Reviews for Disciples II: Gold Edition

88

Old, but amazing

untitled36 | Dec. 20, 2013 | See all untitled36's reviews »

This gem has been neglected by far too many people. It's very much like Heroes of Might and Magic, but it's far darker in tone. You take turns, build your citadel, and fight turn-based battles. The actual battle system is more akin to Ogre Battle than HOMM, but I like the change for something different. It's a far better game than Disciples III, so if you are trying to decide which to buy, go with this classic rather than the bland 3rd entry. You have several very distinct factions that change the way you have to play, and you have meaningful choices on leveling up your citadel. Each choice you make closes paths. You can't have everything, and I actually appreciate that design mechanic because it makes your decisions feel more important.

73

A good game.

Assasino | Oct. 30, 2013 | See all Assasino's reviews »

I really like this game, when I was little I played this game with me uncle and me brother.I always was scared (and I'm still are) of the Red guys , so I was playing the guys that had Titan in it. When I'm really bored (which I'm often are) I love to play this game and it makes me smile again and again. I sometimes even ask my friends to play with me when they're around and they are saying is really funny and such a good game which is good to hear. :) When my uncle comes to England we often play this game.Once when I asked my grandma to play she was all confused but she sadly stopped playing about 15 minutes because she said it's to hard for her and i don't blame her. I got this game for free because it was given out last year I think and I'm glad that I got this game. Anyway if you got trouble about think to buy it or not then buy it because it's worth it. Sometimes the graphics are really funny for example an imp. The game is easy at the start but it gets harder and harder when your going through out the game and thats why I like it because even when you don't know how to play the enemies at the start will be easier. Also it's making you think about the move you will do "What will happen if I'll attack this guy instead of that one..."

70

Great Turn Based Strategy

noobboy191 | Sept. 25, 2013 | See all noobboy191's reviews »

This game focuses on strategic thinking. Upgrade your castle to allow much more advanced units, these units in turn capture more resources for your kingdom. Soon you will be able to rule the entire map. The atmosphere in the game is great, different fantasy creatures fighting it out for supremacy. The graphics are what you expect from an old game such as this, but if you look past that, you got yourself a nice turn based strategy

97

One of the best games I have ever played.

Arp1033 | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Arp1033's reviews »

As a kid I played a lot of Heroes of Might and Magic, so when my friend told me about this game, I decided to try it out. I have never been disappointed. It has amazing graphics, especially for its time, a great story, interwoven campaigns, great scenarios, hot seat, everything you want from a TBS. Pick this up now!

81

A really good TBS

34243 | July 20, 2013 | See all 34243's reviews »

The graphics are a bit dated, but nothing that takes anything away from the game.

The game itself is a turn based stratergy very much like heroes or king's bounty (thought not quite as good as them). It's written well and the lore is fairly good. From what i can tell you don't need to play the first one to get into it or to follow the story.

For $2 it's absolutely worth it.

85

If you like turn-based strategy, you'll enjoy this

DaiMonPaul | June 17, 2013 | See all DaiMonPaul's reviews »

This is a really good game bundled with its three expansions. The story is immersive, the turn-based gameplay functions well, and each playable race is unique. The campaigns are fun to play, but they are a bit long (you can easily get a hundred hours out of this game and its expansions, which is nice to have but might be a bit too much), and I found some of the battles to get repetitive after a while. As I had never played a game like this before, I found it a bit difficult to learn at first, but once I figured out what to do, it became easier -- still a challenge, but not overwhelmingly difficult. Despite these issues, I really did enjoy the game.

If you're looking for a turn-based strategy game in a fantasy world, then you'll probably love this. I'd recommend picking up this game over its sequel, Disciples 3, which is a newer, prettier game, but which isn't as good as this underrated gem.

89

Just buy

Demilisz | June 10, 2013 | See all Demilisz's reviews »

For 2$ this is just like getting it for free. Disciples 2 are probably the best part of entire series and here it comes with both official add ons. This game may look like HoMM at first, but is something completely different. There we have dark fantasy setting, where it is no matter if everyone dies but when.

