Reviews for The Lord of the Rings: War in the North

77

A Fun, Flawed, Action-Packed Piece of Fan Fiction

Tripleforce | Feb. 4, 2014 | See all Tripleforce's reviews »

War in the North has a few issues here and there, User Interface, a few bugs with graphics and AI, and a couple design decisions gone awry, but for the most part it's a solid game. Fun action combat, good art direction, animation, sound, loot and character progression and unlockable difficulty modes similar to an ARPG like Diablo make War in the North a satisfying experience overall, even with the issues it has. If you enjoyed Peter Jackson's movies based on Tolkien's books, you'll appreciate the look and feel, which is heavily inspired by Jackson's films. It's a darker, grittier take on the Lord of the Rings with decent story telling, light questing, and RPG influenced dialogue choices. Even if the story is no where near being canon, and die-hard fans of Tolkien's works would probably dismiss War in the North's tale as a silly what-if yarn about a few unknown heroes with too much magic and violence, it's still a pretty enjoyable game worth playing.

60

Boring and uncompelling

Traldera | Jan. 29, 2014 | See all Traldera's reviews »

The LOTR universe is full of lore and story potential, yet this game has managed to be nothing more than mediocre. Characters are generic and do not stir any emotions when playing. RPG elements whilst present are limited, so don't hope for an in depth system. The level design is painfully linear, with few choices and lots of 'corridor fighting' as some describe it. Whilst this game is playable with mouse/keyboard I found a controller helps a lot. To summarise, this game is nothing special, and it has aged badly since release. My advice is to spend your money on something more deserving of it.

58

Only worth playing Co-op

Sganotak | Jan. 16, 2014 | See all Sganotak's reviews »

This is yet another average and generic Lord of The Rings game.

The story is bad and the voice acting is horrible, despite Nolan North and Laura Bailey playing two of the lead characters. You will also interact with most of the main characters from the movies and the books but you will soon realize that they're just there for fan service and add nothing to the game.

The game is plagued by several anachronistic game design choices, like invincible walls, linear levels and character progression system, dialogue trees that serve no purpose and many more.

The combat system is solid and the violence is pretty close to that of the movies. However it becomes repetitive and tiring after you clear wave after wave of the same enemies in each level. The boss fights are disappointing and the challenge is minimal because you can get revived by your teammates as soon as you fall in battle

The game is pretty long (12+ hours) so I strongly advise you to play this co-op with friends or with people online, otherwise you will most likely get worn out from the repetitive nature of the game. The 3 protagonist system works pretty well and you can freely switch between them throughout the story even if you're playing alone.

Even if you like LOTR, you will find War in The North boring and uninspired. However if you find it for a low price and have some friends to join you it can be an enjoyable game

69

A Grindy, Uninspired Journey.

Volzmir | Dec. 22, 2013 | See all Volzmir's reviews »

Copied from my Steam Review:

[STORY] ✮✮✮✰✰ [GAMEPLAY] ✮✮✮✰✰ [REPLAYABILITY] ✮✮✰✰✰ [GAMEPLAY HOURS] 6+ (Potentially 10+ to complete the entire story)

"Lord of the Rings: War in the North is an action RPG that takes place alongside the story of the LOTR Trilogy. You can choose from three distinct characters to play as: Farin, the dwarf champion, Eradan, the human ranger, or Andriel, the elf mage. Each of these characters has their own unique fighting style and can attack both in melee and ranged. The game features a stat and skill system not unlike the Mass Effect series where you can upgrade certain abilities to your own preferred style of combat. The story puts you in pursuit of Agandaur, dark lord servant of Sauron, whose efforts may hinder the quest of the Fellowship of the Ring. In the game, you travel from notable locales from the books such as Bree, Sam Ford, and even the troll infested Etternmoors.

The combat in this game feels very clunky and tiresome as combat abilities are restricted by both power cost and a cooldown timer. You certainly look heroic and cinematic as the animations of each sword swing and spell resemble that of the films, but the praise stops there. Alternating between 2-3 buttons, the combat feels repetitive and dull after the first few hours. Gameplay primarily consists of traveling from one zone to the next, defeating waves of enemies within a mostly linear path from objective to objective.

War in the North features multiplayer, which may make the overall experience more enjoyable to some players. However, from a solo player standpoint, this game feels very grindy and ultimately not worth the frustration/boredom to continue playing simply to progress the plot."

80

Fighting Orcs: Fun with Friends

Bokoblin23 | Nov. 23, 2013 | See all Bokoblin23's reviews »

The first Mature rated LOTR game, not for children, but for mature adults: gory orc killing fun.

This game is a side story to the original Lord of the Rings trilogy, following a trio of heroes fighting against the dark lord's minions in the North of Middle Earth.

The gameplay is simple, but effective and feels like a hybrid between the original LOTR console action games and a loot based RPG.

Chose between three difference classes (Champion, Ranger and Loremaster) and jump online with 1 or 2 other friends for rhythmic action experience as you fight orcs and other foul creatures to stop Agandaur, one of Sauron's generals.

The game doesn't feature any original voice cast from the movies, but the new characters and the stand-ins are perfectly fine. Laura Bailey and Nolan North provide the VO for two of the main playable characters, a highlight for myself as a fan of both their work.

The tone of the films is kept pretty faithful in this game and the new locations are fun to imagine within the broader context of the setting.

You might not be playing the fellowship in this game, but you definitely feel like a hero in middle earth.

There is also a simple, yet effective set of cooperative tactics players can use to help eachother in battle to defeat more difficult foes, and this keeps the game engaging.

You can upgrade your characters, and if you chose the right trees, the combat becomes more and more fun as you play.

I initially played through singleplayer, and I enjoyed myself, but the game really deserves such a high score for the very easy coop play.

If your looking to have a fun time with other LOTR fans, you should definitely pick this up.

