Reviews for Total War: Shogun 2 DLC - Sengoku Jidai Unit Pack

20

Awful, unless you're a completionist

LSD | Feb. 10, 2014 | See all LSD's reviews »

This pack was a massive let down. Besides the Wako Raiders, all the units are simply copy + pasted units from the game with slightly altered stats and silly building requirements. Bulletproof samurai? Simply normal samurai units from the game with 3 points more armour. They're just as resistant as any other unit with similar armour. The only unit from this pack that sees any use is the Daikyu Samurai, which is a slightly upgraded version of the normal Chosokabe bow units in the game. In short, avoid this unless you're desperate or some kind of completionist. It doesn't add variety to the game world, and the units are almost entirely useless. You'd be better off with a mod-pack...

80

A nice addition to a more satisfiying campaign

domenthechief | Aug. 5, 2013 | See all domenthechief's reviews »

If you decide to buy Total War: Shogun 2 DLC Sengoku Jidai Unit Pack for such a cheap price you will not be disappointed. Upon purchasing and later installing, new elite units such as famous Bulletproof Samurai, Dikyu Samurai and more will be available for training in the Shogun 2 original campaign.

I am a huge Total War fan and this DLC really affects the variety of units in the game. And if so are you, this DLC will no doubt enjoy its content.

50

Expected more

Antix | April 28, 2013 | See all Antix's reviews »

While at first glance this adds a bunch of extra units that should help spice up the variety in your games a little bit, the Sengoku Jidai pack contains very few units that are actually viable or useful. Each is limited to one clan and most of them are either outclassed when it comes to multiplayer or have requirement buildings that you simply will not want to have in your recruitment provinces when it comes to single player. It's nice to have if you're a completionist and want all DLC, or simply find the awesome Wako Raiders irresistible but overall as a pack it is a bit disappointing.

70

Good Variety

ROKET | July 8, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

I scooped up all the DLC for Shogun 2 when I bought the game and have been really pleased so far. These units, though dispersed amongst the clans, are great and add a nice variety to the roster of available units. Multiplayer is spiced up by this bundle but I do wish you could use more than one at any given time.

66

A Pleasant Addition

lonewolf80 | Aug. 28, 2011 | See all lonewolf80's reviews »

The additional units provided by this DLC breathe new life into the game for those who have already tired from beating the campaign multiple times. The newly added units bring diversity to the unit mix. Be warned , however, that owners will not be able to take full advantage of this pack unless they own the limited edition clan, the Hattori, as well.

90

A great DLC

faraany3k | Aug. 27, 2011 | See all faraany3k's reviews »

I have to differ with some of my fellow reviews here. Although ultimately DLCs are a little unfair for the gamers and regarded as milking, Sengoku Jidai Unit Pack is a great add on no matter what. Not only is the content varied and fun, it is available across a number of gaming modes. Many DLCs add little value and new content, and that too is limited to specific part of the game, but Jidai Unit Pack can be used almost everywhere you want in the game. New units are diverse and a lot of though was put into them. A great add on for the right price in my view. A must have for Shogun 2 fans.

90

Great content for its price

Gh0st233 | Aug. 25, 2011 | See all Gh0st233's reviews »

One thing I don't like about DLCs is its price, most of the time, and do not add the content to match up with its price. This one, however, does add some pretty nice content for the price. It adds 10 units that behave like hero units, you can create only one of them, but it adds nice variety to an amazing game, and it's more balanced that way. If you enjoyed Shogun 2, and there is no reason not to, get this DLC, great content, great price.

40

Cash Cow

hotmando1 | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all hotmando1's reviews »

What your seeing here is a good example of how CA treats it's customers at the moment. For one, the game is still VERY buggy in many aspects. There are still drop hackers and retainers do not work. Only ONE balance patch has been released and that been months before. So you can see, this dlc is pretty much a good sign of cash cowing the players. Also, you only get a small variety of units. Secondly, you can only use them as vets online. That means, one of each. Very boring isn't it. I do not recommend anyone to get this dlc or the game. At the very least, not until CA learns to charge reasonable prices and make reasonable games.

85

Excellent dlc

vigotski | Aug. 11, 2011 | See all vigotski's reviews »

This is what all dlc should be: full of good and new content. The units make a huge difference in the game, making the clans more distinguishable from each other and the strategy employed changes significantly. Buy this right now, or else fail as the daimyo of a mighty clan!

70

Why so expansive?

t20k | Aug. 10, 2011 | See all t20k's reviews »

I'll be honest: I hate DLC. Most of the times, it just sounds like the developers are too lazy to do a proper expansion and too greedy to make a free patch and simply improve the game. The Sengoku Jidai Unit Pack is actually good and worth buying though, and I'd actually recommend picking it up here, mostly because it's useful and improves the game.

If you picked up Shogun 2, you might as well spend a few more bucks to get more variety in your game.

70

A Nice Add-On

Bertolli | Aug. 9, 2011 | See all Bertolli's reviews »

The Jidai DLC, although expensive, offers a very nice diversity into an already great game. Single-player cllans now are given the ability to be more unique with this addition of new units specific to each faction, all being elite and devastating when played correctly.

These elite units are all added to your avatar campaign veteran units, however you are only allowed to use 1 of each like hero units etc. Each unit opens up new strategies to be used for players and spices things up with some new units most players have not had experience with yet.

Now these units are not a "buy to win" dlc as some people tend to believe. They are powerful but like all units can easily be outmatched againsit the right opponent. So if you plan on buying this pack because you want "uber-power" then you are spending your money on the wrong thing. However, if you want a new flavor to Shogun 2 then go ahead and give this a try.

85

Brings about some much needed diversity!

PharaohsVizier | July 31, 2011 | See all PharaohsVizier's reviews »

One of the major problems plaguing Shogun 2 Total War is the lack of unit diversity. Each clan has pretty much the same set of units (not surprising since it is a civil war). Differences more or less came from bonuses to certain units, stronger morale, faster build times, etc. This DLC differentiates the clans a lot better, the units overall feel pretty cool. Between the two DLC's for Shogun 2, I'd definitely recommend this one over Ikko Ikki.

74

PRetty Cheap

hotmando | July 30, 2011 | See all hotmando's reviews »

Compared to Ikki Ikki, this content pack is pretty cheap..and for good reason. The only thing I liked about this was the wako raiders and the fire cav. Everything else was horrible. All units are limited to ONE in deployment. Just one. I don't understand? Long yari should able to be spammed. I guess CA really wanted to focus on balence. It's a shame they haven't released a patch yet but rather more dlc. We'll see. For a price about half of the ikki ikki but also half of it's content...it's about as good as much as you like shogun2.

90

A great addition to a wonderful strategy game!!

Xbomborz | July 29, 2011 | See all Xbomborz's reviews »

This pack for Total War: Shogun 2 adds a huge amount of new units that the player can use to decimate his foes. From the Fire Cavalry, to the Mounted Gunner, to the Wako Raider, each of these new units has different attributes, tactics, and weapons that help to bring a sense of freshness to the game. For the $3.25 price tag, this pack for Total War: Shogun 2 is a steal!!!

70

Still expensive, but an interesting addition to Shogun 2

wengart | July 29, 2011 | See all wengart's reviews »

This is another DLC which I would expect to be only a dollar or two, but if you you're a big fan of the Shogun 2 campaign this may be of interest to you.

It gives each of the playable clans a unique unit which goes a little ways into making them each unique. Whereas in vanilla Shogun the only real difference between the clans is the addition of the clan name to a unit or two and a small clan-wide bonus.

If you have have cash to spare and are a big fan of the campaign this is the DLC for you.