Reviews for Batman: Arkham City

93

One of the best superhero sequels ever

spycid | April 15, 2014 | See all spycid's reviews »

Batman Arkham City has everything it's predecessor Batman Arkham Asylum became famous for in a refined an expanded manner.

Storyline, graphics, gameplay everything is top notch. It's a must play game even if you are not a Batman fan. Go buy it already.

98

Best Game Ever?

Simao20 | Sept. 20, 2013 | See all Simao20's reviews »

This is certainly my favorite game of last gen, its dam near perfect. It has everything, problem solving with Riddlers trophies as well as solving his riddles to save police officers. There's a great story of Batman being put into Arkham City to solve what The Joker is up to and what Protocol 10 is. Also , last but not least the revamped and enhanced combat system. Rocksteady made minor tweaks but good enough to make the combat that much better. Its easier to link up combos on single and multiple enemies. Now you can strike an opponent more than once like the previous game , dishing out more damage and gaining more points with higher combos. Different enemy types , some are unarmed thugs, some have knives, some have tazers and some have car doors as shields. The map is large and beautiful in its own way. Every section of the city takes after Batman's main villains such as Two Face, Pengiun and of course the Joker. Many swerves before the end as well as hinting at possible future enemies and games. One of the best games ever in my opinion and I can't wait to play it again

100

Greatest Superhero game

kai246 | Aug. 30, 2013 | See all kai246's reviews »

Having just played Arkham Asylum (Also Recommend playing), I had to dive straight in to this game. It managed to top everything that had been done in the first game. Gotham City is much bigger than Arkham Island and there's just so much more for the player to do in the world. The Joker is back and the story is great, which I wont ruin for anybody. If you loved the game play of the first then you should like this as the core mechanics are still the same, there's a couple more take downs and different gadgets to use though which mix it up a bit.

The game comes in at around 10 - 12 hours and every moment of it is a blast to play. When you don't want to play the main missions there is a range of side missions each of which has been carefully thought out and planned incredibly well.

97

Great game with fantastic gameplay

Gojko | Aug. 18, 2013 | See all Gojko's reviews »

Batman Arkham City is an arcade adventure game from the third person. Developed from the game Batman Arkham Asylum FROM 2009. year, the game takes players into Arkham City, strictly supervised part of Gotham City, whose residents most notorious criminals of the fictional town.

The game is set within the walls of this district in Gotham City and tells the story in which unified all the criminals and evil weirdos in the world against one of the most famous superheroes. Joker, Penguin, Two-Face Harvey and other opponents of the Batman that masked protector of justice met in comics and on the big screen, are all in one place: in Arkham City. Also there is a large number of new gaming options that provide superb pleasure to all lovers of this type of games.

A lot of action, a lot of puzzles, a lot of good game-play and very good graphic... that is Batman Arkham City.

I highly recommend this game for all players.

79

Still Exceptional: abnegation at the cost of fine structure

conortheminx | July 20, 2013 | See all conortheminx's reviews »

The first game, Arkham Asylum, followed something of a Zelda-like progression with the acquiring of gadgets, along with flowing rhythm-based combat just as suited to PC controls as consoles, and some of the best stealth gameplay in gaming. Arkham City, above, is the sequel that went sandbox on us, introducing far more of the less publicly (well, non-graphic novel reading population) known Batman mythos and brushing up on the already solid base mechanics of the first game. Combat is more advanced with more options, but oddly applying the 'more options' method to stealth actually makes the sections easier as more options in stealth generally makes for a looser grip on tactics and tension. In fairness to the game, these sections do add more variety with enemies that block your HUD and mines that essentially require you to vary your targets and add an extra step to your planning of the room's takedown. As said, the combat has expanded with a more advanced challenge mode in which gaining combo multiplies over a hundred should be more than possible for most players.

In the context that the story provides, there's a certain ticking clock added early in the game that can keep the tension high. To put it simply, a crazy scientist has walled off a section of Gotham and turned it into a super-prison that the incredibly high criminal insanity rate of Gotham apparently makes necessary, and Batman infiltrates it to investigate what he's really up to. You're tossed around to meet most well-known Batman villains who weren't in the last game in the search of the cure for a disease, in a plot that's mostly there to keep the player busy until the big climax hits. The villains of the day do seem like they often have bigger things to worry about than Batman now that his entire Rogue's Gallery is in a great big turf war, and there's nothing so eerie of indulgent as the last games famed Scarecrow sections, which I feel was a loss. My biggest complaint with the story, in my most unprofessional of gripes, is that you'll spend about the first third of the game dealing with Penguin, who is not a particularly dignified opponent.

