Reviews for Worms Reloaded

73

Worms back in 2D

GeorgeStorm | Feb. 6, 2014 | See all GeorgeStorm's reviews »

I can't really compare this game to the 'classics' since I have limited experience with worms. However I can comment on what I do know, this is a fun game :) It goes back to the 'basic' 2D style of the earlier worms games and looks great, with many weapons you'll recognise (and no doubt some you won't). Both new comers and old timers should be happy with this game, having lots of classic content, using the same voices you'll recognise but with plenty of new stuff, such as missions, game modes and a nice landscape creation tool to keep things fresh.

Playing on your own is pretty fun but it's playing with friends where this game shines, getting a couple of friends on Mumble/Teamspeak/Skype and blasting each other to pieces in worm form is just good fun :D

I picked it up on sale and would recommend you do the same, ideally as a 4 pack so you and your friends can instantly start playing together :)

85

Great game, even bought some DLC for it

finkrocks44 | Dec. 31, 2013 | See all finkrocks44's reviews »

This is a really fun game, and very representative of the standard Worms series. I love the franchise a lot, and if you've never played it before, it might be a good idea to test out any game from the series you can get your hands on since they follow a pretty standard model. It's an absolute blast to play with friends, so you should try to get a friend to get a copy with you so you can play multiplayer together. I love this game a lot and would recommend this game to pretty much anyone, but I will say I know a few people who aren't as excited as me about it, so it might be an acquired taste. Definitely give it a try, the price is right and it has amazing replayability.

88

Worms return back in full 2D!

MisterRay97 | Oct. 29, 2013 | See all MisterRay97's reviews »

The classic Worms are back! After they experimented Worms in 3D (which weren't very pleasing), they came back with a full 2D, but amazingly made Worms game! This game is amazing. The single-player campaign is fun and challenging at the same time. The co-op is decent. I really enjoy playing 'pass the pad' local multiplayer with my brother. Though it feels a bit short, it's an amazing game. The graphics are ground-breaking and make the game stand out of any regular arcade-ish game. The level editor is awesome and allows you to make as many as infinite combinations of landscapes as you'd like, you have full freedom. They are really varied and you'll never feel bored. The strange game modes are amazing and make the game a fun play. The missing LAN play is disappointing as this game was an amazing LAN series (I used to love playing Worms 2 on different PCs with my brother), but, nevertheless, the local multiplayer covers it up, and you have online connectivity always. And, the classic but modern gameplay is fantastic.

This game is a great game to buy even today. If you like the Worms series, you'll like this game. Not so perfect game, but a great game to play.

89

Not very new, but still great

nightassassin1 | Aug. 28, 2013 | See all nightassassin1's reviews »

The developers have been trying to keep this franchise alive, attempting to improve on the original in as many ways as possible, however they have one very big issue: the original was nearly perfect. With such a perfect original, there is only a few things that can be changed or improved without changing the franchise itself, which seems to be graphics and levels. The weapons will remain the same for the most part, with just a few added ones such as a nuclear missile or similar.

Even though this game is more of a reproduction than anything else, the small upgrades performed to the levels, graphics, and weapons are still good. If you do not have the original it is good to get this one, however if you have the original, it is less important to get this new version.

The multiplayer is really what this game is for. If you are playing against a computer it is not too fun, but if you are blowing up your friend or blowing up the floor under them, it is much more fun.

I give this one an 89. It is still a great reproduction, but did not add too much more to the original.

67

The Worms

Mavromatis | June 5, 2013 | See all Mavromatis's reviews »

This game is not much different the original but it was already good. There is a lack of weapons in game. If you want a Worms game and if this one is on sale get it, otherwise it might not be the best investment.

87

It's worms

maedla | April 29, 2013 | See all maedla's reviews »

Classical Worms game is back with this title. Have nothing bad to say about it, except the lack of LAN support that I personally missed. Other wise if you are feeling kind of down, then fire up this game and your mood will be up again with those epic sounds and fun gameplay.

70

The same...always the same

abelfs | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all abelfs's reviews »

I loved Worms: Armageddon, so you can imagine my surprise when Reloaded hit Steam. All the joys of Armageddon with updated graphics and new weapons? Sign me up, I said! Unfortunately, this game isn't all it's cracked up to be, and is best described as "one step forward, one step backwards. a sequel should at least try to include what was in the original before adding new content. Sure, now your worms can wear hats, and there are new gravestones and the like, but half the weapons and options from Armageddon are gone!

