.

Graphics are really nice to look at and the controlls are to the point.

But a big issue is the gamebalance. If you just try to follow the story you soon will be blasted to dust. There is a lot of grinding in this game. But in my opinion the fights are entertaining enough to make this fact less worth.

The games gets free updates from time to time and has a active community. In conclusion Im sure you cant really go wrong for the price!

80

I didn't know these games still existed

sweetcuppincake | June 13, 2012 | See all sweetcuppincake's reviews »

I played a game many years ago called Escape Velocity. Apparently, so did the makers of SPAZ. And they must have enjoyed it as much as I did, because SPAZ seems like a shining homage to the top-down space exploration games of yesteryear. It also goes beyond what those older games were capable of doing. The galaxy you play in is randomly generated, as are all the star systems within it. You can build a fleet rather than pilot just one ship. There is a main story that you can follow or ignore, and you have the freedom to play however you want. The features are numerous and you will likely sink hours into this game without realizing it. Very fun to play in short bursts as well.

90

Only current game of its genre, and a gem at that.

justing943 | Oct. 17, 2011 | See all justing943's reviews »

My anticipation for this game the instant it went up on the Steam store did not go unanswered.

Definitely recommended. It's an awesome game with addictive gameplay and gameplay mechanics, with a huge sense of achievement involved as you progress through the game and develop your ships. It's accompanied by an okay-to-decent story to boot, and the replayability is very high, as your technology upgrade choices can result in completely different playstyles.

The satisfaction from blasting through ships as a result of your hard data-gathering (equivalent to experience in RPGs) is endless :).

85

A solid indie!

FudgePoly | Sept. 15, 2011 | See all FudgePoly's reviews »

S.P.A.Z is an indie 2D top-down shooter, with some RPG elements. You start off with very small spaceship designs and through story progression and world exploration you can upgrade abilities and construct bigger, stronger ships. I don't like the fact that you can only get larger ships by progressing in the story (story missions sometimes reward additional spaceship hangars), but that's not a huge flaw. S.P.A.Z will keep you occupied for hours on end if you so choose, or give you a blast of fun for a short time, it can be played however you wish to play it. Exploring the vast, randomly generated universe is both rewarding (unlocks additional upgrades and experience points, and allows you to take the game at your own pace) and long enough to make the game meaty without making it tedious. If you want a fun semi-casual shooter or a good timewaster look no further!

90

They just don't make them like this anymore.

Ascadia | Sept. 1, 2011 | See all Ascadia's reviews »

Part Elite, part Space Rangers and Part Starfleet 2 this game hits all the right spots for an old school space opera junkie. It has a great plot, endless randomly generated missions, fast and fun combat and is highly addictive. On top of this it was made by just two guys, you really can't get more indie than that and they have been amazingly open with their community even in Beta. Support indie devs, support this dieing genre and buy one of the best games of 2011, by buying SPAZ!

70

Good but needs tweaking

pudge195 | Aug. 23, 2011 | See all pudge195's reviews »

I will keep this as short,simple and straight as a man can. The game itself is good but imbalanced, its an amazing time waster . You can spend hours upon hours just doing missions for reputation,gear,trading and mining. The problem i have is that you theoretical have freedom but to get bigger hangars you need to do the story missions, or get raped by giant penis looking ships that shoot lasers and bombs that instantly kill you. In the end its good but as said,needs tweaks.

95

At first I had my doubts

xorn000 | Aug. 22, 2011 | See all xorn000's reviews »

It is true, at first I wasn't expecting much from this game. Then I remembered that it was made by a small group (2) and needed to be thought of in terms of $ and enjoyability. A few minutes in a was just messing around,but then started to actually plan out builds and test them a little. Bit by bit I was finding more to do within the game and was having more fun. If you want to play for 5, 10, 30 minutes you can easily pick it up, play for a while and go. I can't make myself play for more than an hour or two at a time, but that's fine for me. I won't get bored of the game anytime soon. The galaxy you generate at the new game start is massive enough that it won't be something you knock out in a day or a few hours. So far the story for me hasn't been all that great, but it is something I can forgive a bit. At least it isn't a poorly done rehash of something else or try to be more than what it is. My finger is tired from clicking so much, that much I do know.

85

Fun indie space game

RaTcHeT302 | Aug. 17, 2011 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Most people I know didn't want to buy this game because of the "Zombies" in the title but it isn't a game mainly about Zombies.This game is a 2D space shooter about a crew of pirates in search to fame and richness. You have the opportunity to have your own tiny fleet of ships, customize them with all kinds of gadgets and weapons and more. You will it play in a randomly created galaxy wich means that you will it always start from a different place but the story will it be the same tough, you can have a huge galaxy or have a tiny one, it's your choice, really. In this game you can progress at any pace as there won't be any time limits or anything, you are free to do whatever you want, you can even ignore the main missions but be carefull because your enemies may become stronger and stronger while time passes. Because the game it's on 2D the graphics are simple but very good looking also this game doesn't require any extreme PC as it runs fairly well on any system wich is a big plus. It could use some tweaks and maybe some new features like the ability of making your own buildings or maybe a multiplayer gamemode.