As for the world at large, as always the henchman dialogue brings a smile to my face, and by god are there collectibles and side quests to do now. That and the improved movement are pretty much required for the sandbox focus of this sequel. One gets the impression the flight challenges were designed with console controls in mind, and emphasizing that element of Arkham Asylum is a bit odd, but I'd be lying if I didn't waste more time I should have spent studying in playing Arkham City than Asylum. Though my interest in collecting riddler trophies swiftly drained after I essentially completed his challenge, though I probably sank about 20 hours into sidequests by that point, embarrassingly.

Note that I like to grade my games with a 50 as an average. The game loses points for straining the Arkham Asylum formulae into a sandbox when it didn't really need that, but with the very solid Arkham core behind it, all brushed up and capable of draining your free time, this is still a fairly impressive game. It's story and progression feels less structured and enthralling as a game, but it's not without it's memorable moments and its charm.

79/100 - one of the best PC games I own

100

All Good And Then Some

mmhelmy98 | July 12, 2013 | See all mmhelmy98's reviews »

Arkham City is a beautifully composed game, for all it's (intentionally) dismal and luster-less appearance. This is the heart of Batman, grim but not "darker and edgier" grim. Bleak, but not without moments of lightness. Pulpy but not without moments of more visceral connection to the audience. As an adaptation, a channeling of the best of Batman into Video Game form? This is an exquisite work.

That is not to say it is the greatest Batman story ever told. Nor is it without issues. The gameplay can be repetative at times and the story meanders into some rather awkwardly classic comic book territory where presenting familiar faces and hokey villain plots trumps ... well, everything else. But for the most part, all of the roughness is smoothed over by the parts of the game that just work. The number of systems and subsystems and mini-games that flow together here, the creation of a linear narrative strung together into a variety of flexible challenges in a semi-open world--it's an impressive game that delivers on a rather ambitious premise quite well. The combat is slick as anything, and even when you learn the system enough not to be challenged, it's an entertaining system to mess around with. The game starts you off with most of your gadgets from Arkham and adds enough new ones to be fun but not so many that they get in the way--though one or two could have been done without. At every turn, decisions that make the player feel welcome were made.

The standout of the game, though, is the voice acting. With the notable exception of the Penguins accent, all of the voice acting is impeccable. The characters on display here are displayed at their peak even if the story doesn't touch on all of them in a way that makes this especially obvious. As always, Batman is the least important, least interesting thing about Batman ... but in Arkham City? That's made less of an issue because you get to enjoy the slick combat, the cool gadgets, the brooding intensity and anti-social insanity at your fingertips rather than at the usual distance. On top of that, Kevin Conroy brings more out of Batman than most performers who have donned the cowl, so this is about as interesting as the Batman himself is going to get.

And if you still aren't really interested in Batman, there's still the rest of the cast. Heath Ledger eat your heart out--Mark Hamil's joker isn't just a stellar performance (and I daresay this is one of his best renditions of that performance), but my hands-down favorite interpretation of the character. The whimsy of the character makes the darker side that much more chilling (something Christopher Nolan doesn't seem to appreciate). And on top of THAT, there's all the lovely, lovely game design. There is no branching narrative here, there is no real immersive-sim style interaction of systems. This is a linear game with a really open map and lots of side-tracks to wander--and it's the most free I've felt playing a game for some time. There's more than one way to make a game feel more open and inviting and Arkham City hammers that home with it's exceptionally crafted linearity.

100

Top of the line

Firndeloth | July 3, 2013 | See all Firndeloth's reviews »

Arkham City is a beautifully composed game, for all it's (intentionally) dismal and luster-less appearance. This is the heart of Batman, grim but not "darker and edgier" grim. Bleak, but not without moments of lightness. Pulpy but not without moments of more visceral connection to the audience. As an adaptation, a channeling of the best of Batman into Video Game form? This is an exquisite work.

That is not to say it is the greatest Batman story ever told. Nor is it without issues. The gameplay can be repetative at times and the story meanders into some rather awkwardly classic comic book territory where presenting familiar faces and hokey villain plots trumps ... well, everything else. But for the most part, all of the roughness is smoothed over by the parts of the game that just work. The number of systems and subsystems and mini-games that flow together here, the creation of a linear narrative strung together into a variety of flexible challenges in a semi-open world--it's an impressive game that delivers on a rather ambitious premise quite well. The combat is slick as anything, and even when you learn the system enough not to be challenged, it's an entertaining system to mess around with. The game starts you off with most of your gadgets from Arkham and adds enough new ones to be fun but not so many that they get in the way--though one or two could have been done without. At every turn, decisions that make the player feel welcome were made.