87

Modern graphics and old school gameplay

DukePaul | Nov. 19, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Worms Reloaded offers the classic gameplay from the previous games and 2D HD graphics that makes the game looks like a living cartoon.

The game has a good campaign mode, over 30 missions, most of them are easy and you will earn coins to unlock hats and items for your worms.

A lot of people says that the rope is bad but I find it great and you can still do awesome tricks with it even the game has a gamemode called "rope races" for this kind of things if you are a rope fanatic.

The landscapes are awesome, Hell, Ice, Western, Space, London and more and with the level editor the combinations are endless.

And for the weapons, the variety is huge, most of them are classic, like the sheep, holy hand grenade and the banana bomb but also new ones like the ferrets.

If you want a classic worms game, buy this, but if you want something new, you can try Worms Revolution, both games are great.

84

Worms it's back

CJV | Oct. 31, 2012 | See all CJV's reviews »

After trying to innovate with some (not so successful) worms titles in 3D, Team 17 it's back to its roots with Worms Reloaded. The gameplay it's about the same of Worms Armageddon with some subtle changes and updates graphics. The highlight goes to new online support, a needed feature and that makes this game worth buying.

85

Awesome funny game

Sharptap | Sept. 24, 2012 | See all Sharptap's reviews »

I play worms since the first one , it´s one of my favorite games. They were all good but then they released worms 3d they destroyed the worms franchise . the game was horrible. But then this game came and saved the series. It awesome , very funny gameplay , epic voices , even more epic weapons , addictive multiplayer , makes this game one of the best worms in the last years. It's a must buy , for the fans or for the newcomers.

80

It's a game with cute worms that have funny speechbanks

kairegister | Sept. 14, 2012 | See all kairegister's reviews »

Worms Reloaded is a turn-based strategy game. You have a team of worms (up to 4) and have to battle another team of worms, in this game you could have 4 teams fighting each other. The goal is to use your worms to kill the other worms with a variety of weapons. In the singleplayer campaign, things are not as easy or "balanced" as it sounds which is what makes it fun. Towards the later mission, you may have 2 worms at 50HP and have to kill 12 worms at 100HP each. This is where the strategy portion of the game shines. AI Worms have amazing aiming and use of weapons, but they are so DUMB. It's up to you to figure out how to kill them all even with the disadvantage.

80

A solid Worms game !

Micepudding | Aug. 29, 2012 | See all Micepudding's reviews »

As artillery games go, Worms is already ahead of the pack with its crisp, cartoony graphics and sharp presentation. The humor behind weapons, worms, and levels makes this a great multiplayer game, and in all but the tensest battles, you'll spend more time laughing at how badly your grenade missed or how the exploding sheep knocked 5 worms off a cliff, than on trash talking your opponent.

In single player, it's less entertaining. Battles against CPU players tend to be battles against teams that are either far too bad or far too good, and the campaign mode is fairly tedious, played mostly to unlock the better weapons.

Where Worms also loses points is with the design decisions that were clearly made for consoles. The UI is oversized,and the text chat was obviously added at the last moment as the game was ported to PC. But the game doesn't lose its charm through minor flaws like this, and they're easily overlooked once a game is in progress. Buy this game if you know at least one person who'll play it against you, either onlnie or in hotseat mode.

90

Worms will never get old

Rubin1993 | Aug. 21, 2012 | See all Rubin1993's reviews »

Worms Reloaded is another game from Worms series. This time the view is 2D not 3D ( I don't liked 3D view from previous worms). The goal is simple, you must kill all enemies worms using big arsenal of weapons. Gameplay is similiar to original Worms (huge plus for this) with additional content. Graphic is simple. The good thing is multiplayer. Who don't want to compete with other user? The Worms series are my favourite ones. I remember playing Worms: Armageddon with my friends. Goold old times. Worms: Reloaded is must buy for fans of worms. Tons of fun guaranteed!

70

Solid title, but not a true Worms game

Neohoodman | Aug. 7, 2012 | See all Neohoodman's reviews »

Despite the great amount of customization, there are a few key features missing that make this a defining Worms experience (Something that TEAM17 knew as well apparently, else they wouldn't be making yet another Worms game so soon.)

While the Worms gameplay is back to 2D (as opposed to the stuff in Worms 3D) there are alot of weapons missing from classics like Worms Armageddon and Worms World Party, as well as a few game modes.

The easy Steam online integration is welcome, but despite all the additions it feels like so much more could be made out of it.

In the end, it's a fun Worms game, but pretty barebones overall. Pick it up for a sale price with friends and you're guaranteed to have loads of fun.

