Reviews for Grand Theft Auto III DNS

97

Best of its Time

bradleeh | March 25, 2013 | See all bradleeh's reviews »

Grand Theft Auto III was the first game that I can remember. I was only about 3 or 4 years old and saw my cousins playing it. I thought it was the coolest thing ever. I went and got my own PS2 and GTA III. It was awesome. The graphics were the most realistic thing I had saw at that time. The graphics can still try to compete with some games today. The gameplay was phenomenal. My whole family (mom, dad, cousin, sister, and even grandma) loved this game. We would play it, beat it, and play it again. This game will never get old. You can do missions, kill people, explore, or jump ramps. Looking back at it now makes it even better. Just knowing that it led to arguable the greatest series ever made. It even led to clone series like Saints Row. To sum it up, great game even now in 2013. I would highly recommend this game to anyone and everyone.

70

For an old game, it's great.

JMJqueseyo | Feb. 19, 2013 | See all JMJqueseyo's reviews »

Let's start off by I'd rather get Grand Theft Auto:San Andreas if you're willing to spend $5 more. Grand Theft Auto 3 has more features on PC like skinnable player character , better graphics and using you're own music for the radio. This game is about driving cars and shooting people. There are different gangs(NPCs) each which attacks each other(or you) depending on whats happening in-game or the storyline. It's not the best GTA to start playing with even though it's simple. I would get it on a sale if you have never played it, it does not have multiplayer but I think it makes up for that with a selection of mods .It's a good sandbox game, just old.

90

Good old fun

Stebsis | Feb. 16, 2013 | See all Stebsis's reviews »

GTA III... this game really takes me back to those "good old days". I was only about 9 or 10 years old when I first played this at my friends place, I hadn't heard of GTA before it. We used to play the game all weekends and my god was it fun. I remember when the first time we blew someones head off with a pistol, or when we drove a truck over someone and it made that splat sound, we laughed so hard to those.

I recently picked up the game again first time in a loooong while, and GTA III has aged really well. It's still one of the funniest games I've ever played, graphically it looks great and mechanics are still solid.

The city, Liberty City, is a big place with lots of hidden stuff to discover and tons of missions to do. I really recommend this game just for its nostalgia value. The sequel, Vice City, does about everything better, but especially if you played GTA III back when it came out and don't have the copy, pick this up now.

88

Rockstars first Pinnacle

DonVercetti | Dec. 22, 2012 | See all DonVercetti's reviews »

This title made their Grand Theft Auto franchise legendary. You play as Claud, a carstealing, gunshooting, peoplekilling maniac. I find the replay value on this game great, as there is no other game to play as Claud, roaming around in the 2001 version of Liberty City. This game, well the entire series to be honest is absolutely great when it comes to their characters and storylines. Speaking of Storylines, you are not in any way obligated doing missions in this game. You can just start up GTA III, have yourself a fun time in the city and not even do a single mission at all. That’s an absolutely great thing to have in a videogame. Classic!

95

Beginning of something great

Cooberstooge | Sept. 6, 2012 | See all Cooberstooge's reviews »

Sure, San Andreas may have a bigger world, and more stuff to do in said world, but nowhere is there such a sense of originality as in Grand Theft Auto III. This was the start of something big, and really every open-world, sandbox game in existence today owes a little something to this title, even if they're nothing like it.

The game still looks fairly good for the age of it now, and there is some texture pop-in like other reviewers have mentioned - not really something to worry about here, though, as it's never bad enough to hamper the gameplay. The dated graphics sure help in the performance department today, though - the game just screams along on my current setup.

Shooting, racing, jumping, and all other manner of things can happen in GTA III, and it all controls very well. Racing up to a group of people, jumping out, and shooting the heck out of them, then diving back into your ride and peeling out before the feds show up is always great fun.

Sound-wise, the game is top-notch, especially with the voice acting for other characters. Unfortunately, the guy you play as is silent for the entire game, but that kinda adds to the mysterious lone drifter vibe the game has going on with him.

Definitely not a game to miss, and an absolute classic in sandbox gaming.

80

What an awesome game!

StewartX | July 31, 2012 | See all StewartX's reviews »

GTA 3 was ground breaking in its day, quite dated now (graphics have that block look) but wow, if you have never played it and like the newer GTA games then get this to experience it from the beginning.

Graphics: 5/10 (Haven't ages well) Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 8/10 Multiplayer: No.

90

Still a great game :)

PM_DMNKLR | July 15, 2012 | See all PM_DMNKLR's reviews »

It's GTA 3, and though it's old enough to feel aged, it's still fun to play! Hopefully the price will drop even further (at $10 now), but it's worth getting, as it's one of the best GTA stories in the series.

94

Creator of a Genre

Endyo | June 7, 2012 | See all Endyo's reviews »

Even in being the third iteration in a series, GTA III managed to break its own mold and create an entirely new genre in the gaming world. A large persistent world for you to explore like an RPG, but filled with all of the action of a shooter and all of the carnage of a smash up racing game.

For those of you who have somehow managed to avoid this series or any of the many copycats and clones on the market, what you have here is a third person shooter where you play a silent protagonist who is he jack of all trades in the crime world. You'll spend your time roaming Liberty City picking up various missions to earn cash and drive the story. Whether it's being a temporary hitman, stealing cars, delivering packages, being a wheelman, or just roaming around driving a cab, you won't have to worry about getting bored.

One of the most entertaining aspects of this game is that you can manage to have a great time without participating in a single mission. Just jump in a car and cause mayhem everywhere you go. The world is always at your whim and you can proceed any way you see fit.

The game may be old and the PC port does little to improve on the very aged Playstation 2 graphics, but that doesn't take away from the fact that the title was a paradigm shift in the gaming world. It single-handedly made Rockstar Games the powerhouse it is today. Even the most sophisticated gamer should appreciate that.

85

Funny game :D

Babelfish343 | Oct. 12, 2011 | See all Babelfish343's reviews »

Ahh GTA 3. My first introduction into the GTA franchise was picked up since I was amazed by the expansive open world which has seen continuation in many many games since. The main hook of GTA has always been the living breathing city to explore, and this games really showed it off! I was so amazed by the city that I never actually got onto the missions much at all! The graphics are a bit dated now, but still hold up and textures seem to pop-in a little but it is not too bad for an aging game. The music and voice acting is great, and funny too! Racing around the city in a sports car, jumping out and using a flamethrower on everything in sight NEVER gets old! Highly recommended if you love sandbox/open world games!

70

Feeling a little aged.

emwearz | Oct. 10, 2011 | See all emwearz's reviews »

While you may think III, Vice City and San Andreas are all similar games, and you would be right, they all play fairly similarly and share a engine meaning the graphic styling of all three games is pretty much the same.

However GTAIII falls far behind in terms of its story telling. The main character is silent through out the entire, and while past games have shown this is not needed for a in depth story, GTAIII feels very stale and storyless compared to the later 2 games in the series.

In short when it came out it was amazing to play GTA in 3D, however it set the groundwork for two much better games that play far better today.