The standout of the game, though, is the voice acting. With the notable exception of the Penguins accent, all of the voice acting is impeccable. The characters on display here are displayed at their peak even if the story doesn't touch on all of them in a way that makes this especially obvious. As always, Batman is the least important, least interesting thing about Batman ... but in Arkham City? That's made less of an issue because you get to enjoy the slick combat, the cool gadgets, the brooding intensity and anti-social insanity at your fingertips rather than at the usual distance. On top of that, Kevin Conroy brings more out of Batman than most performers who have donned the cowl, so this is about as interesting as the Batman himself is going to get.

And if you still aren't really interested in Batman, there's still the rest of the cast. Heath Ledger eat your heart out--Mark Hamil's joker isn't just a stellar performance (and I daresay this is one of his best renditions of that performance), but my hands-down favorite interpretation of the character. The whimsy of the character makes the darker side that much more chilling (something Christopher Nolan doesn't seem to appreciate). And on top of THAT, there's all the lovely, lovely game design. There is no branching narrative here, there is no real immersive-sim style interaction of systems. This is a linear game with a really open map and lots of side-tracks to wander--and it's the most free I've felt playing a game for some time. There's more than one way to make a game feel more open and inviting and Arkham City hammers that home with it's exceptionally crafted linearity.

93

This is how games should be made.

Jncocontrol | June 27, 2013 | See all Jncocontrol's reviews »

In my opinion the greatest superhero game to date, It has all the great Batman Super villains, from joker all the way to Professor Strange. It has a amazing soundtrack, improved combat from the original, one hell of a story line, expansive world to explore, [almost] endless upgrades and top notch voice acting So i would say this is a must buy for any action adventure junkie.

87

Great Sequel, Maybe not quite as good

Hardtarget | June 2, 2013 | See all Hardtarget's reviews »

What a great game. Arkham City takes all of the ground breaking ideas from Asylum and tries to upscale them. A bigger area, more missions, more bad guys, and more crazyness.

It doesn't always succeed but if you liked Asylum than You'll definitely like City. Highly Recommended.

90

The second best Batman game ever made

artigkar12 | May 28, 2013 | See all artigkar12's reviews »

So this game is the sequel to Arkham Asylum which was the best Batman game ever made (IMO). This game is mostly the same, gameplay wise, as the first game. But it has added a couple of new things, most notably a more open world environment (arkham city has a bigger and more open overworld). This open evironment only comes into play in the outside areas of Arkahm City, but in reality its just a hub where once you enter one of the indoor areas it plays very similarly to how Arkham Asylum does.

This is not a really bad thing though, since they have lots of side missions for you to do outside and gliding around the city is fun in its own way. The other new thing is that you occasionally will play Catwoman who plays a bit differently. She uses a whip to get around places instead of the grappling hook that batman uses.

The game is still the wonderful rhythm based brawler with metroid inspired exploration/progression that the original game was. But honestly this game was a little too much I think, unlike the original I was not compelled to seek out all of the riddler trophies and such. I was content with just finishing the story, which is good and worthwhile playing through. Game doesn't really look much better than the first game, but that is just nitpicky since the original is still quite good looking.

Note: I see that this version doesn't require Steam. With that said the version I played was the steam version, which supports steamworks achievments on top off the GFWL requirement. So you get double the achievments which is kinda funny.

96

All Good, And Then Some

Turambar29 | May 24, 2013 | See all Turambar29's reviews »

This one is a no-brainer; Arkham City is both an excellent Batman adaptation and an excellent game. Everything to love in Arkham Asylum is back, and there's more of it! The combat is fast, flowing, and incredibly satisfying; the hidden secrets, quests, and extras are both time consuming and rewarding. The devs really know their Batman, and you'll find loving references to just about anything in the lore you can think of hidden here and there. Graphically, the game is simply stunning, with voice-work to match. It's a game that does a little bit of everything, and does it well. Want to be Batman? Now you can, and it's soooo satisfying.

Want to be Catwoman? It's got that, too, and the DLC weaves into the main campaign quite nicely. I have to say that the other DLC options are nice, too; the option to load up Nightwing for the combat campaigns is really appealing for those who, like me, long to see him take front-and-center in a game one of these days!

80

The Dark Knight Rises...... literally

abelfs | March 24, 2013 | See all abelfs's reviews »

When you thought that the first Batman was perfect, arrives this sequel and blow out any bad expectations. Batman: Arkham City took everything that made the first game excellent and expanded on it tenfold: brilliant story, improved combat system, a second (even a third) playable character a new range of enemies from the Batman universe, new locations and a new set of Riddler games for collectibles. This game is a great title from 2011 and should be part the collection of any gamer. However, I give it a 80 only for its terrible performance in DirectX 11, a mistake that Rocksteady commit themselves to solve but they haven't... even more than a year from its release!!