75

Alright Game, GMG has it cheaper than anywhere I know of

Dez | Oct. 26, 2013 | See all Dez's reviews »

I got this for around $2 or less a while ago, for that price its well worth it. Third person mostly linear RPG hack and slash but enjoyable, great world if you like the LOTR. The characters all play reasonably different and all the different armors and clothes actually change your character visually, and are unique to each character and they are all look great.

75

Quite entertaining and fun to play

Aldhelm | Oct. 19, 2013 | See all Aldhelm's reviews »

The Lord of the Rings: War in the North is well made game but if you are looking for top shelf product it's not for you. All fans o LOtR should be enjoying it from start to the end for it's story, adding many details to this massive world. Other gamers will appreciate well made gameplay (but repetitive in long run), nice looking locations and possibility to play 3 different characters with unique skills. In terms of RPG don't look for huge skills tree with hours of studying best ways of development and choosing the best equipment. It's more of a addition to the whole game than something you should focus on. But action never ends and don't worry there will be a lot to do. Plus the adventure is enjoyable even though you don't have many things to discover. To sum up every fan of Tolkien saga will be satisfied but other gamers won't be disappointed. You should definitely give it a chance.

80

Fun experience

arimajeen | Sept. 18, 2013 | See all arimajeen's reviews »

The story is well written, co-op doesn't affect gameplay at all, actually it improves the overall experience. The combat system is very solid, satisfying to play and fun. The world is beautiful along with the animations, although not much exploration options. Could probably prove a good challenge on harder difficult level with friends. All-in-all, it's a pretty decent and enjoyable hack-and-slash.

70

Entertaining in short bursts.

JURGMANDR | Sept. 9, 2013 | See all JURGMANDR's reviews »

I first heard about this game 3 years ago and was excited by the prospect of a good action-rpg in the LOTR universe. It's basically a brawler with light RPG elements (skill trees, randomized loot, stats that affect your build). It tries to use a conversation wheel but it really doesn't affect the story or gameplay in anyway (most conversations just give you some extra backstory or ambiance). The keyboard and mouse controls are very solid and work surprisingly well for a brawler wit the ability to chain attacks quite easily. The AI isn't completely retarded, since they actively use their special abilities/healing and even picking you up if you're downed (which is something Gears of War 1+ 2 should've had but never did ;_; ) The biggest problem with combat is the same 3-5 kill animations repeating for your weapons ad nauseam (although it is quite hilarious to chop an orc's legs off with a club) The story is ok, the voice acting is pretty solid overall, though the textures and graphics are kind of muddy. TLDR : It's an enjoyable game for LOTR fans (mostly because of the lore/backstories you can find out) though the combat is satisfying but repetitive

79

An overall good game

Stezizi | Aug. 26, 2013 | See all Stezizi's reviews »

The Lord of the Rings: War in the North is a game far from perfect. Technical issues and a gameplay in the long run a bit repetitive prevent the production to excell in the category of action/adventure games. However, any lover of the genre of action-RPG, as well as fans of Tolkien's saga, will find more than a good reason to take up sword and bow and leave for the northern lands.

65

Good 3rd person hack and slash but lack of depth in combat

Cronoblade | Aug. 9, 2013 | See all Cronoblade's reviews »

Think of this as a dynasty warrior with Lord of the ring. Well, it's action hack and slash RPG. It's very enjoyable for the 1st playthrough and it is better when you're playing cooperative with friends.

Even after finishing the game on singleplayer, your progress can still be continued on the next new game. Most likely on higher difficulty. Unfortunately, when you're playing on higher difficulty, it is better to play it online. Reason? The AIs are terrible. They are the reason why you will lose in combat because they are useless. All they do is to hack and slash but do not use the skills. On higher difficulty, the enemy hits very hard, and you will drop in few seconds.

The mechanism has RPG style, where you can upgrade your str, dex, and so on. The stats distribution is important when you're planning to meet the equipment requirement to use. Also adding the stats will strengthen certain attributes.

The combat system is simple. Tap light attack, follow by heavy attack. You can use arrow and bow and skills but it doesn't flow well together. It's actually button mashing. I can say that you can mount their so called turret in a "defend an area" event. That's it, it's very simple button mashing game play. Combo like dynasty warrior? Nope, you won't see it in here.

The story follows the same timeline as the movie. This is more of the side story. It had the same events happening from the movie but you're not at the same location with the heroes. Don't want to spoil for you, but it's not as bad as you may think. However, the character development isn't there. You don't feel anything for the characters. You will only meet the characters from the movie though.

The RPG style for this game is a mixed pros and con. It doesn't have in depth RPG but some of the conversation or choice you made affects certain event of the game. You're in control of the story like maybe 40% of it. That's a good thing for this game. However, take note that in cooperative mode, some people just don't have time to wait for you to talke to everyone. They can't progress until you move on. So, if you want to get more into the storyline, play singleplayer 1st, read everything, then go cooperative.

The graphics for this game. It feels muddy and bland. It feels dull and boring. It lacks of vibrant but as most people said, it was dark times, which is why it is like that. I play other Lord of the ring games, and it is dark but isn't as dull as this. I really can't give much thumbs for the graphics, graphics is on the con side.

If you have friends who would join to play, go ahead but take note if they aren't into story, play singleplayer 1st. Although I must say that 2nd playthrough is nothing but the same thing unless you want to know the outcome of your choices you made and due to the simple and dull graphics, you may not want to go again. Well, my opinion nonetheless. It's an OK game.

66

A Good Game marred by No Replay Value and a Lousy Story

SavantTwo | July 29, 2013 | See all SavantTwo's reviews »

I am quite a big Tolkien fan and I have enjoyed adventuring in Middle-Earth ever since the release of The Two Towers for XBox back in 2002. Long story short, if you love hack and slash games with a fairly original story, then this game is for you.