SPAZ is a chalengefull game with lot's of hours of fun but I recommend it mostly to people that are into space games.

80

S.P.A.Z. Review

lordofawesome | Aug. 17, 2011 | See all lordofawesome's reviews »

What is S.P.A.Z.? S.P.A.Z. is a 2D spaceship shooter. BUT that is not all. It has alot more to offer. S.P.A.Z. has Quests, in which you choose to side with factions to gain their trust which will allow you to buy items and trade with them. Yes, you can find/buy several items. Those can be used to upgrade ships in your fleet. Yes, a fleet. It also has some sort of RTS elements. You can give orders to different ships (and control 1 of them yourself), find different blueprints to build new types of ships and equip them however you like. Another thing you can do is level up, allowing you to spend points in different skills. As you can see this game has alot to offer for an indie game. It's galaxy is randomly generated everytime you start a new game, with alot of stars to explore. With it's nice graphics and really good gameplay it'll keep you playing for a while, trust me. Eventhough it has some downsides (quests - at least at the starting levels - seem to be the same), but the developers ensured that they will keep the game updated and that they'll have even more content in the making.

I can only recommened this openworld space game, I'm still having a blast with it.

80

S.P.A.Z. Beta Review

Kohryu | Aug. 14, 2011 | See all Kohryu's reviews »

Space, Pirates and Zombies (or S.P.A.Z for short) is a top down space combat game. There are some RTS elements in the game much like any standard space combat where you have command of a fleet of ships and you can also research develop new ships as well as upgrade your ship parts and weapons.

Like most space games there are a bunch of missions which you can take so that you can use the money, crew, blueprints and equipment gathered to build a more powerful fleet of ships which is especially important in this game because each randomly generated star system has it's "suggested level".

As you kill more enemies you earn experance and "level up" allowing you to research upgrades for your ships and belive me when I say these are important because you will need them to enter higher level areas. This also means that there is a lot of "grinding" in the game. A lot of the time you will be taking missions to get your reputation up with a certain faction or earn money, you might just wonder around astriod belts mining for "REZ" which is used as a currancy in this game. Depending on the size of the galaxy (which can be set by you) will determine the length of the game essentaly.

There are also rival factions in each galaxy, take missions from one and you are bound to piss off somebody somewhere but being friends with a faction gives you access to their docking stations (which have shops and quests in them) and they will also help you out in a fight when you are being attacked. With that said there is another faction that litteraly does not care who you are or what faction you belong too and that is the Zombie Hoarde. They can become quite the nuisance later in the game.

There are one or two problems with the game. While I like general presentation of the game and everything seems to be layed out perfectly with bright buttons and great tutourals the actual act of piloting the ships feels kind of off. The game uses a mouse and keys controls, something you might find in a standard top down shooter and not a space flight game. I would of perfered a standard Astriods like control with this game as I find that easier to steer and I also feel like I am piloting a ship. Other than that the controls seem fine for the control scheme that devs picked for the game. The tutoural explains how to play the game properly and you will be exploring the ranfomly generated galaxy in no time.

With that said I highly recommend this game to anyone who likes 2D space shooter games like Flatspace 2 for example. It's fun and highly addictive with some niggles. Other than that the game is great just bare in mind that you are playing a space shooter game so you will be doing a lot of shooting, mining or possibly both at the same.

65

Just rating the beta...

Lamcia | Aug. 8, 2011 | See all Lamcia's reviews »

So guys, this game is like a korean MMO, grind for ship plans, REZ, and when the zombies appear, goons. But wait a second, why zombies are SWARMING LIKE A KITTENS?! At some point, it's impossible to stop em, and if you didn't max out the shields, and cannons, you're just a dead meat. So this game is pretty imbalanced right now, and it's all about mindless grind, but i sorta like it, waiting for the full version.

95

For a beta release, this game is going to be amazing!!!

Xbomborz | July 21, 2011 | See all Xbomborz's reviews »

I seen previews for this game before and I was excited. Now, after getting the chance to play it, I am super excited for the full release. With a spectacular visual style, fun and easy controls and gameplay, intuitive new features, and a funky, over the top storyline, this beta release is shaping up into an awesome game. I would recommend Space Pirates and Zombies to anybody who loves action/RTS/puzzle games (because this is a hybrid of all of those) and to anybody who is just looking to have a fun time playing and awesome new game.