90

Overall a worthy sequel.

overburning | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all overburning's reviews »

Batman Arkham City is, in my opinion, simultaneously better and worse than Arkham Asylum. Again it is a very detailed world to explore in, and it is nice that they tied in collectibles with easter eggs. The combat is as good as ever, and the boss fights are vastly improved. Yet the story seems to have suffered due to the open world nature of the game. It is less focused and as a result, the vast cast of villains seemed to have been underutilised, especially if compared to the superb effort of Askham Asylum.

95

Better than the first

nintendo97 | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all nintendo97's reviews »

Arkham City was an easy contender for last year's GOTY. The new gadget features are brilliant and the combat is as fluid as ever. The story is top notch and the villains, especially the Joker, keep you wanting to play through to the end and beyond.

100

Amazing

andrew1000555 | Dec. 8, 2012 | See all andrew1000555's reviews »

This game is one of the best superhero game you'll ever play. The story is great and the voice acting is 2nd to none.

The amount of side mission also make for a large amount of hours you can spend playing the game.

All in all, it is amazing

100

Bigger and better

V2lentin | Oct. 23, 2012 | See all V2lentin's reviews »

Batman Arkham Asylum was one of the best super-hero games, but Batman Arkham City is THE best super-hero game. Everything was improved from the original: the graphics, the combat, the sound and the playground is now the city, which is bigger than the old asylum.

The story is one to remember too, with the Joker and Hugo Strange as the main villains, helped by Solomon Grundy, Poison Ivy, Clayface and some others.The Riddler is back too, with more difficult puzzles, involving rescuing his hostages. There are some other puzzles too, that involve unlocking the Riddler trophies and solving some sidequests. A nice adddition is Catwoman as a playable character, which will make a lot of fans happy.

The graphics of the game look amazing even on DX9. At launch, DirectX 11 was available, but it used to cause crashes, so you might be better without it. The sound is also very carefully done, especially the voices of the inmates, that grow scared everytime Batman seems to be in the vicinity.

The combat was improved too, with the addition of some new gadgets, like the freezing grenade or the shock gun. But the stealth approach is the most rewarding, letting you feel the real Batman while you pick off the inmates one by one, listening how their voices grow more and more terrified. One of the best games in the last years for sure, Batman Arkham City shouldn't be missed by any gamer, no matter what.

95

Arkham Asylum Was Addicting - AC is Crack

ROKET | Oct. 1, 2012 | See all ROKET's reviews »

Improvement was key in AC. Everyone knew where AA went wrong and how it could have been better and Rocksteady listened to everyone. The game kicked ass. There is nothing else like it. Never have we seen such well done super hero games.

The story in AC is great, full of twists and great dialogue. The voice acting is top notch and the animations - especially with physiX enabled is amazing. The visuals in this game blew my mind and there is nothing like having a great story enhanced by great animations and voice acting.

The gameplay in AC is refined. Smoother and focused. You have all the original gadgets from AA unlocked from the beginning and you get many more along the way. There is so much more variety and freedom. I loved flying around and unlocking new skills.

I highly recommend this game to all. It has a game of the year edition now with all content and I cant tell you how much I love the Robin and Nightwing DLCs. So much fun.

If theres anyhting I dont like at all...its freaking Games for Windows Live. Such a trashy DRM system.

93

Better than Arkham Asylum?

dark2025 | Sept. 26, 2012 | See all dark2025's reviews »

B:AA was an awesome game with one of the best fighting mechanisms I've ever seen. This continues in B:AC, except the game is even more epic since the areas are larger and there are more side missions to do. The atmosphere and presentation of the game is top-notch. As with B:AA, the developer really put in a lot of details that make the world much more immersive. The gadgets are fun to use and there are even more challenges than before.

Definitely highly recommended, and if you haven't played B:AA, you should get both.

97

Even better than the predecessor

panz3r88 | Sept. 14, 2012 | See all panz3r88's reviews »

If you think that Arkham Asylum is one of the best action game of the last years you will see that its sequel is able to surpass it. The game is huge compared to the predecessors: there are many villains to face and many secondary missions and collectibles to discover. You can use all the gadgets and Batman abilities to beat the enemies and the game will never be boring. The story continues from the ending of Arkham Asylum and it's amazing like it's predecessor. I think that this game is a must buy, even if you are not a fan of Batman

96

Knocks the socks off of the original

Cooberstooge | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

This is easily the best Batman game to date. There's so much to do here, from the nice, long story to the numerous side quests, you won't be finishing this one for quite some time. For once, listening to all of the voice actors in a game is a joy, and that alone makes this one worth a buy.

Graphically, the game is fantastic, with Arkham City fully realized in all the capabilities of today's hardware. The landmarks of Gotham that are now enclosed within the prison walls are easily identifiable, and look suitably run-down after their time spent in a now uncivilized land. The sound is fantastic, with the voice acting being a special treat, thanks to the return of the actors from the original game in the series. The controls are well laid-out, and make heavy combat enjoyable, challenging, yet always doable.