To start with the positives, the combat system in this game is incredibly fluid with very few hiccups in performance as long as you have a decent computer. Stringing together combos on the PC works very well, but it feels like one would be better served if they played with an XBox controller. In addition, the sense of atmosphere is incredibly well done, especially as you proceed through levels like the Barrow Downs that have a very creepy feel to them.

I also liked that you had to face a wide variety of enemies, which have their own unique strengths and weaknesses. The AI is intelligent enough to exploit these to their fullest potential, such as having mages deploy spells that block incoming projectiles. Luckily, the developers did good work on the solo play because my AI comrades were also intelligent enough to do the same.

That said, this game suffers from a hacked together story, no replay value and one note characters. It essentially boils down to this. You are a side group that guards the North in the wake of the Fellowship marching south. Here is a bad guy that works for Sauron. Go kill him. While that is not bad, there was no emotional context and I didn't care about the protagonists... and then the game just ends.

85

Grab two friends and play this game!

chaoticgenius | July 22, 2013 | See all chaoticgenius's reviews »

Many do not realize the studio that did this game is the same studio that did the Balders Gate games on ps2! This is a well done action-rpg that has a lot in common with the console Balders Gates, but in the LOTR world. Two things to take into consideration when you buy this...do you have two friends and can you afford to pick it up for em or can they buy it for themselves? If so than play it now!

75

Diamond in the rough

Revenantal | July 17, 2013 | See all Revenantal's reviews »

I play a lot of game with my girlfriend and was pleasantly surprised when we tried this one out. With a similar feel (to a certain extent) to Dead Island the game offers a fairly linear story line however the fighting feels very solid. Fighting with any form of weapon, magic, bows, or swords feels very fluid and they blend very well together give you very satisfying kills. However there were some issues that did arise with this game, Lag being a major one. There were a few parts throughout the game I had to play solo as it was too laggy for both of us and we always ended up disconnecting, ignoring the lag however game play was smooth, with minimal glitches. One issue I for see for people planning to venture forth into the North is the game is very boring solo, and becomes of a grind fest then a game.

80

A lot of fun

Firminus | July 7, 2013 | See all Firminus's reviews »

My and my nephew played this game and it was a lot of fun. The Classes are unique and fun. A story worth a look for any LotR fan. A few glitches here and there, but over all the game is pretty solid. Co-Op is by far the best experience you will have with this title.

70

Good game but pc issues

kabtq9s | July 7, 2013 | See all kabtq9s's reviews »

I really enjoyed the game but I had serious lag and frame drop issues and it was not only me. Many people with Radeon cards experienced the same difficulties.

80

Always been a LOTR fan

grunts00 | July 4, 2013 | See all grunts00's reviews »

This was definitely an interesting story. I played through first on my own and enjoyed it. My second playthrough I played with two friends and that definitely upped the experience quite a lot.

83

I love Middle Earth!

DanielZo0 | June 11, 2013 | See all DanielZo0's reviews »

This game deserves imo a higher rating. It is a beautiful game, with a great story (it differs from the Lord of the rings movies, in story and characters), so you don't feel like you're just playing out the movies.

It is somewhat lineair: you can't leave the paths set for you, so okay it isn't as free as Skyrim, but it just doesn't feel restrictive. The path feels natural, not forced.

One negative I've read about, are the zombie like facial movements (or lack thereof) of some of the characters you meet in Rivendell, I have to agree with this, and it bothered me a little. Strangly I only felt like the facial animations lacked in Rivendell, in the rest of the world they were fine.

I loved the amount of gear you could find, and that you really had a choice in equiping it: it differed enough to make it an interesting trade off, between for example damage and magical effects (of the item).

I loved it, and will probably do another play through as a mage.

70

Great game for co-op

mturner0708 | June 8, 2013 | See all mturner0708's reviews »

My girlfriend and I loved this game. I did have a few issues though; the voice chat is horrendous and I wanted it to be longer. The game forced you to use steams voice chat and it echoed and lagged a lot. In caves the voice chat got especially echo-y, I'm not sure if that's a feature or a coincidence. It was a major bummer to not be able to chat over a better client. As always, I wish there was more length to the game but I feel like it was good value for the $5 I paid for it.

79

Nice LOTR Game

Mavromatis | June 6, 2013 | See all Mavromatis's reviews »

This is a really nice LOTR game. It has a good storyline, properly connected to the Lord of the Rings lore. And it is really fun to play as coop, I can even say that it is better in coop.

76

Role playing for the LoTR fan

megfosnot | June 4, 2013 | See all megfosnot's reviews »

With so many role playing type games, how does this one set itself aside from others - one big answer - Lord of the Rings Lore. The game stays consistent with the LoTR Lore and world. If you like the movies, then this game delivers - it is like playing a movie. You select a character (you don't get to create your own like some other RP games) - which keeps that consistent feel. Controls take a little getting used to - compared to playing games like World or Warcraft. And sometimes the camera can be an issue when trying to kill things - but the cinematic quality of the cut-scenes is great. Also different about this game compared to many RP games is the co-op. It was designed with co-op from the beginning and you can feel the difference that makes. So.. go grad a friend and let the adventure begin!

72

A Sold Middle-Earth Adventure

Hardtarget | June 3, 2013 | See all Hardtarget's reviews »

This is a fun, but not amazing, game. It takes place concurrently with the movies and shows a different side of the adventures. All the high points of the series that you expect are represented just from a different group of character's perspective.

It's a action adventure style game that sort of seems like a single player MMO in many ways although the best way to play it is with a couple friends in co-op mode. It reminds me a lot of the old Baldur's Gate Dark Alliance games but a bit more modern.

It's a fun lark!

73

Solid Game

Voodoochild | May 23, 2013 | See all Voodoochild's reviews »

This is a very enjoyable game provided you don't expect AAA quality. While not quite on the level of the old "Return of the King" LOTR game, it holds it own quite nicely and is worth the value.

69

If it is currently on offer- buy it!