Here you command a small company of units (six total counting commanding hero \himself) rather than large armies. You hero as well as his men gain experience and get new levels. For hero it means new abilities, for units it is evolving into new, stronger unit (but only if you meet requirments). And experience is probably the most valuable resource here - a high level company will crush weaker opponent every time. And there is no chests that allow to trade gold for exp - you must fight from the very start if you hope to survive. Each of five races has it's own campaign and plot and one hero can be transferred from one scenario to next and believe - you need this feature as later scenarios are quiet brutal and challenging. And don't even think about playing Gallean Return's campaigns with newbie hero - no chance of success.

Every fan of challenging turn base strategies should play this. Don't think, just buy

83

A fantastic Turn-Based strategy game

Ninty96zie | Dec. 10, 2012 | See all Ninty96zie's reviews »

If you've played any of the Heroes franchise, you'll be right at home here. The basic gameplay is very similar to the Heroes franchise, but the battles take place in a more Turn Based RPG way - Unlike the heroes game, there is no moving around troops, it's more like a Final Fantasy game, albeit each troop can only do their specific attack, defend or wait. The campaigns are long and tell pretty decent stories, and the lore creates a cogent and believable world. The difficulty ceiling is high as a beginner, but the learning curve is nice - after one game during the campaign, you should feel confident in what you are doing. I would advise buying this if you are a fan of SRPGs, or even a fan of the Civilization games, as this game draws many parallels to it.

80

Pretty good Heroes-like game

jeyko | Sept. 24, 2012 | See all jeyko's reviews »

I should start off by saying that I did not grow up with the Disciples series, so this is my first time trying off Disciples 2 (I got it off the free GMG promo). And my first thought - god, this is a lot like Heroes. A lot. And there is nothing wrong in that as it does enough different to keep me playing through the whole campaign. It is quite easy to learn and get into (well probably because I play a lot of Heroes) and you can easily get that feeling of forgetting time which you get in Heroes. But the whole game feels kind-of unpolished and I still prefer Heroes. But for a fun distraction Disciples 2 is great, and if it's on a sale it's a nice choice to pick it up.

87

One of the best fantasy Turn-based game

Xibalba | Sept. 5, 2012 | See all Xibalba's reviews »

Turn-based game with a enjoyable story and a lot of races with different plots, units, buildings and heroes. Each of the races have a different campaign. With the gold edition you have too the 3 exp Dark Prophecy Gallean's Return Rise of the Elves will add new races and campaigns. Nice.

83

Awesome game!

oreabo | Aug. 12, 2012 | See all oreabo's reviews »

Turn based game that has a great story line for each scenario!

90

Great turn based strategy with rpg elements.

Shaidarol | July 14, 2012 | See all Shaidarol's reviews »

Disciples II came out in 2002 and its still great game. Gold edition contains additional content that makes this game massive. Game is placed in dark beautiful fantasy world. Campaign has nice well writen story. Overall gameplay is great and the game is very addicting and provides fun for your every free minute for many weeks.

85

Timeless classic

maniaks86 | June 18, 2012 | See all maniaks86's reviews »

Even today it is a great game despite the age. Gameplay is polished and really addictive. The combat system is unique and something special - I would say it is alone worth getting the game for it. Game also offers good difficulty balance, never being too easy or hard. It feels more mature than other games from the same genre.

80

Old but still great

Maniacal | June 17, 2012 | See all Maniacal's reviews »

Disciples II may have not aged that gracefully in looks but its gameplay is still solid. The game offers great variety with so many units, spells, campaigns and an editor for when you get tired of those! The combat is new to me and is quite fun.

95

Turn-based classic

nurz | April 10, 2012 | See all nurz's reviews »

Always in the shadow of Heroes of Might & Magic series, but much appreciated in the gaming community. With Gold Edition we get hours of highly addictive gameplay so if you didn't have opportunity to taste world of Nevendaar it's high time to do this. Despite playing in turns game is fast-paced so you won't get bored. More intense & more dark then HoMM - don't be afraid to try it.