The story is truly the highlight here, as is the remarkable cast of characters. You'll find yourself often wanting to revisit certain scenes key to the story. The combat is massively improved, and even when you lose a fight, having to re-do it isn't bothersome in the least. All the nifty new items you can make use of, and the many improved older ones, add tons of new elements to the player's journey through the world of Arkham City.

Nobody can go wrong with a purchase of this title, even those gamers who aren't really that into Batman and his associated friends and villains.

95

Where do I even begin to praise this one!?

schroff | Sept. 13, 2012 | See all schroff's reviews »

I love Batman The Animated Series, bought a lot of Batman merch as a kid, Batman Begins ... yup I love the character and his universe! I can't believe what a great job Rocksteady has done with the Arkham series - Asylum was brilliant but City took it and made it even better! One of the best games of all time and if you're Batman junkie ... it's a no brainer! A lot of the characters from the Rogues Gallery are present, great surprises, amazing graphics on the PC. The combat!! It has to be the gold standard when it comes to melee combat! It never gets old!

The direct x 11 implementation is infamous .. just disable it and leave physx on normal and the game works great!

98

Better than the best

ultrapwnd | Sept. 12, 2012 | See all ultrapwnd's reviews »

When Arkham asylum came out, it was one of the best superhero games and completely shattered expectations by delivering a deep single player story, with fluid combat and really made you feel like batman. It's sequel Arkham City, is better, with more characters, an open world Arkham city, and enhanced game mechanics. The game's story revolves around Arkham City, a new criminal institution where criminally insane patients from Arkham asylum are moved after the events of the first game, The story revolves around new villains such as the penguin and surprise! The joker! The stealth and fight mechanics are made slightly better and cooler feeling. This game will hook you for a while, and is a great experience to be had

92

My opinion of Batman Arkham City

pcgfng | Sept. 6, 2012 | See all pcgfng's reviews »

If you're interested in the story, stick to the main missions. It's very easy to get distracted doing the large number of optional side quests, especially if you feel like getting some xp to unlock abilities & gadgets to be better prepared for some of the main events. This may affect the pacing & flow of your game, so take this into consideration.

Batman Arkham City has new game plus mode which is basically replaying the single player campaign with all your unlocked gadgets with harder enemy difficulty. Challenges mode (which includes combat & predator) is also available from the start but with more challenge maps unlocked later as you progress through the single player.

The animation & voice acting of the majority of characters are done so well that they have their own personality & the story is good & engaging. Combat is fast, smooth & challenging especially for those who seek perfection in linking up combos with different attacks & gadgets.

At time of this message, I did experience drop in frame-rate/performance a few times which a fair number of other players have also experienced & have mentioned on various forums, but this personally didn't affect me so much that ruined my experience/enjoyment of the game.

95

One of the best superhero games!

Sandoooooo | Aug. 26, 2012 | See all Sandoooooo's reviews »

Batman: Arkham City™ is one of the best action/adventure third person game I've ever played. It's just a masterpiece and has an ultimate superhero experience.

It's pretty long, and you won't be bored while playing it. The mainstory will take around 15-20 hours to finish it, and around 10 more hours to finish the sidemissions.

Everything in this game was pretty well done such as the rich gameplay, the great voice acting, the awesome characters, and the incredible storyline.

This game is a must buy, especially when it's on sale!

95

Better than asylum!

maciej2601 | Aug. 22, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

The second edition of Arkham Asylum, which tells the story of Batman's struggle against the most dangerous villains. This time, we are moving from a psychiatric center on the island of Arkham to Gotham City's title, occupied entirely by villains. The Batman is a very interesting fighting style that attracts a lot of gamers, especially fans of the comic book dark knight.

95

The best Batman game ever made...

KenpoJuJitsu3 | Aug. 14, 2012 | See all KenpoJuJitsu3's reviews »

...and possibly the best comic book based game I've ever played in 26 years of gaming. Everything about this game is top notch. Visual presentation, audio presentation, cast of characters, voice talent, gameplay mechanics, controls...everything.

This game is fun, it uses the licensed material very well, there is a ton of content and there is plenty of replay value as well.

This game gets my highest recommendation for not only being a top notch game but for also exceeding my expectations. I'll be looking forward to more games from Rocksteady, they've earned a place on my short list of trusted developers.

89

Amazing! But could have used more polish

KlaymanInc | Aug. 6, 2012 | See all KlaymanInc's reviews »

I played this through and through and enjoyed my playthrough quite a bit. The graphics are really impressive, but the game suffers for inconsistent frame rate at times, and some audio problems. I have read all over the forums that this is not a problem specific to me. The controls are tight and the combat system, to me, is second to none.