Crazy4ever | May 21, 2013 | See all Crazy4ever's reviews »

The lord of the rings: war in the north is actually quite a good game in some ways. The story is interesting enough, and the gameplay is solid. The charachters are quite predictable, and they dont look very good either (except for the dwarf :D). Luckily, you can change the charachters appearence in the first level in the bar, and later in the game. The fighting mechanics is good enoguh. It is a standard slashing yourself around type of fighting, but the finishing animations never get old and makes the slash-fighting seem a bit better. Still, I think this would have been a very good game if it had a dodging AC-like addition to the fighting. What is most fun is the co-op because it is a game you could get bored of sitting alone, but with a friend its good.

Soo... Ok story (could be a lot better), boring charachters but you can change their appearance as you wish, and its good fun with friends. It misses what makes a good game good and has some problems like the revive system which can get very irritating, specially when playing singleplayer with your stupid bot-teammates.

All in all, a decent game, if it is currently on offer and you like these kind of games, buy it! Moreover, if its still 19,99 its not worth it.

65

not bad

warnold | May 2, 2013 | See all warnold's reviews »

I mistakenly thought the game was open world - it's not. It's very much level-based. The graphics, voice acting, etc are alright, and co-op makes it fun if played with a friend. However the game did not live up to my expectations. Still, likely worth it if you're a LOTR fan, and buy it with realistic expectations.

80

A Pleasant Surprise

Davarian | April 26, 2013 | See all Davarian's reviews »

I was very pleasantly surprised when playing this game.

If you're after a solid action rpg then look no further. Multiple characters, skill trees and plenty of re playability with a price you can't beat.

82

Great for Co-op

wfosnot | March 4, 2013 | See all wfosnot's reviews »

Other than going to a full MMO - there are few adventure co-op type games. What makes this game even better than just adventure/fantasy - is that it is set in the Lord of the Rings universe. I enjoyed playing co-op with my children as they learned a little about LoTR - they became interested in the storyline - and then we watched the movies. The game is fairly usual adventure type game. You do quests and gain XP and find loot. What makes it different is the LoTR lore.

89

Good game, totally underrated.

israel_hlc | March 1, 2013 | See all israel_hlc's reviews »

War in the North is the most underrated game I have ever played. It is far from perfect, it’s true, but, it is excellent.

The graphics are a bit below the average, especially the characters’ models and textures, but the environments are good.

The gameplay is good; you play each time as one character from a choice of three. As you cannot change your character every time you want and the AI is pretty dumb, the overall experience will be much better if played in coop.

The plot is interesting. It’s not very deep, but it is linked to the Lord of the Rings story and you will even find meet some of the members of the Fellowship during the game. For fans of the trilogy, this game will be even more interesting.

75

Mixed quality

OnBoard | Feb. 25, 2013 | See all OnBoard's reviews »

LOTR: WITN would need some polishing to make it a great game. You got absolutely horrid looking menus that are more 8-bit than year 2011. But you also got great looking charters, like the eagles that have great lip sync too, unlike main charters.

Some of the game is way too dark and some of it is washed out, but on most parts it looks ok. No AF or AA ingame, so enable those on drivers to make it look better.

Gameplay it self is very solid on co-op, you need others to survive and challenge seems constant. We've yet to feel over powered and you need the loot/shop for better ones, unless you like dying. Sometimes your hero just likes to hit air or miss and it can get a bit frustrating, but combat is solid most parts.

Downside for me, from which I took few points of is that NPCs like to talk.. ..a lot. The game seems very long and everyone is talking a lot and if you are going to listen all of it you won't finish it anytime soon. But you also got LOTR story and heroes from the films (some looking exactly as their movie role models, some not so much) to keep you in the loop/interested.

If you got a co-op partner, give it a go, SP might get a bit boring at some point.

81

Good but could be great

Grafos | Feb. 25, 2013 | See all Grafos's reviews »

This game has a lot going for it. Good graphics and soundtrack, solid atmosphere/voice-acting, fun co-op play. True, it's a bit repetitive but, that's the case with most modern action games. There are some RPG elements it reminds me a bit of Diablo II in that respect, nothing too deep or complex, just enough to add variety to the gameplay.

On the minus side of things, I find the game to be far too forgiving in normal mode. Every time I am closed to beating the bucket, my AI companions will come to the rescue and restore my full health. All I have to do is run for cover. Normal feels more like "easy mode" to me. Also, the action is somewhat sporadic, the battlefields are mostly like differently skinned arenas with enemies just thrown at you in hordes.

Still lots of fun and definitely recommended.

80

Fun but repetitive

Stebsis | Feb. 22, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

If you like Lord of the Rings and its lore you most likely will enjoy what War in the North has to offer. I certainly liked this as an action hack and slash, and as an RPG, but it gets repetitive.

You can choose to play as three different characters, dwarf, elf or human and each of them have different abilities. Elf, the mage, specialises in long rage attacks, dwarf is like a berserker and is best in close range and human, a ranger, is quite balanced between ranged and melee though favors melee. These aren't that interesting characters, but they're not bad and voice actors are solid. I just hate it that, when changing a character, you don't carry over experience and gear that you might've been saving for other character. I played the game halfway with ranger and then decided to try out with mage, but I was level 1 and had the default gear and of course was really weak. The game is desined with 3 player co-op in mind where the game really shines, but they should've thought a bit more of those who prefer to play alone.

Story is quite interesting and it takes place at the same time as the journey of Frodo and fellowship. You even meet the fellowship characters and some from The Hobbit. Your quest though isn't to be with the fellowship, but as the title suggestes, you head to north to defeat a human, Agandaur, who's some general for Sauron. It gives nice background for the lore especially if you haven't read the books and only know about movies. In the end it feels like your fight matters in the fate of Middle-Earth and isn't just some minor tasks while the fellowship is off to defeat the big evil.