75

Another Solid Game in the Series

Jelley | July 21, 2012 | See all Jelley's reviews »

Despite the long wait and high anticipation regarding this game and its return to the 2d roots, this game barely deviates from the established formula and does just enough to reignite the fun of the long running series. Almost all of your favourite weapons return, and new additions add some variety and new tactics which generally complement well together. The new graphics look is great, and with many options to customize worms,game settings, teams and maps, there is plenty of replay value. The sound effects and voice attacking stays close to the series high standards, and greatly immerses you in the game play. However most of the better maps are only unlocked through extensive progress in the campaign, or through DLC /on-line map packs. Despite its great execution of multilayer, particularly hot seat, the campaign lacks creative, mission design and far too many resort to basic death matches, which is disappointing considering previous entries in the series such as Worms World Party offered great mission variety and challenges. The missions do become better in the DLCs, but it is a shame the core game has bland mission design, given that it has a death match mode, which is essentially the same thing. Nevertheless, Worms Reloaded is a solid entry in the series, and its disappointing single player does not completely overshadow its amazing game play death and addictive multi player.

75

Series is Still Solid

lachking | July 14, 2012 | See all lachking's reviews »

Worms Reloaded is another game in the long-running franchise from Team 17 and is at its heart, as solid as the series ever has been. It is good to see that Team 17 went back to the 2D type game, as the 3D versions didn’t play out too well. There are some subtle changes this time around, such as new weapons (like termites and magnets) graphical overhauls, and more personality (such as worms screaming when dynamite is placed next to them). The new magnet in particular is quite interesting as it can repel (or attract) weapons such as grenades. At its core, the game is still very much the same as previous 2D Worms games, and as such, retains the core aspects. Modes such as quick game, training and campaign still exist. One new interesting mode is Body Count where you try to get as many points as possible by killing enemy worms that constantly respawn. And of course, there is still multiplayer, where you can play other people across the world. The game however does have some drawbacks. For starters, the AI seems to be very inconsistent. Sometimes they are downright stupid and will miss an easy shot or shoot themselves with a bazooka by aiming down, and at other times they are able to throw a grenade across the whole map and have it hit you perfectly, resulting in the full 45 damage. In addition, the campaign for me, was disappointing. Many of the missions are a typical death-match style game where you simply kill the enemy worms like you normally would in other game modes. There are some puzzle-like missions, but not enough: I expected more cool puzzle-style missions like those from Worms World Party- for example, shooting mines out of a boat, or something new and innovative, rather than the generic kill all enemy worms with normal weapons. Overall however, the game is still solid. The mechanics still work well and the new weapons add some cool new ways to play the game. If you haven’t played worms before, this is a good place to start. If you're a worms veteran, the game offers more of the same, but the new layer on top may bring a good level of refreshment to your worms experience.

70

Worms are back in the town

danteveli | July 6, 2012 | See all danteveli's reviews »

Everyone loves worms. At least the ones in the game. Worms is simple but highly addictive competitive strategy games. You land on map with bunch of your worms and the ones that are your enemies. You have huge amount of weapons and many pickups. Mission is quite simple - destroy enemy and be the last one standing. Power of this title comes from exceptional multi-player experience. Every session with friends with take many hours and it will be great fun. Replayability here is enormous and you will spend months playing Worms Reloaded. Graphics are basic but fun. The same applies to sound of tiny worms saying funny thing. This beloved title is as addictive today as it was in previous Worms Games

80

It's Worms

Endyo | Oct. 4, 2011 | See all Endyo's reviews »

Really. Not a lot of new in this game if you've played Worms before, but it's still a fun experience. You have all of the basic standard Worms warfare with all of your standard options and a few more new modes to spice things up. Of course most people play Worms not for any amount of single player glory, but for the challenge and tense standoffs that are brought about by multiplayer games.

There's plenty of that to go around in this game, though the games can get very slow at times. Once you master some basic techniques and understand the function and basic trajectory of each weapon, you can pretty much compete with anyone playing the game.

There's not a lot to say about Worms: Reloaded if you know anything about worms. You'll be using various weapons and items to attack and defeat your wormy opposition. Often times they're whimsical and hilarious. No matter what you do, it will create some sort of ridiculous outcome that will bring you plenty of entertainment. If you don't have a popular Worms game available to you, I'd definitely suggest getting this, but if you do - it's not really anything that will blow you away.