The ''bad'' things i found were the secondary objectives, that usually just felt tacked on, and other times i just couldn't locate the mission in the radius. Also, some of the Riddler trophies and challenges are downright annoying.

I would totally recommend you get it though, because the game is good, the story is also very good with its highs and lows and the acting is also quite good, too!

97

Better than Asylum

sanyi777 | Aug. 6, 2012 | See all sanyi777's reviews »

Batman Arkham City is the best superhero game ever maded. The game looks gorgeous, and the story is well-written, so you will enjoy it even if you don't know Batman well. The fighting is changed a little bit from Arkham Asylum, and it's a great feeling fight with the thugs of the City. The stealth parts of the game are still good. The Batman Universe's characters perform well. The storyline is long enough to entertain you, as you fight along Arkham City. There are plenty of side missions that makes the hours of playing much higher.

89

More open, more everything

Marinlik | Aug. 5, 2012 | See all Marinlik's reviews »

I loved Arkham Asylum. The fighting was good and so was to missions. It also had extra things too do like riddler challenges. This game has everything great about Arkham asylum but have added even more. The world is bigger, it is a small city now as opposed to Arkham island, the city is filled with thugs so you can always find someone to fight. The riddles are more and harder now. The game also have more "real" sidequest to extend your time in the game. Simply put, this is a bigger and better version of Arkham Asylum with great characters as the penguin and the Joker once again. The only thing that drags it down for me is the Cat Women missions which where inferior.

90

Better than its predecessor in every way

stridor | July 28, 2012 | See all stridor's reviews »

This game is absolutely fantastic! The sandbox elements, the superb flow and impact of the combat, the gadgets, the story, the Batman-lore, and the voice acting all combine into an AMAZING video game package. This game is totally worth the asking price, and then some.

80

Batmin : Rising

WalrusKing171 | July 27, 2012 | See all WalrusKing171's reviews »

I thought it was a clever game. The story was well done, The graphics were stunning, and the combat was very smooth. This game far surpasses the previous Bat Man Game

95

You have to get this game!

UltraJake | July 26, 2012 | See all UltraJake's reviews »

When you typically think about Superhero Games, you think about bargain bins and overpriced wastes of time. This game is nothing like those games. Compared directly to Arkham Asylum, the combat is more fluid, the graphics have been improved and the world is more open to explore. Even the Riddler trophies have now been made much harder to get. The only real complaint most people have is that the story isn't quite as good. Don't worry though, it' still fantastic! You can play as both Batman and Catwoman, unlocking Concept Art and Challenge Maps along the way. Once the story is over, see if you can really call yourself Batman and master these Challenge Maps. Overall, the game is amazing. It's worth full price and it's more than worth the price it's now going for. You will feel like Batman.

100

Comic book video games done right!

PM_DMNKLR | July 25, 2012 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

One thing I can say about Batman video games, is somehow, no matter who does them, they always manage to be done rather well (not including the flop that is Lego Batman, lol). This one, is no different, and in fact takes awesome butt-kicking to a whole new level. The PhysX engine is a major upgrade even upon the one in Batman: AA, and so is the tesselation. The team who did this really had their work cut out for them, but the result is terrifyingly pitch-perfect! I really hope that they keep up with this awesome work, because quite frankly, there's no denying the awesomeness of this game. I honestly believe that even those who don't care for comic books would like this game. I definitely recommend it on that factor alone, but the rest is just like having ice cream with your cake, mixed with epic and awesome :)

74

I liked arkham Asylum more

rstokes | July 24, 2012 | See all rstokes's reviews »

When a game goes open world, it loses a certain direction to it. That's how i feel about arkham city. Arkham asylum is amung my favorite games of all time, but this feels like more or less of the same, and i cant help but feel like they just took the end game of arkham asylum and copy and pasted the gun wielding baddies into a huge. That's not to say I disliked the game, it was a fun experience from start to when I lost interest, back to when I picked it up and finished it. I suppose Im slightly jaded since the previous game ranks in my top 10 but I was expecting so much more. Regardless Arkham City is a solid game (with one retarded story line) that will provide hours of entertainment to batman and stealth action fans alike

90

If you like Batman, you need this

Melkarth | July 23, 2012 | See all Melkarth's reviews »

The best game involving the comic universe ever made. It's pretty long, and you'll never get bored.

95

Great Game

IganX | July 23, 2012 | See all IganX's reviews »

This game may be one of the few super-hero games which can live up to its name. Open-World action, many sidequests, long and engaging storyline, amazing graphics, this game has everything which makes a third person view action game interesting. Besides, you dont need to have played the previous game to understand the plot, for it is explained clearly during the game.

