Reviews for Football Manager 2012

87

The next step in Football simulation

AnarionPT | Nov. 13, 2012 | See all AnarionPT's reviews »

Football Manager is the most expected game for Football lovers every year, and every year Sports Interactive doesn't fail to bring us more game options, new mechanics and a better game than the previous title, and Football Manager 2012 is no exception. It's a great game to play alone or with your friends, and it hardly gets boring. Don't miss this great game.

86

The real drug for football fans

acard87 | Oct. 21, 2012 | See all acard87's reviews »

I have played many different editions of Football Manager over the years, and I have to say this is the best yet. The concept of the game is the same as always: you take the part of a manager for a football club (either of your choosing or assigned by the game) and you have to control every aspect of the club, from the lineup of your team to the contracts to the selection of staff assignments, to reach the goals your board sets and to win as much titles as you can.

During matches, you can choose to follow the written description of the actions, with detailed statistics of the match, or you can watch its representation in 3d (no Fifa graphics here, though); in both cases, you'll have to be quick to react to the match and edit the team strategy to bring home the victory.

The strength of FM is, as every year, the depth of its database, that includes an incredible amount of players and staff from every league of over 20 nations, and that is able to predict who will become the next top player. This is a must have game for every football fan who wants to try to be a manager, and who dreams of seeing his team winning the Champions League.

95

Warning: Highly Addictive

cejaluis91 | Sept. 14, 2012 | See all cejaluis91's reviews »

Football Manager 2012 is easily one of the best simulation games I have ever played. Coming from someone who has played many years of Career Mode in FIFA, I was instantly overwhelmed by just how in-depth this game really is. Tactics, training schedules, amazing scouting, you can honestly spend weeks just trying to get your team on its feet, but watching your team promote multiple divisions and win a continental title is amazing. You get so drawn into the game you can easily forget that eating and drinking are necessary to your livelihood. The modding community is also huge and thriving and helps add life to an already limitless game. Highly recommend this game for anyone even remotely interested in simulation games.

78

A decent game, but needs a few fixes

Cooberstooge | Sept. 11, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

This is about the most comprehensive football management game you're likely to find out there, and is a veritable treasure trove for those statisticians amongst us - yet, there's still a few kinks in this edition that the developers have yet to work out, and are what keep it from being perfect.

The graphics for watching the actual games have been tweaked, and look better, but the game still uses essentially the same engine as before - this is good in my opinion, as it still runs nice and smooth. Controls are good, but as far as I could tell, you cannot modify the controls - this could be an oversight on my part, but I rooted around and came up empty.

The main gripe I have with this one is the lack of any real explanation for new players to the series. Little documentation, no in-game hints, and lots of features that even I had to discover to know about make one wonder why this one took so long to develop. I'd rather have decent documentation and a slightly less feature-rich game.

If you can get past some minor inconveniences, you can dive deep into Football Manager 2012 without even touching much of what it has to offer. Although there's no documentation, even learning the basics is fairly straightforward, and one can play many hours without ever worrying about learning of and making use of all the provided features.

83

A Quality game

simonsix | June 18, 2012 | See all simonsix's reviews »

Quality game if you want to get into the nuances of managing a football team. Still the best game of the sports management genre. Tactic creation of AI managers are not the best. The only con that i see is the AI management potential of the game. The match graphics are extremely sharp and the stadium's look really good. Well done.

100

Football manager just got better.

Alixey | Nov. 6, 2011 | See all Alixey's reviews »

As excellent as ever. Not much needs saying, its Football Manager!! The new match engine is MUCH better. Accurate and update players. Perfect! Will pass those winter nights quickly!

80

more of the same good

pazmacats | Oct. 22, 2011 | See all pazmacats's reviews »

Football Manager 12 delivers more (of the same). This year the usual bugs are back (problems with individual instructions and probably a plenty more that I didn't notice yet) and the match engine has received a graphic update (only, which is a good thing). All the information is still there, stats and numbers everywhere, and organization of the places where to look for this info has received an overhaul so info is actually better to find now. Overall it's still the best football management simulation, even better than 2011. And that's why it gets a very high rating from me.

Good points: * player/team talks have more/more detailed feedback about the player's reaction * match engine is working

Bad points: * terrible manual / no documentation * tons of options that have to be guessed * feels like an update to 2011

100

Best FM of all time

Ricky18 | Oct. 21, 2011 | See all Ricky18's reviews »

This is by far the best title in the series for years,been addicted to this game lately with the demo and to be honest this is great work from Sports Interactive,i bought FM2011 here at GMG las year and game was very good but this year its even better.There are various improvements since last year but i would take two as the main,introduction of new leagues anytime in the game,and the new interface is really great.This is a must buy for every manager you won't regret it!