War in the North is enjoyable action RPG with nice story and lore and lots of characters to meet and different quests to do. It gets a bit repetitive in the combat, but if you have couple of friends with this game, definitely play with them.

85

A solid game.

kokosabre | Feb. 1, 2013 | See all kokosabre's reviews »

It's a really good game.First of all I got grabbed by the storyline that reveals what happens in other part of the Middle-Earth.Second I like the action and the battle system.It's really a gem that I was looking for 6-7 months.RPG elements are also good but not perfect.In Single player the AI of your companions is really good but lacks the option to inspect them to see what items they have so you must remember what you gave them.Co-op is great too but sadly for me couldn't make some friends who are LotR fans to buy that game but no worries about it because there are internet servers made by other players.So if you like RPG/Action games get this one.It's worth it.

80

A good action game, that truly shines with co-op

Crazee | Jan. 29, 2013 | See all Crazee's reviews »

This game throws you into the Lord of the Rings story three days before Frodo arrives at the The Prancing Pony. You are a member in a party of three, able to choose between the Dwarf Farin, the Human a Ranger by the name of Eradan, and an Elven Mage Andriel. This party will travel across the north of Middle Earth, performing deeds which will indirectly help the ring-bearers quest.

The action in the game is fluid, the controls take very little time to get used to. As with most console ports, I found myself most comfortable with a gamepad. the game acknowledged my 360 pad with no problems, and responded by showing the gamepad buttons in game, rather than the keyboard or mouse shortcuts.

During fighting, one will have the opportunity to preform special finishing blows. If these blows are preformed at the right time, the game will reward the player with a satisfying "kill-shot". Beheading orcs never gets old!

When playing single player, the two other party members are controlled by AI. They are quite competent at killing monsters and using suitable abilities. They can position themselves in rather irritable places at times, and have no problem with blocking off an intended escape route!

Multiplayer is where the game really shines. Whilst the AI is competent enough, it can never match up to a trio of players working in cohesion. I can't think of many action games that have multiplayer this good.

Bottom line: Best played co-op, with a gamepad. Great story, good action!

85

A must have for any LOTR fan

Kushaja | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all Kushaja's reviews »

This game is great for action rpg and lotr fans, especially if you are both. It has great looking graphics, fun, if a bit repetitive combat, great music, good voice acting and a good story. The story lasts for a long time, and besides it, you have like hub defense missions, in all the famous locations from the books and the movies. And, lets not forget the great multiplayer, the game is so much more fun with friends. By the way, if anyone is wondering, it uses Steamworks and not GFWL, thats a great thing!

83

A good solid game

Lekes | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all Lekes's reviews »

A great game that plays well on many PC configurations, I am pleasantly surprised by LOTR: WITN. As others have commented, the graphics are excellent and the gameplay is engaging. My one complaint is that the multiplayer is simply the singleplayer campaign with online play. No new maps or co-operative gameplay styles, as I was hoping. Also, the difficulty levels above Normal must be unlocked one at a time, but this disadvantage is also an advantage, in that it gives you a tangible reason to replay the game's single and multi-player adventures. All told, War in the North is a great game. It's light years ahead of most movie-based games, and is great fun to play. The only thing that would make it better in my books, is a more varied multiplayer experience.

80

Coop is what this game is good for.

Bigshrimp | Jan. 27, 2013 | See all Bigshrimp's reviews »

If you really want to have a good time with this game, try playing with friends in co-op, single player is ok but not worth it to enjoy the game fully.

I thought they did a good job keeping to the storyline of the LOTR games and used the assets well, but could have used a better engine to give it more polish.

75

Great game.

aqnickdan3 | Jan. 26, 2013 | See all aqnickdan3's reviews »

This game has amazing elements in it, such as the graphics, which adds a certain aspect of medieval type gameplay. The style makes you feel as if you are in the game, you get so addicted to the story with every minute. Combat is engaging, and certainly is fun on coop. The game may have a few flaws, such as coop bugs, but nevertheless, the game is great. Highly recommended for those who like rpg's

74

A Good but not Great Hack and Slash RPG

videopower77 | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all videopower77's reviews »

Absolutely play this one with a buddy or two. It makes the game a lot better. Thankfully the game uses Steam for the multiplayer as opposed to GFWL. This is also the first M-Rated Lord of the Rings game so if you want to see a Ranger decapitate legions of orcs and a tough as nails dwarf drop a few f-bombs, this is the game for you!

83

Solid RPG

xydanus | Jan. 25, 2013 | See all xydanus's reviews »

War in the North is one of the best Action-RPG games out there. Lord of the Rings universe is always interesting and War of the North takes well advantage of it by using characters that are not yet introduced well in any other game and using interesting locations. Action driven combat is fun especially with friends.

Technically War in the North is working well. I or my friends never had issues or glitches with this game.

85

Beautiful game, use a controller ;)

CymTyr | Jan. 22, 2013 | See all CymTyr's reviews »

This is a beauty of a game with a lot going for it. It focuses more upon action with rpg elements of loot gathering and quests. All in all it's a solid game, and I believe I got my copy for somewhere around $5 USD - it's easily worth that and then some, despite having a bug that can stop you dead in your tracks with no resolution to it other than starting over at the beginning of the level.

Patching support is pretty much done for this game, so if you do encounter the bug (you'll know, I don't need to put it in here) expect to have to re-do some of the game to try to prevent the bug from re-occuring.

I'm going to give it a solid 85%, based on the fact that the camera does weird things when you use a keyboard + mouse and because of the game breaker that never got patched out, otherwise it would be a solid 92-95%.

Get this game, it's worth every penny if you're an action rpg fan. Very surprisingly much MUCH better than peer reviews I found on it.

75

A Good Coop Game

atik12 | Dec. 23, 2012 | See all atik12's reviews »

War in the North is a good rpg-hack and slash game. Gameplay is like DMC. You're in the middle, you kill goblins,orcs until a door is opened. Gaming athmospere and story is actually good. Characters are well designed.