100

Beautiful to the end

cristiano171 | June 28, 2012 | See all cristiano171's reviews »

Batman: Arkham City offers fantastic high doses of combat, stealth action, drama, heroism, altruism, beautiful graphics, a really dark but wonderful environment, and a sensational soundtrack, as was expected. Moments involving a pathetic character who never thought to be capable of stars in them are also part of the game, and all this makes the title is a must. Not to mention the textures, which are much more beautiful than in Arkham City: Batman is, for example, is a tremendous impression of realism. And also, all the characters move so much prettier. The animations are more fluid, each stroke appears to be struck by someone of flesh and bone, and movement as a whole is really beautiful: you will notice when the Batman "ends" someone, for example.

And after you finish the main campaign game, there is still much to be done. Missions secondary challenges, including, for example, by ranking challenges of Riddle, etc.. The game is great, if you think about it and unite all the different elements. conclusion Batman: Arkham City is able to make fans of the Batman comics and Batman the video game feel extremely happy. The game presents the best of Batman and has lots of action, elements of research, drama and a stage for holding and greater than that of Arkham Asylum. The Rocksteady managed to create a sequence and worthy of the great 2009 title. Or rather, she managed to create a better title.

95

Almost perfect

catranizi | June 27, 2012 | See all catranizi's reviews »

Arkham City is better in almost every way than its predecessor: the combat is more fluid and varied, there is less reliance on detective mode than Arkham Asylum, there are more gadgets and they are more fun to use.

The cast is a comic book geek dream: almost all major villains are there, from Ra's al Ghul to Joker to Bane (the degree of their involvement varies however). But that also brings the only minor blemish in a somewhat perfect game - the story. Too many characters means too many accomodation to have each play a small role, and leads to a strenuous storyline at times.

Still, a game that everyone should have played.

As a side note, the widescreen (eyefinity) mode is well implemented, apart from a minor issue during Catwoman's climb sequences (nothing game breaking however).

90

Better than its predecessor in every way

simonsix | June 20, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

Arkham City is better than its predecessor in every way, and that says a lot. How is it better you ask? In Arkham City, there is more to do. Instead of just main story missions there are also side missions, collectibles, and Riddler Challenges. Its not easy to expand what was a fairly linear start to the series and open it out into a huge open world, but Arkham City's upgrade into the big city from the confined space of the Asylum couldn't have gone better.

94

Pinnacle of Superhero Video Games

Helixium | June 13, 2012 | See all Helixium's reviews »

This game is absolutely fantastic! The sandbox elements, the superb flow and impact of the combat, the gadgets, the story, the Batman-lore, and the voice acting all combine into an AMAZING video game package. This game is totally worth the asking price, and then some.

87

Batman is Back

samtman | May 26, 2012 | See all samtman's reviews »

After Arkham Asylum I was very much looking forward to this. It is a great game but feel it falls short of the first game. I missed the scarecrow moments and the moments where the game messes with your head. It is still enjoyable and you will waste so much time trying to do the ? challenges.

The game is a lot more open world than the first with a lot more side missions.The combat has been kept from the first with just a few tweaks to help with the flow of combat.

The catwoman missions are also fun and a welcome distraction from the main story although they do intertwine. Worth it for any Batman fan or fans of the first game. If I had to rate the first game it would get around 90 so this gets slightly less but still worthwhile.

95

An amazing sequel

Rzepak01 | May 17, 2012 | See all Rzepak01's reviews »

Arkham City takes what was great about the first game and improves it. So the graphics are better, the story is better, the controls and Batmans abilities are better, the DLC is better. If you played the first game you know what to expect. Whats great is that this sequel feels very much like the continuation of Asylum. Batman starts out with many of the abilities that you got in the first game, which is rare as far as Im concerned.There havent been any majors changes made to the game, but thats fine because there was very little wrong with Asylum. To me this is the superior game mainly because the story is much better and there are more characters that we all know and love from the comic books.

100

An Amazing Sequel to Arkham Asylum

nibblemonkey | May 17, 2012 | See all nibblemonkey's reviews »

Arkham City improves on every part of Arkham Asylum and considering that everything in Arkham Asylum was amazing it means that it there is nothing to fault about this game. The controls are good, the gameplay is good, the sound is good and the story within in the game is good and leaves hints about where the series is going. One of my favorite things in this game, that couldn't be done in Arkham Asylum, is that up can continuously grapple boost onto a building and glide off of it, after you learn how to do this you can string them together and glide across the whole of Arkham City without touching the ground.

99

Incredible!

kalil | May 16, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

Gameplay: Impeccable, not much to say, new moves, an easily deployed through the city, besides the game to be well optimized

Technology: Even in a radeon HD 4200 can run it super well, the city excellently done, and excellently optimized and that average quality is much better than GTA IV, weighing less

Graphics: Not much to say, Direcx11, oclucion environmental nesecitas everything to have a terrible experience!