75

Solid, but doesn't reach its potential

Johnnsen | Aug. 24, 2011 | See all Johnnsen's reviews »

This game is what you would expect. A modern worms, that still feels classic. The online mode is a little barebones and could have been executed way better, especially at launch. It works alright though. There is great fun to be had when you play with other people, especially when you are 3 or 4 players. The graphics are nice and feature new effects, and the mac version is a welcome addition. If you love Worms, this is a good game, even if its a little flawed.

70

After 9 Years, We Get This?!

GMGReviewer | Aug. 24, 2011 | See all GMGReviewer's reviews »

Team17 is a legend in the PC gaming community. They been in the industry for such a long time and mainly do PC games (at first), but not with this port.

The game as a whole is good, it runs good, plays good and looks good. But the controls! The awful 'arrow keys' port controls! Also the loading between players when you play online.

Bottom line, the game is a port of Worms 2 Armageddon on XBLA and i'm disappointed in Team17. They could've made the port a good port and have it support the native keyboard and mouse like Worms Armageddon for the PC. After about a decade, this is what PC gamers get?!

Although, I cite a few of negativity towards the game, Worms Reloaded is a one of a kind game that only Team17 can produce. There's no other game out there like it so if you're interested in a simple turn-based strategy game with lovable little characters and don't mind the keyboard controls, get this!

85

Welcome back worms!

pman | Aug. 15, 2011 | See all pman's reviews »

Worms 2 was my favorite game when I was young, and now with this remake i can enjoy all those memories again. This remake has everything that made the original worms games so fun. Crazy weapons, funny sound effects and genuinely solid game-play. this is an excellent and much needed addition to this series after some very questionable games.

The only negative thing i can say about this game is that it is perhaps a bit too similar to worms 2, there doesn't seem to be too much in the way of new content.

However, that being said i still highly recommend this game for anyone who enjoyed worms in their younger years, or someone who just wants to see what all the fuss is about.

70

Old Worms are back!

Doodier | Aug. 12, 2011 | See all Doodier's reviews »

Wow, I've spent ridiculous amount of time with the predecessors, especially Armageddon. And I'd like to say to you that this is very cool follower! It has the tempo of its old brothers and very nice graphics. The main thing here is the multiplayer mod and the singleplayer is more likely just for understanding the game mechanics and practice different weapon types. I think you will be amused by this.

77

Good Game But...[Spanish Translated]

KgsRoCks | Aug. 12, 2011 | See all KgsRoCks's reviews »

It's a good game, but has its faults and recent commercial technique of filling all of DLC's. The campaign mode is fun and lasts about 6 hours. The multiplayer has many positive points and negative, that I mean that the online experience may vary, it has bad points as the lag in games +2 people, but still just as fun as any other worms.

Consider the game in more detail: A 2D game in which we have in our hands a large selection of weapons to end up like the computer "worm" enemy or the friend with whom you are playing. There are several game modes in addition to decorate your worms, put them as different sounds, different gravestones (When they die), hats ... (There is a wide range without having to take dlc`s). In short it is a good game that does not lose the essence of other worms and very funny at the time of the online mode.

90

A Brilliant Remake

faraany3k | Aug. 12, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

This is basically a HD remake of a classic from yesteryear. Game itself is true to its roots. WORMS is a turn based tactical strategy game. Although at first little cute worms give an impression of shallow adn cuddly gameplay. It is entirely another beast when you get into the thick and thin. The game is as deep as chess with dynamic environments. Each and every turn feels different and unique. A small mistake can turn the tide of whole match. This is the best, action turn based genre has to offer.

The HD remake is not only about pretty graphics. The game now has multiple game modes. 35 single player maps, Local and online multiplayer, a special survival mode called' Bodycount mode', a highly accessible 'pick and create' Creation mode gives this unique game an unlimited re-playability value.

Whether you are a old WORMS veteran or a newcomer. You will definitely find this title fun and challenging. Personally I think game this unique should be a part of every gamers catalog.

74

An old friend returns

pauljebe | Aug. 10, 2011 | See all pauljebe's reviews »

Finally the Worms series is revisited! If you are new to the series Worms is a turn based game where armies of slimy combatants fight to eliminate the opposing teams from the map while shouting high pitched clever insults. The Worms games have been around for more than a decade and have changed substantially over the years. This latest entry is a return to the original 2D perspective but with modern additions.

Worms reloaded includes a ton of play modes, loads of unlockables, and a veritable smorgasbord of classic Worms weapons. The campaign mode will be fantastic for new players, but the multiplayer is where Worms games have always shined. Unfortunately the server browser is terrible, and online games take eons to actually complete, but if you’re willing to put up with the issues some legendary battles await you.