Coop is very fun with friends and starting a coop game is very easy. Sometimes it have some sync issues. Your friends or even enemies change locations very fast and without walking.

This game shines if you're playing coop with your friends. If you wanna play singleplayer you may wanna thing again. But if you want to play coop go ahead and buy it.

50

Coop is severely broken

Crap | Dec. 21, 2012 | See all Crap's reviews »

Trying to play 3 player coop in this results in 1 person always getting booted when the third person joins and the game also has weird synching issues, where you and your coop partners will be randomly placed in different locations or set to different story points after loads etc.

It's a real shame because the core game is actually pretty fun and well done, but if you are looking at this just for coop, I'd give it a miss.

75

Mixed experience

Takeshi_K | Dec. 13, 2012 | See all Takeshi_K's reviews »

LOTR WITN isn't a bad game, but sadly one that could have been much better if the studio had gotten more development time and resources.

The combat itself is very satisfying and fun. Even after finishing the game you may feel like playing it again just because getting better loot is so satisfying. Co-op is not handled very well sadly and putting equipment on for the other two characters is way too complicated. You can't in-game equip, you have to go back to the main menu to do this.

All in all, good fun to be had if you're willing to tolerate a few issues. Also, works best on nVIDIA cards.

80

A good RPG

rulzmaker | Dec. 11, 2012 | See all rulzmaker's reviews »

Lord of the Rings War in the North is definitely one of the best games based on the LoTR series even though it lacks a few things on it's own. Overall it's a good RPG with a good back story and interesting characters. That being said, now, I have to admit that the game starts being repetitive after a while and it lacks innovation and intrigue. Although this could have been so much more, I'm sure LoTR fans would appreciate it as I did.

83

Very decent game in the Lord of the Rings Franchise

DonVercetti | Dec. 9, 2012 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

To my knowledge people are always a bit sketchy about Lord of the Rings titles and do not give to much kudos to them, whilst they do actually deserve some. I find War in the North a fantastic RPG. The story does not follow Tolkien's famous journey of taking the one ring to the dark land of Mordor. It goes a whole other direction, as Aragorn himself sends you up north to face the dark Numenórean named Agandaur, one of Sauron's high lieutenants. Agandaur appears quite soon in the story which is great, the story builds up without flaws and as you finish it you come to see that it blends in perfectly when it comes to the journeys in Middle Earth. The fighting style is quite enjoyable and the looting system is done very well. The characters look well, you're able to adjust their faces and their armor, when you loot new gear ofcourse. The one downside to it though is that your characters whilst in conversation, cant make any real good or bad choices. Whatever dialog you choose to say wont ever be a positive or negative one. Whatever is said will always be stuck strictly to the story and will seem to come over neutral and friendly. (You encounter a rather large enemy, there was dialog which you would think to enrage the enemy and smash you to pieces, whatever choices in dialog you would take. It will not harm you, just help you.)

89

A great game for this franchise.

DukePaul | Nov. 15, 2012 | See all DukePaul's reviews »

Finally The Lord of the Rings gets a good rpg and the best part is the game has a cooperative campaign, three characters to choose for a big adventure.

The locations in this game are very loyal to the books and the movies and even if the plot it is only a sidestory from the original, it is great with interesting characters, the voice actors make them lovely.

The gameplay is like an Action RPG, "Hack and slash" with close combat, magic attacks and ranged weapons for kill the creatures of Mordor and the quest system is simple and it will give you a lot of loot for customizing your character.

The only bad thing is the checkpoint system, It isn't like other games where you can save and load any point of the game.

I highly recommend this game if you are a fan of the franchise, you will enjoy it.

85

For a hack-n-slash game, this one delivers!

fable2 | Nov. 15, 2012 | See all fable2's reviews »

I started playing this game with zero expectations and with very little knowledge about it. Surprisingly, it delivers! The story is engaging, yet fairly easy to follow. The battles can get pretty intense. Almost every fight can be your last so the challenge keeps rolling. I am glad that death & reviving doesn't become annoying like many RPG games out there ahem WoW ahem

What makes this diamond in the rough shine are the character animations. From slashing motion to dodging to enemy death sequences, this game pays extra detail. Seeing a dead Orc ridden with arrows was pretty awesome. Hacking your enemies' limbs apart in a slow-mo sequence never gets old! The atmosphere of the game, including sound design and level design, is top notch as well. I don't know of the replay value yet since I haven't beaten the game, but I have the felling I'd like to try out the Elf and the Ranger at the very least.

Where this game fail is the inventory system. The inability to easily compare your items (weapons, armor, etc..) is rather annoying. It feels clunky and unfinished. I was also hoping for a Dragon Aage-esque inventory system for friendly AI, but was quickly disappointed as you cannot manually equip them.

Overall, this game should not go unnoticed, and is worth every dollar spent.

80

Great with a friend

Cavalieroscuro | Nov. 15, 2012 | See all Cavalieroscuro's reviews »

I bought this game several time ago on GMG.I'm a fan of LOTR and...I really enjoyed this title. The game it's like Baldur's Gate Dark Alliance,an action role playing game: you can choose different abilities from the skill tree, acquiring new powers and stuff like this. The plot...well, it is nothing special at all,you will see some characters from LOTR movies but you have your own mission. The "heart" of this game is cooperative mode: you can play this way only using your internet connection (local splitscreen isn't in the PC version) but it the real value of this game.Stealing kills from a friend, defeat a huge boss with him...is fun. If you can,buy this and play with a friend,you will appreciate it for sure,even if graphic and sounds (yes,there aren't "epic" themes from the movies, sadly) are not that great

88

A hidden gem

liquidsnake78 | Oct. 31, 2012 | See all liquidsnake78's reviews »

This game is truly a hidden gem that must be played, going by the review scores it might look like a bad rpg game but once you fire up the game you notice that it has a decent story, characters and good hack and slash mechanics. the co-op mode is simply awesome and its the way the game is meant to be played . The story might be a bit odd for those who are totally new to the lord of the rings series but its not too complex and sticks to within the game . the graphics look awesome, the game does not need very high requirements but for ati graphics i had a problem where faces would get messed up for some reason , still looking around for a fix. The game is much better compared to other games like dungeon seige 3 etc, and is worth buying and at least playing once in co-op

76

A decent RPG

Cooberstooge | Sept. 7, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Being a big fan of any and all things LoTR, I came away from War in the North wondering why it was they didn't put just a little more effort into the game. With a few more weeks of development time, this could have been one heck of a game. Instead, it turned out to be little more than an average RPG.