Sounds: An excellent ambience, sounds patrols, helicopters, conversations, near and far, some q other important things

Innovation: Nose that gave 3DJuegos 7, then call of duty deserves 1 or anything, as is always the same type of game, but here instead of a small place with a huge, endonde many missions, the main and secondary levels where you delight with almost all the characters in the history of truth batman, help others, etc.

PS: Game aptly recommended whether or not you played the first batman, rocksteady these guys if they do addictive and super fun games, batman hope the other be left to the Unreal engine 3.

90

A rich treat for gamers.

albeenox | May 12, 2012 | See all albeenox's reviews »

I gave the first game, Arkham Asylum, a 95/100 - and to me, its still the better game - but only by a very slim margin. This game manages in many ways to improve upon the original. The combat has been expanded upon in a magnificent way (without sacrificing the ease in which it can be picked up and utilised), the boss fights are more entertaining and creative, and there really is a wealth of things to do. This time around, the game uses a huge sandbox environment to move through to reach goals and look for trophies and mini-quests (or just look for wondering gangs to beat the heck out of). The sandbox environment is both a curse and a blessing - at first it can be quite overwhelming, but eventually as you get more used to moving through it and get your bearings as to where everything is, it makes for a really enjoyable new addition to the game. The visuals are stunning, voice acting amazing, and it all makes for a very immersive and atmospheric experience.

The only Negative I have, is that in its attempt to be sprawling and grand in its sandbox environment and its villain roster, It loses a bit of the tight focus that made the original connect (at least, with me) on a more emotional and and narrative level.

Still, the overall fantastic quality of the game, makes this an easy game to recommend, and you will definately never regret picking this up. A high quality game, that's incredibly enjoyable from start to finish.

92

Loved it.

scottnat | April 15, 2012 | See all scottnat's reviews »

Superb. Huge city environment with more variety than you'd think it would have, pulled off with stunning graphics and lots of really neat little physics effects - in terms of wind and water etc. A game which can be quite lengthy to, depending exactly how many side missions the player takes up. Though even if only a small percentage on offer are indulged in, or none, it'll still be well over a dozen hours start to finish.

One minor reservation i have is be careful you're hardware is up to it. Got the latest and great graphics card in my comp (680GTX) with everything set at top level and am finding the odd bit of stutter. But, having said that, even if the Directx11 extras aren't viable on your setup it's still a beautiful game in Directx9 mode.

90

Superb followup to Arkham Asylum

Neohoodman | March 8, 2012 | See all Neohoodman's reviews »

Rocksteady set the bar quite high when they set their foot in the superhero-games world. And what an entrance they made. Batman: Arkham Asylum was one of the, if not the best superhero game available on the market. It was a mix of Metroid-esque gameplay with an innovative combat system.

With the coming of Arkham City, Rocksteady opened up alot more of the world and brings more Batman for all of us. More villains, bigger world, more gadgets, everything about the gameplay has been improved significantly. The boss battles are varied as well as the different styles of gameplay as opposed to the track trail -> enter building -> fight enemies in Arkham Asylum.

The story is alot weaker this time around, but the ending will still leave you wondering as it will leave alot of questions open.

The story shouldn't take down the magnificent experience Arkham City brings you and it is a worthy successor to the first Arkham game.

92

Brilliant! Better than Arkham Asylum!

Kranitoko | Dec. 5, 2011 | See all Kranitoko's reviews »

I worried how Arkham City could top the brilliance that was Arkham Asylum, but then I got this game and it was pure gold. Whilst it's not my game of the year, the game is really good at making you feel like you are actually Batman!

Almost everything has been improved.

And I particularly love how the game feels different from any other in the sense of abilities, for example in the first game of a series, you may have powered up so much, and then the sequel would arrive and your powers would have drained by something.

Batman doesn't do that and instead, a lot of your abilities you earned in Arkham Asylum you seem to have on you at the time you get the Batsuit. Of course you don't have everything because Bruce probably wasn't prepared for what happened to him.

The ending is really surprising too. One you probably won't see coming.

100

Batman Arkham City Is Great

Ricky18 | Nov. 28, 2011 | See all Ricky18's reviews »

This game is great. I'm a big fan of Batman and played Arkham Asylum too, I must say this is bigger better and stronger than first game. Great story, great villains, great graphics and Arkham City is phenomenal. You won't regret buying this one, game of the year.

92

Gorgeous

RaTcHeT302 | Nov. 17, 2011 | See all RaTcHeT302's reviews »

Whether you are or not fans of Batman, you will it like this game. Technically and visually sublime, well written story and above all beautiful and fun to play. The variety of environments, collectibles and the additional missions affect the game's length in a pleasent way, varying from 15-20 hours, even more if you will it unlock Catwoman.

A must buy.