Long time fans of the series will probably enjoy it more than new comers, but for the price anyone interested should buy with confidence. Take cover!

96

Nice remake

newn | Aug. 9, 2011 | See all newn's reviews »

I like this upgraded version of Works: Armageddon. I used to play the old version in my computers class with my teacher, and I used to love the game.

The remake is very nicely made, the graphics are extremely good and updated, there's a lot of weapons available, a working online mode. You can also create your own levels, which is very cool, because it's more fun to play it with your friends then. In fact, this game is incredible when you play it with your friends. It's also fun, so kids can play it too. Even father and son for example.

This is a must-to-have, especially if you liked the older Worms. It's a very fun game!

85

The wonderful world of Worms.

GAMERamble | Aug. 8, 2011 | See all GAMERamble's reviews »

There are few games that are as wacky and addictive as Worms in multiplayer and while Reloaded is not the best in the series its still pretty darn good. If you are into single player games then there is a few hours of fun to be had here but it should honestly only be used to practice for taking on a human opponent. The look on a friends face as you blow their Worms to smithereens using a holy handgrenade is worth the price of the game alone.

85

Good if your not a avid player of the old games.

teamfortress2 | Aug. 2, 2011 | See all teamfortress2's reviews »

If you played the WWA or WWP you will probably be disappointing on what little this game has to offer and how bad the server browser is and how nerfed the ninja rope has become. But if you don't really care about those things then it's a fantastic game well worth the $20 it costs. The multilayer is lively and engaging and the single player offer at least 6 hours of campaign fun. More if you wish to buy the overpriced dlc that has been released for the game. But the vanilla game is fun enough.

79

Quirky and Fun.

chairmank | Aug. 1, 2011 | See all chairmank's reviews »

Worms Reloaded is the latest entry in Team17's Worms franchise, finally going back to its 2D roots. The game contains both a singleplayer and multiplayer modes, but the AI can either be incredibly godly or incredibly stupid and not much left in between. The voices for the worms, can get a bit annoying. But additions such as the dynamic fire that reacts to the wind, is a nice touch.

Multiplayer tends to slow down due to the connection wait times every turn, and ranked matches are limited to 1v1's. But there are other modes that allow for 4 player mayhem online.

Interestingly, worms reloaded offers players the chance to create their own maps through the use of image files. However there was no in game system to distributing these maps to everyone which I felt was taking a step back.

Veterans of the original style worms will feel right at home, although the omission of some weapons may leave some fans yearning (RIP Mad Cows ]; ). But the more limited weapon selection makes for a fairly balanced experience. As a final note, if you have Worms 2 Armageddon on XBOX360 this game is basically the same thing. If not, jump in and blow up!

95

An old favorite series returns, better than ever!!!

Xbomborz | July 29, 2011 | See all Xbomborz's reviews »

I played through a Worms game while ago and I absolutely LOVED it. With the quirky worms, awesome weapons, and nonstop action, Worms Reloaded was one of my favorite games. Now, after getting the chance to replay, I see how the game is even better than I remember it. Including a massive single player campaign, online multiplayer, and local multiplayer, this game is a blast alone and with friends. The zaniness of the Worms franchise lives on in Worms Reloaded.

90

Worms

B1000 | July 29, 2011 | See all B1000's reviews »

Worms Reloaded is a very enjoyable game, especially when playing with 3 other friends.

There's a ton of level type options, weapons and a wide variety of customization. Worms can be individually dressed and named. The player is also given the option to create their own landscapes.

The landscape tool can be used to create your own levels. The only downside I have found is that it offers basic editing options. Being able to add fine details and custom textures to landscapes would've been a better addition.

Overall, it's a great game that's perfect for re-playability. It was also recently updated - which now offers better HUD and widescreen support.

86

Worms

hotmando | July 29, 2011 | See all hotmando's reviews »

Worms Reloaded is an old old game. You can find better games of this type in the market these days. Still, this is one of the best games out there. It should really be called a classic in it's own gene. first..visuals are great. They're really cute in a way and attractive to younger people. Visuals are fun to play with and watch at the same time. Lets not forget the soundtrack too. Fun is all I can use to describe it. Few bugs and glitches make this an enjoyable experience too. It's well made for the pc, not some port. Being able to use my gamepad that I really only used for Sonic is another great plus. The many game modes and level editors....surely means many MANY hours of playtime. I really think it should be ten, not twenty bucks though. Still..a game that is well worth it.