The combat is nice, the game looks great, and the characters are fairly well-developed. There's nothing fundamentally wrong with the game, but it brings little more than adequate lore from the movies into actual gameplay. The combat is quite well-done, and is really the highlight here - I can quite easily see myself replaying it for that fact alone.

83

Enjoyable Addition to LotR

ThomasG101 | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all ThomasG101's reviews »

I hadn't heard of this game until I saw it in the greenman gaming sale and thought i'd give it a try. I must say i'm really glad I did. I'll start by saying that the characters are pretty bland so if you are a fan of games like mass effect and dragon age then you might well be disappointed however the beautiful graphics and simple yet fun combat should draw your attention away from that fact. I enjoyed the main story but didn't bother with the side quests. I played coop once or twice with a mate however I pretty much played through single player, If you can I would play it through with a mate because it's far more fun (probably even better with 2 others) but it's still well worth playing on your own.

84

Fantastic Co-op.

maciej2601 | Aug. 30, 2012 | See all maciej2601's reviews »

Lord of the Rings: War in the North is created by Snowblind studios action-RPG game in the universe known from the novel by JRR Tolkien. The plot shows the unknown events from the period of the War of the Ring, taking place in Mirkwood. Title was designed in order to play in the three-mode co.

70

Decent Game

AirborneOps | Aug. 21, 2012 | See all AirborneOps's reviews »

The game is good, the graphics look good and the action gets intense in some areas. However the game is very linear and kind of plain. The combat itself is just hack and slash and not much else to it besides some magic and ranged combat. The story is good but i had a hard time associating it with the LOTR universe. I only played the game in single player but the game is supposed to really shine in coop. I would recommend it if you have two other friends to play with otherwise it is a pretty lonely experience.

90

Great Hack and Slash game, especially in co-op

MacroAndy | Aug. 9, 2012 | See all MacroAndy's reviews »

like the title says, you'll have a lot of fun with this game by playing solo but even more so with a friend. Although ATI users should be aware that there are problems in some stages of the game with ATI cards, especially in the last level, but other than that it runs great and it looks great.

65

Standard Action-RPG

IganX | July 23, 2012 | See all IganX's reviews »

Its stunning graphics and great combat-system make this game something to notice when looking for an action-RPG. Still, dont expect much depth in character customization or open-world feel that other games can give, for this is a more of a casual oriented game than a true role-playing game. Recommended to be played in Co-op, for the single player can get boring very quick.

96

wonderful game

Songit | July 21, 2012 | See all Songit's reviews »

This game is great in many aspects, it captures the atmosphere of the movies while giving you a little wider scope of the whole lore or Arda.

Combined with an action-oriented gameplay and many many items to find it is really a blast to play.

BUT only in coop. I haven't played the game in SP and I don't think it's even half as entertaining as in coop. So my advice, play it at least with one, better two friends together and you won't regret your purchase for sure.

A highly recommended coop title.

100

More casual-orientated RPG that is PERFECT for co-op

Blargarg | July 19, 2012 | See all Blargarg's reviews »

Doesn't have quite the depth of Skyrim, but don't let that sway you - where Skyrim was at times a chore, this game is always fun. The gameplay -- you know, the thing that matters, is superb, with a system that will benefit the more hardcore gamers while at the same time accomodating the more casual. Item looting is very streamlined - you have a couple of "hot-spots" on a fairly linear map which you can click on and collect items from. You can then sell or use these items. And you will soon discover it is wise to collect and sell as much as possible to be able to afford all the good stuff!

It's a bit unorthodox that the game limits the co-op at 3 players, but if you can manage to get three to play with you it is an insane blast. You will rely on one another's unique abilities and will really need to co-operate to succeed. I might just not be very good at this game, but I found it quite a challenge even with a mate. But challenge is a good thing!

My advice? If you like LOTR, Get it! If you like Action RPG, Get it! You won't regret!

74

Good not Great

toolz | July 16, 2012 | See all toolz's reviews »

Personally i loved the game because it's set in the LOTR universe. From a gamer view it was fun but a bit repetitive after a while. It was at it's best in co-op playing with friends. For current price it's a great game and for any LOTR fan it's pretty much a must buy.

87

Great! (when played in Coop)

Kradath | July 3, 2012 | See all Kradath's reviews »

This game is great in many aspects, it captures the atmosphere of the movies while giving you a little wider scope of the whole lore or Arda.

Combined with an action-oriented gameplay and many many items to find it is really a blast to play.

BUT only in coop. I haven't played the game in SP and I don't think it's even half as entertaining as in coop. So my advice, play it at least with one, better two friends together and you won't regret your purchase for sure.

A highly recommended coop title.

75

Not so bad.

arkantos | May 21, 2012 | See all arkantos's reviews »

I used to play this game 2 times in co-op, and i can say both time it was very fun, sadly playing single player might be a pain, since the companion AI isn't perfect, but you will get along with them, the graphic is gorgeus, the enemy AI is very smart, you will visit some of the locations saw in the movie, you will have also a chance to meet the company of the ring during your journey in the Middle Earth, you should really get this game today as it's on sale ! So don't hesitate anymore and hit that "Buy Now" button !

79

Sub History of LOTR, Kill Orcs!

kalil | May 15, 2012 | See all kalil's reviews »

Hi all! Well here is my review about this game

-Gameplay: There are three characters, the dwarf (focused on brutal melee), the elf (focused on the magic, I mean, wizard) and Ranger (You could say that is more balanced between melee and distance). The controls are simple, easy to handle and very fluid. You can combine light attacks, heavy and magic easily. RPG has a very good touch, you have your inventory, your talent tree and your stats, you get points to distribute each time you level. In the time that I have this right, even that gets a bit repetitive.

Technology: No more, not noted for its technology, this section is like a running play that reaches the media. The attack animations are very well made, when the characters speak leaves a bit to be desired, and well ... enemies sometimes seem a little silly ... Although they are orcs the truth xD

-Graphics: They're fine, certainly does not stand for this section but comes to the media. I'm playing it on PC with everything to stop and the truth is they are very well optimized. The scenery is repetitive and dull, eventually tired a little. As for the characters, not bad, decent and are finished when you equip them see, that is, that if you wear gloves you wore different from visually noticeable.

-Sound: As for the music that is the Lord of the Rings, brutal. Even you have got the odd dodgy part in the soundtrack ... The sounds of weapons and spells are fine, faithfully accompanying them. The only thing I liked is that when in combat there is nothing of substance, is silence, but ... Decent ...

-Innovation: A Hack and Slash RPG with a touch as many others. The story that surprised me to have to do with the main LOTR and it gives a couple of points in your favor. That to see the main characters you out a little smile.

In short, is a game to pass the time without much innovation and to take away the itch to LOTR. In terms of possibilities exceeds LOTR: Conquest is not as open and battles are not so great, but it compensates with a touch of RPG and a better finish than could have been improved further. As for the multiplayer mode in this respect offers a lot of fun, you and your friends are gonna have a good time killing orcs.

75

A Very fun coop experience and a must have for any LOTR Fan!

Decel | March 24, 2012 | See all Decel's reviews »

Love Lord of the Rings so this game was a must buy for me. Play this game on 3 Player Coop-YOU will have a blast!

I wasnt disappointed. Pick from 3 characters a Human (ranger/mellee), Dwarf and an elf. All 3 have different abilities which complement each other when in a battle.

The story goes along side when frodo starts his quest to destroy the ring. Along the way you will meet familiar characters from the books and films. You get a sense of how important your task is!

Graphics and combat The graphics are great and really suit the LOTR universe. But the combat is the icing on the cake for this game, everything feels smooth and all encounters are fun and gruesome. Get an orc to low health...you then have the chance to sever his arm or take his head off. Plenty of loot to get your teeth into with the game encouraging multiple playthroughs to get the better gear.

Negatives. This game came out at the wrong time and was released to mixed reviews. Here are some of my bad points- - The games length Seems way to short for an RPG especially with the LOTR universe. Took me and a friend 11 Hours to complete on normal. But my 2nd playthrough on A higher difficulty took 19 hours as i discovered more quests and combat is way harder

-I myself didnt encounter any bugs or glitches but quite a few have experienced issues with the game eg(crashes,save points). The devlopers released a couple patches but have gone silent for now.

Over all worth the price especially if you love lord of the rings!

44

It's a good game, when you have friends play coop with you.

KarlMao | March 4, 2012 | See all KarlMao's reviews »

Though it uses the name Lord of The Rings,the story of this game is not impressive. Well, it's really hard to make a good story under the glory of the novels and movies.And the gameplay is fine with RPG and Arcade elements, but without a good story it quickly gets boring after you get used to the combat and level-up. However, when you have friends to play coop with you, it's really a fun game just like some MMOs,and i do enjoy it.

60

I found it enjoyable

Gaugler323 | Jan. 6, 2012 | See all Gaugler323's reviews »

As a LOTR fan I certainly have a bias.

I enjoyed the game. I think if you liked the older PS2 Two Towers and Return of the King slash-em-up games, you will enjoy this game as well. Very straight forward levels, not a lot to roam.. just walk the path, kill the baddies, and stay alive. (I guess, I don't just have a LOTR bias, I grew up loving Ninja Turtle games on NES/SNES... so I'm not bothered by the linear gamesplay) The difference between those older LOTR games... this game trades a cinematic presentations and cut-scenes for pretty small and useless RPG elements. But the core gameplay and fights I did enjoy.

Obviously, its not GOTY material, but worth putting a few hours into if the price is low enough. Its certainly no Skyrim or Witcher 2, but I don't think the game is necessarily flawed, just came up short in a lot of places.

81

Fantastic co-op game

NinjaCatfish | Dec. 31, 2011 | See all NinjaCatfish's reviews »

I didn't expect much from this game, only grabbed it since it was on sale and might be a bit of fun co-op. It was, quite a bit of fun in co-op! The hack and slash gameplay is immensely satisfying, with every hit evoking a hefty sound and enemies reacting realistically. It really feels like you make a hit rather than just flail a weapon in the direction of an enemy until they go away. The level-up and inventory system is somewhat reminiscent of a refined Diablo. Inventory is much easier to manage, and the skills gained through level up are varied and mostly quite useful. They allow you to develop your character to your play style. Highly recommended if you have a buddy or 2 to co-op with.

57

Lord of The Rings War in The North is garbage execpt COOP

guybrush77 | Nov. 11, 2011 | See all guybrush77's reviews »

Easily the most disappointing game of the year. The visuals and the graphics are exellents but the sound and the voices of the caracters are horribles (weak acting) and all the game (90%) is based on combat and it looks like an MMO, repetitive. The only good thing is the Coop mode. I recomend the game for the last thing.

27

OfMg

Ma3y | Nov. 9, 2011 | See all Ma3y's reviews »

I am so sad. This game really suck's, its only port from ps 3 or xbox360. The graphics are really poor. and control is really weird. But if u have someone who play with u coop u can buy this game its always fun play with friend. :)